Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

I think that politics should be a separate section on the forum now. There will definitely be heightened interest over the next 5 years at least, and there are a whole lot of threads, with discussions scattered all over the place. Making a new section will bring some order to the discussion.

Perhaps make a new section, and start us with a few main threads like:

-Bye and LG Elections Thread
-PTI's 100 days performance watch
-KPK performance watch
-Punjab performance watch
-Balochistan performance watch
-Sindh performance watch
-Karachi performance watch
-Federal government performance watch

great idea maybe a sub section within the time pass section?

I think that politics should be a separate section on the forum now. There will definitely be heightened interest over the next 5 years at least, and there are a whole lot of threads, with discussions scattered all over the place. Making a new section will bring some order to the discussion.

-KPK performance watch
-Sindh performance watch

I wholeheartedly agree with this, would be a nice way to see the performance of the new government.

After Awn Ch now hearing rumors about Murad Saeed too i hope they are wrong had lot of expectations from him but i noticed Murad Saeed is also sidelined in last couple of weeks.

Why would these guys betray IK? :danish

Most of parliamentarians/congressmen around the world are attorneys by profession/education but end up getting all important cabinet positions. Rarely you see people with relevant education and experience appointeded federal ministers except for economists for finance portfolio. Point is federal ministers don’t have to be the experts in their field but they have to assemble a team of experts and competent people which will work under them. Federeal ministers are more like watch dogs who deal with bureaucracy and hold people under him/her accountable.

Allegations on him are related to selling party tickets.

Malakand division did pretty well and so did the whole KPK

It should be central Punjab selection team that needs answering for the poor show.

Austerity and Anti Corruption drive going on

Just don’t target civilans but accross the board. It will make him best leader since Jinnah if he does that. Otherwise there will be more voices saying that he is following someones order.

Need to build enough public support and hopefully accountability will span across the board. Everyone should get respect but no one should misuse it.

Immediate steps need to be taken to reform FBR. If the number of 800,000 tax payers can be increased to even 2 million Pakistan would be in much better position.

One thing that got me thinking is that if Dr. Arif Alvi is made president he will have to vacate his seat. Even though Dr. Alvi won by 91k votes and the next highest was TeL with 24k votes which is a difference of 67k votes and this is a relatively safe seat for PTI but why take a risk of losing a crucial seat? We are already at borderline due to majority, would it not have been better to have someone from outside of parliament as President?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With the Prime Minister Khan! <br><br>Here’s to the new beginnings! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Alhumdolilah?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Alhumdolilah</a> <a href="https://t.co/nviZJZWeS3">pic.twitter.com/nviZJZWeS3</a></p>— Awn Chaudry (@AwnChaudry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AwnChaudry/status/1031530708085497859?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

Immediate steps need to be taken to reform FBR. If the number of 800,000 tax payers can be increased to even 2 million Pakistan would be in much better position.

There are probably around 10mn in our country that should be paying tax of varying amounts.

I'd say thats about right.

Average family size in Pakistan is about 6 people and traditionally only one member of the family works (the father). Therefore 220/6 = 36 million bread earners roughly. Now this direct taxation can only be for people who earn above a certain minimum income which going by poverty levels in the country would be roughly 50% people. So you are left with 18 million who can potentially pay direct income tax. Then some segments of society such as small farmers are traditionally protected (and as they should be), so I wager those people comprise of about 40% of these 18 million so that leaves us to about 10 million. A major chunk of these 10 million would be people who are not salaried class and instead have their own businesses such as grocery store, tea shop etc - these places do not declare income and file taxes and comprise of the "undocumented" segment of society.

I'd say the total number of eligible tax payers in the country would be somewhere in the range of 6-10 million. It would be MASSIVE challenge to get them under the tax net and would probably take a decade of concentrated effort if not more.

I'd say thats about right.

Average family size in Pakistan is about 6 people and traditionally only one member of the family works (the father). Therefore 220/6 = 36 million bread earners roughly. Now this direct taxation can only be for people who earn above a certain minimum income which going by poverty levels in the country would be roughly 50% people. So you are left with 18 million who can potentially pay direct income tax. Then some segments of society such as small farmers are traditionally protected (and as they should be), so I wager those people comprise of about 40% of these 18 million so that leaves us to about 10 million. A major chunk of these 10 million would be people who are not salaried class and instead have their own businesses such as grocery store, tea shop etc - these places do not declare income and file taxes and comprise of the "undocumented" segment of society.

I'd say the total number of eligible tax payers in the country would be somewhere in the range of 6-10 million. It would be MASSIVE challenge to get them under the tax net and would probably take a decade of concentrated effort if not more.

