Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Channel24 reporting a contact between Imran and Ch Nisar. Imran want to see him in NA so there is a chance of him joining PTI or PTI not contesting on NA59 if GSK resign from there?

Bro Nisar should not be called.

Also Channel 24 are not always credible.

It's time for a fresh start and a new team and Imran will be silly to contact Nisar.

To get him to join in Punjab govt I can understand but once a Noon leagueee always a Noon leagueee.

Channel24 reporting a contact between Imran and Ch Nisar. Imran want to see him in NA so there is a chance of him joining PTI or PTI not contesting on NA59 if GSK resign from there?

You remember that short clip just before parliaments were dissolved where IK was walking infront of Nisar and he was visibly annoyed at him and made a hand gesture as if to say that you are doing behwaqoofi

Bro Nisar should not be called.

Also Channel 24 are not always credible.

It's time for a fresh start and a new team and Imran will be silly to contact Nisar.

To get him to join in Punjab govt I can understand but once a Noon leagueee always a Noon leagueee.

He can be an assets against the like of Khawaja Asif in NA and co trust me.

You remember that short clip just before parliaments were dissolved where IK was walking infront of Nisar and he was visibly annoyed at him and made a hand gesture as if to say that you are doing behwaqoofi

Yea i remember that clip Ch Nisar ego is too big and i hope he realized it now if he had joined PTI to aaj top leadership main khera hota

Ghulam Bibi Bherwana proving to be another asset she is helping us to get those Ind MPAs from Jhang on board.

He can be an assets against the like of Khawaja Asif in NA and co trust me.

That's true.

But there is no guarantee that he will win bye elections unless he formally announces that he is joining PTI.

Ghulam Bibi Bherwana proving to be another asset she is helping us to get those Ind MPAs from Jhang on board.

Awesome.

Bro my relatives were part of her election campaign and played a big part in her winning.

We spoke to her many times before elections and she was very happy to be part of PTI and Imran's vision.

That's true.

But there is no guarantee that he will win bye elections unless he formally announced that he is joining PTI.

If we don't put a candidate against him on NA59 he will win easily that's his home seat and PMLN stand no chance there.

(in case the Channel 24 reporting is true)

Awesome.

Bro my relatives were part of her election campaign and played a big part in her winning.

We spoke to her many times before elections and she was very happy to be part of PTI and Imran's vision.

She stood against Ludhianvi and co and won! more power to her. Nerves of steal

Muavia is not joining PTI. Time for Shehryar Taseer to publish an apology in his propaganda newspaper
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جھنگ:پی ٹی آئی میں شمولیت کی خبریں بےبنیادہیں،صرف حمایت کریں گے،معاویہ اعظم</p>— BOL NEWS (@BOLNewsOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/BOLNewsOfficial/status/1024617796330762242?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

If they dont achieve the punjab government they wont last beyond 3-6 months in their current state. We could see Zardari look to try and leach some of their MP's and try and strengthen the PPP in punjab. They are in with the international establishment who are looking for viable spoilers.

Hamza just tries to copy his taya when it comes to his speech patterns and turz. He lacks any real charisma and is trained like an old electable. If IK manages to do what he has set out to do, he will change the way politics is done in the country. Even someone like Bilawal will find it hard to keep up.

My prediction is the opposition will be quite wrong footed, quite frequently and the only times they will get some traction is with the help of foreign agencies who will be able to feed them information about the PTI..

coming onto the MQM, they are traitors. And can never be trusted. It pains me to see the PTI standing shoulder to shoulder with these ghadaars!! but needs must. If we can bring them close then we can neuter them.

I guess this is a classic case of "Keep your friends close and your enemies closer"

Not saying MQM is there enemy but they just can't be trusted with the history they have. Hopefully they can turn a new leaf. Let's see.

Muavia is not joining PTI. Time for Shehryar Taseer to publish an apology in his propaganda newspaper
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جھنگ:پی ٹی آئی میں شمولیت کی خبریں بےبنیادہیں،صرف حمایت کریں گے،معاویہ اعظم</p>— BOL NEWS (@BOLNewsOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/BOLNewsOfficial/status/1024617796330762242?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

Just noticed his name.... very unusual

Was he given this name to spite a certain community.

They do have some strange names in that part of Pakistan ....

In English it translates as........ Slave Lady Bherwana!!

