Shakib Al Hasan opts to skip Test series against Sri Lanka to play in the IPL

This is the IPL, not some tin pot league bereft of Star names. Starc was thrown out of KKR and he whined about it.

IPL doesn't need Starc.

I can list quiet a few Stars,IPL owners didn't buy. Root is one.

IPL is a timpot league that top players view as a paid vacation.

Root is definitely a big one, but thing is he was never much if a T20 player.

starc is like, one of the best LOI bowlers in the world. They absolutely would jump at a chance to have him.

Let me give YOU an example of IPL catering to stars - look at Maxwell. Awful in IPL but yet gets sold at such a high price even though it's obvious he doesn't give a damn about ipl. It was hilarious how he destroyed England and India on either side of IPL 2020 but didn't give a toss during IPL. :))

This is the IPL, not some tin pot league bereft of Star names. Starc was thrown out of KKR and he whined about it.

IPL doesn't need Starc.

I can list quiet a few Stars,IPL owners didn't buy. Root is one.

Who needs Starc when you have Sir Jaydev Unakat? Yeah this is the IPL where players like Jaydev Unadkat earns 10 crores lol. :inti

Forget that, why do IPL teams sign pacers like Hazelwood, Southee or Pattinson? Those guys are completely mediocre in T20is. Clearly they would love Starc.

starc is like, one of the best LOI bowlers in the world. They absolutely would jump at a chance to have him.

Let me give YOU an example of IPL catering to stars - look at Maxwell. Awful in IPL but yet gets sold at such a high price even though it's obvious he doesn't give a damn about ipl. It was hilarious how he destroyed England and India on either side of IPL 2020 but didn't give a toss during IPL. :))

If a professional is getting paid $2M to work and you say he is treating it as a vacation, then it says more about that individual lol. I don’t know if that attitude about work ethic comes from personal experience but any normal individual would be stressed out when he has a huge money riding on him.

In fact My only criticism of IPL is it has broken the back of some weaker boards as players don’t seem to care about playing for their national side anymore.

If Modi govt gives noc for Pak players and IpL has a rule they shouldn’t play any other league trust me it will empty out the entire Pakistan locker room. Hell ICL could do it, just imagine what IPl can do.

Forget that, why do IPL teams sign pacers like Hazelwood, Southee or Pattinson? Those guys are completely mediocre in T20is. Clearly they would love Starc.

I don't know much about them but I was shocked when a guy like Unadkat got a contract of around Rs 10 crores. That's the only one I remember from the top of my head. It seems like a lottery league and I won't be surprised if some players pay to get selected in these types of leagues. :inti

If a professional is getting paid $2M to work and you say he is treating it as a vacation, then it says more about that individual lol. I don’t know if that attitude about work ethic comes from personal experience but any normal individual would be stressed out when he has a huge money riding on him.

In fact My only criticism of IPL is it has broken the back of some weaker boards as players don’t seem to care about playing for their national side anymore.

If Modi govt gives noc for Pak players and IpL has a rule they shouldn’t play any other league trust me it will empty out the entire Pakistan locker room. Hell ICL could do it, just imagine what IPl can do.

In Maxwell's case it does seem suspicious how he suddenly turns to form during internationals though. Steve Smith is another example.

You can relax. I definitely think Pakistan cricketers are greedy and that's why I want pakistan to pay it's test crickets more. They arent clear either.

Don't need to get spiteful. I am a well wisher of Indian cricket but I certain don't like the ego boost IPL gives some Indians.

Except a select few, almost every other fast bowler in the world is "mediocre" in T20s if you think about it.

Daaamn bruh! :akhtar

:aag

A once very good poster has turned into another Indian troll. Sad to see how the contamination process has taken over. Come on, rid your self of that nasty troll toxin and return to your old self.

It's also impacted [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION]

I don't know much about them but I was shocked when a guy like Unadkat got a contract of around Rs 10 crores. That's the only one I remember from the top of my head. It seems like a lottery league and I won't be surprised if some players pay to get selected in these types of leagues. :inti

Yeah some signings just make no sense!

