Shakib Al Hasan opts to skip Test series against Sri Lanka to play in the IPL

Executioner

The most high profile cricket of Bangladesh is injured, banned, busy attending birth of his children half the time and when he is fit, what does he do? Ask for leave from an important test series.

I have been a big supporter of Shakib. IMO he would go down as one of the ATG allrounders but after this decision he should be lucky to be put in the same bracket as Moien Ali. Disgraceful.

==

Shakib Al Hasan has decided to skip the upcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka to be available for the complete duration of IPL 2021.

However, the all-rounder is likely to be part of the three-match ODI series before the Test assignment, given he proves his fitness.

The two-match Test series between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will take place in April. IPL 2021 is expected to begin in April as well, with Shakib Al Hasan set to be part of the T20 extravaganza after being bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 3.2 crore.

Bangladesh Cricket Board's cricket operations chairman Akram Khan confirmed the development, sharing that Shakib Al Hasan had informed the board of his decision.

"He (Shakib) had recently given us a letter [asking] to skip the Test series against Sri Lanka as he wanted to take part in the IPL. We have given him the permission as there is no point pushing someone who is not interested to play (Test for the national team)," Khan said.

This will be the second international assignment Shakib Al Hasan has opted out of in quick succession.

The 33-year-old was earlier granted paternity leave for Bangladesh’s white-ball tour of New Zealand in February-March.

How will Shakib Al Hasan fit at KKR in IPL 2021?

Shakib Al Hasan ticks off a lot of bases for the Kolkata Knight Riders.

The 33-year-old is a threat with both bat and ball and can slot anywhere in the batting order for KKR. Shakib Al Hasan also offers the team an alternative to Sunil Narine, who has struggled in recent years.

The left-arm bowler will add variety to KKR’s spin attack, while also giving them flexibility in the batting department.

Shakib Al Hasan made a stunning return after his ban and was adjudged player of the series in the ODI series against Bangladesh.

Shakib scored 113 runs in three ODIs at an average of 56.50. He also picked up six wickets at an outstanding economy of 2.26.

He has been part of KKR in the past, winning the title with them in 2012 and 2014.

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket...pl-international-cricket-opts-sri-lanka-tests

The most high profile cricket of Bangladesh is injured, banned, busy attending birth of his children half the time and when he is fit, what does he do? Ask for leave from an important test series.

I have been a big supporter of Shakib. IMO he would go down as one of the ATG allrounders but after this decision he should be lucky to be put in the same bracket as Moien Ali. Disgraceful.

If I recall it right, he took a break from playing in SA. After that, I don't have the same view about Shakib. BD hardly plays cricket in places like Aus, SA, Ind, etc... When the team got to play then he takes a break.

Top 5 Asian test all-rounders:-

1. Imran
2. Ashwin
3. Kapil
4. Jadeja
5. Shakib

He is a rich man's Moeen Ali.

This is why we need to groom new players and move away from Shakib, however, BCB are bunch of cowards. They will always give into his demands.

Liton, Miraj, Saifuddin will be much more impactful players for BD than our "Fab 4."

Not surprising and well justified as to the kind of atmosphere we have created today.

Cricket is primarily not a sports anymore - it has been turned into a commercial business. And all what matters in a business is MONEY !

As I posted previously, Hanif Muhammad said in an interview that he used to ride on an old bicycle to reach the ground to play a TEST match. For which, he would receive Rs 50 as the entire match fee.
And never for once, those players cared about, money, match fee or felt shy riding a bicycle.
It was ALL ABOUT the love for the game and fight for the country. And that’s it.

Complaining from modern day players to show nationalism and patriotism is not only ironic but foolish as well.

We have turned the game into a mujra, so let’s watch it now.
Don’t complain on the moral character of the dancer.

Top 5 Asian test all-rounders:-

1. Imran
2. Ashwin
3. Kapil
4. Jadeja
5. Shakib

He is a rich man's Moeen Ali.

He had the potential of being 2nd easily and was heading there but he had other priorities.

What's wrong with this "idiot"
People trying to put him in ATG lists
Meanwhile the guy is playing tamasha league over test cricket

I mean someone needs to educate him about treat cricket and it's legacy

No one would judge him by his IPL stats down the line...