I had mentioned this earlier

There was always a possibility of this happening, let's wait and see if this is confirmed. I don't see a big issue with him joining, heck might even be a good thing. Only issue is, if you remember us discussing earlier in the thread, would GSK allow this to happen? I remember we had mentioned that he would not like this one bit.

Just noticed his name.... very unusual

Was he given this name to spite a certain community.

He is the son of Azam Tariq a leader of Sipah-e-Sahaba. Musharraf banned SSP in 2001 and arrested Azam Tariq back in 2001 on charges of shia killings but in 2002 he contested and become MNA and guess what Zafarullah Khan Jamali became PM on his single vote otherwise it wasn't possible for Jamali to become PM. Next year in 2003 Azam Tariq was assassinated in Islamabad.

Ghulam is a very common title in North Pakistan too mostly Khattar people use it. Best example are PTI leader Ghulam Sarwar Khan from Rawalpindi and Ghulam Abbas from Chakwal.

I had mentioned this earlier

There was always a possibility of this happening, let's wait and see if this is confirmed. I don't see a big issue with him joining, heck might even be a good thing. Only issue is, if you remember us discussing earlier in the thread, would GSK allow this to happen? I remember we had mentioned that he would not like this one bit.

Yea GSK need to be on board he worked really hard for us in Rawalpindi.

Yes, hopefully, GSK sees the bigger picture here. I'm sure Imran Khan will talk to him and have him onboard.

If Ch. Nisar strikes a deal with Imran Khan, he should officially join PTI and run as a PTI candidate only. Not under the jeep symbol.

There are sinews that Saudi ambassador tried to negotiate an exit package for NS. Don’t think it’s true but there are news. Khabarain newspaper reported it.

If true, No Thank You.

Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. This is like history repeating itself. He has done the crime and now has to do his time.

He is the son of Azam Tariq a leader of Sipah-e-Sahaba. Musharraf banned SSP in 2001 and arrested Azam Tariq back in 2001 on charges of shia killings but in 2002 he contested and become MNA and guess what Zafarullah Khan Jamali became PM on his single vote otherwise it wasn't possible for Jamali to become PM. Next year in 2003 Azam Tariq was assassinated in Islamabad.

Ahh that puts in perspective... thanks. Thankfully he isn't joining PTI!!

Whatever happened to Abida Hussain who use to get elected from jhang. She was forever in a tussle with her cousin Faisal Saleh Hayat.

Ghulam literally can mean slave but for example if someone is named ‘Ghulam Ali’(an uncle of mine has the same name) it would mean ‘Slave of Ali’ not ‘Slave Ali’.

I have some older male relatives called Ghulam Nabi and Ghulam Rasool... Ghulam for a female I have never seen and especially also when it precedes Bibi...

If I was to say... "Yeh Ghulam bibi hay". One translation would be.... "This is a slave woman"

Ahh that puts in perspective... thanks. Thankfully he isn't joining PTI!!

Whatever happened to Abida Hussain who use to get elected from jhang. She was forever in a tussle with her cousin Faisal Saleh Hayat.

She is not active in politics anymore but her husband Fakhar Imam won as Ind MNA from Khanewal against PTI but he joined PTI after winning.

They are such lotas these guys.... from PPP to PMLN to now PTI

How many independents have now joined PTI in the NA and PPA?

Also, for the ones left, especially for the NA, are they going to be joining soon?

How many independents have now joined PTI in the NA and PPA?

Also, for the ones left, especially for the NA, are they going to be joining soon?

6 joined in NA and our numbers in Punjab are 146 now after the joining of Ind and PMLQ etc. We are almost ready for Punjab and NA both

MQM attending APC tomorrow.

They might not join PTI but who knows they might vote for Imran in the PM vote.

No confirmation whatsoever on PTI numbers in federal and Punjab.

It might be another quiet evening today.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">MQM-P decides to side with PTI in centre <a href="https://t.co/E35eiEy340">https://t.co/E35eiEy340</a></p>— Geo English (@geonews_english) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_english/status/1024699899781308417?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

This is good news.

Earlier today they were set to go to the APC but sane minds have prevailed.

They have confirmed that they will vote for Imran as PM.

Why no formal announcement? Playing on both sides of wickets, perhaps.

So opposition colluded to put out one candidate for PM position. I am not surprised. I knew they will do that.

Question?
There will be polling again? How? Apparently its parliment election or something. What r the chances of imran winning that? And also, will those will vote him that have NA seats ?

