babajee
What nonsense is this?
Irrespective of how good KL Rahul is, he needs to be "rested". He has got enough opportunities, it's time for him to go back to his domestic team and prove his credibility.
Totally disagree. If anything this is the time he needs to be supported more.
2015, 2016 & 2017. 3 years from the time he debuted, KL has given consistently excellent performances for his team. And against big oppositions.
Every player, at some point in his career will face a slump in form. This is KL's first slump in 4 years of international cricket. There is no reason to be so extreme as to drop him.
What is this natural gift of batsmanship?I'm calling it like I see it.
To me, Kohli is the most polished batsman ever. But he doesn't have a natural gift for batsmanship. His natural gift is his strength of mind.
As pure batting talent, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul are better than Kohli.
What is this natural gift of batsmanship?
Rohit is a joke. Can't bat against quality bowling or the moving ball, pure batting talent, my foot.
Rahul is no different from Kohli in that he relies on timing and technique. A lot of his shots he learned from watching Kohli. What Rahul has over Kohli is leverage so he gets better extension thus a bit more power behind his shots. Whereas Kohli has the edge on wrist-work, he can work the finest of angles. Rahul is more of a straight-line batsman.
For example, if Rahul can hit a shot at 45 degrees, Kohli can manipulate at 35, 40, 50, 55 at will. That is pure batsmanship. This is not something you can teach.
Neither are stand and deliver types like a Sehwag or Gilchrist. Those guys are the ones with immense natural ability because they're solely relying on their hand-eye coordination.
Totally disagree. If anything this is the time he needs to be supported more.
2015, 2016 & 2017. 3 years from the time he debuted, KL has given consistently excellent performances for his team. And against big oppositions.
Every player, at some point in his career will face a slump in form. This is KL's first slump in 4 years of international cricket. There is no reason to be so extreme as to drop him.
T20s are supposed to be his forte. But he struggled big time in the 2 games here. I thought he could claim for the ODI spot again through a T2O hundred like he did in Eng. He is not even scoring run a ball and looks very confused.
Rohit is a joke. Can't bat against quality bowling or the moving ball, pure batting talent, my foot.
Rahul is no different from Kohli in that he relies on timing and technique. A lot of his shots he learned from watching Kohli. What Rahul has over Kohli is leverage so he gets better extension thus a bit more power behind his shots. Whereas Kohli has the edge on wrist-work, he can work the finest of angles. Rahul is more of a straight-line batsman.
For example, if Rahul can hit a shot at 45 degrees, Kohli can manipulate at 35, 40, 50, 55 at will. That is pure batsmanship. This is not something you can teach.
Neither are stand and deliver types like a Sehwag or Gilchrist. Those guys are the ones with immense natural ability because they're solely relying on their hand-eye coordination.
Talent means shirt if you are not scoring runs. What good is your talent when you can't prevent your team from getting dominated.
If you think the player has the talent but for some reason is failing then drop him and make him play for the A team or get practice in domestic and gain form. And if he continues to fail at the international level, despite performing for the A team and in domestic, then you know you are dealing with Umar Akmal/Ahmed Shehzad.
Hasn't shown any level of consistency in tests and ODIs. Unfortunately, time is running up for him.
Hyped same as Umer Akmal was. Just like Umer Akmal was being compared to Kolhi. Rahul is being compared to Babar. Two different scenarios here though
Sir, we are talking about his performances in international cricket in the past few months. This is the third time I am reading the same stuff from you like 'he doesn't care about what critics say, he has money blah blah'. And you always bring his millions and contracts when you have nothing to show as far as his performance on the field is concerned.
Indian batsmen don't get "hyped". Because unlike Pakistani batsmen, sooner or later they all deliver on their promise.
Indian pace bowlers are hyped sometimes. But not the batsmen.
Also, KL despite having a bad 2018 is still a significantly better batsman than Babar Azam. To suggest that Babar - who finally after years scored his first test century is better than KL Rahul who has test hundreds in Australia, England, India, SL and WI is ludicrous to say the least. And even in T20s, KL has 2 extra gears as suggested by the difference in SR between these two.
[MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] always brings Rahul's millions and his lifestyle into discussion. I don't think this has anything to do with his performances in international cricket. Rahul should be dropped now. Manish Pandey didn't get as many chances as Rahul, Karun Nair was dropped unfairly and even Rayudu has started to grab opportunities that are coming his way. This will put more pressure on KL Rahul. Don't think money can save him from this.![]()
The discussion is about Rahul as a cricket player. The point is that he is doing well in IPL, which happens to involve the game of cricket. And given that IPL pays loads of money, players take it seriously, and their performance in the IPL should be taken seriously.
Not at all. He is a very recent convert to T20s.
KL Rahul is very much your typical Indian cricketer who is a product of age-group and FC system.
Personally, I feel a proper batsman cannot bat himself into form through T20 cricket. Because regaining form is very dependent on spending as much time in the middle as possible. And T20 doesn't afford that luxury.
At the same time I'm pretty sure that even if he scored other T20 century in Australia, he would still be going to the WC as a reserve backup. Which is alright, I guess.
You are wrong. This discussion is about KL Rahul's international performances. Nobody cares about his IPL performances.![]()
KL Rahul is far more naturally talented than Kohli. He reminds me of the raw natural talent that Rohit had in his early years.
He is going through a rough patch this year so people are coming out of their sheds to kick the man when he is down.
But I can bet my life on this: he will end his career as one of India's finest batsmen. Anyone who cannot see the talent in this guy is wasting their time on cricket.
And as far as comparisons with Babar Azam is concerned - KL is a good 2-3 notches above him. As bad as Rahul's form has been this year, let's not forget that KL already has 5 test centuries all across the world (India, Australia, England, WI and SL) while Babar scored his first test century just a few hours ago.
My observation was based on his IPL exploits last year and there by securing a regular spot in T20s. He's not an automatic choice in ODIs. I was.strictly talking about LOIs so I'm not looking at tests either. The Rahul we usually see goes gungho with a few exquisite strokes and gets out on a million dollar shot. In this series I feel he batted timidly. In both the innings, he consumed more balls than his runs and was the reason for slowing down the momentum. He even lost his No.3 spot. Either he's out of confidence or is confused as to how to approach his innings.
good 2-3 notches aboveplease tell all of us so we can believe in your fantasy world
No thanks.![]()
ofcourse you have nothing to backup with your premature statement
I don't need to.
KL's 5 test centuries (3 outside Asia) compared to Babar's 1 test century at home speaks for itself.![]()
this particular stats you have mention proves rahul is 2-3 notches above?
It's not about the test centuries so much as it's about stroke making ability.
Hand on heart, can you honestly say that Babar Azam can score 150 in a test in England against the quality of Anderson and Broad?
Can you honestly say that Babar Azam is capable of scoring a century at SR of 215 against a top side?
Because KL Rahul has already done both. And he got that century in England while he was in the middle of the worst form of his career. Think about that. Even at his worst, KL can produce an innings like that.
That is why I said KL Rahul is 2-3 notches above Babaz. Because the impact that KL Rahul can have on a game is a lot more than what Babar is capable of. Babar Azam will be a great accumulator of runs. But he will never be able to change the whole complexion of match in a matter of minutes the way KL Rahul can.
It's not about the test centuries so much as it's about stroke making ability.
Hand on heart, can you honestly say that Babar Azam can score 150 in a test in England against the quality of Anderson and Broad?
Can you honestly say that Babar Azam is capable of scoring a century at SR of 215 against a top side?
Because KL Rahul has already done both. And he got that century in England while he was in the middle of the worst form of his career. Think about that. Even at his worst, KL can produce an innings like that.
That is why I said KL Rahul is 2-3 notches above Babaz. Because the impact that KL Rahul can have on a game is a lot more than what Babar is capable of. Babar Azam will be a great accumulator of runs. But he will never be able to change the whole complexion of match in a matter of minutes the way KL Rahul can.
I don't get why people are arguing over KL and Babar one averages 30 In tests the other 37, Rahul is bang average in Odi's and Babar is a guy who accumulates runs rarely producing something scintillating. It's basically choosing between two wannabes, let them achieve something before you want to do the whole who is better.
You are wrong. This discussion is about KL Rahul's international performances. <b>Nobody cares about his IPL performances.</b>![]()
Yeah, nobody cares about his IPL performances, yet he gets paid millions for those performances.
