Putting Shoaib Malik’s 2 runs in 22 balls innings in perspective! [2011]

W63L35

Post of the Week winner
2 runs in 22 balls .... with a S/R of 9.09.... pretty horrible batting.

Just wanted to see how common this type of batting is ... by a top order (1-6) batsman from non-minnow teams.

So... here you go..... Malik & Gyle who appear twice in this list!

• sm25.jpg
    sm25.jpg
    179.4 KB · Views: 805
I'm just confused as to why he was ignored at dubai and abu dhabi but suddenly made the team at Sharjah

er Gayle appears in it twice. Strange really wouldn't think he'd be the sort to do that sort of innings, far too aggressive.

Tendulkar, Gayle, Tharanga, Matthew, guy seems to be in good company really. Those four guys are better batsmen than Malik, yet they're in the list.

he may still have a role in the bowling so lets hold off - his fielding is very good

W63L

Hamara deen kehta hai ke apne dusmanoon ko be maaf ker do. aaap becharay ko maaf kioon nahi ker dete :p

his bowling is not needed

the spin trio of Ajmal - Afridi - Hafeez is already more than enough.

the main purpose for slotting him into the team was having a genuine batsman not a bits and pieces cricketer like Tanvir which i find it quite ironic.

W63L

Hamara deen kehta hai ke apne dusmanoon ko be maaf ker do. aaap becharay ko maaf kioon nahi ker dete :p

ooo.... I forgive him.... from the bottom of my heart and I mean it ...because he batted according to his talent, ability and caliber. No complains!

But the selectors who picked him....... well, that is another story! :p

Will repeat the same sentence again, PAK doesn't need players like Farhat/ K Akmal/ Malik etal.

But thinking from Malik's side, he is not considered in TEST matches, ODI's he will be dropped soon, T20's are just 1/ 2 in any series, what should he do then!

What happened to BZ. Haven't seen him. I hope he is okay.

Stats mean nothing to shameless players like Malik, as long as he has backing of Firdous Ashiq Awan he will stay in the team and inflict more suffering on all sane Pakistan fans. Let's hope he uses that family planning kit to good use so future generations of Malik don't inflict the same suffering on future generations of Pakistan cricket fans.

:malik

Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, fullish in length outside off and he pushes it softly back to the bowler
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, stays beside the line and taps it to the off side
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, 1 run, cranks up the pace and he clips it towards midwicket for a single
Pakistan 63/3 Shoaib Malik 1* (3b)
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, no run, gets well forward and steers it to the off side
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, no run, gives him width outside off, he drives but finds backward point
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, no run, tossed up on middle and leg, he gets forward and defends to the on side
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, no run, stays back and defends down the track
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, no run, gets well forward and defends
Prasanna to Shoaib Malik, 1 run, knocks it down to long-on for a single
Pakistan 64/3 Shoaib Malik 2* (9b)
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, full and swinging in, he pushes it down towards mid-on, tries to force it through but can't find the gap
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, holds the length back and he stays back and defends, nippy delivery from Fernando
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, swings in late and he drives it firmly but finds mid-off
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, not convincing there, gets a leading edge towards cover, wasn;t well forward to defend that
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, gloved down the leg side I think, Sanga takes it off the bounce, would have been a really tough one
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, taps it down towards cover
Pakistan 64/3 Shoaib Malik 2* (15b)
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, close! He lunges forward to drive but ends up scooping it towards Dilshan at short point who dives and takes it on the first bounce
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, mixes it up by hitting the deck hard and forcing Malik to arch back a bit to evade it
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, stays beside the line and taps it to the off side
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, reaches forward to drive but he ends up mistiming it down the pitch
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, bit slower off the pitch, he stays back and tucks it to the on side
Fernando to Shoaib Malik, no run, lands it on that channel outside off at good pace, can't do much but leave it to the keeper
Pakistan 68/3 Shoaib Malik 2* (21b)
Mendis to Shoaib Malik, OUT, big appeal for a lbw and the umpire Zameer Haider gives him out! Massive googly by Mendis, Malik is trapped at the crease, he tries to rock back and play but the ball zips back in and traps him in front of the stumps, Malik thinks about reviewing it and discusses it with Misbah but he walks
Shoaib Malik lbw b Mendis 2 (22b 0x4 0x6) SR: 9.09

