[PICTURES] Imran Khan gets married for the third time

People saying its not a big deal and that this is the norm. Its his personal life

Let me remind you Imran Khan when he got married to Jemima was also 'not a big deal', but he infinitely rose to fame in tabloid journalism because of that, center of attention, inviting Lady Diana to Shaukat Khanum and what not, he enjoyed being a socialite and enjoyed the perks of it. Gave tabloids all the comfy and lovey dovey pictures not just here but in England as well.

His second marriage was the well publcised marriage to anchor Reham Khan, another celebrity/noteworthy marriage, so much so he announced to that he wanted 'naya pakistan' so he can get married finally - in one of his jalsas.

Not to forget the much public fallout after 'national bhabi' was not allowed to be going to party of rallies, not to forget making a movie production house together which released the movie 'janaan', countless appearance on morning shows/interviews together, and doing a tv show from Bani Gala and inviting guests over. All part of a publicity, used by both husband and wife for being noted purposes.

As a result the divorce was even more public, and even more dirty.

Now people say the guy who has always been in the public eye, should be left alone because its his personal life? Well you didn't shy away from publicity when the same people were always using this to project their 'happily married fantasies' on you and called you the 'ideal married couple'.

People know Khan marriages are news, for what they are and they become in the future. It becomes from 'oh I'm a happily married man, to Oh Chorain usay mai uskay baaray mai baat nahi karna chahta'

You Nooras are obsessed with his marriage. If i turn the thread to the billions stolen you will run as you Nooras always do. I dont remember you ever commenting on the billions stolen, why? Whats more important IK personal life or billions stolen?

Do you feel you're a relationship expert like others on here because you've watched a few Bollywood films?

I'm sure he knows better than you what he needs.

Seen older people getting married and not really happy. I am married long enough to know what it is.

This is an internet forum and anyone can give their opinion. You seem to be hurt.

There's no personal vendetta against Imran Khan. I have said it before on this very forum that IK as a person is better than entire Sharif clan put together. He has probably done as much for the country as any Pakistani can hope for.

The fact I don't agree to any of his politics since August 2014, doesn't change my stance on him as an individual.
Everyone opinion should be respected and so yours.

Seen older people getting married and not really happy. I am married long enough to know what it is.

This is an internet forum and anyone can give their opinion. You seem to be hurt.

Im amused not hurt. I just wondered what made you such an expert? Do you have an agony uncle column in the local rag? Opinions are fine but need some sort of substance. Your's seem to be based on some old person who was married but then was unhappy and your own marriage. No offence but IK is not like any old person you would have ever met, he's probably fitter than you physically and mentally and has more experience with life than most.

Congrats to IK. Some double standards from a few garbage posters as usual.

Yes, it is about the social norm. It is not about right or wrong.

The West is repulsed by first cousin marriages, but embrace gay marriage and people changing their genders and even morphing themselves into objects. It is all about perspective.

Marrying multiple times and especially marrying women/men who have grown up kids is a no-no in our society.

Then blame the society!

It's also big no-no get a divorce in our society, millions suffer due to stigma attached to divorce and continue to be tortured.

What people forget is that the man has been married for only 10 years in his entire life, i am half his age and married for same amount of time so marrying at 66 may not be same for him as compared to someone who is in 40s and have had multiple divorces and marriages.

His divorce with Jamiama was extremely sad since they respect each other to date, he had to choose between his happy married life and country and he chose his country and struggle. I will be honest, i would have saved my marriage and family instead of country as would MAJORITY of people in our "SOCIETY".

You Nooras are obsessed with his marriage. If i turn the thread to the billions stolen you will run as you Nooras always do. I dont remember you ever commenting on the billions stolen, why? Whats more important IK personal life or billions stolen?

Yes 30,000 arab ki chori? But the decision of the supreme court came on an Iqama and a salary not taken? Your point?

So that is IK's fault that the media covers every minute detail of his life. This was such a low key event that IK was only accompanied by his two close friends(no relatives) and the lady was accompanied by her immediate family. Still the media is covering it as if it is the event of century.

He has used the media in the past for charity aspirations, the media house he likes to bash was the prime source of his income in the 2000s, when he thought ARY and others were too beneath him to be on.

He has used the same media to raise billions for Shaukat Khanum, if you bash the media, then you deserved to be bashed. On same high moral grounds you like others to follow

But no one is saying they can't cover it or discuss it. They can pass their judgements and the rest of us can judge them in turn.

Yes you should read what high and mighty PTI brigade of morality stooges have to say on this.

Nobody has stopped PTI brigade from dishing out lessons on morality and taking the high moral ground, name-calling, abusing television anchors on the internet, or stooping as low as possible for political mileage, why should others stop now when Khan Sahab is doing something that is newsworthy/ bashing worthy?

Why not apply same standard to oxford educated Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto??? Is having secret wives better hidden from your second wife better, your first wife also being your first cousin

Zulfiqar Bhutto = Hero
Shahbaz Sharif = Future Prime Minister
Imran Khan = ???

Nooras and Jiyalas are worst

Too many straw man arguments here to respond to.

First of all I never called ZAB my hero nor am I praying for SS to be the future PM. ZAB's personal life was nothing to be inspired of. I also never made the argument that since IK has married his spiritual guru that nobody should vote for him.

Nobody has stopped PTI brigade from dishing out lessons on morality and taking the high moral ground, name-calling, abusing television anchors on the internet, or stooping as low as possible for political mileage, why should others stop now when Khan Sahab is doing something that is newsworthy/ bashing worthy?

DWa2FNwWkAEOYN3.jpg

Journalism simply doesn't get better than this, they should win a Pulitzer. :yk

Its a political blunder, what is weird about this thread is the posters that are mostly conservative are liberal w.r.t Imran and liberals are behaving like conservatives w.r.t to him..