In Maxwell's case it does seem suspicious how he suddenly turns to form during internationals though. Steve Smith is another example.

You can relax. I definitely think Pakistan cricketers are greedy and that's why I want pakistan to pay it's test crickets more. They arent clear either.

Don't need to get spiteful. I am a well wisher of Indian cricket but I certain don't like the ego boost IPL gives some Indians.

I guess in Aus he is given a lot more freedom as he is considered a “tailunt”, same thing we get carried away in SC as well.

In IPL the money he gets comes with a lot more accountability as he reports to cut throat corporates.

Also he is mentally fragile (not sure if that is the right word). Didn’t he have depression issues?

May be he just can’t take the heat.

Trust me in a couple of years when he gets picked for base price he might perform real well.

Starc is competing with Rabada, Nortje, Boult, Archer etc. Only a dumbo will draw such lame parallels out of desperation. Oh wait...... :inti

Coming to the topic...

The WT20 is going to be in India. I'm pretty sure that tournament is of far more significance for a team like Bangladesh than a Test series in Sri Lanka. Bangladesh has a realistic chance of getting into the deep end of the tournament if they play to the best of their potential and for that to happen , their best player (Shakib) needs to be at his absolute best. Nothing better than the IPL to get yourselves ready for a T20 WC in India esp for a BD player.

But ofcourse, if he's just doing this for the moolah well.....

Starc is competing with Rabada, Nortje, Boult, Archer etc. Only a dumbo will draw such lame parallels out of desperation. Oh wait...... :inti

Not sure how many times are you going to make a fool out of yourself here but you should look at the amount those guys are earning in Pyjama League and compare it with Jaydev's. I am pretty sure none of them are earning that much so it is either owners of these teams who are dumb or their fans who can't even see the difference in their earning according to their experience in International cricket. Shows what a joke this league is. :inti

What do you want Shakib to do instead?
Pass on the lucrative IPL deal and show his patriotism by playing test cricket, because you were not expecting him to go for IPL?

He did exactly what he wanted to do BECAUSE he had a choice. I am happy for him.
We are dangling the carrots and we want players not to go for it? Why?

I am all for Shakib to go for it.
Many of us would've done the same.

Arey sir ji you didn't get my point. I couldn't care less what Shakib does with his own career. Yes, many of us would have done the same and that is the sole point of my post. I am actually lampooning the desi holier than thou attitude towards earning big bucks rather than supporting or criticizing his own personal career decision. On the other hand I'd probably be heartbroken and felt betrayed if I were a BD fan same way Pak fans would be hurting if say Babar skipped a test or two to play league cricket.

Coming to the topic...

The WT20 is going to be in India. I'm pretty sure that tournament is of far more significance for a team like Bangladesh than a Test series in Sri Lanka. Bangladesh has a realistic chance of getting into the deep end of the tournament if they play to the best of their potential and for that to happen , their best player (Shakib) needs to be at his absolute best. Nothing better than the IPL to get yourselves ready for a T20 WC in India esp for a BD player.

Not even India could win a T20 World Cup when it happened in India last time but yeah nothing better than IPL to get yourselves ready lol. :inti

Not sure how many times are you going to make a fool out of yourself here but you should look at the amount those guys are earning in Pyjama League and compare it with Jaydev's. I am pretty sure none of them are earning that much so it is either owners of these teams who are dumb or their fans who can't even see the difference in their earning according to their experience in International cricket. Shows what a joke this league is. :inti

So one bad signing and the whole league is trash?

I guess the whole Prem was "trash" when Liverpool signed Andy Carroll for 35M €.. :))

Arey sir ji you didn't get my point. I couldn't care less what Shakib does with his own career. Yes, many of us would have done the same and that is the sole point of my post. I am actually lampooning the desi holier than thou attitude towards earning big bucks rather than supporting or criticizing his own personal career decision. On the other hand I'd probably be heartbroken and felt betrayed if I were a BD fan same way Pak fans would be hurting if say Babar skipped a test or two to play league cricket.

