(Reports) BCCI preparing to abandon Asia Cup & host 5 nation tournament if PCB refuses neutral venue

Whatever it is, it exist and is the reality. The important thing is how to move on from here. Who is going to blink first - BCCI, PCB or ICC?

the law exists? A law has to pass from the parliament. Has is passed from the parliament? PLz show us the law that was passed?

Is a Pakistani challenging that the Indian government is not allowed to stop the Indian cricket team from going to Pakistan? Are you stating that the Indian government is in violation of the constitution?

Why law needs to be passed? The seventh schedule gives power to the union government to frame any rule or policy regarding foreign relations.

Is a Pakistani challenging that the Indian government is not allowed to stop the Indian cricket team from going to Pakistan? Are you stating that the Indian government is in violation of the constitution?

Why law needs to be passed? The seventh schedule gives power to the union government to frame any rule or policy regarding foreign relations.

:facepalm: The formation of a law is when it gets passed by the houses, thats how a law is made thats why it needs to get passed. This way every person would make his own laws.

laws are formed through debate and than voting and than its addition. A bill that gets passed becomes an Act.

So plz show us the law that you claim, paste the law here plz.

Why are you hiding from what you claimed

:facepalm: The formation of a law is when it gets passed by the houses, thats how a law is made thats why it needs to get passed. This way every person would make his own laws.

laws are formed through debate and than voting and than its addition. A bill that gets passed becomes an Act.

So plz show us the law that you claim, paste the law here plz.

Why are you hiding from what you claimed

The law is the seventh schedule of the Indian constitution. It gives powers to the union government to make any rule or policy regarding foreign relations.

Secondly i don't claim anything, the BCCI said that they need government permission. The government ministers said they are not going to give permission.

The court agreed and threw out PCB's case.

So its proven in court. Nothing else is needed.

You are free not to believe or agree.

That decision is still pending in the court. No?

Taxes need to be paid in India. And BCCI is paying those taxes as they didn't get the tax exemptions. If they had got the exemption they wouldn't need to pay.

Paying taxes is the legal way to go.

Taxes need to be paid by beneficiaries. Thats the rule. In this case , revenue generated by ICC sponsors deals , tax should be applied on that revenue. Why BCCI had to pay taxes for icc is the question? BCCI if had any sway over ICC could have put its foot down and refused to pay it 😀 but they risked losing Hosting rights over this issue. So they bent over and agreed to take on 116M$ liability which was nt theirs to begin with.. there is no morality or legality like you are putting it. BCCI footing the icc tax bill just to keep hosting rights

Indian government doesn't give tax exemptions. Thats why after 3 years F1 races stopped in India.

BCCI is doing what it is legally and ethically bound to do. Protect the financial rights of all ICC members. The issue with Pakistan is a different thing altogether. There the law says Indian team will not travel to Pakistan as Indian government has banned it.

Why will Indian sponsors pay money for a tournament Indian team has boycotted and Indian government has banned the team from? Are they foolish?

Go tell the ICC to function without Indian money and lose 90 percent of its revenue. But before that tell this to the ACC. Right now everyone sways to the BCCI money.

If getting sponsors is so easy ask PCB to fund the event and make up financially for the absence of India.

And i am old enough to have seen ICC bend its knee to BCCI in 2002 when Indian players refused to sign ICC ambush marketing clause and sponsors started pulling out when BCCI said it will only send a second 11. ICC tried to threaten Indian stars with a ban. Indian government and courts banned transfer of any money to ICC from India and mooted a possible ban on the ICC CT 2002 broadcast.

Result: ICC came on its knees. Indian players signed a amended clause as per their choice.

Next time learn history.

Daactar sahab, kehna kya chahte ho? :91:

What kind of hypocritical law is this where India is allowed to selectively play against Pakistan? :inti

The law is the seventh schedule of the Indian constitution. It gives powers to the union government to make any rule or policy regarding foreign relations.

Secondly i don't claim anything, the BCCI said that they need government permission. The government ministers said they are not going to give permission.

The court agreed and threw out PCB's case.

So its proven in court. Nothing else is needed.

You are free not to believe or agree.

where is the law that you claimed exists. please show me that law thanks

Daactar sahab, kehna kya chahte ho? :91:

What kind of hypocritical law is this where India is allowed to selectively play against Pakistan? :inti

this is what i have been asking him since yesterday.

he is gone to deflect from law to rule to policy.