DWa2FNwWkAEOYN3.jpg

Journalism simply doesn't get better than this, they should win a Pulitzer. :yk

Mir Shakil ur Rehman is the lowest of low lifes. I hope in his quest to defend the Nooras his media house crosses certain lines and the Supreme Court cancels their licence. That would be a wonderful day in Pakistan history.

Apparently, his son's were not even consulted before he decided to marry for a third time. His sisters did not attend his second or third marriage either. It is obvious that IK has little shame when it comes to such matters and only marries to satisfy his animal instincts. Any person would be humiliated to hear and tell the world their father has been married three times and counting. He is simply unable to keep a lady happy. After getting bored with one he just moves to another without thinking of what he is doing, it's disgusting.

No double standards because I am not interested in politicizing personal issues. I would still be critical of his politics even if he would not have had an illegitimate daughter, multiple failed marriages.

When Imran first announced his political plans, there was generally a positive response here in India. A lot of us felt this would be a positive step in Indo-Pak relationships. But over the years, his significance seems to have vanished. Maybe it's as simple as the fact that he has hardly ever won anything which suggests he doesn't have the support we assumed he had.

So I'm really curious.

If I may be presumptuous and assume you initially were interested and positive about his politics, what caused the change? Was it a slow decline or some event that triggered a switch in the way you viewed him?

If you're sufficiently motivated, please share your experiences and thoughts on this. Think it would make for great reading, the perspective of a Pakistani who grew up alongside Imran's political aspirations. Thanks.

Don't expect the other side to present flowers to you. Both sides have extreme bias.

Lol do you understand what it means "Don't expect the other side"?

So Jang newspaper is other side for you? This has always been the issue that biggest media house in the country has OPENLY become a party and they get rewarded from tax payer's money not even Sharif's personal investment.
PTV & PTV2 (Geo/Jang) with tax payer's money support a certain party and that covers heavy majority of audience in Pakistan?

Lol do you understand what it means "Don't expect the other side"?

So Jang newspaper is other side for you? This has always been the issue that biggest media house in the country has OPENLY become a party and they get rewarded from tax payer's money not even Sharif's personal investment.
PTV & PTV2 (Geo/Jang) with tax payer's money support a certain party and that covers heavy majority of audience in Pakistan?

You clearly haven't seen politics in the US or any other country where the media is on the opposing sides of the government/mainstream mindset

I don't see any conspiracy though, taxpayer money? What conspiracy channel did you hear this froom?

I love how foreign Pakistanis indulge in the most absurd conspiracies to justify their deluded beliefs.

Nawaz Sharif is part of a foreign conspiracy

Imran Khan is being bashed as part of a hidden agenda

Bomb blasts happen to divert attention from PTI jalsas

Yet when the same news channels give Khan too much spotlight for his marriage to get tickers, they get annoyed for him getting 'too much attention'

Post 172 only shows IK's well known affairs and marriages . Don't forget the likes of Rekha, Zeenat Aman, Kristiane Backer and Goldie Hawn who he was also involved with. Just don't think the Islamic Republic of Pakistan should have such a PM. Great credit and a million thanks to him for all the great work he has done for Pakistan. If PTI ever wins the election he should nominate someone else as PM. Someone will much oratory skills as well.

I love how foreign Pakistanis indulge in the most absurd conspiracies to justify their deluded beliefs.

Nawaz Sharif is part of a foreign conspiracy

Imran Khan is being bashed as part of a hidden agenda

Bomb blasts happen to divert attention from PTI jalsas

Yet when the same news channels give Khan too much spotlight for his marriage to get tickers, they get annoyed for him getting 'too much attention'

That shows how much you know about Pakistani politics :)

As the matter of fact your party (not sure if you own them) has filed a case in Pakistani courts that PTI receives foreign funding and interestingly their issue was some of the names on list of donors were not Pakistani names :)) One was i think Indian national who was married to Pakistani woman and other was a company cheque issued by Pakistani but company is owned by white American.

Also, Imran Khan is considered the Yahoodi agent and not Nawaz Sharif and even PMLN supporters would admit that is the case so your argument is completely invalid.

Only thing i agree with is some people consider everything is a conspiracy and even bomb blasts are ordered by hidden hands to divert attention. Same mentality when people blame establishment or foreign hands for everything including Panama leaks.

I remember MQM's Farooq Sattar even blaming BBC for playing in the hands of Talibans when they broke story about their money laundering or financial mismanagement :))

Post 172 only shows IK's well known affairs and marriages . Don't forget the likes of Rekha, Zeenat Aman, Kristiane Backer and Goldie Hawn who he was also involved with. Just don't think the Islamic Republic of Pakistan should have such a PM. Great credit and a million thanks to him for all the great work he has done for Pakistan. If PTI ever wins the election he should nominate someone else as PM. Someone will much oratory skills as well.

Exactly, Zaid Hamid would be a better option!

Or even better Islami options

Maulana Fazl ur Rehman
Munawar Hasan
Maulana Siraj ul Haq
Upcoming dynamic leader Allama Khadim Hussain Rizvi

Any other i might be missing?

When Imran first announced his political plans, there was generally a positive response here in India. A lot of us felt this would be a positive step in Indo-Pak relationships. But over the years, his significance seems to have vanished. Maybe it's as simple as the fact that he has hardly ever won anything which suggests he doesn't have the support we assumed he had.

So I'm really curious.

Sounds like a familiar trajectory to you?

REH_LpUJ.jpg

Exactly, Zaid Hamid would be a better option!

Or even better Islami options

Maulana Fazl ur Rehman
Munawar Hasan
Maulana Siraj ul Haq
Upcoming dynamic leader Allama Khadim Hussain Rizvi

Any other i might be missing?

Allama Khadim Hussain Rizvi or Maulana Abdul Aziz Ghazi would be good choices.

PTI werent around in the early 90s and the Nooras abused BB and mother. Nooras have nothing to fight àccept to attack peoples personal lives. The PTI attacks have always been about theft and looting, is there something wrong with those attacks? I didnt even know that Maryam had a child straight after her wedding ( as Rana called it Capt Safdars double shifts) until a few months ago, Did you know? If the PTI wanted to get personal why didnt they use this against the Nooras.

