Normally, one finds established cricketers driving their
sedans to the practice sessions but Dhawan would arrive at
the Feroze Shah Kotla in his sleeveless vests and shorts
riding a customised 1000cc motorbike.
One remembers, a former Delhi stalwart who had played a
few ODIs for India in the early 80's stunned when Dhawan
once arrived on his 'mean machine'.
“Beta yeh bike kitne ki khareedi apne?” the former player
asked, and pat came the reply, “It's Rs 25 lakh.
“Then why didn't you buy a Mercedes?” the dumbfound ex-
cricketer again asked.
“Woh bhi khareed lenge sir (I will buy that also sir),” a
smiling Dhawan said non-challantly.
Some termed he had a casual approach, whereas others
thought that he had the ability to keep things simple,
Dhawan has been the topic of discussion in Delhi's cricket
circle for a number of years now.
The 27-year-old Dhawan first came into limelight when he
scored three centuries in the U-19 World Cup in Bangladesh
way back in 2004. Some of his U-19 teammates like Suresh
Raina, R P Singh, Dinesh Karthik all donned the national
jersey much before and it became an agonising wait for the
affable man.
“We are happy that it has been a worthwhile wait,” said
Shrestha Dhawan, his sister.
His one-time teammate and now Delhi coach Vijay Dahiya
would tell you that “one poor shot in 2010-11” Ranji season
changed his approach.
“Delhi needed 136 to win against Railways with a day and 10
overs left. Shikhar played a rank bad shot and Delhi lost the
match and failed to make it to the knock-out stages. He was
criticised a lot. This year on a green-top at the Roshanara,
Shikhar anchored a 270-run fourth innings chase with a
matured knock,” Dahiya stated.
Those who were present at the Roshanara on that day saw
erstwhile coach Manoj Prabhakar losing his cool once
Dhawan got out.
“That shot was playing on my mind while batting against
Maharashtra,” Dhawan had admitted after his knock against
Maharashtra.
Once a regular at the Page-3 parties, Dhawan has now
turned into a devoted family man post his marriage to half
Bengali-half British Aesha Mukherjee.
If one had come for Delhi team's Ranji matches, one would
find Mrs Dhawan arriving during post lunch session and sit
quietly with a red baseball cap.
There will be days when Dhawan would give her
throwdowns after day's play as she would perfect her
forward defensive stroke.
His wife has two daughters from her earlier marriage and
Dhawan is a proud dad.
“My elder daughter was ecstatic when she heard about my
selection in the Test side,” Dhawan had told then.
Post Saturday, Dhawan has ensured that he will also be
remembered for having played one of the most
breathtaking innings in the Indian cricket's history.
http://m.indianexpress.com/news/tattooed-family-man-the-other-side-of-shikhar-dhawan/1089138/

Seems to be a winner in personal life ;)

His spouse - Aesha Mukherjee

Shikhar-Dhawan-Aesha-Mukherjee.jpg

NO IF NO BUT SIRF JATT... jehra dainda mucha nu vatt ..nalay kad-dah opposition day vatt ..nah haiga kisay toh ghatt ..oh hai shekar dhawan jatt.

Munde jatta de jawani hune hune aayi aa..
Jehra khangeya maara jya bss tangg dain ge..
:kohli

The moustache gesture was epic. lol

M_Id_367050_Shikhar_Dhawan.jpg

Dhawan's nickname amongst his peers is Jaat-jee, which comes from his Jaat heritage. The Jaats are a rural north Indian community, concentrated in Haryana and portions of western Uttar Pradesh, surrounding Delhi. Dhawan's distinctive and carefully maintained moustache owes some allegiance to that heritage. As he walked off the field at tea and then at stumps, he twirled his moustache upwards, in a somewhat old-fashioned but instantly-recognisable gesture of bragging-rights ownership.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/tattooed-family-man-the-other-side-of-shikhar-dhawan/1089138/0

89d31dbb-70ff-4a7d-81cb-0cdd2a3d16b2MediumRes.JPG

Forget the runs, just for preserving the moustache legacy he deserves a :bow:

Just saw the highlights....

brilliant...scored all around the ground....

have a feeling he will do well overseas as well...