Well if Jaydev Unadkat can earn millions then why can't KL Rahul?![]()
Yeah, nobody cares about his IPL performances, yet he gets paid millions for those performances.
It's not about money. Nobody outside India rates Rahul. Same as nobody outside Pak rates Umar Akmal.
[MENTION=147270]the_outsider[/MENTION] rates KL Rahul so you are wrong there.![]()
I just want to talk a little bit about that bold part.
Idk if you remember, but that description is exactly the words that were used for Rohit Sharma by all experts during his initial years.
KL has been out of form all of 2018. But I bet you cannot find a single 4 or 6 that he has hit that doesn't look amazing.
That's when you know that you have a special player on your hands - even when he is out of form, his stroke making still looks like a million bucks.
Anyway, coming to your point. He clearly he looks nervous. And that is expected since he hasn't been scoring runs. You can't feel confident if you're not performing consistently.
But anyway, I am not so worried about him. He is just too good a player to not get over this hump. And while I don't see him featuring regularly in the 2019 WC XI for India (given how he has no time left to adjust to the no 4 slot anymore), he will still be very important for India as a backup opener.
But I fully expect Kl Rahul to be a huge presence in the Indian XI in the 2020 T20WC in Australia and the 2023 WC in India.
Well if Jaydev Unadkat can earn millions then why can't KL Rahul?![]()
You really know the answer to that question, but you keep bringing Unadkat back into the discussion whenever IPL is mentioned.
I will try one final time. Unadkat was paid millions because the scouting report was that he would achieve big things. When he did not, he did not get those contracts again. IPL team managers are not stupid, they know a lot more about cricket than you do. If you think you know more than people who have had much more real experience than you have, you are simply delusional.
Don't talk like [MENTION=147270]the_outsider[/MENTION] now. When you have nothing left to say you people start quoting ex players, bank balance and their experience. It seems you have nothing else to say about KL Rahul's performance in international cricket now?![]()
About tests , you are right . But kindly check baber ‘s stats and rankings in shorter formats before posting ignorantly.
Would any non pakistani pick babar in their top 11 for LoI's currently, because i don't think they would. Stats don't matter much if there isn't much of a sample size to look at. Let him play a 100-150 ODI's before getting on hype train.
Yes they would.
Facts > Opinions
Fact number 1: Babar is the best T20I batsman in the world (according to ICC not me)
Fact number 2: Babar is in Top 5 in the ODI rankings
Fact number 3: Babar has the highest average in Tests this year with 67, second best Kohli with 58.
Fact number 4: Babar out performed one of the Fab 4, Williamson, in T20I, ODIs, and is Tests so far.
How can you say no team would pick him?
Blah blah blah. It seems you have no shame left even after calling me names and getting your posts deleted. You should be the last one accusing others of derailing threads and a big LOL at your analysis. You add nothing to the topic other than repeating stuff said by ex cricketers like a parrot. All your posts have the same ingredients like 'you are not an expert, do you know better than team management blah blah blah'. If you think you have become an expert here by defending statements from ex cricketers then you are delusional.Actually it's you who never has anything new to say.
Someone once said that you're probably just some bitter guy who once got booted out of an IPL match and back then I found it funny. But maybe it's not so much "funny" as it's true.
Plenty of people, including myself have given detailed explanation of why KL Rahul is still in the team.
You think of yourself as some expert on cricket. But the more I rub shoulders with you the the more I realise just how superficial your posts are.
Till date I have not seen a single analysis done by you in any of your post. All of it is just rants. I hate this I hate that.
There are many posters here like [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] [MENTION=136446]Mainul[/MENTION] and many others who all often write posts that are insightful and interesting to read, regardless of which side of the debate I stand on.
But so far I haven't seen a single post by you that even attempts to think deeply about the game. Every single post is just a reactionary rant that is designed to appeal to the lowest common denominator.
Probably because even you realise that you can't see better than that.
Every post you write is intellectually more hollow than the worst Ekta Kapoor TV soap.
Try to lift your standards if you can. Have something insightful, derailed and interesting to say for a change instead of your usual self-indulgent rant.
