Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Here to share a small story from last night. Our whole family had a meeting and our elders decided to vote for PML-N :)).
My wife who never went to school, who don't know how to write or read (she can only read urdu language) replied " Apna vote aag me dal dongi lekin inko nahi dongi " :))

My wife never used her vote in her whole life but this time she is going to vote, according to her i couldn't understood that why vote is that much necessary or what is corruption. Because i am sitting in my home, you are earning bread and butter and we have never faced any trouble in any thing. But now i have understood that why corruption is so dangerous for us and our country and why we should vote.

I was never able to put some awareness in her skull, but it's Imran Khan who did it. Imran Khan put political awareness in Pakistani awaam. My wife says i don't care who is our MNA or MPA i want to vote for Imran Khan only.

Point is, if a woman with zero education can understand what is right and wrong, then how our extremely educated Pakistanis can't get this?

Note:- Later on i was scolded by family Buzurgs "Apni b.v ko samjhao, barron k beech me nahe boltay" :)))

Hope you can answer [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION]
lolz.. thTs the spirit. And here doctors are defending drug mafia.

Viki bhai under attack of patwaris after his last 2 tweets
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You have got what it takes Skipper <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> but it will take everything you have...No one can doubt your Honesty and thats what is require in our country...An honest LEADER <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BehindYouSkipper?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BehindYouSkipper</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1020516704663687169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Will it be Easy ??? Nope..<br>Will it Worth it ??? Absolutely..<br>Enough is Enough..Time to bring Change <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKISTAN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKISTAN</a> All the Best in the upcoming elections Skipper,,We are all behind you <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1020020944419471361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
zakhmo pa tail chirrak raha ha.

Wasim bhai got 11k RTs within 24 hours lol but Pindi express came up with a very thandi tweet today.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was in your leadership skip <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImrankhanPTI</a> that we became world champions in 1992. It is in your leadership that we can again become a great democratic country. #voteforkapatan#nayapakistan</p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1020627984749940736?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Do you think IMRAN KHAN is our future prime minister??<br>But hey do go out & vote & take control of our future by electing the right guy for our country ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1020939917956825088?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

Wasim bhai got 11k RTs within 24 hours lol but Pindi express came up with a very thandi tweet today.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was in your leadership skip <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImrankhanPTI</a> that we became world champions in 1992. It is in your leadership that we can again become a great democratic country. #voteforkapatan#nayapakistan</p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1020627984749940736?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Do you think IMRAN KHAN is our future prime minister??<br>But hey do go out & vote & take control of our future by electing the right guy for our country ..</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1020939917956825088?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>
Waah goose bumps.Lagtaha Establishment wafadaryan tabdeel karwa raha ha.

Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhtar have always been loyal to Imran Khan.

Shoaib is trying to be diplomatic in his tweet but wants Imran to win.

Looking on the positive side of Habib Akram surveys, PTI can only gain from that point onwards as they are quite outdated.

One particular result was quite shocking, Tahir Iqbal easily defeated PMLN's Tehmina Daulatana as an Independent and now he is in PTI which should add to his vote count but he seems to be behind 55-35 % which is a bit of shocker unless people got really sick of his lack of performance/presence??

Over 90% of constituencies are very close contests so it would be very interesting on election day.

Out of all three speedsters, Akhtar is best politician :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Find your polling station. Follow the steps below<br>Go To:<a href="https://t.co/aARZTlDTr2">https://t.co/aARZTlDTr2</a> <br>Ap Ka Numainda Ap Mein Se <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Aik?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Aik</a> <a href="https://t.co/WH8rHs4vUo">pic.twitter.com/WH8rHs4vUo</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1021008955651383301?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2F1891307717599786%2Fvideos%2F1928815600515664%2F&show_text=0&width=560" width="560" height="315" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] brilliant.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Strongly condemn fatal attack on Ikramullah Gandapur. Another democrat martyred for his efforts to strengthen democratic process. May God bless his soul. Condolences to the PTI Family. All LEAs need to review their strategy to secure candidates/voters<br> <a href="https://t.co/IoJ1txrmpN">https://t.co/IoJ1txrmpN</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1021037786642731008?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2F1891307717599786%2Fvideos%2F1928815600515664%2F&show_text=0&width=560" width="560" height="315" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

hahaha brilliant seraiki ad

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Strongly condemn fatal attack on Ikramullah Gandapur. Another democrat martyred for his efforts to strengthen democratic process. May God bless his soul. Condolences to the PTI Family. All LEAs need to review their strategy to secure candidates/voters<br> <a href="https://t.co/IoJ1txrmpN">https://t.co/IoJ1txrmpN</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1021037786642731008?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Thats the spirit.We need to be on same page against terrorism.