Question?
There will be polling again? How? Apparently its parliment election or something. What r the chances of imran winning that? And also, will those will vote him that have NA seats ?

I think they mean a vote for PM. I think each party (or if there is a coalition then they will nominate one) will nominate a person for PM, and the person with the most votes wins.

So the vote for PM will be public and the vote for speaker and deputy speaker will supposedly be private. The opposition might try buying out PTI MNA's in speaker race.

This makes no sense, why would they do that?

Hoping PTI can handle this, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker should be from PTI.

This makes no sense, why would they do that?

Hoping PTI can handle this, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker should be from PTI.

That's why they want MQM in government, so they can be sure that they will gain speaker and deputy speaker position, they don't wanna take a risk with numbers.

I think you can not vote against your party unless you’re voting on a bill.

If things go awry with MQM don't forget that PPP may vote for several bills that PTI want to introduce as despite everything they are not as paindu as PMLN.

I think you can not vote against your party unless you’re voting on a bill.

You can't vote against your party in an open vote. I think you can do it in a secret ballot like we saw in senate elections.

In the Ayesha Gulalai case the election commission ruled that staying absent during voting is not grounds for dismissal either.

Other parties lost in election why would they nominate a pm? Dont get that? So that means khan can still not become a pm? And ppl like shehbaz has still a chance to become a pm? Cuz all corrupt people will vote for pmnl or ppp.

I think they mean a vote for PM. I think each party (or if there is a coalition then they will nominate one) will nominate a person for PM, and the person with the most votes wins.

Other parties lost in election why would they nominate a pm? Dont get that? So that means khan can still not become a pm? And ppl like shehbaz has still a chance to become a pm? Cuz all corrupt people will vote for pmnl or ppp.

Hypothetically yes, but in reality no. This is why PTI is forming coalition, this basically gurantees they will vote for IK as PM. Also PPP have said they will vote for IK as PM but will still sit in the opposition (I'm pretty sure thats what they said and have not changed). Nothing to worry about brother, Insha'Allah Imran Khan will be the next PM of Pakistan.

Lol but very weird process, should be rather simple. Millions voted for imran but if other parties dont vote for him in parliamentary he cannot become pm lol wow.
Also, only those will vote for pm that has NA seat?

Hypothetically yes, but in reality no. This is why PTI is forming coalition, this basically gurantees they will vote for IK as PM. Also PPP have said they will vote for IK as PM but will still sit in the opposition (I'm pretty sure thats what they said and have not changed). Nothing to worry about brother, Insha'Allah Imran Khan will be the next PM of Pakistan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">عمران خان کو سیاست نہیں آتی۔&#55358;&#56596; <a href="https://t.co/ikXZT22sel">pic.twitter.com/ikXZT22sel</a></p>— Usman Dar (@UdarOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/UdarOfficial/status/1024656888175255553?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

Lol but very weird process, should be rather simple. Millions voted for imran but if other parties dont vote for him in parliamentary he cannot become pm lol wow.
Also, only those will vote for pm that has NA seat?

It's basically like the electoral college here, for example Hillary Clinton won the popular vote in 2016 but didn't get the 270 electoral votes, thus lost. Here the electoral votes are dependent on 2 Senate votes plus the population of the state determines how many House of Representative member you have, anyway this process sort of takes the population bias out, that way more populated states don't always decide election results. Almost the same situation here (obviously not exactly the same since different ideology to government), the parliamentarians vote for PM, and the parliamentarians are voted to NA by the public. Kind of went overboard, hopefully that explains it a bit more.

So, after vacillating between different positions. MQM has finally taken the decision to sit on the treasury benches. Don't know what compromises have been made on PTI's side, but number game is ultimately up. Mullah Fazlu with all his machinations to shoot down PTI in the parliament is left with an empty bowl in hand.

Hopefully, PTI doesn't face any hiccups in the election for the speaker slots.

Alamgir Khan (Fixit guy) will likely contest the Karachi bye-election on Imran Khan's vacated seat. Also hearing that Rashid Godil will be made Governor Sindh.

I predict heavy amount of money will change hands once again if PPP and PMLN are tilted towards electing speakers of their choice.

So, after vacillating between different positions. MQM has finally taken the decision to sit on the treasury benches. Don't know what compromises have been made on PTI's side, but number game is ultimately up. Mullah Fazlu with all his machinations to shoot down PTI in the parliament is left with an empty bowl in hand.

