"PSL is a good standard and probably better than IPL" : Abdul Razzaq

Abdul Razzaq speaking on TV:

"Its hard, this transformation from a player to a coach"

"It tough and one has to accept it and hopefully in the next few months I will totally adjust to this new role"

"Difficult to say what has improved in domestic cricket but PCB is doing its best and one hopes that things will improve in the coming few years"

"PCB need to highlight domestic games in the way the final was done with TV coverage etc"

"Players play under pressure as in they are playing a Test when conditions are good"

"If you look at earlier games, there was hardly any pressure and pitches werent that great either"

"I always say that we should move on (in relation to Salman Butt) and forgiveness is a good thing"

"Enough is enough, if a criteria has been set then anyone whether its Asif or Salman, we should just look at their performance when making decisions for selection"

"We know the potential the 2 players have so there is no problem from a cricket point of view"

"If there are other problems, then those are only known to the selectors and the PCB"

"I believe Asif and Salman should be given a chance in PSL to see how they perform"

"When coaching staff have good relations with players then, there is no problem and you can manage well"

"If we see problems in bowling, batting or fielding, we pick that up straightaway and work on those weaknesses"

"Main thing is to boost the confidence of the players and thankfully, the players are listening to my advice"

"The players listen with respect and we also respect them - we have never thought any less of any player":

"We always feel that if a player is playing for this team he must be good"

"It comes down to intentions - if you are thinking in good terms for others then, ALLAH rewards you with success"

"Now that I have started coaching, from my point of view, the time to play as a player is gone"

"I had some hopes of playing in the PSL but unfortunately I did not get a good response to that"

"The type of cricket I have played before, the PSL is actually a lower standard to it"

"PSL is a good standard and probably better than IPL but when you have played Intl cricket against top players then PSL is a little easy for us to play in"

"I am convinced that I was not able to perform to the level or express myself in line with the talent that God gave me

"We were lucky that in the old days our team was very good and we could compete against world-class players l"

"If world's top players like Ricky Ponting, Steve Waugh and MS Dhoni can praise Abdul Razzaq then what else is there to say?"

"In Pakistan it is not the case, a player doesnt get this kind of respect"

Hm, which league is better than both IPL and PSL where he has played?

"PSL is a good standard and probably better than IPL" Yes just like how Shehzad was a more talented crickter than Tendulkar

IPL is better than PSL is every way possible except for one thing which is that the PSL is more competitive than the IPL; you can tell which IPL teams are strong/weak but with PSL teams every game is a difficult one due to squad strength.

Razzaq Bhai talking like some big Coach!

I think a few of his quotes on coaching etc were directed at Waqar.

IPL has much better broadcast coverage, fans and commentary. It looks like a much better spectacle.

Maybe in terms of match quality PSL could edge it.

I agree the TV coverage for domestic cricket needs to be improved.

Disagree on Butt and Asif playing PSL, especially after last year's scandal. No need to tarnish the image of the League further. Yes Amir is playing in PSL too but at least he had the excuse of being young at the time of the incident in 2010.

There are several players who performed in the recent National T20 that were excluded from PSL. But as they don't have a lobby in the media like Butt, we don't hear any of this hoo-ha and non-stop crying about their exclusions.

Also tired of this obsession with comparing to IPL.

problem in subcontinent is the ego, and respecting a person for the sake of being older and senior.

Razzaq has always been one of those whose got his head a couple of feet in the ground

I think PSL is 3rd best league after IPL and BBL

Agreed. CPL has better overseas talent arguably but quality and interest wise PSL smashes it I believe. CPL's time zone is a huge issue for subcontinental viewers too

Currently, there is literally no comparison between the two as IPL gets all the bonafide cricket stars.

However when IPL started and in its first or so season, there were middle overs being bowled by people like joginder sharma, roger binny, praveen kumar (way past his best version) etc, and overall the bowling standard wasn't as high as it is now. Times however have changed and Indian bowling standard generally has gotten better.