Good post and the only reason they will file is if they are compelled and if they see the money used for their betterment such as hospitals, cleanliness, education, electricity etc.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With the Prime Minister Khan! <br><br>Here’s to the new beginnings! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Alhumdolilah?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Alhumdolilah</a> <a href="https://t.co/nviZJZWeS3">pic.twitter.com/nviZJZWeS3</a></p>— Awn Chaudry (@AwnChaudry) <a href="https://twitter.com/AwnChaudry/status/1031530708085497859?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

News were he was fired?

Good to see Amin Aslam in Ministry of Climate Change

DlDZ1lXXcAEw83t.jpg:large

He's got a passing resemblance for Majid Khan.

Calling it now, a sure fire housewives favourite in coming years

You know he might even rise to the top cadre of PTI in a few years. Definitely has the education, personality and charisma to do so.

Just watching Rauf Kalsra and Amir Mateen show

Rauf was reading a excerpt of of Dr Ishrat Hussain’s book. Dr sahab is full on praising Shahez Sharif in the book, calling his goverence the best ever.

:))) This grandpa is suppose to carry out reforms

Just watching Rauf Kalsra and Amir Mateen show

Rauf was reading a excerpt of of Dr Ishrat Hussain’s book. Dr sahab is full on praising Shahez Sharif in the book, calling his goverence the best ever.

:))) This grandpa is suppose to carry out reforms

more
Shahbez is a role model for other chief minsters

Islamabad journos 'affected' by austerity drive launched by PM Imran Khan :)))

DlDyb6HXsAA8Sy_.jpg:large

-KPK performance watch
-Sindh performance watch

The deed is gone! [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]

Guys please create any new threads that you think are needed. Quite a few have been moved over so you can also bump relevant ones.

The deed is gone! [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION]

Guys please create any new threads that you think are needed. Quite a few have been moved over so you can also bump relevant ones.

Thanks bro is it possible to keep a link of popular political threads in TP section as well otherwise non regular users will find it hard to open these threads if they are not aware of this new section.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

Thanks for the great work bro just noticed you found and moved many many political threads to this section!

Thanks bro is it possible to keep a link of popular political threads in TP section as well otherwise non regular users will find it hard to open these threads if they are not aware of this new section.

Mushkil hai. Will keep the forum announcement thread for that purpose.

All thanks to Mr Safi, his fellow journalistic fraternity will be thrilled.

hahaha saw Faisal Vawda complaining on ARY he mentioned i had to visit a restaurant to eat something khan sahab ne to bhooka maar dena tha with one dish menu

Abdullah Bro thanks so much for this section.

Yes no problem I'll create some good threads soon and I'll make sure they are good ones inshallah.

hahaha saw Faisal Vawda complaining on ARY he mentioned i had to visit a restaurant to eat something khan sahab ne to bhooka maar dena tha with one dish menu

Lmao Alot of people hate his confrontational style but I absolutely love Faisal Vawda, he's hilarious but has real passion behind what he says.

He's just suggested all Pakistani's donate the animal skin of sacrificed animals to the Government.

Abdullah Bro thanks so much for this section.

Yes no problem I'll create some good threads soon and I'll make sure they are good ones inshallah.

I second this, great work. Politics in Pakistan is gonna be incredible from now on and deserves its own section.

As mentioned above [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION], thanks bro for all the great work!

Asal kam tho ab shuru hoga :jkt

Lmao Alot of people hate his confrontational style but I absolutely love Faisal Vawda, he's hilarious but has real passion behind what he says.

He's just suggested all Pakistani's donate the animal skin of sacrificed animals to the Government.

I never liked him but after watching his campaign in this election i am a fan now! nice suggestion btw

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Federal Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Asad_Umar</a> on the streets of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a> without protocol. <a href="https://t.co/FN9nRiR03t">pic.twitter.com/FN9nRiR03t</a></p>— Syed Raza Mehdi (@SyedRezaMehdi) <a href="https://twitter.com/SyedRezaMehdi/status/1031633808108466177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

:salute

Heard IK told his Cabinet that now that they were in his Cabinet, they were all responsible to deliver the nation out of the crisis and people had high hopes, expectations from them. Therefore he will try to have atleast 2 cabinet meetings every week, he himself would work 16 plus hours every day and that he expects that they too will work 14 plus hours daily and they will have to forget about their families, friends during this time period and the only real holidays everyone will get will be during Eid.

I think he needs to ease up a bit, the last thing you want is too much stress and burn out.

hahaha this new video of Sheru is another gem :)))

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XQmn1HvqUEQ" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Heard IK told his Cabinet that now that they were in his Cabinet, they were all responsible to deliver the nation out of the crisis and people had high hopes, expectations from them. Therefore he will try to have atleast 2 cabinet meetings every week, he himself would work 16 plus hours every day and that he expects that they too will work 14 plus hours daily and they will have to forget about their families, friends during this time period and the only real holidays everyone will get will be during Eid.

