[Reports] Pakistan captures one Indian soldier at LoC, several others killed

saeed5646

MUZAFFARABAD: The Pakistan Army on Thursday captured an Indian army soldier and killed eight others in retaliation to India's firing at the first line of defence at the Line of Control (LoC) at Tatta Pani, confirmed security sources.

The capture and and the casualties sustained occurred when the Indian army opened fire across the working boundary, killing two Pakistani soldiers.

The captured soldier, Chandu Babulal Chohan, has been shifted to an undisclosed location.

Details of the captured soldier are:

Father's name: Bashan Chohan

Religion: Hindu

State: Maharashtra

The bodies of the Indian soldiers are still to be recovered by the Indian forces as they lay unattended at the LoC. Security sources say the Indian army has yet to recover the bodies for fear of coming under fire from Pakistan.

Early morning firing
An exchange of fire between Pakistani and Indian LoC troops began at 2:30am and continued till 8:00am in the Bhimber, Hotspring, Kel and Lipa sectors in Azad Jammu and Kashmir, the ISPR statement said.

"Pakistani troops befittingly responded to Indian unprovoked firing on the LoC."

Shortly after the exchange of fire, the Indian Ministry of External Affairs and Ministry of Defence held a joint press conference in New Delhi in which DGMO Lt Gen Ranbir Singh alleged that surgical strikes were conducted by the Indian army on "terror launch pads along the LoC". The strikes will not continue, he said.

The Indian DGMO claimed that "some terrorist teams had positioned themselves at launchpads along the Line of Control".

"The Indian army conducted surgical strikes last night at these launchpads. Significant casualties have been caused to these terrorists and those who are trying to support them... The operations aimed at neutralising the terrorists have since ceased."

Pakistan rubbished the Indian claims of conducting a surgical strike.

"The notion of surgical strike linked to alleged terrorists bases is an illusion being deliberately generated by Indian to create false effects," a military statement said.

"This quest by the Indian establishment to create media hype by rebranding cross-border fire as a surgical strike is fabrication of the truth. Pakistan has made it clear that if there is a surgical strike on Pakistani soil, the same will be strongly responded."

Also read: What is a 'surgical strike'?

The Pakistan Air Force (PAF) said Pakistan’s airspace would be safeguarded at any cost. "PAF is always alert and ready to issue a befitting response to foreign aggression," a spokesperson said.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1286910/

So how was he captured? Pak came into the LOC or he himself surrendered and overstepped the LOC,lets see now how the thread goes?

But but but wasnt there a fence that our Pakistani friends were pointing out earlier.

And then they call us deluded ;-)

I'm starting to wonder if both stories are cooked and the govn of both countries have a deal,also Chandu Babulal Chohan?

So how was he captured? Pak came into the LOC or he himself surrendered and overstepped the LOC,lets see now how the thread goes?

How can Pak troops capture Indian soldier unless Either Pak troops or Indian troops crossed LOC?

In other News, India claiming 38 terrorists killed in surgical strikes across the border.

Can't believe anything these days.

An eye for an eye and the whole world will be blind.

Stop killing each other :facepalm:

We don't need this. Modi needs to realize meaningless war-mongering won't get us anywhere.

in before the Indians disown their own soldier

How did he cross the fence ;-), that Pakistanis are harping about. As brother Syed1 said, LOC is a heavily fortified, mined, fenced border- so how did this chap walk through the LOC now?

Lets hear this one out now.

An eye for an eye and the whole world will be blind.

Stop killing each other :facepalm:

We don't need this. Modi needs to realize meaningless war-mongering won't get us anywhere.

I believe nobody is getting killed. Just some firing and both sides claiming they killed the enemy.

These kinds of News will satisfy the temper of some hot blooded people on both sides.

Both countries cannot afford war. They should stick to pulling each others chaddis in front of the world and laugh about it.

In the morning, it was routine firing. Nothing unusual. Indians lying.

Now Indian Hindu soldier captured. 14 Indians killed. Apparently this all happened overnight, but announce it now for some reason.

So what happened, routine firing that India is hyping up? Or something bigger, which Pak denied earlier.

Stupid response.....if nothing happened, why try and chest thump too?

How did he cross the fence ;-), that Pakistanis are harping about. As brother Syed1 said, LOC is a heavily fortified, mined, fenced border- so how did this chap walk through the LOC now?