ANd now he is saying a law doesnt even need to get passed.

Is India living in a democracy or dictatorship? A law doesnt need to get passed :))

Again wrong.

BCCI said it will send a second string side. Immediately the sponsors were up in arms and not willing to pay.

ICC threatened with a ban. BCCI filed a case in thr Delhi High Court via proxies. Court ordered stoppage of all foreign remittance to ICC from India.

Members of the Indian parliament demanded a ban on the telecast of ICC tournament. The government assured them that if Indian players are banned such steps may be taken.

ICC reeling from such a retaliation, agreed to a modified contract which restricted the Indian players from advertising for a rival sponsor during the tournament only. It also restricted the usage of player images by ICC sponsors for the duration of the tournament only

The earlier rule had put restrictions from 30 days before the event till 30 days after its completion. The earlier rule allowed usage of image rights for 6 months

Thats how BCCI forced the ICC on its knees.

Hahaha

No Court proceedings or Indian Parliament noise did nt effect icc. Infact its BCCI that requested ICC to meet its players. With proof

https://frontline.thehindu.com/other/sport/article30246180.ece/amp/

As I said, law, policy, on paper, in the cloud, in the politician's mind, whatever form it is in, it's reality. The fact is there is no Ind-Pak cricket outside ICC tournaments. Things are at an impasse.

So, focus should be how things can/will move forward regarding Asia cup, WC. Unfortunately, the ICC's silence is deafening.

As I said, law, policy, on paper, in the cloud, in the politician's mind, whatever form it is in, it's reality. The fact is there is no Ind-Pak cricket outside ICC tournaments. Things are at an impasse.

So, focus should be how things can/will move forward regarding Asia cup, WC. Unfortunately, the ICC's silence is deafening.

If there is a law plz show us

Hahaha

No Court proceedings or Indian Parliament noise did nt effect icc. Infact its BCCI that requested ICC to meet its players. With proof

https://frontline.thehindu.com/other/sport/article30246180.ece/amp/

You are posting something that happened in September 2002.

In January the Delhi High Court banned forex remittances to ICC.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cricket/no-india-no-forex-delhi-hc/articleshow/35161652.cms

Two days after this, ICC agreed to accept the altered contracts of Indian players.

ICC knows where its money is coming from.

where is the law that you claimed exists. please show me that law thanks

Already told you

The law is seventh schedule of the Indian constitution.

The ICC accepts it. The court accepts.

You can keep whining about it on PP.. doesn't change the facts.

What can ICC do?

this is what i have been asking him since yesterday.

he is gone to deflect from law to rule to policy.

ANd now he is saying a law doesnt even need to get passed.

Is India living in a democracy or dictatorship? A law doesnt need to get passed :))

Pakistani trying to challenge the actions of Indian government as unconstitutional. :))

Yes the government doesn't need to pass any separate law for deciding foreign policy against a hostile nation. They already have the relevant powers under seventh schedule of the constitution.

Now you or someone from Karachi or Lahore may not agree with it. But thats the law.

Already told you

ICC should have also accepted to pay taxes. Instead they chose the easiest route and ordered BCCI to pay those taxes on their behalf. :inti

Already told you

show me a written law that says India cant tour Pakistan

Pakistani trying to challenge the actions of Indian government as unconstitutional. :))

Yes the government doesn't need to pass any separate law for deciding foreign policy against a hostile nation. They already have the relevant powers under seventh schedule of the constitution.

Now you or someone from Karachi or Lahore may not agree with it. But thats the law.

every law needs to be discussed and passed. Thats how the parliament works in a democracy.

So you are claiming india has a sham democracy now?

plz show us the law here

every law needs to be discussed and passed. Thats how the parliament works in a democracy.

So you are claiming india has a sham democracy now?

plz show us the law here

Foreign policy decisionsdoesn't need to be passed separately in India. The government is empowered to take them by law.

You may not like it. But that's your problem. Not India's.

Foreign policy decisionsdoesn't need to be passed separately in India. The government is empowered to take them by law.