BBL however is overrated by most people and the cricketing standard in the league isn't that high. All major Australian players are absent from it due to test commitments. It looks good on the television because of excellent coverage by channel 9 and all the gimmicks but the cricket in itself is nothing special. If the Australian test cricketers played in it, it would definitely be better than PSL, heck it can even be better than IPL even without the imports but as of now, it's just an average cricket competition and it would even rank lower than CPL.

As of now it's

IPL
PSL
CPL/BBL

big gap
BPL / Georgie Pie Smash etc.

Even thought the foreign player talent pool in BPL is good but the domestic players and the pitches are absolutely terrible.

There is no comparison ATM, PSL need to come to Pakistan and be played home-away format . If security situations improves so that foreign players can come without any fear then I would say PSL can even become eligible to be compared with IPL.

Once it comes to Pakistan , more cash will flow in. So its only then some big guns (A tier) players would join in, as they are more expensive buy . End of the day its all about money. The more cash you can offer, the higher would be be participation of international players.

The quality can be compared when there is a similar set of players in both leagues. The foreign players along with Indian bastman are of the highest quality in IPL. As far as competetive games are concerned, T20 format throws a lot of close games. PSL should be compared with CPL and I think PSL is more interesting.

Chuck Denesh Ramdin, KP, Sanga and all the no bodies and has beens out and bring in Kohli, Starc, ABD, Rabada, Maxwell. Until then there is no comparison.

Matches being close mean nothing if the quality at display is not up to the mark.

KP said during the first season it was better than the IPL but he rated the BB highest. Freddie while talking on sky said IPL is a bit of fun but its low standard cricket, said the BB was better.

Having seen all 3 main leagues (and the t20 blast) for me its pretty obvious. The aussies do have the best league in terms of quality of cricket but the PSL is catching up. The t20 blast could be special if it was in a smaller time frame and not stretched out across an entire season. The IPL is full of sound and fury but not much happens because the bowling often suffers too much.

KP said during the first season it was better than the IPL but he rated the BB highest. Freddie while talking on sky said IPL is a bit of fun but its low standard cricket, said the BB was better.

Having seen all 3 main leagues (and the t20 blast) for me its pretty obvious. The aussies do have the best league in terms of quality of cricket but the PSL is catching up. The t20 blast could be special if it was in a smaller time frame and not stretched out across an entire season. The IPL is full of sound and fury but not much happens because the bowling often suffers too much.

What is common in both KP and Freddie while they told that ?? Both were not in the IPL picture

Why every other day PSL is being compared with other leagues by ex cricketers.

Let the PSL grow on its own :19:

What is common in both KP and Freddie while they told that ?? Both were not in the IPL picture

So? KP has played IPL before and its not like they didnt want him. He left the auction to spend time iwth family and wants to retire post PSL. Get over it.

Interesting. Can you share the quotes please?

Just like Razzaq, KP and Freddie are just giving their opinion. I mean when you want to compare two leagues there must be some quantifiable methods to determine which league is better than the other. As of now, its just subjective when people say so and so league is better than the other in terms of quality cricket. I mean in one league there are world’s best (except one nation) and on other league is mostly T20 specialist and local Aussies. But Id still not say which league is better in terms of qualit. But as an Indian fan, IPL is best thing out there in terms of entertainment. I don’t really care about so called quality, i only care about being entertained. If i want quality cricket then Id watch Test cricket not IPL.

Why every other day PSL is being compared with other leagues by ex cricketers.

Let the PSL grow on its own :19:

This

I was also thinking the same, ever since PSL 3 started at least on two seperate ocassions former players have been comparing PSL with other leagues, mainly IPL. I mean PSL is good in its own way and will reach its potential in coming years when they could host it in Pakistan.
PSL should try to create its own image and differentiate itself from other league such as IPL.

Standard example of Pakistani (ex or current) player talking himself up hugely, and as an aside talking something else up, equally stupidly.

So? KP has played IPL before and its not like they didnt want him. He left the auction to spend time iwth family and wants to retire post PSL. Get over it.

