PML-N close to reaching a deal with the establishment, national govt. excluding PTI would be formed

Mian

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2141755/1-pml-n-hopeful-house-change-soon/

LAHORE: The PML-N and the powers that be have reached an agreement on all issues except the question of the PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz’s return to mainstream politics, a lawmaker of the former ruling party told The Express Tribune.

“The party is close to reaching a deal with the establishment. Once everything is finalized, the PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif would return to Pakistan to initiate the process of an in house change.

“A national government excluding the ruling PTI would be formed, which after election reforms and stabilization of the economy would be dissolved to proceed for fresh elections,” the PML-N leader said speaking on condition of anonymity.

Shehbaz has been in London since November when he left the country along with his elder brother and the PML-N supreme leader Nawaz Sharif, after the latter was granted bail on medical grounds and the permission to fly abroad for treatment.

The leader said the only thing that is yet to be decided is Maryam’s return to mainstream politics.

“The establishment, apparently, does not like return of the father-daughter duo to politics as in the recent years they took a hard line on establishment. The Sharif family, however, wants Maryam Nawaz back in politics.

“The party would, however, not let comeback of Nawaz and Maryam become a flashpoint. If it’s not agreed, then Maryam will be asked to sallow this bitter bill in the interest of the party’s future, for the moment,” the leader said.

Maryam Nawaz has kept silent since her bail in November 2019. This silence is seen as part of a deal to obtain more concessions. “Since Nawaz Sharif, who is also in London at the moment, is on board, convincing Maryam apparently would not be a problem,” the leader added.

The leader said the PML-N will not choose to form a government for the remaining tenure, as a hung parliament will always be on the brink of an in-house change.

“If things go as per plan, then we will formally part ways with [the JUI-F chief] Maulana Fazlur Rehman as he wants to take the route for confrontation. But if things do not go as per plan, then party would consider supporting any Fazl’s movement.”

The leader said they have been conveyed that the kingmakers are finally done experimenting with Prime Minister Imran Khan. The coming month of March will bring the government closer to its end.
“With cases popping up against the PTI leaders and cracks emerging within Punjab and Center, it is not difficult forecast the government’s future.”

Many PTI leader and independent parliamentarians both in the Center and in Punjab are promising their support in return of the PML-N ticket in the next elections. The end for PTI is near and they also know it.

The leader also expressed surprise over a recent survey that had shown Shehbaz Sharif as more popular than Maryam Nawaz. “Maryam Nawaz might not return to politics for some time but she is far more popular than Shehbaz Sharif.”

The PPP leader Qamar Zaman Kaira said end of the PTI government is in sight due to their poor performance and sheer incompetence. He, however, said the PPP would not support any undemocratic step or any step that undermines the political norms.

To a question about the PML-N realigning itself with the establishment, he said the PML-N can realign itself with whenever they desire. The PPP and the PML-N are not allies.

“We have supported each other on several issues and similarly we also have had disagreements. However, I will not answer any hypothetical question. It is imperative to take the right route to reach the final destination.”

Another PPP leader said their party is fully aware of the PML-N effort to re align itself with establishment. He said the party has a strategy in place but they cannot disclose it as yet.

The news is leaked by PMLN leadership so i believe this is the final chapter of their vote ko izat do book of democracy?

Lol i like it how they go bed with the so called establishment whenever it suits them. The only real establishment of the country is PML N and PPP, nothing else

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2141755/1-pml-n-hopeful-house-change-soon/

LAHORE: The PML-N and the powers that be have reached an agreement on all issues except the question of the PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz’s return to mainstream politics, a lawmaker of the former ruling party told The Express Tribune.

“The party is close to reaching a deal with the establishment. Once everything is finalized, the PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif would return to Pakistan to initiate the process of an in house change.

“A national government excluding the ruling PTI would be formed, which after election reforms and stabilization of the economy would be dissolved to proceed for fresh elections,” the PML-N leader said speaking on condition of anonymity.

Shehbaz has been in London since November when he left the country along with his elder brother and the PML-N supreme leader Nawaz Sharif, after the latter was granted bail on medical grounds and the permission to fly abroad for treatment.

The leader said the only thing that is yet to be decided is Maryam’s return to mainstream politics.

“The establishment, apparently, does not like return of the father-daughter duo to politics as in the recent years they took a hard line on establishment. The Sharif family, however, wants Maryam Nawaz back in politics.

