Should Mohammad Rizwan be removed from Pakistan's ODI captaincy?

I've been saying this for years, you can't have different captains for different formats, especially in a setup like ours where there's already no stability. The moment Aaqib removed Rizwan as T20I captain after just a few games, it made no sense to keep him as ODI captain. That’s when it became clear that the people running PCB, Aaqib and Naqvi, have no idea what they’re doing. It honestly feels like they're making it up as they go. Constant changes, no long-term planning, and absolutely no vision.

It’s frustrating how many people here are okay with this or aren’t even speaking up. This board is running Pakistan cricket into the ground, and fans should be united in calling it out. The way things are going, no captain or player will ever be able to settle, let alone build something meaningful. You lose a series, and boom, captain changed, squad overhauled, new coach, new selectors. That’s not how you build a successful team.

Whoever you pick as captain, just take your time, make the right call, and then back him for the next 2 to 4 years. One captain for ODIs and T20Is. Give him full support, let him implement his plans, get the seniors on board, and actually work on building something. Until we stop reacting emotionally after every loss and making wholesale changes, nothing will improve.

The PCB has always had issues, but what Naqvi and Aaqib have done recently is honestly worse than anything we’ve seen before. It’s just chaos. And unless fans start demanding better, they’ll keep getting away with it. We need stability, not constant drama.

I’ll say it again,

One of the STUPIDEST decisions to appoint him as captain in the first place.

No man from the SNGPL clique should ever be trusted with leadership in white ball cricket. Anyone who associates with that brand, group and has deep roots to Misbah’s school of thought needs to be blacklisted in white ball!

I’ll say it again,

One of the STUPIDEST decisions to appoint him as captain in the first place.

No man from the SNGPL clique should ever be trusted with leadership in white ball cricket. Anyone who associates with that brand, group and has deep roots to Misbah’s school of thought needs to be blacklisted in white ball!

Salman as T20 was not stupid??? OKAY

When Kirsten wanted to appoint Harris as captain of the T20 side, it’s people like you who made his life a living hell.

You people only accept leaders from the rubbish status quo of Babar and Rizwan.

When Kirsten wanted to appoint Harris as captain of the T20 side, it’s people like you who made his life a living hell.

You people only accept leaders from the rubbish status quo of Babar and Rizwan.
Hahaha,,, haris is even more funnier... LOL

That’s just appeasing the public as usual,

We know Babar is not a T20 player. This will be the end of Babar.
OK so hesson is gonna do it to appease his fans but if salman was made captain, he knows cricket more than anyone else..

hypocrisy why???

OK so hesson is gonna do it to appease his fans but if salman was made captain, he knows cricket more than anyone else..

hypocrisy why???
What has Salman done to promote himself first as a player? How has Salman ever misused his authority to forward himself and not his team first??

Are you saying Babar and Rizwan are selfless players+captains?

What has Salman done to promote himself first as a player? How has Salman ever misused his authority to forward himself and not his team first??

Are you saying Babar and Rizwan are selfless players+captains?
He became captain out of nowhere,,,his place in t20s is justifed????

If haris is my option for a wk then I am gonna even take a handicapped rizwan on a wheelchair over him.
This guy can neither bat nor keep.
Most overrated player ever

What has haris done in T20Is??
I’m not falling for this stupid argument

We can debate and you can batter me in the debate when we make comparisons of Harris with Butler, Salt, DeQock, Seifert….guys who are proper T20 keeper+batters

I’m not even going to entertain a STUPID discussion of Harris v Rizwan.

Rizwan isn’t even a T20 batter to begin with! He’s an atrocious opener in this format.

Come back to me when you want to win a debate of Harris v Salt.

I’m not falling for this stupid argument

We can debate and you can batter me in the debate when we make comparisons of Harris with Butler, Salt, DeQock, Seifert….guys who are proper T20 keeper+batters

I’m not even going to entertain a STUPID discussion of Harris v Rizwan.

Rizwan isn’t even a T20 batter to begin with! He’s an atrocious opener in this format.

Come back to me when you want to win a debate of Harris v Salt.
Atm riz is better than haris.
Tell me one game apart from that SA game in 2022WC where harris has ever performed and all those guys u have pointed out are all format players not tullas like harris who cant even perform on a phatta

At what?

Using his PR to make people forget his crimes in white ball cricket???
Atleast riz can keep
Not miss easy runouts like harris

It is turning into a mockery.I know both are useless in T20Is but harris just wins the battle of uselessness
Guy got 3 games against and couldnt even get to double figures in any of the games.

Atleast riz can keep
Not miss easy runouts like harris

It is turning into a mockery.I know both are useless in T20Is but harris just wins the battle of uselessness
Guy got 3 games against and couldnt even get to double figures in any of the games.
Calm down.

