[Report] India jerseys will feature host Pakistan's name for ICC Champions Trophy 2025 [Post Updated #201]

FearlessRoar

'BCCI Bringing Politics Into Cricket': PCB Official Reacts To Reports of Rohit Sharma Not Travelling To Pakistan For Champions Trophy Opening Ceremony

A Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official has lashed out over reports of the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) alleged decision of not sending India captain Rohit Sharma to Pakistan for the opening ceremony of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, which gets underway from February 19.

The opening ceremony of the Champions Trophy will be held either on February 16 or 17.

Rohit was also expected to attend the customary captains’ photo shoot and the pre-event press conference in Pakistan.

India are slated to play all their Champions Trophy matches in Dubai including the clash against Pakistan on February 23 as well as the semi-final and final if qualified.

As per a report in the PTI, a source said that recently three Indian nationals, who were a part of the ICC delegation which came to Pakistan, were promptly issued visas once the world body sent their names to the PCB.

The source said PCB has procured all relevant clearances from its government to promptly issue visas to all captains, players and team officials who will come here for pre-tournament events.

“This obviously includes Rohit or any other Indian team player or official or board official," he added.

Another source confirmed to PTI that the PCB has made it clear to the ICC that the opening ceremony, featuring all teams and their captains, will take place in Pakistan.

“This is in line with the usual protocols and since the opening match is on 19th the opening ceremony can be expected either on the 16th or 17th," the source added.

He said the schedule of the opening ceremony would depend on the warm-up matches list.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has neither denied sending Rohit to Pakistan nor confirmed his travel. However, the PCB official further conveyed his disappointment over reports that the Indian team would not wear Pakistan’s name on their tournament jersey.

“BCCI is bringing politics into cricket, which is not at all good for the game. They refused to travel to Pakistan. They don’t want to send their captain (to Pakistan) for the opening ceremony, now there are reports that they don’t want the host nation’s (Pakistan) name printed on their jersey. We believe that the world governing body (ICC) will not let this happen and support Pakistan," a PCB official, on condition of anonymity, told IANS on Monday.

On Saturday, India announced the 15-member squad for the eight-team marquee tournament with Shubman Gill named as Rohit’s deputy.

In the last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, India reached the finals before losing to Pakistan.

India will start their campaign against Bangladesh in Dubai on February 20 before taking on arch-rivals Pakistan on February 23. India will face New Zealand in their final group-stage match on March 2.

'BCCI Bringing Politics Into Cricket': PCB Official Reacts To Reports of Rohit Sharma Not Travelling To Pakistan For Champions Trophy Opening Ceremony

A Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official has lashed out over reports of the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) alleged decision of not sending India captain Rohit Sharma to Pakistan for the opening ceremony of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, which gets underway from February 19.

The opening ceremony of the Champions Trophy will be held either on February 16 or 17.

Rohit was also expected to attend the customary captains’ photo shoot and the pre-event press conference in Pakistan.

India are slated to play all their Champions Trophy matches in Dubai including the clash against Pakistan on February 23 as well as the semi-final and final if qualified.

As per a report in the PTI, a source said that recently three Indian nationals, who were a part of the ICC delegation which came to Pakistan, were promptly issued visas once the world body sent their names to the PCB.

The source said PCB has procured all relevant clearances from its government to promptly issue visas to all captains, players and team officials who will come here for pre-tournament events.

“This obviously includes Rohit or any other Indian team player or official or board official," he added.

Another source confirmed to PTI that the PCB has made it clear to the ICC that the opening ceremony, featuring all teams and their captains, will take place in Pakistan.

“This is in line with the usual protocols and since the opening match is on 19th the opening ceremony can be expected either on the 16th or 17th," the source added.

He said the schedule of the opening ceremony would depend on the warm-up matches list.

Meanwhile, the BCCI has neither denied sending Rohit to Pakistan nor confirmed his travel. However, the PCB official further conveyed his disappointment over reports that the Indian team would not wear Pakistan’s name on their tournament jersey.

“BCCI is bringing politics into cricket, which is not at all good for the game. They refused to travel to Pakistan. They don’t want to send their captain (to Pakistan) for the opening ceremony, now there are reports that they don’t want the host nation’s (Pakistan) name printed on their jersey. We believe that the world governing body (ICC) will not let this happen and support Pakistan," a PCB official, on condition of anonymity, told IANS on Monday.