This Sheru guy is a legend, deserves political oscars for his creativity :))

Once again Jibran hasn't disappointed and proves that he is not selectively liberal. Maybe the guy who wanted to know why we dislike some desi liberals got his answers (sadly he turned out to be patwari), hardly any such condemnation from that group of commercial liberals.

But for Wednesday, the forecast is not very ominous. Hopefully, we will have a fairly widespread yet light rain on Tuesday which would make the weather pleasant on Wednesday.

Just saw the re-run of Zara hat kay’s Elections transmissions. A caller from India said ‘vote zaya tab hota hai jab vote ghalat candidate ko parta hai’. He was talking about people who were saying that voting for Jibran Nasir would be a waste of vote because one man can’t change everything. Now I’m reminded that Imran Khan wasn’t born with a vote bank. Even if Jibran Nasir loses this election it his hard work that will matter in the long run. I the end I apologise to those who think my posts are enjoying.

Bro it's ok.

Continue to vote for Jibran Nasir that's absolutely fine.

I would also advise you to get behind Imran Khan. Just give him a chance. Ignore the naysayers.

Nobody has anything to lose by supporting Imran.

Put it this way. Things can't get any worse than they were under PMLN and PPP. And that in itself is an enormous start for PTI.

Irony is that JN should be thankful to IK for dynamics change. Else our history rhymes along Dr. Nazir Shaheed every now and then.

What a turnout today and yesterday!

DiuS67CX0AMQbLS.jpg:large

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Amazing crowds for the Imran Khan jalsa in Karachi <a href="https://t.co/bsStw6QEaq">pic.twitter.com/bsStw6QEaq</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1021076391540985856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
They’ll attend jalsas, eat some biryani and vote for MQM-P. That’s the sad reality of politics in Karachi.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Amazing crowds for the Imran Khan jalsa in Karachi <a href="https://t.co/bsStw6QEaq">pic.twitter.com/bsStw6QEaq</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1021076391540985856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
They’ll attend jalsas, eat some biryani and vote for MQM-P. That’s the sad reality of politics in Karachi.

Not anymore I assure you.

Things are changing.

Are you from Karachi?

No I'm not.

You need to lower your pessimism and your general negative outlook. You don't have the knowledge about Pakistan politics that several of us on this thread do.

So I'm telling you again stop being a pessimist and look at our options. PTI will be a big step in the right direction.

There is a reason PTI was still able to get 7 lakh votes after all the rigging from Karachi in 2013 PTI won a seat and was runner up on 17 seats out of 20. PTI voter exist in in Karachi they are not just jalsa supporters

And that we are asked why we hate these rent a liberal time sahafis of dawn and geo. Are they trolls or sahafis?
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">More people have come out in Karachi tonight not for <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> rally but for shopping, watching films, eating out & going to the beach. Oh I forgot <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> rally crowd is not more than 20k in the city of 20 million <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a></p>— Mubashir Zaidi (@Xadeejournalist) <a href="https://twitter.com/Xadeejournalist/status/1021066008587657217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

And that we are asked why we hate these rent a liberal time sahafis of dawn and geo. Are they trolls or sahafis?
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">More people have come out in Karachi tonight not for <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> rally but for shopping, watching films, eating out & going to the beach. Oh I forgot <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> rally crowd is not more than 20k in the city of 20 million <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a></p>— Mubashir Zaidi (@Xadeejournalist) <a href="https://twitter.com/Xadeejournalist/status/1021066008587657217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

I bit of indifference and soul searching can help you avoid this situation.

Brother they act like trolls whenever there is something about PTI and want respect in return sorry a troll is a troll in my dictionary and dont deserve any respect.

No I'm not.

You need to lower your pessimism and your general negative outlook. You don't have the knowledge about Pakistan politics that several of us on this thread do.

So I'm telling you again stop being a pessimist and look at our options. PTI will be a big step in the right direction.