Daamad ji to ek aur chance dijiye please. hum "ladki"wale ki taraf se yeh ek request hai :)

Why don't you take your Dammad Ji in your team? He can surely bowl better than how Harbhajan bowls these days

It is so obvious this guy needs to go back to first class cricket and get some time in the middle and score runs, it is obvious that he is seriously undercooked but stupid selectors automatically put him back in the squad despite the ridiculously bad performances in zimbabwe.

Why have an out of form batsman as the benchwarmer, it is not helping the team or the player himself. Tell Chigumburas bunny to go score runs in domestic cricket if he wants to wear the green shirt again.

in retrospect
it brought afridi to the crease sooner and we all know what happened then lol

fate

I am not a fan of his but Its a bit sad the way Shoaib Malik has declined in his batting. He seems to be lacking confidence big time.

well to be fair it was his first game to impress sania and he failed.shafiq is far more deserving

Mathews in that list is much worse than him :)))

Plus I think including him in the team ultimately helped us. He bowled some useful overs and is a better fielder than Razzaq.

Whoa! Upul Tharanga made 2 (20) in a world cup final! That's fishy...

He was amazing at 3 under Inzy, give him time and confidence, we really missed him during the world cup, he is a very good rotater of the strike and is able to hit boundaries when required.

I just hope this is sarcasm and if not I have only one numerical for you.... 2011......

Can't live in past, today we have so many better batsman waiting in the wing and Shoaib is holding one place.

To be fair Malik bowled well and is a fine fielder but really I thought that Shafiq deserved that spot. I also thought the attack was a little too spin-oriented though the spinners actually did fairly well

Mathews in that list is much worse than him :)))

That Mathews 1* (21) was from when he was purposefully blocking out overs to turn the strike over to Dinesh Chandimal in order to help the latter reach his 100. A dubious ploy but SL had enough overs left in the game to get away with this. The expression on the skipper's face as he watched this unfold! :)) :murali

er Gayle appears in it twice. Strange really wouldn't think he'd be the sort to do that sort of innings, far too aggressive.

Tendulkar, Gayle, Tharanga, Matthew, guy seems to be in good company really. Those four guys are better batsmen than Malik, yet they're in the list.
Not really, Gayle is a boundary-or-nought player especially early on. It's happened a few times with him that he gets out with a low score off many balls. Either that or a pillaging 100 (91 b 7x4 8x6) :))

yeah but I expected him to get out for nought off few balls, e.g 0 off 2 balls. Not to eat up so many balls and get out on zero.

2 runs in 22 balls .... with a S/R of 9.09.... pretty horrible batting.

Just wanted to see how common this type of batting is ... by a top order (1-6) batsman from non-minnow teams.

So... here you go..... Malik & Gyle who appear twice in this list!

What about absolutely awful Abdul Razzaq innings, where he made something like 4 runs from 80 odd balls? I think it was against Australia. Does that not go on the list? It was what started the whole phyco-spinach diet revelations, where media reports said that his spinach-only diet led to mental health problems! I'm sure you'll be able to dig up the stats for it!

Put kamran akmal as speacialist batsmen if malik fails

why *******??there are many batsmen in domestic cricket waiting for a chance.Fawad alam.shehzad,zian abas,N jamsheed,afaq rahim,sharjeel...to name a few

Malik is a politician he will only create division in the team if he settles within the team again. His performance yesterday really put the team under pressure. He is known for rotating the strike but he failed miserably at that.

Not a supporter of Malik at all however yesterday they did bowl real well to Malik, was clueless against spin which is usually his strong point.

Bowled well though.

You have to play the situation and it was the combination of the pitch and good bowling. However, I was surprised to see that there was little attacking intent. I don't mean slogging but both Malik and Misbah looked to block rather than rotate the strike, tap and run or even striking the ball with any conviction. He is good at this, can't have such a good ODI batting record without either being one, a clean striker or two, a good manipulator of the ball. And according to his highness Rameez Raja, the pitch wasn't that bad.