“The party would, however, not let comeback of Nawaz and Maryam become a flashpoint. If it’s not agreed, then Maryam will be asked to sallow this bitter bill in the interest of the party’s future, for the moment,” the leader said.

Maryam Nawaz has kept silent since her bail in November 2019. This silence is seen as part of a deal to obtain more concessions. “Since Nawaz Sharif, who is also in London at the moment, is on board, convincing Maryam apparently would not be a problem,” the leader added.

The leader said the PML-N will not choose to form a government for the remaining tenure, as a hung parliament will always be on the brink of an in-house change.

“If things go as per plan, then we will formally part ways with [the JUI-F chief] Maulana Fazlur Rehman as he wants to take the route for confrontation. But if things do not go as per plan, then party would consider supporting any Fazl’s movement.”

The leader said they have been conveyed that the kingmakers are finally done experimenting with Prime Minister Imran Khan. The coming month of March will bring the government closer to its end.
“With cases popping up against the PTI leaders and cracks emerging within Punjab and Center, it is not difficult forecast the government’s future.”

Many PTI leader and independent parliamentarians both in the Center and in Punjab are promising their support in return of the PML-N ticket in the next elections. The end for PTI is near and they also know it.

The leader also expressed surprise over a recent survey that had shown Shehbaz Sharif as more popular than Maryam Nawaz. “Maryam Nawaz might not return to politics for some time but she is far more popular than Shehbaz Sharif.”

The PPP leader Qamar Zaman Kaira said end of the PTI government is in sight due to their poor performance and sheer incompetence. He, however, said the PPP would not support any undemocratic step or any step that undermines the political norms.

To a question about the PML-N realigning itself with the establishment, he said the PML-N can realign itself with whenever they desire. The PPP and the PML-N are not allies.

“We have supported each other on several issues and similarly we also have had disagreements. However, I will not answer any hypothetical question. It is imperative to take the right route to reach the final destination.”

Another PPP leader said their party is fully aware of the PML-N effort to re align itself with establishment. He said the party has a strategy in place but they cannot disclose it as yet.

This will be halal.

Shame on them.Why all the drama if you still want to make a deal with establishment. They should have waited for their turn, like they did before, first PP, then PML, then PTI, then again whoever will make them more happy can take the power again. this is how country has been operating.

we all know what we have to do if need power.

PPP and PML-N trying to save their “bachi kuchi izzat...“

To be honest, if this ever happens I’d lose all of my hope of Pakistan being a prosperous country...

It kind of feels sad to read this.

Instead of focusing on the motives of PMLN, why don’t PTI supporters focus on the motives of the establishment?

We were told that PTI and the military are on the same page and the military trusts PTI and will no longer interfere in politics because the government is in the right hands.

This is their wet dream that will never happen :)) PMLM is done and especially without Nawaz and Maryam they are nothing.

I would like to see the faces of Gul Bukhari, Raza Rumi, Marvi Sarmad, Hussain Haqqani and rest of the anti estab brigade after this betrayal of PMLN (they were fool if they actually believed in the slogan of vote ko izzat do from this party)

Fake News

People on this thread on both sides are so dumb, y'all seriously believe some opposition lawmaker from a disgraced political party and that too being reported by an untrustworthy newspaper, lol.

Boot chaatnay ki baat hi kuch aur hai. Nawaz's favorite food must be boot karahi instead of Lahore famous Butt Karahi.

Fake News

People on this thread on both sides are so dumb, y'all seriously believe some opposition lawmaker from a disgraced political party and that too being reported by an untrustworthy newspaper, lol.

PMLN already delivered a couple of weeks ago by supporting army act now they are hoping establishment will return the favor...

Fake News

No one actually believes it's happening.

Instead of focusing on the motives of PMLN, why don’t PTI supporters focus on the motives of the establishment?

We were told that PTI and the military are on the same page and the military trusts PTI and will no longer interfere in politics because the government is in the right hands.

Pakistan and Army is here to stay, rest can do the musical chairs ....

I love it when a selected PM from PML N and PPP is Halal but a so called selected PM from PTI becomes Haram.

Let me throw another fact: These two parties are ready to accept any other so called selected PM from PTI for next 4 years except IK.

>80% support Pakistani army, the people of Pakistan owns the country.

>80% are victims of army propaganda that has shaped the national narrative since the death of Quaid.

Anyone who supports the army after what they did to Fatima Jinnah deserves this fake democracy.

>80% are victims of army propaganda that has shaped the national narrative since the death of Quaid.