Truly disappointed at these amir type of cricketers now a days

He had the potential of being 2nd easily and was heading there but he had other priorities.

Nope. If he had the potential to be 2nd best easily, he would have done better vs India. Most SENA teams come to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka as preparation strategy for India tour.

As all format player, he had the potential to be third best behind Imran and Kapil.

In tests, it was always going to be 4th best based on people counting the likes of Shaun Pollock, Ravi Ashwin and Daniel Vettori as all-rounders as I feel their weaker suit is at same level.

Never understood why he's rated so highly. He took bucketload of wickets against Zimbabwe and West Indies. Did not do much against top teams anyway. Highly overrated. Always skips important tours and plays series on doctored Bangladeshi pitches. Average player at best.

Sakib may be the best Bangladesh player ever produced but he's not even in the top 100 of the world. Average player with good performances against minnows. That's how he'll be remembered.

All I wanna know is the reaction of their board's chairman! The guy spits comedic gold every time he talks :)))

Sakib may be the best Bangladesh player ever produced but he's not even in the top 100 of the world. Average player with good performances against minnows. That's how he'll be remembered.

No, he pretty much sealed the deal by having the most scored runs most part of 2019 World Cup in a place where we hardly play.

No one is doubting his ability to play.

Wasim and Waqar would skip playing for Pakistan for county seasons. Let's not villanize the IPL players, it's a once in a lifetime money making opportunity, if they don't make themselves available for the whole season, they will not get picked again by the Franchise owners

Not surprising and well justified as to the kind of atmosphere we have created today.

Cricket is primarily not a sports anymore - it has been turned into a commercial business. And all what matters in a business is MONEY !

Name one single sport as popular as cricket or more that doesn't fit this description.

Not talking about you or anyone in particular but the sanctimonious attitude that desi people have in general towards people other than them earning more money through legal means is astonishing. Just cuz players back then rode bicycle and earned peanuts doesn't mean current players have to go through the same hardships to pass the desi morality test. If old players were all such icons of morality and saviors of our value system they wouldn't be abandoning their countries in droves to join packer which was a direct rival to the mainstream international cricket.

BTW I am not a t20 fan which is why you hardly see me posting on the IPL, PSL threads and it hurts me to admit this but I recognize that T20 is the future, this is the way to garner newer and casual fanbase in a fast paced world where people by and large hate to think deep and concentrate. This is the crucial evolutionary phase that will ensure the survival of this great game for generations to come. I love this game too much to see it reduced to having a cult following rather than a fanbase. I accept this and made my peace with it.

Now coming to the main topic of Shakib, I am actually surprised by his decision and I would probably be furious too if I were a BD fan.

Wasim and Waqar would skip playing for Pakistan for county seasons. Let's not villanize the IPL players, it's a once in a lifetime money making opportunity, if they don't make themselves available for the whole season, they will not get picked again by the Franchise owners

I agree. It is easy for people to judge others, but one has to provide financial security for themselves and their families. It is not as it he can earn money from playing for more than a few more years.

There is no justification for this behaviour. Bangladesh made Shakib, not the other way round. It’s a slap on the face of every fan out there, who want to see Shakib try and win them games of Test cricket. Over-rated cricketer.

Liton, Miraj, Saifuddin will be much more impactful players for BD than our "Fab 4."

Your Liton, Miraj and Saifuddin together probably won't achieve the quarter of what Shakib achieved so far as a player. Finding a proper replacement of a ATG bat or bowler is hard enough, replacing an ATG ali-rounder is one of the most difficult tasks in cricket.

Looks like he will leave test cricket soon. I dont know how true it is, but i heard he lives in USA most of the time. So may be he is looking to earn as much as possible before settling in usa.

Shakib's heart hasn't been in Bangladesh for a long time.

Also I think he lives in the US now.

Maybe he wants to play more T20 cricket considering its a world cup year? Bangladesh has no immidiate future in test cricket anyway and neither its fans cares much about that format. So why would he skip the opportunity to play in a league which will:

a) Pay him 4 crore rupees

b) Makes him ready for world cup where he can perform best for his country

Not surprising, Bangladesh would lose with or without him. No point wasting effort into a losing cause.

