Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Atif Khan will be CM KPK!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="da" dir="ltr">Imran Khan gives green signal to Atif Khan for KP CM <a href="https://t.co/m1CKyEuwGX">https://t.co/m1CKyEuwGX</a> <a href="https://t.co/r2Vsj05Xb9">pic.twitter.com/r2Vsj05Xb9</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1024151371514359808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] what do you think of him?

That's brilliant news and it means we may see young Kamran Bangash as education minister.

Despite his clarification, i think Khattak won't be happy and we may see another SMQ-Tareen type of tussle (hopefully it doesn't happen though).

Interestingly, the decisions are also being taken based on who will need to leave their NA seat. Since Atif lost his NA election by narrowest of margins, he won't need to leave his NA seat which Khattak would so that also makes a difference.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">How voters make their choice: Development seeking (31%) and patronage seeking (23%) as top motivation to vote. <a href="https://t.co/5r4bRkMbBS">https://t.co/5r4bRkMbBS</a> <a href="https://t.co/CWOwxAtoyb">pic.twitter.com/CWOwxAtoyb</a></p>— Gallup Pakistan (@GallupPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/GallupPak/status/1023891472461049856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 30, 2018</a></blockquote>

Does a higher proportion of rejected votes in interior Sindh and Balochistan have any relation to the low levels of education in those areas? And hence, more people not stamping or folding the ballot correctly?

With Baluchistan it is understandable as this election I heard lot of new women voters voted but for Sindh I don't get would like to see a breakdown urban vs rural

I liked what Aurya Maqbool Jan said yesterday " It was a proud moment for me when Imran Khan delivered his speech in national language and the whole world televised this speech with subtitles "

I am not Mamoon but i will reply in simple line.

He was education minister of KPK, and you all know how Education flourished under his tenure.

So he is going to do a better job as CM as well.

That's brilliant news and it means we may see young Kamran Bangash as education minister.

Despite his clarification, i think Khattak won't be happy and we may see another SMQ-Tareen type of tussle (hopefully it doesn't happen though).

Interestingly, the decisions are also being taken based on who will need to leave their NA seat. Since Atif lost his NA election by narrowest of margins, he won't need to leave his NA seat which Khattak would so that also makes a difference.

That's great. I think Khattak was primarily there last time for his political experience, and because of the fact that PTI were new, and it did not have such a large majority.

Now it is time to give someone a bit more creative a chance!

With Baluchistan it is understandable as this election I heard lot of new women voters voted but for Sindh I don't get would like to see a breakdown urban vs rural

It is broken into Urban vs Rural kind of. The bottom part has NA numbers. You can see Karachi having a very low proportion of rejected votes. Same with Potohar. The worst are rural Sindh and Balochistan by far, both of which happen to be the most underdeveloped regions of Pakistan.

That young aspiring kid, who is graduated in Comp.Sci.
He is a very old member of PTI, if i am correct he was member of the PTI National Youth Council from 2011-13, information secretary for PTI Peshawar in 2009, coordinator for the Insaf Doctors Forum (2010-12) and member of the Insaf Professional Forum 2010-18.

He won from PK - 77 very comprehensively. So, i won't mind this selection.

DjaU1d0VsAA8oOW.jpg

Just another day at work :jkt

DjaU1d0VsAA8oOW.jpg

Just another day at work :jkt

Punjab looks safely Pti I am still not so sure about federal not looking like they will have any kind of good majority and 1-2 pti/goverment Mna could blackmail for different things and tie IK hands.

That young aspiring kid, who is graduated in Comp.Sci.
He is a very old member of PTI, if i am correct he was member of the PTI National Youth Council from 2011-13, information secretary for PTI Peshawar in 2009, coordinator for the Insaf Doctors Forum (2010-12) and member of the Insaf Professional Forum 2010-18.

He won from PK - 77 very comprehensively. So, i won't mind this selection.

The other option being circulated is Taimur Jhagra who is another brilliant mind but i hope both these bright individuals become ministers. They are real faces of Naya Pakistan along with Atif, Shehram, Shahid Khattak, Dr Sumera Shams (from Lower Dir) etc and people need to know it wasn't all about electables but plenty of young/middle class MPs have come out of this system.

