[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Mohammad Rizwan: Performance as white-ball captain and captaincy watch thread

What a guy! Always learning and growing as a person. During the post match interview, Rizwan looked into her eyes with genuine respect and acknowledgment. That’s exactly what I was hoping for and suggesting in my post above! Loved every moment of it! Keep it up, brother!
What a guy, always learning

What a captain, what a player. Thank the Almighty for Rizwan, the GOAT WK batsman in Pakistan history and could also go down as one of its best ever captains.
2o25 wIlL be tHe yeAr of BaaBar aaZam 🤡

What a worst innings by him.. equivalent to KL Rahul's wc final innings..

Bhai uss din maine bhi Pakistan ki khatir khoon ke aansu roya tha jab isko kaptaan banaya gaya tha

You asked me how I was feeling.

Shahzad confirming what a lot of us have always speculated. It was Rizwan who was manipulating Babar throughout his tenure in the first place

What a worst innings by him.. equivalent to KL Rahul's wc final innings..
Rahul's innings was even worst considering Rohit had given us a decent platform on that day. Also, Rahul was in great nick coming into WC final unlike Rizwan.

Former Pakistan cricketer Sikandar Bakht, while speaking on a local TV show:

"First of all, Rizwan should step down as captain. I would personally request him and urge the cricket board to ask him to speak in Urdu or Pashto because his speech is difficult to understand."

"How can someone who struggles to express himself be an effective captain? We've already seen his captaincy on the field. I had said the same about Babar—that he was a poor choice for captaincy—and I stand by it for Rizwan as well. He is not the right choice for the role."

"Their central contracts should be revoked. Even when they went to the USA [ICC T20 World Cup 2024], I had said their contracts should be terminated. They should only be given contracts when they prove themselves by winning matches."

"These players are earning 40-60 lakhs, so why would they care? We have no issue with them making money, but they must justify it with performances."

I'm here bro. Ask away
I already asked last time but sure why not.

A) Is babar the best pakistani batsmen of all time?

B) Was misbah's and ramiz's vision correct in asserting that Babar and rizwan are Pakistan's main batters? Was falhar rightly dropped to no 4 knowing full well that he's horrible at the middle order, is Pakistan's x factor, won the tri series against Australia with 91 of 46, even though he was inconsistent despite t20 being crickets most inconsistent format?

C) What about captaincy? Rizwan and babar as captains?

A) Is babar the best pakistani batsmen of all time?

Doesn't seem like it with the lack of recent performances but yes he is our best at the moment. He can end up as the best as long as he takes his game seriously. Needs to show discipline and work extra hard when it comes to keeping fit. He just needs to look at the example of Kohli. The man hasn't eaten butter chicken in over 10 years! That's the sort of commitment Babar needs to show.

Sadly Pakistani players lack that sort of discipline. I don't know what the solution is but I believe having a local coach that can bring out the whip would be a good start. If these guys won't discipline themselves, have someone who can.

Was misbah's and ramiz's vision correct in asserting that Babar and rizwan are Pakistan's main batters? Was falhar rightly dropped to no 4 knowing full well that he's horrible at the middle order, is Pakistan's x factor, won the tri series against Australia with 91 of 46, even though he was inconsistent despite t20 being crickets most inconsistent format?

Misbah and Ramiz had different visions hence why Misbah and Waqar resigned when Ramiz became chairman. RizBar are Pakistan's main batters. The Champions trophy defeats have just proven this further. If they don't click, we don't win. In fact it becomes difficult for our team to play out 50 overs.

Fakhar wasn't dropped to 4 in ODIs. T20Is is a different format and #4 has been Fakhar's best position Let's not confuse formats and let's not make it about Fakhar vs Babar or Rizwan because that's not the case. Fakhar himself tweeted Babar is Pakistan's best batter. The boys back each other and has always been the case. If Fakhar was made captain do you really believe he would drop Babar

C) What about captaincy? Rizwan and babar as captains?

