[PICTURES] WAPDA declared winners of Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2016/17 after draw against HBL

I've just tried to decipher the Asif interview from the scattered English words among the Urdu!

I find it startlingly similar to watching interviews when Imran Khan was the skipper. None of the excitability of Javed Miandad or Rashid Latif or the docility and detachment of Inzamam. You can tell from the eyes and the odd English word that this is a bowler who analyses the game.

What a shame that thoughtfulness didn't continue off the pitch too.

I've just tried to decipher the Asif interview from the scattered English words among the Urdu!

I find it startlingly similar to watching interviews when Imran Khan was the skipper. None of the excitability of Javed Miandad or Rashid Latif or the docility and detachment of Inzamam. You can tell from the eyes and the odd English word that this is a bowler who analyses the game.

You're such a big pakistan fan... I reckon you should learn urdu....

I always thought you were a British Pakistani. But I guess that is not the case.

Asif said the following:

- He thinks he is getting better every match
- According to him he did pretty well on a very flat Karachi wicket. He said it isn't all about me as we have some good spinners as well who do their job in the middle overs.
- He was happy how the WAPDA management received him after his ban ended.
- He was looking forward to coming back to the Pakistani team and do well the country. He feels he still can be lethal.
- He has had no contact with Inzamam and just is doing his job. If God wills he will be in the team soon.
- He has not seen any other special fast bowling talent in the domestic circuit. He gave some advice how that could be improved by referring NZ's domestic/academy structure.
- In the end he said in 2006 India was a big team and now HBL is the strongest team in Pak's domestic circuit. So it's nothing new for him to dismiss top batsmen. He said he has dismissed many top batsmen outside Asia as well it's not only Dravid, Sachin, VVS.

I always thought you were a British Pakistani. But I guess that is not the case.

Asif said the following:

- He thinks he is getting better every match
- According to him he did pretty well on a very flat Karachi wicket. He said it isn't all about me as we have some good spinners as well who do their job in the middle overs.
- He was happy how the WAPDA management received him after his ban ended.
- He was looking forward to coming back to the Pakistani team and do well the country. He feels he still can be lethal.
- He has had no contact with Inzamam and just is doing his job. If God wills he will be in the team soon.
- He has not seen any other special fast bowling talent in the domestic circuit. He gave some advice how that could be improved by referring NZ's domestic/academy structure.
- In the end he said in 2006 India was a big team and now HBL is the strongest team in Pak's domestic circuit. So it's nothing new for him to dismiss top batsmen. He said he has dismissed many top batsmen outside Asia as well it's not only Dravid, Sachin, VVS.

Wow, thanks!

I only got about 10% of that!

I usually agree with you but I think it is wrong to discount form, and that this an error the PCB is
guilty of more than other boards. Rahat and Wahab have mediocre career records and should on
the basis of those records be sitting out quite a few Tests while younger talent is trialled. Yet Arthur
and the selectors are keeping faith in them because of their performance in recent series has
apparently been encouraging. Whether or not this is a good strategy, it is true that history need not
be destiny.

After this Test & Odi series the management and selectors should sit together and decide who amongst the current lot are future horses and who need to be replaced with new talent or old ones doing well.

For now continuity is fine.

My observations today........

Amad Butt could have a terrific future. He has all the basics, but his bowling has a few flaws which need ironing out, whereas Faheem Ashraf's bowling quite frankly is beyond help.

Faheem Ashraf could only ever be a batsman who bowls a little bit.

Salman Butt is the best batsman we've seen so far in this match. By a huge margin.

Yar Abdur Rehman Farhat ko bowling pe laga le yar nahi tu Chishti sahib ne hamara sar kha lena hai.

My observations today........

Amad Butt could have a terrific future. He has all the basics, but his bowling has a few flaws which need ironing out, whereas Faheem Ashraf's bowling quite frankly is beyond help.

Faheem Ashraf could only ever be a batsman who bowls a little bit.

Salman Butt is the best batsman we've seen so far in this match. By a huge margin.

what do you think of young Jake Ball and the new opener?

New opener is absolutely a fantastic edition to the Immigrant XI which advocates how advanced and tolerant British society has become

We can afford it, but the chairman required a new suit

the guy spends whole time sitting in UK and we have made him our chairman. I just don't know who will make him accountable for all the expenses for his trips abroad.