Hopefully, PTI doesn't face any hiccups in the election for the speaker slots.

At least from what's been said in public, there isn't any real compromise as MQM aren't really in the position to make any real demands. All of MQM's demands are already PTI policies, the only extra things they asked for was a University in Hyderabad and recounting/fingerprint verification of ballot papers on some seats.

I predict heavy amount of money will change hands once again if PPP and PMLN are tilted towards electing speakers of their choice.

That is pretty much why it was vital for MQM-P to join the coalition. Now, the coalition government is strong enough to not need to worry about not electing their own speakers. I think we are now sitting on 179 seats while the opposition are on 150. They will need to successfully pay off a good 15 people from the government coalition to have any chance of electing their own speaker.

22 Independent MPAs from 29 who joined PTI.

38135259_2135481646710265_6791811980517703680_n.jpg

Posted on Zartaj Gul's Facebook page.

This means we're sitting on 145. If JKT ropes in 4 more, PTI will have an absolute majority without PML-Q!

Why no formal announcement? Playing on both sides of wickets, perhaps.

Because their ego can't admit there was no rigging, but they also can't support Nawaz or Bilawal over IK.

Other than that, Nawaz was responsible for the operation, so I seriously doubt MQM are in a hurry to run to them.

Talal Chaudhry disqualified for five years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SamaaUpdates?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SamaaUpdates</a><br>توہين عدالت کيس ميں طلال چوہدری 5 سال کیلئےنااہل<a href="https://t.co/6zn4dcT9cm">https://t.co/6zn4dcT9cm</a> <a href="https://t.co/cUk3aJvEFU">pic.twitter.com/cUk3aJvEFU</a></p>— SAMAA TV (@SAMAATV) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAMAATV/status/1024876521046073344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 2, 2018</a></blockquote>

Talal Chaudhry disqualified for five years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SamaaUpdates?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SamaaUpdates</a><br>توہين عدالت کيس ميں طلال چوہدری 5 سال کیلئےنااہل<a href="https://t.co/6zn4dcT9cm">https://t.co/6zn4dcT9cm</a> <a href="https://t.co/cUk3aJvEFU">pic.twitter.com/cUk3aJvEFU</a></p>— SAMAA TV (@SAMAATV) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAMAATV/status/1024876521046073344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 2, 2018</a></blockquote>

Sentenced to imprisonment till the rising of the court. :)))

PTI is holding independents in five star hotels in Islamabad so PMLN can't contact them.. Independents have demanded ministries and some didn't sign the agreement.

Thank you

Well well looks like someone is already looking for excuses lol

Mengal reaches Islamabad to meet PTI chief Imran Khan

QUETTA: Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) chief Sardar Akhtar Jan Mengal along with key party members on Wednesday flew to Islamabad where they will meet Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan in Bani Gala.

According to reports, Akhtar Mengal was invited to meet with Imran Khan regarding the formation of federal and provincial government by Jahangir Tareen.

BNP-M’s chief will meet different political leaders including Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) central leader Syed Khursheed Shah, Awami National Party (ANP) chief Asfandyar Wali Khan and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) President Maulana Fazlur Rehman in Islamabad during his visit. Nawabzada Lashkari Raisani, Advocate Sajid Tareen and other members of the party’s committee accompanied the BNP-M president.

Earlier, the BNP-M chief questioned transparency of the July 25 vote and said that the public’s mandate and election results differ in the province.

Addressing a press conference in Quetta on Tuesday, Mengal likened the July 25 polls to the general elections of 1970 and demanded a commission to investigate the polls.

“The election results were delayed for 72 hours – it has never happened before despite previous election commissions lacking resources. Such delaying tactics create doubts over the transparency of the electoral process,” he said. “Our mandate was stolen from at least 12 constituencies. The ECP has failed in its duty to guide the voters.”

The former Balochistan chief minister claimed that the results were a deliberate effort to prevent BNP from forming a government in the province.

He said that the party was open to either forming a government or sitting in opposition. Mengal said that BNP had been invited for dialogue by both PPP leader Khursheed Shah and PTI’s Jahangir Tareen. He revealed that the BNP had formed two committees – one to focus on the situation in the National Assembly and another for provincial legislature.