In all honesty, Rizwan's captaincy was found wanting. I had much higher hopes but he made many blunders.

Bringing an injured Fakhar in at 4 against NZ. What was he thinking? Then the bowling changes and using Abrar in the PP, like why do you have a third pacer or what are part timers for.

And then to top it of, brought in Imam. Seemed like he did a favour to Inzimam and Babar by picking his best friend. He should've backed Usman Khan, his Multan Sultan's pick.

And then choosing to bat first against India in a must win game. That was straight out dumb.

But the worst for me though was him hiding his face behind the gloves every time something went wrong.

Still, I'm backing him as he's new to captaincy and needs to be given time. He just needs to be more confident in his own decisions rather than looking to others. Needs to take control of the team and do what his intuition tells him. Too many chefs can ruin a dish. This team didn't look like it was solely Rizwan's.

Rizwan will look good on some days but when it goes bad for him, he looks like a minnow captain who knows nothing about the game. No game awareness in his batting as well so far.

He got Usman ahead of Imam when the squad was announced but he was never given a run, instead they brought back Imam and he played ahead of him. Babar's opening was never the fix. You had Usman as an opener and he should have been backed here but nope. KING KING KING BLA BLA BLA>>..... MOVE ON now

Doesn't seem like it with the lack of recent performances but yes he is our best at the moment. He can end up as the best as long as he takes his game seriously. Needs to show discipline and work extra hard when it comes to keeping fit. He just needs to look at the example of Kohli. The man hasn't eaten butter chicken in over 10 years! That's the sort of commitment Babar needs to show.

Sadly Pakistani players lack that sort of discipline. I don't know what the solution is but I believe having a local coach that can bring out the whip would be a good start. If these guys won't discipline themselves, have someone who can.

Misbah and Ramiz had different visions hence why Misbah and Waqar resigned when Ramiz became chairman. RizBar are Pakistan's main batters. The Champions trophy defeats have just proven this further. If they don't click, we don't win. In fact it becomes difficult for our team to play out 50 overs.

Fakhar wasn't dropped to 4 in ODIs. T20Is is a different format and #4 has been Fakhar's best position Let's not confuse formats and let's not make it about Fakhar vs Babar or Rizwan because that's not the case. Fakhar himself tweeted Babar is Pakistan's best batter. The boys back each other and has always been the case. If Fakhar was made captain do you really believe he would drop Babar

In all honesty, Rizwan's captaincy was found wanting. I had much higher hopes but he made many blunders.

Bringing an injured Fakhar in at 4 against NZ. What was he thinking? Then the bowling changes and using Abrar in the PP, like why do you have a third pacer or what are part timers for.

And then to top it of, brought in Imam. Seemed like he did a favour to Inzimam and Babar by picking his best friend. He should've backed Usman Khan, his Multan Sultan's pick.

And then choosing to bat first against India in a must win game. That was straight out dumb.

But the worst for me though was him hiding his face behind the gloves every time something went wrong.

Still, I'm backing him as he's new to captaincy and needs to be given time. He just needs to be more confident in his own decisions rather than looking to others. Needs to take control of the team and do what his intuition tells him. Too many chefs can ruin a dish. This team didn't look like it was solely Rizwan's.
First of about Kohli's fitness. Here's the thing, The vegetarian diet is the perfect diet imo and I admire kohli's resiliency. The maximum I've gone on a veggie diet is 1 month and I lost 8KG that month. Anytime I gain 1 to 3KG, I go on a 2 week vegetarian diet.

The downside of it for me, is that the food is god damn disgusting. But it's better to have disgusting food that makes you lose weight and you're never hungry vs pizza and burgers and meat and you're forced to calorie count and feel hungry.

I have never ever met a single vegetarian in my life who's fat. Never once and I've met alot of them. However not everyone including cricketers are veggie boys. David Warner, Starc, and pretty much any aissie are athletes and they ain't vegetarians.