This is the worst joke. KP was a flop and he had no takers. He told the other year that he won't go to IPL because of family only to come as a commentator. Sour grapes from him and he has a factory of it. You can have ur ESL legend and we don't want him.

I don't understand this obsession to prove that PSL is better than IPL by current and former Pakistan cricketers. PSL is still in its infancy and still trying to grow. They should not be comparing with the other leagues at the moment and try to develop their league and make it bigger than what it is right now.

Its for self satisfaction tbh. Its human pyschology, always want to be seen as best regardless of ground realities. Most sane fans and cricketers knows that PSL is nowhere near IPL let alone better than it. Razzaq have history of making such ridiculous claims. Who can forget his famous Shezzy better than Tendulkar claim.

We all know how that turned out.

our ppl need to stop comparing to ipl (which is ahead of psl in many ways). just focus on good cricket and mainly developing new stars to play for Pak. As far as foreigners are concerned, the sad truth is, they will always choose ipl/india over psl/pak even if they r paid same money...

Razzaq will say PSL has more television audiences than IPL then. PSL is more exciting , competitive , better bowlers. What is common in all these ? All are intangible. Razzaq is the microcosm of deluded ESL fans.

IPL has much better broadcast coverage, fans and commentary. It looks like a much better spectacle.

Maybe in terms of match quality PSL could edge it.

Well, it seems pretty clear from his quote that he is talking about standard of the teams. PSL is probably inferior in all those aspects that you mentioned, but the teams are pretty good when you fill them with quality international players. No idea if they are better than IPL, I've never watched an IPL game.

Low class league which is sadly true... Cheap tactics needed to keep the spectators entertained.

Don't watch low class league then? We are happy with this low class league. PSL is not missing out on anything if you don't watch.

here, here. Although I hope the fielding and batting improves! But we are up there with the best bowlers in a domestic league.

Which league is better? Please don't say IPL which becomes a drag after the first 10 games.

Maybe sour grapes because your IPL superstars like Gayle and Mumbai Indian's first choice Mcclenaghan have been manhandled by Pakistan's local players

Which league is better? Please don't say IPL which becomes a drag after the first 10 games.

Maybe sour grapes because your IPL superstars like Gayle and Mumbai Indian's first choice Mcclenaghan have been manhandled by Pakistan's local players

It is not even a question. I do not understand the point of making such absurd statements.

Irrespective of how you view the IPL, the fact is that it is by far the biggest T20 league around. It has the best players in the world, packed stadiums, top class production and coverage and the only league that has a dedicated window.

The PSL is nothing in comparison to the giant that the IPL is. It is just a cheap rip-off - low quality players, empty stadiums, poor production etc.

The only sour grapes are the ones on your plate I am afraid. The real IPL superstars are not even bothered about the PSL because our franchises cannot afford them.

McClenaghan is not an IPL superstar; he is just another player. The real IPL stars are Kohli, de Villiers, Stokes, Maxwell, Starc, Warner, de Kock etc. who are too good to play in the PSL.

Gayle was an IPL star but his career is coming to a close. The PSL arrived when he was past his prime. He has been poor in the last two editions of the IPL as well.

A peak Gayle would have destroyed the PSL bowlers. Pakistan's local players, especially the batsmen, are very poor and not even good enough to carry drinks for the IPL teams. A couple of bowlers might get a look in though.

Brother, you are profoundly misinformed.

It is not even a question. I do not understand the point of making such absurd statements.

Irrespective of how you view the IPL, the fact is that it is by far the biggest T20 league around. It has the best players in the world, packed stadiums, top class production and coverage and the only league that has a dedicated window.

The PSL is nothing in comparison to the giant that the IPL is. It is just a cheap rip-off - low quality players, empty stadiums, poor production etc.

The only sour grapes are the ones on your plate I am afraid. The real IPL superstars are not even bothered about the PSL because our franchises cannot afford them.

McClenaghan is not an IPL superstar; he is just another player. The real IPL stars are Kohli, de Villiers, Stokes, Maxwell, Starc, Warner, de Kock etc. who are too good to play in the PSL.