That’s exactly what I said.
The only difference is, I won’t be hurt if I was a Bangla fan and had seen Shakib stepping over Test to play IPL.
Just as I am not disappointed that Amir opted out of Test.

My point in the original post was;
Times have changed, priorities have changed and the game is changed. It’s somewhat unrealistic to expect patriotism, now that we are waiving dollars.

Coming to the topic...

Bangladesh has never won a single match in the 2nd round of a WT20 ever. Why would shakib care about our chances in WT20. And he has played in every WT20 till date.

The only difference is, I won’t be hurt if I was a Bangla fan and had seen Shakib stepping over Test to play IPL.

Times have changed, priorities have changed and the game is changed. It’s somewhat unrealistic to expect patriotism, now that we are waiving dollars.

Shakib is the only world class we have. He is one of the greats of the game

There are other players who are as good if not better than Amir in pakistan right now.

Big difference

A once very good poster has turned into another Indian troll. Sad to see how the contamination process has taken over. Come on, rid your self of that nasty troll toxin and return to your old self.

It's also impacted [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION]

Lol I remember [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] used to be balanced and all
nowadays he is edging towards the dark side - Indian trolls...
Come back bro :jordan

There are other players who are as good if not better than Amir in pakistan right now.

Big difference

Are you finding it strange that those fans who used to make fun of Shakib, didn't rate his performances are now calling him world class and defending him even more than Bangladeshi fans just because he is playing in IPL? :inti

Bangladesh has never won a single match in the 2nd round of a WT20 ever. Why would shakib care about our chances in WT20. And he has played in every WT20 till date.

Last time around, a Shakib-less Bangladesh team was '10 minutes of sensible cricket' away from beating India in 3 match T20I series in India. Last T20 WC was 5 years ago. I hope you know where I'm going with this.

When top players dump test cricket to play the IPL, that tells you how important it is for the players. As i said, its not some copy cat league, surviving on over the hill stars or little known players or international rejects. Those league may die to get Starc. IPL doesn't.

IPL team KKR dumped Starc. He whined about it.

Root has better T20I stats than Smith or Kane.

IPL is the world's biggest cricket league, owned by the most powerful board and teams run by some of the richest men, it doesn't need. Starc. Just like it doesn't need pakistani players or the audience.

There is a difference in the wickets in England UAE and Australia.

Just because some leagues are starved of star power, doesn't mean IPL is.

Was feeling the same. He used to be a South African supporter initially but changed his team after Africa declined. :inti

Starc has played the IPL. Now with his international stature going down, he will play IPL in the coming years and probably even PSL 10-15 years from now.

PP favourite Hashim Amla, initially didn't play the IPL and then quietly put his name in.

Fair enough.

Only thing is I do not believe in the myth of selfless patriotism of the former cricketers, if they had so many avenues of earning bucks back then like current players have today they would by and large have done the same.

India are playing top cricket these days, so gotta appreciate and enjoy, man!

When top players dump test cricket to play the IPL, that tells you how important it is for the players. As i said, its not some copy cat league, surviving on over the hill stars or little known players or international rejects. Those league may die to get Starc. IPL doesn't.

IPL team KKR dumped Starc. He whined about it.

Root has better T20I stats than Smith or Kane.

IPL is the world's biggest cricket league, owned by the most powerful board and teams run by some of the richest men, it doesn't need. Starc. Just like it doesn't need pakistani players or the audience.

There is a difference in the wickets in England UAE and Australia.

Just because some leagues are starved of star power, doesn't mean IPL is.

oh boy... :rabada2:saslam

wanted to write a big post but this will do

(Not calling you a anything btw you are a very smart guy but coundt find a better illustration of chest thumping..)

Was feeling the same. He used to be a South African supporter initially but changed his team after Africa declined. :inti

They are playing pretty awful cricket by their standards these days.

But I enjoy watching Markram and Van der Dussen bat. Can't say the same about rest though.

Last time around, a Shakib-less Bangladesh team was '10 minutes of sensible cricket' away from beating India in 3 match T20I series in India. Last T20 WC was 5 years ago. I hope you know where I'm going with this.