On Saturday, India announced the 15-member squad for the eight-team marquee tournament with Shubman Gill named as Rohit’s deputy.

In the last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, India reached the finals before losing to Pakistan.

India will start their campaign against Bangladesh in Dubai on February 20 before taking on arch-rivals Pakistan on February 23. India will face New Zealand in their final group-stage match on March 2.

There is no way Rohit will travelling for pakistan once Indian Team refused . It was someone opinion that Rohit is going to Pakistan which everyone pickup.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 opening ceremony budget expense will be paid by PCB only.if any opening ceremony happen.

India Refuse To Have Host Nation Pakistan's Name On Champions Trophy 2025 Jersey: Report According to a report by IANS, a PCB official has confitmed that India do not want the host country Pakistan's name on their jerseys, which is a tradition that al teams follow during ICC tournaments. The PCB official also accused BCCI of politcizing cricket. He also brought up the fact that Inia refused to travel to Pakistan, and also refiused to send Rohit Sharma to the country for the opening ceremony.

India are all set to begin their campaign for the Champions Trophy 2025 on February 20 against Bangladesh. For the first time since the 1996 ODI World Cup, an ICC tournament is being held in Pakistan. However, India re not travelling to the country owing to security reasons, and will play all their matches in Dubai. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have been at loggerheads regarding the tournament being played in the hybrid mode.

Now, the BCCI are set to take another move which might upset the PCB.

Source: Times Now

@Rajdeep @Bhaijaan @Hitman @cricketjoshila @jnaveen1980 @Vikram1989

The last time we acted this petty was before the 2016 CT final and we got royally embarrassed there.

Given the state of our team right now, these kind of antics must be the last things in our mind. How about focus on putting together a competitive team that can win the tournament? The way we are falling apart right now, not only are we going to get beaten by Pakistan but i am not very sure if we’re going to save ourselves from Bangladesh.

The last time we acted this petty was before the 2016 CT final and we got royally embarrassed there.

Given the state of our team right now, these kind of antics must be the last things in our mind. How about focus on putting together a competitive team that can win the tournament? The way we are falling apart right now, not only are we going to get beaten by Pakistan but i am not very sure if we’re going to save ourselves from Bangladesh.
Most of the stuff That's comes out from your side is normally media hype and thd end result can be embarrassing

This was always on the cards. I have said this before that not only India will play any of its matches outside Pakistan but will also not allow 'Pakistan' written on its jerseys. I can also guarantee that India will not play any of its ICC matches hosted by India in another country like SL etc. for sake of Pakistan. During the time of the tournament Pakistan will surely visit India. Pakistan lost this case when they accepted hybrid model. All that happened since is lip service. PCB should have never accepted the hybrid model and left it for ICC to decide. But now that they buckled, they will face many such humiliations from India.

I also agree it is very petty from India. If we have so much khujli (itching) of associating anything with Pakistan, just don't play them. Simply ask ICC to put us in separate groups, issue solved. Just imagine what other cricket boards think about us..by god :ROFLMAO:

Great point 👍

How petty.

Pakistan needs to make sure Indian national anthem does not get played in any of the matches.
No need to be so petty.

Indian national anthem doesn't belong to GOI or BCCI it belongs to all Indians( many of whom are decent people) so we should ensure it is played and not use it for political purposes.

Most of the stuff That's comes out from your side is normally media hype and thd end result can be embarrassing
Are you saying India will spot Pakistan on their jerseys? They didn't during last Asia cup was in hybrid model and won't do it this time as well. You are exactly the kind of delusional person that PCB caters do when they do lip service.

:rabada2

No need to be so petty.

Indian national anthem doesn't belong to GOI or BCCI it belongs to all Indians( many of whom are decent people) so we should ensure it is played and not use it for political purposes.
Its minor

Hearing Pakistan's anthem being played in India during a packed World Cup stadium filled with Indians was truly satisfying.

Are you saying India will spot Pakistan on their jerseys? They didn't during last Asia cup was in hybrid model and won't do it this time as well. You are exactly the kind of delusional person that PCB caters do when they do lip service.