Gayle was an IPL star but his career is coming to a close. The PSL arrived when he was past his prime. He has been poor in the last two editions of the IPL as well.

A peak Gayle would have destroyed the PSL bowlers. Pakistan's local players, especially the batsmen, are very poor and not even good enough to carry drinks for the IPL teams. A couple of bowlers might get a look in though.

Ipl is the best. India is the best. Pakistan is finished blah blah. We are getting tired of you nonsense and your being an Indian cheerleader.

I don't usually care about your attention seeking posts but sometimes I got to put the hammer down

You said PSL does not have any quality players:

1. Ben Laughlin for QG is the highest wicket-taker in Big Bash history
2. Joe Denly the highest run scorer in the NatWest T20 in 2017 plays for KK
3. Colin Ingram the second highest run scorer in NatWest T20 2016 plays for KK
4. Chadwick Walton the highest run scorer in CPL 2017 is playing for IU
5. "Washed up" Shane Watson was the 5th highest run scorer in Big Bash 2017
6. Biggest striker of the ball in the Aussie T20 side, Chris Lynn, was in LQ before injury happened
7. BMac still plays in Big Bash and IPL so he is only "washed up" when playing in PSL
8. Sunil Narine was the 4th highest run scorer in IPL 2017
9. Roy, Hales, Duminy, Morgan, Tahir, Narine are all some of the biggest players in world cricket today
10. Yes some of the biggest names such as Warner, Starc, De Kock, Smith aren't there because PCB cannot buy a window like the BCCI, nothing to suggest that these players won't play if they were not busy in international duty

You said empty stadiums

1. There is some validity to this point during the weekdays, but the stadiums are about 50-75% full on Friday/Saturday games
2. The online viewership in just the first 15 matches crossed 20 million - so much for failed league
3. The event is a super-hit for the actual people it is intended for - Pakistanis
4. Wait till it goes to Pakistan for the last three matches then you will know what a packed stadium is

You said poor production quality

1. What constitutes a good production quality? PSL has all the shabangs that IPL does in terms of production
2. Heck the company doing the production is Indian the very Indians you love with all your heart
3. Maybe we need the commentators to announce it is a DLF maximum everytime a six is hit?

You said a peak Chris Gayle would have smashed it all parts in the PSL

1. That is just another one of your "prophesies"
2. In the first season of PSL when Gayle couldn't buy a run he was coming from the back of an epic IPL where he scored at an average of 50 and SR 150

You said Mitchell McClenaghan is just another player in the IPL

1. Reality is he was the fourth highest wicket-taker in IPL 2017
2. "Washed-up" Imran Tahir was fifth highest

I think should be enough to shut you up for now.

I don't usually care about your attention seeking posts but sometimes I got to put the hammer down

6. Biggest striker of the ball in the Aussie T20 side, Chris Lynn, was in LQ before injury happened
7. BMac still plays in Big Bash and IPL so he is only "washed up" when playing in PSL
9. Roy, Hales, Duminy, Morgan, Tahir, Narine are all some of the biggest players in world cricket today
10. Yes some of the biggest names such as Warner, Starc, De Kock, Smith aren't there because PCB cannot buy a window like the BCCI, nothing to suggest that these players won't play if they were not busy in international duty

You said empty stadiums

1. There is some validity to this point during the weekdays, but the stadiums are about 50-75% full on Friday/Saturday games
2. The online viewership in just the first 15 matches crossed 20 million - so much for failed league
3. The event is a super-hit for the actual people it is intended for - Pakistanis
4. Wait till it goes to Pakistan for the last three matches then you will know what a packed stadium is

1. What constitutes a good production quality? PSL has all the shabangs that IPL does in terms of production
2. Heck the company doing the production is Indian the very Indians you love with all your heart
3. Maybe we need the commentators to announce it is a DLF maximum everytime a six is hit?

2. In the first season of PSL when Gayle couldn't buy a run he was coming from the back of an epic IPL where he scored at an average of 50 and SR 150

Dayum :bow:

What a post :14:

Halkay toh aana hee nahi hai :shhh

You said empty stadiums

Damn.. man you are brutel in your replies.