You may not like it. But that's your problem. Not India's.

you claimed there is a law that states India cant travel to Pakistan. Are you ready to accept that you lied? Or are you gonna show us that law

I didn't claim. The BCCI said that they need permission from Indian government to travel to Pakistan. ICC concurred. The court also agreed.

Any foreign policy decision taken by the union government is the law. Thats how the seventh schedule empowers them.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cricket/no-india-no-forex-delhi-hc/articleshow/35161652.cms

Two days after this, ICC agreed to accept the altered contracts of Indian players.

Come on dude. You can do better with proofs. That times of India article is about Wc 2003 and PIL filed to avoid banning Indian team from world cup 2003 but we were talking about CT 2002 and ambush marketing contention between icc and indian players over the issue. This PIL happened 6 months after Indian players had already signed amended clause regarding ambush marketing. Indian Players did nt want to sign the clause at all. But they still ended up signing it. Only thing icc relaxed is number of days applicable. As far Images rights issue , icc did nt bother about it because none of the sponsors had plans to use indian player images for their marketing campaigns. So im not sure how icc bent over the ambush marketing clause? It was signed by indian players afterall

Here is following episode to restraining order from Delhi court. They passed an interim order allowing remittances to flow and news dnt mention anything about icc changing their clauses or contracts

https://m.rediff.com/wc2003/2003/jan/31sc.htm

Come on dude. You can do better with proofs. That times of India article is about Wc 2003 and PIL filed to avoid banning Indian team from world cup 2003 but we were talking about CT 2002 and ambush marketing contention between icc and indian players over the issue. This PIL happened 6 months after Indian players had already signed amended clause regarding ambush marketing. Indian Players did nt want to sign the clause at all. But they still ended up signing it. Only thing icc relaxed is number of days applicable. As far Images rights issue , icc did nt bother about it because none of the sponsors had plans to use indian player images for their marketing campaigns. So im not sure how icc bent over the ambush marketing clause? It was signed by indian players afterall

Separate issues.

The 2002 CT agreement was signed as a temporary measure.

This is from Dec 2002

Indian cricketers have not signed the ICC's player terms, raising objections to image rights and ambush marketing clauses. The last round of the ICC contracts saga before the Champions Trophy in September pitted the ruling body against Indian players who refused to sign contracts until some concessions were made.

This time, to add to the ICC's worries, the BCCI has joined ranks with its players.

https://www.indiatoday.in/magazine/...-to-ambush-marketing-clause-793778-2002-12-22

The Ambush marketing issue again came up before the 2003 WC and this time the players and BCCI refused to sign the agreement.

The ICC threatened with a ban and the courts banned transfer of forex to ICC from India.

Two days after this. ICC agreed to the conditions of Indian players.

Indian players only agreed to abide by the Ambush marketing clause during the event. That was their demand and ICC accepted it.

Btw is there a source to your claim that ICC sponsors didn't plan to use player images?

I didn't claim. The BCCI said that they need permission from Indian government to travel to Pakistan. ICC concurred. The court also agreed.

Any foreign policy decision taken by the union government is the law. Thats how the seventh schedule empowers them.

yes you did claim it was a law. So you are accepting their is no such law and you lied?

Here is following episode to restraining order from Delhi court. They passed an interim order allowing remittances to flow and news dnt mention anything about icc changing their clauses or contracts

https://m.rediff.com/wc2003/2003/jan/31sc.htm

Check the date. 31st January 2003.

On January 24th ICC had already accepted the terms of the players.

Ofcourse Ehsan Mani in his usual anti India stand tried to deprive BCCI of its share and witheld it as he was the chairman of the contracts committee and later ICC President. But once Dalmiya put his foot down in the icc meeting in November 2003, ICC releaso the money.

Btw you can google all of that to confirm.

yes you did claim it was a law. So you are accepting their is no such law and you lied?

Ofcourse its a law/rule/policy whatever you want to call it.

Else BCCI, ICC and the court won't follow it.

Ofcourse its a law/rule/policy whatever you want to call it.

Else BCCI, ICC and the court won't follow it.

you cannot call it whatever you deem like.

A law is something that the court has to follow as its written and binding rest are not.

Which is why i keep asking you are you sure if its a law or not. There is a difference between policy and a law.

A law is something that the court has to follow as its written and binding rest are not.

Which is why i keep asking you are you sure if its a law or not. There is a difference between policy and a law.