:rabada2
I don't care if you do or not we are not petty like you indians :afridi

Can anyone tell me what is the issue of having host name printed on team jersey? Surely it is not on any security ground. If Pakistan team can have India written on their jersey during WC2023, why can't we do the same?

If the idea is to not associate us with anything Pakistani, we are literally playing them in a ODI match on 23rd feb.

So very curious what is the purpose behind not having host name written on jersey?

Genuine question - @Devadwal @cricketjoshila @Mesozoic

Can anyone tell me what is the issue of having host name printed on team jersey? Surely it is not on any security ground. If Pakistan team can have India written on their jersey during WC2023, why can't we do the same?

If the idea is to not associate us with anything Pakistani, we are literally playing them in a ODI match on 23rd feb.

So very curious what is the purpose behind not having host name written on jersey?

maybe because we are not playing in pakistan but in UAE just like Asia Cup 2023 .

When you asked me same question earlier in This thread i said Pakistan ka name likho ya nhi usse kya fark padta hai.

maybe because we are not playing in pakistan but in UAE just like Asia Cup 2023 .

When you asked me same question earlier in This thread i said Pakistan ka name likho ya nhi usse kya fark padta hai.

Looks like every thing is happening like last Asia cup - Hybrid model, no host name in jersey.

Will the result of match will also be same like that Asia cup match?

:dw

Looks like every thing is happening like last Asia cup - Hybrid model, no host name in jersey.

Will the result of match will also be same like that Asia cup match?

:dw
Hopefully but i don't feel like there is champion trophy instead construction trophy in pakistan

I

I think we are moving towards a situation where Indian team will refuse to play these pre-scheduled matches with pakistan in ICC events as well.

It will be only knockouts and nothing else.

The title of the thread needs to be changed PCB are not outraged at all its just delusional stuff from india again

unless the OP can give any source Coming from PCB

The title of the thread needs to be changed PCB are not outraged at all its just delusional stuff from india again

unless the OP can give any source Coming from PCB
I'm not sure about the shirt issue but I know that PCB will be happy Sharma doesn't attend the ceremony.

It will be India showing its own isolation. PCB are hopeful he doesn't show up so they can do the ceremony without India.

I'm not sure about the shirt issue but I know that PCB will be happy Sharma doesn't attend the ceremony.

It will be India showing its own isolation. PCB are hopeful he doesn't show up so they can do the ceremony without India.

Indian cricket is isolated? From when?

GoI has stopped the Indian team from travelling to Pakistan because of security concerns. So there's little chance the captain would be sent.

I couldn’t care less what BCCI does, I’m just annoyed how PCB never stands up for itself. Bet you the next tournament hosted by India, we’ll have ‘India’ on our jersey.

I think @mominsaigol will disagree with your assessment of Bharatiya Team.
Why would I disagree?

India is a crybaby nation. I don't hate Indians or anything, but in aus it's very very annoying when Indians flaunt about their country even though they chose to run away from it.

India seeks validation from western countries and tries to bully eastern countries that are below them. They can't do anything against China cause India ki aukaat hi nahi hai, but they can bully Pakistan in virtually all matters.

This has nothing to do with terrorism, they just want to bully PCB for the sake of it. Literally no other reason.

Their approximately 780,000+ Indians living in Australia atm as PR or citizens and the number is close to 2M of you count students + working and regional residents,

Whereas their only 3000 to 4000 Australians living in India give or take despite it being a 1.4B population country.

Oh boy it will really be a complete humiliation if India go on to win the tournament too.

This tournament is going exactly like last Asia cup. Pakistan host but India plays all its matches in neutral grounds. No host name printed on jerseys. If this trend comtinues, India may also win the tournament like Asia cup. Only Siraj is missing to run riot in the final.

Kaptaaaaana will save Pakistan from this ultimate humiliation!

Unlike Asia Cup we have Travis Head and @mominsaigol Bhai in the corner squaring up against India too.

Indian cricket is isolated? From when?

GoI has stopped the Indian team from travelling to Pakistan because of security concerns. So there's little chance the captain would be sent.
If 7 captains are in Pakistan for ceremony and Sharma is in India what other word is there apart from Isolation.

