Shaheen Shah Afridi advised period of rest after injury in the ICC T20 World Cup final

He should never have been allowed on the pitch. Risking somebody's career for a T20 World Cup is stupid.

Shaheen's workload needs to be managed going forwards. Shaheen should only play 50% of Pakistan's ODI and T20 matches.

Save him for tests and tournaments.

Babar Azam on the Shaheen injury:

"Our bowling attack is one of the best in the world. Unfortunately Shaheen Shah Afridi's injury cost us and it could have been a different result"

He should never have been allowed on the pitch. Risking somebody's career for a T20 World Cup is stupid.

Shaheen's workload needs to be managed going forwards. Shaheen should only play 50% of Pakistan's ODI and T20 matches.

Save him for tests and tournaments.

You think he's aggravated it or can he make a full comeback

Shaheen's career > T20 World Cup

I'm sure he will give us great moments in the future. Shaheen needs to be given enough time to properly heal from his injury. If that means sitting out of the England Test matches then so be it.

Short slighted PCB trying their best to ruin our most special talent. As many of us suspected, he was rushed back prematurely.

He should never have played a game this WC. Yes, he did a lot of damage even half fit but that doesn't justify his selection. Even a WC win can't make up for the loss of a talent like him.

I didn't think Afridi walking off the field was the thing to do. I can imagine people tearing into anyone who criticizes an injured player. But the World Cup is the pinnacle for any cricketer. He has enough skills to jog in off a few paces and bowl a couple of economical overs, if he can't go for wickets. That's what Pak craved from him at that moment. I've seen an injured Zaheer Khan trundle in and bowl 100-110 keeping it tight. He also once did this in a test match and tied up Graeme Smith during a critical point. There are plenty of stories from history too of other players putting their personal discomfort aside in pursuit of the greater cause.

Sorry. Many won't like this. But Shaheen let you down today.

"Our bowling attack is one of the best in the world. Unfortunately Shaheen Shah Afridi's injury cost us and it could have been a different result"

Yes, we know that captain obvious, khood bhi kuch kar lena tha na aaj

nope not really.

Even if Shaheen had not got injured, there were two overs of Waseem that needed to be bowled.

you should had bowled nawaz or ifti when stokes walked in so that in the end we wouldnt had been forced to use over qoutas of a bowler already getting hit

It was always going to be a risk playing Shaheen at this World Cup given the seriousness of his injury and the fact that PCB did nothing for 6 weeks about it.

The problem now is that he could be out of the Test series against England.

I'm just worried about his career. He should have never been rushed into the WC without proper rehab. He was visibly unfit in the first few matches and although he got better , today his knee buckling under when taking that match shows he wasn't fully recovered to come back.

Let's just hope he hasn't done any longstanding damage to his recovering knee.

PCB continue to stupidly run shaheen into the group and mismanage his work loads. Hope injuries arent serious and hes fit for england test series.

Pakistan are hopeful the knee injury suffered by pace spearhead Shaheen Afridi during the Final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup is not too serious.

Afridi hurt his troublesome knee when completing a catch during England's successful run chase at the MCG and left the field immediately after delivering one ball from his second spell.

The injury robbed Pakistan any chance of clinching a second T20 World Cup title as experienced all-rounder Ben Stokes quickly took over to guide England to victory.

Pakistan batter Shan Masood - who top-scored for his side with a steady 38 - provided a positive outlook on the left-arm pacer after the match.

"It was certainly his knee, but it could be anything," Masood revealed.

"From what I am hearing, all his ligament tests are clear."

Afridi hurt his knee while fielding in a Test match against Sri Lanka in July and missed out on Pakistan's unsuccessful Asia Cup campaign and seven-match T20I series at home against England.

Masood is hopeful the 22-year-old will make a quick comeback from his latest setback.

"I hope he is fine as he has previously had a serious injury and you are never too sure," he said

"I had one personally four years ago and a knee injury stays with you all the way throughout your whole career and there are times when you think you have done something to your knee again.

"I hope it is one of those cases."