At his age , every player will worry more about future financial security. Shakib has like 2-3 years more left in this game - so why not make best use of it. Especially after being banned for 2 years & the disruptions caused by the pandemic which has hurt players financially ( just like everyone else )

Its very easy for others to judge someone - when u r not in his footsteps

he knows Bangladesh most likely will get hammered in these test series, and hes earning huge amounts of money playing with other superstars in these t20 leagues, no brainer really especially when your coming towards the end of your career.

He is either a coward or a traitor. And it is funny to see some of my fellow Indian fans defending his decision more than the Bangladeshis here. These are the same fans who have never left any opportunity to make fun of Shakib before. Some of them even called Kohli a coward for taking paternity leaves. Bunch of hypocrites. :inti

I been saying it for a while, Test cricket has become a complete joke and not a even playing field any more. The only country that is able to concentrate on test cricket properly is India and then England and Australia but even their players will be ready to skip test series for IPL money.

Test cricket performances should not matter any more in my opinion. The game has cricket is in disarray.

It obvious atleast 90% of players regardless of which country will prefer to make money during a short career. It would be the same if it was Indian players even as that's just how the world goes.

Playing for KKR is a bigger deal then playing for a team like Bangladesh

Bangladesh might as well save everyone’s time and surrender their Test Status.

What is the point if your greatest ever player doesn’t have respect for the format?

The best decision that BCB could take is to not select him for any formats going forward. Need to send a strong signal to other players.

Playing for KKR is a bigger deal then playing for a team like Bangladesh

If thats true then whats the point of international test cricket ranking and test championship etc? Shakib is a top class international player and if he wants to play IPL instead then clearly any wins for any team in test cricket in this era must have an asterisk to say not all class players were interested in playing test cricket?

What a sorry state of affairs for test cricket, the only team so far that has not been affected is India no wonder they have gained in ranking since all this has started.

What's wrong with this "idiot"

No one would judge him by his IPL stats down the line...

His bank balance will. That is all that matters. Put yourself in his shoes and you will jump ship with out batting an eyelid.

IPL is scheduled at a bad time this year. Intermational teams have not played as much due to the pandemic, so they will look to schedule series in asap.

I don't understand why a comprise cannot be reached where a player plays some of the IPL and plays the international games whenever they are scheduled.

If thats true then whats the point of international test cricket ranking and test championship etc? Shakib is a top class international player and if he wants to play IPL instead then clearly any wins for any team in test cricket in this era must have an asterisk to say not all class players were interested in playing test cricket?

What a sorry state of affairs for test cricket, the only team so far that has not been affected is India no wonder they have gained in ranking since all this has started.

If Bangladesh was a proper team by now, he’d have more reason to play for them; he has carried the team on his back for too long, more recently BD were humiliated by WI C team, that’s the harsh reality, as good as Shakib is, there is only so much he can do with a sorry bunch of cricketers. Therefore, at this stage of his career can’t blame him for maximising his earning potential.

His bank balance will. That is all that matters. Put yourself in his shoes and you will jump ship with out batting an eyelid.

LOL he isnt poor and wont die poor

A lot of the IPL apologists behave like IPL is the lifeline for 3rd world people who may end up back into the slums without it

Shakib is a reasonably wealthy guy, main issue here is he just gets up in the morning and is like cba with Bangladesh, can’t blame him, he is good cricketer who has had to endure far too many spankings, BD fans must be use to it but Shakib doesn’t want to be a part of another humiliation

Even if you have 100s of crores, you won't shy away from a few 10s of crores. Easy to sit here and preach when it isn't you who is losing out on crores.

Im not preaching at all. Its his finances at the end of day and not mine, but I dont buy this bank balance nonsense because I am yet to see a pro cricketer die of hunger and famine because he didnt get to play IPL or county cricket in his lifetime.