Anyone who supports the army after what they did to Fatima Jinnah deserves this fake democracy.

Oh so now you are champion of Fatima Jinnah's izzat.... but in other threads you have just stopped short of abusing MA Jinnah for him partitioning your beloved India. So please first get your story right before barking.

What did we do to deserve you?

Wasn't democracy all about respecting the majority? If 80% want to support army or are falling for their propaganda who are we to judge the majority? If Majority can support Trump or Modi or Hitler why are we judging the majority here for supporting army?

Oh so now you are champion of Fatima Jinnah's izzat.... but in other threads you have just stopped short of abusing MA Jinnah for him partitioning your beloved India. So please first get your story right before barking.

Partition should not have happened because it is not right to divide a country based on religious grounds.

There is no such thing as religious nationalism - nationalism is determined by sociocultural values, not religion.

There was no such thing as the Two Nation Theory and the proof lies in the independence of East Pakistan.

In spite of the religious unity, West Pakistan discriminated against the Bengalis because they considered them an inferior race. They were short, skinny, dark and spoke what we considered an inferior language.

Religion was clearly not a strong enough binding force to overcome the ethnic and cultural differences.

And for the record, Quaid-e-Azam did not want an independent country in the form of what Pakistan is today. He was coerced into it by Allama Iqbal’s idealism and the limitations imposed on because of British and Congress policies.

You need to read more about the history of British Raj outside the lies that you were fed in Pakistan Studies.

Now that you have been educated, let me bring you to Fatima Jinnah. After Quaid’s death, the military quickly filled the power vacuum in spite of Quaid’s clear views that the military will have no say in politics.

In order to protect their dominance, they alienated Mujib who had the popular vote and the support of Fatima Jinnah and sold themselves to the U.S. for military equipment.

The irony is that in spite of what they did to his sister and how they completely disregarded his beliefs, every military office proudly displaces a portrait of Quaid.

Anyone who thinks that the military of Pakistan is interesting in anything but serving its self-interests should not look beyond what they did to Quaid’s sister.

Why should there even be a selection? I cannot fathom how the people of this country can tolerate the complete mockery being made of our constitution by the armed forces.

You meant to tell me that people wanted to keep voting for PML-N and PPP? sure there are patwari who would keep voting for the same people.

You meant to tell me that people weren't being educated regarding PML-N, PPP and PTI?

You meant to tell me that social media is not educating people while at the same spreading fake news?

Army is just not supporting those who can't do anything for Pakistan anymore and further deteriorate the situation.

Army of Pakistan understand that the biggest threat to Pakistan is Pakistan's poor economy.

Army also understand that the best candidate that can help Pakistan is IK to create positive and healthy image of Pakistan.

Strengthening Democracy is a long and lengthy process, it will take time, it can't be achieved without the help of most organized institution in Pakistan and with the same family dynastic political party.

People will continue to see cherry picking argument against the democracy while criticizing Army of Pakistan all the while supporting the dynasty of family just because at a rally some one said, "Vote Ko izzat do".

But lets not fool ourselves either, Democracy is not perfect in Pakistan and Pakistan has a long way before it can be but we are heading in right direction.

Partition should not have happened because it is not right to divide a country based on religious grounds.

There is no such thing as religious nationalism - nationalism is determined by sociocultural values, not religion.

There was no such thing as the Two Nation Theory and the proof lies in the independence of East Pakistan.

In spite of the religious unity, West Pakistan discriminated against the Bengalis because they considered them an inferior race. They were short, skinny, dark and spoke what we considered an inferior language.

Religion was clearly not a strong enough binding force to overcome the ethnic and cultural differences.

And for the record, Quaid-e-Azam did not want an independent country in the form of what Pakistan is today. He was coerced into it by Allama Iqbal’s idealism and the limitations imposed on because of British and Congress policies.

You need to read more about the history of British Raj outside the lies that you were fed in Pakistan Studies.

Now that you have been educated, let me bring you to Fatima Jinnah. After Quaid’s death, the military quickly filled the power vacuum in spite of Quaid’s clear views that the military will have no say in politics.

In order to protect their dominance, they alienated Mujib who had the popular vote and the support of Fatima Jinnah and sold themselves to the U.S. for military equipment.

The irony is that in spite of what they did to his sister and how they completely disregarded his beliefs, every military office proudly displaces a portrait of Quaid.

Anyone who thinks that the military of Pakistan is interesting in anything but serving its self-interests should not look beyond what they did to Quaid’s sister.

