[PICTURES] The enigma called Ahmed Shehzad - Why did his career not take off?

Ahmed Shahzad played yet another crucial inning in which he scored 72 off 52 deliveries which includes 4 massive sixes, marking his third consecutive fifty in the Pakistan National T20 Cup 2023.
Strong performances, completely merits the selection now. Thats how you do it rather than whining like Uakmal, Imad and Amir. Champion player. @Mamoon

What exactly will he offer to the T20 side? You have Babar and Rizwan doing the same as he does on his good days

What will he offer to the one day side? Right now everyone’s darling Abdullah Shafique already does what he can on a good day. Then you have the entitled Imam ul Haq with his average close to 50 and a strike rate of 85

Offers nothing different for these formats

He may have improved with time but i agree he struggled
Shane Warne remarked: "Monty Panesar hasn't played 33 Tests, he's played one Test 33 times" in reference to his lack of development of self-thinking. Same applied to Shehzad’s 140 LOI games. He showed no improvement, and rightly dropped.

Ahmed Shehzad scored another half century today in the National T20 Cup 2023-24. He made 72 not out off 52 balls against Karachi Blues. These are the highlights of his innings that include 5 fours and 4 sixes.

What exactly will he offer to the T20 side? You have Babar and Rizwan doing the same as he does on his good days

What will he offer to the one day side? Right now everyone’s darling Abdullah Shafique already does what he can on a good day. Then you have the entitled Imam ul Haq with his average close to 50 and a strike rate of 85

Offers nothing different for these formats
Look at the stats below man and tell me if your points are correct:

- Pakistan Cup 2021 – 11 inns, 456 runs, 41.45 ave, 92.87 SR, 158 HS, 2 50s, 1 100, 56 4s, 10 6s, BASRA 134.32

- Pakistan Cup 2022 – 11 inns, 422 runs, 42.20 ave, 81.62 SR, 71 HS, 6 50s, 45 4s, 5 6s, BASRA 123.82

- QeA Trophy 2021-22 – 8 inns, 410 runs, 51.25 ave, 68.33 SR, 91 HS, 50s 5, 57 4s, 3 6s

- QeA Trophy 2023-24 – 6 inns, 482 runs, 96.40 ave, 62.35 SR, 253 HS, 2 100s, 1 50, 56 4s, 3 6s

- National T20 Cup 2023 so far – 2 inns, 141 runs, 70.50 ave, 146.87 SR, 81 HS, 2 50s, 13 4s, 8 6s

Ahmed Shehzad is showing some form in the national t20 and people have eyes on him like Pakistan test team's captain Shan has.

-------------------------------------

Pakistan Test Captain Shan Masood during a press conference ahead of the Australia Tour:

“As far as you’ve mentioned about senior players like Ahmed Shehzad, the doors are open for everyone. We are looking that this is the way to play, the blueprint, and the identity of the Pakistan team going forward. Any player who performs in this way in domestic cricket will definitely be considered and will come into the team. But first, you start with whatever team you have, which is already settled, and you try to give them a chance first. Anyone who performs to that standard and in that way in domestic cricket will definitely be considered.”​

In consideration of his performance in the National T20 Cup 2023 so far, he should be selected for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand.

But why should he be in contention and not Sharjeel Khan? Shahzad is no different to Babar or Rizwan. We have been screaming for change in these positions for 3 years not because we hate Babar and Rizwan, but we hate the pathetic brand of cricket they play as openers.

How is Shahzad an upgrade to those two?

As I said before, some corruptions have long-lasting effects. Sharjeel will not get a chance again, as Hafeez is the director of cricket now.

Shehzad is playing superbly in the ongoing National T20 Cup, and he has no record of corruption. So, he deserves the chance.

He should have been selected for Australia tour rather than Saim. He was dumped too early in tests. Saim shouldn't be playing tests for now

As I said before, some corruptions have long-lasting effects. Sharjeel will not get a chance again, as Hafeez is the director of cricket now.

Shehzad is playing superbly in the ongoing National T20 Cup, and he has no record of corruption. So, he deserves the chance.
He has no record of actual performances either.

Ahmad Shahzad : I have respectfully refused a contract to play in the ongoing season of Abu Dhabi T10 League as I believe I have some unfinished business with my team Lahore Whites in National T20 Cup.

Plz pcb do give this lad one last chance. He won't disappoint you.

Ahmad Shahzad : I have respectfully refused a contract to play in the ongoing season of Abu Dhabi T10 League as I believe I have some unfinished business with my team Lahore Whites in National T20 Cup.

Plz pcb do give this lad one last chance. He won't disappoint you.
Who is he going to replace in the current squad? Babar? Fakhar?

