Rightarmfast
Tape Ball Captain
If in case the speculations turn out to be true, I would like him to play one more series before signing it off.
Jaan chhooti, bahot hai. No more series
If in case the speculations turn out to be true, I would like him to play one more series before signing it off.

Dhoni to Remain Unavailable for India Selection till November: Report
Former India captain MS Dhoni, who took a break from cricket to serve in the Army after the 2019 World Cup, will not be available for selection until November this year.
Dhoni’s break was supposed to be a two-month one that saw him remain unavailable for selection for both the tour of West Indies as well as the home T20Is against South Africa.
However, a report in the Mumbai Mirror suggests that he will now be extending his break from cricket, meaning he will miss out on both the Vijay Hazare Trophy as well as the home T20I series against Bangladesh.
This would mean that the veteran wicketkeeper-batsman is likely to return to action only when the West Indies come visiting in December.
Dhoni’s future has been the subject of intense scrutiny in recent times. Ahead of India’s first T20I against South Africa, skipper Virat Kohli had put out a tweet that many interpreted to be a retirement post.
"A game I can never forget. Special night. This man, made me run like in a fitness test," Kohli had tweeted. It led to rumour mills going into overdrive till chairman of selectors MSK Prasad termed it as "false news".
When Kohli was asked what was on his mind when he tweeted, the smiling skipper replied: "Mere zehen mein kuch naahi thaa yaar (I had nothing in my mind). I was sitting at home and I normally put out a photograph and it became a news item."
"I think it was a lesson for me, that the way I think, the whole world does not think that way. There was nothing in farthest stretch of my imagination (that it could be taken as retirement tribute) while putting that picture out on social media," he added.
In Dhoni’s absence, team management has been putting their hopes in Rishabh Pant to step up to the plate and prove that he could be India’s first-choice wicketkeeper for years to come.
https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/...a-selection-till-november-report-2318261.html
I had a chat with a Ranchi resident from Dhoni's area. He claims Dhoni is 1.5-2 years older than his age suggests. Whatever it maybe, just retire unlce please.

It's in the DNA of Indian players I see. Tendulkar, Kapil prolonged their career beyond expiry date,now Dhoni

