[Pictures and Videos] Sarfaraz Ahmed's behaviour as captain

It is going to happen. Winning covers many flaws but when you loose, these same juniors will not like Sarfaraz behavior. He picks and chooses guy on whom he can shout.

I didn't watch the match, was going through some face book video of the last t20.

What happened in that video was Hasan got hit for Four, and Sarfraz comes up shouting at Hasan which he usually does. Hasan ignores him.
Next ball, Hasan ali bowleds the batsmen, takes his wicekt, doesn't celebrate with Sarfraz. Both eyeball each other from the pitches end and hasan turns back to celebrate with his team mates but not the captain.

I could be wrong, but i think Sarfraz's way of dealing with players is ruining the whole teams spirit.

Sarfraz's way of handling him actually caused him to get reeled up and hence that bowled. Even I noticed Hasan's reaction, but that was more frustration than anything else. I was particularly impressed with what Sarfraz did next. He clearly scolded Hasan for his reaction but did so after calling a huddle. This step just portrays that he wants the whole team to be honest with each other. Good move by Sarfraz.

Bro these are not 16 year old school boys playing.

THese are 30+ men playng cricket.

you dont see such stupidity of being called in a hurdle and being scolded.. Seniority and power is getting over to sarfraz. Too much controlling is not good.

I didn't watch the match, was going through some face book video of the last t20.

What happened in that video was Hasan got hit for Four, and Sarfraz comes up shouting at Hasan which he usually does. Hasan ignores him.
Next ball, Hasan ali bowleds the batsmen, takes his wicekt, doesn't celebrate with Sarfraz. Both eyeball each other from the pitches end and hasan turns back to celebrate with his team mates but not the captain.

I could be wrong, but i think Sarfraz's way of dealing with players is ruining the whole teams spirit.

Yeah, he wasn't happy with Sarfraz.

This is the first time I've noticed visible anger/frustration from a teammate. Otherwise, most of them are just laughing it off (Babar and Rumman) like you would when a crazy uncle is talking.

It's going to fall apart for him (as predicted) if they continue to lose games.

Bro these are not 16 year old school boys playing.

THese are 30+ men playng cricket.

you dont see such stupidity of being called in a hurdle and being scolded.. Seniority and power is getting over to sarfraz. Too much controlling is not good.

Well, as long we are winning and the players are on their toes, I won't complain.

By the way, you really need to research about how Imran Khan (widely regarded as one of the best captains of all time) would severely scold anyone not fulfilling his potential, although he himself might not have performed in the match. Players were afraid of him. That's how Pakistan Team works. Stop treating it like some uber professional team. We were born to run on emotions.

There isn't one mold to captaincy, everyone has their own style. Sarfraz scolding isn't a new phenomenon, he has been doing this his whole career and we all know his exploits as captain.

Imran Khan and Wasim Akram didn't just scold the players, they reminded them of their ancestry time and time again. This has been confirmed numerous times on media outlets from various sources, recently being the show on PTV 'Game on Hai' where Razzaq attests to this.

Sarfraz is getting bashed because there are a million more cameras on the field today and people have a lot of time to whine on message boards/forums.

Sarfraz really needs to cool down.This is getting ugly.Hasan was really angry at him.Hasan was like "aapan fukri maar de nii par robh na kise da sehne San"

Yeah, he wasn't happy with Sarfraz.

This is the first time I've noticed visible anger/frustration from a teammate. Otherwise, most of them are just laughing it off (Babar and Rumman) like you would when a crazy uncle is talking.

It's going to fall apart for him (as predicted) if they continue to lose games.

So you rather have some one like Misbah as a captain who came across as meek and emotionless. You have to express and be blunt. It’s why they are a captain. It’s not to win any friends.

Emotions on a cricket field are not meant for the general audience. If you want that, watch a Bollywood blockbuster. To manage a team and get best out of them is a different issue altogether.

You took the words right out of my mouth.

Well, as long we are winning and the players are on their toes, I won't complain.

By the way, you really need to research about how Imran Khan (widely regarded as one of the best captains of all time) would severely scold anyone not fulfilling his potential, although he himself might not have performed in the match. Players were afraid of him. That's how Pakistan Team works. Stop treating it like some uber professional team. We were born to run on emotions.

There isn't one mold to captaincy, everyone has their own style. Sarfraz scolding isn't a new phenomenon, he has been doing this his whole career and we all know his exploits as captain.

Imran Khan and Wasim Akram didn't just scold the players, they reminded them of their ancestry time and time again. This has been confirmed numerous times on media outlets from various sources, recently being the show on PTV 'Game on Hai' where Razzaq attests to this.