Lets hear this one out now.

Indians love jumping to conclusions b, maybe he jumped that fence

I doubt we captured anyone just as i doubt india luanched a deep border raid.

Either we have fabricated this to play a another PR game with our populace , nabbed a random civilian or least likely pounced on an indian patrol

In the morning, it was routine firing. Nothing unusual. Indians lying.

Now Indian Hindu soldier captured.
14 Indians killed. Apparently this all happened overnight, but announce it now for some reason.

So what happened, routine firing that India is hyping up? Or something bigger, which Pak denied earlier.

Stupid response.....if nothing happened, why try and chest thump too?

Have pakistani army disclosed the religion of the captured soldier?

Indians love jumping to conclusions b, maybe he jumped that fence

Then maybe he was a part of the team that went and roamed inside Pakistan allegedy- here sane folks are asking how was it done, should have asked SShakir and he would told ya, no fancy planes or choppers just jump it.

Pakistan answering Indian propaganda with some propaganda of their own.

As long the deaths are only "make-believe" I'm fine with it.

Then maybe he was a part of the team that went and roamed inside Pakistan allegedy- here sane folks are asking how was it done, should have asked SShakir and he would told ya, no fancy planes or choppers just jump it.

i mean judging by the Indian habit of jumping to conclusions seconds after something has occurred...it only is the plausible answer here

Bhai this claim by Pakistan is as laughable as the Indian claim earlier- and one can blow holes in both the countries narrative and that is what we are doing.

Really that is what is happening.

Bhai this claim by Pakistan is as laughable as the Indian claim earlier- and one can blow holes in both the countries narrative and that is what we are doing.

Really that is what is happening.

nish mate, I have no idea who is stating the truth here. I'm just trying to understand the Indian side but it ain't adding up.

Things are just off the rails now. I thought we would be better than this propoganda foolery.

nish mate, I have no idea who is stating the truth here. I'm just trying to understand the Indian side but it ain't adding up.

Indians are selling a dummy to their population and looking at popular it was, Pakistan has joined in the act wrt its population.

All said and done, talks will resume in a few weeks. India needs Kashmir to go off the intl radar, Pakistan needs India to come back to the talks and show some urgency in sorting out Kashmir and also ease up its Eastern border so that it can go back to the Western border.

Indians are selling a dummy to their population and looking at popular it was, Pakistan has joined in the act wrt its population.

All said and done, talks will resume in a few weeks. India needs Kashmir to go off the intl radar, Pakistan needs India to come back to the talks and show some urgency in sorting out Kashmir and also ease up its Eastern border so that it can go back to the Western border.

sure hope things calm down. Loss of life is never the answer and hopefully chest thumping nationalists on both sides can realize that is not the way forward.

Btw Dawn's dropped its breaking news of capture and gone back to no reports of anyone captured.

Fun continues in both the countries.

Thinking from an Indian perspective isnt it better to let go kashmir for you guys? Pakistan will never give up its claim since the population is muslim and the claim is valid since you guys captured hyderabad. Would it not be better for India to reduce its army budget and focus on its economy since it is competing at the world stage.

It must be really suck to get caught in enemy territory at such a stage. No one would want to be in the shoes of that solider

I genuinely think something big is gonna break out between the two countries.

Brace for a war everyone (those living in India and Pakistan).

MUZAFFARABAD: The Pakistan Army on Thursday captured an Indian army soldier and killed eight others in retaliation to India's firing at the first line of defence at the Line of Control (LoC) at Tatta Pani, confirmed security sources.

The capture and and the casualties sustained occurred when the Indian army opened fire across the working boundary, killing two Pakistani soldiers.

The captured soldier, Chandu Babulal Chohan, has been shifted to an undisclosed location.

Details of the captured soldier are:

Father's name: Bashan Chohan

Religion: Hindu

State: Maharashtra

The bodies of the Indian soldiers are still to be recovered by the Indian forces as they lay unattended at the LoC. Security sources say the Indian army has yet to recover the bodies for fear of coming under fire from Pakistan.

Early morning firing
An exchange of fire between Pakistani and Indian LoC troops began at 2:30am and continued till 8:00am in the Bhimber, Hotspring, Kel and Lipa sectors in Azad Jammu and Kashmir, the ISPR statement said.

"Pakistani troops befittingly responded to Indian unprovoked firing on the LoC."