There were plenty of similar stories in Karachi like Arsalan Ghumman, Adeel Ahmed etc

Farrukh Habib in Faisalabad is one such story, Hamamd Azhar is another one (but his father had plenty of influence).

Punjab looks safely Pti I am still not so sure about federal not looking like they will have any kind of good majority and 1-2 pti/goverment Mna could blackmail for different things and tie IK hands.

We will win the PM vote quite easily even if we don't get to 172 seats because if we don't get there, neither will the opposition. That will take it to round 2 of the vote, where PTI + allies will win due to having more than 50% of the present members in the house. Also, MQM have said that they will vote for the winning party, and respect the mandate of the people, whether they join government or not. PPP and JI have hinted at doing the same thing.

Can someone please confirm whether Kashif Abbassi is still taking Noon league lifafa's?

What's with his unbelievable negativity towards PTI?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="rtl">بریکنگ نیوز <br>Watch Live : <a href="https://t.co/HphOheO4FI">https://t.co/HphOheO4FI</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/92NewsHDPlus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#92NewsHDPlus</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BreakingNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BreakingNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Election2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Election2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KPK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KPK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/YmTINnSjRC">pic.twitter.com/YmTINnSjRC</a></p>— 92 News HD Plus (@92newschannel) <a href="https://twitter.com/92newschannel/status/1024186575150870529?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>

I'm really not comfortable with Parvez Khattak getting any important ministry position.

He is too dodgy.

We will win the PM vote quite easily even if we don't get to 172 seats because if we don't get there, neither will the opposition. That will take it to round 2 of the vote, where PTI + allies will win due to having more than 50% of the present members in the house. Also, MQM have said that they will vote for the winning party, and respect the mandate of the people, whether they join government or not. PPP and JI have hinted at doing the same thing.

I am not talking about winning that I am sure IK will be the Pm I am talking legislature i.e passing laws etc. Lets say PTI want to pass a law like agricultural tax in the current situation looks like they will have 173-4 out of 342. So will need all the government lawmakers to vote for them to pass anything and 3-4 lawmakers in PTI or government voting with opposition could derail the vote. And gives an easy chance for blackmail

I'm really not comfortable with Parvez Khattak getting any important ministry position.

He is too dodgy.

In an ideal world both Khattak and SMQ get no important positions. Both of these are ex-PPP lotas, have shown a tendency to push their family members into important positions, which is something all of us should be strongly against.

Imran Khan has a golden chance to put clean, biradree free people into important positions.

I am not talking about winning that I am sure IK will be the Pm I am talking legislature i.e passing laws etc. Lets say PTI want to pass a law like agricultural tax in the current situation looks like they will have 173-4 out of 342. So will need all the government lawmakers to vote for them to pass anything and 3-4 lawmakers in PTI or government voting with opposition could derail the vote. And gives an easy chance for blackmail

Oh I see what you mean. Well, straight after oath-taking, the total number of MPs in the house will be closer to 330, not 342.

Once bye-elections are done with, PTI will be on 164, and the coalition will have between 184-190 seats, we should be reasonably comfortable.

Post bye election, we are set to have 162 seats. That is NOT a weak coalition at all, we could easily drop most of the parties in the coalition, and have a 3 party coalition while still maintaining a majority. Once again, it is not the ideal coalition, but it is a good one.

image.png

[MENTION=7729]Couch Cricketer[/MENTION]

We will end up with something like this, it should be reasonably comfortable.

Can someone please confirm whether Kashif Abbassi is still taking Noon league lifafa's?

What's with his unbelievable negativity towards PTI?

He is taking lifafa's from who he seems more anti pmln than anti pti. Some of you guys overreact to anything anti Pti or Ik. Pti and Ik are a hope for better Pakistan does not mean you should close your eyes to any faults specially when Pti is in the government. Pmln and PPP are corrupt but we need to as well as the media needs to keep a check on all the people in power so that they don't go down the same road. Like Hasan Nisar said as much as he hates pmln and ppp he does not want them to die as them existing will keep check on Pti.