Shakib is a reasonably wealthy guy, main issue here is he just gets up in the morning and is like cba with Bangladesh, can’t blame him, he is good cricketer who has had to endure far too many spankings, BD fans must be use to it but Shakib doesn’t want to be a part of another humiliation

Yeaht thats why I think Bangladesh might as well move on from Test cricket. Failed project IMO

Shows a lack of pride. He has made enough money already. he should be playing for his nation and inspiring them, instead he is playing for the Indians and their money

Im not preaching at all. Its his finances at the end of day and not mine, but I dont buy this bank balance nonsense because I am yet to see a pro cricketer die of hunger and famine because he didnt get to play IPL or county cricket in his lifetime.

Lol !!!

You seriously think making money only is about not dying with hunger and famine.

Lol !!!

You seriously think making money only is about not dying with hunger and famine.

You brought up the 'bank balance' will start crying theory. Why else does Bank Balance matter? Are Bangladesh not paying him sufficiently for his services?

So apparently BCB going around hiring some very expensive coaches, and Im sure they pay their top player top dollar also...yet the 'bank balance' is at risk if he misses out on IPL

IPL supporters come up with the biggest garbage theories when it comes to finance and economics

If Bangladesh was a proper team by now, he’d have more reason to play for them; he has carried the team on his back for too long, more recently BD were humiliated by WI C team, that’s the harsh reality, as good as Shakib is, there is only so much he can do with a sorry bunch of cricketers. Therefore, at this stage of his career can’t blame him for maximising his earning potential.

Lol @ this post.. He is not bigger than Bangladesh team.

Everyone will do the same, there is nothing wrong in what Shakib is doing. Yes, mediocre players who are not good enough may try to behave like for them money doesn't matter and no matter how many dollars is thrown on them, they will not pick it ahead of country because they know that they were never good enough to get the price.

Yes most players will choose money over a career for their country specially if there is a big difference but this undermines international cricket for all teams. If good players of other teams stop playing test cricket and not take it seriously then what value test cricket will have for those teams who are taking it seriously.

In the last 10 years its been clear the teams that are less affected by IPL money are the one gaining in ranking i.e India as their schedule never clash, England and AUS after that as their players earn the most after India.

Everyone will do the same

Thats a big generalization where you are saying that for everyone big bucks always overtake prestige of playing international cricket, representing your country and off time to rest your body.

So a question, why Mitchel Starc has not been playing IPL for some years now (If I am not wrong)? Do you think he is just a mediocre T20 bowler who couldnt get as much as some others?

Kagiso Rabada has also said that he will play for SA against Pak when Pak tours SA and will miss that period of IPL if the schedule is such.

So your statement is very generalized without much to back it in my opinion. You could have said maybe a lot of players will do the same, using the word “everyone” is extreme in my opinion.

Thats a big generalization where you are saying that for everyone big bucks always overtake prestige of playing international cricket, representing your country and off time to rest your body.

So a question, why Mitchel Starc has not been playing IPL for some years now (If I am not wrong)? Do you think he is just a mediocre T20 bowler who couldnt get as much as some others?

Kagiso Rabada has also said that he will play for SA against Pak when Pak tours SA and will miss that period of IPL.

So your statement is very generalized without much to back it in my opinion. You could have said maybe a lot of players will do the same, using the word “everyone” is extreme in my opinion.

Exactly. Test appearances are prestigious. But I’m not sure they mean much to Bangladesh because they have not been able to learn how to compete in this format for over 2 decades.

He's almost 34 and knows he is closer to the end than the start, so he's trying to make as much money as possible before he calls it a day.

Might as well do it in the right way and retire from Tests and maybe International cricket all together. Not this pick and choose attitude. What’s the worst that will happen? He will just be vilified like AB was, but people will just get tired of it after a year or so.

Lol @ this post.. He is not bigger than Bangladesh team.

I think he is mate, the only all time great they ever produced; Shakib is BD’s Imran Khan, Ian Botham etc it’s a shame they made him get on his knees not so long ago, Shakib is actually bigger then BD and he would make any other teams XI / win more games, Shakib realises it is just not worth it and better to enjoy his cricket else where while he can

[MENTION=130260]Executioner[/MENTION] - How about Mustafizur? Will he play tests or choose IPL?

