Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

I have appreciated one of his candidates who is contesting from NA-242. As I said, I don’t hate Imran personally. I hate the lotas he has gathered around himself. The whole point of voting is to scrutinise and then elect the candidates in front of you. You can’t break the cycle of Military rule by surrounding yourself around those electables who have been benefiting from this cycle for years. Yes I agree, you cannot gather 272 pious men or women, but you should always strive to get morally strong candidates. Lotas will always have dubious morality.

Presidential system is the only way to reduce their influence, the current system inherently gives them the upper hand. Unless you go for mass barring etc... autocratic style.

Roshan's pre election polls were great, but this exit poll might not turn out so good. Opinion polls are easier to conduct because you take a random representative sample and adjust to demographics. Exit polls are more complicated.

Guys don't dismiss Roshan turnout poll too easily.

Apparently the polling process had slowed abit.

So we might get a lower turnout than expected.

Or it might pick up in last hour.

Presidential system is the only way to reduce their influence, the current system inherently gives them the upper hand. Unless you go for mass barring etc... autocratic style.

You mean non-party system? That would be even worse. Every feudal lord would win from his constituency. The presidential system was the birthplace of electables. At least candidates are now, in some way, answerable to their parties.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The 90 years old Haji Barat Khan casting vote for a better Balochistan in Quetta.<br>Thank you sir &#55357;&#56474;&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;<br>Have you done your duty too? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GE2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GE2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Election2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Election2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/v0VoAIbfJt">pic.twitter.com/v0VoAIbfJt</a></p>— Syed Raza Mehdi (@SyedRezaMehdi) <a href="https://twitter.com/SyedRezaMehdi/status/1022013647265189889?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote>

Alhamdulillah.

I am 100% certain that Allah will not allow this bazurg's vote go to waste.

ECP is thinking about extending the time PPP and Sheikh Rasheed also demanded it after PMLN. One extra hour was already added by ECP a few fays ago by making it 8AM to 6PM instead of 5PM.

A saazshi theory 1 hour delay means more andhere waali waardaaten later when counting is being done :13:

Guys please flick over to Geo if you can.

Apart from Mr Bhatti all the other panellists are already in mourning. They are on the verge of tears.

Respect to the people of Balochistan, especially Quetta. Despite the attack, they are still turning out to vote.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Love seeing this turnout of women <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanElections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanElections2018</a> , but then I think would I allow these ladies to make a decision even about what will be cooking in my kitchen today? And these ladies will decide on the future of the nation. Scary thought <a href="https://t.co/cTqCQFP2Zj">https://t.co/cTqCQFP2Zj</a></p>— Sara Taseer (@sarataseer) <a href="https://twitter.com/sarataseer/status/1022072777128300544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Shame on you Ms Sara Taseer!

Mian Bro and Hussain Bro you guys should get some sleep.

Get a good 7 or 8 hours sleep.

Don't watch the results live.

You will find out the results tomorrow.

Is that ok? :)

Where's the fun in that? :yk

Gotta be awake for all the twists and turns while results come in.

There is no fun in that! will try to stay awake till it's clear who is winning by tonight!

Some reports from NA-243 that Mustafa Kamal may lose his seat, don't know how authentic these reports are, it's hard to believe.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Love seeing this turnout of women <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanElections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanElections2018</a> , but then I think would I allow these ladies to make a decision even about what will be cooking in my kitchen today? And these ladies will decide on the future of the nation. Scary thought <a href="https://t.co/cTqCQFP2Zj">https://t.co/cTqCQFP2Zj</a></p>— Sara Taseer (@sarataseer) <a href="https://twitter.com/sarataseer/status/1022072777128300544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

She’s gonna be defined by this tweet for the rest of her life.

A5240459-4D16-4C9B-845B-E6ED7EDC7B50.jpg

Soon...

No one needs to worry. There is no point in speculating, know one anything right now. However, Imran Khan will be the next PM because he deserves any opportunity to walk the talk. His party did not live up to the billing in KP, but they can be excused because it was their first time.

However, it was an important experience and the next five years will be a true test of his character and determination. If he lets the nation down, he will lose the faith and trust of millions of people. I don’t know how it will go, but he did deserve one chance.

Also, although it is highly unlikely, but if PTI fails to win majority or if it fails to win enough seats to form a coalition, it is my humble request that his supporters should accept the decision of the majority of the nation and not blame rigging.

If they are not going to thank rigging for Imran Khan’s win, they should not blame it for his defeat. We do not want to see another long march and another dharna in the capital. The mistakes that were made in 2014 should not be repeated again.

We need to strengthen our institutions and preserve our democracy, but democracy doesn’t mean that the outcome will necessarily be in our favor. It is the only way we can fight and oppose military interference in our politics, and that will be Imran Khan’s biggest challenge when he comes into power - he has used the military to gain power, but he needs to remind them that he will be the one calling the shots.