Shortly after the exchange of fire, the Indian Ministry of External Affairs and Ministry of Defence held a joint press conference in New Delhi in which DGMO Lt Gen Ranbir Singh alleged that surgical strikes were conducted by the Indian army on "terror launch pads along the LoC". The strikes will not continue, he said.

The Indian DGMO claimed that "some terrorist teams had positioned themselves at launchpads along the Line of Control".

"The Indian army conducted surgical strikes last night at these launchpads. Significant casualties have been caused to these terrorists and those who are trying to support them... The operations aimed at neutralising the terrorists have since ceased."

Pakistan rubbished the Indian claims of conducting a surgical strike.

"The notion of surgical strike linked to alleged terrorists bases is an illusion being deliberately generated by Indian to create false effects," a military statement said.

"This quest by the Indian establishment to create media hype by rebranding cross-border fire as a surgical strike is fabrication of the truth. Pakistan has made it clear that if there is a surgical strike on Pakistani soil, the same will be strongly responded."

Also read: What is a 'surgical strike'?

The Pakistan Air Force (PAF) said Pakistan’s airspace would be safeguarded at any cost. "PAF is always alert and ready to issue a befitting response to foreign aggression," a spokesperson said.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1286910/

A quick Google search would have given them believable names! hahahaha

That is what is unfortunate and what I'm most worried about. Both governments and media houses are established a situation where war seems inevitable until a third party mediator intervenes.

Show their bodies as proof IMO, otherwise it does not to lessen the rumour mill of they-said-he-said.

14 killed not 8.

Please Update the OP..

Bhai imaginary number hai.. 8 ho ya 800 kya faraq parta hai?

Both sides just giving imaginary numbers. Ever wonder why always these casualties are neat and rounded numbers. 8 'terrorist launch-pads', 38 'terrorists', 2 Pakistan jawan, 8/14 Indian soldiers.

Okay, Indian Army confirmed that their soldier was captured.. Wow that was quick, considering they knew Pakistan would release every bit of information about him Lol..

Wondering how long would it take them to admit their casualties ??

Thinking from an Indian perspective isnt it better to let go kashmir for you guys? Pakistan will never give up its claim since the population is muslim and the claim is valid since you guys captured hyderabad. Would it not be better for India to reduce its army budget and focus on its economy since it is competing at the world stage.

It must be really suck to get caught in enemy territory at such a stage. No one would want to be in the shoes of that solider

J&K has two of the most holiest places for Hindus (Amarnath and Katra) which are visited by most Hindus atleast once,Katra visited every year by most people esp North Indian Hindus.Already once there has been killing of pilgrims to Amarnath.

Any party which gives up J&K would never come to power ever again as the majority would never vote for them.

Agree on the soldier situation though,war is hard on them esp if its being promoted by media.

Wow, woke up to a huge media shi storm from both sides :)) I doubt much happened overnight, other than cross-border firing from both sides and two Pakistani soldiers getting killed.

Everything else seems like hogwash to me, until we see more proof. And idiots on both sides are lapping it up like hungry hounds.

1 indian soldier from 37 RR has "inadvertently" crossed over to the other side of LOC . Pak has been informed by DGMO on hotline: Indian army sources .

Now Indian media reporting this . *** is going on . If true hopefuly the soldier is treated with dignity .

1 indian soldier from 37 RR has "inadvertently" crossed over to the other side of LOC . Pak has been informed by DGMO on hotline: Indian army sources .

Now Indian media reporting this . *** is going on . If true hopefuly the soldier is treated with dignity .

Lol @ Inadvertently crossed :))

Please cite sources

Now we have soldiers accidentally crossing over as well.

This is utterly ridiculous.

It is basically a circus bazaar created by Modi and Nawaz to create hysteria amongst the emotionally naive and immature 1.5B subcontinent population. In the middle of it are caught 24-yr old foot soldiers on either side, who have been sent to die by their overlords.

Sickening stuff.

It is basically a circus bazaar created by Modi and Nawaz to create hysteria amongst the emotionally naive and immature 1.5B subcontinent population. In the middle of it are caught 24-yr old foot soldiers on either side, who have been sent to die by their overlords.

Sickening stuff.

I have seen videos of 2 Indian soldiers being blown up, and despite how anti-India I am it gave me no pleasure to see that. Absolutely none. I agree with you.

14 killed not 8.