Mengal asserted that during the talks, BNP will stand by its stance, including that on the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) and the ownership of resources such as oil and gas. “Our demand also includes building a cancer hospital in the province.” APP

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1771369/1-mengal-reaches-islamabad-meet-pti-chief-imran-khan/

Imran likely to be elected PM on 15th

ISLAMABAD: Uncertainty surrounds the exact date when the election for the new prime minister and the oath taking will be held as the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) is yet to finalise results of the July 25 polls and notify the winning candidates.

Given the situation, it’s unlikely that Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan will take the oath as prime minister on Aug 11, informed sources told Dawn.

“It’s a touch-and-go situation,” a senior ECP official said while commenting on Mr Khan’s announcement that he would take the oath on Aug 11.

He said the final notification of the returned candidates would be issued after receiving consolidation statements from the constituencies where the ECP had ordered recounting and submission of returns of election expenses by the winning candidates.

The official referred to Section 98 (3) of the Elections Act 2017, which reads: “Every returned candidate shall, within ten days from the poll of an election, submit a return of election expenses under section 134 and the Commission shall not notify in the official Gazette the result of a returned candidate who fails to submit his return of election expenses.”

He said that under the law, three days would be given to the independent candidates to join a political party if they so desired, on the basis of which the share of reserved seats for women and minorities would be worked out.

“Let us assume that all the returned candidates submit their returns of election expenses by the last date set for the purpose — August 4 — it will take two days for issuance of notifications to take it to August 6,” said the official. He added that the independents would then have three days to join a political party — meaning August 9 would be the last date for it. He said the calculation of share of parties in the reserved seats would take another two days, and then the names of the returned candidates would be published in the official Gazette.

“Moving on a fast pace then can only ensure the first session of the National Assembly on August 12, where the newly elected members would take the oath, followed by the election of the speaker and deputy speaker,” said the ECP official. He said the newly elected speaker would then announce schedule for the election of the prime minister, adding that under the normal practice the prime minister was administered the oath of the office by the president the day following his election.

The official said the election to the office of prime minister was most likely to take place on Aug 15.

When contacted, PTI information secretary Fawad Chaudhry agreed that the oath taking of the new PM would not be possible on Aug 11, but expressed the hope that it could be done by Aug 14 — the Independence Day.

“Yes, we had desired that the oathtaking should take place on August 11, but this seems to be impossible,” he remarked.

Answering a question, he said it was the party’s desire that the swearing-in ceremony was held at a public place, preferably at the Parade Ground in front of the Parliament House, but confirmed that it would now be taking place at the President House.

Presidential election

Meanwhile, with the term of President Mamnoon Hussain expiring on Sept 9, the polls to elect his successor are all set to hit a snag.

An official of the ECP pointed out that election to the office of the president under Article 41 (4) of the Constitution was to be held not earlier than 60 days and not later than 30 days before the expiration of the term of the president in office.

That means the elections at the latest were to be held by Aug 8, and the schedule for the polls was to be announced some two weeks before it.

However, a proviso attached to the constitutio*nal provision reads: “Provided that, if the election cannot be held within the period aforesaid because the National Assembly is dissolved, it shall be held within 30 days of the general election to the assembly.”

The official pointed out that nomination papers could not be filed by the presidential candidates till the electoral college was complete. He said the Senate, National Assembly and provincial assemblies served the electoral college for presidential elections. He said the schedule for the presidential elections would be issued soon after the newly elected members of the national and provincial assemblies took the oath.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1424446/imran-likely-to-be-elected-pm-on-15th

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Best of luck to your party bhai jan <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a>. Hope that Entire country esp Urban Sindh is benefited with this coordination. Hope that you will facilitate the Recounting &/or Forensic Audit of several disputed constituencies as per <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a>’s word &#55358;&#56599; <a href="https://t.co/esqPMk96VR">https://t.co/esqPMk96VR</a></p>— Faisal Subzwari (@faisalsubzwari) <a href="https://twitter.com/faisalsubzwari/status/1024714676230336512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="tl" dir="ltr">Always remember, PTI needs and will need MQM, not vice versa. Abb time agiya hai apna jaiz haq laynay ka. Coalition mubarak ho &#55358;&#56599; Pakistan ko.</p>— Syed Ali Raza Abidi (@abidifactor) <a href="https://twitter.com/abidifactor/status/1024778934725033986?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 1, 2018</a></blockquote>

Reports floating that our current caretaker Gov wants Imran Khan to take oath as PM after 14 August, because our current PM / President wants to give a speech on 14th August.

This is 100% TRUE bro.

Nasir ul Mulk wants to take all the glory on August 14th.