Apparently, his son's were not even consulted before he decided to marry for a third time. His sisters did not attend his second or third marriage either. It is obvious that IK has little shame when it comes to such matters and only marries to satisfy his animal instincts. Any person would be humiliated to hear and tell the world their father has been married three times and counting. He is simply unable to keep a lady happy. After getting bored with one he just moves to another without thinking of what he is doing, it's disgusting.
So the Nooras are the guardians of morality. The ones that steal from the poor of PK, the ones that have corrupted and banktupted every institution are ones that giving lessons on morality.

PTI werent around in the early 90s and the Nooras abused BB and mother. Nooras have nothing to fight àccept to attack peoples personal lives. The PTI attacks have always been about theft and looting, is there something wrong with those attacks? I didnt even know that Maryam had a child straight after her wedding ( as Rana called it Capt Safdars double shifts) until a few months ago, Did you know? If the PTI wanted to get personal why didnt they use this against the Nooras.

in 90s PML-N did the worst thing imaginable. photoshopped Benazir bhutto in compromising clothing (and no clothing) and airdropped the flyers into different areas. Cannot get lower than that. Absolute vermin these Nooras.

PPP and PTI never get even close to this low and generally dont play dirty politics to this level. Otherwise there is so much more material. Hamza Shehbaz's domestic abuse. Nawaz propositioning international reporters and failing.. Maryam safdar running away from home, eloping and having a kid six months after the marriage... This is prolly just scratching the surface

Kejriwal at least won seats and governed. How did Imran lose goodwill or did he actually not have much goodwill to begin with.

So did Imran Khan - he and his party are in power in a province called KPK (capital: Peshawar).

Many on this site live in denial, but he is a realistic chance of becoming PM after the coming elections.

That shows how much you know about Pakistani politics :)

As the matter of fact your party (not sure if you own them) has filed a case in Pakistani courts that PTI receives foreign funding and interestingly their issue was some of the names on list of donors were not Pakistani names :)) One was i think Indian national who was married to Pakistani woman and other was a company cheque issued by Pakistani but company is owned by white American.

Also, Imran Khan is considered the Yahoodi agent and not Nawaz Sharif and even PMLN supporters would admit that is the case so your argument is completely invalid.

Only thing i agree with is some people consider everything is a conspiracy and even bomb blasts are ordered by hidden hands to divert attention. Same mentality when people blame establishment or foreign hands for everything including Panama leaks.

I remember MQM's Farooq Sattar even blaming BBC for playing in the hands of Talibans when they broke story about their money laundering or financial mismanagement :))

Yes just like everyone that criticizes PTI is a lifafa journalist, everyone who talks trash about Imran Khan is a RAW funded agent, Modi ka yaar as we call it :) All that really burnt Khan sahab, Dawn leaks was a foreign conspiracy against the army where establishment's mouth piece went full crazy on that scandal.

Modi's visit, and secret meetings with Jandhaal were blamed for everything wrong with this country.

Let me guess, foreign relations diminishing with all our neighbors was also Nawaz's doing..

Maleeha Lodhi showing pics of Palestenian Pellet gun victims was a nawaz strategy to malign the army too

Imran's other name seems more apt these days : Taliban khan.

And your point on the Iqama is? Why would a PM of a country need an Iqama?

Lemme guess, he was exiled from his country for just a span of 7 years? Does that make him guilty? I don't think so. Many called it a weak judgement. Why hasn't NAB given out arrest warrants yet. Why didn't they retrieve the 30,000 ki arab? I dunno how the zeros keep changing on this one though....

PTI attacks are the attacks that you make when you call a 'cancer patient' deserving a painful death for looting the country...

Personal is when Ayesha Gulalai made allegations, the second Ayesha came up to talk about his divorce with Hamza Shahbaz and PTI made a fuss about it. So how is pti different from the others?

What is the difference between having a disqualified guy have his son stand in the same seat for elections after being disqualified on the same basis as your opponent?

What is this exact difference that PTI likes to talk about? Are you guys somehow standing on the right side of morality?

What is the difference between corruption when that same guy that was disqualified in your party is the main source of funds for your elections and campaigns

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]
A lecture about giving 2 hoots about the society doesn't sound very nice from a person who almost always is against popular opinion.

I'm very sure that when this same "society" will find a way to criticize you even in your most righteous efforts then I'm sure people like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] will feel "redeemed" for their theory of going with society's so-called principles/rules.

IMO, if you wanna be a people-pleaser then you can kiss your personal desires/happiness goodbye.

PTI attacks are the attacks that you make when you call a 'cancer patient' deserving a painful death for looting the country...

Personal is when Ayesha Gulalai made allegations, the second Ayesha came up to talk about his divorce with Hamza Shahbaz and PTI made a fuss about it. So how is pti different from the others?

What is the difference between having a disqualified guy have his son stand in the same seat for elections after being disqualified on the same basis as your opponent?

What is this exact difference that PTI likes to talk about? Are you guys somehow standing on the right side of morality?

What is the difference between corruption when that same guy that was disqualified in your party is the main source of funds for your elections and campaigns

Which PTI leader called for the painful death of the cancer patient? We need names and quotes. And if they did, they should be sacked from the party.
So a Noora whose party replaces leaders with son or daughter is criticising the PTI on a candidate. You are Noora and if this decision was bad, you must be having kittens on Maryam and Hamza beconing leaders ahead of Ch Nisar. But off course not, you are serfs.
The guy that funds the PTI did not loot the public purse, in fact he paid more tax than all your Nooras put together, urs more than the billionaire sharifs( look it up) you would never ever consider defending the Sharifs again. Your party is built on stealing from the poor.
Where do stand on the abuse of the Judiciary, Where do you stand the failure to provide a single receipt in the Panama case? Where do stand on the the Qatari letter? Do you think Maryam still has no properties in London? Why did NS have an iqama along with Khawaja Asif and others? Why werent they declared?
As you want the Noora torch, what do you think of the following looting?

https://www.dawn.com/news/1387057/i...-in-punjab-finance-department-auditor-general.

