PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif, the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

After the dismissal of former prime minister Imran Khan, PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif is likely to be elected as the 23rd prime minister of Pakistan today and all the Opposition parties are expected to get representation in his cabinet, according to a Daily Jang report.

According to sources, the PML-N will have the majority in the cabinet with 12 ministers. The PPP will have seven, and the JUI-F will be given four ministries. Meanwhile, MQM-P will have two, and ANP, Jamhoori Watan Party and Balochistan Awami Party one each.

PML-N's Khawaja Asif, Saad Rafique, Khurram Dastgir, Ahsan Iqbal, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Shaista Pervaiz Malik, Rana Sanaullah and Murtaza Javed are likely to join the cabinet.

Independent candidates Mohsin Dawar and Aslam Bhootani and PML-Q’s Tariq Bashir Cheema are also likely to be included in the cabinet.

The name of Azam Nazir Tarar is under consideration for the Leader of the House in the Senate. The PPP will give the ministry to either Sherry Rehman or Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar from the Senate, the publication reported.

Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari could be the next foreign minister, while Shazia Marri's name is also under consideration for a cabinet slot.

During an interview last week, the PPP chairperson said that the party will decide his role in the new government.

The JUI-F has demanded to make the governor of Balochistan or Khyber Pakhtunkhwa from their party, while the governor of Punjab will be from PPP and the governor of Sindh from MQM-P.

GEO

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNAs walked out of the National Assembly (NA) on Monday, boycotting the election for the country's new prime minister.

The move came after Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who was the party's candidate for the top slot, announced that PTI lawmakers would be resigning en masse from the NA.

Following that, the PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq replaced Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri in the chair as voting for the new premier began.

The development comes two days after an unceremonious end to Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan's tenure as the country's chief executive through a no-confidence vote.

The NA session for the election of the prime minister today began with the recitation of the Holy Quran.

After the recitation, Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri, who was chairing explained his rationale behind his contentious ruling to dismiss the no-confidence motion against erstwhile prime minister Imran Khan on April 3.

"The ruling was declared unconstitutional by the court ... and we all are obliged to respect the court. But I want to tell you the reason behind my ruling," he said, adding that he had taken the decision "as a responsible Pakistani and deputy speaker of the NA".

He then referred to a communique, which purportedly contained evidence of a foreign conspiracy to topple Imran Khan's government, saying that cable was discussed in the federal cabinet, a meeting of the National Security Committee and a meeting of the parliamentary committee for security.

"And it was proven that the no-confidence motion [was linked] to a foreign conspiracy," he said.

Suri added that on April 9, it was decided during a cabinet meeting that the cable would be declassified and sent to then-NA speaker Asad Qaiser by the government.

"Asad Qaiser read and reviewed it [the cable]," he said. He then held up a piece of paper, saying that he had the cable with him. In the letter, he continued, an "open threat" had been made to Pakistan.

He added that the communique was sent to Pakistan before the no-confidence motion was submitted on March 8.

The cable, he continued, stated that in case of the failure of the no-confidence motion, Pakistan would have to face dire consequences.

The deputy speaker went on to question, "Was talking about an independent foreign policy, independent economy ... and fighting the case of Islamophobia Imran Khan's fault?"

"Was he punished because he refused slavery?"

The deputy speaker announced that he was sealing the cable and sending it to Chief Justice of Pakistan Umar Ata Bandial.

Before giving the floor to PTI's Shah Mahmood Qureshi, he said his April 3 was in line with the oath he had taken as the deputy speaker and the Constitution. "I did it to stop a regime change at the will of an another country," he said.

But, he added, "I accept the Supreme Court's decision the matter."

He appeal to MNAs to think about the matter and apologised for hurting anyone's sentiments.

Qureshi began his speech by noting that a constitutional process would conclude its end.

"An election will be held, in which one side will be successful and another will be freed," he said.

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif — who is the former joint opposition's candidate for the prime minister's slot — and PTI's Shah Mahmood Qureshi were in the race to become the country's new prime minister.

However, after the PTI boycotted the elections and walked out of the assembly, Shehbaz is the lone contender for the prime minister's slot and will be elected unopposed.

According to the NA agenda issued by the house's secretariat for today, the session for the prime minister's election will begin at 2pm.

The premier's election is the only item on the agenda — apart from the recitation of the Holy Quran and a Naat, which marks the commencement of every NA session — stating that the house would convene to vote for the new leader of the house "as required by Article 91 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, read with rule 32 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007".

