Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

It's not "been" an issue agreed, but it "might" be an issue. That is what I was implying. Have we ever had a CM Punjab from a Baluchi tribe? I don't think so. It might not be issue with people of Southern Punjab, but people of Central Punjab don't even consider people of Southern Punjab as true Punjabis and a person from there of Baluchi descent would definitely not be considered a "Punjabi"... that is what I'm trying to explain.

Stop making stuff up. We consider them punjabis, it's the other way around.

Looks like Insafians are still in opposition mode.

Criticising when you are in govt has different SOPs than criticising when you are in opposition.

Asad Qaisar is wrong choice, Mr Buzdar is wrong choice bla bla and it has been few hours since their nominations. We should give them some time before further evaluation.

Buzdar's appointment doesn't exactly send a great message. These feudal sardar types have for the most part been part of the problem with these deprived regions. Hopefully Usman Buzdar is better than the rest and will work for the common man.

He’s not a feudal lord from what I read.

I just read Usman joined PTI six weeks before election.

If it's true then it's extremly disappointing. Hopefully he delivers but right now not happy at all because of uncertainty. What's his qualification?

It's not "been" an issue agreed, but it "might" be an issue. That is what I was implying. Have we ever had a CM Punjab from a Baluchi tribe? I don't think so. It might not be issue with people of Southern Punjab, but people of Central Punjab don't even consider people of Southern Punjab as true Punjabis and a person from there of Baluchi descent would definitely not be considered a "Punjabi"... that is what I'm trying to explain.

You have no idea about how Punjabis think so don't worry. It won't be an issue.

A turncoat is given the most important job after pm. He was part of PML N why couldn't he do anything for the poor in his area?

Truly sad to see this. Patwari lotay ko nahi denah chaiye tha

It should have been a loyal Pti member that struggled along with Imran Khan.

Mood off hogya

A turncoat is given the most important job after pm. He was part of PML N why couldn't he do anything for the poor in his area?

Truly sad to see this. Patwari lotay ko nahi denah chaiye tha

Maybe try to do some research, he lost his seat on Noon ticket in 2013.

It should have been a loyal Pti member that struggled along with Imran Khan.

Mood off hogya

Whoever he chose would lead to disappointment for some. For me the test is that he isnt corrupt, then can he handle the Punjab mafia. As someone said earlier, he will hopefully be guided by Ch Sarwar and JKT to do a good job.

Hopefully he performs

Usman Buzdar's nomination is bringing in a lot of bad press. The man has to deliver or else Imran Khan and PTI will never hear the end of it.

Many speculating that Usman is a stop gap CM and someone else is going to take his place in a few months.

Maybe it's strategy to have weak CMs in Punjab and KP so that IK remains the decision maker and provincial cabinet reports to him on important issues?

According to the express tribune Usman Buzdar has a degree in Law and political science.

Loved the dharna containers line and the speech in general, but this Buzdar appointment is already generating controversy. Even this thread is divided on it, anyone have some background on the guy before he lost in '13?

Maybe it's strategy to have weak CMs in Punjab and KP so that IK remains the decision maker and provincial cabinet reports to him on important issues?

That could be best explanation I've heard because both CMs are unknown figures who nobody predicted and have next to no popularity of their own.

After 18th amendment CMs and provinces were given enough power i think IK want to minimize it control from federal.

Lets face some bitter truth

His father 3 times MPA and him being tehsil nazim( during Q era). Why couldn't they provide electricity in that area? . His pervious party was in governent last time and they didn't do anything

You can avoid it here but that's what press is saying

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEqmY6DlKbY

I found this video of him going to attend a wedding ceremony. Nothing significant in it except that he is clearly wealthy. The guy really is an unknown entity, LOL.

From the video seems like a very down to earth person... a lot of politicians do not even let the aam awaam get close to them, but he is hugging them and asking how they are doing.

I am also not impressed by this CM Punjab decision but i will give give him a couple of months to see how things unfold.

Thank GOD IK didn't nominated Yaawer Bukhari from Attock as CM. He is a cousin of zulfi and they met IK 2 days ago i was afraid after watching their pic with IK that if he is made CM media will make life really hard for PTI and that decision would have been a disaster.

That’s a possibility. He isn’t selecting people with big egos so that he can micro-manage them but goes against IK’s whole empowering institutions and government philosophy. If you’re not devolving power, how you empower institutions?

Chill yar. This means IK is PM Pakistan and effectively CM Punjab as well. So IK will be involved directly hence less infightings.

Hmm

Now nothing can happen and lets hope for the best. 22 years of struggle and reputation of Imran Khan shouldn't go to waste becuase of ill advisors. My fear

That’s a possibility. He isn’t selecting people with big egos so that he can micro-manage them but goes against IK’s whole empowering institutions and government philosophy. If you’re not devolving power, how you empower institutions?