The court followed it and PCB lost. No?

I thought the courts did follow it. Unless my understanding is wrong.

It was shown to the court and ICC. They agreed. So whether its shown to you or not is immaterial.

You can keep crying about, doesn't change the facts.

Sorry Bro - that won't cut it.

If you make a claim, back it up with proof or accept it doesn't exist.

damn so the power ICC made BCCI to pay taxes from their own end.. What happened to the bravado of BCCI supporters here

BCCI is going to play their own 5 nation cup, without PCB, what happened to the PCB bravado?

Sorry Bro - that won't cut it.

If you make a claim, back it up with proof or accept it doesn't exist.

It doesn't matter whether you cut it or not.

BCCI made the claim, they proved in court and ICC agreed. They don't need to prove it to you.

Guys, I think these are all futile discussions. I am very sure Asia cup will go ahead - either entire thing will move to Dubai or Indian matches will be played there with PCB paying for hybrid model. It will be very sad for a team like Nepal if this Asia cup is cancelled and I just hope common sense prevails and the tournament goes ahead.

It doesn't matter whether you cut it or not.

BCCI made the claim, they proved in court and ICC agreed. They don't need to prove it to you.

Yes they don't, but YES You do on this forum because this is where we are discussing it.

BCCI is going to play their own 5 nation cup, without PCB, what happened to the PCB bravado?

Any board can arrange a series, whats so big about that?

The post i made was about BCCI being bended over by ICC who are now paying tax from their own money

Yes they don't, but YES You do on this forum because this is where we are discussing it.

I didn't make the claim. BCCI did. Proved it in a court. Once something is proven in court, that's proof enough.

Any board can arrange a series, whats so big about that?

The post i made was about BCCI being bended over by ICC who are now paying tax from their own money

As per ICC rules no board can arrange a tournament involving more than 3 teams.

BCCI is the host. Indian government needs to be paid the tax. So why will ICC pay? The host has to pay.

There is a budget passed for the tournament. Anything above and beyond has to be paid by the host.

As per ICC rules no board can arrange a tournament involving more than 3 teams.

BCCI is the host. Indian government needs to be paid the tax. So why will ICC pay? The host has to pay.

There is a budget passed for the tournament. Anything above and beyond has to be paid by the host.

ok, lets say icc approve quad series.

There have been quad series going on for a long time. Malaysia, Hongkong, Oman play in quad series. There was a quad series going on in Hongkong. Women cricket play quad series aswell.

So no, BCCI has not really done any magic here.

Anyways, good luck to BCCI paying tax after being forced by ICC.

Also, you havent share the law that you claimed

I didn't make the claim. BCCI did. Proved it in a court. Once something is proven in court, that's proof enough.

Where did BCCI made a claim that there was such a law. Plz post that aswell, along with the law.

You are losing any credibility that you had around here

Assuming this report is true and assuming the asia cup participants choose to stay in asia cup then the question is who will be other 4 countries participating in 5 nations cup.
If its Aus, NZ, SA and Eng what about any series already planned amongst them?
On another note if it does involve Aus,NZ,SA,ENG then it will be a cracker of practice tournament ....guess before the worldcup

Is the Asia cup happening?
Is the WC happening?
Where are they going to be played?
Are the schedules out?
Where are the ACC and ICC?
Why are they silent?

Assuming this report is true and assuming the asia cup participants choose to stay in asia cup then the question is who will be other 4 countries participating in 5 nations cup.
If its Aus, NZ, SA and Eng what about any series already planned amongst them?
On another note if it does involve Aus,NZ,SA,ENG then it will be a cracker of practice tournament ....guess before the worldcup

Would like to know this too.

My hunch is based on the way SL and BD tried to convince Pak to let it go and just go for a neutral venue. They may jump ship. BCCI has the money, it will prob not be good for them to **** off the big bad wolf. Can’t really blame them.

Wolf in sheep clothing more like.

Time and time again PCB fools itself into thinking and believing that it is on equal footing with the BCCI. When the simple reality is that the balance-of-power is heavily tilted towards one side. Instead of indulging in these antics for to appease the masses, PCB should just accept to play the tournament at the neutral venue. If you want to play this game, the CT in 2025 would be a better place do play it.