India vs Australia, 1st ODI: MS Dhoni Becomes Top Trend After India's Humiliating Loss; Wankhede Crowd Chants Dhoni's Name After KL Rahul's Missed Catch of Warner
https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...after-kl-rahuls-missed-catch-of-warner-913248If it was Rishabh Pant throughout 2019, it’s now KL Rahul in 2020, at least up till now, who is facing the wrath of the Twitterverse, trolls and those keyboard warriors who have an opinion on everything under the Sun and seems to take joy out of ‘trolling’ players irrespective of the team targetting every non-descript incident from a match.
While India’s humiliating loss at the Wankhede in the first ODI against Australia on Tuesday was fodder for memes, KL Rahul found himself at the receiving end of the so-called passionate fans of the Indian cricket team. Disregarding the terrific batting form he is in and – the stroke-filled 47 he made earlier in the day, the Karnataka batsman, who had to fill in for Rishabh Pant – out with a concussion – was subjected to unnecessary trolling not just by social media users but also from the well-informed Mumbai crowd.
After missing a tough catch of David Warner, when Australia were closing in on victory, the crowd started chanting MS Dhoni’s name and that was followed by calls for getting Dhoni back for the series. While Rahul kept well as a makeshift stumper, the chance in itself was a very tough one with Ravindra Jadeja sneaking in an arm to fox Warner. The ball pitched on middle and leg and spun viciously, taking the inside edge of Warner, who was out of the crease. Rahul could not react quickly enough to the cover for the turn and a tough chance went begging.
It will up for debate whether even Dhoni would have been able to collect such a tough chance, but who’s willing to give Rahul the benefit of the doubt, nobody. The trolls saw their chance and flooded Twitter with comments directed at the Indian international as if it was at that very moment that India lost the match and the media bandwagon saw it as the buzzing story from the match and went to town with it – including us.
<iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/048ek/gcudku" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Indians are very sentimental and emotional so not surprised. Pretty sure Dhoni's career as an Indian cricketer is done. He will play IPL, and domestic LOI matches.
if his intl career is over then pretty sure he won't play any matches other than IPL...
Dhoni is being a massive drama queen by not making it clear what his plans are.
MS Dhoni middled almost every ball: Jharkhand coach pleasantly surprised
https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...oach-bcci-player-contracts-1637871-2020-01-17Former India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has stunned Jharkhand coach Rajiv Kumar with his fluent batting even as the stumper started training for the first time since India's loss in the semifinal of the 2019 World Cup against New Zealand in July last year.
Speaking to IANS, Kumar said that he was expecting a little rustiness from the batsman, but the balls seemed to be hitting the middle of the bat. The coach went on to add that the Chennai Super Kings skipper's preparations have begun for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League.
"I will be honest... I thought there will be a bit of rustiness as Dhoni has not trained for quite some time. The last time we had spoken, he had said that he would start in January and here you go. He is a man of his words and it came as no surprise that he was out there training with the guys just like any other regular Jharkhand player. But what surprised me most was how he middled almost every ball, be it in the pacer's net or the spinner's net. He even took throwdowns just like a player going through the batting drills does.
"I haven't had any talks with him with regards to the national team and him donning the India jersey again. But, his preparations for the next edition of the IPL has begun and while the senior team will be busy playing the Ranji Trophy game from Sunday, Dhoni will continue training till the time he is in Ranchi," the coach pointed.
Asked if Dhoni did anything specific in the two days that he has trained so far, Kumar said the former skipper spent a lot of time talking to the bowlers.
"He is such a professional and has been going on spending time with the youngsters, especially the bowlers. He is discussing the line and length that they should target and the ways to fox the opposition batsmen. He has been as vocal as can be expected from a senior player like Dhoni," Kumar said.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced the men's central contracts for the period between October 2019 and September 2020 and the major omission was Dhoni. While eyebrows were raised if this meant the end of the road for the Man with the Midas Touch, BCCI officials, as well as head coach Ravi Shastri, have made it clear that the IPL will decide if Dhoni will board the plane to Australia to play in the World T20.
"It all depends on when he starts playing and how he is playing during the IPL. Also, what are the other people doing with the wicket-keeping gloves or what is the form of those players as opposed to Dhoni's form. The IPL becomes a massive tournament because that could be the last event after which more or less your 15 will be decided.
"There might be one player who might be there and thereabouts in case of an injury or whatever. But your team, I would say, would be known after the IPL. What I would say is rather than speculating who is where wait for the IPL to get over and then you are in a position to take a call on who are the best 17 in the country," Shastri had told IANS.
I miss Thala,
Spinners needs guidance from Mahi Bhai and it will be heard on stump mic "Dande pe daal,Aage daal".
We need a finisher in low scoring matches during chase and he will make one sided matches into exciting matches and attract the crowds by doing tuk tuk.
Anyone who gets mom will say in the match presentation that Because of Mahi Bhai I deserve this award.
Had he left the Indian cricket scene voluntarily before WC '15, results of last 2 WCs might've been way different than what they were eventually.Worst thing to happen to Indian cricket after 2013. Preached to others cannot practice.
Had he left the Indian cricket scene voluntarily before WC '15, results of last 2 WCs might've been way different than what they were eventually.
I still can't believe we carried a dead weight like him even in WC '19! Sigh! We royally screwed our own chances through these selections especially during last WC.
Yeah, very hypocritical of him to carry on for close to 4 years despite him being nowhere near his best form.Cannot agree with you more. And even if the replacement and other positions which he affected were a failure, at least that would've been a positive failure and step in the right direction. I am more ****** off with him as he went overboard with "youth, fitness etc" abt senior players.. ultimately what matters is performance ..and he is just physically fit and cannot perform anymore.just like those he quoted back in 2007/8..(not everyone can be as fit as kohli) still shamelessly clings on.
Only in the sub-continent do you see players becoming these larger than life figures so much so that they can do pretty much anything they want after a certain point. I know Dhoni has done alot for India but this is just obnoxious behavior. The selectors at the very least should not be kept in the dark.
MS Dhoni, being a hand eye co-ordination player was finished as a batsman after 2013 CT. At max 2015 world cup should have been his last. But not only did he played the 2019 version but he has't retired even after that. Aparently he wants to play T20 WC, a format where he has zero man of the match and only 1 half century. When he was captain..he removed Sachin, Dravid, VVS, Viru, Gambhir etc who were in much better batting form than what MS Dhoni has today. But he does not want to apply the same rule for himself. Hope selectors never select him again and continue to stick with Rishabh Pant.