But to do reforms and make institutions strong you first need to change the system right? and for that you need to have power in hand to take strong decisions

From the video seems like a very down to earth person... a lot of politicians do not even let the aam awaam get close to them, but he is hugging them and asking how they are doing.

Sat down on the floor as well along with the others.

As I stated he is an unknown entity. We can do nothing but speculate about him. Problem is that his background(which we have come to know of so far) is a magnet for bad press.

I am also not impressed by this CM Punjab decision but i will give give him a couple of months to see how things unfold.

About 99.9% insafians trust only IK.

At least 50% will trust both IK and Asad Umar (currently I'm in this group).

Some 25% Will also add JKT and Ch. Sarwar to this list. And SMQ too, down the line.

Apparently these people can't have more than one designation. Anyone else and insafians will not readily accept. It will take time.

Waiting for Klasra's opinion on him he loves to bash PTI and he is from South and hates Sardars so he will find a a case or 2 against him for sure be ready guys :D

But to do reforms and make institutions strong you first need to change the system right? and for that you need to have power in hand to take strong decisions

True but it’s a slippery slope. Where do you stop. Maybe that’s a lesson he learnt while ruling KP? A strong CM doesn’t adhere to party policies?

About 99.9% insafians trust only IK.

At least 50% will trust both IK and Asad Umar (currently I'm in this group).

Some 25% Will also add JKT and Ch. Sarwar to this list. And SMQ too, down the line.

Apparently these people can't have more than one designation. Anyone else and insafians will not readily accept. It will take time.

True but the only issue here is he joined PTI like 2 or 3 months ago? Other CM candidates like Raja Yasir, Dr Yasmeen, Mian Aslam etc are in PTI from years they are all educated from middle class and were our candidates in 2013 as well.

True but it’s a slippery slope. Where do you stop. Maybe that’s a lesson he learnt while ruling KP? A strong CM doesn’t adhere to party policies?

Khattak helped us to survive 5 years without clear majority in KP he is a great tactician but he is an old school and proved to be a hurdle during reforms and IK had to force him many times to get things done.

True but the only issue here is he joined PTI like 2 or 3 months ago? Other CM candidates like Raja Yasir, Dr Yasmeen, Mian Aslam etc are in PTI from years they are all educated from middle class and were our candidates in 2013 as well.

basically this. We'll accept and give him a chance but we don't have to like it.

I only trust IK and Asad Umar. IK picked Mehmood Khan and Sardar Usman himself, hence I'm willing to give both 4-6 months to show what they got. After that you will see PTI getting the most opposition from PTI supporters itself.

Interestingly, 5 posts announced by IK and no one on media predicted them:

CM KPK: Mehmood Khan (everyone said Atif, Shah Farman, Taimur Jhagra)

Gov Punjab: Ch. Sarwar (everyone said Ejaz Ch, Aabar Awan etc)

Speaker NA: Asad Qaisar (everyone said Arif Alvi, Shafqat and Shah Mehmood etc)

Deputy Speaker NA: Qasim Suri (everyone said Zartaj and Shehryar)

Now, CM Punjab :)))

(copied)

Maybe Sardar Usman was nominated to initiate the process of South Punjab soba and once that materializes he will be South Punjab CM and we will have someone else as "North" Punjab CM.

ok he looks like a hero from south indian movies :yk

Dk0k6PbW4AIJND4.jpg:small

Waiting for Klasra's opinion on him he loves to bash PTI and he is from South and hates Sardars so he will find a a case or 2 against him for sure be ready guys :D

Isnt media already bashing this decision? Lol

Maybe Sardar Usman was nominated to initiate the process of South Punjab soba and once that materializes he will be South Punjab CM and we will have someone else as "North" Punjab CM.

In that case PTI will lose majority in new Central/North Punjab province and PMLN will rule it because most of our seats came from South or North not Center (where majority of seats exist)

Is media already bashing this decision? Lol

Yep lol his pics with Shobaz are already out and that he is a lota who joined 2 months ago and just another sardar in the market. Media is also calling from front man of JKT and that JKT will rule Punjab through him

Perhaps that is exactly what is needed to clean up bureaucracy :))

haha one bullet and 10 people are down while a dozen of cars are in the air because of one kick by the great south indian hero!

