Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">There is no reason not to vote for Imran khan. Everyone else has been given a chance and has failed. Imran Khan is our last hope.</p>— Zaid Ali (@Za1d) <a href="https://twitter.com/Za1d/status/1021423064922361857?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Yes Bro I think Imran might sit in oppostition.

But he really sees this as his last chance to become PM.

Will this desire make him form a hodgepodge hakoomat? I don't know.

I agree that a Dharna Season 2 might be on the cards if he sits in opposition.

I will be disappointed if dharna 2 starts even after these elections. Imran Khan should sit on opposition benches and play a positive role, attend the parliament regularly and train some young leaders who could take over. He doesn't have to become PM to bring change.

Next government are likely to face extremely tough challenges and Shahbaz just doesn't have that in him to do anything and especially alliance with PPP will kill them in future.

If Imran is still fit, he will be in 70s and could become PM next time otherwise Asad Umar or other young candidate can be groomed.

Good to see Waleed and Cheema being part of Lahore campaign. They were a bit disappointed but after meeting Khan they on board now.

DizThMlWsAMHkdN.jpg:small

IK's last speech today at around 10:30PM in Lahore NA-131 after that our election campaign finally comes to an end.

Nearly 70 Jalsas within few a couple of weeks :bow:

Saw this it's sad but unfortunately it's true

"We live in a country where people sell vote for 1000 Rs and then go to Masjid and pray ya Allah is mulk pe reham kar"

IK's last speech today at around 10:30PM in Lahore NA-131 after that our election campaign finally comes to an end.

Nearly 70 Jalsas within few a couple of weeks :bow:

The man has given EVERYTHING, lot more than most 65 year olds can offer. He has struggled on roads for months and months but somehow everything is being given to him on plate just because Nawaz Sharif and drug dealer Hanif Abbasi were sent to jail. These two had been deliberately delaying their cases anyway and both cases had international origins.

22 years of struggle on road and these nooras and their supporters think he is the laadla? The real Laadla was given everything on a plate by Zia and Jillani without any political struggle

Shahid Afridi himself won't be able to openly declare his support so his daughters record a cute video providing full support to Imran Khan :)

hahaha yea saw bhabhi uploading the video from her account he played safe just like shoaib akhtar :))

Waqar Younis showed true Jatt qualities by openly supporting Imran.

He also retweeted Wasim if am not wrong Waqar wife even in past openly supported PTI and both Wasim and Waqar recently a SKMCH fundraising event in Australia.

One thing is confirmed now by Wasim tweet that daal main kuch be kaala nae tha otherwise i dont expect him to tweet like this if what Reham said in her book quoting Wasim story "ke Imran ne mujhe btaya" was true.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sir Pakistan was also created through an electoral process. Our people are mostly poor for sure but not cheap sold outs. They may take Biryani from you but vote against you when alone in the booth. <a href="https://t.co/PYxrm1ER90">https://t.co/PYxrm1ER90</a></p>— Nusrat Javeed (@javeednusrat) <a href="https://twitter.com/javeednusrat/status/1021435796686082050?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Some candidates are not stupid after paying the amount like 5000 rupe for a vote or a bike for 5 votes they ask you to give oath on Holy Quran

Khan talking about minorities and Christians and the propaganda against him right now at Data Darbar jalsa.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Yes I can vote in Pakistan. I was born and raised in Pakistan. I have spent more than half my life there and I visit frequently and all my family lives there. I care about the well being of Pakistan as much as any other Pakistani. Please get rid of your ignorant mentality. <a href="https://t.co/3vf9NPxdjj">https://t.co/3vf9NPxdjj</a></p>— Zaid Ali (@Za1d) <a href="https://twitter.com/Za1d/status/1021428453005037568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

If it came down to being the only choice for PTI, would you rather see this coalition form government, or would you rather see PTI sit in opposition?