Once again, you’re just assuming things without actually knowing whether or not it’s true.

Look up Greek Nationalism in the 1800s when they were a part of the Ottoman Empire. Religion was and still is a huge part of Greek Nationalism.

You see, my dear brethren, the real enemies of Islamic Republic of Pakistan are not in India, Israel or anywhere else... but the real enemies of Pakistan are living right inside the country.

These people are still in denial of the idea of creation of Pakistan. These people started hating Pakistan even before the 14th of August of 1947. They're still living their sad lives in a "delusional denial".

Nooras, Bhuttos/Zardaris and their collective den of thieves are the real enemy of a common Pakistani. These people don't want an average Pakistani to stand up for themselves. They want Pakistanis to remain poor, uneducated and begging for food.

My English is far from eloquent but hopefully y'all get my point.

Don't negotiate with them Imran, put them in jail and get back poor Pakistanis' stolen money.

I would like to see the faces of Gul Bukhari, Raza Rumi, Marvi Sarmad, Hussain Haqqani and rest of the anti estab brigade after this betrayal of PMLN (they were fool if they actually believed in the slogan of vote ko izzat do from this party)

Shameless people, bunch of them. They lie for a living.

Once again, you’re just assuming things without actually knowing whether or not it’s true.

Look up Greek Nationalism in the 1800s when they were a part of the Ottoman Empire. Religion was and still is a huge part of Greek Nationalism.

That is a false comparison. Religious freedom was only a part of Greek nationalism, which aimed to revive the glory of the Greek civilization instead of continuing to be subservient to the Ottomans.

Greek nationalism was not driven by religion. Greek culture has an identity without religion but we don’t.

The Pakistan nationalism was not fueled on these grounds. Pakistan has no identity without religion.

The Pakistan movement was based on a delusional assumption that religion alone can be a binding force to overcome sociocultural difference.

The proponents of the TNT incorrectly assumed that the Muslims of subcontinent would forego their cultural and ethnic differences and unite under the banner of Islam.

To understand why Pakistan’s pseudo-nationalism and its complete dependence or religion, we need to understand that Pakistan is a unique nation that has completely disregarded and whitewashed its non-Muslim history.

The land of Pakistan has history and culture. After all, it was home to one of the greatest civilizations of all time. However, because we have dissociated ourselves from non-Muslim past, we like to believe that our history started with the arrival of Bin Qasim to Sindh.

It is for this reason why the people of Pakistan today are largely ignorant of their non-muslim history, which is their real history before they adopted Arab values, and why they do not revere their non-Muslim heroes.

criticizing for the sake of criticism is not a good deed.

Which none of this. The public of Pakistan should not be ignorant of the devilish role the military has played in fracturing the country.

You see, my dear brethren, the real enemies of Islamic Republic of Pakistan are not in India, Israel or anywhere else... but the real enemies of Pakistan are living right inside the country.

These people are still in denial of the idea of creation of Pakistan. These people started hating Pakistan even before the 14th of August of 1947. They're still living their sad lives in a "delusional denial".

Nooras, Bhuttos/Zardaris and their collective den of thieves are the real enemy of a common Pakistani. These people don't want an average Pakistani to stand up for themselves. They want Pakistanis to remain poor, uneducated and begging for food.

Don't negotiate with them Imran, put them in jail and get back poor Pakistanis' stolen money.

😂🤣🤪😁😁 You are hilarious for expecting Imran the Bufoon to do anything
Why didn't you include the corruption of Musharraf and the carruption of army generals cause I know PTI can't do anything against tham they were the one who selected PTI

Thank God for partition I think you don't know anyone who suffered from violence during partition that's why you feel privileged to talk s#*t and say whatever comes to your mind regarding partition

As a muahajir I can tell that my forefathers faced discrimination and that's why they came to Pakistan and they are more than happy with thier decision even with all it's flaws cause we don't have to face discrimination that some of the Muslims who are still living in India have to face

I know it's very easy to sit and talk some utter nonsense about partition cause you never actually faced discrimination or violence but there were millions of people who did and that's why they came to Pakistan I know you don't like the country but you are welcome to move out to India if you really like tham so much

😂🤣🤪😁😁 You are hilarious for expecting Imran the Bufoon to do anything
Why didn't you include the corruption of Musharraf and the carruption of army generals cause I know PTI can't do anything against tham they were the one who selected PTI

There are so many corrupt people in this country.

I guess IK gotta start from somewhere.

