[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Indian Politics - News & Updates Thread

Released Indian opposition leader Kejriwal to resign as Delhi chief minister​

Indian opposition leader Arvind Kejriwal said on Sunday he will resign as chief minister of the Delhi regional government, a day after he was released from prison on bail in a graft case.

Kejriwal was granted bail on Friday by India's Supreme Court and left prison on Saturday almost six months after being detained in relation to alleged irregularities in the capital city's liquor policy.

Kejriwal is a fierce critic of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a former anti-corruption crusader whose decade-old Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) quickly rose to mainstream politics, although its clout is relatively small compared to older opposition parties.

AAP had expected that Kejriwal's release from prison would allow him to campaign as a chief minister in regional elections next month in the northern state of Haryana, and in Delhi early next year.

Kejriwal, announcing his resignation as chief minister at a meeting with AAP workers, said he would only return to the post if people certify his honesty by voting for him in the upcoming Delhi election. He called on the Election Commission to bring forward the Delhi election to November, from February 2025.

"I demand elections be held in November with Maharashtra elections, I demand the elections be held immediately," Kejriwal said.

He was first taken into custody in March by India's financial crime-fighting agency, weeks before the country's national elections, in relation to Delhi's liquor policy.

Although he was granted bail in that case in July, he remained in detention due to his arrest the previous month by the federal police in another graft case related to the same policy.

Kejriwal, 55, and AAP deny the allegations and say the cases are "politically motivated".

Breaking - Kejriwal to resign from CM post

Another drama by this chor. He knows his term anyway is getting over in 5 months...so wants to resign now, gain public sympathy and win the next election again.

He said, 'Jab tak delh ki janta mujhe honest nehi maanta...I wont be CM'. Waah...kya drama kar raha hai. Looks like watched too many saas bahu serials in jail :misbah

Anyway, I hope high court bar him from contesting next election.
Taking his playbook from the nehru Ghandy family.. typical of them. Resign just a few months before term and claim sympathy as you said.. why didn't he resign a year or more ago?? Nope.. elections are close thats why..

I’m a 100% right wing person now @big_gamer007 after seeing the statements of Raga in US from Sikhs to Modi, this guy is an absolute mut and extremely dangerous for India.

No no no.

This is the wrong attitude, we need our Puppu to be the future PM of India for the next 100 years.

This will ensure Scamgress won't come to power in our lifetime.

Haha the biggest weapon BJP has is not their IT cell, not their andhbhakts, not their Godi Media not Adani/Ambani but Rahul Gandhi.

Dude has single handedly destroyed an entire party.

AAP's Atishi To Be Delhi's New Chief Minister, Chosen By Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi minister Atishi will take over as Chief Minister after Arvind Kejriwal resigns from the top post after a meeting with Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena this afternoon. The decision was taken at an Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) legislators' meeting today.

At the meeting of AAP MLAs today, party leader Dilip Pandey proposed that Mr Kejriwal decide on the Chief Minister face. When the AAP national convener proposed Ms Atishi's name, all AAP MLAs stood up and accepted it and Ms Atishi was elected leader of the legislature party.

Ms Atishi now holds key portfolios in the Delhi government such as Education and Public Works Department. An Oxford University alumnus and a Rhodes scholar, Ms Atishi has worked extensively in the AAP's flagship exercise to overhaul education in Delhi's schools.

An MLA from Kalkaji, the 43-year-old became a minister after Mr Sisodia was arrested in a corruption case linked to Delhi's now-scrapped liquor policy. When Mr Kejriwal and Mr Sisodia were behind bars, Atishi articulated the party's position at party events and media exchanges.

On August 15, Mr Kejriwal chose her to hoist the tricolour at Delhi government's Independence Day event. While Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena foiled the plan, it was clear that the AAP leadership placed immense faith in Ms Atishi.

Speaking to the media after the announcement, Ms Atishi thanked her mentor Mr Kejriwal. "Arvind Kejriwal has trusted me and given me this responsibility. I appeal to all people of Delhi to make your son, your brother Arvind Kejriwal the Chief Minister again because he is honest."

The elevation of Ms Atishi comes two days after Mr Kejriwal's shocking announcement to step down from the top post. Addressing a gathering of party workers on Sunday, the Delhi Chief Minister said, "Two days later, I will resign as Chief Minister. I will not sit on that chair till the people announce their verdict. Elections in Delhi are months away. I got justice from the legal court, now I will get justice from the people's court. I will sit on the Chief Minister's chair only after the order of the people."

Mr Kejriwal's Sunday shocker came two days after the Supreme Court granted him bail in a corruption case linked to Delhi's now-scrapped liquor policy. The bail order paved the way for his release from prison, six months after his arrest.

Post a commentAssembly polls in the national capital are scheduled for February, but Mr Kejriwal has demanded that they be held in November along with the Maharashtra election. The AAP leader and his former Deputy Manish Sisodia have said they would go to the people to seek their support and not return to the top jobs before the people's verdict.

SOURCE: https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/aap...ster-name-proposed-by-arvind-kejriwal-6583407

What does the 'A' stand for? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

What a fool by gawd :LOL:

This clown should at least do basic preparation before sitting in a stage in foreign country. Being Indira's grandson may give him a podium but every time he opens his mouth he will get exposed.

Absolute clown...no wonder Pakistanis and Indian anti-nationals :inti want to see him as PM