You said empty stadiums

Brutal innings there.

Told you. Should seriously consider a career in politics or the military.

are you for serious... i mean that was a good reply but really...

public: why should we vote you?
syed1: because i gave mamoon a befitting reply on an online forum...
public: this warrants a vote?
syed1: idk, Manfan said to consider a career in politics
public: well we aint voting sorry...
syed1: not a problem, i will go enroll in the army now...
public: hunh! why army?
syed1: well that was the other alternative manfan gave me...

You're post has put a big grin on my face right now.

That was hilarious :)))

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

There is so much wrong with your post that I do not where to begin. They say ignorance is a bliss, but I think delusion can be a bliss too.

Let me dissect your post word by word, and I will also tag your cheerleaders [MENTION=139765]Arham_PakFan[/MENTION], [MENTION=107441]lonex[/MENTION] [MENTION=143937]ManFan[/MENTION] and [MENTION=143333]Destroyer88[/MENTION], because I think you would need all the help you can to hold onto the straws that you are trying to clutch at.

Point 1: the quality of players

Ben Laughlin, Denly, Ingram, Walton? :)))

Who cares about these players and what are they worth at an international level? Absolutely nothing. If these players are among the "quality players" of your league, it saying everything that needs to be said about the quality of the pool of players.

McCullum, Watson, Pietersen, Sangakkara etc. are dead cricketers. They have retired from international cricket and only play franchise cricket now, to maximize their post retirement earnings.

If these players are your "major stars", it says everything that needs to be said about the quality of your league.

How many of the top 15-20 cricketers in the world play in the PSL, ignoring the Indian players due to obvious reasons.

de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Amla, Finch, Rabada, Steyn, Stokes, Buttler, Maxwell, Starc, Cummins, Williamson, Smith, Guptill, Taylor etc. etc. are among the top players in the world today who play in the IPL but do not play in the PSL.

If you get hold of these names, you can brag about the quality of players in your league. Chest-thumping over utter nobodies like Chadwick, Ingram, Denly etc. etc. is embarrassing to say the least.

Seriously, your defense is that X,Y,Z were among the top players in CPL, BBL etc.?

Let me ask again - what are these players worth internationally?

The number of active, top international cricketers that play in the PSL can be counted on one hand - Narine, Tahir, Morgan, Hales and Roy. I might have missed a couple, but that is all the PSL can brag about.

So once again, what was the point you were trying to make?

Point 2: Empty stadiums

You do not have to tell me that the matches in Pakistan will be packed. It is a certainty. However, since you agreed that the low attendance in the UAE is a problem, there is nothing to talk about here. Let's move on to point 3.

Point 3: poor production quality

The commentary is ordinary and the post-match presentations are poor as well. That stupid Head & Shoulders gimmick is simply idiotic. Production quality is not just HD cameras. PSL needs to hire better commentators in the future.

Point 4: Chris Gayle

One bad tournament in 2016 does not mean that Gayle is a walking wicket against the so-called local legendary bowlers.

Let's look at some of the ATGs who have scored heavily in the PSL over the last few seasons:

Shehzad
Kamran
Bopara
Luke Wright

Yes these batsmen are among the greatest batsmen of the game as rated by Wisden, and are simply at a different level to someone like Gayle.

Clearly, the world class local bowlers were not good enough to get the better of these legends and that is why only Gayle in particular struggled against them.

Do you actually think Gayle is inferior to some of the top scorers in PSL history?

Point 5: McClenaghan

He is not among the big stars in the IPL. He is not a big name internationally. Yes he has done well, but so have many no-name players. However, the point that I was trying to make is that he is not an IPL superstar. IPL superstars are playing like de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Starc, Rabada, Stokes, Maxwell, Smith, Williamson etc. who are too big and expensive for the PSL.

So what was the point of your post? You came all guns blazing but after dissecting your post point by point, it appears that your post was nothing but hot air.

Let's see if your cheerleaders can help you salvage something here.