I never expect IK to give la carta blanca to anyone, be it an ex army general, a school teacher or my own father!

If they jail enough Bhuttos, Zardaris, Nooras and their shameless minions, that's a good start. Recovering the looted money should be one of the main priorities!

Let's say you come back from to your apartment from work and the whole thing is a mess. You gotta start cleaning from somewhere, right? Shouldn't say I am not cleaning kitchen cuz bedroom is messier! :) The point is apartment must be cleaned by someone and you must start from somewhat!

There are so many corrupt people in this country.

I guess IK gotta start from somewhere.

I never expect IK to give la carta blanca to anyone, be it an ex army general, a school teacher or my own father!

If they jail enough Bhuttos, Zardaris, Nooras and their shameless minions, that's a good start. Recovering the looted money should be one of the main priorities!

Let's say you come back from to your apartment from work and the whole thing is a mess. You gotta start cleaning from somewhere, right? Shouldn't say I am not cleaning kitchen cuz bedroom is messier! :) The point is apartment must be cleaned by someone and you must start from somewhat!

Fair enough
But I am not expecting PTI to actually do something against the generals they are too powerful

These people wont even win one seat in an election if they run on that platform. They are a vocal fringe, who are given more attention than they deserve.

PML N has never cared about democracy.

They had Nawaz play the anti establishment card.
SHabaaz played the boot polisher card
Maryam played the liberal card
Captain Safdar played the right wing card

They will say anything, do anything, to ensure that their family retains power. No one else in PML N can ever be given the top seat.

This is why IK needs to ensure he has a good relation with the Army Chief, because if he does not, PML N, encouraged by there shamless two faced supporters, will gladly cut a deal to come back in power.

Hopefully nothing happens and IK can finish his 5 years in power.

Fair enough
But I am not expecting PTI to actually do something against the generals they are too powerful

Five years ago, average Pakistani would have told you that Bhuttos/Zardaris/Nooras and their den of thieves are untouchable by any kind of law.

See now, the thieves are on the run.

You never know, maybe these corrupt generals also get what they deserve.

Fingers crossed, may Allah guide us all! :)

That is a false comparison. Religious freedom was only a part of Greek nationalism, which aimed to revive the glory of the Greek civilization instead of continuing to be subservient to the Ottomans.

Greek nationalism was not driven by religion. Greek culture has an identity without religion but we don’t.

The Pakistan nationalism was not fueled on these grounds. Pakistan has no identity without religion.

The Pakistan movement was based on a delusional assumption that religion alone can be a binding force to overcome sociocultural difference.

The proponents of the TNT incorrectly assumed that the Muslims of subcontinent would forego their cultural and ethnic differences and unite under the banner of Islam.

To understand why Pakistan’s pseudo-nationalism and its complete dependence or religion, we need to understand that Pakistan is a unique nation that has completely disregarded and whitewashed its non-Muslim history.

The land of Pakistan has history and culture. After all, it was home to one of the greatest civilizations of all time. However, because we have dissociated ourselves from non-Muslim past, we like to believe that our history started with the arrival of Bin Qasim to Sindh.

It is for this reason why the people of Pakistan today are largely ignorant of their non-muslim history, which is their real history before they adopted Arab values, and why they do not revere their non-Muslim heroes.

Greek Nationalism wasn’t driven by the ideas/culture of the antiquity, although the rennaisance in Italy did take inspiration from their Greco-Roman past.
Greek nationalists looked up to their medieval Byzantine past as the MAIN SOURCE for inspiration, and hence why Christianity is a huge part of Greek Nationalism.

This notion that nationalism and religion can’t go together is false. Nationalism and national identity is about shared identity, culture, language and religion, and not necessarily about ethnicity.

You meant to tell me that people wanted to keep voting for PML-N and PPP? sure there are patwari who would keep voting for the same people.

You meant to tell me that people weren't being educated regarding PML-N, PPP and PTI?

You meant to tell me that social media is not educating people while at the same spreading fake news?

Army is just not supporting those who can't do anything for Pakistan anymore and further deteriorate the situation.

Army of Pakistan understand that the biggest threat to Pakistan is Pakistan's poor economy.

Army also understand that the best candidate that can help Pakistan is IK to create positive and healthy image of Pakistan.

Strengthening Democracy is a long and lengthy process, it will take time, it can't be achieved without the help of most organized institution in Pakistan and with the same family dynastic political party.