People like [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] won't care because they spend even more during their trips to disney land but they don't understand that in Pakistani money his expenses account for HUGE amounts, sharyah has done some decent work for the PCB don't get me wrong but his expenses in addition to board members have been insane.

It is a Pink Ball - but the outfield and pitch aren't grassy enough, so it has become soft and discoloured.
Is this same Kokabora that we will be playing with in GABBA??

If Asif can move Kokabora in flat wicket of Karachi at 1:00 PM. What he could do in GABBA?? 😳

Also, the fundamental problem as I mention numerous time is that theee is no pressure on other end, regardless conditions are seaming or flat. That's where Asif and Amir Combo can be so deadly, Pakistan can climb back to top tier attack like HW/Strace or Phill/Abott or Anderson/Broad. Fast bowling is always about pair. Asif still has 3/4 years left in him. We want to make our bowling great again 😎

I am ready to pay the ticket for asif to bring him to australia, please PCB let asif play this test, i wantto watch his bowling for last time.

Same here, I would pay to watch him bowl. Barring Amir, none of the other bowlers in our squad are worth watching.

I think as good as the performance of Asif was it also showed that same old problems are also there

Primarily to finish up the line up after wrecking the top order

It's a shambles that Hbl is able to score 200 after being 21/6

This is where second sting attack has to be above average. I bet Irfan cannot bowl second spell, others cannot strangle the batsmen. They had average spinners. Asif can only do so much.

Pakistan problem is that Rahat, Sohail and Wahab cannot built any pressure, NZ got to 270 in first innings, because way too rubish bowling by others. This is where Asif/Amir pairing can be so much fruitful in next 2/3 years. Together they will be better than each one of them individually. That's how you get teams out at 120/90 etc. even if conditions are not helping them they will control the run rate. Right now Misbah controls the game with Amir and Yasir. Asif will make our fast bowling top tier, on par with AUS/SA/ENG. and non of them has Yasir.

I don't think Australia can go far if they have only Strace or HW.

Also, Sohail is 33/34, same age as Asif, if he can be drafted this year, why not Asif, who is way better than Sohail. Keep in mind, Amir was on his way up to become world class, but Asif was already world class bowler, won us matches everywhere in the world.

No play will take place today in respect for 12th Rabiulawwal.
Oh really?? - 12th Rabiulawwal is not a sad or mourning day, strange to cancel game. Its like no game on Christmas 🎄. People actual play more, it's holiday.

I know.But I think it's more to do with traffic issues.I live near the stadium and there's a lot of traffic due to jaloos and stuff.

WAPDA 253/5
Kamran Akmal goes off field due to injury , should be back later to bat.

WAPDA 253/5

Should go through a 2 months long thorough checkup, should refrain from internationals ATM. we need to make sure our star batsmen is in top notch condition come the WI tour in 2017 and CT..........

WAPDA 253/5

Oh man that is bad. Kami ko bad dua lag gaye. Hope he comes back asap, deserves a fitting ton in the final.

I think Fahim Ashraf is ready for International cricket, guy can bat/bowl well enough . If guided well can become a good Allrounder

Well, at the halfway mark it's incredible just how much better than anyone else two of the players have been.

I couldn't possibly comment on who they are!

Link

Habib Bank Limited 236

Rameez Aziz c Mohammad Irfan b Mohammad Asif 90
Abdur Rehman b Waqas Maqsood 53
Mohammad Asif 29/4
Mohammad Irfan 34/3

& 6/0 (1.4 ov)

WAPDA 278

Salman Butt run out (Usman Khan/†Jamal Anwar) 125
Adnan Raees c Imran Farhat b Usman Khan 50
Abdur Rehman 66/3

Well, at the halfway mark it's incredible just how much better than anyone else two of the players have been.

I couldn't possibly comment on who they are!
Where was Butt for the majority of the tournament?

Well, he has ended it with a higher average than Shan Masood, Mohammad Hafeez, Khurram Manzoor and Nasir Jamshed.

Still some twists ahead in this Final I think. It's crazy using a pink ball on such a grassless wicket, and I struggle to see how anything apart from scoreboard pressure can get people out.

Why has asif bowled only three overs??