ICC

Shaheen Shah's fielding position post injury in T20 World Cup

While Shaheen Shah's injury was hard luck while taking the catch but he was fielding at long off position. Long on and Long off are considered very important positions and teams keep their fittest fielders. Why was Shaheen Shah fielding at that position in the first place especially after knee injury rehabilitation?
Against spinners I think he could have easily been fielded behind the stumps on either side (short third man or short fine leg).
What is everyone's take on that? For future purposes we need to learn a lesson that fast bowlers need to be protected especially once they are coming back from injuries.

Shoaib Akhtar on Shaheen Shah Afridi:

"I think Pakistan cricket should make a code that never ever carry an unfit player,".

"Now you'll say that I stayed unfit throughout my career. But even if I was unfit, I bowled in such a way that jaws would drop. Then that is not unfit, that is sheer will and madness for my country."

"But when you carry an unfit player, right now Shaheen was bowling at his 70 percent. What happens is in pressure situations, your foot starts to land a foot further and then you stretch yourself when exerting really hard."

"So at that point, if your body isn't strong enough or has a slight niggle, it will explode right away. In my opinion, even before he took that catch, he was unfit the way he was limping.

"But he put in a lot of effort in this World Cup for Pakistan. If I was in place of him and got unfit, people would've murdered me. But we are here and we'll back these players."

Pakistan are hopeful the knee injury suffered by pace spearhead Shaheen Afridi during the Final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup is not too serious.

Afridi hurt his troublesome knee when completing a catch during England's successful run chase at the MCG and left the field immediately after delivering one ball from his second spell.

The injury robbed Pakistan any chance of clinching a second T20 World Cup title as experienced all-rounder Ben Stokes quickly took over to guide England to victory.

Pakistan batter Shan Masood - who top-scored for his side with a steady 38 - provided a positive outlook on the left-arm pacer after the match.

"It was certainly his knee, but it could be anything," Masood revealed.

"From what I am hearing, all his ligament tests are clear."

Afridi hurt his knee while fielding in a Test match against Sri Lanka in July and missed out on Pakistan's unsuccessful Asia Cup campaign and seven-match T20I series at home against England.

Masood is hopeful the 22-year-old will make a quick comeback from his latest setback.

"I hope he is fine as he has previously had a serious injury and you are never too sure," he said

"I had one personally four years ago and a knee injury stays with you all the way throughout your whole career and there are times when you think you have done something to your knee again.

"I hope it is one of those cases."

ICC

See above for update on Shaheen Shah Afridi

I hope Shaheen recovers soon, wish him the best but Knee injuries can be the most difficult to recover from, if anyone of you follow tennis and know what happened to Juan Martin Del Potro you would realize it can be very very serious.

Pakistan for the time being can consider Aamir as a like for like replacement but they won't and Aamir himself has said he has retired.

Anyways, genuinely wish Shaheen is back soon.

according to reports that he might miss months due to his injury.

He should take rest and not come back unless he is fully fit

There goes his career.

A lesson for everyone. If your player has suffered a dangerous injury which takes time to heal fully, never take him along no matter how important especailly if that guy is young and has his whole career up ahead.

Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen were not fully recoevered. See, them playing was not the issue, the issue was because they had the injury, any collapse in fielding could had worsen that, and it happened.

PCB is to be blamed for this. India were able to save Bumrah.

I think this is the end for Shaheen, doubt he would recover enough to be the same bowler. I remember Rumman Raees getting injured, was never the same bowler again.

There goes his career.

A lesson for everyone. If your player has suffered a dangerous injury which takes time to heal fully, never take him along no matter how important especailly if that guy is young and has his whole career up ahead.

Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen were not fully recoevered. See, them playing was not the issue, the issue was because they had the injury, any collapse in fielding could had worsen that, and it happened.

I think this is the end for Shaheen, doubt he would recover enough to be the same bowler. I remember Rumman Raees getting injured, was never the same bowler again.

Generally it is stress fracture or shin issues or back Issues which end career.

Shaheen is not injury prone like shoaib akhtar who had as a child major problems with both knees. Plus he is only 22, so chances of full recovery before Asia cup 2023 are high in order to make him ready for world cup 2023.