Ahmed Shehzad is leading run scorer in the ongoing National T20 Cup 2023

Matches: 3
Runs: 213
Average:106.50
SR: 143.91

Ahmed Shehzad is leading run scorer in the ongoing National T20 Cup 2023

Matches: 3
Runs: 213
Average:106.50
SR: 143.91
I can see glimpses of the old Ahmed Shahzad, who used to be the face of the team. Hoping that he can make a comeback to the national side.

He needs to be picked in the psl first which will give him a even bigger chance of representing pakistan.

I want him to be selected for the Nzland series. He can come in place of Rizwan in the squad.

The upcoming PSL will be the final test for Ahmed to perform and get his well-deserved chance. He should keep on performing in this national t20 cup as well. He is already doing superb job.

He has good 4 years of cricket left in him and seems to have matured gracefully so definitely deserve a chance in ODIs for sure and may be T20is because why not? I am following him since he was a 15 year old kid and sadly his career doesn't flourished as I predicted despite all the talent in the world he had.

Deserves serious consideration in Tests.

Though I am happy to continue with Inzi Light if short pitched bowling is banned in cricket, I think he could breach Don’s 99 avg that way to.

So the selectors and PCB are under immense pressure to select Shahzad

Is he also going to bat in the middle order to accommodate Babar and Rizwan as openers? That’s what we have seen with Fakhar and Saim

4th Consecutive 50 for Ahmed Shehzad in National T20 Cup 2023. He has scored 53(35) vs Peshawar.

He would be hot pick at PSL 9 Draft

20231201_161759.jpg

He has good 4 years of cricket left in him and seems to have matured gracefully so definitely deserve a chance in ODIs for sure and may be T20is because why not? I am following him since he was a 15 year old kid and sadly his career doesn't flourished as I predicted despite all the talent in the world he had.
I see the same issues he had throughout his career. Pre-meditates a lot and will struggle to rotate strike. Shehzad looked out of sorts back in 2018-19; he will look much worse now.

4th Consecutive 50 for Ahmed Shehzad in National T20. He has scored 53(35) vs Peshawar.

He would be hot pick at PSL 9 Draft

View attachment 139588
Absolute class this lad. Got kicked out of the team unfairly (in tests). Kept his head down, became super fit, didnt talk negatively about anyone, zero toxic behavior and consistent peformer in domestic since the past few years. Its a travesty that players like imam and shan play for pakistan while Ahmed Shehzad got ignored. Bring him back!

Not sure if he we should look to induct Ahmed Shehzad in our limited overs setup. But he has been scoring consistent runs this season and looks good. Seems to have a bit more power in him as well to clear the boundary rope.

4th Consecutive 50 for Ahmed Shehzad in National T20 Cup. If this consistent run cannot fetch him another chance in the national squad then I wonder what will.
Lets be honest. Pakistan has a gazillion openers who are doing OK in the three versions of the game.

What we need is quality allrounders, spinners & tall fast bowlers.

Absolute class this lad. Got kicked out of the team unfairly (in tests). Kept his head down, became super fit, didnt talk negatively about anyone, zero toxic behavior and consistent peformer in domestic since the past few years. Its a travesty that players like imam and shan play for pakistan while Ahmed Shehzad got ignored. Bring him back!
I really want to see him in the green shirt again. Same old vibes. Hats off to him for his sheer commitment.

Wasn’t able to bat at a high enough strike rate in ODIS and T20s struggled to rotate strike and find boundaries when needed otherwise he would have had a long career as an all format opening batsman for Pakistan.

Pretty strong performance for Ahmed Shehzad. PSL comeback is on the cards for him now. Quetta again?

Hopefully not, dont want to see him playing under useless taptan, would rather if he comes to LQ or goes to MS.

I am guessing his return to Quetta. Lahore and Multan might not be picking him.

Give him another chance and watch him once again become the 70 strike rate opener that was rightfully dropped.

No matter how he scores in the domestic circuit, AS for some unknown reason become the most timid and defensive opener in the world on the international stage. No place for his style of play.

If he performs well in PSL, I wonder whether he could be in contention for the World Cup..

Ahmed Shehzad is the only Pakistan player to score two 50+ scores in PSL finals.

He scored 64 off 39 in PSL 1 and title-winning 58 off 51 in PSL 4.

His record in T20 world cups is not bad average is fine and strike rate is much better than Babar.

His career record goes down partly down to UAE wickets the slow pitches there meant he only had a strike rate of 88 after playing 12 matches.

Some media reports saying that he could be part of the fitness camp for the upcoming series?

Yet another chance for Ahmed Shehzad to prove that he is still there to make his way into the national team as he will be leading the WAPDA side in president's cup 2024 starting from tomorrow. 50 over contest it is but still he can make a mark to come in limelight again.