Sarfraz is getting bashed because there are a million more cameras on the field today and people have a lot of time to whine on message boards/forums.

I like how examples of Imran Khan are always shared..

But tell me one thing, if you guys had such a boss, would you like to work under him or her?

Shoaib Akhtar once said on a show that as a fast bowler, he found it annoying when the captain came up to him again and again. He said, he was the bowler he knew what was right. He also found it annoying to take the captains permission to what to bowl sometimes. He gave an example of Dhoni. He said he loved how Dhoni only goes up to his bowler once. Thats it. He isn't always going on their ears all the time.

This also reminds me of a the 2011 world cup situation, where wahab Riaz was denied from bowling a yorker to yuvraj singh by the captain shahid Afridi. He had to get an approval of another senior player to bowl that

Imran Khan went from average to ATG captain and player through sheer hard work. He never shirked responsibility and led from the front. He demanded hard work and passion because he demanded the same for himself.

Now compare that with Sarfraz, who turns up fat and unfit to a tour and to top it all is reluctant in taking responsibility...

for those who have missed it.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.272%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/uw5z4/alfxwr" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

This tough boss attitude of Sarfraz I am sure not only has the backing of team management but has also been advised to carry such attitude after clam attitude of Misbah

Comparing Safraz to Imran/Waseem makes absolutely no sense. Both were great players and had the performance and attitude to back it up. Now take a look at Safraz, acting like something he is not. Players laughs it off or ignores him when he starts throwing a tantrum cause they can't take his scolding seriously. Imagine those two great man in his place, players would have looked down and not even think about taunting the captain. Neither is Safraz a great player, nor is he good at managing his team mates. That's just my 2cent about his captaincy.

Whilst we are winning this shouting at players won't be a big issue . But if we are losing games , this shouting at players will get reactions like Hasan reacted especially when the captain isn't performing.

I think Sarfraz needs to calm down. If he wants to yell that's upto him. But he mustn't do it after every mistake.

Winning or losing makes no difference to how he should be behaving.

Sooner or later the players are going to react to him, in fact it wouldn't surprise me if some of the players have had a quiet word with him already to calm it down.

for those who have missed it.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.272%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/uw5z4/alfxwr" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I thought, few weeks back it was Hasan who said that Sarfraz's yelling inspires him to greater heights, so this clip might be misinterpreted by every one, including Kiwi commies. Fact is - Hasan did knock the wicket very next ball after being "yellspired" and he was so inspired that even forgot his usual celebration.

Doesn't have to be one extreme or another.

It's like taking a shower. Do you turn the tap all the way up to boiling hot or all the way down to freezing cold? No, you aim for somewhere in between because that's what feels right.

Same applies to man management.

Scolding a player isn't a bad thing as long as it's limited to major lapses in concentration. You can't give the "hairdryer treatment" after every single mistake. That's absurd.

I thought, few weeks back it was Hasan who said that Sarfraz's yelling inspires him to greater heights, so this clip might be misinterpreted by every one, including Kiwi commies. Fact is - Hasan did knock the wicket very next ball after being "yellspired" and he was so inspired that even forgot his usual celebration.

:)) I think I need to tape record his yelling and send it to some of my friends who seem well short of inspiration these days.

Better, if you could record the words - motivational speech ....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed is happy. During the previous over from Shadab Khan:<br>Ball 1 "Very well bowled"<br>Ball 2 "Very well bowled"<br>Ball 3 "Very well bowled"<br>Ball 4 "Very well bowled"<br>Ball 5 "Very well bowled"<br>Ball 6 "Very well bowled"<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NZvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NZvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/957530019399716864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Sarfraz’s ‘clash’ with the umpires over the ball change - 3rd T20 vs NZ

What happened here?

Could Sarfraz potentially face disciplinary action for this? Or am I looking too deep into this? It wouldn’t be the first time we see ICC look to clamp down on/make an example out of a Pakistani player.

For those who missed it - after Guptill smashed a 100m+ six on the last ball of Fahim Ashraf’s first over (5.6) - the umpires had to change the ball since the old one was lost outside the stadium.

Sarfraz didn’t seem happy with the ball on offer since I think it was a brand new ball, and Shadab was coming into the attack, so he first had an animated discussion with the umpires with a lot of pointing and hand waving.

Whilst Sarfraz was chatting to the umps, one of the Kiwi batsmen walked past and chirped in with saying something which sounded to be along the lines of “get on with it....”. Sarfraz didn’t seem to happy with this, as he turned to the batsmen and told him “this has nothing to do with you, stay out of it!”.