There is so much wrong with your post that I do not where to begin. They say ignorance is a bliss, but I think delusion can be a bliss too.

Let me dissect your post word by word, and I will also tag your cheerleaders [MENTION=139765]Arham_PakFan[/MENTION], [MENTION=107441]lonex[/MENTION] [MENTION=143937]ManFan[/MENTION] and [MENTION=143333]Destroyer88[/MENTION], because I think you would need all the help you can to hold onto the straws that you are trying to clutch at.

Who cares about these players and what are they worth at an international level? Absolutely nothing. If these players are among the "quality players" of your league, it saying everything that needs to be said about the quality of the pool of players.

McCullum, Watson, Pietersen, Sangakkara etc. are dead cricketers. They have retired from international cricket and only play franchise cricket now, to maximize their post retirement earnings.

If these players are your "major stars", it says everything that needs to be said about the quality of your league.

How many of the top 15-20 cricketers in the world play in the PSL, ignoring the Indian players due to obvious reasons.

de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Amla, Finch, Rabada, Steyn, Stokes, Buttler, Maxwell, Starc, Cummins, Williamson, Smith, Guptill, Taylor etc. etc. are among the top players in the world today who play in the IPL but do not play in the PSL.

If you get hold of these names, you can brag about the quality of players in your league. Chest-thumping over utter nobodies like Chadwick, Ingram, Denly etc. etc. is embarrassing to say the least.

Seriously, your defense is that X,Y,Z were among the top players in CPL, BBL etc.?

The number of active, top international cricketers that play in the PSL can be counted on one hand - Narine, Tahir, Morgan, Hales and Roy. I might have missed a couple, but that is all the PSL can brag about.

You do not have to tell me that the matches in Pakistan will be packed. It is a certainty. However, since you agreed that the low attendance in the UAE is a problem, there is nothing to talk about here. Let's move on to point 3.

The commentary is ordinary and the post-match presentations are poor as well. That stupid Head & Shoulders gimmick is simply idiotic. Production quality is not just HD cameras. PSL needs to hire better commentators in the future.

One bad tournament in 2016 does not mean that Gayle is a walking wicket against the so-called local legendary bowlers.

Let's look at some of the ATGs who have scored heavily in the PSL over the last few seasons:

Shehzad
Kamran
Bopara
Luke Wright

Yes these batsmen are among the greatest batsmen of the game as rated by Wisden, and are simply at a different level to someone like Gayle.

Clearly, the world class local bowlers were not good enough to get the better of these legends and that is why only Gayle in particular struggled against them.

Do you actually think Gayle is inferior to some of the top scorers in PSL history?

He is not among the big stars in the IPL. He is not a big name internationally. Yes he has done well, but so have many no-name players. However, the point that I was trying to make is that he is not an IPL superstar. IPL superstars are playing like de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Starc, Rabada, Stokes, Maxwell, Smith, Williamson etc. who are too big and expensive for the PSL.

So what was the point of your post? You came all guns blazing but after dissecting your post point by point, it appears that your post was nothing but hot air.

Just a quick question, are you more mad that the PSL has performing players who haven proven themselves in the "top" leagues like IPL, BBL, or that you have no cheerleaders?

Shehzad
Kamran
Bopara
Luke Wright

Honestly your post is the definition of hot air...

You disregarded all of my points where I pointed out the quality of players participating in PSL and what they have done in other leagues and just kept harping about how de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Amla, Finch, Rabada, Steyn, Stokes, Buttler, Maxwell, Starc, Cummins, Williamson, Smith, Guptill, Taylor etc. aren't there.

For every point of mine you just had this answer.

I can't be bothered to respond to someone who is just like a broken record not making any sense.

Both posts have valid points but at the end of the day, Star power brings in the big bucks. The players with the highest star power are the Indians. The next are West Indians, Pakistanis and Australians. As long as there are no Indian players in PSL, there is no comparison between the leagues. A handful of cricketers in IPL make more money than entire PSL.