I think we should bring in Fawad Alam he can bat, bowl and is a brilliant fielder on top of that, and atleast he always looks to rotate the strike unlike Mirza's buddha.

No talent I'm afraid not a natural at all. There are far better players around than him enough is enough one more bad series and that shud be the final nail in the coffin.

What about absolutely awful Abdul Razzaq innings, where he made something like 4 runs from 80 odd balls? I think it was against Australia. Does that not go on the list? It was what started the whole phyco-spinach diet revelations, where media reports said that his spinach-only diet led to mental health problems! I'm sure you'll be able to dig up the stats for it!

:))) I remember that innings, we were swearing at the poor injured Razzler so much. It was a Test match though, this is about ODIs.

Also I think it's a bit harsh on Malik (even though I don't like him much) ... it's his first game on tour and he was under a lot of pressure on a slow pitch ... the only batsmen who got going were Afridi and Ajmal lol. I agree with 90MPH though, he's usually pretty good against spinners, looked useless and down on confidence.

What about absolutely awful Abdul Razzaq innings, where he made something like 4 runs from 80 odd balls? I think it was against Australia. Does that not go on the list?

It was a bad knock, no doubt - but it was a Test so balls wasted was hardly an issue. In fact, that Test was over before Tea on 4th day! Razzaq could have wasted another 100 balls and would have made no difference to result. :))

Furthermore, it was the very first innings of a Test, hence occupation of the crease was important too, for a team that was under the cosh - we had just lost the previous Test by a staggering 491 runs! :O :O

So whilst it was a terrible innings, it is in no way comparable to Mirza's monstrosity. Razzaq was playing Australia's best bowling attack in 25 years, in Aus, in a series where we were being thrashed left, right and centre - very different circumstances indeed.

:))) I remember that innings, we were swearing at the poor injured Razzler so much. It was a Test match though, this is about ODIs.

Also I think it's a bit harsh on Malik (even though I don't like him much) ... it's his first game on tour and he was under a lot of pressure on a slow pitch ... the only batsmen who got going were Afridi and Ajmal lol. I agree with 90MPH though, he's usually pretty good against spinners, looked useless and down on confidence.

Wasn't he ill that day due to spinach overdose?

:)) Good ol' treebeard up to his old antics.

Agreed that S Malik is probably our best player of spin.

Speaking of spinners, what happened to all of our batsmen who couldn't pick the wrongun from the generic Sri Lankan spinner?

Time for malik to show what he's made of!

[consider this a final opportunity]

One thing i learned that his performance in the last game was better and his best as he lasted quite long.

:)) players who get sifarish.

Is Malik the Bradman of Sifarshis or what...100% SR

One Ball, One Out

Is this the end of India's Damadji?

I did not watch today's game, but when Malik got out in Game-4, Sania's reaction was priceless.

She was like ohh **it. :malik

Seems to be regressing. Maybe we are in for a treat on Friday - run out without facing a ball? :))

189994_114401131971856_100002059081677_106955_4479173_n.jpg

just awesome performance today :malik

Hope he blast a run a ball century against the mighty BD to shut up the critics ( including me).

P.S critic is a better word than hater :D

He needs to Leave the team for a far deserving player. He has nothing to offer to the team. He makes our batting look very weak when hes out there. Today we nearly lost because of him. Thank god Misbah and Akmal recovered.

I think it is time he quit gracefully. We have Haider Ali and Khushdil who can easily fill the spot.

I was young back when I started watching cricket in 2011, I remember this innings by Malik it was quite horrible really. It was quite difficult for the batsmen to score runs on this pitch due to the slow outfield, you'd have to muscle the ball pretty hard if you wanted to score a boundary. Plus Malik was out of form during these years, I believe he made a comeback into the team during the 2011 Zim tour; he became a regular once he scored a ton against Zim in 2015 in Pak.

He surely has some sort of Mafia behind him. Pathetic and selfish person.

Malik doesnt deserve to be in the team we already have an anchor in babar and an anchor in rizwan now we need khushdil to finish off the innings