Shikhar Dhawan: Performance Watch

hes leg side play is still suspect for me,also short ball on the body has got him in trouble

He has dispatched short balls from Roach, Morkel, Junaid and Irfan. Never seemed him uncomfortable.

He failed against Wahab the only Pak bowler who bowls at 150 kph so is clearly suspect against real pace.

He failed? He hit fours and was slogging as he wanted to finish off the match before more rains. That ball deserved to be hit for a 4

Aggression is the force driving him, perfect example of how you should bat in modern day cricket, have to be ruthless and take the attack to the opposition.

Dhawan and the batsmen will be exposed in the next game. I too believe Dhawan can't play against raw pace.

If he was playing for Pakistan, I am sure he would be described quite different ly !!!!!!!!!!!!

He looked uncomfortable against short ball as well. Wont survive in real format if he fails to work on his short ball weakness.

Great find for India, finally someone in the indian squad who might be on the verge of stealing Kholi's thunder.

I hope Dhawan can fill Sehwag shoes till next few years.

dhawan is 1 of the best players of short-pitched bowling in india. he has looked comfortable playing the short-pitched balls. also his technique has improved a lot in the last few years

and dhawan isnt old. hes just 27. most players in australia/england debut around 27-30. dhawan can play till the 2023 wc and have a decent 10 year career

A very very good player.
Just what India needed.

And he is not the best player of Short Pitched deliveries in the Indian side, Rohit Sharma,Virat Kohli and Dhoni are better.

The only times he looks in trouble is when you bowl it quick and at his body like, Johnson got him out this way.

But overall he is great of the front and back foot, great cutter of the ball and also plays some very good drives.

Great Batsman.

He's old by criceting standards. Won't last long . I think he's unable to play pace and short ball.

Dhawan is only 27 can last up to 7 or 8 years. He is fearless and can play pace and spin well. Indian also have many exciting young fearless batsmen coming up like Mandeep Singh, Vohra, U Chand to name a few. They will be ready to take over from Kohli/Dhawan/raina/Sharma etc when the time comes. Meanwhile what about Misbah and Shoib in Pakistan team ? Are they not old by your cricketing standards? I can understand your frustration of India winning all the matches. Lot of your threads against India on pakpassion has failed miserably. Cheer up man.. It is not the end of the world. Your obsession with India will not take you any where.

Jeet tou gai lekin abhi itne bare nahi huwe Indian ke un ki tareef karaiN :misbah

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4 Beta

One thing with this Indian team is one have to keep performing to stay in it, which is what I like most about the current selectors, they are not afraid to drop Sehwag & Gambhir.

I like Jatt G's approach...............but guess what he had played under MIsbah he would had turned into a turtle

Shikhar Dhawan is a nice guy off the field too when I've met him several times.

On the field, my father watched his India v aus innings and absolutely life's him as do I. We love Shikhar. He will be one of the top 2 batsmen ok the world sooner rather than later.

I just love the guy very non subcontinental bit like hayden, i feel that he will be a greater success outside subcontinent.

The scuccesses of Dhawans, Rohits put Indian whitewashes under perspective. We now know how important it is to move on rather than clinging onto spent forces. It was not as if Sachin, Laxman were bad, but their consistency was missing.

Lets see how he does over a longer period of time.Right now every expert is saying he has the game to succeed.

The scuccesses of Dhawans, Rohits put Indian whitewashes under perspective. We now know how important it is to move on rather than clinging onto spent forces. It was not as if Sachin, Laxman were bad, but their consistency was missing.

You are mixing the wrong formats. The failure of Sachin and Laxman were in test matches in the longer format under alien conditions. Dhawan and Rohit have had a temporary success in another format under more favourable conditions, and India have never been a weak ODI team since the mid 80s. Send this team to play test matches in England or SA, I surely expect a rout.

While i dont expect a rout, they surely wouldnt have fared brilliantly had the current lot been used in place of Sachin/Laxman etc. These players had been exceptional and there was some faith which we had to show in them if they believed in themselves and that was the mistake the board committed. Should have rotated them more frequently earlier itself.