As far as the quality of cricket is concerned, domestic players can only go so far. Many international stars don't even play their own T20 league so the leaders in other domestic leagues don't count for much. Most of the Pakistanis or Indians fdon't even recongnize these names unless they played international cricket against their country.

PSL is going in the right direction though. Their window doesn't coincide with BBL or CPL and as long as it stays that way, they can attract 'B' talent. That is the best foreign domestic players and retired international cricketers. There are already a few current international players sprinkled in and that's a good start.

Both posts have valid points but at the end of the day, Star power brings in the big bucks. The players with the highest star power are the Indians. The next are West Indians, Pakistanis and Australians. As long as there are no Indian players in PSL, there is no comparison between the leagues. A handful of cricketers in IPL make more money than entire PSL.

As far as the quality of cricket is concerned, domestic players can only go so far. Many international stars don't even play their own T20 league so the leaders in other domestic leagues don't count for much. Most of the Pakistanis or Indians fdon't even recongnize these names unless they played international cricket against their country.

PSL is going in the right direction though. Their window doesn't coincide with BBL or CPL and as long as it stays that way, they can attract 'B' talent. That is the best foreign domestic players and retired international cricketers. There are already a few current international players sprinkled in and that's a good start.

The problem arises when comparing an 11-year-old league with a 3-year-old league.

You said empty stadiums

Bhai aap ne tou serious le lia he.:afridi1

Read his reply to this... disregarded most of what I said just because international "superstars" aren't there PSL is garbage, low level league

You forgot the most important players. Indian players.

Shehzad
Kamran
Bopara
Luke Wright

Lets see.

I agree that the PSL does not have many big international stars.Many current top players like ABD,Maxwell,Rabada,Starc etc don’t play in the league.But that is more because of scheduling issues.The PSL is held smack in the middle of the international season.ABD played in the CPL for 130k a few years ago.Do you think he wouldn’t have played PSL for 140-200k if he was free?Players like Du Plessis,Miller and Morne Morkel visited Pakistan for the World XI.Don’t you think that they would have played in the PSL if they were free?And no,players like Walton,Ingram and Denly are not exactly nobodies.They have played for their countries internationally and have played in leagues around the world.Both Denly and Ingram came from the Big Bash if I’m not wrong.

Point 2.
This is where I disagree with you the most and where I agreed most with [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION].You keep calling the PSL, ESL,knowing perfectly well why the stadiums are nor packed.Because it is not Pakistan.The Pakistani demographic in the UAE generally consist of labourers,taxi drivers and are generally poor.Yet we see full crowds in Sharjah on Friday and Saturday,while Dubai is also 60%+ full on weekends.Do you honestly think that if the tournament was not in Pakistan the stadium would not have been jam packed?You should be thankful that the league is in fact in it’s third edition,with only one match being in Pakistan as of yet.

Point 3.

The commentary in this season has been excellent conpared to previous seasons where we had to listen to Robin Jackman and Mel Jones.Michael Slater,Damien Fleming and Bazid have been excellent.Morrison and Wilkins are decent.The weakest link is Ramiz,who should be booted out next seasons and in international matches as well.Production has heen poor I agree,a downgrade from the last 2 seasons.The gimmicks you speak of are from brands that sponsor the PSL.The frequency should be reduced though.

The PSL has not been perfect and has it’s fault.It’s probably the third or fourth in tbe world but you make it sound as if it’s at the bottom and it’s very existence is an embarrasment.Constructive criticism is good but you go too over the top.

Sorry for any typos.I’m in the car

You forgot the most important players. Indian players.

Gully mohallah level Bhuv Kumar and Jaydev Unadkhat were two highest wicket takers of IPL in 2017.... but but but Indian players aren't there :sree :sree :sree

The problem arises when comparing an 11-year-old league with a 3-year-old league.

True. That's why i said PSL is going in the right direction. However the scale can't be matched unless Indians are part of it - players and the crowd.
PSL can truly go to the next level, as many have pointed already, when they move the tournament to Pakistan, have a window like IPL does and have contemporary international stars willing to play in Pakistan. That will solidify it's position as solid No.2

Leave him alone. You are giving him exactly what he wants. If majority on PP start praising Indians and regularly bash Pakistanis then his reaction will be opposite.