Shakib played that match

oh boy... :rabada2:saslam

wanted to write a big post but this will do

(Not calling you a anything btw you are a very smart guy but coundt find a better illustration of chest thumping..)

Well Starc deserved getting dumped.Now his wife spends time tweeting against IPL,Bcci, Indian team and Indians.

But really, one nation or few players dont make much difference to the IPL.

Look at Smith, a much bigger name, yet he hasn't said a word since his ipl earning got slashed from 12.5cr to 2.2cr this year. But Starc kept whining.

Stupid move, BCB and Bangladesh are going in upward trajectory, he will lose a lot of fans with this.

Well Starc deserved getting dumped.Now his wife spends time tweeting against IPL,Bcci, Indian team and Indians.

But really, one nation or few players dont make much difference to the IPL.

Look at Smith, a much bigger name, yet he hasn't said a word since his ipl earning got slashed from 12.5cr to 2.2cr this year. But Starc kept whining.

look you are perfectly capable of a reasonable reply without covertly bringing in PSL/Pakistan and converting it into a chest thumping moment :azhar2 progress...
"As i said, it's not some copy cat league, surviving on over the hill stars or little known players or international rejects."
And I have no love for the arrogant Starc he seems to think the world owe him or something
That's why the whinnying from him even though casuals knew he would be dropped eventually because of his antics...

Throughly deserved everything he got and pus some

look you are perfectly capable of a reasonable reply without covertly bringing in PSL/Pakistan and converting it into a chest thumping moment :azhar2 progress...
"As i said, it's not some copy cat league, surviving on over the hill stars or little known players or international rejects."
And I have no love for the arrogant Starc he seems to think the world owe him or something
That's why the whinnying from him even though casuals knew he would be dropped eventually because of his antics...

Throughly deserved everything he got and pus some

Please do read the initial post i replied to. My replies are based on the post i quoted. Chest thumping is replied by even bigger chest thumping. :srini

Big difference

Shakib ain't that best anymore. He has passed his prime just as Amir did. So the difference is really not that "Big".
However, that's not the point.

I won't be surprised even if Baber goes to play IPL and retire from Pak national team.
This is what's expected from anyone.

Many of our "top talent" people like doctors, software developers etc leave India Pakistan Bangladesh to earn more in USA England Australia. So what's the issue here with cricketers?

Matter of fact, it's good that Bangla players and the English players etc are making money primarily pulled out from the pockets of Indian cricket fans and Indian economy. It's good a thing, IMO.

The disappointment of BD fans is understandable. Shakib is their only world class player and he skips tests.

Starc initially pulled out of two IPLs due to injury. He was then unceremoniously dumped by KKR and he isnt a darling of IPL teams. His wife Elyssa Healey has been very critical of IPL, Indian team etc, so he isnt getting any IPL bids anytime soon. He knows this, and stays away.

IPL really does not care about all those off field stuff if u can deliver on the pitch. Andrew Symonds & Mathew Hayden were at the centerstage of the Sydney test controversy with Harbhajan but both landed massive IPL contracts 1 month later

Starc has not been able to deliver in IPL & his loss of form in recent years mean he is no longer top draw

Shakib ain't that best anymore. He has passed his prime just as Amir did. So the difference is really not that "Big".
However, that's not the point.

I won't be surprised even if Baber goes to play IPL and retire from Pak national team.
This is what's expected from anyone.

Many of our "top talent" people like doctors, software developers etc leave India Pakistan Bangladesh to earn more in USA England Australia. So what's the issue here with cricketers?

Matter of fact, it's good that Bangla players and the English players etc are making money primarily pulled out from the pockets of Indian cricket fans and Indian economy. It's good a thing, IMO.