There goes his career.

Ruman had spinal issues.

There are chorionic knee issues but I don't think Shaheen has that.

His knee never fully recovered, he made a awkward dive, resulted in worsening the knee. He needs to recover fully 100% before coming back again.

According to reports, Shaheen Shah Afridi's right knee is in a brace, and he could well miss several months of action, including the home Test series against England and New Zealand

I hope lahore qalandars do not rush him in for psl.
Let him skip it, the guy needs to be 100% fit for 2023 world cup in india.

Horrible news. A chance now for Pakistan to build our pace reserves and reduce burden on Shaheen.

He shouldn’t be risked unless 200% fit.

Horrible news. A chance now for Pakistan to build our pace reserves and reduce burden on Shaheen.

This could well dent our dream to see a pace bowler take 300 Test wickets since the two Ws retired

Clear to see where the PCB has placed all priorities

Ramiz Raja has committed a huge crime against Pakistan. He will not be spared!

I hope lahore qalandars do not rush him in for psl.
Let him skip it, the guy needs to be 100% fit for 2023 world cup in india.

The event technical committee needs to allow LQ to release him and remove SSA from the draft completely

You can bet your house selfish guys like Babar would want him in their team in the hope he gets fit on the job.

I didn't think Afridi walking off the field was the thing to do. I can imagine people tearing into anyone who criticizes an injured player. But the World Cup is the pinnacle for any cricketer. He has enough skills to jog in off a few paces and bowl a couple of economical overs, if he can't go for wickets. That's what Pak craved from him at that moment. I've seen an injured Zaheer Khan trundle in and bowl 100-110 keeping it tight. He also once did this in a test match and tied up Graeme Smith during a critical point. There are plenty of stories from history too of other players putting their personal discomfort aside in pursuit of the greater cause.

Sorry. Many won't like this. But Shaheen let you down today.

I would agree if Afridi got unfit during the match.

But he has put his body on the line throughout the world cup - knowing he was not fit.

I was completely against bringing him back early before the tournament began.

But watching him bowl against BD and SA, even at 70%, I thought Pakistan may have done the right thing by playing him against India and Zimbabwe to get him to match fitness for the knockouts.

Clearly I was wrong. He wasn't fit and should not have played this tournament.

Hope its not another ligament tear. Those are the hardest injuries to rehab.

Very poor by the team management if they rushed him back for the cup.

Hope its not another ligament tear. Those are the hardest injuries to rehab.

Very poor by the team management if they rushed him back for the cup.

You can 100% recover from such an injury just need rest and rehab 6 months plus. If NFL running backs can come back from much more severe ACL tears so can Shaheen iA

Beside the medical team, Shaheen himself has to realize not to rush himself back to competitive cricket. We all know he is a hard-working, patriotic and a determined guy and wants to contribute in winning games for his country. Sometimes, players especially fast-bowlers convince the medical team team that they are 100% fit despite not being so.
The medical team will do their job but at the end of the day it's up to the player to decide how much his body is ready to push itself.

You can 100% recover from such an injury just need rest and rehab 6 months plus. If NFL running backs can come back from much more severe ACL tears so can Shaheen iA

I agree! But fast bowling is a bit different from other sports. It puts a lot of stress on the front knee, twice your body weight. So, he might need a few more months to be fully match fit.

I my opinion very soon he has to decide giving up one format if he really wants to consistently bowl fast and have a long career. Otherwise, I fear our desi management will play him every single game even against minnows.

This could well dent our dream to see a pace bowler take 300 Test wickets since the two Ws retired

Clear to see where the PCB has placed all priorities

Ramiz Raja has committed a huge crime against Pakistan. He will not be spared!

Hindsight is 20/20 innit.

There’s a pretty strong chance we don’t make it to the semis w/o Shaheen.

It was a calculated risk that backfired. He now needs to take as long as he needs to recover.