This jatt pride seems to have come just recently to him and changed him for good. Earlier he seemed lost. The Jatt attitude is refreshing and its showing in his game. Thin line between pure pride and arrogance, as long as he can use that to focus more on his game, work harder, its all good. Otherwise obviously it will be passed off as typical jatt swag with no substance. :yk

New Delhi: He loves twirling his moustache, sports tattoos on his bulging biceps, often comes to training riding customised Hayabusa bikes --- in a nutshell Shikhar Dhawan epitomised everything that was `larger than life` in Delhi cricketing fraternity till Virat Kohli arrived.

The left-hander is affectionately called "Gabbar" by his Delhi teammates for his hulk like body and enormous amount of power he packs in his shots.

Normally, one finds established cricketers driving their sedans to the practice sessions but Dhawan would arrive at the Feroze Shah Kotla in his sleeveless vests and shorts riding a customised 1000cc motorbike.

One remembers, a former Delhi stalwart who had played a few ODIs for India in the early 80`s stunned when Dhawan once arrived on his `mean machine`.

"Beta yeh bike kitne ki khareedi apne?" the former player asked, and pat came the reply, "It`s Rs 25 lakh."

"Then why didn`t you buy a Mercedes?" the dumbfound ex-cricketer again asked.

"Woh bhi khareed lenge sir (I will buy that also sir)," a smiling Dhawan said non-challantly.

Some termed he had a casual approach, whereas others thought that he had the ability to keep things simple, Dhawan has been the topic of discussion in Delhi`s cricket circle for a number of years now.

The 27-year-old Dhawan first came into limelight when he scored three centuries in the U-19 World Cup in Bangladesh way back in 2004. Some of his U-19 teammates like Suresh Raina, R P Singh, Dinesh Karthik all donned the national jersey much before and it became an agonising wait for the affable man.

"We are happy that it has been a worthwhile wait," said Shrestha Dhawan, his sister.

His one-time teammate and now Delhi coach Vijay Dahiya would tell you that "one poor shot in 2010-11" Ranji season changed his approach.

"Delhi needed 136 to win against Railways with a day and 10 overs left. Shikhar played a rank bad shot and Delhi lost the match and failed to make it to the knock-out stages. He was criticised a lot. This year on a green-top at the Roshanara, Shikhar anchored a 270-run fourth innings chase with a matured knock," Dahiya stated.

Those who were present at the Roshanara on that day saw erstwhile coach Manoj Prabhakar losing his cool once Dhawan got out.

"That shot was playing on my mind while batting against Maharashtra," Dhawan had admitted after his knock against Maharashtra.

Once a regular at the Page-3 parties, Dhawan has now turned into a devoted family man post his marriage to half Bengali-half British Aesha Mukherjee.

If one had come for Delhi team`s Ranji matches, one would find Mrs Dhawan arriving during post lunch session and sit quietly with a red baseball cap.

There will be days when Dhawan would give her throwdowns after day`s play as she would perfect her forward defensive stroke.

His wife has two daughters from her earlier marriage and Dhawan is a proud dad.

"My elder daughter was ecstatic when she heard about my selection in the Test side," Dhawan had told then.

Post Saturday, Dhawan has ensured that he will also be remembered for having played one of the most breathtaking innings in the Indian cricket`s history.

Loved this article....looks like a typical Delhi cricketer......

Looks like a nice guy has well...love he owned up to his wife's kids from first marriage and directly calls them "MY elder daughter " ....

I hope he does well for India....still has 10 yrs of cricket left in him atleast..if he keeps playing..

How is Shehzad doing in domestic cricket? Has he shown the temperament to hit big ones in big domestic games? If yes then i would give him at least a couple of tests to show his talent.