Then blame the society!

It's also big no-no get a divorce in our society, millions suffer due to stigma attached to divorce and continue to be tortured.

What people forget is that the man has been married for only 10 years in his entire life, i am half his age and married for same amount of time so marrying at 66 may not be same for him as compared to someone who is in 40s and have had multiple divorces and marriages.

His divorce with Jamiama was extremely sad since they respect each other to date, he had to choose between his happy married life and country and he chose his country and struggle. I will be honest, i would have saved my marriage and family instead of country as would MAJORITY of people in our "SOCIETY".

No, I do not blame the society; I am blame Imran.

As far as his personal life is concerned, I think he is a despicable and an utterly shameless individual. I am comfortable with how our society views these things.

I do not want Pakistan's society to liberalize and evolve to an extent where marrying multiple times and marrying men/women with grown up married kids, as well as having an illegitimate daughter and refusing to acknowledge her existence for political reasons becomes (except for very extreme and special cases which Imran is not) socially acceptable.

Yes Islam allows four marriages but under special circumstances. This ruling has been *******ized (pun intended) by the Arabs for centuries and it is also not meant for womanizers like Imran.

As far as his personal life is concerned, I think he is a despicable and an utterly shameless individual. I am comfortable with how our society views these things.

I do not want Pakistan's society to liberalize and evolve to an extent where marrying multiple times and marrying men/women with grown up married kids, as well as having an illegitimate daughter and refusing to acknowledge her existence for political reasons becomes (except for very extreme and special cases which Imran is not) socially acceptable.

Yes Islam allows four marriages but under special circumstances. This ruling has been *******ized (pun intended) by the Arabs for centuries and it is also not meant for womanizers like Imran.

:))) Oh my God.... do something with your life. Drink some water, go out on a walk. You are getting worked up about someone's marriage which has no bearing on your life, and your opinion on him. It's like me being annoyed as to who you marry - see how dumb that sounds?

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]
A lecture about giving 2 hoots about the society doesn't sound very nice from a person who almost always is against popular opinion.

I'm very sure that when this same "society" will find a way to criticize you even in your most righteous efforts then I'm sure people like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] will feel "redeemed" for their theory of going with society's so-called principles/rules.

IMO, if you wanna be a people-pleaser then you can kiss your personal desires/happiness goodbye.

First of all, I am not against popular opinion. I was born and brought up in Pakistan, and to a large extent, I have values that are according to the norms of our society. Do not judge me from what you read on the cricket forum.

Secondly, no one has criticized Imran for his righteous efforts. Even his staunchest opponents would commend his philanthropy. The establishment of SKMH, a truly world class cancer hospital, is one of the greatest things any Pakistani has ever achieved. He is criticized for other reasons and the criticism is justified.

Thirdly, how far are you willing to go with the "personal desires/happiness" logic? Where do you draw the line, or the line does not exist according to you? For me it certainly does, and I would refrain from doing certain things that put my society and my family to shame just because it gives me happiness.

If your father decides to marry a woman with grown up married kids because it his what he desires, will you be okay with it? If yes, then good for you. I am certainly nowhere as open-minded and liberal as you are on this matter.

:))) Oh my God.... do something with your life. Drink some water, go out on a walk. You are getting worked up about someone's marriage which has no bearing on your life, and your opinion on him. It's like me being annoyed as to who you marry - see how dumb that sounds?

I am not getting worked up. I am appalled to see people attempting to justify things that are not justified. There are two groups of people who are defending Imran here: those who have spent their entire (or most) of their lives overseas and have little to no idea about the social and cultural norms of Pakistan, and the other groups consists of cult members for whom Imran is nothing short of a divine figure, who can do no wrong and is always right.

The whole point of this discussion is that people will talk about this and they will criticize him. We do not live in a utopian world, and Imran's rivals will attempt to use this against him. It is laughable to see PTI supporters moan about the fact that PML-N members are going to throw mud at him. If you make a mockery of your personal life, do not expect it to go under the bridge.

If tomorrow, I do something that is socially and culturally unacceptable in our society but legal at the same time, I will not be in a position to ask people to shut up and stop criticizing me. I have decided to shame myself, so it is now my job to deal with the humiliation, because I have asked for it.

What? Khan has an illegitimate kid too?

Yes he does. He had too many pints in his youth one day, and went all the way. In order to protect his political career, he has refused to acknowledge his daughter who is now under the care of Jemima. He was once asked to provide his blood sample for a DNA Test in the U.S., and he ran with his tail between his legs.

I love how you complain about Pakistani society and its norms on one hand, and then on the other want others to follow it completely.

As I told Hadi Rizvi, please do not judge me by what you see on the cricket forum. That is only one side of me, I am very orthodox in a lot of other aspects because my ideologies are obviously shaped by the society that I grew up in, i.e. the Pakistani society.

I am content with how these things are viewed in our culture. We are certainly lagging behind the West in so many aspects, but I think that when it comes to social values, South Asia can claim superiority over the West.

It is important to distinguish between social values and social justice. We have obviously failed at the latter. The corruption, intolerance, sexual crimes, domestic violence, lack of human rights etc. is high in our part of the world, but when it comes to family values, respect for elders and respect for our culture, we are relatively better than the West.

Yes he does. He had too many pints in his youth one day, and went all the way. In order to protect his political career, he has refused to acknowledge his daughter who is now under the care of Jemima. He was once asked to provide his blood sample for a DNA Test in the U.S., and he ran with his tail between his legs.

Although Khan most probably did that to avoid the social repercussions of our morally superior society, I wonder if such a taboo concept of an illegitimate child still exists in the West as of late. Have to read up on it.

Or more likely the fact that those of us looking in (to Pakistan) from the outside can see things much more clearly and objectively. In contrast to the locals not being able to "see the wood for the trees".