Such an annoying team. This is why any idiot who supports them is as annoying
No one care whom pakistan fan's support or not.

Indians are enough to support Indian team .

We are not even wannabe fans who support others team just to make a point against india

Lol do you know what is isolation menas ?

Isolation means england board are allowed england players to Play in IPL but denied the permission for PSL or others league.

Everyone want to Play against india or in india

Why would I disagree?

India is a crybaby nation. I don't hate Indians or anything, but in aus it's very very annoying when Indians flaunt about their country even though they chose to run away from it.

India seeks validation from western countries and tries to bully eastern countries that are below them. They can't do anything against China cause India ki aukaat hi nahi hai, but they can bully Pakistan in virtually all matters.

This has nothing to do with terrorism, they just want to bully PCB for the sake of it. Literally no other reason.

Their approximately 780,000+ Indians living in Australia atm as PR or citizens and the number is close to 2M of you count students + working and regional residents,

Whereas their only 3000 to 4000 Australians living in India give or take despite it being a 1.4B population country.

You that people usually ignore the opinion of pakistanis on India. Such is the level that IK was reduced to whining on X.

Same applies to you. You are a Pakistani. You don't like Indians. That's like saying the sun rises in the east.

Does it affect Indians. NO.

Lol do you know what is isolation menas ?

Isolation means england board are allowed england players to Play in IPL but denied the permission for PSL or others league.

Everyone want to Play against india or in india

If PCB has a bit of spine, they would force ICC to have Pakistan printed on every participants jersey.

PS: I am still giving this benefit of doubt as no board has confirmed this.

If PCB has a bit of spine, they would force ICC to have Pakistan printed on every participants jersey.

Will the trophy have Pakistan written on it as host nation?

If yes, what happens if and when India wins it?

Will they ask to remove that name from the trophy?

PCB itself in mess because stadium are not ready. Yesterday visit by ICC delegation was surprised and they gave pakistan a deadline to complete all the works .

PCB can't force india because we are not playing in pakistan

Their fans also tend to behave like 5 year olds.

Maturity and decency are missing from them. Seems like a countrywide problem.
5 year olds? A 5 year old is innocent, sweet and a behaving child, these guys burn down their own stadiums 🤣🤣.

Their so desperate to win a cup, they tampered their own pitches and they still couldn't win lol.

Now it's High time for ICC to not included india and pakistan in same group anymore in future ICC events.

PCB can take own stand and not print india name on pakistan team jersey whenever India host any ICC tournaments.

Golden chance for BD and Pak to take revenge on the cricket field by beating mighty India on 20th and 23rd feb. Bolo hai himmat?
Coming from the people who tampered pitches and controlled every aspect of wc 2023 only to lose to Australia 🤣🤣.

You tampered your own pitches and still got owned? Lol.

Never seen a bigger loser cricket nation that uses its power to cheat in world cups. Good to know they can't tamper uae pitches.

Although uae shpuld be ashamed of granting visa entry to Indians fans

Coming from the people who tampered pitches and controlled every aspect of wc 2023 only to lose to Australia 🤣🤣.

Never seen a bigger loser cricket nation that uses its power to cheat in world cups. Good to know they can't tamper uae pitches.

They get pampered like babies and yet they win very little trophies. Just 1 ICC trophy in 12 years (that too against choker South Africa).

:qdkcheeky

Now it's High time for ICC to not included india and pakistan in same group anymore in future ICC events.

PCB can take own stand and not print india name on pakistan team jersey whenever India host any ICC tournaments.
Why would ICC take this stand lol

India is the one who forces the teams to play because of it's broadcast deals

Why would ICC take this stand lol

India is the one who forces the teams to play because of it's broadcast deals
If ICC can take a stand than Broadcasters deal will be based on that stand in future.

But ICC and other boards are useless and greedy who are not doing anything to generate enough revenue

If ICC can take a stand than Broadcasters deal will be based on that stand in future.