First impressions .......this guy is better than Farhat,Akmal,Hafeez,Malik,Nasir combined.

Very impressed by this young man...Has the confident approach of a seasoned player who's seen it all..Will provide stiff competition to Kohli when it comes to the best batsman in their side..

Very very exciting and I LOVE watching him bat. His form won't last though but I do think he'll be a 43-45 average batsman with a 90+ SR in ODI's. Not sure how he'll do outside of the sub-continent in tests. Don't think he'll do well but I hope he does for entertainment purposes :)

Unbelievable batting in almost every match and treat to watch. However, if he failed in the finals then? will it be a big test for those who haven't batted much in this tournament because of Shikar?

he plays the ball so late and has great hand and eye coordination looks special,,,,,,,,,,

He was crap in West Indies, I was angry to see him get opener's slot against Australia.
Same with Jadeja, I absolutely hated him.

Both these players have shown unreal improvement after the initial failures. BCCI must be doing something right. Good signs.

He was crap in West Indies, I was angry to see him get opener's slot against Australia.

Both these players have shown unreal improvement after the initial failures. BCCI must be doing something right. Good signs.

Concur with you on the bolded part.

I seriously could not believe my eyes when i saw these two play as good as they are doing now. Especially, Dhawan who looked clueless in WI 2 years back.

Shikhar and Jadeja have brought so much positivity in the team.

Very true this. I was like what they were doing by selecting this TTF, but boy did he prove me wrong. Anyways, I would like to reserve my final judgement on Dhawan until he has played for at least one year. Lots of guys in the past have had the initial promise but did not make it big later on.

Looks like a more athletic Sehwag. This guy can bat.

Please don't inslut Dhawan by comparing him to a batsmen who didn't know what footwork was.

Sehwag return to Indian team seem impossible.

Please don't inslut Dhawan by comparing him to a batsmen who didn't know what footwork was.

In spite of not knowing what footwork is, he averages 50 in test cricket at an 80+ SR with 23 hundreds and 2 triple hundreds and a double hundred in ODIs.

Before you label him a flat track bully, we would do really well to produce one of our own. Our batsmen play like chickens even on flat wickets.

More respect please.

this guy is the real deal.... Pakistan would kill for a batsman like him....

footwork or not,the guy had two triples and a 290 averaged 50+ with a SR close to 80 and did well v Pak too

In spite of not knowing what footwork is, he averages 50 in test cricket at an 80+ SR with 23 hundreds and 2 triple hundreds and a double hundred in ODIs.

Before you label him a flat track bully, we would do really well to produce one of our own. Our batsmen play like chickens even on flat wickets.

More respect please.

when did this thread become Pakistani batsmen vs Indian batsmen.

My understanding for this thread was to appreciate a great batsmen who is much better than Sehwag due to simple fact that he has a foot work with one of the best hand eye coordination.

I never labelled Sehwag as FTB, just mentioned that he has no foot work :)

who has denied that our batsmen are FTB, i never said that in my post :)

and why are you getting all worked up?

footwork or not,the guy had two triples and a 290 averaged 50+ with a SR close to 80 and did well v Pak too

sure, but he has no foot work, this kid is a miles ahead of him, and he will last longer than sehwag in Indian team.

Sehwag was and will never be as good as him.

when did this thread become Pakistani batsmen vs Indian batsmen.

My understanding for this thread was to appreciate a great batsmen who is much better than Sehwag due to simple fact that he has a foot work with one of the best hand eye coordination.

I never labelled Sehwag as FTB, just mentioned that he has no foot work :)

who has denied that our batsmen are FTB, i never said that in my post :)

and why are you getting all worked up?

How is he better than Sehwag?

Just because he has hit a few odd hundreds? Sehwag has done this for years.

Just because he has good footwork, doesn't mean he is better.

I can name countless batsmen with good footwork who are much inferior to Sehwag.

He may prove to be better in the future but it is very early to say.

Unless he averages 50 in tests with a SR of 80 and maintains it for 100 matches and hits two triple tons and a double hundreds in ODIs, he is NOT even close to Dhawan.

sure, but he has no foot work, this kid is a miles ahead of him, and he will last longer than sehwag in Indian team.