To echo [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] , we need to start planning as if Shaheen is not available at all. He now needs to feel zero pressure to come back early. It goes without saying that he’s out for the PSL, and LQ need to understand that too. That means that he doesn’t need to be around the other players either, as that’ll just make him want to come back earlier.

I agree! But fast bowling is a bit different from other sports. It puts a lot of stress on the front knee, twice your body weight. So, he might need a few more months to be fully match fit.

It’s not more stressful than what a running back days with cutting and having to carry heavy players on his back while running the ball in NFL…not even close

He will recover iA just no cricket for 6 months get him an expert from overseas

Its good we need to learn to live without him. Time for Naseem, Haris and Sameen Gul to be the 3 man attack vs England

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wow. Bad news for the lad. & proves how brave & dedicated he is to even try & bowl another ball in the Final!</p>— Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8) <a href="https://twitter.com/StuartBroad8/status/1592100523117019139?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 14, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

He shouldn’t play for another 6 months minimum. Extremely poor for PCB to rush him into the World Cup.

From PCB:

Pakistan fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi has been advised two weeks rehabilitation after he landed awkwardly while taking Harry Brook’s catch during Sunday’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 final in Melbourne.

The scan conducted on Monday morning prior to the team’s departure for Pakistan, has confirmed there were no signs of an injury and the knee discomfort was likely “due to a forced knee flexion whilst landing”.

The scans were discussed between PCB’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr Najeebullah Soomro, and Australian knee specialist, Dr Peter D’Alessandro, and it was reassuring to know that there was no injury. The left-arm fast bowler is feeling better and is in high spirits.

Shaheen will undergo rehabilitation and conditioning programme that has been designed to strengthen his knee at the National High Performance Centre few days after his return to Pakistan.

Shaheen’s return to international cricket will be subject to the champion fast bowler’s successful completion of the rehabilitation programme and following go-aheads by the medical staff.

From PCB:

Pakistan fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi has been advised two weeks rehabilitation after he landed awkwardly while taking Harry Brook’s catch during Sunday’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 final in Melbourne.

The scan conducted on Monday morning prior to the team’s departure for Pakistan, has confirmed there were no signs of an injury and the knee discomfort was likely “due to a forced knee flexion whilst landing”.

The scans were discussed between PCB’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr Najeebullah Soomro, and Australian knee specialist, Dr Peter D’Alessandro, and it was reassuring to know that there was no injury. The left-arm fast bowler is feeling better and is in high spirits.

Shaheen will undergo rehabilitation and conditioning programme that has been designed to strengthen his knee at the National High Performance Centre few days after his return to Pakistan.

Shaheen’s return to international cricket will be subject to the champion fast bowler’s successful completion of the rehabilitation programme and following go-aheads by the medical staff.

Looking like PCB want him for the forthcoming Tests.
In the morning we heard a different story.

Despite a small break in the last 2 years One of the 6 bowlers who bowled 4000 plus deliveries at the international level (excluding leagues). 4 of them are spinners

Southee 4753 balls
Miehdy Hasan 4740 balls
Leach 4388 balls
Ashwin 4049 balls
Lyon 4015 balls
Shaheen 4001 balls

Good to hear it’s not a serious injury. But he should take all the time he needs to get fully fit. And PCB should only play him in selected matches. He should understand that himself also.

I couldn’t care less about the England series. I hope the selectors have the sense to rest him for that series. Shaheen is the type of talent that doesn’t come along often

Plenty of bowlers for our Test series vs England.

Our pace bowlers need the exposure and hard yards no other way Likes of Hasnain and Dahani will learn.

My first choice would

Hasan Aliq
Dahani
Hasnain
Naseem
Mir Hamza give him a go.

Leave haris away from Test. We have one reliable white ball specialist keep it at that. He carried our bowling for a long while now.

Can’t think of any other players in our system right now.

It looks more of a cover up from PCB. In order to avoid criticism, they won’t release the severity of the injury now and would it once everything settles down saying that the injury was more serious than expected etc .

Bowlers...
nawaz
yasir shah
hasan ali
naseem shah
one more pacer

Ideally I’d want Shaheen to take a break and comeback for the PSL, imagine the hype in Gaddafi Stadium seeing the eagle run in after so long.