The twirling of the Mooch was really something flashy :D

What's that mark on his hand.. A scar??

NO

Dhawan is an aggressive batsman, hence there is a greater degree of him getting out in this process hence Misbah would not like to have a batsman of this sort in his playing XI

How is Shehzad doing in domestic cricket? Has he shown the temperament to hit big ones in big domestic games? If yes then i would give him at least a couple of tests to show his talent.

I'm telling you know you will never see shezhad playing under Misbahs captaincy. He only made a comeback when Hafeez became captain. We still haven't been told why was he dropped shortly after making a ton, other then "non cricketing reasons". Oddly enough it concided with misbah becoming captain

Its only been 1 Test Match.
Typical Hype.
Wait until he's at least played 2 Innings.

Personally i feel he wouldn't be a consistent run scorer because of his attitude n game style, hope i am proved wrong!

Lol he has smashed heaps of records and he isn't done yet. At the very least india have found a great FTB. Pakistan only has one of those

Smashing records against a clueless Bowling lineup on a road?
Even Hafeez could've played this sort of an innings given the same conditions.

what is the point of this thread? arent there other threads bash misbah already...and even those are not particularly creative.

A bigger question is, will our retarded standard of domestic cricket EVER produce batsmen like Dhawan or Pujara?

The question is that people in Pakistan want to bat like :afridi .They think thats a great way to bat.It aint.

Indian batsman want to bat like Gavaskar Tendulkar Dravid Laxman Amarnat Vishy etc.

Guy has scored fastest debut 100 - But if he was Pakistani, would he ever have been able to impress Misbah and gotten a chance to play for Pak?

Pathetic , I don't know why we over rating him , we can make 9829732973 threads on him once he played outside India.

Re: Would someone like Shikhar Dhawan ever Impress Misbah and get to Open for Pak?

Lol at people claiming Hafeez can play such a knock. The 196 that Hafeez scored was against a Lankan attack that was worse than the one Raina scored his debut ton against. All Hafeez needs is some swing and he will be in the pavilion. Or maybe he needs some Steyn.

Now don't kill me FC, Dhawan's swag looks more like a Rajput Rathore swag than a Jatt Swag! :23:

CW change your avatar dude ..stop copying me:afridi
and yes it looks more like rajput swag

NO

Dhawan is an aggressive batsman, hence there is a greater degree of him getting out in this process hence Misbah would not like to have a batsman of this sort in his playing XI

His first 90 runs were risk free, very Ganguly sque. no attempt of a lofted shot. From where did this attitude come from?
His technique will be the one under scrutiny NOT attitude or style.
You are a fan Dravid style tuk tuk? SRT,VVS ,almost everyone sucked trying to be like that.

Smashing records against a clueless Bowling lineup on a road?
Even Hafeez could've played this sort of an innings given the same conditions.

Ohh at least you managed this rant without bringing Tendulkar in the discussion and putting Hafeez over him as well. This is sad state of affairs to be honest. A bad bowling line-up is only exposed by a good performer. Some of your current lot have made North, Tsotsobe, Darren Sammy, Thisara Perera like bowlers look unplayable in past so you should be the last to ridicule these performances. It takes some doing for a debutant to smash records like that in half a day's batting. Learn to give credit where its due.

Australian media hails " Cyclone Dhawan"