Bro I’m from Karachi. I’ve seen people voting for MQM because of their ethnic politics. The fear of other ethnicities is drilled into the lay man. That’s how they ruled in Karachi for so many years. Altaf Hussain is considered as a political martyr who is sidelined from politics due to the conspiracy of Punjabi and Pashtun establishment. When they look at PTI candidates they see Amir Liaquat Hussain, a certified lota who also happens to be a bigot. They see PPP and ask about the credentials of Belawal as a politician. They see PML-N and they see the genocide of early 90’s. The lack of alternative is suffocating and creates a sense of pessimism in the minds of everyone. So don’t lecture me on the politics of Karachi because I know it very intimately.

If you still are stuck with 98, add 5 on behalf of this Jalsa, not for crowd, for IK speech.

98 was the average figure from predictions given by 20 posters in this thread.

Roshan Pakistan also predict 98.

Inshallah this Karachi Jalsa might change things.

Bro I’m from Karachi. I’ve seen people voting for MQM because of their ethnic politics. The fear of other ethnicities is drilled into the lay man. That’s how they ruled in Karachi for so many years. Altaf Hussain is considered as a political martyr who is sidelined from politics due to the conspiracy of Punjabi and Pashtun establishment. When they look at PTI candidates they see Amir Liaquat Hussain, a certified lota who also happens to be a bigot. They see PPP and ask about the credentials of Belawal as a politician. They see PML-N and they see the genocide of early 90’s. The lack of alternative is suffocating and creates a sense of pessimism in the minds of everyone. So don’t lecture me on the politics of Karachi because I know it very intimately.

If PTI isn't an alternative then what is?

Watch the results on the 25th it will surprise you

Why should he thank IK?

Answer lies within second sentence of my post.
It's IK-effect on Pakistan politics that we are witnessing new players in politics. People who never bothered about being proactive are now in mainstream politics. You think Jibrans and Ammars didn't exist in 90s and 2000s ? Of course they did, but there was no IK in 90s and 2000s and Jibrans and Ammars of past remained in their Limbo forever.
If not for IK, Jibrans and Ammars of 2018 would have had gone same rout into their eternal limbos.

So yes, JN should be thankful to IK.

Karachi kaptaan ka

Don't be negative Bro. Just give it a chance.

If you vote PTI on the 25th then that would be good.

At least they will get the ball rolling for the basic rights and justice for ALL PAKISTANIS.

It's IK-effect on Pakistan politics that we are witnessing new players in politics. People who never bothered about being proactive are now in mainstream politics. You think Jibrans and Ammars didn't exist in 90s and 2000s ? Of course they did, but there was no IK in 90s and 2000s and Jibrans and Ammars of past remained in their Limbo forever.
If not for IK, Jibrans and Ammars of 2018 would have had gone same rout into their eternal limbos.

Awesome post.

Brother they act like trolls whenever there is something about PTI and want respect in return sorry a troll is a troll in my dictionary and dont deserve any respect.

Here is how I see journalists like him. They have their political biases but that doesn’t mean that everything they say is somehow wrong or inaccurate. Mubashir Zaidi was the one who basically trolled the noonie supporters for defending Hanif Abbasi. So not everything is lost on that front. People have differences of opinion which doesn’t always mean that they are somehow lifafa journalists. That’s why if I don’t agree with journalists like Mubashir Zaidi I either try to have a meaningful conversation with them or ignore them.

I think you are confusing Imran Khan with social media, aside from the fact that Imran Khan had no direct say on Rangers’ operation in Karachi or in any other political matter related to Sindh.

PTI took a massive risk by going for a Jalsa in baghe jinnah when every other party was avoiding it because its hard to fill it but PTI made it really successful!

:yk
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Are you all Karachiites sent here by Army? - IK<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%D9%88%D8%B2%DB%8C%D8%B1_%D8%A7%D8%B9%D8%B8%D9%85_%DA%A9%D8%B1%D8%A7%DA%86%DB%8C_%D8%B3%DB%92?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#وزیر_اعظم_کراچی_سے</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1021078277186891782?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

This will be first time after ZAB that Karachi will vote for a party that formed central government. Karachi kaptaan ka.