Rizwan is a good keeper, we know that. Even those who hate him as a white ball player do not go around highlighting his every little mistake with the gloves. Jo hai, so hai.

Our plight against him is regarding the severe unbalancing of the side that is done to accommodate him. And this fraud Rizwan doesn’t understand that he’s destroying the team balance and feels fully entitled to go about his merry little crappy ways.

Having said that, yes Harris needs to keep better. Some of his lapses of concentration are unforgivable especially when the game is hanging in the balance. As a batter though, he is versatile and is an asset to the team. He has a natural ability to play aggressively and can shift momentum to his side.

Calm down.

Rizwan is a good keeper, we know that. Even those who hate him as a white ball player do not go around highlighting his every little mistake with the gloves. Jo hai, so hai.

Our plight against him is regarding the severe unbalancing of the side that is done to accommodate him. And this fraud Rizwan doesn’t understand that he’s destroying the team balance and feels fully entitled to go about his merry little crappy ways.

Having said that, yes Harris needs to keep better. Some of his lapses of concentration are unforgivable especially when the game is hanging in the balance. As a batter though, he is versatile and is an asset to the team. He has a natural ability to play aggressively and can shift momentum to his side.
I am asking u haow many matches harris has won for pak???
When has he ever performed??
If I was the selector I would drop him for SA t20Is and replace him with rohail or yasir khan

Calm down.

Rizzu didn't keep that well during the SA game.

However when I highlighted this, Guddha Badmash sahib exploded 🤯 💥

If I was the selector I would drop him for SA t20Is and replace him with rohail or yasir khan
He won the SA and Bangladesh game in 2022.

He won multiple games in Bangladesh series, Asia cup 2025 etc etc, but you guys will claim it doesnt count as they are wither minnows like Oman or it didn't happen vs India or Sri Lanka.

Well, it’s quite simple…

Pakistan would not have reached the AC final had Harris not batted well with Nawaz to get them to a respectable total against BD

He also batted Pakistan out of trouble in a must win game against Oman

He also is the sole reason Pakistan played the 2022 T20 final.

Come off if mate, the guy is easy to hate just because he defiled your Bobsy with his comments.

Rizzu didn't keep that well during the SA game.

However when I highlighted this, Guddha Badmash sahib exploded 🤯 💥
Exactly bro, it’s not something I want to use to highlight the fact that overall Rizwan is a terrible white ball choice.

I don’t even need to pick up on small keeping mistakes, his batting and mindset alone is enough evidence for me to blacklist him.

Tbh that was a very difficult pitch to keep on.
Still he didnt drop any matches or miss a runout chance
He did miss stumping chances but you guys will once again claim that the pitch was turning and rizzu couldn't judge them.

Rizwan is a good keeper vs Pace. He's never been a good keeper close up or against spin, infact sarfi was better then him when it came to stumping or run outs.

The reason people believe rizwan is a good keeper is cause he can jump ridiculously high and save overhead boundaries vs pace or juat dive extremely well vs Pace in general.

He's always been atrocious vs Spin including drs, Stumping etc etc and people dont wish to highlight thism

Well, it’s quite simple…

Pakistan would not have reached the AC final had Harris not batted well with Nawaz to get them to a respectable total against BD

He also batted Pakistan out of trouble in a must win game against Oman

He also is the sole reason Pakistan played the 2022 T20 final.

Come off if mate, the guy is easy to hate just because he defiled your Bobsy with his comments.
Have our standards fallen that much that performances against Oman are taken seriously cmmon uncle.
Also he is not the sole reason pak played in 2022 wc final.In the SA game where he got a good 28 shadab and chachu got fifties and took us to a respectable total

He did miss stumping chances but you guys will once again claim that the pitch was turning and rizzu couldn't judge them.

Rizwan is a good keeper vs Pace. He's never been a good keeper close up or against spin, infact sarfi was better then him when it came to stumping or run outs.

The reason people believe rizwan is a good keeper is cause he can jump ridiculously high and save overhead boundaries vs pace or juat dive extremely well vs Pace in general.

He's always been atrocious vs Spin including drs, Stumping etc etc and people dont wish to highlight thism
That stumping chance was not that easy as the ball turned very much and the keeper was blinded by the batter.

Have our standards fallen that much that performances against Oman are taken seriously cmmon uncle.
Also he is not the sole reason pak played in 2022 wc final.In the SA game where he got a good 28 shadab and chachu got fifties and took us to a respectable total
Bhai you asked me a question and I gave you an honest answer

I’m not sure what else to say? If Harris was so poor then why would Mathew Hayden do special sifarish for him to be added into the 2022 squad after realising the players Pakistan have picked for the tournament are crap??