When the game eventually resumed and Sarfraz went back behind the stumps he turned to the square leg umpire and shouted “this isn’t on boss!!”

After that, for an over or so, every time the ball was hit out to a fielder, Sarfraz would shout to the fielders asking them to throw it in one bounce to wear the ball down.

Can we expect to see the ICC clamping down on Sarfraz fornarguing with the umps and not accepting their decision, or will he get the “big-3 treatment”? :msd

Sarfaraz behaving like a idiot, what's other option than to change a ball. Umpire can't go and search for a ball outside stadium.

If Sarfraz wasn’t facing disciplinary action after the ball change incident - he may very well do for the send off he gave Taylor!

I’m a fan of Sarfraz and like the passion he brings to the team - but he really just needs to calm down a bit!!

What happened here?

Could Sarfraz potentially face disciplinary action for this? Or am I looking too deep into this? It wouldn’t be the first time we see ICC look to clamp down on/make an example out of a Pakistani player.

For those who missed it - after Guptill smashed a 100m+ six on the last ball of Fahim Ashraf’s first over (5.6) - the umpires had to change the ball since the old one was lost outside the stadium.

Sarfraz didn’t seem happy with the ball on offer since I think it was a brand new ball, and Shadab was coming into the attack, so he first had an animated discussion with the umpires with a lot of pointing and hand waving.

Whilst Sarfraz was chatting to the umps, one of the Kiwi batsmen walked past and chirped in with saying something which sounded to be along the lines of “get on with it....”. Sarfraz didn’t seem to happy with this, as he turned to the batsmen and told him “this has nothing to do with you, stay out of it!”.

When the game eventually resumed and Sarfraz went back behind the stumps he turned to the square leg umpire and shouted “this isn’t on boss!!”

After that, for an over or so, every time the ball was hit out to a fielder, Sarfraz would shout to the fielders asking them to throw it in one bounce to wear the ball down.

Can we expect to see the ICC clamping down on Sarfraz fornarguing with the umps and not accepting their decision, or will he get the “big-3 treatment”? :msd

This was hilarious :))

He can shout all he wants the guy is winning us trophies. I remember we lost a T20 series with so called superstars in NZ many years ago!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed pumped up at the end of the match shouting and clenching his fists. Waqar Younis "I think Sarfaraz wants to punch someone" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NZvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NZvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/957545941002833920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2018</a></blockquote>

Vicky bhai is just mad that he never made a team like this. Jealous. No need to say that.

Sarfraz Ahmed has the ultra-Passion for Pakistan cricket team and there is nothing wrong with that. Although I agree he should calm down a bit and should show his emotions when needed and I am sure the team management would be working on that.

Anyway, great captaincy overall by Sarfraz and congrats to Pakistan on winning T20 series 2-1 and attaining No.1 rank. Credit to bowlers for bowling really well throughout the series and batsmen for scoring at really good strike-rate providing us competitive scores.

Best since Immy

Haters can go crawl back to their caves.

Wonderful shut up call to haters as usual

:shh

Sarfaraz behaving like a idiot, what's other option than to change a ball. Umpire can't go and search for a ball outside stadium.

Pak team were obviously working on the ball and had worn it down so that they could eventually get Shadab and reverse swing into play. When the ball goes out of play, the reserve umpire brings in a box of balls with him to the umpires and each bowl has a different degree of wear on it, but the umpires handed him a completely new ball. Although I believe they probably had no other choice, Sarfraz was right in showing his displeasure. Let's not overexaggerate things here.

What happened here?

What's wrong with the fielding captain asking for the conditions to not be changed?

He should have been like acha bacha or stately Azhar or Misbah and accepted the change in ball saying "yes sir as you wish"

The gall of some Pakistani supporters man :facepalm:

Finally we have a captain who is winning series home and abroad and they are nitpicking on small things like why is he asking ump why the ball was changed :facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I wasn't certain before, but now I'm 100% convinced that majority of the opposition to Sarfaraz is for non-cricketing reasons.

Leh ao kaptaan aek soobaay se phir sub khush hongaye

Finally we have a captain who is winning series home and abroad and they are nitpicking on small things like why is he asking ump why the ball was changed :facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I wasn't certain before, but now I'm 100% convinced that majority of the opposition to Sarfaraz is for non-cricketing reasons.

Misbah ke khilaaf bhi kam log nahi the..we have become a negative society

I normally speak out against the negativity by so called "Pakistani" fans on here but let's be honest, sarfraz's actions have been unprofessional and rude throughout his time as captain. His only series wins have been in ODIs/T20s, while the team performed poorly in his only test series. Do you think his captaincy will honestly help in England ? Of course not.