There's nothing in the track now for the quicker bowlers. It's like Day 2 in Abu Dhabi.

Zulfiqar Babar is going to have to bowl all the time from one end with the quicks taking turns at the other.

It's a 450 wicket now.

So why is asif hiding now, or is he only good enough to bowl in helpful conditions, than what makes him special? [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]

Salman Butt isn't using Mohammad Irfan or Waqas Maqsood either.

The pitch is flat, dry and slow. I think it's got to be the spinners now.

Habib Bank Limited 236 & 127/0 (31.2 ov)

Imam-ul-Haq 47*
Fakhar Zaman 79*

WAPDA 278

Habib Bank Limited lead by 85 runs with 10 wickets remaining

Lagta hai mera shaks shahi nikla.

1. This is a typical wicket prepared by PCB farmers, who put lots of cut green grass to give it a mamba look without the bounce on the surface. Now the cut grass has turned brown & Asif has turned to Ganguly

2. Asif's fitness is about 25% level for a Test match in AUS. That's not exposed here because his comparison is with his fellow 7 feeter team mate, who is also at same level (about 25% to play a Test at MCG)

3. His skills are still excellent, but had there been speed gun, it would have read 115-120km; which won't trouble much outside QA style.

3 days back, when exited people were running crazy, I thought I need to wait for day 3, when Habib Bank is most likely to bat 2nd time exactly in twilight zone against new ball, in a wicket I had a little bit of understanding - I got my answer.

God is great that, PCB didn't apply for some quick visa.....

Salman Butt isn't using Mohammad Irfan or Waqas Maqsood either.

The pitch is flat, dry and slow. I think it's got to be the spinners now.

Are you sure? It's a office day, so I have missed something, but CI tells that Irfan has bowled 10 overs out of 37; and he came to bowl 1st change - that's on 7th over. My calculation says, Captain had used him 19 overs out of 15 (he can only bowl from one end😩).

Do you think Salman should have used a 7'1"; 38 years old fast bowler for 15 overs at a stress?

Lagta hai mera shaks shahi nikla.

1. This is a typical wicket prepared by PCB farmers, who put lots of cut green grass to give it a mamba look without the bounce on the surface. Now the cut grass has turned brown & Asif has turned to Ganguly

2. Asif's fitness is about 25% level for a Test match in AUS. That's not exposed here because his comparison is with his fellow 7 feeter team mate, who is also at same level (about 25% to play a Test at MCG)

3. His skills are still excellent, but had there been speed gun, it would have read 115-120km; which won't trouble much outside QA style.

3 days back, when exited people were running crazy, I thought I need to wait for day 3, when Habib Bank is most likely to bat 2nd time exactly in twilight zone against new ball, in a wicket I had a little bit of understanding - I got my answer.

God is great that, PCB didn't apply for some quick visa.....

agreed...eveeryone was jumping but he is not that special..

Are you sure? It's a office day, so I have missed something, but CI tells that Irfan has bowled 10 overs out of 37; and he came to bowl 1st change - that's on 7th over. My calculation says, Captain had used him 19 overs out of 15 (he can only bowl from one end��).

Do you think Salman should have used a 7'1"; 38 years old fast bowler for 15 overs at a stress?

The three quicks bowled short spells after Tea.

Irfan then came back for a second one before Dinner. I'm presuming that the plan is for Asif to bowl under light, next.

I also think so - he & Waqas will bowl about 10-11 overs out of next hour. So, roughly after 50 overs; 3 pacers will have a work load of Asif 9, Waquas 10 & Irfan 10.

Though, Butt should have given "the best ever PAK fast bowler in history with new ball" few more overs than 3, to prove his claims of using new ball🤔

agreed...eveeryone was jumping but he is not that special..

He is special, but now at least 36, has done lots of injustice to his lungs & bowling at 120km - unless there is lots of moisture on the wicket or it's a typical sluggish QA wicket, average batsmen with minimum skills to leave balls outside off will play him out. If you analyze his QA season, you'll see that most of his wickets are with new ball or in 1st hour of a day.

What do you think now?

1. Butt is preserving Asif for 2nd ball tomorrow, or
2. He is dumb Captain who don't know much about Pink ball & twilight factor, or
3. Asif is not fit enough after 3 overs work load?