Do you realize that he presented facts (statistics) while you presented opinions and vague statements?

This is the exact reason why I didn't "respond" to his post...

Facts trump opinion every single day of the year.... specially opinion of the guy who is well renowned to change them at the drop of a hat.

Honestly your post is the definition of hot air...

You disregarded all of my points where I pointed out the quality of players participating in PSL and what they have done in other leagues and just kept harping about how de Villiers, Warner, de Kock, Amla, Finch, Rabada, Steyn, Stokes, Buttler, Maxwell, Starc, Cummins, Williamson, Smith, Guptill, Taylor etc. aren't there.

For every point of mine you just had this answer.

I can't be bothered to respond to someone who is just like a broken record not making any sense.

I did not disregard your points. I looked at them and simply pointed out the fallacy in your argument. Citing random nobody cricketers as the "main attractions" of the PSL because they have performed in XYZ leagues is ridiculous.

It is not just about having players who have a good track record in league cricket; the IPL is not stupid to spend millions on the big name international players when they can make do with successful franchise cricketers like Walton, Ingram etc. etc.

As long as the IPL has majority of the top players in the world at their disposal, it will always be leagues ahead of PSL and any other T20 league.

Gully mohallah level Bhuv Kumar and Jaydev Unadkhat were two highest wicket takers of IPL in 2017.... but but but Indian players aren't there :sree :sree :sree

Crafty!!! Don't think even Indians care about these players. It's all about Kohli, Smith, Devillers, Warner, Dhawan, Rohit and co. But u knew that already

IPL is so good Jaydev Unadkhat averages 13 in it :)))

I did not disregard your points. I looked at them and simply pointed out the fallacy in your argument. Citing random nobody cricketers as the "main attractions" of the PSL because they have performed in XYZ leagues is ridiculous.

It is not just about having players who have a good track record in league cricket; the IPL is not stupid to spend millions on the big name international players when they can make do with successful franchise cricketers like Walton, Ingram etc. etc.

As long as the IPL has majority of the top players in the world at their disposal, it will always be leagues ahead of PSL and any other T20 league.

No one is denying the IPL is better. You keep talking about attractions but fail to mention that often times, they are not the ones who perform regularly. An example is AB, Gayle, Kohli being on the same team yet failing time and time again.

The point you were trying to make is PSL is low level league, but I presented facts that how can a league be low level when it has players who are amongst the highest run scorers and highest wicket-takers in other leagues some even in your beloved IPL.

This simple fact went over your head.

Phasst Wahab is the highest wicket taker in PSL history. TTFs Sami and Irfan are not far behind. Goes both ways. :najam :najam :najam

No one is denying the IPL is better. You keep talking about attractions but fail to mention that often times, they are not the ones who perform regularly. An example is AB, Gayle, Kohli being on the same team yet failing time and time again.

A simple question. If you had the option of picking AB , Starc , QDK ,Kohli ; would you still go with Ingram , Walton , Bopara , Denly etc ?

Do you realize that he presented facts (statistics) while you presented opinions and vague statements?

Statistics without context belong in the garbage.

What facts?

Using players like Walton, Ingram, Pikachu, Telletubby etc. to prove that the PSL has quality international players at its disposal is not a fact; it is a simply a coping mechanism.

Let me point out the "facts" in my response: The PSL does not have majority of the contemporary international stars and far lesser batsmen than Gayle have piled up the runs in the PSL.

What facts?

Using players like Walton, Ingram, Pikachu, Telletubby etc. to prove that the PSL has quality international players at its disposal is not a fact; it is a simply a coping mechanism.

Let me point out the "facts" in my response: The PSL does not have majority of the contemporary international stars and far lesser batsmen than Gayle have piled up the runs in the PSL.

chalo issi bahanay aap ke favorite cartoons ka toh pata chal geya... :afridi1

What facts?

Does not change the fact that Gayle failed in two seasons in the PSL.