To top it all off, his tactics are often all over he place and his own performances have gotten worse.

I'm not saying drop him as captain but hold him to account, so he can improve, for the betterment of the side.

I really like Sarfraz. I like his passion and his desire to win. I think he is tactically the most astute captain we've had since the 90s. I also see how the team is actually progressing and improving in the limited overs format. Even though we lost the series 5-0 to New Zealand, players like Yamin, Faheem and Haris got an opportunity to establish themselves. Our batting became less dependent on Babar an Malik due to their failures.

There are a few negatives however:

1. Eventually he will have to relax and stop yelling at bowlers and fielders. Yelling only goes so far, and if they still don't do what he wants then he should drop them. Team ethics and hard work isn't going to be instilled in someone by yelling at them over an extended period of time. The individuals have to buy into it. And only a matter of time, before people get sick of being yelled at.

2. He bats too far down the order in ODIs. He started at 6 and was eventually batting at 7. He's a better batsman than that and it also comes across as shirking responsibility. I would like to see him at 5 in ODIs due to the emergence of Haris Sohail.

3. The send of for Taylor was very unnecessary. Taylor is a good guy and that was just poor form from Sarfraz. I hope he apologized to Taylor after.

Best captain for Pakistan in many years, in decision-making or any other reason. Since beating India in U19 Final in 2006 defending 109 score,

he has now taken PAkistan from no.7 to no.1 in T20 and to no. 6 from no. 8. Won 12 out of 14 T20s and 12 out of 19 ODIs as captain.

He's not better than Wasim....

One reports a bookie as soon as he is approached by one

One escapes Match fixing allegations on a previous witness perjuring his claims. A tribunal formed by the President of Pakistan.

I normally speak out against the negativity by so called "Pakistani" fans on here but let's be honest, sarfraz's actions have been unprofessional and rude throughout his time as captain. His only series wins have been in ODIs/T20s, while the team performed poorly in his only test series. Do you think his captaincy will honestly help in England ? Of course not.

To top it all off, his tactics are often all over he place and his own performances have gotten worse.

I'm not saying drop him as captain but hold him to account, so he can improve, for the betterment of the side.

Last t20 series vs NZ ended up being a 2-1 win for NZ.

Here we have reversed the fortunes, credit to the captain for that.

Vicky bhai is just mad that he never made a team like this. Jealous. No need to say that.

Actually he was laughing while saying this then Waqar said 'tremendous effort by the boys they were down and out.......' then he praised the whole team

I enjoy this. Sarfraz needs to stand up to the opposition and not take anything from them without responding. The gentleman era of Misbah and Azhar needs to be put to rest.

However, it is his attitude towards his teammates that needs to be addressed, especially when he is not setting any standards with his own performance and fitness.

I enjoy this. Sarfraz needs to stand up to the opposition and not take anything from them without responding. The gentleman era of Misbah and Azhar needs to be put to rest.

However, it is his attitude towards his teammates that needs to be addressed, especially when he is not setting any standards with his own performance and fitness.

good comment

One reports a bookie as soon as he is approached by one

One escapes Match fixing allegations on a previous witness perjuring his claims. A tribunal formed by the President of Pakistan.

Is the discussion about captaincy or alleged match fixing? On pure captaincy alone and identifying talent. Wasim is miles ahead of sarfi at the moment. We wouldn't have a lot of the players from the 90s if they didn't have wasims backing. Razzaq, Mahmood, Afridi to an extent.

Plus we were a top team under his captaincy. Won the trip series in Australia, and yes we didn't win the 99 world Cup but we were the best team there.

Well said.

Is the discussion about captaincy or alleged match fixing? On pure captaincy alone and identifying talent. Wasim is miles ahead of sarfi at the moment. We wouldn't have a lot of the players from the 90s if they didn't have wasims backing. Razzaq, Mahmood, Afridi to an extent.

Plus we were a top team under his captaincy. Won the trip series in Australia, and yes we didn't win the 99 world Cup but we were the best team there.

I dunno why people suddenly become deaf and dumb, when the court case regarding 'Wasim and 6 others is brought up, its a factual part of our history and it also happened during Wasim's captaincy.'

It was pretty similar to the 2010 saga, it caused a huge outrage but the difference was those who were alleged were found to be innocent.

I dunno why people suddenly become deaf and dumb, when the court case regarding 'Wasim and 6 others is brought up, its a factual part of our history and it also happened during Wasim's captaincy.'

It was pretty similar to the 2010 saga, it caused a huge outrage but the difference was those who were alleged were found to be innocent.