I completely disagree with your assertion that in Pakistani society generally (as opposed to the society/circles you move in) having a 2nd wife, or marrying for the second time after having children with the 1st (now ex-) wife, is frowned upon to the extent you claim. From my understanding, there's a world of difference between the general attitudes/culture as regards divorce, 2nd wives, re-marriage after divorce etc between those living in the larger town and cities (especially those from the affluent sections of Pakistani society), as opposed to those living in rural villages and the countryside.

Those of you looking in from the outside do not understand the sociocultural norms of Pakistan to the extent that the locals do, as exhibited by a lot of posts in this thread. You are very clearly misinformed over this issue.

Go to Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and any other major city of Pakistan. You will find that multiple marriages, especially marrying men/women who already have grown up, married children, is considered socially unacceptable.

The percentage of people in Pakistan who have multiple wives/husbands is very, very low. There is a stigma attached to it in the South Asian culture.

Although Khan most probably did that to avoid the social repercussions of our morally superior society, I wonder if such a taboo concept of an illegitimate child still exists in the West as of late. Have to read up on it.

I won't call Pakistani/South Asian culture as morally superior. There are only certain aspects of our society that are superior to that of the West, but overall, the level of corruption, intolerance, sexism etc. is very high in our part of the world.

You were not aware of it because we don't shout about his personal life anywhere unlike PMLN supporters who have made a habit of it. Not only SS but his son has married more than once too but again it bears little on their political policies.

I am well aware of SS's personal life. I am simply unaware of the last time he got married. That was the context of my point. Also, I do not want to talk about what SS has done in the past to deflect attention from what Imran is doing now.

I won't call Pakistani/South Asian culture as morally superior. There are only certain aspects of our society that are superior to that of the West, but overall, the level of corruption, intolerance, sexism etc. is very high in our part of the world.

I was being sarcastic.

Holy. Thank you for this.

So I'm really curious.

If I may be presumptuous and assume you initially were interested and positive about his politics, what caused the change? Was it a slow decline or some event that triggered a switch in the way you viewed him?

If you're sufficiently motivated, please share your experiences and thoughts on this. Think it would make for great reading, the perspective of a Pakistani who grew up alongside Imran's political aspirations. Thanks.

Imran was a ray of hope for the people. He was someone who did not come with any political baggage, and had proved his mettle in his career as a cricketer as well as a philanthropist. People believed in his motto and I was among them. I voted for him in 2013 because I was hopeful that he would bring change.

However, over the past five years, I have realized that Imran is not someone who wants to work for the people - he is a narcissist who suffers from the Messiah complex, a power hungry individual who always has to be in control of other people. For him, politics is little more than a game of cricket where he is going to bowl Nawaz Sharif and lift the Premiership trophy.

People compare him to Kejriwal, but I think he is a watered down version of Trump. His politics is not about the people and the country; it is about himself. You either side with him or you become his enemy, and this mentality has trickled down to his cult members as well. That is why whenever someone criticizes Imran and his party, he or she automatically becomes a PML-N supporter.

The members of his cult do not understand the fact that it is perfectly possible to criticize Imran and PTI from a neutral perspective.

In addition to his desire to be in power, Imran is also mentally unstable. He is impulsive and does not understand what it means to compromise. His ego and autocratic ways have served him well in cricket because he was a once in a lifetime cricketer who had the respect of his subjects who did not dare to question him, but these traits have not helped him in his politics and his personal life.

His desire for power is such that he would sleep with the devil to become the PM. He will shake hands with Nawaz tomorrow if it means he will become the PM. He will also establish a coalition with the PPP if they agree to nominate him as a candidate for PM ahead of Bilawal.

As a result of his self-devotion, he has been hypocritical with searing double-standards. He criticizes PML-N for family politics, but his own CM in KPK has installed various members of his family in key government positions. One of his key men, Jahangir Tareen was recently disqualified by the Supreme Court. However, he decides to give ticket to his son in his stead. What happened to the stance against family politics?

He sided with Sheikh Rasheed who is one of the most shameless politicians in history of Pakistan, a certified opportunist. Imran once stated on live TV that he will not even consider a man like him as his chaprasi (peon). Today, he is his right hand.

He speaks against VIP culture, but he is happy to travel around the country in Jahangir Tareen's private jets and helicopters. A man who was disqualified because of perjury.

One of his main men, Shah Mehmood Qureshi who is well-known for his opportunism, recently razed down a university wall for his son's wedding reception. A reception that Imran himself attended. However, he did not say a word and it has brushed under the carpet.

He sacked his own judiciary council who exposed the intra-party rigging within PTI simply because he could not risk upsetting his friends. When his own members were named in Panama, he did not ask for their resignation, but he was relentless in his pursuit to make Nawaz resign.

In order to get into power, he has lowered his moral standing to an extent where there is no difference between his party and the others. The tried and tested failures who did nothing for the country with the other parties are not going to do anything under his stead either.

He has also licked the boots of Army, an institution that has done more harm to the country than any civilian government. Their intervention in politics and their tyranny is the single biggest reason for the political turmoil in Pakistan. On the contrary, the lack of intervention of the Indian Army is a major reason why India has been able to develop as a democratic nation.

The PPP government in 2008 and now the PML-N government in 2013 are the only two occasions where aa democratically elected governments in Pakistan has been able to complete its terms since 1947, and then we wonder why we have not been able to develop as a democracy.

He sacked his own judiciary council who exposed the intra-party rigging within PTI simply because he could not risk upsetting his friends. When his own members were named in Panama, he did not ask for their resignation, but he was relentless in his pursuit to make Nawaz resign.

I can go on and on, but I believe I have provided an in-depth summary of why I have lost faith in him. The fact that he is not financially corrupt himself is not enough. You need a lot more to be a successful politician. He is too volatile and immature to steer the country in the right direction.

He may not put a single penny in his pocket, but he has surrounded himself with wolves who are with him purely due to their self-interests. These people will not bring change. A lot of people have lost faith in him due to the said reasons. However, cult members will be cult members - they seem him as a divine figure who will make Pakistan a prosperous nation with a magic wand.