But ICC and other boards are useless and greedy who are not doing anything to generate enough revenue

But ICC has no problem with India Pakistan. They want them to play. Only India has the problem. You guys should take the stand.

will be another embarrassment for the Indians if the the Indian shirts actually come out with Pakistan as hosts printed on it

In the same world cup, Indian team have humiliated Pak and BD team. Not sure why are you hiding behind Australia? Australians don't have issue with India. It is Pakistani and Bangladeshi fans that have issue with BCCI and Bharat. Making Australia daddy and expect them to do the dirty job will not help. The only way to take revenge is on the field on 20th and 23rd Feb. Not sure why you guys aren'y confident of your team.

Bolo Hai Himmat

But ICC has no problem with India Pakistan. They want them to play. Only India has the problem. You guys should take the stand.
If ICC has no problem than why not this champion trophy happening without india when india refused to go Pakistan?

India clearly said they don't want to play In pakistan still ICC palce both of them in single group, why?

In the same world cup, Indian team have humiliated Pak and BD team. Not sure why are you hiding behind Australia? Australians don't have issue with India. It is Pakistani and Bangladeshi fans that have issue with BCCI and Bharat. Making Australia daddy and expect them to do the dirty job will not help. The only way to take revenge is on the field on 20th and 23rd Feb. Not sure why you guys aren'y confident of your team.

Bolo Hai Himmat

Yeah they humiliated pakistan and Bangladesh by tampering pitches 🤣🤣.

Their so insecure they had to tanper pitches against Bangladesh and pakistan 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

What was even the point? You guys were facing the weakest pakistan team in history, 2023 team was a joke and you already beat them in Asia cup?

You even tampered pitches against sri lanka and sa? And NZ? Like wth 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Bolo Hai Himmat

As i Said earlier they can make anyone Daddy just to make a point against india because own team is pathetic .

Wannabe fans.

If ICC has no problem than why not this champion trophy happening without india when india refused to go Pakistan?

India clearly said they don't want to play In pakistan still ICC palce both of them in single group, why?

So India was forced to play Pakistan by ICC?

India make the scheduling for champion trophy.lol

ICC had all the options when india refused to play in pakistan

1) Host the entire champion trophy in pakistan without india

2) placed india and pakistan in seperate group

But they don't have any guts because cricket is run by indian money untill other boards are do something about it and generate the enough revenue instead begging than ICC can take any stands

You that people usually ignore the opinion of pakistanis on India. Such is the level that IK was reduced to whining on X.

Same applies to you. You are a Pakistani. You don't like Indians. That's like saying the sun rises in the east.

Does it affect Indians. NO.

Does it affect Indians... maybe not to a macho man like you. However I've been doing a little experiment and you can try the same:

Tell any pretty Indian girl that she looks Pakistani and watch her blush. 9/10 take it as a compliment

Yeah they humiliated pakistan and Bangladesh by tampering pitches 🤣🤣.

Their so insecure they had to tanper pitches against Bangladesh and pakistan 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

What was even the point? You guys were facing the weakest pakistan team in history, 2023 team was a joke and you already beat them in Asia cup?

You even tampered pitches against sri lanka and sa? And NZ? Like wth 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

There has been no pitch tampering in any of the matches in world cup, especially in the games against Pak and Bangla. You seem to be clearly upset about it and making silly excuse. Australian team played well in finals and won. Simple as that.

Anyway, forget about past and lets only talk about upcoming CT.

#HainHimmat

This thread should have gone something like:

Pak fans: That is petty.

Indian fans: Yup, agreed.

*Thread closed*

But alas, across the border, these guys would just try to defend anything and everything. They've really gone off the rails lately with anything related to Pak.

India make the scheduling for champion trophy.lol

ICC had all the options when india refused to play in pakistan

1) Host the entire champion trophy in pakistan without india

2) placed india and pakistan in seperate group

But they don't have any guts because cricket is run by indian money untill other boards are do something about it and generate the enough revenue instead begging than ICC can take any stands

Your board took a stance that they dont want to play with Pakistan because of Mumbai attacks.

Are you really saying that India is forsaking the memory of Mumbai victims because of ICC?

And then you will lecture us about guts when your board does such a thing?

India has the guts to not wear Pakistan's name on a shirt but no guts to say we aren't going to play them to the ICC.

Awaiting official reason by BCCI.

Imo its due to not enough sewing thread in India, maybe Pakistan can send some over?