Despite a small break in the last 2 years One of the 6 bowlers who bowled 4000 plus deliveries at the international level (excluding leagues). 4 of them are spinners

Southee 4753 balls
Miehdy Hasan 4740 balls
Leach 4388 balls
Ashwin 4049 balls
Lyon 4015 balls
Shaheen 4001 balls
Souther and Shaheen are fast bowlers,the rest are spinners.You can’t compare the two.Some spinners can play until they are in their 40s.Imran Tahir is a good example.Chances of a fast bowler getting injured is very high compared to a spinner due to stress and strains on the body.The run up and delivery stride puts a lot of pressure on the body.

Our pace bowlers need the exposure and hard yards no other way Likes of Hasnain and Dahani will learn.

My first choice would

Hasan Aliq
Dahani
Hasnain
Naseem
Mir Hamza give him a go.

Leave haris away from Test. We have one reliable white ball specialist keep it at that. He carried our bowling for a long while now.

No harm having Rauf in the test team.However he should bowl short spells three or four overs and not bowl more than 12 overs in a day.

Haris will be an excellent test match pacer will create impact. Its not like we play a lot of test cricket that he runs the risk of a burn out.

Get him in.

So his injury must've had hindered his thought process?. Worth noting Naseem looked in more pain and kept running in versus India

He should never have played the world cup

Our brightest pace hope and theyve risked his career I just hope and pray its not anything serious

My first choice would

Hasan Aliq
Dahani
Hasnain
Naseem
Mir Hamza give him a go.

Who is Hasan Aliq? Or did you mean Hassan Ali?

Mir Hamza should have been given a go years ago, is he still any good?

Haris will be an excellent test match pacer will create impact. Its not like we play a lot of test cricket that he runs the risk of a burn out.

Get him in.

With so much T20 matches, people have started thinking the bowlers must be rested in ODIs and Tests. But the ulimate challgende for a bowler is Test cricket. So yes, he should definately play Tests and rather skip some useless LOIs.

It's shame world don't want lose a bowler of his caliber, what kind of organisations is pcb if they can't manage and preserve their real hero who was instrumental in both 21,22 T20 Wc.

It was the right thing to play a half fit Shaheen in such an important cup final. To take him off after his injury was also the right decision. In the 92 WC final IK was also injured too. I am sure we will survive Shaheen's absence without many problems.

It is possible to recover 100% from ACL tear but its a slow process. Even when they are fit it takes time to get back to full fitness which means it would be possible to bowl in shorter formats initially but not in Tests or even ODIs

But from the news reports since it looks like there is no ligament tear which is great news.

It's shame world don't want lose a bowler of his caliber, what kind of organisations is pcb if they can't manage and preserve their real hero who was instrumental in both 21,22 T20 Wc.

Great bowler and not to taunt but his final image in both WC’s was the 3 6’s by Wade and walking of the field respectively but obviously the India game would stick out for most Pakistanis understandably so.

For an Indian. English commentators comment on his early wickets and great bowling. Aussies love our bowling attack..the pace and fire..

I'd be amazed if he's ready to play again in a couple of weeks as PCB has suggested.

Wishful thinking and risking a young players career.

Yes unfortunately another bottler. Did he really want to put it on the line? Left after one ball.

I said this in another thread. I don’t want to see shaheen playing a match for at least another 6 months.

Let him recover properly. The PCB are acting as if we have no other fast bowlers to choose from.

Yes Shaheen may be the best. But there are enough pacers to cover until he’s back to full fitness.

Yes and the lasting memory of Indian bowlers is being spanked out of the park for 15 overs in the semi final.

The memory of them being spanked by two accumulators last year was just starting to dissipate until another grand performance to remind us

I'd be amazed if he's ready to play again in a couple of weeks as PCB has suggested.

Wishful thinking and risking a young players career.

He can miss the England test series , shall return for the 2 Tests v New zealand.

Pakistan has to win 4 out of 5 home tests to have a chance to reach WTC final.