I once read Graeme Pollock was in big financial trouble. Imagine one of greats of the game struggling with finances in his latter life. I once read a Pakistani cricketer Arshad Khan was driving taxi in Australia. If there was PSL in the 90s , he wud be living a better life now

U can mock IPL & T20 leagues but they have contributed immensely to players financial security. Imagine how much the likes of Rahul Tewatia , Pawan Negi, Jaydev Unadkat , T Natarajan, Nitish Rana , Mustafizur , Shakib, Lamichane , Rashid Khan , MUjeeb Rahman wud have earned in their entire careers. Now thanks to IPL / BBL / CPL / PSL / Hundred they can earn enough to ensure comfortable life after cricket

All this talk of national duty & patriotism is ultimately ****. Every man wants to ensure better future for his family !

Bangladesh has quiet a few spinners who can bat even though Shakib is a few levels above. They should be concerned about their only decent seamer Fizz who is also playing the IPL. Unless Fizz will be released for the series. His bowling in the later stages of IPL on slower pitches might come handy.

Im not preaching at all. Its his finances at the end of day and not mine, but I dont buy this bank balance nonsense because I am yet to see a pro cricketer die of hunger and famine because he didnt get to play IPL or county cricket in his lifetime.

I assume you keep just enough to not "die of hunger and famine" and donate the rest for the welfare of your country. Unfortunately, most of the rest of us are not so altruistic :))

given how desperatly Bangladesh needs a test hero, this is poor poooooor poooooor decision.... He is doing what Aamir did to Pakistani fans ....

Might as well not get him back in the team..... disappointed

and plz don't bring the rubbish of "players needs to earn their living" .. for me that's the biggest B$ one can put forward...

I don't know much but am assuming he is larger than life personality in Bng, hence just his contracts within Bng would be getting him millions....

really disappointed

I once read Graeme Pollock was in big financial trouble. Imagine one of greats of the game struggling with finances in his latter life. I once read a Pakistani cricketer Arshad Khan was driving taxi in Australia. If there was PSL in the 90s , he wud be living a better life now

U can mock IPL & T20 leagues but they have contributed immensely to players financial security. Imagine how much the likes of Rahul Tewatia , Pawan Negi, Jaydev Unadkat , T Natarajan, Nitish Rana , Mustafizur , Shakib, Lamichane , Rashid Khan , MUjeeb Rahman wud have earned in their entire careers. Now thanks to IPL / BBL / CPL / PSL / Hundred they can earn enough to ensure comfortable life after cricket

All this talk of national duty & patriotism is ultimately ****. Every man wants to ensure better future for his family !

utter and complete B$$$$$$ nonsense ....

there is no way Sakib is not a billionaire (in Bang terms) ... he is THE biggest Bangladeshi cricketer ever and if he isn't making millions, BCB shld just pack up

only n simple thing is Sakib missing test series shows just the greed.... the country that gave him everything, he is practically selling it out .. just like M.Aamir and many other...

If Pak players had half as much jazba, khuddari and hub al watni as Pak fans they wouldn't be flocking to the gully mohalla level T10 leagues. Wonder why their fans are such selfless, patriotic, non-materialistic, larger than life characters while players are by and large the opposite?

Silly post. Barring Hafeez, recently, Pak players haven't preferred leagues over national commitments.

Bangladeshi cricketers like pakistani cricketers dont get paid much. So a sum like $400k for 2 months is a huge thing for Shakib and you cant blame him. BCB should be blamed for paying their cricketers less.

Shakib is the biggest superstar in Bangladesh, so he is taking things for granted. After being away from cricket due to ban he should have tried to play as much for bangladesh as possible

If Pak players had half as much jazba, khuddari and hub al watni as Pak fans they wouldn't be flocking to the gully mohalla level T10 leagues. Wonder why their fans are such selfless, patriotic, non-materialistic, larger than life characters while players are by and large the opposite?

Good post

Hafeez chose to play T10 while Amir took a break to play in such leagues.

Likes of Yousuf, Razzaq and many others had joined ICL, a rebel league which was not recognized by BCCI. If their players were allowed in IPL then they would be doing the same and maybe they would even apply for Indian citizenship like Adnan Sami.