The outcome may not be favorable for him, but we must keep fighting against the institution that has done more harm to the nation than any corrupt party.

Imran will also have adapt as a leader. He is too impulsive and gets carried away easily, he needs to think through his statements better which often land him in needless controversies. He needs to be less emotional and more pragmatic. Demagogy and rhetoric can help you win the election, but it does not make you a great leader.

Shame on her, what a low thing to say.

View attachment 83048

Soon...

No one needs to worry. There is no point in speculating, know one anything right now. However, Imran Khan will be the next PM because he deserves any opportunity to walk the talk. His party did not live up to the billing in KP, but they can be excused because it was their first time.

However, it was an important experience and the next five years will be a true test of his character and determination. If he lets the nation down, he will lose the faith and trust of millions of people. I don’t know how it will go, but he did deserve one chance.

Also, although it is highly unlikely, but if PTI fails to win majority or if it fails to win enough seats to form a coalition, it is my humble request that his supporters should accept the decision of the majority of the nation and not blame rigging.

If they are not going to thank rigging for Imran Khan’s win, they should not blame it for his defeat. We do not want to see another long march and another dharna in the capital. The mistakes that were made in 2014 should not be repeated again.

We need to strengthen our institutions and preserve our democracy, but democracy doesn’t mean that the outcome will necessarily be in our favor. It is the only way we can fight and oppose military interference in our politics, and that will be Imran Khan’s biggest challenge when he comes into power - he has used the military to gain power, but he needs to remind them that he will be the one calling the shots.

The outcome may not be favorable for him, but we must keep fighting against the institution that has done more harm to the nation than any corrupt party.

Imran will also have adapt as a leader. He is too impulsive and gets carried away easily, he needs to think through his statements better which often land him in needless controversies. He needs to be less emotional and more pragmatic. Demagogy and rhetoric can help you win the election, but it does not make you a great leader.

Agree with you, top post. This election day has been very clean, so if PTI fail to form government, they should accept it and form a strong opposition.

View attachment 83048

Soon...

Post of the year 2018

guys tell me 1 thing.

Suppose Imran Khan wins 5 NA seats. So to keep 1 seat, he will have to resign from the 4 others? And if he resigs from the 4 others then who gets those seats? Does PTI kep those seats or does it goes to the next winner?

Polling time not be extended by 1 hour as requested by Pmln and mqm...

I don't see the justification to be honest. Polling time has already been extended from 5pm to 6pm,with allowance for people to vote till 7pm if they're present at the polling station.

guys tell me 1 thing.

Suppose Imran Khan wins 5 NA seats. So to keep 1 seat, he will have to resign from the 4 others? And if he resigs from the 4 others then who gets those seats? Does PTI kep those seats or does it goes to the next winner?

Bye elections.

guys tell me 1 thing.

Re-election

guys tell me 1 thing.

There will re-elections on these vacated seats.

guys tell me 1 thing.

by elections within 90 days. Khan won 3 seats out of 4 seats in 2013 and resigned from 2 PTI lost both of those seats in by elections.

I don't see the justification to be honest. Polling time has already been extended from 5pm to 6pm,with allowance for people to vote till 7pm if they're present at the polling station.

It's an ECP rule if you enter the gate of polling station you are allowed to vote no matter even if it takes 7PM so all those inside the polling station will be able to vote after 6.

Post of the year 2018

Excellent post.. however one thing I really admire about Imran Khan is the emotional part that you talked about. A leader needs to hv emotions in him, it's only then he can feel the emotions of his people. An emotionless person is hardly a human being let alone a leader but I agree with the part that he needs not to show those emotions at least while talking.

View attachment 83048

Soon...

You saw what military did to Nawaz, Hanif Abbasi and co, and they were once a party backed by them.

Im kind of glad that they got a taste of their own medicine.

Imran will also get his taste of military and i hope he does inshallah.

People who come with the back of military need to know how it feels when your democratic rights are taken away.

Hope he also learns his lesson same way PML N did

True, and any attempted rigging has been dealt with. Overall a very successful polling day, some things to take away and improve for next time.

Now let's just hope during counting there are no dirty games because thats the most important part

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A number of non-Muslim voters trying to vote in NA-54 are complaining that officials at the polling station are not allowing them to vote because they do not have the voter lists for minorities! This is taking place at Islamabad Model School I-10/2. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ElectionPakistan2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ElectionPakistan2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/BTVuvoLSj3">pic.twitter.com/BTVuvoLSj3</a></p>— AWP Islamabad (@AWPIsbRwp) <a href="https://twitter.com/AWPIsbRwp/status/1022081664523161602?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 25, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

:)) oh man, its funny how just 24 hours ago [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] was the worst poster, now hes a top poster for all other PTI supporters here

so basically agree with the majority :)

View attachment 83048

Soon...

Quality post by a quality poster.

Exactly! Just unclear on one thing, are there any people who observe the counting process? Polling agents?

This is why they should have electronic voting although there's always the risk of hackers compromising the result but it's still more efficient if they have good cyber security.