Melbourne: The Australian media today were effusive in their praise for the magnificent unbeaten 185 by India`s debutant Shikhar Dhawan.
The Daily Telegraph wrote,"On a remarkable day of action, Cyclone Dhawan hit world cricket with full force after clubbing the fastest century by a debutant in Test cricket`s 136-year history."
The paper also wrote,"Australia`s grip on the Border-Gavaskar trophy is effectively gone after Indian debutant Shikhar Dhawan went berserk to makehistory and leave the tourists on the canvas in the third Test."
The Australian wrote,"Scientists seem certain the Hadron collider has discovered the God Particle, Indian cricket seems to have found its own in debut centurion Shikhar Dhawan. This 27-year-old high energy particle accelerator has blasted his way into the game with the fastest Test 100 on debut."
The popular Sydney Morning Herald termed the innings "awe-inspiring."
"The 27-year-old`s 85-ball century in his first Test was an awe-inspiring andgag-inducing treat. Dhawan-ism, the biggest thing since cyclone Tracy, you get the picture.
"The wordplay, however, did not do justice to the sheer quality and the audaciousness of this innings. Dhawan barely lofted a ball in the air but struck a remarkable 21 fours to all corners en route to three figures. With 84 per cent of his runs to that point, he was not required to move." http://zeenews.india.com/sports/cricket/australian-media-hails-cyclone-dhawan_758172.html

I am senior poster and player. I got that DP before you. Chal munna tu pehle change kar. :yk

His first 90 runs were risk free, very Ganguly sque. no attempt of a lofted shot. From where did this attitude come from?
His technique will be the one under scrutiny NOT attitude or style.
You are a fan Dravid style tuk tuk? SRT,VVS ,almost everyone sucked trying to be like that.

Yea this.

Came here to say the same to Ambhi Mumbaikar before i saw the other rant. Those calling him the new Sehwag or a dasher probably haven't been following him AT ALL. Dhawan's game has no flashiness whatsoever, guy plays proper cricketing shots all around the wicket. Yes, he's not been that prolific and his defense and all is not that proven against quality bowling in tough conditions but thats a totally dif thing which applies to Pujara as much as it does to Dhawan.

Actually when i was checking scores on my mobile and saw India hitting 150 in 30 overs, i thought it must have been Vijay doing the bulk of scoring because actually he's THE dasher! He's the one that is a Sehwag/Hayden wannabe. I was too pleased to know that Dhawan was the aggressor and Vijay was playing the supporting role once again. What a change, guy's matured big time. I am happy with Vijay actually just as much as i am with Dhawan, in fact more with Vijay because he's finally learnt the art of test battin. You don't always get to dictate terms, sometimes when the other guy's feeling it, just giving him the strike and play safe. Well done Vijay!!!!

What about cyclone Starc?? Indians are getting too excited about this cow lasher. If you cant score on a pitch where tail ender just scored 99 then you should not look for another job.

is it just me...or does his off side game very similar to Dada...??

His ability to find Gaps on the off side.....Felt like I was watching Ganguly from the 90's..

@CW

that is one my fav ads ...

Hardly an achievement on a pitch where a tail ender just scored 99. Dhawan will be another Sehwag ...rubbish abroad and decent on home pitches.

Yea this.

Came here to say the same to Ambhi Mumbaikar before i saw the other rant. Those calling him the new Sehwag or a dasher probably haven't been following him AT ALL. Dhawan's game has no flashiness whatsoever, guy plays proper cricketing shots all around the wicket. Yes, he's not been that prolific and his defense and all is not that proven against quality bowling in tough conditions but thats a totally dif thing which applies to Pujara as much as it does to Dhawan.

Actually when i was checking scores on my mobile and saw India hitting 150 in 30 overs, i thought it must have been Vijay doing the bulk of scoring because actually he's THE dasher! He's the one that is a Sehwag/Hayden wannabe. I was too pleased to know that Dhawan was the aggressor and Vijay was playing the supporting role once again. What a change, guy's matured big time. I am happy with Vijay actually just as much as i am with Dhawan, in fact more with Vijay because he's finally learnt the art of test battin. You don't always get to dictate terms, sometimes when the other guy's feeling it, just giving him the strike and play safe. Well done Vijay!!!!

Ironically, Vijay has a better technique than Sehwag and is more suited to the opening spot.
But we know who is more successful. Maybe things will get better for Vijay.

I said Gangulysque but Ganguly always liked lofting spinners.
Dhawan did that to full tosses and long hops while facing Smith only after his 100.