I think he needs to ease up a bit, the last thing you want is too much stress and burn out.

No Noora Minister ever worked. They spent all day defending the Noora god.

Time to rest has gone. They have to work religiously to improve Pakistan.

This is the path they chose, public service, especially at this level, is not meant to be easy. The mess the country is in currently would mean that they need to work tirelessly to put it on the right path again. Can't take the foot off the gas at all for the next 5 years.

Can they please get security? This is Pakistan we are talking about.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">One month on, PTI is benefitting from a post-poll consolidation of support (a 3 pt increase from 25 July), while PML(N) has declined a further 2 pts, reflective of post poll disenchantment among its supporters. Figures based on our 20 August Nationwide Opinion Poll. <a href="https://t.co/JeQmoSHY1a">pic.twitter.com/JeQmoSHY1a</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1031766601794768899?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

I'm sorry, but this is just wrong on so many levels.

He is a federal minister, I understand the austerity but he needs to understand that even in more developed countries, where there are fewer threats, people have security. They need to understand the difference between protocol and security. God forbid something bad was to happen, this would hurt Pakistan. We need the best brains trying to fix the country to at the least have good security.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">One month on, PTI is benefitting from a post-poll consolidation of support (a 3 pt increase from 25 July), while PML(N) has declined a further 2 pts, reflective of post poll disenchantment among its supporters. Figures based on our 20 August Nationwide Opinion Poll. <a href="https://t.co/JeQmoSHY1a">pic.twitter.com/JeQmoSHY1a</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1031766601794768899?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

Hope this upward trend continues.

Good news, but this was expected. It is a general trend worldwide for the winning party to become more popular. The real challenge is to maintain and grow from here on.

I think, if PTI perform well over the next few years, we will see PTI rise to ~40%, and PPP to ~25% by 2023. I don't think PML-N will survive, they will fall down to ~13%. MMA will stay around ~3-4%, and MQM(P) will also remain around ~1-2%. TLP will die, and the number of independents will go down.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PTI's post poll consolidation of support isn't more visible anywhere than in Punjab. It has a 42-23 lead in South, 51-30 in Northwest Punjab, and slightly trails PML(N) 37-41 in Central Punjab. It also now interestingly is PTI's strongest province in terms of support, not KP. <a href="https://t.co/uoCytrJ8hD">pic.twitter.com/uoCytrJ8hD</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1031774455750713344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

Good news, but this was expected. It is a general trend worldwide for the winning party to become more popular. The real challenge is to maintain and grow from here on.

I think, if PTI perform well over the next few years, we will see PTI rise to ~40%, and PPP to ~25% by 2023. I don't think PML-N will survive, they will fall down to ~13%. MMA will stay around ~3-4%, and MQM(P) will also remain around ~1-2%. TLP will die, and the number of independents will go down.

Why do you think PPP will go up that high? I mean, there are some serious cronies within that party. If Zardari is convicted along with his cronies, I think their popularity will go down.

Bilawal is too young to handle the party currently but let's see what he can do. If he can somehow distance himself from the normal PPP mindset of "kal bhi bhutto zinda tha aj bhi bhutto zinda hai" then maybe, after some sweeping changes within the party they can rise. This will take years though. They might have some sort of upswing by 2028.

Why do you think PPP will go up that high? I mean, there are some serious cronies within that party. If Zardari is convicted along with his cronies, I think their popularity will go down.

Bilawal is too young to handle the party currently but let's see what he can do. If he can somehow distance himself from the normal PPP mindset of "kal bhi bhutto zinda tha aj bhi bhutto zinda hai" then maybe, after some sweeping changes within the party they can rise. This will take years though. They might have some sort of upswing by 2028.

I think they will rise that high mainly due to PML-N taking a serious nosedive. Them nosediving will mean that many of their supporters simply won't vote. Less PML-N people voting will boost both PPP and PTI up by a few percentage points.

There will also be a lot supporters defecting from PML-N to PTI and PPP. Bilawal has an appeal to some people, and many of the PML-N defects may side with PPP. There will obviously also be a wave of PML-N supporters siding with PTI on the basis of performance.

Another factor is that, because PTI are now in power, and because most of the seats they won were won by "nazryatis", they will be less inclined to take PML-N electables on board. Many electables may end up flipping to PPP instead of PTI, and it would give them a boost.