I think he is mate, the only all time great they ever produced; Shakib is BD’s Imran Khan, Ian Botham etc it’s a shame they made him get on his knees not so long ago, Shakib is actually bigger then BD and he would make any other teams XI / win more games, Shakib realises it is just not worth it and better to enjoy his cricket else where while he can

None of those players you mentioned were bigger than the team they played for.

Haha what?

What's wrong with this?

Ashwin is Shaun Pollock level all-rounder.

Kapil Dev is Kapil Dev and an ATG.

Jadeja is Philander level bowler and averages 36 with bat. He averages 40+ with bat in Australia and 23 with bowl there.

Shakib is very good batsman and a good bowler but behind Stokes as all-rounder in test cricket.

What's wrong with this?

Ashwin is Shaun Pollock level all-rounder.

Kapil Dev is Kapil Dev and an ATG.

Jadeja is Philander level bowler and averages 36 with bat. He averages 40+ with bat in Australia and 23 with bowl there.

Shakib is very good batsman and a good bowler but behind Stokes as all-rounder in test cricket.

This sounds crazy, even for us Indian fans. Kapil is one of the great all rounders but Ashwin and Jadeja? I will not even bother arguing this.

What makes you think Ashwin is not a comfortably better bowler than Kapil? Nostalgia? He has 7 player of the series, that is highest for anyone from India in much lesser games compared to Kapil Dev and has a bowling average of 25 too.

this is disappointing for Bangladeshi fans and very much understandable. I thought IPL had a separate window so that it won’t clash with other international commitments. Not sure what happened here

DHAKA: Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hassan said players will have to specify which formats they will be available for under a new clause in their contracts following Shakib Al Hasan’s decision to skip a home Test series to play in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Kolkata Knight Riders bought all-rounder Shakib for 32 million Indian rupees ($441,940) on Thursday for this year’s IPL, which is set to begin in mid-April.

The BCB has reluctantly allowed the 33-year-old to miss the two-Test series against Sri Lanka the same month but moving forward wants clarity from its contracted players on their availability for the national teams.

“We will enter into a new contact with the players,” Nazmul told local media. “It will be mentioned clearly who wants to play which format. If they have any other engagement, they have to be clear about their availability.

“We are confirming it in writing, so that nobody can say that they haven’t been allowed or we kept them forcibly.”

Shakib, who returned to the national set-up last month after serving a one-year ban for failing to report corrupt approaches, has been selective about playing Test matches in recent times.

Nazmul said that while the BCB was disappointed it did not want to force anyone to play.

“Couldn’t we have stopped Shakib from going [to the IPL]? He may have played but we don’t want that,” he said. “We want only those to play, who really love the game. We have tried to keep him interested. When Shakib had declined to play Tests three years ago, we made him the captain.

“I didn’t like the timing of it. He was among the players I expected would take charge of the difficult situation. It was disappointing.”

Published in Dawn, February 24th, 2021

What makes you think Ashwin is not a comfortably better bowler than Kapil? Nostalgia? He has 7 player of the series, that is highest for anyone from India in much lesser games compared to Kapil Dev and has a bowling average of 25 too.

Ashwin got most of his wickets in India on rank turners. Kapil had very good record against Australia & West Indies in away tests - not to forget he had to toil on slow Indian pitches for his wickets

Wow Shakib going all guns blazing. Saying he's skipping the SL Tests not because he doesn't want to play Test cricket but because BAN are bottom of WTC table and would rather play IPL to prepare for the T20 WC later this year.

This quote stood out:

"I will let you in on a brutal truth. When overseas players come to Bangladesh, we call most of them 'sir' or 'hujur', but we do not see our experienced cricketers the same way. If the people, board and players do not respect you, you can't expect them to respect you."

So have Pakistan replaced Bangladesh yet as the new minnows of world cricket?

Shakib Al Hasan opens up on playing IPL ahead of Sri Lanka Tests

About picking IPL over the Tests, Shakib stated that his decision has clearly been misinterpreted by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). According to the veteran, Akram Khan, the BCB cricket operation chairman, hasn’t been leading the media with the right information.