Former prime minister Imran Khan arrived at Parliament House ahead of the session for the election of a new premier to chair a meeting of the party's parliamentary committee.

When asked to comment on protests held across the country by PTI supporters last night, he smiled and said: "God is the one who gives respect."

Submission of nomination papers
Both Shehbaz and Qureshi had filed their nomination papers yesterday, hours after Imran Khan's ouster as the prime minister.

Qureshi had submitted four forms with the NA Secretariat, while Shehbaz had filed 13 forms.

During the submission of the nomination papers, the PTI had raised objections to Shehbaz's nomination and subsequently PTI's Qureshi and Babar Awan had exchanged heated words with PML-N leaders Zahid Hamid and Atta Tarar.

The senior PTI leaders had submitted objections against Shehbaz, stating that the latter was contesting the election on the day of his expected indictment in a money laundering case. They were of the opinion that he did not deserve to be the new PM due to his “involvement” in corruption cases.

On Monday, the court, however, deferred the indictment.

Responding to these allegations, Tarar had said since Shehbaz had not been convicted in any case, his nomination could not be rejected merely on the basis of allegations. Hamid had reminded the PTI leaders that nomination could be rejected only on the grounds mentioned in the Constitution and Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the NA, 2007, under which the candidate for the office of PM must be a Muslim, an MNA and signature of the candidate and his proposer and seconder must be genuine.

The NA secretary had eventually accepted the nomination papers of both the candidates.

No-trust motion ousts Imran
The election for the prime minister comes two days after a premature end to the PTI tenure following weeks of political turmoil.

The saga began with the joint opposition — primarily the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) and the PPP — submitting the no-confidence motion against Imran Khan with the NA Secretariat on March 8.

In the days to follow, the country's political landscape was abuzz with activity as parties and individuals changed alliances and the PTI and opposition were seen trading barbs and allegations alongside intensifying efforts to ensure their success in the no-confidence contest.

Eventually, major allies of the ruling PTI — Balochistan Awami Party and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan — deserted the government and joined the opposition ranks which led to PM Imran losing his majority in the lower house of parliament.

In addition, over a dozen PTI dissident MNAs have already come into the open with their criticism on PTI policies.

For its part, the PTI had managed to secure the support of another one of its key allies, the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), as Usman Buzdar stepped down as the Punjab chief minister in favour of the PML-Q's Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, who the ruling party announced as its candidate for the province's new chief executive.

However, one of the many twists in the saga emerged when Imran Khan claimed to have evidence of a "foreign conspiracy" to oust his government. At the PTI's rally on March 27, the premier had pulled out a piece of paper from his pocket and waved it at the crowd, claiming it was evidence of an "international conspiracy" being hatched to topple his government.

The PTI accused the opposition of being part of the foreign plot and tried to turn the tide in its favour by disclosing some of the details in the "threat letter" to journalists and lawmakers.

Separately, after a few delays, the National Assembly finally convened on April 3 to vote on the no-trust motion against the premier.

However, the PTI would prove to be five steps ahead of the opposition as the deputy speaker, who was chairing the session, dismissed the motion, saying it was part of a foreign conspiracy to oust Imran Khan, after Chaudhry spoke on a point of order, citing Article 5 of the Constitution, which mandates loyalty to the state for every citizen.

Within minutes of the pandemonium that broke out, Imran Khan appeared on television to announce that he had advised the president to dissolve the lower house of parliament and called on the people to prepare for fresh elections.

The government's move also led to the Supreme Court taking suo motu notice of the deputy speaker's ruling with Chief Justice of Pakistan Umar Ata Bandial stating that all orders and actions initiated by the prime minister and president regarding the dissolution of the NA would be subject to the court's order. Meanwhile, opposition parties also filed pleas questioning the legality of Suri's ruling.

What followed were five days of marathon hearings where the court heard arguments from the government and the opposition. At the same time, the PTI began its preparations for the next elections, insisting on the existence of a foreign conspiracy behind the no-confidence motion.

On Thursday last week, the apex court — in a historic ruling — set aside Suri's ruling and the subsequent dissolution of the assembly by the president on the erstwhile PM's advice, with all five judges unanimously voting 5-0 against it.

The court's verdict also restored the prime minister and his cabinet in their position and directed for the session of the National Assembly to reconvene on Saturday no later than 10:30am, saying that the session cannot be prorogued without the conclusion of the no-trust motion against Imran.