Don't forget the car that goes in the air and keeps revolving for five minutes :))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سردار عثمان بزدار کا علاقہ بارتی کہلاتاہے۔<br><br>نہ بجلی ہے<br>نہ گیس ہے<br>نہ پانی ہے<br>نہ اسکول ہے<br>نہ ہسپتال ہے<br>نہ روڈ ہے<br><br>یہ علاقہ منگھروٹا سے کوئی 6 کلومیٹرکےفاصلےپرہے۔ چونکہ زاتی طورپراس علاقےمیں جاچکاہوں اس لیے خان کی بات کی مکمل تائیدکرتاہوں۔<br><br>خان نےانقلاب برپاکردیاہے!</p>— Salar Sultanzai (@MeFixerr) <a href="https://twitter.com/MeFixerr/status/1030514064160645121?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

I heard TuQ is coming soon? Model town case ka faisla kerwa ker he jana he ab usne

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سردار عثمان بزدار کا علاقہ بارتی کہلاتاہے۔<br><br>نہ بجلی ہے<br>نہ گیس ہے<br>نہ پانی ہے<br>نہ اسکول ہے<br>نہ ہسپتال ہے<br>نہ روڈ ہے<br><br>یہ علاقہ منگھروٹا سے کوئی 6 کلومیٹرکےفاصلےپرہے۔ چونکہ زاتی طورپراس علاقےمیں جاچکاہوں اس لیے خان کی بات کی مکمل تائیدکرتاہوں۔<br><br>خان نےانقلاب برپاکردیاہے!</p>— Salar Sultanzai (@MeFixerr) <a href="https://twitter.com/MeFixerr/status/1030514064160645121?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

I for one do not buy this logic that he is from poor destitute area so he is good choice. Why not then make some homeless person as our PM.

The chief of the government has to be educated person who is also a good administrator with innovative ideas to fix the issues. Someone whose only qualification is that they belong to poor area is definitely not a good start.

I for one do not buy this logic that he is from poor destitute area so he is good choice. Why not then make some homeless person as our PM.

The chief of the government has to be educated person who is also a good administrator with innovative ideas to fix the issues. Someone whose only qualification is that they belong to poor area is definitely not a good start.

I am just hoping there is any plan behind this move. After a great start and so many great decisions we came up with this one where everyone is looking shocked including the supporters.

I he needs guidance then he's wrong choice from the outset. He's the CM not an apprentice. Frankly this is bit of a joke. I am wondering if it's a deliberate ploy to have weak candidates in key provincial posts so that they can be controlled easily from centre? Just so that they don't go off script.... just putting out a theory

I am thinking same because KP CM is also weak (although more experienced then Usman Buzdar).

In all honesty, a very disappointing nomination, however you see it. And why would IK say he is very poor when he is pretty wealthy. Doesn’t make any sense..

And media already started ke uske gahr to bijli he arae bhai his hometown Barthi don't have electricity or or roads etc not the place where he currently lives there is a difference.

CM Punjab nomination is a shocking decision. I hope a key PTI leader comes forward to give the rationale behind this decision.

I am thinking same because KP CM is also weak (although more experienced then Usman Buzdar).

I just hope this isn't going to backfire in his face.... An ethnic Balochi is plucked out of obscurity to be CM of Punjab. They should have found someone from potohar region to be CM if anything.

From Potohar we had 3 very strong candidates. Fawad Ch, Major Tahir Sadiq and Raja Yasir we won almost the whole Potohar region without facing any difficulty!

CM Punjab nomination is a shocking decision. I hope a key PTI leader comes forward to give the rationale behind this decision.

IK shouldn't have released the video at least with taareefon ke pul because now it's too late to change this decision.

From Potohar we had 3 very strong candidates. Fawad Ch, Major Tahir Sadiq and Raja Yasir we won almost the whole Potohar region without facing any difficulty!

Well precisely. I would like to know who proposed this guy?

I don't get good vibes about SMQ and JKT. I think both are duplicitous.

SMQ I always hated, ever since the Kerry Luger bill saga. Whilst Kerry-Luger were busy drafting a bill shafting Pakistan.... The very time, SMQ son was working in the office of John Kerry and ofcourse SMQ was foreign minister of Pakistan!

Well precisely. I would like to know who proposed this guy?

I don't get good vibes about SMQ and JKT. I think both are duplicitous.

SMQ I always hated, ever since the Kerry Luger bill saga. Whilst Kerry-Luger were busy drafting a bill shafting Pakistan.... The very time, SMQ son was working in the office of John Kerry and ofcourse SMQ was foreign minister of Pakistan!

Allah knows better but JKT name is out in the market! But then it's hard to believe SMQ will allow JKT guy as CM Punjab. From what i heard SMQ in bughaz e jkt was ready to support Dr Yasmeen as CM.

IK shouldn't have released the video at least with taareefon ke pul because now it's too late to change this decision.

It seems a poorly researched decision. IK in his speech saying that he is the only MPA who does not has electricity in his house. These were his actual words. Some one misled him and he believed every word of that person.