:yk
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Are you all Karachiites sent here by Army? - IK<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%D9%88%D8%B2%DB%8C%D8%B1_%D8%A7%D8%B9%D8%B8%D9%85_%DA%A9%D8%B1%D8%A7%DA%86%DB%8C_%D8%B3%DB%92?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#وزیر_اعظم_کراچی_سے</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1021078277186891782?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

I hope that’s a rhetorical question.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">20 injured in grenade attack on BAP office in Balochistan's Dalbandin<a href="https://t.co/djFxEJ3up3">https://t.co/djFxEJ3up3</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1021100367499661312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

At least they will get the ball rolling for the basic rights and justice for ALL PAKISTANIS.

We've never had this for last 70 years and it will take a long time for this to happen. Sorry to say but we are more concerned with Syria and Palestine than we are with our fellow Pakistanis.

The Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) has expressed concerns at the escalating threat to the human rights activist and independent candidate for the upcoming general elections, Jibran Nasir in Karachi.

Nasir and his supporters have been targeted consistently by ‘right-wing elements’, especially over the last week, the rights watchdog said in a statement issued on Sunday.

Condemning ‘the violence and malice that has dogged Nasir’s election campaign’, the HRCP also expressed concerns that the NA-247 and PS-111 candidate and his supporters are reportedly labelled as ‘Qadiani agents’ by local clerics and supporters of the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), who publicly incited charged mobs to engage in violence to prevent him from canvassing.

Town hall debate: Candidates for NA-247 unveil their future plans

An angry mob had reportedly attacked Nasir’s team and tore down his posters for the July 25 polls on Friday night in the city’s Bizerta Lines area. Nasir and his supporters, however, escaped the attack unhurt.

“No member of the public or of any state institution has any right whatsoever to question or indeed, to demand he proves his faith,” the statement read. “The frightening implications this could have for Nasir’s personal safety and that of his political workers should be lost on no one, least of all the Election Commission of Pakistan and the caretaker government,” it added.

The ‘constant vitriol of TLP supporters such as cleric Naveed Abbasi’ violates the ECP’s code of conduct for political parties, it further said.

Police accuses Jibran Nasir of seeking public sympathy before elections

Given that the TLP has been accorded the status of a legitimate party, the HRCP demanded that the ECP disqualify any TLP and other candidates linked to inciting such violence and provide adequate security to Jibran Nasir.

The rights watchdog also demanded that the caretaker government in Sindh must ensure timely registration of cases against those who have threatened or attacked Nasir and his supporters.

Source: Tribune

I might have been in a coma when JI had a Prime Minister

No. What meant to say was that JI was the preferred party of Karachiites before MQM. PPP might have been voted by Karachiites once or twice but my memory fails me on it. Might be before my time.

There is a lot of energy in Karachi, people are excited and hopeful for the first time in many years. We just need a good turnout in Karachi on election day, we will make a good sized dent in the MQM now, they will have totally vanished after 2023.

I really think Imran should have reached out to voters in Karachi, interior Sindh and Balochistan a lot sooner during his campaign.

I think you are confusing Imran Khan with social media, aside from the fact that Imran Khan had no direct say on Rangers’ operation in Karachi or in any other political matter related to Sindh.

Asad Umar was amongst corporate elite and without IK-effect he would have ended his career as corporate elite because political mafia in Pakistan was a closely knit cut throat society.
One shouldn't forget Dr Nazeer Shaheed. He wasnt a lord and won against Sardar Laghari, father of Farooq Laghari. Few years later, Dr Nazeer was murdered, supposedly by political mafia.
IK is not perfect. No one is. So is JN or XYZ.

This is "THE SUNDAY". BLOCKBUSTER SUNDAY.

Monstrous of a Sunday and 114 will become 124. A relatively sedate weekend and predictions by Monday will come down to 100 seats for PTI. PTI Candidates for 50/50 constituencies, have to outsmart and block all traditional (unethical but effective) moves by candidates of PMLn and other opppsitions.

If on Monday, PMLn revert to dirty stuff I would predict 125 seats for PTI.

Attitude of Rana 'Haji' sb on ARY News was certainly dirty and it wasn't Monday yet.

I really think Imran should have reached out to voters in Karachi, interior Sindh and Balochistan a lot sooner during his campaign.

Imran Khan has been visiting Karachi since February - March. Definitely agree about Balochistan and Sindh though.