And if PCB think that playing their WC matches outside India is a good idea than they are bigger idiots than anyone could have imagined. Beyond the headlines and political posturing, it serves no benefit to us and would be like cutting off your nose to spite your face.

Would like to know this too.

My hunch is based on the way SL and BD tried to convince Pak to let it go and just go for a neutral venue. They may jump ship. BCCI has the money, it will prob not be good for them to **** off the big bad wolf. Can’t really blame them.

Wolf in sheep clothing more like.

I always thought the BCCI was the big bad wolf. But certain discussions above indicate that the wolf has been brought to it's knees. So nothing to worry or fear anymore!

Is the Asia cup happening?
Is the WC happening?
Where are they going to be played?
Are the schedules out?
Where are the ACC and ICC?
Why are they silent?

WC is happening. In India. Schedule to be released at March end.

I always thought the BCCI was the big bad wolf. But certain discussions above indicate that the wolf has been brought to it's knees. So nothing worry or fear anymore!

We will all know in a few months. No?

Too much dirty politics ruing cricket. From future Asia Cup should only be held in UAE, that’s it.

From the recent statement of EAM Dr S Jaishankar in SCO meeting its crystal clear that what India thinks of Pakistan. Indian Govt. wont allow BCCI to send Indian team to PAK even for CT 2025 let alone ASIA CUP.

Time and time again PCB fools itself into thinking and believing that it is on equal footing with the BCCI. When the simple reality is that the balance-of-power is heavily tilted towards one side. Instead of indulging in these antics for to appease the masses, PCB should just accept to play the tournament at the neutral venue. If you want to play this game, the CT in 2025 would be a better place do play it.

And if PCB think that playing their WC matches outside India is a good idea than they are bigger idiots than anyone could have imagined. Beyond the headlines and political posturing, it serves no benefit to us and would be like cutting off your nose to spite your face.

So just because Iran is not on an equal footing with the USA, it should let the USA walk over them. Please grow a bloody spine will you and have some national pride. You keep conceding to the other parties whims there will be no end to it.

Thanks but I don't need lectures from someone as deluded as you on national pride and growing a spine. Unlike you, I just live in the real world. Where I want to see Pakistan win the World Cup rather than play these petty political games PURELY to make people like you feel good about themselves. PCB are fooling themselves into thinking that will get one over on India. They (and particularly Sethi) have learned nothing from past experiences. If you took off your nationalist glasses and tried to look at the situation rationally, you would know that this situation does not benefit us in any way from a cricketing sense.

People like me are the vast majority of the Pakistani awam which is siding with the PCB on their stance with the BCCI. You can keep living in your real spineless so called rational world.

Also, what an awful comparison. I think you need to read up a bit on your current affairs to understand how bad the Iranians have it because of the US's various embargos and sanctions. Because if you were aware of these things you wouldn't be comparing real life issues between two countries that affect millions with the petty political games of two cricketing boards.

People like me are the vast majority of the Pakistani awam which is siding with the PCB on their stance with the BCCI. You can keep living in your real spineless so called rational world.

And you can keep living in the deluded fantasy where you think that India will come to Pakistan to play the Asia Cup and Pakistan will win the World Cup while playing all their matches in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. They will sooner schedule a 5 national tournament excluding Pakistan and then you can have your World Cup preparation playing 5 match ODIs against Zimbabwe.

Also, I couldn't give two hoots about you throwing this faux patriotism around. So why don't you wave your flag infront of someone who actually cares?

Don't get personal in your posts.

Address the arguments not the posters.

Reality is Asia Cup will not proceed without India. The other participants will be strong armed into declining invitation/attending alternate event in India. This is undeniable fact.

And if Pakistan decide not to attend WC 2023 in India, it will go ahead without Pak.

CT 2025 is too far away at moment. In theory any scenario of below 3 is possible (although #3 is most likely)
1. India attends after Ind govt permission
2. India declines and tourney goes on without them
3. Hybrid tournament with hosting in DXB+Pak wherein Ind play only in DXB.

I haven't cared for Asia Cup ever since the tournament was reduced to the T20 format. Asia Cup in the ODI format was such fun. T20 cricket repulses me.

While I can understand the logic of 2023 Asia Cup setting precedent for 2025 CT, Pakistan should display prudence here.