Which PTI leader called for the painful death of the cancer patient? We need names and quotes. And if they did, they should be sacked from the party.
So a Noora whose party replaces leaders with son or daughter is criticising the PTI on a candidate. You are Noora and if this decision was bad, you must be having kittens on Maryam and Hamza beconing leaders ahead of Ch Nisar. But off course not, you are serfs.
The guy that funds the PTI did not loot the public purse, in fact he paid more tax than all your Nooras put together, urs more than the billionaire sharifs( look it up) you would never ever consider defending the Sharifs again. Your party is built on stealing from the poor.
Where do stand on the abuse of the Judiciary, Where do you stand the failure to provide a single receipt in the Panama case? Where do stand on the the Qatari letter? Do you think Maryam still has no properties in London? Why did NS have an iqama along with Khawaja Asif and others? Why werent they declared?
As you want the Noora torch, what do you think of the following looting?

https://www.dawn.com/news/1387057/i...-in-punjab-finance-department-auditor-general.

Haahaha you need to get your facts right sweetheart. Jehangir Khan Tareen served as special adviser on agriculture and social sector initiatives to then Chief Minister of Punjab Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi before being appointed as the Federal Minister for Industries and Production where he served from 2004 to 2007 in the Shaukat Aziz ministry. In 2011, he joined PTI and became its General Secretary where he served until December 2017. - As per wiki pedia.

Also 'Tareen is considered as one of the wealthiest politician of Pakistan.'

Now if getting your loans written off thanks to being close buddies with Musharraf isn't a crime then I don't know what is.

As for the article you sent, I would like to know what happened to the irregularities in KPK, the metro train/metro bus was claimed by Asad Umar to be made in 8 billion, but instead actually costed more than most train/metro projects of Punjab.

(as you say so) My party has also given the best infrastructure in Pakistan out of all cities, all provinces combined (its another debate altogether how they ended up having the highest percentage of the NSF award for about 30 years). If they actually looted the people how do they end up getting the highest votes of any political party.

Pakistanis are the most bitter people you will ever come across, they can't admit anyone's success, can't accept anyone else is doing better than the others. If PTI does well, thats amazing... no rigging, no complains whatsoever. But when Nawaz wins, its always rigging, corruption, paisa khilaya, RO elections, khotay log.... get a life PTIans.

Learn to just accept that you are JUST not good enough to be voted in.

As dumb as this may sound, this 3rd marriage will definitely affect PTI's vote bank.

People tend to look at these things, how the person is with his family, does he have any family oriented activities? Does he want his children to grow up to be great human beings? Or is it just about the politics.

The fact that he has shown himself to be an impulsive, superstitious, obsessive, narccsisstic human being is anohter reason why his popularity is steady declining amongst the masses. (No I'm not talking about a Lahore Jalsa).

It has been going down steadily as people perceived, look what he does, name-calling, U-turns and just generally being a bitter individual 95% of the time.

Not only that, the amount of reptition Khan Sahab does on the channels he comes on, its like he has learnt a few things (Arbo pati, 30,000 crore ki chori, shehanshah, Badshah Salamat, mauroosi syasat) he goes that and repeats whatever he says in all the jalsas/talk shows/ press conferences. THe jist of the conversation from Imran Khan is 99% the same all the time. THe context is to put dirt on Nawaz. This exercise bore fruit for a long time, but as people grew tired of his hew and cry on tv daily that, people decided get over it Khan Sahab. Please find something better to do in your life.

Not everyone has a destiny pull, as in if you helped put Pakistan on the map in one profession, that doesn't automatically make you god like in the second profession.

Hilary Clinton had aspirations and clear path to become a President, and the first one in US history. She was the secretory of state and Obama's right hand man, but people didnt vote her in.

Khan Sahab is adamant to have that title to his name, to add that label to his laurels. But that doesn't mean he will get them.

Point is you might have all the laurels, all the reputation, all the ability to be a great leader. But if you people don't like you, and masses don't find you a person who is likeable (not just the urban middle class), you will fail even if you have the other qualities.

Khan sahab is not a likeable person anymore. He has aged into a bitter individual in his quest for power. I stand by this stance.

As dumb as this may sound, this 3rd marriage will definitely affect PTI's vote bank.

People tend to look at these things, how the person is with his family, does he have any family oriented activities? Does he want his children to grow up to be great human beings? Or is it just about the politics.

The fact that he has shown himself to be an impulsive, superstitious, obsessive, narccsisstic human being is anohter reason why his popularity is steady declining amongst the masses. (No I'm not talking about a Lahore Jalsa).

It has been going down steadily as people perceived, look what he does, name-calling, U-turns and just generally being a bitter individual 95% of the time.

Not only that, the amount of reptition Khan Sahab does on the channels he comes on, its like he has learnt a few things (Arbo pati, 30,000 crore ki chori, shehanshah, Badshah Salamat, mauroosi syasat) he goes that and repeats whatever he says in all the jalsas/talk shows/ press conferences. THe jist of the conversation from Imran Khan is 99% the same all the time. THe context is to put dirt on Nawaz. This exercise bore fruit for a long time, but as people grew tired of his hew and cry on tv daily that, people decided get over it Khan Sahab. Please find something better to do in your life.

Not everyone has a destiny pull, as in if you helped put Pakistan on the map in one profession, that doesn't automatically make you god like in the second profession.

Hilary Clinton had aspirations and clear path to become a President, and the first one in US history. She was the secretory of state and Obama's right hand man, but people didnt vote her in.

Khan Sahab is adamant to have that title to his name, to add that label to his laurels. But that doesn't mean he will get them.

Point is you might have all the laurels, all the reputation, all the ability to be a great leader. But if you people don't like you, and masses don't find you a person who is likeable (not just the urban middle class), you will fail even if you have the other qualities.