Good-ish news from NA-243. PML-N had offered our maids money to vote for them, and were going to bus them to their polling stations, and give then a place to live in (Not even a house).......

They've canceled, I'm guessing they're not even close.

MQM and PTI camps both seem confident. Gonna be close between these two and these two alone.

:)) oh man, its funny how just 24 hours ago [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] was the worst poster, now hes a top poster for all other PTI supporters here

so basically agree with the majority :)

Biggest face turn in pakpassion history :)) [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

Then i can understand why you don't know anything about Peshawar, KPK performance there and well you also dont know much about your own Nowshera too.

Anyways, good decision by you and now i hope you will stop supporting Corrupt and especially Drug Dealers.

Let’s not get into this debate again. I am well aware of PTI’s performance in Peshawar (where I live) and I am well aware of Pervez Khattak (who is also from Nowshehra). I explained to you in explicit detail why the BRT project has been greatly mismanaged by the PTI government, to which you did not reply. I am also open to debating why their health and education reforms have not worked, and how they have failed to curb corruption at the lower levels.

PTI have done better than ANP, but overall they have not done a satisfactory job at any level. Their social media propaganda have greatly exaggerated their success in KP. However, they can be excused because it was their first attempt at governance. Plenty of mistakes were made and we can expect improvement this time around.

This is not about corruption or anti-corruption. It is a power struggle and Imran has used any means necessary to reach his destination, which includes siding with corrupt people so by definition, any person who supports PTI is also supporting corruption.

What distinguishes Imran and what goes in his favor is his dedication. He worked his way to top in sport, and he used his popularity to give back to the society and enter the world of politics, where it took him 22 years to be in a position where his once-taanga party can form the central government.

He deserves an opportunity for his vision and commitment. The country deserves to see if he can deliver and all his claims are not just hot air. I am particularly interested in who will get the ministries in his government and how he will manage to keep a check on the electables without whom he couldn’t win the election.

That will be the biggest challenge of his tenure, because his decision to welcome all sorts of filth in his party has been greatly criticized by all quarters, and time will tell if he can prevent them from showing their true colors.

I voted for him because I don’t want to live with the guilt that I didn’t play my part in trying to change the fate of this country.

This is why they should have electronic voting although there's always the risk of hackers compromising the result but it's still more efficient if they have good cyber security.

Or they could have biometric voting? Eliminates the hacking problem as well as the ballot paper rigging problem.

Good-ish news from NA-243. PML-N had offered our maids money to vote for them, and were going to bus them to their polling stations, and give then a place to live in (Not even a house).......

They've canceled, I'm guessing they're not even close.

MQM and PTI camps both seem confident. Gonna be close between these two and these two alone.

Will be very very close for sure.

Disagree, not until we evolve our IT Tech enough to be able to do all this in-house.

You can rig, and be caught out when a recount is done and fingerprints checked. If the machines are tampered with, we might never know.

Let’s not get into this debate again. I am well aware of PTI’s performance in Peshawar (where I live) and I am well aware of Pervez Khattak (who is also from Nowshehra). I explained to you in explicit detail why the BRT project has been greatly mismanaged by the PTI government, to which you did not reply. I am also open to debating why their health and education reforms have not worked, and how they have failed to curb corruption at the lower levels.

PTI have done better than ANP, but overall they have not done a satisfactory job at any level. Their social media propaganda have greatly exaggerated their success in KP. However, they can be excused because it was their first attempt at governance. Plenty of mistakes were made and we can expect improvement this time around.

This is not about corruption or anti-corruption. It is a power struggle and Imran has used any means necessary to reach his destination, which includes siding with corrupt people so by definition, any person who supports PTI is also supporting corruption.

What distinguishes Imran and what goes in his favor is his dedication. He worked his way to top in sport, and he used his popularity to give back to the society and enter the world of politics, where it took him 22 years to be in a position where his once-taanga party can form the central government.

He deserves an opportunity for his vision and commitment. The country deserves to see if he can deliver and all his claims are not just hot air. I am particularly interested in who will get the ministries in his government and how he will manage to keep a check on the electables without whom he couldn’t win the election.

That will be the biggest challenge of his tenure, because his decision to welcome all sorts of filth in his party has been greatly criticized by all quarters, and time will tell if he can prevent them from showing their true colors.

As you said let's dont go there :) but the bold is wrong... You need to go and check that thread again..

you are welcome sir.

Will be very very close for sure.

At least it's MQM and PPP for the seat. The idea of Noonies stealing this seat somehow and getting a base in Karachi was scary. They're the last party that should ever get a vote here, but some felt that they might bus in those they'd favours to.

Just hope that Shahbaz doesn't win his seat, PML-N should under no circumstances win a seat in Karachi.

Btw, I meant PTI here :P

As much as we want PPP to lose, I'm not convinced at all that GDA are any better than them. From what I know, they are also filled with feudal lords and all.