By simply keeping shaheen in the sidelines with fear he will get injured etc this way he will never be able to
Play any cricket at all. And ultimately will lose his touch just like aamir did not play cricket for so long, he never remained the same bowler.

He is 22, he has 8 years left in him to produce maximum results for Pakistan. Fast genuine bowlers after 30 definitely lose a yard of pace. They never remain the same. In fact bigger worry is Rauf, who is 29 & technically june t20 2024, might be his last world cup with genuine fearsome pace.

We neee to find a replacement of Rauf quite soon and let shaheen, naseem play as much as possible. They are not for window shopping. They are meant to play for pakistan.

Yes unfortunately another bottler. Did he really want to put it on the line? Left after one ball.

He tried his best it's obviously he was in pain.He put himself on the line in the first couple games even thou he wasn't fully fit and still after taking that catch you could see that he was struggling but still tried to bowl.

He can miss the England test series , shall return for the 2 Tests v New zealand.

Pakistan has to win 4 out of 5 home tests to have a chance to reach WTC final.

By simply keeping shaheen in the sidelines with fear he will get injured etc this way he will never be able to
Play any cricket at all. And ultimately will lose his touch just like aamir did not play cricket for so long, he never remained the same bowler.

He is 22, he has 8 years left in him to produce maximum results for Pakistan. Fast genuine bowlers after 30 definitely lose a yard of pace. They never remain the same. In fact bigger worry is Rauf, who is 29 & technically june t20 2024, might be his last world cup with genuine fearsome pace.

We neee to find a replacement of Rauf quite soon and let shaheen, naseem play as much as possible. They are not for window shopping. They are meant to play for pakistan.

Shaheen needs to recover fully and whilst he's not then he should not be risked.Amir didn't play for a long and Shaheen injury will only keep him out for less than 3 months.

He tried his best it's obviously he was in pain.He put himself on the line in the first couple games even thou he wasn't fully fit and still after taking that catch you could see that he was struggling but still tried to bowl.

I think Naseem was worse in Asia cup

Shahid Afridi replying to Shoaib Akhtar saying SSA should have taken painkiller and played on etc

When former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi was asked the same during his interaction with Samaa TV, he lashed out at his former teammate saying that painkillers have a lot of side effects on the body and should be only taken in a disciplined way.

"Nehin, nehin, nehin...main nehin samajhta ki yeh jayas baat hai. Painkillers sirf akhti taur pe hota hai. Humne bhi bohot dafa kiya hai. But uske bhi side effects bohot saare hote hai. Kyunki uss time toh sunn ho jati hai and pain khatam ho jati hai, but pain aur zyada bar jaati hai next day (No, no…not at all, it's wrong. Painkillers should be taken in a disciplined manner. I too used to take it. But it has a lot of side effects. It does numb the pain for a while, but after the match day, it tends to pain even more)," he said.

Maybe he never has another opportunity in a World final. It's certainly no guarantee. The first ball was not bad. But obviously still reeling from the original injury so totally understandable

I would be making sure that Shaheen gets the best medical opinions and treatments possible and if that means sending him to the US or UK all expenses paid then it should be done. I am not a medical expert but I given its a world cup year next year I would not want to play him unneccassarily - would hold him off test matches and T20's and when fit play him in ODI's.

He shouldn't play the NZ and Eng series at all.

Let him rest!
Agree.Pakistan management should have tried other pacers against lower ranked teams like Bangladesh,Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.The bench strength can become strong and bowlers can be rotated. Muhammad Umar,Sameen Gul,Dahani,Waseem,Hasnain and Akif should have been tried in tests.PCB should take care of Ihsanullah,Zeeshan Zameer and Muhammad Zeeshan.They are good future prospects.

Gotta say 3 formats + franchise must take a toll on these athletes especially the big stars who are expected to play every game.

Definitely felt like Naseem injury was worse.
But Shaheen has the injury from before the world cup so he could have aggrevated it further if he carried on.

Naseem was not injured. He was cramping. Obviously he was super brave to fight against India in a super important game and believe he also won the fans with bowling while cramping up. I think he recovered to full fitness the next game.