PTI = 100
MQM-P = 11
GDA = 8
BAP = 5
AML = 2
IND = 11
Total = 137

In short, would you find it acceptable for PTI to form a government with MQM-P?

I think PTI will have to ally itself with MQM-P at federal level because we have to look at the wider picture. Particularly in Sindh - where there is a 0% chance for anyone else to form government unless GDA, PTI, PSP, MQM are all on board together. PPP will most likely lose its 85+ seat majority in Sindh assembly this time around*, which will leave the field open for the other parties to ally and form government - provided no one bites the cherry of sitting with PPP in government.

*Primarily because the 2013 elections saw a massive 9% downswing in PP's vote in Sindh but they only ended up losing 1 seat from their tally in 2008. The real impact of this downswing will be evident this time around if the PP support base erodes further, which is more than likely because of two consecutive tenures in Sindh govt and a united opposition front (GDA+PTI - 35% popular vote together) in Interior Sindh. This is why you are seeing PP being frantic to cover their losses from Karachi and via rigging (postal ballots in Sewan).

Correction:

I have given my best & fought to the last ball for my country against corruption & for justice. Now I am praying to the Almighty for success & polishing military boots.

You don't give up.

I mean, no party has gained more from boot polishing then PMLN, from the mid 80s to the 90s, and then again in 2013, the only thing left was Nawaz and co. wearing a fuji uniform himself. The "Quaid" of the party has been rightly convicted.

You weren't that involved in posting about elections but from the past few weeks, you have been at it like no tomorrow. Kya tumhi bei koi lifafa tho nai milgiya?

Arastoo following his leaders to cash sympathy
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how I start my day before going out to campaign with my physiotherapist to restore motion of my right hand. Alhamdulillah making progress. <a href="https://t.co/5CEjZQuXPG">pic.twitter.com/5CEjZQuXPG</a></p>— Ahsan Iqbal (@betterpakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/betterpakistan/status/1021297247491969024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Arastoo following his leaders to cash sympathy
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how I start my day before going out to campaign with my physiotherapist to restore motion of my right hand. Alhamdulillah making progress. <a href="https://t.co/5CEjZQuXPG">pic.twitter.com/5CEjZQuXPG</a></p>— Ahsan Iqbal (@betterpakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/betterpakistan/status/1021297247491969024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Your publicity helps.

So, just tried to watch TV. Kept changing news channels to see an actual analysis or jalsa, found one program live after 10 or 12 changing. But then that program also took commercial break.

Channels running commercials and showing a little bit programming in between.

The biggest beneficiaries of elections in Pakistan are News channels.

The simplest thing for PTI to gauge its success is the number of seats that PML N manages to win.

N league does not manage to cross 65 and we can rejoice.

So, just tried to watch TV. Kept changing news channels to see an actual analysis or jalsa, found one program live after 10 or 12 changing. But then that program also took commercial break.

Channels running commercials and showing a little bit programming in between.

The biggest beneficiaries of elections in Pakistan are News channels.

Watching this newly launched Public TV where Sana Buch, Ch Ghulam Hussain, Saeed Qazi and a few other penalists were sitting and Sana Bucha was having a fight with a SC lawyer :))

She recently did an interview of IK on this channel and if i am not wrong this channel was launched by a buddy of IK thats why IK was there during their opening ceremony.

Kashif Abbasi ke ander ka jayala abhi tak zinda he lol i thought it died long time ago! he predicted 7 PPP seats in Punjab

DizsHGQWsAEbG_l.jpg:small

Last speeches of Imran Khan (Lahore) and Shehbaz Sharif (DG Khan) are live now. Campaign timing ends in 30 minutes

Kashif Abbasi ke ander ka jayala abhi tak zinda he lol i thought it died long time ago! he predicted 7 PPP seats in Punjab

DizsHGQWsAEbG_l.jpg:small

When 100 million people vote, one shouldn't listen too much to pundits' predictions. Best indicator is to stay within your routine premises and observe atmosphere around you. Key point is "within your routine premises".
No one ever has mastered the Dynamics of Mob Psychology.