Please Update the OP..

J&K has two of the most holiest places for Hindus (Amarnath and Katra) which are visited by most Hindus atleast once,Katra visited every year by most people esp North Indian Hindus.Already once there has been killing of pilgrims to Amarnath.

Any party which gives up J&K would never come to power ever again as the majority would never vote for them.

Agree on the soldier situation though,war is hard on them esp if its being promoted by media.

100% agree with this. Its a sad situation, even if both leaders wanted to solve this issue they wouldnt not be able to because of the public pressure and the situation where their party will never get a single vote ever again. Sorry state of affairs, I think the only solution left is for kashmir to be independent.

This kind of war is the worst, the one fought by the media. Both countries are in their delusion where their country is crushing the other. Social media is making the matters worse. In the end only the media houses win and the armies lose, no matter what happens.

Social media is a curse in a war situation. You can post anything and people will believe

ISLAMABAD / NEW DELHI: Pakistan Army denied on Thursday reports that it had captured an Indian army soldier alongside the Line of Control (LoC) near the disputed Kashmir valley, military sources said.

The military’s media wing, ISPR, when contacted, denied that an Indian soldier was in military’s custody.

The development came in wake of rising tensions between the two nuclear-armed neighbours following an unprovoked cross-border firing from the Indian side of the border which left at least two soldiers dead. However, the Indian military had dubbed the action as “surgical strikes” against militants on the Pakistani side of Kashmir.

Pakistan Army rubbishes India’s claim of ‘surgical strikes’ along LoC

“It is confirmed one soldier from 37 Rashtriya Rifles with weapons has inadvertently crossed over to the Pakistan side of the Line of Control,” Reuters had quoted an Indian army official as saying. He said such incidents of people including civilians crossing the frontier by mistake have happened in the past from both sides and those who strayed are returned.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1190903/pakistan-army-denies-capturing-indian-soldier-along-loc/

I have seen videos of 2 Indian soldiers being blown up, and despite how anti-India I am it gave me no pleasure to see that. Absolutely none. I agree with you.

Exactly, I saw the same videos and instead of bringing joy to my heart I was angered. I felt no sense of pride in the actions of my army.

Human life is human life, whether Indian or not. We all bleed red, if you bleed blue or green you need to go get checked by a specialist.

Sickening stuff.

Whats worse than two neighboring countries being enemies? Their collective population being more than 1.5 billion!

I finished watching Band of brothers, watching the shows breaks your heart for the solider who get caught up fighting our wars. Any person wishing war should watch the show.

1 Indian soldier was either captured or if you believe Indian army sources from Indian media he "deserted". So basically he's a traitor, if news is confirmed.

Exactly, I saw the same videos and instead of bringing joy to my heart I was angered. I felt no sense of pride in the actions of my army.

Human life is human life, whether Indian or not. We all bleed red, if you bleed blue or green you need to go get checked by a specialist.

Another reason why Jahalat is the biggest enemy of both countries. This war is only profitable for the countries providing us with weapons and tech and not pakistan and india.

All such news are are just baseless no one was captured neither india did any surgical strike BUS AWAM KO KHUSH KARO :/

Sickening stuff.

I don't like Nawaz, every one here who has read my posts here knows. But Nawaz Sharif has not done anything or said anything so far to incite public opinion.
Even Indian media is winning the competition of arousing public sentiments against Pakistan.

People need to take a break now from this stupidity. As the say the first causality in war is truth the media should stop twisting and exaggerating things.
Indian DGMO also seems one of the most irresponsible individuals here.

I don't like Nawaz, every one here who has read my posts here knows. But Nawaz Sharif has not done anything or said anything so far to incite public opinion.
Even Indian media is winning the competition of arousing public sentiments against Pakistan.

People need to take a break now from this stupidity. As the say the first causality in war is truth the media should stop twisting and exaggerating things.
Indian DGMO also seems one of the most irresponsible individuals here.

I love how Nawaz and Raheel have handled the situation since the Uri attacks. In 2002 when a similar situation arose the Pak leadership was running from pillar to post engaging everyone diplomatically to resolve the situation.

Now they are just smiling saying "Bring it on". This is what is killing Modi even more.

1 Indian soldier was either captured or if you believe Indian army sources from Indian media he "deserted". So basically he's a traitor, if news is confirmed.

Tribune and Dawn are reporting contrasting reports and but TimesNOW is saying a soldier did cross over.