Habib Bank Limited 236 & 141/0

Imam-ul-Haq 54*
Fakhar Zaman 85*

WAPDA 278

Habib Bank Limited lead by 99 runs with 10 wickets remaining

What do you think now?

Any or all of them?

I don't know!

What do you think now?

option number 3..but many will not agree.they are asif fans..and to me FAKAHAR looks a good stroke player...no need for butt..

He is special, but now at least 36, has done lots of injustice to his lungs & bowling at 120km - unless there is lots of moisture on the wicket or it's a typical sluggish QA wicket, average batsmen with minimum skills to leave balls outside off will play him out. If you analyze his QA season, you'll see that most of his wickets are with new ball or in 1st hour of a day.

i mean he is a past now..we should move on and so is salman butt.

Just noticed Asif not bowling - two possible reasons 1) Fitness, 2) captain Butt is conspiring to avoid ruining his stats because the wicket has flattened out and Asif would get hammered.

Looks like you're right!

He is finally bowling... apparently he isnt allowed to owl till 7:15. Commentators saying in a previous interview Inzi stated Asif has all his wickets with new ball

They tried something like that in the provincial Pakistan Cup earlier this year I think. The names were a bit.... fruity.
ZIC Islamabad
Inverex Sindh
Brighto Paints Balochistan
Cookania Cake Rusk Punjab
Giggly Boom Boom Bubble Gum Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Hilarious!

I think, this match will have a direct result, because Habib Bank has a 1st innings deficit - a draw doesn't help them. They'll try to get a 200+ lead tonight & then aggressively bat for around 50 overs tomorrow, to make the lead around 425 - then 125+ overs to get 10 wickets. However, if WAPDA bats out 125 overs - they should reach close to the target or win it.

Another example of WHY 4 DAY TEST IS A RUBBISH IDEA - had it been a 4 day match, by this time fragrance of the match would have reached to Toronto & Sydney from Karachi for sheer boredom.

He is finally bowling... apparently he isnt allowed to owl till 7:15. Commentators saying in a previous interview Inzi stated Asif has all his wickets with new ball

He (Inzi) knows & can see every tricks of the game - only problem is, he has personal preference of individuals therefore often he sees what he wants to see. Asif didn't take every wicket with new ball in entire season, but almost every wicket with either new ball or in 1st hour of the day when the wicket is a bit juicy. This is because, he is still extremely skillful (& the batsmen are novice) to be lethal in favorable condition, but his pace is around Robin Singh level after few overs & he doesn't have the shoulders any more to bang the ball on brown wicket.

Asif exposed?

Habib bank are 234/0

No need for a recall

Looks like you're right!

4 centuries so far (OK, 2 centuries & 2 90s so far) - all by left handers & 3 of them by openers. I haven't seen all but what I have seen my rank for the quality of the innings ar

1. Rameez - because he played on most difficult condition against the best 2 bowlers of the match so far
2. Fakhar - again, he played the better bowlers & batted with a deficit. Besides, he started his 2nd innings in afternoon session & he counter punched the attack to defense
3. Imam - for a teenager, playing his 1st major final, against pink ball under light & against the best ever new ball user of PAK's history & the tallest fast bowler in PAK, he has matched Fakher stroke by stroke
4. Salman Butt - played on relatively easy wicket, without much pressure after his bowlers got the opponents for 236 & then facing an attack of Fahim (who should concentrate on batting & bowl few overs here & there), Amad, who is yet to make debut for PAK & Usman Shinwari, who has aa FC average in PAK domestics of 26 (you can easily double that in International context)

What do you think?

How do you rate fakhar and imam?

I don't rate players from QA style - wastage of time. Begum has gone for her exam today & I am doing home office with half of the office still sleeping, hence had to watch this rubbish. I give more value to Lancashire or Birmingham league numbers.

Anyway - Fakher will average below 20 in Test matches; for a lefti batsman, whose follow through of a squire drive ends on right shoulder & bat facing mid on, doesn't have much chance as opener among big boys. He is either side of 30, hence I don't think he can improve much with time - learning curve ends at 23, max 25.

Imam is a great prospect - young, technically decent, looks like a proper batsman & doesn't bog down, neither doesn't look ugly while playing shots. He should be drafted into Arthur's system within a year-may be as reserve, otherwise gone.