When 100 million people vote, one shouldn't listen too much to pundits' predictions. Best indicator is to stay within your routine premises and observe atmosphere around you. Key point is "within your routine premises".
No one ever has mastered the Dynamics of Mob Psychology.

True i am not believing these opinions but its interesting to see what they think/predict and it gives us an idea of their mindset. (Kashif Abbasi and Klasra are jayalas from inside)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Yeh hui baat <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakElection2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakElection2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GE2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GE2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanElection2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanElection2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/XS0EGvNb7h">pic.twitter.com/XS0EGvNb7h</a></p>— Amber Rahim Shamsi (@AmberRShamsi) <a href="https://twitter.com/AmberRShamsi/status/1021442522042851329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

hahaha :)))

Halal song of MMA launched :D

Dekho dekho kon aya, Fazal ur Rehman aya!

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/CpkfbV2g2wY" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Khan aakhri 5 minute be use kerke theak 12 baje he speech khatam kerega :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If our forecast is broadly replicated, PTI's margin of victory in the popular vote will be the smallest since 2002. It is however, unlike the PML(Q), benefitting from being competitive outside of Punjab as well, and thus should do better in terms of seats. <a href="https://t.co/UnlJkp63rC">pic.twitter.com/UnlJkp63rC</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021371852676091904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

it doesnt sound good.It looks like Pti is nto crossing 100.

It's not looking good at all.

Even most analysts on all channels are saying PMLN are still ahead in Punjab.

It might be 90 something seats for PTI overall.

It might be better to sit in opposition.

I always thought this was going to be the case. All we can hope for us that somehow the educated youth will come out in large numbers and vote for change otherwise be ready to see around 90 seats.

Don't look too much into this, it is NOT a new survey. They have just aggregated all their surveys and other surveys (which are all more than a week or two weeks old). The most relevant survey is the one from last week, which has PTI on 98 seats. In all likelihood, we've only gone up from that point.

"Mere Pakistanio. Allah kabhi kabhi kisi quom ko mauka deta hai. Is maukay ko janay na dena. Mere leay nahi. Apne bachon ke liyay. Apni aane waali nasaloon ke liyay. Apne Mulk Ke Liay Nikelna." :ik

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/CpkfbV2g2wY" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Worst case of plagiarism!

‘Maulana YO YO Honey Singh.

To PTI supporters:

IK's job's done. Now it's our turn. GO and VOTE for PTI and convince others if you can in next 24 hours. Tell them voting for PPP, PMLN, MQM for decades but nothing has changed. Give PTI and IK one chance. Just one chance InshAllah he'll do far better job than those crooks and murderers.

[MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] and others - why is PTI winning 90 seats not good? Please educate.

It's in Punjabi "Jaera Jite Odae Naal" means jo be jeete me uske sath hun written on the back of a rikshaw.

Thanks bro

Wonder why Roshan Pakistan has decreased the number of total seats for PTI?!

[MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] and others - why is PTI winning 90 seats not good? Please educate.

PTI will be 47 seats short of a majority, a gap which cannot be made up via smaller parties and independents, and thus will either have to ally with PPP to form a coalition or sit in the opposition.

There are 272 General seats and you need 137 to form govt. Less seats means you will have to depend on small parties to make up numbers and you will have to give them ministries and other privileges and they can blackmail you anytime.

Don't look too much into this, it is NOT a new survey. They have just aggregated all their surveys and other surveys (which are all more than a week or two weeks old). The most relevant survey is the one from last week, which has PTI on 98 seats. In all likelihood, we've only gone up from that point.

Oh I see, didn't know that. So the current situation is sayiing 98 seats still.

Really really hoping we could get around 110-115 seats. If we get more, even better!

137 needed to form a simple majority.

So if they win 90, they will need to make up the shortfall of 47 with independents and small sympathetic parties.