On Saturday, the session commenced at 10:30am but continued into the wee hours of Sunday as the opposition's clamour for immediate voting throughout the day fell on deaf ears amid lengthy speeches delivered from treasury members on the floor of the house. The session was adjourned four times and the voting took place only after Asad Qaiser resigned at the speaker of the house almost 15 minutes before midnight, which according to legal experts, was the deadline to implement the Supreme Court's orders to conduct voting on the no-trust motion.

PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq, who was among the panel of chairmen, had then chaired the session, with the voting on the motion finally taking place at 11:58pm.

The results were announced in the early hours of Sunday, with 174 MNAs voting in favour of the resolution, two more than the required number of 172 out of a total 342 for the resolution to pass.

History was written as Imran Khan became the first prime minister in Pakistan to have been removed from office through a no-confidence vote.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1684500/p...on-shehbaz-set-to-get-elected-as-pm-unopposed

well someone else gets to be at the front of the merry-go-around.

we will be here again in 3 years time

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif was elected as the 23rd prime minister of Pakistan after 174 lawmakers voted in his favour as Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNAs boycotted the election.

Earlier, PTI MNAs had walked out of the halls, with Shah Mahmood Qureshi — who was the party's candidate for the top slot — announcing that they would be resigning en masse from the NA.

PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq presided over the session after Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri his conscience did not allow him to conduct the session.

Congratulations.

Where are those political experts who used to say everyone is finish ita going to be pti he pti :)))

Shebaz shareef deserves it after how he has served punjab. Congrats

Hopefully, this parliament will have confidence in him unlike the last one who tried tosabotage the country for his seat

One of the most shameful episodes in the history of our country, there is no hope left for this nation to be honest when Shahbaz Sharif can get elected as Prime Minister.

What a self destructive move first up by bringing up the "threat letter". Look at faces of Zardari and Bilawal when Shobaz went on and on of bringing everyone together on the threat letter.

This is next level stupid.

Rupee recovering and PSX on a bull run.

This is what a positive influence a proper government has as opposed to a selected government

Zardari and Bilawal doesn't seem to enjoy what Showbaz splurted on threat letter. He really thought that an in-parliament session under his leadership is different than an in-parliament session under IK supervision. How blatant can one be this will backfire.

What a self destructive move first up by bringing up the "threat letter". Look at faces of Zardari and Bilawal when Shobaz went on and on of bringing everyone together on the threat letter.

This is next level stupid.

Hahaha people that portray him as being competent have no idea what they're in for. Abb social media ka daur hai, these guys won't be able to hide their incompetence. Anyways congrats to all. We're officially a bekari qoam but beggars can't be choosers

Shoukat Aziz Raja Pervez Ashraf Shahid kHaqan Abbasi Shehbaz Sharif it gets filthiest

Shahbaz challenged the so-called letter and is willing to resign if there is an iota of credible evidence.

Ab ao na maidaan mien

WOW! a crook who has multiple court cases gets elected as the PM! a dark dark day for the country of Pakistan.

Funny, Pakistan despite their years of military governments are already on their 23rd Prime Minister.

India has just had 15.

The same Showbaz who like a true lap dog conceded " beggars can't be choosers " lol

Yes. Repeating what Imran Khan said during his election campaign that a nation can't have any self-respect if it is borrowing continuously. He also said "Our biggest problem is that we don't have enough money to run our country due to which we have to borrow loans""

Pretty much the same thing but you lot are delusional

Was reading that this guy and his brother have close business relations with Sajjan Jindal.. and they have business interests in India as well. Wonder how he will balance all that?

Yes. Repeating what Imran Khan said during his election campaign that a nation can't have any self-respect if it is borrowing continuously. He also said "Our biggest problem is that we don't have enough money to run our country due to which we have to borrow loans""

Pretty much the same thing but you lot are delusional

Bingo. So you pretty much conceded that your happy to be part of the "lap dog" regime. WOW, I mean WOW, how SHAMELESS can the PDM clan get.

The regime that represents the people as opposed to being selected by the army

People are coming out in Hugh numbers to reject this pathetic puppet regime which you have just admitted to being a " lap dog" regime.

People came out in "high numbers" in 2018 as well and PTI only got like 34% of the votes.

close friend and business associate are two different things. At least get your story straight

bro I am just re-iterating what i read multiple times in Indian media. I am Indian btw.. So I don't care who is PM in Pakistan. We know who is real in-charge as always.