Khan sahab is not a likeable person anymore. He has aged into a bitter individual in his quest for power. I stand by this stance.

Why is Nawaz Sharif or his brother more likeable to you?

@T M Riddle
So did Imran Khan - he and his party are in power in a province called KPK (capital: Peshawar).
Oh ok, wasn't aware.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Might sound patronizing when I say this, but you didn't disappoint. Thanks.

Why is Nawaz Sharif or his brother more likeable to you?

Not to me, but people of Punjab might vote them in. They don't seem as bitter as Imran Khan. Imran hardly finds anything more relevant than speaking about PMLN/ Nawaz/ Their family

You wont be voting for anyone?

Someone who has looted the country to the point of near bankruptcy is more likable than someone who may seem bitter? Surely this can't be right.

What you dont want is already there isnt it? Did't Shabaz Sharif force a husband to divorce his wife so he could marry her? I dont think IK has done anything near this level of bhagarrity in any relationship.

Pakistan is far from Islamic republic, if you mean follow Islamic rules and law.

Current leader is corrupt and his brother is accused of killing protestor.
Pakistan does not follow Islamic laws
Pakistan government only implement Islamic laws that can help them get elected, such as Blasphemy law, which is completely distorted to please the so called savior of Islam.
Government of Pakistan does not and could not provide basic necessities to the People of Pakistan due to purely because they are in government to make money.

So in other word, this is the dumbest argument you have presented for IK not to be elected as PM.

You wont be voting for anyone?

Someone who has looted the country to the point of near bankruptcy is more likable than someone who may seem bitter? Surely this can't be right.

Yes because I have only been hearing that since the beginning of the time I started gathering my senses, I still haven't seen bankruptcy yet or how it looks like in 30 years.

What you dont want is already there isnt it? Did't Shabaz Sharif force a husband to divorce his wife so he could marry her? I dont think IK has done anything near this level of bhagarrity in any relationship.

There will always be individuals like SS and Imran Khan and of course there are many others. However, as a society on the whole, these things are looked down upon in Pakistan and that is never going to change. Furthermore, what SS does does not justify and negate what Imran does, and vice versa.

Fair enough but doesn't this mean you live in a backward society? Do we then want everything to appease backwardness because it simply exists?

In the UK, personal life pretty much becomes irrelevant(unless criminal offences) over abusing your power as an elected official.

The British electrate would laugh at anyone suggesting a corrupt leader is better than an opposition leader who has personal relationship issues. What they care about is how the country is run not how someones relationships are blossoming. IK marrying 50 times will not make a personal difference to the people of Pakistan but Nawaz looting will ruin them and their future offspring for generations to come.

Strange people some Pakistanis.

Yes because I have only been hearing that since the beginning of the time I started gathering my senses, I still haven't seen bankruptcy yet or how it looks like in 30 years.

Are you actually saying Nawaz, his family and his party are NOT corrupt?

Fair enough but doesn't this mean you live in a backward society? Do we then want everything to appease backwardness because it simply exists?

In the UK, personal life pretty much becomes irrelevant(unless criminal offences) over abusing your power as an elected official.

The British electrate would laugh at anyone suggesting a corrupt leader is better than an opposition leader who has personal relationship issues. What they care about is how the country is run not how someones relationships are blossoming. IK marrying 50 times will not make a personal difference to the people of Pakistan but Nawaz looting will ruin them and their future offspring for generations to come.

Strange people some Pakistanis.

Thats ** and completely untrue. Personal life plays a big part of a politician leader and is looked at by everyone when and how deals his family. How he is loyal to them, how he thinks about his kids and their futures. All this does play a role in the likeability. It does make a difference to people of Pakistan, sadly you wont know.

Alot of people like to see their leaders be good family men. Especially in an islamic environment and religiously conservative section of our society. Nobody likes PLayboys.

Thats ** and completely untrue. Personal life plays a big part of a politician leader and is looked at by everyone when and how deals his family. How he is loyal to them, how he thinks about his kids and their futures. All this does play a role in the likeability. It does make a difference to people of Pakistan, sadly you wont know.

Alot of people like to see their leaders be good family men. Especially in an islamic environment and religiously conservative section of our society. Nobody likes PLayboys.

So according to you. A playboy is worse than a corrupt person? Theft is worse than liking women? Even though the playboy stopped being a playboy decades ago but the corrupt are stilling filling their boots? Strange society.

I said when you are voted in, people look at everything that is possible to be looked at. Private life has a big big role to play in the person's ability to be voted in. Not just here, but in America when you see local bodies, and mayors get voted in, they look at the character of the person, how is he with his kids, what he wants his kids to become, looks appreciable of the local public, how he talks to people when the camera is not on. Imran Khan fails in alot of those check boxes.

Civil discord never loooks right, he can see his vote being affected by this. Nobody likes men with an unstable family life. If Reham was still his wife it might've been that we would be looking at the guy who wants his marriage to work, has ability to go through it in thick or thin.

And the manner in which he got married will not look great in a conservative soceity. A 3o year old marriage ended because of him. Heck even the west doesn't appreciate how Trump handles his family. Talk on women's right is always a big issue, Trump was a playboy and nobody likes the statements he put in specially for women.

He might be a President but he has to be one of the most hated in US history

Few extremely bitter and unhappy people here who are also an emblem of hypocrisy. People, who claim themselves as neutral observers yet they consider a man better than him who has married even more times than him.
They consider IK power hungry while they don't write such voluminous posts about a person who has been on roads for his sacked Premiership despite enjoying it thrice and his nominated PM in the office.

Can't believe people here are lecturing us on moral grounds when they consider the rulers better who in fact have been caught lying to the masses , parliament, courts, are established as financial corrupt and responsible for deaths in Model town.

IK is far from being saint but some of the criticism here is ludicrous.

Thankfully everyone doesn't ascribe to this point of view.

Few extremely bitter and unhappy people here who are also an emblem of hypocrisy. People, who claim themselves as neutral observers yet they consider a man better than him who has married even more times than him.
They consider IK power hungry while they don't write such voluminous posts about a person who has been on roads for his sacked Premiership despite enjoying it thrice and his nominated PM in the office.