That is harsh man :))

It is but also very true unfortunately, it’s a shame mate we all want BD to be a force on the big stage. But at this point KKR is more respectable and a team you would want to wake up in the morning for, I think the longer Shakib plays for BD the more he hurts his legacy. We all love his stats may as well hold on to them and ride of into the sunset playing for teams which are more respectable

England players will be skipping NZ test matches for IPL. Why blame Shakib only?

Kagiso Rabada has also said that he will play for SA against Pak when Pak tours SA and will miss that period of IPL if the schedule is such.

It depends on a lot of factors

Mitchell Starc is one of highest paid Aussie cricketers - he has million dollar central contract + lucrative sponsors. He can afford to give IPL a miss

Kagiso rabada is in his early 20s. He can afford to focus on his test career now

Remember Shakib always played for Bangladesh earlier instead of IPL. In 2015 when Pakistan toured Bangladesh , Shakib withdrew from IPL to play for his nation. Bcoz at that time he was still in his 20s

When u are 33 , u start worrying about ur future & financial security - especially if u dont earn that much from national duty . Pretty sure Kagiso Rabada at 33 will most likely choose IPL over test cricket when he realize he is getting old & running out of time

He is an Australian cricketer who can afford to prolong his international career a bit but it is only a matter of time when he will take a call on that and would like to make the most of the final years by bagging a million dollar contract . The demand will always be high for him as he will bring pace, fire and aggression which is what IPL looks for most.

As for prioritising T20 leagues especially IPL, Brendon McCullum did the same too and Sanga too retired after 2015 World Cup at its peak. de Villiers was stupid to retire a year ago before the world cup. He could have played smarter, done his pick and choose matches and retire after World Cup, he probably had a stiff with South African board and ultimately decided to retire in a bizzare manner.

Even David Warner has made his intentions clear too by giving a signal that he is planning for retirement . He is loved and appreciated immensely in Hyderabad for his performance for SRH who generally perform beyond their potential in IPL.

At the end of the day, every player will look to time his retirement well but also make the most of whatever money that can get from T20 leagues and try not to miss it. I have stayed in Kolkata for a decent period so I am convinced that KKR fans will shower their love and madness on Shakib like they did to Narine and Shakib will certainly not like to miss out on that.

If Pak players had half as much jazba, khuddari and hub al watni as Pak fans they wouldn't be flocking to the gully mohalla level T10 leagues. Wonder why their fans are such selfless, patriotic, non-materialistic, larger than life characters while players are by and large the opposite?

Lol I can't stop laughing now. Why BCB let this happen to Shakib, why can't they stop him to play IPL. If he don't care, BCB should kick him out permanently from national team.This is beyond joke lol.and what he has done to called him ATG.laughable.

He is an Australian cricketer who can afford to prolong his international career a bit but it is only a matter of time when he will take a call on that and would like to make the most of the final years by bagging a million dollar contract . The demand will always be high for him as he will bring pace, fire and aggression which is what IPL looks for most.

As for prioritising T20 leagues especially IPL, Brendon McCullum did the same too and Sanga too retired after 2015 World Cup at its peak. de Villiers was stupid to retire a year ago before the world cup. He could have played smarter, done his pick and choose matches and retire after World Cup, he probably had a stiff with South African board and ultimately decided to retire in a bizzare manner.

Even David Warner has made his intentions clear too by giving a signal that he is planning for retirement . He is loved and appreciated immensely in Hyderabad for his performance for SRH who generally perform beyond their potential in IPL.

At the end of the day, every player will look to time his retirement well but also make the most of whatever money that can get from T20 leagues and try not to miss it. I have stayed in Kolkata for a decent period so I am convinced that KKR fans will shower their love and madness on Shakib like they did to Narine and Shakib will certainly not like to miss out on that.

Problem in Shakib's case is that he is openly prioritizing T20 league while currently being "Available" for all forms of international cricket and he hasnt taken retirement from any format. Shakib is 33 and maybe still has around couple of years of international cricket left in him so missing few days of IPL wouldnt have been end of the world considering he can play leagues full time even post 35 for few years. Other than Westindian last gen of players you wont see many such examples in last decade if any where player while available to represent his country in a format openly opts out of it to play in favor of a league.