I did not mention anywhere in my letter that I do not want to play Tests: Shakib Al Hasan

“Continuously people are talking about this Test (skipping the series against Sri Lanka). The people who are saying that I will no longer play the Test or don’t want to play the Test haven’t read my letter properly and that is it,” Shakib was quoted as saying on Cricfrenzy.

“I did not mention anywhere in my letter that I do not want to play Tests. I mentioned in my letter that I want to play in the IPL to prepare myself properly for World Cup (T20 World Cup) but despite that Akram Bhai has repeatedly said that I do not want to play Tests,” he stated.

He also thanked Nazmul Hasan Papon, the BCB chairman, for granting him permission to play in the IPL ahead of the Test series. Shakib is currently on paternity leave and a few days back he became father to a baby boy with his wife Umme Ahmed Shishir.

Shakib also stated that his decision to play in the IPL was based around the preparations for the T20 World Cup in India later in 2021. He mentioned that by playing the IPL, he can garner desired experience and help his teammates out.

“During the IPL season, I wanted time so that I can prepare myself better. The ground where I will play IPL now will be the ground where I will play the World Cup match after four months. The players with whom I will play the IPL will be the players against whom I will play in the World Cup,” Shakib added.

https://www.crictracker.com/shakib-al-hasan-opens-up-on-playing-ipl-ahead-of-sri-lanka-tests/

Shakib Al Hasan opens up on playing IPL ahead of Sri Lanka Tests

About picking IPL over the Tests, Shakib stated that his decision has clearly been misinterpreted by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). According to the veteran, Akram Khan, the BCB cricket operation chairman, hasn’t been leading the media with the right information.

I did not mention anywhere in my letter that I do not want to play Tests: Shakib Al Hasan

“Continuously people are talking about this Test (skipping the series against Sri Lanka). The people who are saying that I will no longer play the Test or don’t want to play the Test haven’t read my letter properly and that is it,” Shakib was quoted as saying on Cricfrenzy.

“I did not mention anywhere in my letter that I do not want to play Tests. I mentioned in my letter that I want to play in the IPL to prepare myself properly for World Cup (T20 World Cup) but despite that Akram Bhai has repeatedly said that I do not want to play Tests,” he stated.

He also thanked Nazmul Hasan Papon, the BCB chairman, for granting him permission to play in the IPL ahead of the Test series. Shakib is currently on paternity leave and a few days back he became father to a baby boy with his wife Umme Ahmed Shishir.

Shakib also stated that his decision to play in the IPL was based around the preparations for the T20 World Cup in India later in 2021. He mentioned that by playing the IPL, he can garner desired experience and help his teammates out.

“During the IPL season, I wanted time so that I can prepare myself better. The ground where I will play IPL now will be the ground where I will play the World Cup match after four months. The players with whom I will play the IPL will be the players against whom I will play in the World Cup,” Shakib added.

https://www.crictracker.com/shakib-al-hasan-opens-up-on-playing-ipl-ahead-of-sri-lanka-tests/

Does Shakib think everyone is as stupid as his official statement suggests?

“I did not mention anywhere that I don’t want to play Tests. I said I want to play IPL to prepare for the T20 World Cup”.

I think BCB should make an announcement saying that they misunderstood Shakib and therefore they are re announcing his name in the Test Squad v Sri Lanka...

Any player who chooses money over national duty should be ashamed of themselves. There is no excuse for choosing franchise cricket over the country that made you who you are. It doesn't even matter if you are playing Zimbabwe or Australia.

Shakib, I think has come to a point where he has become bigger than the team. And I am fairly certain he is treated like a larger than life figure in Bangladesh. So it doesn't surprise me to see him playing the IPL over Sri Lanka tests. And I don't buy his excuse. All he's trying to do is save himself from criticism. He has done this before aswell when Bangladesh were set to tour South Africa.

LOL that would never happen. In Pakistan the board has a massive say in this. And even if Pakistani players were allowed to play in the IPL the board would ensure it was not at the expense of national duty.