Mathew Hayden was the one who vouched for him even though Rizwan was already in the team!

That stumping chance was not that easy as the ball turned very much and the keeper was blinded by the batter.
That isn't the point though. Name one match where rizzu has been good at keeping vs spin?

His keeping is extremely good vs Pace. Not vs Spin. He can't judge the line of the ball which keepers like quinton de kock can do extremely well. And Mark boucher especially was phenomenal at it.

However yes overall rizwan is a much better keeper then Haris no question.

Bhai you asked me a question and I gave you an honest answer

I’m not sure what else to say? If Harris was so poor then why would Mathew Hayden do special sifarish for him to be added into the 2022 squad after realising the players Pakistan have picked for the tournament are crap??

Mathew Hayden was the one who vouched for him even though Rizwan was already in the team!
I am just asking u when has haris even performed barring performances against associates and bd who are just like helpless orphans??

That isn't the point though. Name one match where rizzu has been good at keeping vs spin?

His keeping is extremely good vs Pace. Not vs Spin. He can't judge the line of the ball which keepers like quinton de kock can do extremely well. And Mark boucher especially was phenomenal at it.

However yes overall rizwan is a much better keeper then Haris no question.
And the way he misleads captains into reviews

He’s clueless

This thread is about ODIs captaincy, Rizwan is being removed for no reason from captaincy. He is better captain than Shan, Agha, and Shaheen. He started his captaincy really well in Australia and South Africa, before Aqib formed disagreement with him selecting players like Faheem over Jamal. Now Aqib does not get on with Rizwan, hence he is being removed from captaincy. The guy who is setting fields lots of time even in Test matches for Shan. Rizwan has vast experience of captaincy at all levels, and has done fairly well. Anyway we now have to support the new captain, Shaheen and wish him good luck, just hope he will nit promote himself in batting as he is nothing more than a slogger Haris Rauf level, but better than Hasan Ali.

Tell me when has haris ever performed barring bd and associate teams??
Harris was over rated and Kristen fell for it. His captaincy stints have been rubbish just like his batting. PCB are giving him one more series to be absolute sure as they have not groomed anyone, and do not want Rizwan in T20s.

This thread is about ODIs captaincy, Rizwan is being removed for no reason from captaincy. He is better captain than Shan, Agha, and Shaheen. He started his captaincy really well in Australia and South Africa, before Aqib formed disagreement with him selecting players like Faheem over Jamal. Now Aqib does not get on with Rizwan, hence he is being removed from captaincy. The guy who is setting fields lots of time even in Test matches for Shan. Rizwan has vast experience of captaincy at all levels, and has done fairly well. Anyway we now have to support the new captain, Shaheen and wish him good luck, just hope he will nit promote himself in batting as he is nothing more than a slogger Haris Rauf level, but better than Hasan Ali.

We know your agenda here. You said Saim should go back to the domestics to correct his flaws and ran away when questioned about Babar’s flaws that he’s supposedly rectified to get back into the T20 side.

You oppose my narrative with sense by saying Rizwan on a wheelchair is better than Harris as a T20 batsman?

Lage raho Ustad.
Yeah its true.
Even kami of all people is a beeter keeper than harris.
Even saad baig is outperforming him these days.

We don’t care if he’s a better keeper. We need a keeper who bats for the team. That’s Harris. Not Rizwan.
Keeping is an important facet of the game.
A team cant be good unless they a good keeper also

I said rizwan and haris are useless but riz is bit better.
Overall both are useless and shouldn’t be in the T20I setup.

“According to the PCB spokesperson, head coach Mike Hesson has formally written to PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi, recommending that a joint meeting of the Selection Committee and the Advisory Committee be convened to finalise the captain for the series.
Chairman Mohsin Naqvi has referred the letter to the selection and the advisory committees which will meet up on October 20, during which the final decision on the ODI captaincy is expected to be made. PCB”

“The dove has reported that the command of the national one-day team is likely to be handed over to a new commander, Muhammad Rizwan's one-day captaincy is in danger, Muhammad Rizwan is likely to be removed from the one-day captaincy, while Shaheen Shah Afridi is likely to be appointed as the one-day captain, ten days ago discussions were being held regarding appointing Shaheen Shah Afridi as the one-day captain”

We know your agenda here. You said Saim should go back to the domestics to correct his flaws and ran away when questioned about Babar’s flaws that he’s supposedly rectified to get back into the T20 side.
He did not bother go in to that thread so keep ur tales to yourself. I do not spend my life on pak passion like you do. As for Babar I did not ask for his return or have a problem with his return, so I am not answerable for his return in T20s. As for Saim he is looking shadow of himself at, clearly needs game time, whereas Babar is finally showing improvements in his play. Whether he fits in Pakistan T20 team is to be seen.