2023 Asia Cup and WC are fights they cannot win. They can bluster and put up arguments but will have to cave in eventually. Walking out of these tourneys causes actual loss in present for Pak and does not guarantee future benefit (for CT 2025)

Battle for 2025 CT is one PCB will have to fight another day. In the meantime just keep hosting other teams safely and successfully

Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination (IPC) Ehsanur Rehman Mazari met PCB Management Committee Chairman Najam Sethi during his first visit to the PCB Headquarters in Lahore Friday.

The IPC minister said the matters regarding India’s participation in the September’s Asia Cup were also discussed in the meeting.

“The PCB MC’s chairman was of the opinion that initiating diplomatic efforts to come out of the stalemate and ensure India’s participation in the Asia Cup and later Pakistan’s travelling to India to participate in the October World Cup," said Mazari.

"Sethi reiterated his position that unless and until India visit Pakistan to participate in the Asia Cup, Pakistan would not travel to India for the participation in World Cup. We have discussed initiating diplomatic efforts to end the stalemate,” the minister said.

“Both the countries should restart cricketing ties with the Asia Cup as the first event of the new beginning. I will take up the matter with the Foreign Office and see what we can do diplomatically,” Mazari said.

“We have discussed the progress on the mandate given to the PCB Management Committee and the progress in this respect in special context with elections and pending complaints from different districts,” Mazari said.

He added that he also discussed different cricket up-gradation programs and national and international cricket activities. When Sethi was approached, he said that the meeting with the minister was "excellent".

If India do not travel to Pak for Asia Cup matches then Pakistan needs to play on radical Hinduvita sentiment in India and declare it a security risk and ask for their matches to be either played in Pakistan or UAE.

You can't keep letting them getting away with disrespect.

The thing is, whatever BCCI decides, will happen, as they know they have the full backing of ACB, SLC, BCB etc.

BCCI only have to click their fingers and the other Boards follow.

Pakistan will only come for World Cup if BCCI gives 'written guarantee' to PCB on 2025 Champions Trophy participation

KARACHI: Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Najam Sethi will seek a "written guarantee" from BCCI supremo Jay Shah about Indian team's participation in 2025 ICC Champions Trophy in Pakistan before committing on their national team playing its ODI World Cup games in India, later this year.

The 2023 World Cup will be played from October 5 and BCCI have zeroed in on Ahmedabad (for India game), Chennai, Bengaluru and Kolkata as possible venues for Babar Azam's side.

However with ACC under chairmanship of Jay Shah not confirming the proposed 'Hybrid Model' for the upcoming Asia Cup, where India played its matches in UAE and Pakistan play their games in their home country, Sethi apparently has been advised to play the hardball.

According to a reliable source, Sethi is scheduled to leave for Dubai on 8th May where he will hold meetings with ACC and International Cricket Council officials.

The source in PCB said that during his Dubai visit, Sethi is also expected to start lobbying to garner support for Pakistan's "principled stance that it will not play its World Cup matches in India unless the BCCI and ICC give written guarantees India will come to Pakistan to play in the 2025 Champions Trophy."

"Sethi has recently met with some government officials and also obtained advice from them on whether Pakistan should play in the Asia Cup if it is not held in Lahore and Dubai as proposed by the PCB under its hybrid model plan to the ACC," the source said.

He added that Sethi has got tacit approval from the government quarters to convey a strong and blunt stance to the ACC members about hosting the Asia Cup in September.

"Sethi is expected to make it very clear to the ACC members that either they accept Pakistan's hybrid proposal or the PCB will not take part in the competition this year if it is moved from Pakistan."

The PC chairman is unwilling to accept more delays on scheduling of Asia Cup.

"Apparently, Sethi has now realized that it is time for some hard decisions and is not willing to accept any more delays from the ACC on finalization of venues and schedule for the Asia Cup."

"Sethi is clear now no Asia Cup matches in Pakistan, no Pakistan team in Asia Cup," the source claimed.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ticipation/articleshow/100040316.cms?from=mdr

Lets just play India where-ever they wanna play

Beggars cant be chosers is current national motto anyway

Pakistan will only come for World Cup if BCCI gives 'written guarantee' to PCB on 2025 Champions Trophy participation

KARACHI: Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Najam Sethi will seek a "written guarantee" from BCCI supremo Jay Shah about Indian team's participation in 2025 ICC Champions Trophy in Pakistan before committing on their national team playing its ODI World Cup games in India, later this year.