Would any non pakistani pick babar in their top 11 for LoI's currently, because i don't think they would. Stats don't matter much if there isn't much of a sample size to look at. Let him play a 100-150 ODI's before getting on hype train.
As this thread about Kl Rahul and Babar Azam so I would keep my conversation about them only . Babar would walk in every LOI team as a middle order batsman might be barring England . But Rahul would not get a seat in any top 5 LOI team , only in low ranked team like pak , Sl and bd he has a chance .
I won't pick Babar in Indian odi team
I rate him but feel he won't provide balance to the team
Only place he can bat would be in top3 and i think we have the best top3 in the world
If Kohli can bat at 4 then I would take him
He needs to bat in top 3 so India and Eng are out of contention. He can't be a No.4 as he eats a lot of deliveries up front. He doesn't seem to have the ability to chase and that's another reason why he won't be in Eng, India
How will he not provide balance? The dude can literally bat after the explosive top 3 and provide some solidity in the middle order.
We struggle to chase run a ball once the top 3 get out. Surely Babar can't be worse than Pandey/KL/Pant.
He will kill the momentum at 4. His SR is usually at 50 for the first 20 to 25 balls he faces
I would say that's still better than DK, Pandey, KL, and Pant. At least he can make it up eventually before he gets out.
He will kill the momentum at 4. His SR is usually at 50 for the first 20 to 25 balls he faces
He's not like Rohit that can explode after a slow start. Babar's best position is opening. He's not a middle order batsman. Along with his slow starts, his power game is also an issue. At the end, as you rightly pointed out, he will make up but that is still less than run a ball. Middle order players need to continue the momentum and should be able to explode at the end. DK, Pandey,KL and Pant are all decent starters and have the ability to explode at the end. They are not as consistent as Babar though. Different types of players
Blah blah blah. It seems you have no shame left even after calling me names and getting your posts deleted. You should be the last one accusing others of derailing threads and a big LOL at your analysis. You add nothing to the topic other than repeating stuff said by ex cricketers like a parrot. All your posts have the same ingredients like 'you are not an expert, do you know better than team management blah blah blah'. If you think you have become an expert here by defending statements from ex cricketers then you are delusional.
Haha, good one. Did u notice how he started sucking up to a few PPers in his last post, part of his defense mechanism. He just doesn't have any originality. The basic premise of his opinions is that everything that bcci or Indian cricketers do can't be questioned. This is the usual flow of his argument -
1. Throw in some random stats of an unrelated era to build his argument
2. Sooner or later, someone punctures his statistical argument, that's when he comes up with poetic arguments - dhoni knows when to retire, Rahul hits sixes like no one else blah blah
3. When that fails, then the defense mechanism kicks in where he starts questioning the thread in first place - "who are you to give an opinion on dhoni", " bcci is a private organization u can't question it".
Basically he can't listen to anything that questions establishment, he's a conformist of the highest degree who would believe that sky is red if his boss tells him that.
I would take Babar in my ODI team despite his 30-something average this year, however averaging 59 on the mines in England and SA is way different from averaging 67 with 1 century and lots of not outs on lifeless UAE pitches.
It seems KL Rahul fans are getting frustrated now after his poor performances and are trying their best to bring in other factors like his bank balance and his lifestyle. Guys don't lose hope KL Rahul is a good talent but he just needs a kick on his backside to wake him up. His fans and low level experts who likes to quote ex cricketers have nothing else to show currently so they are acting like 'khisyani billi khamba noche'.![]()
Now that Rayudu is performing at 4 there is no place for KL Rahul in the team because he only wants to open and Kohli should never give up his position for this wannabe.
Rohit
Dhawan
Kohli
Rayudu
Dhoni
are locked for world cup. Only 2 places are left and 1 of them will go to India's best all rounder since Kapil Dev. That means there is only one position left.
Jadhav/Pant/Pandey/KL Rahul/Rahane/Karthik
Position 1 aur contenders anek bahut na insaafi hai.![]()
Babar is an established batsman at this level, albeit inconsistent in pressure situations. Rahul is going U.Akmal’s way. Won’t be around the Indian team, as there are better batsman than him coming up.Read my original post my friend, I am saying that this comparison in itself is useless, given both are wannabes and niether really has much to show for.