Getting 47 of those will be more or less impossible. If he does it will be with huge compromises and PTI will be better off sitting in oppostition.

Now if they get 110 seats they can make up the 27 shortfall alot easier, without giving too much.

A total of 115 to 120 seats would be even better.

So if they win 90 seats they might as well not bother.

Yeah, I saw it afterward.

Going to your post about convincing others...I have tried extremely hard to convince my family members in Pakistan but seems as if they are die-hard N league supporters nothing can change there perspectives :(

Chalen at least your tried as IK always says "Allah ne insan ke hath main sirf koshish rakhi he kaamyabi wo deta he"

Yeah, I saw it afterward.

Going to your post about convincing others...I have tried extremely hard to convince my family members in Pakistan but seems as if they are die-hard N league supporters nothing can change there perspectives :(

It's the situation in most of Pakistan Bro. PMLN has brain ****ed most of the people by keeping them Jaahil and ensured they don't look at the bigger picture.

That's one of the reason i spent my time on swing voters instead of typical patwaris they are never gonna change.

Just saw Shiekh Rasheeds final minutes of campaigning :)))

Was telling the molvi, yaar ek minute ragiya hei...and the maulana was like sirf dua kero ga..and Rasheed kept looking at his watch lol

That's one of the reason i spent my time on swing voters instead of typical patwaris they are never gonna change.

Wish I was in Pakistan to help, or at least foriegn Pakistanis are allowed to vote. Hoping Imran Khan comes to power and makes this possible.

Guys when will election results start coming in on the 25th? Having a bit of an election party/gathering going on...hoping we can celebrate a great PTI win towards the end!!

Just saw Shiekh Rasheeds final minutes of campaigning :)))

Was telling the molvi, yaar ek minute ragiya hei...and the maulana was like sirf dua kero ga..and Rasheed kept looking at his watch lol

haha sheikh know aage he aik seat per postpone ho gaya ab dusri be nae chali jaaye :))

I read in a post that people vote on Biryani or qeema wala naan which in untrue. Only extremely poor ones sell their votes for at least 4000-5000 rupees or more. No one votes for Biryani at all. These refreshments are just for voter entertainment.

PTI also has such people now who will be providing Biryani and Qeema walay naans.

Wish I was in Pakistan to help, or at least foriegn Pakistanis are allowed to vote. Hoping Imran Khan comes to power and makes this possible.

Guys when will election results start coming in on the 25th? Having a bit of an election party/gathering going on...hoping we can celebrate a great PTI win towards the end!!

PTI will make sure overseas voting if they come into power IA. Polling stations results will start coming by 7PM (if polling time is not extended). And we will have a clear idea by around 11PM Pak time who is going to most seats

Mannn I'm nervous...its now or never!

I just fail to understand how people can't see through the crap PPP and PMLN have put the country through.

We will get a general idea even by 9 PM that who is winning. 90 percent results will be known by 12 PM. ECP has given deadline of 2 am to returning officers.

I read in a post that people vote on Biryani or qeema wala naan which in untrue. Only extremely poor ones sell their votes for at least 4000-5000 rupees or more. No one votes for Biryani at all. These refreshments are just for voter entertainment.

PTI also has such people now who will be providing Biryani and Qeema walay naans.

In my constituency a rich PPP candidate is right now paying 5000 Rs/vote and a Honda 125 bike for 12 votes. There is no votebank of PPP in my area so PPP was competing with an IND candidate in my constituency for number 4 position.

We shall know the direction of the wind through media screens even before counting.

All we have to see is look at the results of few battleground districts like Gujranwala and Faisalabad and we will know our winner.

We will get a general idea even by 9 PM that who is winning. 90 percent results will be known by 12 PM. ECP has given deadline of 2 am to returning officers.

I forgot this time they are going to use mobile apps to send data directly to ECP so its gonna be quick i guess otherwise rural polling stations used to be game changers because unka result sabse last main aata tha and urban polling station ke results se kaafi different.