So, according to the speech there are only two criteria. 1. His backward constituency 2. His low income

The second criterion has already proven incorrect with his father being a multiple time MP and his owning of few cars.

And the other criterion of him belonging to a backward area also does not hold much of a weight as there are scores of other MPAs from South Punjab. More importantly, in the face of him joining PTI only a month before elections should have been enough of a fact against his nomination as Punjab CM. The guy does not deserve even a petty provincial minister job.

So, I believe this is PTI's another shocking decision, PTI did not learn anything from caretaker Punjab CM fiasco.
This nonsense matches IK's civil disobedience call during dharna.

Imran won the world cup in 1992. He picked Inzamam when everybody said that it was the worst decision of all time.

Look what happened.

Imran built Shaukhat Khanum when everybody told him that it would be a huge blunder to start it.

Look what happened.

Imran entered politics in 1996 when everybody told him not to do so.

Look what happened.

Now Imran had chosen a complete low key name as CM Punjab and everyone is starting to question him.

Moral of the story is: Trust Imran. He hasn't let Pakistan down before and won't let Pakistan down now. Inshallah.

So, I believe this is PTI's another shocking decision, PTI did not learn anything from caretaker Punjab CM fiasco.

Imran has become the PM of Pakistan today.

So none of the so called "wrong decisions" mean anything now as he's got the last laugh now.

It seems a poorly researched decision. IK in his speech saying that he is the only MPA who does not has electricity in his house. These were his actual words. Some one misled him and he believed every word of that person.

So, according to the speech there are only two criteria. 1. His backward constituency 2. His low income

The second criterion has already proven incorrect with his father being a multiple time MP and his owning of few cars.

And the other criterion of him belonging to a backward area also does not hold much of a weight as there are scores of other MPAs from South Punjab. More importantly, in the face of him joining PTI only a month before elections should have been enough of a fact against his nomination as Punjab CM. The guy does not deserve even a petty provincial minister job.

Saw Usman's first interview with Waqt News a few moment ago and all i can say is Media is going to roast him alive. Ab decision le he lya he to PTI should try to make sure he stays away from media and he is given a spokesman as CM Punjab to deal with media.

Looks like possible candidate for CM Punjab are ok with this decision :13:
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">میں سردار عثمان بزدار کو چیف منسٹر پنجاب نامزد ہونے پر دل کی گہراہیوں سے مبارکباد دیتا ہوں۰</p>— Abdul Aleem Khan (@aleemkhan_pti) <a href="https://twitter.com/aleemkhan_pti/status/1030514906217500672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سردار عٽمان بزدار کو سی ایم پنجاب نامزد ہونے پر مبارکباد، اللّہ سے دعا ہے کہ وہ اپنی ذمہ داریوں اور چیلینجز سے احسن طریقے سے عہدہ برآ ہوں، اٰمین</p>— Major Tahir Sadik (@MajorSadik) <a href="https://twitter.com/MajorSadik/status/1030537753283506177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations Sirdar Usman Buzdar. A great decsion by skipper. Will address the grievances of South Punjab!</p>— Raja Yasir H.Sarfraz (@RajaYassirPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/RajaYassirPTI/status/1030515893569298432?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

Saw Usman's first interview with Waqt News a few moment ago and all i can say is Media is going to roast him alive. Ab decision le he lya he to PTI should try to make sure he stays away from media and he is given a spokesman as CM Punjab to deal with media.

All we were looking in a CM was some loyalty, actual competence in terms of his education and articulate public speaking.

This guy is a real turncoat, does not look like a good public speaker, has no notable professional or educational career.

Looks like possible candidate for CM Punjab are ok with this decision :13:
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">میں سردار عثمان بزدار کو چیف منسٹر پنجاب نامزد ہونے پر دل کی گہراہیوں سے مبارکباد دیتا ہوں۰</p>— Abdul Aleem Khan (@aleemkhan_pti) <a href="https://twitter.com/aleemkhan_pti/status/1030514906217500672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سردار عٽمان بزدار کو سی ایم پنجاب نامزد ہونے پر مبارکباد، اللّہ سے دعا ہے کہ وہ اپنی ذمہ داریوں اور چیلینجز سے احسن طریقے سے عہدہ برآ ہوں، اٰمین</p>— Major Tahir Sadik (@MajorSadik) <a href="https://twitter.com/MajorSadik/status/1030537753283506177?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations Sirdar Usman Buzdar. A great decsion by skipper. Will address the grievances of South Punjab!</p>— Raja Yasir H.Sarfraz (@RajaYassirPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/RajaYassirPTI/status/1030515893569298432?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 17, 2018</a></blockquote>

What can they say now. :D Aleem Khan and Yasir both can't be expected to criticize Imran , their longtime leader, and that too after he became PM today.