Babar's fitness has nothing to di with not having bitter chicken, he can have as many as he pleases. It's that he overeats, doesn't take his fitness seriously and in many pictures with Williamson or videos on YouTube he has a dad bod despite being unmarried.

And you're wrong on him being our best batsmen. It's always been fakhar and soon saim will take that mantle. Anyone who claims that fakhar isn't our best batter is a liar. Anyone who claims if babar and rizwan clicks we win is a liar, Anyone who claims that these guys are our main batters and not fakhar are liars. End of story.

Never seen a captain so proactively get eliminated in 4 days since a tournament started
Is there any chance Rizwan follows what Butler did?

I think it will help Pak. team if he did. The team needs new blood, new leadership, new coach. Well....new everything.

I don’t understand what leadership qualities Rizwan has. Is this even a debate?

Athers doesn’t really pay too much attention to the damage he has caused behind the scenes and general backstage landscape.

Plus he was a former captain and is biased in that regard, and is off the old school mentality to give a leader a long run, and that’s fine if you can make the team.

Athers probably doesn’t know what a Mohammad Haris is or a Rohail Nazir or what our vast pool of talent has to offer because they are seldom showcased and their development is stunted, so yeah, as a casual observer; Pakistan mai toh Rizwan se kiyah hai, mai ne yeh kabi may dekha from my local TV station…..

His cowardice is there for everyone to see.

As for Rizwan's innings, it's massively overrated on here.

The 90 runs in the first 10 overs were clutch as it meant Pakistan were chasing more like 260ish in 240 balls, which was gettable with all the dew and the fact that Pakistan were facing a depleted South African bowling attack. But Rizwan's tempo wasn't the best.

Here are the facts:

Rizwan took 64 balls to get to 50. This equates to a strike rate of 78. At the time, Pakistan required 171 balls from 129 balls. The run rate required was 8 runs per over.

In contrast, Salman Agha scored his half century at a run ball, which is a far more acceptable strike rate, 100.

At the end of the run chase, Rizwan wasn't even able to take his strike rate up to run a ball.

It was a Misbah-esque innings. The only difference being, Misbah would never have scored a hundred because that's something he was unable to accomplish in ODIs.

Salman Agha carried Rizwan hard, as evident by his stellar strike rate of 130. Had he got out with half (or less) number of runs, Pakistan probably would've lost this game.

Rizwan's innings wasn't all that, it was potentially match losing, if anything. If you're going to struggle scoring above run a ball against B/C string bowling attack in dew conditions then chances are he's going to struggle in the CT where there's nowhere to hide. He will have to prove himself against first string world class bowling attacks if he wants to win over his critics. But we all know he simply doesn't have the shot range because of his terrible offside game, so the bottom line is best to keep expectations low otherwise you're going to get hurt.

I did say best to keep expectations low when a good number of fans were doing bhangra over that Rizwan hundred, which was a massively overrated by numerous posters on the match thread.

If you can't score run a ball on a flat deck + dew against a depleted bowling attack after facing 100+ balls, then there's no chance you're going to deliver in an ICC event against first string bowlers, but the Rizbar fan club never seem to learn.

In an interview with an Indian media outlet, Mohammad Amir mocked Rizwan's captaincy:

“Mohammad Rizwan… (laughs) You’ve gone from a Ferrari to a rickshaw now (laughs). At one point, I admired him because he had experience captaining domestic cricket and the PSL, where he led his team to the finals. But suddenly, within just a few months, his decision-making changed completely. I’m unsure what caused this shift since I haven’t been in the dressing room with him during that period. His choices now seem unusual.”

“Initially, he was a bold captain, and it seemed he would bring about positive changes. However, within a few months, it felt like he had drifted away from the cricketing mindset. Many people, including Ahmed Shehzad, Wasim Akram, and others, have pointed out flaws in the squad. There is a lack of genuine openers and key spinners. If Rizwan claims he had no authority over selections, that’s not entirely true. The same influence that helped him become captain could have been used to shape the team, but he didn’t take that step. I don’t understand why.”