Hence, PTI will end up around 40%, while PPP could potentially reach 25%.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Voters in Sindh have no second thoughts one month on. PPPP should be able to repeat a sweep in interior Sindh as well as win a handful of seats in Urban Sindh. <a href="https://t.co/ChLcQE0moT">pic.twitter.com/ChLcQE0moT</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1031780566075678720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In KP, PTI far ahead of its main rivals as has become typical. Opposition's electoral prospects will depend entirely on their ability to make electoral adjustments, as PML(N)-PPPP-MMA-ANP tally to around 46% of the vote in the province. <a href="https://t.co/9Hs9twD03B">pic.twitter.com/9Hs9twD03B</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1031787618508390400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Advisor to Prime Minister on Climate Change, Malik Amin Aslam has pledged to boost Pakistan’s climate vulnerability by increasing the country’s tree cover, water conservation and storage, and climate-resilient food security measures. <a href="https://t.co/vHpZM9kWdP">pic.twitter.com/vHpZM9kWdP</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1031612852770095108?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi says Pakistan’s new foreign policy would “begin and end at Pakistan” and steps would be taken to bring the country out of international isolation. <a href="https://t.co/l6zlKVIlze">pic.twitter.com/l6zlKVIlze</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1031613892332580865?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prime Minister Imran Khan vows to transform <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> into an Islamic welfare state through all-encompassing reforms in different spheres of life. <br>He made this commitment during his maiden address to the nation tonight.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a> <a href="https://t.co/M4f0GBa4Bk">pic.twitter.com/M4f0GBa4Bk</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1031248315516637184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

So refreshing to see Pakistan government pages tweet about our very own PTI ministers!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo will visit Pakistan next month for talks with Prime Minister Imran Khan. The United States has said that it was looking forward to working with new civilian government in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> to promote peace and prosperity in the country and in the region. <a href="https://t.co/UDB8lvDqH8">pic.twitter.com/UDB8lvDqH8</a></p>— Govt of Pakistan (@pid_gov) <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov/status/1031806181814284288?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

Thanks for the mention bro, because i was looking for Political threads and i was like...what the hell where all threads gone?

IA this section will rock n roll.

Islamabad journos 'affected' by austerity drive launched by PM Imran Khan :)))

DlDyb6HXsAA8Sy_.jpg:large

Haha journalists and guests were disappointed at oath day when they came to know that 9 dishes program has been cancelled and people will be served with Chaye, biskooot and Paani :)))

Who else here is watching more and more PTV now? It is such a refreshing change from all the other channels filled with screaming, shouting, and flashing graphics. I'm so glad PTV are relatively free from political interference now, and I am glad PTI have committed to give them full editorial independence, and have planned a big overhaul.

A good solid start and i see another election in a year or so time to get the majority needed.

Who else here is watching more and more PTV now? It is such a refreshing change from all the other channels filled with screaming, shouting, and flashing graphics. I'm so glad PTV are relatively free from political interference now, and I am glad PTI have committed to give them full editorial independence, and have planned a big overhaul.

I hope they get new cameras and equipment now. Been using outdated stuff for too long

They need a massive overhaul. New cameras needed, cameramen need training, quality of broadcast needs to improve too.

I also think that PTV World needs a massive overhaul too. It should be in HD because it is catering to a section of the population that mostly have HDTVs. They should also transform PTV World into an international news channel, kind of how Russia has RT, Iran has Press TV, UK has BBC, Qatar has Aljazeera, Turkey has TRT World, etc.

When are we going to see high-flying dismissals... I wanna wake up to news that IK fired top management of FBR, Steel Mills, PIA, Railways, NAB, SSGC, SNGC, WAPDA etc etc and placed them all on ECL.

Hamid Mir had Viki, Mushi and Inzi in his show today

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FePPXl5IAgE" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]
We need audits of PM house, the Presidency, Parliament etc. Klasra was excellent today. Can you please add the vid to show why the country is bankrupt.

Hamid Mir had Viki, Mushi and Inzi in his show today

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FePPXl5IAgE" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Was it a good show?

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]
We need audits of PM house, the Presidency, Parliament etc. Klasra was excellent today. Can you please add the vid to show why the country is bankrupt.

Here you go bro

<iframe frameborder="0" width="100%" height="400" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6sdl06" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Imran Khan gave an interview to Arshad Sharif which will be aired day after tomorrow. IMO IK should stay away from these interviews for now.

Here you go bro

<iframe frameborder="0" width="100%" height="400" src="http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6sdl06" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Please raise this on twitter with the PTI. We need audits to show even the thick Nooras the level of looting.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As per vision of <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> Ended political censorship on PTV, clear instructions issued for a complete editorial independence on PTV and Radio Pakistan, drastic changes ll be visible in Information Dept in coming 3 months Inshallah</p>— Ch Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1031816880720433152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

great news! was tired of PTV acting as every govt's propaganda machine