Best thing about Dhawan is he has swag and style. Something Indian cricket needs since the legends have retired.

Re: Australian media hails " Cyclone Dhawan"

What about cyclone Starc?? Indians are getting too excited about this cow lasher. If you cant score on a pitch where tail ender just scored 99 then you should not look for another job.

Come now. Don't be jealous that he is famous and well..you are not.

Easily the worst Australian team on planet earth right now let alone one to visit India. Need to do a lot more presentations with the captain and coach.

Re: Would someone like Shikhar Dhawan ever Impress Misbah and get to Open for Pak?

I agree Vijay has good defense but when he tries to be the "stylish" strokemaker, he loses his wicket. He nearly lost it when he almost ran past a Lyon off spinner. But luck was with him.

michael clarke was out for zero. So what ur point sir.?

Ironically, Vijay has a better technique than Sehwag and is more suited to the opening spot.
But we know who is more successful. Maybe things will get better for Vijay.

I said Gangulysque but Ganguly always liked lofting spinners.
Dhawan did that to full tosses and long hops while facing Smith only after his 100.

Vijay is a gifted player. He's got class, timing, technique, strength and even the CSK factor going all in his favour. All he needs is to show the commitment and he can be a Hayden like free flowing batsman. No blind slogging non sense, no flashiness outside off for no reason. Just focus and play on merit. Vijay at his best will make this Shikhar Dhawan effort seem Misbahesque, guy can demolish everything at sight when in zone. lol This is why i am so pleased to see him playing supportive role, that tells me he's gotten over the confusion and is getting settled in his slot. Goshh i wanna see Vijay play a 100 tests, too much class.

Ganguly had conversion problem, he was just fine everywhere. The slots are filling up fast, Rohit's probably getting out of the season. Rahane, Tiwari waiting as well, very very interesting times.

This jatt pride seems to have come just recently to him and changed him for good. Earlier he seemed lost. The Jatt attitude is refreshing and its showing in his game. Thin line between pure pride and arrogance, as long as he can use that to focus more on his game, work harder, its all good. Otherwise obviously it will be passed off as typical jatt swag with no substance. :yk

We can use this 'Jatt' card to attract fans from even across the border :D

Now don't kill me FC, Dhawan's swag looks more like a Rajput Rathore swag than a Jatt Swag! :23:

No one gives a Flying ****.

Hardly an achievement on a pitch where a tail ender just scored 99. Dhawan will be another Sehwag ...rubbish abroad and decent on home pitches.

Yea he will do as well as Inzi or Moyo or YK.That is fine to start with.

I agree Vijay has good defense but when he tries to be the "stylish" strokemaker, he loses his wicket. He nearly lost it when he almost ran past a Lyon off spinner. But luck was with him.

I think its a genuine issue with a lot of high backlift classy players. Sometimes that fraction of a second delay in getting the bat down in the right place gets them lbw or an inside edge straight to stumps. I am sure he's already getting advices to work on that from qualified men surrounding him. Adjusting back lift to perfection has been the unknown hallmark of Tendulkar's game. :sachin

I have an Australian wife, she is half Bengali and half British and lives in Melbourne and I have got two daughters in Melbourne

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...alian-connection/story-e6frg7mf-1226598987035

Daughters from her earlier marriage apparently according tot his article..

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Speci...e-of-Shikhar-Dhawan/SP-Article10-1027539.aspx

Michael Clarke got out on duck. That too to none other than Sir Jaadu Jadeja. Nothing is free in kirkit, you get runs if you apply yourself and have the talent to do so.

Also whats the issue with a lower order bowler hitting hundreds? Are you not proud of Imran's centuries? or Afridi's? or Hafeez's? or Malik's? :malik

Its been a lot of fun seeing Ahmed bhai plucking his hair today in frustration and bitterness. Hopefully he will entertain us even more tomorrow and do more gaali-galoch. :nehra

So another thread about a new indian superman..chulo lets see how long this one lasts..