Asad Umar was amongst corporate elite and without IK-effect he would have ended his career as corporate elite because political mafia in Pakistan was a closely knit cut throat society.
One shouldn't forget Dr Nazeer Shaheed. He wasnt a lord and won against Sardar Laghari, father of Farooq Laghari. Few years later, Dr Nazeer was murdered, supposedly by political mafia.
IK is not perfect. No one is. So is JN or XYZ.

What’s the connection between Asad Umar joining PTI and the law and order conditions in Karachi?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr"><a href="https://t.co/gLy6YMKlVN">https://t.co/gLy6YMKlVN</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1021038419307311106?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Attack on <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MJibranNasir</a> by TLP is part of the new round of religious fascism & fundamentalism supported by the state through mainstreaming them in electoral politics. A secular & people's democracy is essential for peace & economic progress in Pakistan. In solidarity with Jibran.</p>— Ismat Raza Shahjahan (@ismatshahjehan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ismatshahjehan/status/1020410143358545920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 20, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="fr" dir="ltr">Permanent coup d'état, thy name is Pakistan!</p>— Ismat Raza Shahjahan (@ismatshahjehan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ismatshahjehan/status/1020774476190011394?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Immediately <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ReleaseHayatPreghal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ReleaseHayatPreghal</a>, and stop using anti-terrorist laws against political workers, and stop using terrorism as political instrument & foreign policy tool. We want peace and progress..<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PashtunRejectStateTerrorism?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PashtunRejectStateTerrorism</a></p>— Ismat Raza Shahjahan (@ismatshahjehan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ismatshahjehan/status/1020779662920888322?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

TLP has a lot of fanatics, it is not a work of establishment at all. These came to the forefront after Salman Taseer's murderer was hanged.

Banning them and handling them with an iron hand will lead to such a unrest that these armchair liberals will forget Libya and Syria.

Better get them defeated through ballot.

TLP has a lot of fanatics, it is not a work of establishment at all. These came to the forefront after Salman Taseer's murderer was hanged.

Banning them and handling them with an iron hand will lead to such a unrest that these armchair liberals will forget Libya and Syria.

Better get them defeated through ballot.

While you are bashing liberals, please remember that we have international commitments and we are answerable to them. So the next time when countries like India and USA accuses us of harbouring and nurturing terrorists don’t go cry about how much sacrifices we have made in the fight against terrorism because the world will not buy it. And I’m afraid that after nurturing the terrorist mindset for years, it will be hard for the state to defeat the terrorists through ballot.

Things in Karachi have really changed, this election will be the beginning of the end for the MQM.

While you are bashing liberals, please remember that we have international commitments and we are answerable to them. So the next time when countries like India and USA accuses us of harbouring and nurturing terrorists don’t go cry about how much sacrifices we have made in the fight against terrorism because the world will not buy it. And I’m afraid that after nurturing the terrorist mindset for years, it will be hard for the state to defeat the terrorists through ballot.

Tehreek Labaik are not terrorists according to UN, US or even India. There is no magical solution to every problem.

Guys looking at the Dunya survey from yesterday it seems as if Fawad Chaudhry is loosing comfortably, is this really the ground reality? I thought he would be winning his seat comfortably.

After the jalsa, this is my prediction for Karachi:

NA-236 Malir I - This one is a PPP safe seat, it is the only truly rural constituency in Karachi.

NA-237 Malir II - Another PPP safe seat, Abdul Hakeem Baloch is contesting from here.

NA-238 Malir III - This is a tossup between MQM and PPP. PPP have really worked hard in Malir, and the lower class demographic may play into their hands.

NA-239 Korangi I - This is an MQM leaning seat, but I wouldn't count PPP out from this one, this is not a typical middle class area of Karachi, its more lower class.

NA-240 Korangi II - This is one of the seats where PSP are strong. They have campaigned well here, and have got a good candidate too. However, MQM will give a good fight due to their strong party votebank.

NA-241 Korangi III - This is an MQM leaning seat, PPP and PSP will also bag a decent share of votes too.

NA-242 Karachi East I - Another MQM leaning seat, but PTI will do reasonably well here, I won't count them out, especially after the jalsa.

NA-243 Karachi East II - This seat should be a PTI safe seat, Imran Khan is contesting from here. I'm originally from this constituency, reasonably educated middle class area, PTI have very good support here.