B Mac was around 35 years of age while Sanaga was 37 when they retired and they were not prioritizing league over an international tours in their playing days. They took retirement from cricket and every career has to come to an end at some point of time. Yes if we push it we can say that maybe league cricket made them retire a year or so early but, most cricketers retired around similar age even before the T20 leagues with exceptions in between.

Its Shakib's call but, I dont agree with the part everybody does that when we dont have many such examples of players in similar scenarios to fill the bucket of everybody.

It's pretty common in North American sports where players choose NBA/NHL over playing for their county. I have seen players opt out of Olympics to ensure they don't get injured and are fit to play in the leagues.

It's unfortunate but this is where Cricket is heading - Players opting out from representing their countries to play for T20 leagues around the globe.

No, he pretty much sealed the deal by having the most scored runs most part of 2019 World Cup in a place where we hardly play.

No one is doubting his ability to play.

He gets burdened a lot and Bangladesh need to chop and change, find the next Shakib Ul Hassan. It's a selfish move to opt out of an important test series to play the IPL.

Might as well do it in the right way and retire from Tests and maybe International cricket all together. Not this pick and choose attitude. What’s the worst that will happen? He will just be vilified like AB was, but people will just get tired of it after a year or so.

He possibly still "want" to play the upcoming 2 wt20s. Just doing a Chris Gayle who still hasn't officially retired from any format.

It depends on a lot of factors

Mitchell Starc is one of highest paid Aussie cricketers - he has million dollar central contract + lucrative sponsors. He can afford to give IPL a miss

Kagiso rabada is in his early 20s. He can afford to focus on his test career now

Remember Shakib always played for Bangladesh earlier instead of IPL. In 2015 when Pakistan toured Bangladesh , Shakib withdrew from IPL to play for his nation. Bcoz at that time he was still in his 20s

When u are 33 , u start worrying about ur future & financial security - especially if u dont earn that much from national duty . Pretty sure Kagiso Rabada at 33 will most likely choose IPL over test cricket when he realize he is getting old & running out of time

Starc initially pulled out of two IPLs due to injury. He was then unceremoniously dumped by KKR and he isnt a darling of IPL teams. His wife Elyssa Healey has been very critical of IPL, Indian team etc, so he isnt getting any IPL bids anytime soon. He knows this, and stays away.

Delusional. Having Starc would be an IPL teams wet dream. Starc just doesn't want to play.

This is the IPL, not some tin pot league bereft of Star names. Starc was thrown out of KKR and he whined about it.

IPL doesn't need Starc.

I can list quiet a few Stars,IPL owners didn't buy. Root is one.

Starc has played the IPL. Now with his international stature going down, he will play IPL in the coming years and probably even PSL 10-15 years from now.

Name one single sport as popular as cricket or more that doesn't fit this description.

Not talking about you or anyone in particular but the sanctimonious attitude that desi people have in general towards people other than them earning more money through legal means is astonishing. Just cuz players back then rode bicycle and earned peanuts doesn't mean current players have to go through the same hardships to pass the desi morality test. If old players were all such icons of morality and saviors of our value system they wouldn't be abandoning their countries in droves to join packer which was a direct rival to the mainstream international cricket.

BTW I am not a t20 fan which is why you hardly see me posting on the IPL, PSL threads and it hurts me to admit this but I recognize that T20 is the future, this is the way to garner newer and casual fanbase in a fast paced world where people by and large hate to think deep and concentrate. This is the crucial evolutionary phase that will ensure the survival of this great game for generations to come. I love this game too much to see it reduced to having a cult following rather than a fanbase. I accept this and made my peace with it.

Now coming to the main topic of Shakib, I am actually surprised by his decision and I would probably be furious too if I were a BD fan.

What do you want Shakib to do instead?
Pass on the lucrative IPL deal and show his patriotism by playing test cricket, because you were not expecting him to go for IPL?

He did exactly what he wanted to do BECAUSE he had a choice. I am happy for him.
We are dangling the carrots and we want players not to go for it? Why?

I am all for Shakib to go for it.
Many of us would've done the same.