Can't believe people here are lecturing us on moral grounds when they consider the rulers better who in fact have been caught lying to the masses , parliament, courts, are established as financial corrupt and responsible for deaths in Model town.

IK is far from being saint but some of the criticism here is ludicrous.

Why do Erdogan and Putin get voted in every time despite being the Leader of their countries multiple times?

I said when you are voted in, people look at everything that is possible to be looked at. Private life has a big big role to play in the person's ability to be voted in. Not just here, but in America when you see local bodies, and mayors get voted in, they look at the character of the person, how is he with his kids, what he wants his kids to become, looks appreciable of the local public, how he talks to people when the camera is not on. Imran Khan fails in alot of those check boxes.

Civil discord never loooks right, he can see his vote being affected by this. Nobody likes men with an unstable family life. If Reham was still his wife it might've been that we would be looking at the guy who wants his marriage to work, has ability to go through it in thick or thin.

And the manner in which he got married will not look great in a conservative soceity. A 3o year old marriage ended because of him. Heck even the west doesn't appreciate how Trump handles his family. Talk on women's right is always a big issue, Trump was a playboy and nobody likes the statements he put in specially for women.

He might be a President but he has to be one of the most hated in US history

This is an unfair comparison to say the least. Trump has made statements regarding groping women and is accused of sexual harassment. This is very much different to IK who is only getting married for the 3rd time and as someone posted earlier, has only really had 10 years of marriage in his life which he sacrificed for his nation.

If his marriage was perfect, his critics including yourself would find some other strange reason to dislike him.

Thankfully everyone doesn't ascribe to this point of view.

IK will need all eggs in his basket if he wants to win this election, his personal life doesn't seem to inspire alot of confidence. Even if you think the 1.1 million votes that Nawaz got was all due to rigging, he will still need quiet a lot going in his way to actually win seats in Punjab. People who don't appreciate the manner in which Khan manages his life, the lectures he gives others but doesn't follow them himself.

Not as corrupt as made out to be, almost as much as any other party in Pakistan.

You were saying before the Panama verdict that all this is fake and Nawaz Sharif hasn't done any corruption. You like your leader are a liar. So don't open our mouths otherwise you would have to run like the rest of the Noora clan who do a runner as soon as they are asked harsh truths.

Why do Erdogan and Putin get voted in every time despite being the Leader of their countries multiple times?

Go ahead. Tell me the reason of your question and also how this question is related to my post.

You don't need to put question in one post and then educate me in the next one. By all means, pass some knowledge onto me. I will try my best to understand a few things from your vast superior knowledge.

IK will need all eggs in his basket if he wants to win this election, his personal life doesn't seem to inspire alot of confidence. Even if you think the 1.1 million votes that Nawaz got was all due to rigging, he will still need quiet a lot going in his way to actually win seats in Punjab. People who don't appreciate the manner in which Khan manages his life, the lectures he gives others but doesn't follow them himself.

If/when he loses, I think it'll be due to his political failings. PTI should have done more after the Panama verdict. He is not the smartest politician.

Shehbaz is supposedly going to be the next PML-N candidate for PM, let's see how much of a role his personal life plays in the election.

Those of you looking in from the outside do not understand the sociocultural norms of Pakistan to the extent that the locals do, as exhibited by a lot of posts in this thread. You are very clearly misinformed over this issue.

Go to Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and any other major city of Pakistan. You will find that multiple marriages, especially marrying men/women who already have grown up, married children, is considered socially unacceptable. .
Or more likely the fact that those of us looking in (to Pakistan) from the outside can see things much more clearly and objectively. In contrast to the locals not being able to "see the wood for the trees".

[.......]

From my understanding, there's a world of difference between the general attitudes/culture as regards divorce, 2nd wives, re-marriage after divorce etc between those living in the larger town and cities (especially those from the affluent sections of Pakistani society), as opposed to those living in rural villages and the countryside.
Interesting that you mention "Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and any other major city of Pakistan", and yet completely fail to mention, as per my post " those living in rural villages and the countryside".

Thus proving my point.

I rest my case on the basis of "those of us looking in (to Pakistan) from the outside can see things much more clearly and objectively. In contrast to the locals not being able to "see the wood for the trees". "

This is an unfair comparison to say the least. Trump has made statements regarding groping women and is accused of sexual harassment. This is very much different to IK who is only getting married for the 3rd time and as someone posted earlier, has only really had 10 years of marriage in his life which he sacrificed for his nation.

If his marriage was perfect, his critics including yourself would find some other strange reason to dislike him.

10 years of marriage which he sacrificed for his nation, seriosuly have you guys ever considered that the marriage ended because of some other reasons, like the ones Khan mentioned in Simi Garewal interview as being personal differences... Nothing to do with 'sacrificing for the country'

Imran Khan married a third time, his second time didnt end so well, and the marriage concluded on a very bitter note, with details coming out about his behavior in the marriage being very unstable, impulsive, irrational. People look at all this, they don't appreciate you being a single 66 year old male.

Then the Ayesha Gulalai allegations were a pretty serious label of abuse on his name, atleast that didnt' stop his party from being covered in any shame. Obviously they weren't investigated but they came out and people heard them. And he was worried enough to go late night to Pak pattan to seek spirtiual guidance from Pinki Pirni on what was a 'tough time' for Khan according to Dawn News.

If/when he loses, I think it'll be due to his political failings. PTI should have done more after the Panama verdict. He is not the smartest politician.

Shehbaz is supposedly going to be the next PML-N candidate for PM, let's see how much of a role his personal life plays in the election.

Well I agree with you, and I also want to add politics is a perception that one creates of themselves in a way that directly affects their vote bank. Everything they do is a way to attract votes. Whenever they come on tv they are referring to their voter base, and to the neutral voters. Neutral voters won't swing his way if they find something unlikeable about him.