People will continue to see cherry picking argument against the democracy while criticizing Army of Pakistan all the while supporting the dynasty of family just because at a rally some one said, "Vote Ko izzat do".

But lets not fool ourselves either, Democracy is not perfect in Pakistan and Pakistan has a long way before it can be but we are heading in right direction.

Do you mean to tell me the organization that has interfered the most in the process of democracy flourishing are the ones who will be helping us in gaining civilian supremacy? I do hope you

It is not for the army to dictate who's best for us, their job is to secure our borders and not treat this nation as an extension of the GHQ, that is it. Why even have a constitution? I wonder what the Quiad would think...

Greek Nationalism wasn’t driven by the ideas/culture of the antiquity, although the rennaisance in Italy did take inspiration from their Greco-Roman past.
Greek nationalists looked up to their medieval Byzantine past as the MAIN SOURCE for inspiration, and hence why Christianity is a huge part of Greek Nationalism.

This notion that nationalism and religion can’t go together is false. Nationalism and national identity is about shared identity, culture, language and religion, and not necessarily about ethnicity.

I agree, but nationalism derived from religion alone cannot work. Since Pakistan has successfully whitewashed its true history, it has no identity without Islam. Unfortunately, it was created on false assumptions which proved to be false considering the relationship between West and East Pakistan.

The tragedy of the subcontinent is that without playing the religious nationalism card, there were no strong grounds for partition, and religion itself is not a strong enough ground for partition.

Do you mean to tell me the organization that has interfered the most in the process of democracy flourishing are the ones who will be helping us in gaining civilian supremacy? I do hope you

It is not for the army to dictate who's best for us, their job is to secure our borders and not treat this nation as an extension of the GHQ, that is it. Why even have a constitution? I wonder what the Quiad would think...

The Quaid foresaw what was coming and he made it very clear that the military will have no say in politics, but unfortunately his untimely death provided the opening for the military to become the central power.

Had he managed to live for another 10 years, Pakistan’s future could have been completely different. His death delayed the framework of Pakistan’s first constitution, it allowed the military to conspire against PM Liaquat for his lack of aggression towards India, push him to side with the U.S. in the Cold War and eventually allowed Gen. Ayub to overthrow the government only 10 years after Quaid’s death and sell the country to Eisenhower.

That was the start of Pakistan’s demise and we are yet to recover from it.

And you missed the main point.

Because you wrapped up around "Army".

This news broke out only a few hours before the Transparency International report. No smoke without fire.

It appears that the days of the most corrupt government in Pakistan’s history are numbered.

In a few years, this will all seem like a bad dream.

Vowing that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government will not back down from its anti-corruption and accountability narrative, Prime Minister Imran Khan has said that doing such a thing would be tantamount to "treason".

A meeting of government spokespersons was held under the chairmanship of PM Imran in which the spokespersons were briefed on the current political and economic situation of the country.

Sources told The Express Tribune that the prime minister said that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is not a political party and it functioned like a "mafia".

"They used people such as Rana Shamim in every field," said the premier, referring to the former chief judge of Gilgit-Baltistan. He said that the opposition parties are busy spreading rumours regarding a "deal" to make a political environment for themselves.

"Making a deal with criminals would be tantamount to committing treason," he said while referring to the opposition.

The prime minister urged the spokespersons to "play on the front foot" while advocating the government's narrative against corruption, vowing not to "retreat an inch" from his current position.

The premier urged them to highlight the good work of the government and how the international institutions were painting a bright picture on Pakistan's economy.

"Pakistan's economy is on the right track and businesses are making record profits... The effects of economic growth will soon be felt by the common people."

Sources further said that the prime minister acknowledged the "good work" done by Adviser to the Prime Minister on Accountability and Interior Shahzad Akbar under difficult circumstances. The PM's aide has resigned from his post earlier in the day.

"He [Akbar] wanted to go... his work against the 'mafia' is commendable."

PM directs public representatives to resolve problems of people

Meanwhile, during an interaction with public representatives, PM Imran direct them to expedite interaction with the public for prompt resolution of their problems.

He was talking to the independently elected local government representatives from Kohat district who called on him in Islamabad on Monday.

On the occasion, the newly elected Chairman of Tehsil Lachi Muhammad Ihsan and Kohat City Mayor Shafiullah reposed their complete trust in the leadership of PM Imran.

Welcoming them in the party fold, the prime minister expressed the hope that they will leave no stone unturned for the welfare of the people of their respective constituencies.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2340214/deal-with-opposition-tantamount-to-treason-pm-imran