I want to see this Chandu speak in front of the media just like the terrorist Yadav was made to do so. Seeing is believing!

Nope. I also had similar opinion until i read a decent blog about why Kashmir is important to India. Everything has to do with China. It means China would actually use Pakistan as a gateway to the middle east, it means China can actually surround India from both ends up north etc etc.

It's less embarrassing for India if he was captured but hey this is Indian thinking.

Is this news true, has Indian army confirmed this?

No Kashmiri I have met has claimed that they want to be part of Pakistan. It is a Pakistani propaganda. They all want to be independent and even Pakistanis here know it.

Probably not. I always thought India won the 1999 kargil war and every other war. When I got here and got a little old enought to discuss politics, couldn't believe how many Indians believed that some wars were draw, while Kargil was a loss as Pakistan killed more Indian soldiers than other way around. Never believe in military propaganda, they never tell you the truth, why would they do that ? It is an embarrassment to the whole nation and its defenders (Government and the Military). Even casualties during the "gun fire exchange at the border" stories downplayed. I bet if you can find the figures of "missing in action" and "deserters", half of them were unreported casualties.

No Kashmiri I have met has claimed that they want to be part of Pakistan. It is a Pakistani propaganda. They all want to be independent and even Pakistanis here know it.

I myself am from kashmir :p but from the azad side. Yeah I do agree with that, they'd rather be independent than be with either country and get rid of the bs once and for all but that happening is next to impossible. So if given an opportunity to decide one country I think many will go with Pakistan strictly due to religious reasons

Probably not. I always thought India won the 1999 kargil war and every other war. When I got here and got a little old enought to discuss politics, couldn't believe how many Indians believed that some wars were draw, while Kargil was a loss as Pakistan killed more Indian soldiers than other way around. Never believe in military propaganda, they never tell you the truth, why would they do that ? It is an embarrassment to the whole nation and its defenders (Government and the Military). Even casualties during the "gun fire exchange at the border" stories downplayed. I bet if you can find the figures of "missing in action" and "deserters", half of them were unreported casualties.

You can't believe anything now a days. Throwing social media into the mix has only worsened things with all sorts of news floating around simultaneously. Everyone is loving in their own delusion

What happened to Kashmiri posters from Indian side? They have suddenly disappeared.

[MENTION=136874]Yatoo[/MENTION] bhai used to be very active. I hope he is ok.

There were few others and they are not posting anymore too. I hope they are all ok. Tells you how insecure the country is when they have to shut down Internet to control truth.

Asalamualiakum
Bhai, Mobile Internet blocked in Kashmir. 90 days hogaye.
Ab broadband connection lia, bas wahe chalta hai.
Rest assured, Insha Allaah every Kashmiri poster will be fine.

This mysterious soldier. Now Indian media saying he is with Pakistan and Pakistan denying?!

"Inadvertently strayed in Pak territory"

LIVE: All attempts being made to free soldier in Pak captivity, says Rajnath Singh

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...ity-meeting-line-of-control-pakistan-3057290/

Abhimanyu Chakravorty SEPTEMBER 30, 201612:00 PM
Islamabad-based diplomatic sources, however, told The Indian Express that Chauhan had been captured by Pakistani troops at Jhandroot, west of Mankote, and was now being kept at the military headquarters in Nikayal.

Abhimanyu Chakravorty SEPTEMBER 30, 201611:54 AM
Chandu Babulal Chauhan, a soldier serving with the 37 Rashtriya Rifles, was captured after he “inadvertently crossed over to the other side of the Line of Control”, an Indian Army official said.

Like they say first casualty of war is the truth, Don't know what to believe.

Honestly there are more doubts from the Pakistani side.

First there was a denial of any surgical operations taking place on the Pakistani side and only cross border shooting. Then there was a big headline that an Indian soldier was captured. How can a soldier be captured if he is on the other side of the border. Both sides are withholding information and letting out half baked data to the media.

Honestly there are more doubts from the Pakistani side.

First there was a denial of any surgical operations taking place on the Pakistani side and only cross border shooting. Then there was a big headline that an Indian soldier was captured. How can a soldier be captured if he is on the other side of the border. Both sides are withholding information and letting out half baked data to the media.

Unlike India, Pakistan released videos yesterday showing Indian troops being killed at the border, where he was likely captured.