[MENTION=136378]Naim[/MENTION]

What do you think of BAP and BNP?

Our last cm was 100 times batter then sana Ullah zahri. Qadoos bazinjo was doning some good work for balochistan. On the other hand akhtar Mengal is not a bad or crupt person . I am geting +ve wibes from both of them .

That's great to hear. Let's hope BAP put up a good CM candidate, maybe Bazinjo. I'm looking forward to see how PTI works with Balochistan government.

I hope PTI get health and education ministries in Baluchistan.

Atif Khan will be CM KPK!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="da" dir="ltr">Imran Khan gives green signal to Atif Khan for KP CM <a href="https://t.co/m1CKyEuwGX">https://t.co/m1CKyEuwGX</a> <a href="https://t.co/r2Vsj05Xb9">pic.twitter.com/r2Vsj05Xb9</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1024151371514359808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] what do you think of him?

A much better option than the old crook Khattak if Imran can pull it off. However, it won’t be easy - Pervez Khattak has too much influence in KP and it can potentially create factions within the government. Pervez Khattak has also been influential in PTI giving tickets in KP - quite a few deserving candidates were ignored because Pervez Khattak viewed them as potential threats to his position as CM.

So Taimur Jhagra is going to be Education and IT minister of KP? I guess Shahram will remain Health minister

Khan to retain Mianwali seat. Good decision i will say because Lahore was too risky and people of Mianwali were already angry when Khan resigned from this seat twice before.

So which other seats are his?

The Karachi one is coming into the coalition, PTI won comfortably here. Even in a shock loss, I doubt MQM's going to back away if they get to SEVEN WHOLE SEATS, instead of six, since it's still a humiliation.

Lahore one, I can see PML-N winning.

What're the others?

So which other seats are his?

The Karachi one is coming into the coalition, PTI won comfortably here. Even in a shock loss, I doubt MQM's going to back away if they get to SEVEN WHOLE SEATS, instead of six, since it's still a humiliation.

Lahore one, I can see PML-N winning.

What're the others?

Bannu, MMA can take it away from us (Fazlu or Durrani)

Islamabad is our don't think we are going to lose that

I think Bannu is safe if Fazlu stands. His loss and his Dharna show how desperate he's getting, he must be losing a lot of support.

So 3 out of the 5 seats are staying with PTI minimum, and we can hope for Bannu, and Lahore then?

So Amin Aslam already started his work. Amin delivering lecture at SDPI Pakistan on PTI vision of environment and climate change.

DjamZNuX0AA69Kl.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Malik Amin Aslam sharing <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/climatechange?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#climatechange</a> and environment vision of <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> <a href="https://t.co/PBsGIAJ7EL">https://t.co/PBsGIAJ7EL</a></p>— SDPI (@SDPIPakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/SDPIPakistan/status/1024187888139886592?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>

I think Bannu is safe if Fazlu stands. His loss and his Dharna show how desperate he's getting, he must be losing a lot of support.

So 3 out of the 5 seats are staying with PTI minimum, and we can hope for Bannu, and Lahore then?

Bannu is a stronghold of Fazlu's party and nobody from PTI was gonna win thsi seat except Imran because of his popularity and wave. So IMO we can lose Bannu and Lahore.

Durrani easily will win this seat again. He is again going to buy votes of whole towns by spending handsome amount of money like he did in GE.

He will endup in NAB sooner or later. As Minister for Housing & Works isne kaafi zameenon per qabza kay he

Relevant, but where the hell does MMA get all this money from? Using our Zakat, Fitra money for this would be absolutely shocking

Kaafi? LOL, i hope he end up in NAB. He is considered as DON in Bannu.

If you travel to Punjab from KP there is this place called Attock Khurd near Attock river i was told ke wo sara derya ke sath wala elaqa Durrani ne apne liay allot kerwaya he many acres.

Relevant, but where the hell does MMA get all this money from? Using our Zakat, Fitra money for this would be absolutely shocking

From 2002 to 2007 Durrani was KP CM so you can figure out how he and his boss Fazlu made big money.