Minimum wage increase to 25k finally

There you go pti economics 101. When you have inflation you need to increase wagees..

Already has few well wishers in India it seems :shappy

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Ohh yes! Apna hi Banda hai ji. <a href="https://t.co/djlQsAwSqR">pic.twitter.com/djlQsAwSqR</a></p>— !deasingh (@ideasingh) <a href="https://twitter.com/ideasingh/status/1513493699917148165?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Benazir card to be re-instated

People will not fall this this time. Imran will now come out to the streets and point out not to fall for these deceptions. These temporary measures are being put in place for the vote for the impending General election.

Already has few well wishers in India it seems :shappy

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Ohh yes! Apna hi Banda hai ji. <a href="https://t.co/djlQsAwSqR">pic.twitter.com/djlQsAwSqR</a></p>— !deasingh (@ideasingh) <a href="https://twitter.com/ideasingh/status/1513493699917148165?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

When you gave a crook at helm then even facts become irrelivent to the followers.

People will not fall this this time. Imran will now come out to the streets and point out not to fall for these deceptions. These temporary measures are being put in place for the vote for the impending General election.

Ja bhai. Who is stopping you from going out on the street.

He has reputation of being good administrator. Can he manage the politics ?

Emotions seem to be running too high in this thread and in Pakistan currently it seems.

I actually wouldn't mind IK being disposed if he was replaced someone better suited. I am definitely not happy that a criminal group are at the helm again. Just going back to the same corrupt fraudsters and thieves and expecting a different result is insanity.

Ok you don't want PTI or IK to rule, no problem but at least get someone with an ounce of dignity and morale.

Emotions seem to be running too high in this thread and in Pakistan currently it seems.

I actually wouldn't mind IK being disposed if he was replaced someone better suited. I am definitely not happy that a criminal group are at the helm again. Just going back to the same corrupt fraudsters and thieves and expecting a different result is insanity.

Ok you don't want PTI or IK to rule, no problem but at least get someone with an ounce of dignity and morale.

The group you refer to as criminals has a lot more dignity and morale as compared to Imran Khan.

Nope, it was stopped by PTI

No it wasn't. The ehsaas programme was on a much bigger scale. This is what it did stop. As always the crooks have idiots that back everything they do.

"It’s mindboggling that 820,165 fraudulent beneficiaries of the social welfare programme, which is meant for the poorest of the poor in the country, included 2,548 government officers in grade 17 to 21 before they were removed though a screening process carried out under the supervision of Dr Sania Nishtar, the BISP Chairperson and PM’s Special Assistant. Moving forward, the government has referred more than 2,000 of these fraudsters to FIA for registration of criminal cases against them. It has also written to the chief secretaries in all provinces as well as the Establishment Division for taking departmental action against the government officers who benefited from the BISP and recovering funds from them.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2147310/bisp-fraud-govt-action"

No it wasn't. The ehsaas programme was on a much bigger scale. This is what it did stop. As always the crooks have idiots that back everything they do.

"It’s mindboggling that 820,165 fraudulent beneficiaries of the social welfare programme, which is meant for the poorest of the poor in the country, included 2,548 government officers in grade 17 to 21 before they were removed though a screening process carried out under the supervision of Dr Sania Nishtar, the BISP Chairperson and PM’s Special Assistant. Moving forward, the government has referred more than 2,000 of these fraudsters to FIA for registration of criminal cases against them. It has also written to the chief secretaries in all provinces as well as the Establishment Division for taking departmental action against the government officers who benefited from the BISP and recovering funds from them.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/2147310/bisp-fraud-govt-action"

Yes, I already addressed the issue of PTI renaming welfare programs started by their predecessors without coming up with anything of their own and then taking credit for these. What shocks me is that there are educated, and I say educated rather loosely, people out there who think these are amazing programs by PTI.

Great, another thieving and corrupt Sharif is back, hope the awam roast this crook before he has the opportunity to start looting the country again.

Yes, I already addressed the issue of PTI renaming welfare programs started by their predecessors without coming up with anything of their own and then taking credit for these. What shocks me is that there are educated, and I say educated rather loosely, people out there who think these are amazing programs by PTI.

You addressing means jack. The fact is that ? The ehsaas programme is much bigger and much more successful and less corrupt. Why don't answer why there was so much fraud

Great, another thieving and corrupt Sharif is back, hope the awam roast this crook before he has the opportunity to start looting the country again.