NA-244 Karachi East III - After the jalsa I would say this seat belongs to PTI. Ali Zaidi is running from here, and although he hasn't run the greatest campaign, PTI has a big party votebank.

NA-245 Karachi East IV - Farooq Sattar vs Amir Liaquat Hussain, this one will be one to keep your eyes on. It is an uphill battle for PTI, but the constituency is another middle class area, and the wave from the jalsa may have just turned this into a swing constituency rather than an MQM leaning seat. I still think MQM will pull this off, but it's difficult to call.

NA-246 Karachi South I - This is the Lyari seat, PPP will win this by a complete landslide, though I am hearing PTI are on top on one of the PS seats.

NA-247 Karachi South II - This is a PTI safe seat, Dr Arif Alvi will win this without any issues, Farooq Sattar will be a distant second. Jibran Nasir has no chance, but I think he will win his PS seat.

NA-248 Karachi West I - PPP will win this seat. It could have been won by PTI, but they messed up the ticket allocation here. Being a rural constituency, the candidate here plays a far bigger role.

NA-249 Karachi West II - PTI will win this, especially after the jalsa. Faisal Vawda is running a wonderful campaign, and MQM have made a big blunder by doing a seat adjustment with PML-N. I really don't see Muhajirs turning up to vote for Shahbaz Sharif, especially after those paan comments, Karachiites really took that to heart.

NA-250 Karachi West III - This seat may just be a tossup now. I was hearing that MQM and ANP will do a seat adjustment, with the ANP candidate Shahi Syed contesting, but I don't think it materialised. I also read that an MQM MPA candidate has announced support for Shahi Syed. With these issues, the PTI may get much closer than anticipated. I will give this to MQM for now, but we PTI are very much in the race.

NA-251 Karachi West IV - PTI have union councillors in this constituency, and they have done a decent job. I am going to be bold, and predict this as a tossup between MQM and PTI, with PTI only just coming out on top.

NA-252 Karachi West V - This seat will most likely go to MQM, PPP will come second, bagging a decent share.

NA-253 Karachi Central I - Mustafa Kamal is contesting from here, and his popularity will win him the seat. I won't count MQM out, district cenrtal is serious MQM territory, and they have a big party votebank here.

NA-254 Karachi Central II - Unfortunately I don't see Azizabad falling this time, MQM will retain this seat. There are some serious PTI pockets in this constituency though, and I think PTI will bag more votes than last time.

NA-255 Karachi Central III - This is probably one of the safest MQM seats. Liaquatabad and Nazimabad are lower middle class Muhajir neighbourhoods.

NA-256 Karachi Central IV - Another MQM leaning seat, though PTI will bag a good share of votes here. PTI won a PS seat from here last time.

Prediction:
MQM - 9
PTI - 5
PPP - 5
PSP - 2

Best case scenario for PTI:
MQM - 5
PTI - 8
PPP - 4
PSP - 2

Guys looking at the Dunya survey from yesterday it seems as if Fawad Chaudhry is loosing comfortably, is this really the ground reality? I thought he would be winning his seat comfortably.

I think I would ignore the Dunya survey, they are not reliable at all. This seat is a tossup now, it'll be very very close.

Tehreek Labaik are not terrorists according to UN, US or even India. There is no magical solution to every problem.

You know it as well as I do that TLP is not the only extremist organisation that is participating in these general elections. As far as magic solution is concerned, the path to mainstreaming any extremist organisation is through de-radicalisation. They should first be forced to give up their extreamist narrative. Without following this fundamental principle you are mainstreaming extremism.

He is ahead dear will be close contest though.
He is

I think I would ignore the Dunya survey, they are not reliable at all. This seat is a tossup now, it'll be very very close.

I hope so, always thought Fawad would win that seat comfortably.

I read in the thread earlier, that ECP had said tonight (July 22) was the last day of campaigning, but seems like everyone is going to be campaigning until tomorrow?

NA-236 Malir I - This one is a PPP safe seat, it is the only truly rural constituency in Karachi.

NA-237 Malir II - Another PPP safe seat, Abdul Hakeem Baloch is contesting from here.

NA-238 Malir III - This is a tossup between MQM and PPP. PPP have really worked hard in Malir, and the lower class demographic may play into their hands.

NA-239 Korangi I - This is an MQM leaning seat, but I wouldn't count PPP out from this one, this is not a typical middle class area of Karachi, its more lower class.