Saad Rafique and Fazlu are GUARANTEED to come back into assembly should Imran vacate his Bannu and Lahore seats.

If you travel to Punjab from KP there is this place called Attock Khurd near Attock river i was told ke wo sara derya ke sath wala elaqa Durrani ne apne liay allot kerwaya he many acres.

Bro, travel to Bannu. There are whole villages who are under Durrani. He is like a typical wadeera .

And which information is given to you is absolutely right.

Severe corruption thanks to Nawaz and Zardari keeping them in government.

Fazlu kept alot of funds to himself and takes massive amounts of rishwat whenever someone needs his help.

So what does every body think about the key cabinet positions?

I hope IK hires Shireen Mazari for defence. i think this area is right up her alley and she is a true nationalist which is what we need here.

SMQ as foreign minister is a no brainer. He has links with the US (some say he is close to the CIA) so I would be abit apprehensive about that but I think he could represent us well abroad.

What about the home minister? this is now a pivotal position with the anti terror bent etc. Who do people think should get this one?

Also other positions like trade, energy and the environment.

So what does every body think about the key cabinet positions?

I hope IK hires Shireen Mazari for defence. i think this area is right up her alley and she is a true nationalist which is what we need here.

SMQ as foreign minister is a no brainer. He has links with the US (some say he is close to the CIA) so I would be abit apprehensive about that but I think he could represent us well abroad.

What about the home minister? this is now a pivotal position with the anti terror bent etc. Who do people think should get this one?

Also other positions like trade, energy and the environment.

I am worried about Parvez Elahi, which seat will he get?

It's gone awfully quiet at Bani Gala right now. No news whatsoever.

Hope we get some good news later inshallah.

Btw, special mention for JKT. Went around Punjab all day, then suddenly out of nowhere, in Karachi for negotiations with MQM :)))

Reports say that he will resign from both is NA seats and become speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

My colleague says, PTI seats will come down to 106 or 105 (MNA) and PMLN and PPP, MMA e.t.c they will form alliance in National Assembly which will create lot of hurdles to Imran Khan.

Is this true?

Is it just me to there is nothing more classy than a nice fitting white shalwaar kameez. JKT looks like a don in it.

My colleague says, PTI seats will come down to 106 or 105 (MNA) and PMLN and PPP, MMA e.t.c they will form alliance in National Assembly which will create lot of hurdles to Imran Khan.

Is this true?

I don't think it'll come so low, more like 109-110, and I doubt they will form an alliance. PPP have explicitly said they will respect the mandate of the people, come to the assembly, and they are not interested in joining hands with PML-N to form government. At max, they may try and get their own speaker in.

If MQM are joining PTI, it is game over for this "disruptive alliance" anyway, they won't even have a chance at voting their own speaker in. After bye elections, the government will have an even stronger majority, and will govern quite easily.

The positions in the cabinet I would want are:

Shah Mahmood Qureshi- Foreign
Shireen Mazari- Defence
Asad Umar - Finance
Chaudry Sarwar- Interior
Ali Mohammad Khan- Religious
Arif Alvi- Health
Abdul Waheed Kakar- Education
Fawad Chaudry- Information
NA Speaker- Shafqat Mahmood

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Baluchistan Awami Party's delegation headed by its President Jaam Kamal, calls on Khan sb in Banigala <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WazirEAzamImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WazirEAzamImranKhan</a> iA <a href="https://t.co/AmFORYPb57">pic.twitter.com/AmFORYPb57</a></p>— TeamJKT (@JKTFanClubb) <a href="https://twitter.com/JKTFanClubb/status/1024253471426576390?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>

Good to see Khattak sitting there in the meeting.

So on president Mamnoon Hussain orders the PM oath taking ceremony is going to be held in President house not in open or D-chowk :(

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">حلف برداری کی تقریب ایوان صدرکے علاوہ باہر نہیں ہو گی،ذرائع ایوان صدر</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/1024252063675555840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 31, 2018</a></blockquote>