Ahmed Shehzad speaking about the delayed announcement of the squad for the T20 World Cup, during a TV show:

“Normally, whenever something like this happens in the world and a team does it, the first thing that comes to mind is that they are not prepared. We discuss these things in the dressing room, within the team. Whenever someone is late, we say that they are not prepared; they are confused. If you look at the last 15 to 20 days, we have been discussing the same thing: when we are sitting outside, we can’t figure out what you guys want to do. Obviously, you all are confused for the same reason. Because you didn’t perform well in the series against New Zealand, and then the situation in Ireland was not great for your team. Now you are under pressure. You know that if you perform like this against top-tier sides, you will struggle.”

“Initially, you weren’t as confused, but when you performed poorly in the series against New Zealand and then faced a challenging situation in Ireland, your confidence took a hit.”

“Whenever a new chairman arrives, why do they get so involved? They are going everywhere. When you arrive, you motivate the team once, but you don’t go everywhere to keep motivating them. Players often feel pressure because of this thing. We have heard that at the last moment, he got involved and stopped the team announcement. So, what message are you trying to convey? “You’re the one who hired these guys making unprofessional decisions, but now by stopping them, you are proving your own decisions wrong and not doing anything.”

Pakistan batter Ahmad Shahzad launched a sensational attack on Mohsin Naqvi, he said in his video on Twitter:

"When you lost to India in the T20 World Cup 2024, to keep people quiet, you said that you will do a surgery on Pakistan cricket. But you failed to do it. You lied to people just like others in the past. What did you think? That you would buy time? That after you beat Bangladesh in the Test series, people will go a little quiet and then you will implement your changes, but that did not happen."

"This is what happens if you don't make changes in time. You got scared and you did not make decisions. I was told that Mohsin Naqvi was a brave, resolute and shrewd man with extreme power when he became the PCB chief. It was being said that if anyone could change the PCB, it would be Naqvi. But we have not seen it yet, but whatever he has done so far, this much is clear that Mohsin Naqvi has absolutely no idea about cricket."

Ahmed Shehzad is the very definition of Hated hero to Beloved Villian of Pakistan.

This man is the roman reigns of Pakistan
Very unfortunate that one of the best batting talents after Inzi, Two Ys and Misbah IMO were Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad however both suffered from off field issues behavorial issues which in the end impacted their careers big time.

In a video posted on his official X handle, Ahmed Shehzad:

"Pakistan have made another unwanted record against Bangladesh. It seems like Bangladesh cricket team has come only to make records."

"Pakistan bowlers did will to dismiss 6 Bangladesh batsmen for just 26 runs, but after that, you let a 150-run stand flourish. And this has happened for the first time in history that a team had taken 6 wickets inside 30 runs and then see a 150-run stand for the seventh wicket take the match away."

"At a time it was looking that things are under your control. These youngsters (Mir Hamza and Khurram Shahzad) who had toiled hard in domestic cricket and hadn't come from Mohenjo-daro, had been waiting for their chances for a long time and today they got an opportunity because some senior bowler was missing and they both delivered for you. Khurram Shahzad bowled well today, hitting the weak areas of the Bangladesh batsmen, exposing their weak techniques and dismissed them."

While speaking on a talk show on local media outlet, Ahmed Shehzad takes jibes at PCB following Ravi Ashwin's remarks on Pakistan team:

"Why are you surprised, Ashwin? Don't worry, everything is fine here. Can't you see that stadiums are being built over here? Continuous digging is being done. Don't be surprised at all."

"Are you not seeing that Pakistan is organizing a cup? Just wait and watch the number of players who come out of this tournament. How we get a battery of fast bowlers and produce players! Are you not seeing this? Why are you surprised, Ravi?"

"So what if we couldn't qualify for the Super 8s of the 2024 T20 World Cup? So what if there is groupism in our team? So what if the current players in the team are not performing? It's not a big issue, Ravi, so please don't worry."

Ahmed Shehzad speaking on his YouTube channel:

"Please fear god. Koi bhi aata hai aur aapko mandir ke ghante ki tarah baja deta hai. First Bangladesh came and you guys made a shameful history by losing to Bangladesh for the first time. You got whitewashed. Now against England, you've put up another shameless performance,"

There is no winning attitude in this team. The pitch might be flat but no one was putting an effort. You sledge sometimes, try to bowl bouncers but everyone looked clueless. The pace of the bowlers has gone down to 125-130 kmph,"

"These players don't have any accountability. They know that there place in the team is not under any kind of threat. PCB doesn't want to give opportunities to the youngsters. The previous management also did the same,"

While speaking on a talk show on local media outlet, Ahmed Shehzad takes jibes at PCB following Ravi Ashwin's remarks on Pakistan team:

"Why are you surprised, Ashwin? Don't worry, everything is fine here. Can't you see that stadiums are being built over here? Continuous digging is being done. Don't be surprised at all."