NA-240 Korangi II - This is one of the seats where PSP are strong. They have campaigned well here, and have got a good candidate too. However, MQM will give a good fight due to their strong party votebank.

NA-241 Korangi III - This is an MQM leaning seat, PPP and PSP will also bag a decent share of votes too.

NA-242 Karachi East I - Another MQM leaning seat, but PTI will do reasonably well here, I won't count them out, especially after the jalsa.

NA-243 Karachi East II - This seat should be a PTI safe seat, Imran Khan is contesting from here. I'm originally from this constituency, reasonably educated middle class area, PTI have very good support here.

NA-244 Karachi East III - After the jalsa I would say this seat belongs to PTI. Ali Zaidi is running from here, and although he hasn't run the greatest campaign, PTI has a big party votebank.

NA-245 Karachi East IV - Farooq Sattar vs Amir Liaquat Hussain, this one will be one to keep your eyes on. It is an uphill battle for PTI, but the constituency is another middle class area, and the wave from the jalsa may have just turned this into a swing constituency rather than an MQM leaning seat. I still think MQM will pull this off, but it's difficult to call.

NA-246 Karachi South I - This is the Lyari seat, PPP will win this by a complete landslide, though I am hearing PTI are on top on one of the PS seats.

NA-247 Karachi South II - This is a PTI safe seat, Dr Arif Alvi will win this without any issues, Farooq Sattar will be a distant second. Jibran Nasir has no chance, but I think he will win his PS seat.

NA-248 Karachi West I - PPP will win this seat. It could have been won by PTI, but they messed up the ticket allocation here. Being a rural constituency, the candidate here plays a far bigger role.

NA-249 Karachi West II - PTI will win this, especially after the jalsa. Faisal Vawda is running a wonderful campaign, and MQM have made a big blunder by doing a seat adjustment with PML-N. I really don't see Muhajirs turning up to vote for Shahbaz Sharif, especially after those paan comments, Karachiites really took that to heart.

NA-250 Karachi West III - This seat may just be a tossup now. I was hearing that MQM and ANP will do a seat adjustment, with the ANP candidate Shahi Syed contesting, but I don't think it materialised. I also read that an MQM MPA candidate has announced support for Shahi Syed. With these issues, the PTI may get much closer than anticipated. I will give this to MQM for now, but we PTI are very much in the race.

NA-251 Karachi West IV - PTI have union councillors in this constituency, and they have done a decent job. I am going to be bold, and predict this as a tossup between MQM and PTI, with PTI only just coming out on top.

NA-252 Karachi West V - This seat will most likely go to MQM, PPP will come second, bagging a decent share.

NA-253 Karachi Central I - Mustafa Kamal is contesting from here, and his popularity will win him the seat. I won't count MQM out, district cenrtal is serious MQM territory, and they have a big party votebank here.

NA-254 Karachi Central II - Unfortunately I don't see Azizabad falling this time, MQM will retain this seat. There are some serious PTI pockets in this constituency though, and I think PTI will bag more votes than last time.

NA-255 Karachi Central III - This is probably one of the safest MQM seats. Liaquatabad and Nazimabad are lower middle class Muhajir neighbourhoods.

NA-256 Karachi Central IV - Another MQM leaning seat, though PTI will bag a good share of votes here. PTI won a PS seat from here last time.

Prediction:
MQM - 9
PTI - 5
PPP - 5
PSP - 2

MQM - 5
PTI - 8
PPP - 4
PSP - 2

Excellent analysis! Thank You.

Hoping for PTI to win the 8 seats!

Prediction:
MQM - 9
PTI - 5
PPP - 5
PSP - 2

MQM - 5
PTI - 8
PPP - 4
PSP - 2

Excellent analysis on Karachi. I feel like after quite a while Karachi is again becoming part of mainstream politics, hopefully the trend continues.

Just some points I forgot to mention:

In NA-240, MQM-H (Mohajir Qaumi Movement Haqiqi) have a decent votebank, and are also in the running due to MQM splits. This seat may end up quite close, but I still predicit MQM winning.

Regarding NA-245, I forgot to mention one major factor going against Amir Liaquat. TLP are very active in this constituency due to a large Barelvi votebank, and they may just steal enough votes from Amir Liaquat to deny him the seat.