Yes if they were found innocent then you should accept the verdict. You can have your own views but that's not what the court said and besides this is about sarfi being a clown to his team mates and yelling. I am a fan but I'm not a f@nboy. I will support my team over any player regardless of which region they come from.

Best captain for Pakistan in many years, in decision-making or any other reason. Since beating India in U19 Final in 2006 defending 109 score,

he has now taken PAkistan from no.7 to no.1 in T20 and to no. 6 from no. 8. Won 12 out of 14 T20s and 12 out of 19 ODIs as captain.

it means something that he has not yet lost a T20 series, though playing with very different teams. compare outfit that crushed England in the first T20 under his reign, and the one that won the NZ series. i'd say he's the best T20 captain in the world, a format in which his hyperactive mode of captaincy works more often that not.

T20 series and rankings in my eyes mean nothing. Only Pakistan seems to care about T20I while all the other teams are getting better at the main formats. Australia don't even play their main team in T20. Last time they played a full side was in WT20 2016.

Fun fact Australia just lost 4-1 at home in an ODI series and dropped to number 5 in the rankings just one spot above Pakistan. Next we will hear that ODIs don't matter either it's just tests.

To be honest, Australia seem a bit lost as an ODI side. I think we have lost 10 from 14 games in the last 12 months. They seem to have just been expecting that as soon as we have Starc, Hazlewood, Cummins together that we will be unbeatable. Whilst they can win the odd game with seam bowling strength, we just haven't been scoring the runs.

Part of that is selection. We have a situation where if you are not best mates with Steve Smith= not selected. Maxwell & Faulkner who should be handy ODI players can't get a game due to not getting on well with Smith. We simply haven't been able to replace their lower order hitting power.

Top order is also not firing. Warner short of runs & Finch not quite good enough imo. Lynn might help if he gets back in.

Worryingly we seem to have decided our way of ODI cricket is "good enough" and not tried to keep improving, keep inventing & bring any useful T20 innovations across to the format. As a result England (who made a huge, years long push to modernise their batting & develop skilled, format specific bowlers) have left us behind & we are scared to follow, Smith calling England's aggressive tactics "risky". Sounds like a reversal of history!

One positive I can think of is that Nathan Lyon is being talked about for the format at last- he should help round out our attack. I think we might need one short form specialist bowler/allrounder. Our great teams always had one or two of these (O' Donnell, Moody, S Waugh*, Bracken, McKay etc).
*Aware the S Waugh was not a one format player but included as he was a real innovator in the 80s, one of the very first to use back of the hand slower balls & have multiple slower ball variations).

T20- I'm hopeful the big bash will help us improve our WC showing. I don't think we deliberately play "understrength" T20i teams, we just honestly have no idea who our best team is.

True. And yes, well handled by Sarfaraz later on. Although I don't think he should have shouted in first place.

Smashed the stumps today when Smith got out. Make of that what you will

Immature and not needed.

I mean what was he trying to do or show when he did that?

Should get fined.

You mean the remaining stump. However, I also thought at the time that this should be included in his repertoire of damaging (or trying to) ground equipment for no reason whatsoever.

What's aggressive about punching the stumps after a batsman has been bowled?

Doesn't it count as Level 1 offence according to ICC...

Offences and Penalties

Level 1
Penalty provision:
Level 1 penalties will range from an official reprimand and/or a fine of up to the equivalent of 50% of the player or official's match fee

Level 1 Offences:
1.1 Breach of the ICC Logo Policy, apart from breaches relating to a commercial logo or players' bat logo
1.2 Abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings
1.3 Showing dissent at an umpire's decision by action or verbal abuse
1.4 Using language that is obscene, offensive or insulting and/or the making of an obscene gesture
1.5 Excessive appealing
1.6 Pointing or gesturing towards the pavilion in an aggressive manner by a bowler or other member of the fielding side upon the dismissal of a batsman.

^^ yeah what is up with that... completely did not get it... if a bowler can't do a send off, a keeper shouldn't be allowed to pointlessly knock down stumps. He has done this before too, class less.

No-one had a problem when he did this in the T20I v England because he was a young captain and it was the beginning of a new era. A breath of fresh air. Now, everyone seems to be judging every step he takes because he's not performing?? Come on guys, He's won you a Champions Trophy, No.1 T20 team. Lets just take a few steps back and applaud him for his commitment and passion towards this Pakistan team. I guarantee you guys would not have a problem with his "unreasonable behavior" had he scored a couple hundreds, batted up the order or maybe shouted at the seniors in the past few months. And the last comment, would you rather shout at your manager or a junior who works underneath you?