The 2023 World Cup will be played from October 5 and BCCI have zeroed in on Ahmedabad (for India game), Chennai, Bengaluru and Kolkata as possible venues for Babar Azam's side.

However with ACC under chairmanship of Jay Shah not confirming the proposed 'Hybrid Model' for the upcoming Asia Cup, where India played its matches in UAE and Pakistan play their games in their home country, Sethi apparently has been advised to play the hardball.

According to a reliable source, Sethi is scheduled to leave for Dubai on 8th May where he will hold meetings with ACC and International Cricket Council officials.

The source in PCB said that during his Dubai visit, Sethi is also expected to start lobbying to garner support for Pakistan's "principled stance that it will not play its World Cup matches in India unless the BCCI and ICC give written guarantees India will come to Pakistan to play in the 2025 Champions Trophy."

"Sethi has recently met with some government officials and also obtained advice from them on whether Pakistan should play in the Asia Cup if it is not held in Lahore and Dubai as proposed by the PCB under its hybrid model plan to the ACC," the source said.

He added that Sethi has got tacit approval from the government quarters to convey a strong and blunt stance to the ACC members about hosting the Asia Cup in September.

"Sethi is expected to make it very clear to the ACC members that either they accept Pakistan's hybrid proposal or the PCB will not take part in the competition this year if it is moved from Pakistan."

The PC chairman is unwilling to accept more delays on scheduling of Asia Cup.

"Apparently, Sethi has now realized that it is time for some hard decisions and is not willing to accept any more delays from the ACC on finalization of venues and schedule for the Asia Cup."

"Sethi is clear now no Asia Cup matches in Pakistan, no Pakistan team in Asia Cup," the source claimed.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ticipation/articleshow/100040316.cms?from=mdr

Sethi of all people should know the value of BCCI written guarantees

Pakistan should host the 2025 CT, with or without India. Rest of the countries should be prepared to accept the financial losses of India not participating. But i am hopeful that the Indian government will give permission for a ICC tournament.

If today BCCI agrees to give any guarantees to Pakistan that they will go to Pakistan for 2025 CT if Pakistan comes to India then what stops PCB from saying that India needs to tour Pakistan if they want Pakistan to come to India for the 2026 T20 WC, the 2029 CT and the 2031 WC.

What PCB is trying to do will never happen. BCCI will never agree to any scenario where PCB gets any leverage over BCCI. BCCI has worked over decades to make sure Indian cricket is insulated from the shenegians of PCB. They will not give it away.

What they should do is to convince other teams to play thr CT in Pakistan without India. And convince thr BCCI to not put any hurdles in the ICC board.

Pakistan should host the 2025 CT, with or without India. Rest of the countries should be prepared to accept the financial losses of India not participating. But i am hopeful that the Indian government will give permission for a ICC tournament.

If today BCCI agrees to give any guarantees to Pakistan that they will go to Pakistan for 2025 CT if Pakistan comes to India then what stops PCB from saying that India needs to tour Pakistan if they want Pakistan to come to India for the 2026 T20 WC, the 2029 CT and the 2031 WC.

What PCB is trying to do will never happen. BCCI will never agree to any scenario where PCB gets any leverage over BCCI. BCCI has worked over decades to make sure Indian cricket is insulated from the shenegians of PCB. They will not give it away.

What they should do is to convince other teams to play thr CT in Pakistan without India. And convince thr BCCI to not put any hurdles in the ICC board.

I don’t understand - any written agreement between PCB and BCCI regarding India’s participation in the 2025 CT will not have any implications for bilateral series. That will not even be in the scope of such an agreement..

PCB is saying that they will visit India for the 2023 WC only if India gives a written guarantee that they will come to Pakistan for the 2025. This is basically Pakistan trying to leverage the 2023 WC participation for their benefit.

India is to host the 2026 T20 WC, the 2029 CT and the 2031 WC, what stops PCB from leveraging their participation in these events in exchange of bilateral tours by India? Hence BCCI will not give away such a leverage to PCB. They will fight it in the ICC board room.

You bet! There came a brief time period under Imran which could lead us to have honorable membership in ICC again. That is no more the case under looters.