In an interview with an Indian media outlet, Mohammad Amir mocked Rizwan's captaincy:

“Mohammad Rizwan… (laughs) You’ve gone from a Ferrari to a rickshaw now (laughs). At one point, I admired him because he had experience captaining domestic cricket and the PSL, where he led his team to the finals. But suddenly, within just a few months, his decision-making changed completely. I’m unsure what caused this shift since I haven’t been in the dressing room with him during that period. His choices now seem unusual.”

“Initially, he was a bold captain, and it seemed he would bring about positive changes. However, within a few months, it felt like he had drifted away from the cricketing mindset. Many people, including Ahmed Shehzad, Wasim Akram, and others, have pointed out flaws in the squad. There is a lack of genuine openers and key spinners. If Rizwan claims he had no authority over selections, that’s not entirely true. The same influence that helped him become captain could have been used to shape the team, but he didn’t take that step. I don’t understand why.”
Match fixer

Again opening his mouth

Sure but at least they don't sell their souls for few pennies
This is subjective. There are many ways one sells his soul, match fixing or spot fixing isn't the only way.

Allah the Almighty is the sattar. Pray that he continues to be the one who protects those who you support.

And you spread lies quoting Pointing!

Sir Ricky Ponting on Rizwan

"He's the sort of player that I love watching. Aggressive player that takes the game on, and wears his heart on his sleeve a little bit," he said. "I reckon you can see he gets quite emotional out on the field, out on the ground as well, which I think is a good thing.

This is subjective. There are many ways one sells his soul, match fixing or spot fixing isn't the only way.

Allah the Almighty is the sattar. Pray that he continues to be the one who protects those who you support.
+1, fixing isn't the only way to sell your soul.

Turning your country into a joke is another method. Winning and losing is a part of the game, it happens, move on and end of story

But Australia and England even at their worst moments, you cannot look at them and claim that they sold their soul.

Look how bad England is and yet despite that Phil Salt refuses to tuk tuk and stat pad, he will still lunge at everything and provide his country the best start that he can then opt for a 80 ball 40.

Similarly Duckett and Butler will never throw their teammates under the bus. Butler is blaming himself for captaincy. Had this been rizwan he would have 100% pinned the blame on Salt and Brooks, i guarantee it.

The only genuine criticism that England is facing is that their finiding excuses such as Brooks complaining about lights during India series but he never once pinned the blame on his actual teammates.

Brooks sucks against spin but he's still going at it.

Jake fraser has been a failure in international and yet Steve smith and all of CA has given the world to him and still believe.

^^ This is what a team is. Not people who argue about their own batting positions, scored 40 of 77 and claim they did so cause they wanted to rebuild and then consistently blame his teammates for failures in every game.

And you take pride in tainted players like Amir Sharjeel and other manipulators Imad Wasim
Hating Amir for fixing is one thing. If people hate Amir, Sharjeel for fixing and imad for spreading hate on tv, Then so be it.

Genuinely I don't mind, to each their own. But using this to claim that their bad players is nonsense.

Imad wasim was Pakistan’s best no 7 in odi. He underachieved as a batsmen in t20 but he was still miles > Shadab, Nawaz, Usama mir and many other pseudo allrounders. Not to mention he was a very good t20 opening bowler which is rare for spin bowlers lol.

Amir is Pakistan's best bowler since the classic era of Wasim and Waqar ended. Only bowler > him since then was shabbir Ahmed but he was a chucker who got banned. Not to mention during his prime Amir has Starc level champion mentality, aka always showing up in big events.

Sharjeel is the only dissapointment since he fixed at the peak of his career just when he was kicking off with impressive performances against Australia and Brutally dominating England in t20. Pakistan had finally found an opener who wasn't a circus clown in Australia and could actually beat England at their own game aka attacking cricket.

However he fixed which is his fault, however nothing wrong with promoting such players. He is still Pakistan’s 4th best opener of all time. Babar is even worse then ramiz raja as an odi opener. His rexord at opening is hilarious.