Shikhar Dhawan

Bitter post.

Bet you would'nt be thinking the same if it was a Pakistani! Im sure Dhawan would not mind being another Sehwag- a supreme talent.

:)) From The Australian...
There are now suggestions that Pattinson, Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson and Mitchell Johnson had been asked to complete a group assignment on the topic How to Bowl to Shikhar Dhawan.

Definitely not and that's why currently Shehzad is being wasted.

Nasir Jamshed also wouldn't be in the team if it was down to Misbah. I remember reading reports that it was Whatmore who insisted he is selected.

It is shame that a genuine batsman, stroke maker is sent home and useless players been retained.

Ohh at least you managed this rant without bringing Tendulkar in the discussion and putting Hafeez over him as well. This is sad state of affairs to be honest. A bad bowling line-up is only exposed by a good performer. Some of your current lot have made North, Tsotsobe, Darren Sammy, Thisara Perera like bowlers look unplayable in past so you should be the last to ridicule these performances. It takes some doing for a debutant to smash records like that in half a day's batting. Learn to give credit where its due.
ahmed778 is the biggest troll. Has nothing worthwhile to post.

Australian media hails " Cyclone Dhawan"

Then why did Clarke and co also score not heavily on the same pitch? So what if a tailender scored 99?? It's cricket, it happens.

Hafeez also scored 196 against SL on a road against Perera just last year.
Yet, even after that he wasn't called a good Test Player because scoring against an average bowling lineup on a road does not Count.

I think nearly all were expecting it, but Dhawan might have buried Sehwag's intl. career

NEW DELHI: Shikhar Dhawan's attacking maiden Test ton may have made things difficult for axed opener Virender Sehwag.

According to sources, the selection committee is inclined to give Dhawan a longer run in Tests, meaning Sehwag's way back could be hard. Even in the one-day international arena, Dhawan seems to be ahead in the pecking order following Saturday's knock.

Sources in the Board of Control for Cricket in India ( BCCI) said apart from his bad form, Sehwag's attitude on the field was also a big reason why he had to make way for Dhawan. Sources revealed that the initial plan behind dropping Sehwag was to give him a "shock treatment" so he would improve on his shortcomings.

"He had one setback after another and his reflexes are also slowing down. Also, he should have played domestic cricket to get used to his new spectacles," a source told TOI.

The selectors, it is learnt, even suggested to Sehwag that he should play in the county circuit in England, but the batsman didn't seem interested. A source said: "What is the point of suggesting anything to him when there is no interest on his part to get back to form?"

Selectors also felt that Sehwag showed no remorse after dropping catches. "There are occasions when he dropped a catch and started smiling :)). This is something which has been discussed in selection meetings," a source said, pointing out to the ego clashes between Sehwag and captain Dhoni.

Things also look bleak for Gautam Gambhir, who too was dropped from the Test team recently. Gambhir, though, is in the limited-overs scheme of things. "Gambhir is still in the running for ODIs if he can score consistently," a source said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...r-on-Virender-Sehwag/articleshow/19011104.cms

Virender-Sehwag-with-Shikhar-Dhawan-and-Aesha-Mukherjee-during-a-special-cocktail-party-hosted-by-Delhi-cricketer-Shikhar-Dhawan-who-recently-tied-the-knot-with-Aesha-Mukherjee-in-the-city.jpg

:yk

mohali pitch usually aids fast bowling especially in the morning. it is pretty cold in mohali now a days. pitch is much better than the rest of indian pitches

Veeru bhai, we love you! But its time you make way for Vijay and Shikhar. We will always miss you paaji, you're our proper legend and helped us most in beocming world #1 along with Zaheer paaji. Jai ho! :nehra

If a Pakistan player did this there would already been a 10 page thread on him being the second coming Viv Bradmam .

The insecurity is going through the roof