"Are you not seeing that Pakistan is organizing a cup? Just wait and watch the number of players who come out of this tournament. How we get a battery of fast bowlers and produce players! Are you not seeing this? Why are you surprised, Ravi?"

"So what if we couldn't qualify for the Super 8s of the 2024 T20 World Cup? So what if there is groupism in our team? So what if the current players in the team are not performing? It's not a big issue, Ravi, so please don't worry."
Sarcasm?

Controversial but Shehzad played in an era of tougher bowling. He was once considered way more talented than even Tendulkar on PP.

During an interview with an online platform, Ahmed Shehzad defended Virat Kohli's duck against New Zealand in the 1st Test:

"They delivered an excellent delivery to Virat Kohli; the ball bounced unexpectedly from the front, and he really couldn’t do anything about it. Ultimately, he got caught in the slips.

I would say he was a bit unlucky because normally, the ball doesn’t behave like this, or usually the bat touches the ball. But this ball bounced and came inside, and as he tried to guide it, he got caught at leg slip."

During an interview with an online platform, Ahmed Shehzad defended Virat Kohli's duck against New Zealand in the 1st Test:

"They delivered an excellent delivery to Virat Kohli; the ball bounced unexpectedly from the front, and he really couldn’t do anything about it. Ultimately, he got caught in the slips.

I would say he was a bit unlucky because normally, the ball doesn’t behave like this, or usually the bat touches the ball. But this ball bounced and came inside, and as he tried to guide it, he got caught at leg slip."
LOL this Ahmed Shahzad is such a funny attention seeker... he's turning out to be the next Danish Kaneria for Pakistan.

I think a lot of it is debuting too early. Shehzad debuted at 17 years old I believe. Umar too at 19 years old. Too early for both of them. Which put pressure on them later on in their careers. Both of them did not handle the fame and pressure well.

I bet both would have been successful cricketers had they debuted later in age with a decent domestic record behind them. If we look at batsmen that have done well for us in the recent era, fakhar, azhar ali, Asad shafiq, Saud Shakeel, now Kamran, Haris Sohai etc. debuted around mid 20s. Or people like Sarfraz and Rizwan who flew under the radar when young and established themselves mid 20s. Even Babar was over 20 when debuting, and was probably the most talented batsman at that age we ever had.

The number of batsmen that succeeded starting out from a young age is close to zero. And usually the younger the batsmen debuted the higher talent he was to be predicted. I don’t think that’s a coincidence. Both Shehzad and Umar had hope placed on them at a very young age to carry the line up and I think that pressure was their undoing.

Ahmed Shehzad, speaking in a video on his X handle:

"Pakistan’s full-strength side is on the tour to Australia, and we have expectations that this team will go on to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

So if this same international side plays against another country's 'A' side, does it make sense for them to lose even a single match? For example, if Australia’s full-strength team comes to Pakistan and plays against Pakistan Shaheens in three matches, would they lose even one of those matches? Just tell me this—this is all I’m asking.

So, whatever their board has decided, our players will be really happy about it. I know their habits and their mentality because I’ve been part of that dressing room. Our side will be pleased, thinking, Let’s play against this fully inexperienced side without even 2-3 of their experienced players.

The time has passed when Australia’s full-strength side would compete against us, and Pakistan would give them a tough time and even beat them.

So, Pakistan should make sure that this inexperienced side they’re fielding against you doesn’t win even a single match. Go and whitewash them so that they don’t get the courage to pull their main players out of an ongoing series again."

5058 runs in 153 international appearances
10 centuries and 25 fifties across formats
First T20I centurion for Pakistan

Happy Birthday to him.

Happy bday to him. Full credit to him for emerging as a top voice in Pakistan cricket over the last few months. He’s matured, probably learnt from his mistakes.

It’s his renting that has resulted in the improvements in Pakistan cricket team.
This cry on social media was nothing. Pakistan cricket needed improvement and the whole world knows it. Saying stuff that is pretty obvious is nothing.

Ahmed should focus on cricket

Ahmed Shahzad's name has shown up again in the PSL Gold category for PSL Draft 2025, even though he announced his retirement from the PSL back in 2023.

This is pretty strange,.... Ahmed will play this PSL??? IF HE GETS PICKED?? I think he will not get picked.

I want him to play psl. It'll be hilarious if he outperforms 2 legends

You and I both know that he is a talker only... his performances will be even worse than what Azam Khan has done so far in T20s for Pakistan..