@mominsaigol @topspin @shaz619 @emranabbas @Dr_Bassim

Literally only Rizwan can be given a Ferrari and he will turn it into a Rikshaw!

Can trust him to do an engine swap and putting a 2 litre TDI in the Ferrari 🤣🤣🤣🤣

But what is so incredible for me to see is, Amir, a senior pro and former world champion, eloquently is saying how it is and what we’ve been saying for ages. This guy did chalakiyah to be captain and not many people are talking about that in the media, Amir is right, where was the same Chalikiyah when it came to Pakistan’s interests? Rizwan only serves himself.

I fear that rizwan is gonna lose the captaincy ( which he should actually) but we have no real replacement and the names popping up are not worthy themselves. Salman??? Haris?? Shadab??

Are they gonna solve anything? Just like rizwan, these guys also do not deserve a spot in the team yet.

I fear that rizwan is gonna lose the captaincy ( which he should actually) but we have no real replacement and the names popping up are not worthy themselves. Salman??? Haris?? Shadab??

Are they gonna solve anything? Just like rizwan, these guys also do not deserve a spot in the team yet.
Captain should be saim when he comes back, end of discussion.

For now Agha in odi and shadab in t20.

1 game???? 1???
Make shadab captain, he won PSL. Make Haris captain based on that
That one game is plenty for me to judge his cricketing acumen.

Experience is overrated. No one looked at Mark zuckerberg and claimed that he can't run the World's 5th most powerful company simply cause he's a 19 year old dork.

Saim is the same. You don't need Experience if you got natural skill and natural swag.

1000024006.jpg

Experience is overrated. No one looked at Mark zuckerberg and claimed that he can't run the World's 5th most powerful company simply cause he's a 19 year old dork.

Saim is the same. You don't need Experience if you got natural skill and natural swag.

View attachment 151624
Sure bro....make him captain... I hope it works... whatever works for Pakistan, count me in

View attachment 151624
Why ruin his career like babar by giving him captaincy when he is just entering into his peak??
A 22 year old being made captain of a non performing team surrounded by toxic management and seniors.Will it do any good to him??
He may become the depressed saeed anwar without even starting his career.
Better to make agha as captain as he has good IQ and hunger to win and appoint himas vc so he can mature under Agha as I think Agha is actually humble unlike rizwan.
U should make Saim captain after 2027 wc when he would have done something in batting.
So as of now he shouldnt be captain.Haris can also be appointed as captain in T20s as he has good IQ and leadership skills with saim as vc.Saim is also friends with Haris so there will be no backstabbing as well.

With that being said I think Saim will be a better captain than Rizbar while also considering the fact that he seems to be well educated and has good communicatin skills unlike definitely and process guys.

I want Shadab to lead I think he is good leader but he is still from Babars gang that’s why I have resevation about him .

With that being said I think Saim will be a better captain than Rizbar while also considering the fact that he seems to be well educated and has good communicatin skills unlike definitely and process guys.
Saim is not captaincy material . Too early for him he can’t even speak with confidence he is shy kinda guy . In Pakistan you need badtameez captain like Sarfraz use to yell . These koi baat nhi type of captain and softies don’t work in Pakistan .

Saim can lead the young lot with his natural gameplay

He is more of a role model for youngsters looking to express themselves than Babar or Rizwan

Saim can lead the young lot with his natural gameplay

He is more of a role model for youngsters looking to express themselves than Babar or Rizwan
Role model and leader are different. Babar was role model for many . What happened lol

Mohammad Rizwan’s T20I captaincy ends after four defeats in four matches

GMB4MCa.jpg

View attachment ssstwitter.com_1741164916820.mp4

Mohammad Yousuf the batting coach of Pakistan insists on Rizwan not occupying a pure batsman’s spot at number 4.

Mohammad Yousuf himself is one of the GOAT middle order pure batsman’s for Pakistan and was one of the best in the world in his playing days