LOL so you rate a batsmen purely on his footwork?

If you see a kid tomorrow who has better footwork than Tendulkar, you'll rate him a better batsman?

All the records and tons of runs will count for nothing?

I'll be very surprised if he gets even close to what Sehwag achieved

Whether some one has technique or not, or whether he has foot work etc is irrelevant. What can Dhawan score in the long run, only that will matter. I will have a Sehwag on song over every one else in the Indian team because he can win matches on his own, in ways that are unthinkable to others. Here we have a guy capable of scoring double tons and tripe tons at run a ball against bowlers like Steyn! It will be very difficult to find another Sehwag. The guy has a strike rate of 82 in test matches ( higher than many good ODI batsmen!), this is a bloody monster of a batsman.

Last 3 three years he has been out of sorts, but that should not take away anything from his achievements.

Still early days to say that.
'Shaywag' was a handy bowler as well.

Dhawan and the batsmen will be exposed in the next game. I too believe Dhawan can't play against raw pace.

981248.gif

Plzz.. Ek prediction aur kar yaar consistently your own flavor wali :D

Even Imran Farhat will score 60 runs if he is given 4-5 chances in one innings.

The stuff you read on this site....lol

Wow, just wow! Even that overrated little dwarf was "devastating" in your eyes!

LOL.

Sehwag/Gambhir pair is the second fastest accumulator of runs in test cricket, at an average of 52 at 4.62 R/O!
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...0;qualval1=fow_runs;template=results;type=fow

They are also the second fastest accumulator of runs in ODI cricket, at an average of 46.7 at 6.4 r/o.

Sehwag/Gambhir pair has been one of the most successful partnerships in the history of test cricket. All this inspite of a major slump in the last two years. They were completely devastating at their peak, scoring at nearly a run a ball in test cricket and their partnership averaging 60 odd.

LOL.

Sehwag/Gambhir pair is the second fastest accumulator of runs in test cricket, at an average of 52 at 4.62 R/O!
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...0;qualval1=fow_runs;template=results;type=fow

They are also the second fastest accumulator of runs in ODI cricket, at an average of 46.7 at 6.4 r/o.

Sehwag/Gambhir pair has been one of the most successful partnerships in the history of test cricket. All this inspite of a major slump in the last two years. They were completely devastating at their peak, scoring at nearly a run a ball in test cricket and their partnership averaging 60 odd.

How many of those "brilliant stats" were created on flat track Indian roads against third rate trundlers? What happened to Gambhir and Sehwag the greats when they were humiliated 8-0?

^ Gambhir of 2008-10 was pretty devastating too.

Often thought about the scenario of Gambhir making it back to the team..
2 lefties: Shikhar and Gambhir at opening slot makes it a bit awkward if not dicey.

Cuz Rohit seems uninterested in scoring big after settling in atm. I hope he realizes that he is in the side due to that spot only.

How many of those "brilliant stats" were created on flat track Indian roads against third rate trundlers? What happened to Gambhir and Sehwag the greats when they were humiliated 8-0?

How many did u win in Ozz and England?

Oh yahh..i remember last time u played against England in England,ur pathetic players like amir,asif and butt got into spot fixing..better to lose 8-0 than to lose ur pride

Gambhir may well be back, we certainly have not seen the last of him yet.

Re: Shikhar Dhawan

He is just another batsman making a place in the team and than he will do nothing

What a find for India. The greatest practicer of a shot I have ever seen.

He seems to have a cool head with excellent footwork, the way he was leaving some balls was good to see. He seems to play well both on the front and back foot and looks to have that extra bit of time while playing.

The only chink I see in him (which anyhow lies with majority of batsmen) is looking awkward when tucked up and not given room, specially with rising deliveries around chest. Seems, unfazed though even after receiving few of those, which is a good sign that batsman is not fearful of bouncers. I hope he corrects some of these chinks and goes on to become a very fine batsman. SA sries would be a real test for him, but so far have makings of a very fine international batsmen.

I really hope Shikar makes merry while he is in such a scintillating form and cements his place for sometime to come.