Some say good people become corrupt when given power but Sharif's come corrupt to the core BEFORE taking office.

I am probably the biggest critic of Khan on PP but if Khan’s replacement is Shahbaz then Pakistan ka Allah he hafiz hai!

When will we ever have a young, self-made, progressive, forward-thinking and competent leader?

So opening the locks of treasure America has reinstated the traitor support fund so SS knew he has that leverage also that 10% percent in the legacy of Mr.10% sitting close to him

Please. You mean "refusing to be a usa puppet/ lapdog" vote of confidence.

VONC is a constitutional right and the opposition had majority. You can cry about it all you want and come up with fake accusations and silly letters but none of that means anything in the grand scheme of things

Shehbaz Theif the rat knows he only has a few days to cash out of Pakistan asap.

I hope someone throws a rotten egg or an old shoe at this thief's face :yk

When the year started pti fans were doing pre celebrations that imran khan is gonna complete 5 years.. but than God intervened.

Who would had predicted that shabaz shareef would become pm this year. Who would had predicted that Imran would be ousted.

Never doubt Gods plan.

I understand pti fans are unhappy because last week there hero was the pm and now isnt even part of pakistans national assembly anymore.

The people voted the opposing parties in majority and the people won.

Shebaz Shareef has become the first pm to replace another pm with whom people had lost their confidence in

Shehbaz Theif the rat knows he only has a few days to cash out of Pakistan asap.

I hope someone throws a rotten egg or an old shoe at this thief's face :yk

You know eben if someone does that. When students of later years will study pakistan history or even attenpt mcqs. History will state imran was the first pm to lose the peoples confidence. That history has been written and cant be changed

When the year started pti fans were doing pre celebrations that imran khan is gonna complete 5 years.. but than God intervened.

Who would had predicted that shabaz shareef would become pm this year. Who would had predicted that Imran would be ousted.

Never doubt Gods plan.

I understand pti fans are unhappy because last week there hero was the pm and now isnt even part of pakistans national assembly anymore.

Shebaz Shareef has become the first pm to replace another pm with whom people had lost their confidence in

:)) :facepalm:

Just a simple question for you: how many crores per MNA?

Never doubt Gods plan.

I just hope SS keeps his promise of dragging AZ through the streets. Don't tell me he will break the only decent promise he made.

You know eben if someone does that. When students of later years will study pakistan history or even attenpt mcqs. History will state imran was the first pm to lose the peoples confidence. That history has been written and cant be changed

History will also remember those who literally abandoned their mother for some rupias and basically sold Pakistan to Washington.

If I am alive and still active at PP; I'll remind you. Don't you worry!

He doesn't hold any public office. You continue to spread your lies.

And who leads the movement, who sits in the centre of their press conferences. Who was threatening to bring the Madrassah kids on the streets. Don't tell me it was Diesel. Lol

Never doubt Gods plan.

He did predict and he has been spot on so far

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaBcMDH41RQ

History will also remember those who literally abandoned their mother for some rupias and basically sold Pakistan to Washington.

If I am alive and still active at PP; I'll remind you. Don't you worry!

Dont worry, history books dont remember such dumb propoganda.

I can already see the students ticking the mcq in their pak history exam

Q) which prime minister of Pakistan lost the peoples confidence?
A) Imran Khan

When history is written BB was called a peeli taxi by some people. Who were they? You know what thay means don't you? Were they right? Was BB a peeli taxi? Only the beghairat forget these things but if your son can accept that label for power, who are we to disagree.

And who leads the movement, who sits in the centre of their press conferences. Who was threatening to bring the Madrassah kids on the streets. Don't tell me it was Diesel. Lol

Sounds like Tahir Ul Qadri and TLP. Both close buddies of IK and his party

So all i see har these guys buying votes with handouts...

Good luck, if i was a pakistani citizen, id be working my butt off and try to get the hell out..

You guys dont have any intellectuals there anymore, all of them left.

Now you got a bunch of above average idiots, controlling idiots who dont understand the army is in control.

Dont worry, history books dont remember such dumb propoganda.

I can already see the students ticking the mcq in their pak history exam

Q) which prime minister of Pakistan lost the peoples confidence?
A) Imran Khan

She was called peeli taxi nearly 35 years ago, but we remember. Was she a peeli taxi? Yes or no?

It's not the politicians that are the issue, it's our awaam. Mentally incapable dwarfs ruling us and they defending them as if their life depends on it.