ICL had mostly retired Pakistani players or players that were out of favor with the selectors.

this is disappointing for Bangladeshi fans and very much understandable. I thought IPL had a separate window so that it won’t clash with other international commitments. Not sure what happened here

How can IPL have a seperate window? Is there some sort of clause written someone that the league with the most financial clout gets it's own window?

It can only have an unofficial window if all boards acquisce to the BCCI's end goal that nobody plays international cricket when their cash cow is in swing.

I don't just blame BCCI for the way that cricket is going. Every board is responsible too. Every country should play a normal calendar and there should be no agreement from any board that their players are available for IPL if international committments are going on.

This is how things started. I remember Aus players preferring to play warm up games than go over to IPL. Then the Indians came with their suitcases of money and all that changed.

I don't see how any Indian could complain about that unless they are exceptionally selfish.

LOL that would never happen. In Pakistan the board has a massive say in this. And even if Pakistani players were allowed to play in the IPL the board would ensure it was not at the expense of national duty.

ICL had mostly retired Pakistani players or players that were out of favor with the selectors.

PCB could not even stop Amir and a hundred other Pak players from selling their country for 5 dollars? Imagine Amir, Imad, Hafeez, Shaheen or Babar refusing 2 million dollars, something they can’t earn in their life time without IPL. You expect too much from PCB. Good to have this optimism.

Shakib says he is playing in IPL as preparation for T20 WC as BD don't have a chance to play in WTC finals.

In reality he is saying that playing vs SriLanka will give him around 30-40 K in alms.
Playing IPL will easily give him 10-12 lakhs. Why waste time?

PCB could not even stop Amir and a hundred other Pak players from selling their country for 5 dollars? Imagine Amir, Imad, Hafeez, Shaheen or Babar refusing 2 million dollars, something they can’t earn in their life time without IPL. You expect too much from PCB. Good to have this optimism.

Why don't you start listing the "hundred other Pak players"

Go on. I'm waiting.

Might be hard for you to fathom but not everyone is willing to sell their soul for money. You should know since when Azharuddin and Jadeja were found guilty of match-fixing and selling their country, most of the Indian team was not.

Just to give a recent example Shaheen Shah Afridi is possibly forgoing £100,000 pounds he could have earned in Natwest blast because of even for PSL because of rescheduling of it. There are numerous such examples of players putting country first but, they are not highlighted as much as the instances of players who cross the lines for money.

You cant stereotype based upon a few examples.

Have PCB selected Amir for anything recently?

Would love it if Bangladesh do not select Shakib for the T20 World Cup.

They are most likely going to lose anyways, might as well do it by making an example of their mercenary.

Any player who chooses money over national duty should be ashamed of themselves. There is no excuse for choosing franchise cricket over the country that made you who you are. It doesn't even matter if you are playing Zimbabwe or Australia.

Shakib, I think has come to a point where he has become bigger than the team. And I am fairly certain he is treated like a larger than life figure in Bangladesh. So it doesn't surprise me to see him playing the IPL over Sri Lanka tests. And I don't buy his excuse. All he's trying to do is save himself from criticism. He has done this before aswell when Bangladesh were set to tour South Africa.

There is nothing to be ashamed for players to chose franchises over national side. National boards earn all their money through the players and it is them who should be ashamed for paying players peanuts in this modern age. Bangladesh board for example generates huge revenue and yet the player incentives are pathetically low. They're the one to be blamed for this.

I think his international days are numbered and now MashaAllah hia family has expanded a new member has added to it... So paisa chahiye na baba.....aab restaurant se thodi kamai tumi hogi....hogi bhi to use barana chahiye na...

Really feel bad for these boards BCB CSA ECB......really sorry for their players and fans...

Have PCB selected Amir for anything recently?

What? Amir played for years till 2019 for Pakistan after he humiliated Pakistan with his greed and barely escaped the jail term. 2020 was a washout for everyone. Anyway this cheat retired in 2020 to focus on penny-leagues worldwide. It will be travesty if he ever plays for Pakistan. He bowls at Bhuvneshwar’s speed but with half his IQ and one-third his control.