Should Pakistan's exit from the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 force the PCB to move on from the current players for good?

Inzamam-ul-Haq, while speaking in a video posted on his Instagram:

"Disappointed with the team and selection committee.”

“Review the players' performances once again. This is not the first tournament where we’ve performed like this. I’m not referring to the cricket series. I’m talking about (ICC) events such as Asia Cup, World Cup and T20 World Cup.”

“Hum kahin stand hi nahi kar rahe. Shuru me hi baahar ho jaate hain. Jahan thoda sa pressure padta hai, bilkul khatam ho jaate hain (We are not even standing anywhere. We get knocked out right at the start. The moment there’s a little pressure, we completely collapse).”

Pakistan has tuk tukers and hacks. Nothing in between. Proper stroke players like Inzamam are not there anymore. Bat touching the ball sound is painful to hear. Ashwin mentioned in his channel he said "I used to have fever when Saeed ANwar came to bat. Babar azam doesn't belong to that category"
I will pick kamran akmal over babar azam any day, forget about saeed anwar...

True accountability would mean every selector, coach, and the captain facing a press conference upon their return to Pakistan. Let the fans and media question them directly, one by one, about how we got to this point. This is what needs to happen.

There is no greater embarrassment than being defeated like this in a home tournament, it rarely happens. If these people have any shame, there should be a major overhaul.

Like every Pakistan cricket fan, Faisal Iqbal also has his say

aKFjrIL.jpg

sQWYAIc.jpg

Ultimately the players are responsible for their own games. These Pakistani players have all the resources in the world to be the best possible athletes and to iron out their deficiencies in their spare time. They come into the team with some hunger, fire in the belly but then stagnate because of complacency, lack of competition, having too much power over the PCB and in the team and hence the end result is they know they are secure and don't have to worry about losing their places.

As far as domestic cricket is concerned, too many same coaches, individuals have been in the domestic system, nca, U19 set up for a good 15-20 years now and our U19, Shaheens team has been frequently losing to India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh. This is where the alarm bells should have run a long time ago but the PCB hasn't really taken long term action.
Ijax Ahmed coached U 19 have been choking since years at KO stages yet with every batch he played he is still there

It's not possible to get rid of the whole team but new blood is needed not recycled failures if you have played sufficient number of matches and failed then someone in domestic cricket who is showing potential should be tried and given full support and importantly play then in positions they are custom to don't abuse the talent which we are very good at.

Salman Butt has criticized Pakistan’s failure to improve following their six-wicket defeat to India in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 while speaking on a show:

“The issue is not just losing, but the fact that there is no improvement. If mistakes keep changing, it means you are trying new things, but Pakistan don’t seem to know how to construct an innings, post a total, or chase one.”

“We win the toss, bat first, and get five players set, yet no one scores big. Every other team has had at least one or two centurions, but no Pakistani batter has produced a match-winning innings.”

“Some dismissals were reckless and irresponsible. If a player has consumed deliveries, it’s his responsibility to ensure the team benefits from it.”

“We started well with the ball, but once Rohit Sharma stepped forward and attacked, our bowlers lost control. When batters use their feet, bowlers need to adjust, but Pakistan’s attack struggled under pressure.”

I think I made an entire thread on this once.

If I walk on the tennis court and start thinking like Federer I wont become Federer.

Sorry, but no sorry.

These players dont play this timid way because they are scared.

They play this way because this is their skillset and skill level.

A donkey cant outrun a horse.

Its futile.

Either outhaul the system producing donkeys or stop expecting donkeys to turn to horses during races.
You cannot say that unless they try and fail. The Federer analogy is an exaggeration as I am not saying they'll become world beaters. They will, though, become A LOT better.

India's bowling yesterday was VERY ordinary and these guys, with their limited skillset, could have put up a MUCH better total with the right approach.

Also, these guys have shown in the past that their ceiling is MUCH higher than what we've seen recently. Regardless of the quality of opposition, the series wins in SA and Aus proved that they can play at a much higher level if they are right in the mind.

Ahmed Shehzad, while speaking on a local sports media outlet:

"People say that the team doesn't have a system where players are selected through favouritism, but they do. We've seen it. We know everything."

"We'll tell the truth to the whole world unless we feel that you're going towards the right direction. There was only one sport left in Pakistan. That was cricket. Today, that has also finished."

Shahid Afridi, while speaking on a local sports media outlet:

"In 2025, Pakistan was playing the cricket style of the 1980s and 1990s while other teams had progressed well to adopt an aggressive and modern style. The ailment of playing too many dot balls also hurt our game."

"The mindset of Pakistan players does not match modern-day cricket. We need a complete overhaul of the system so that we can produce players with an aggressive approach."

"According to me after 2017 whatever ICC events have come, there is nothing for Pakistan but we always talk about our preparations. We don't know which team to play in our home conditions. We didn't attack during the time of our bowling. If you have to win against big teams you have to play with an attacking approach."

Mohammad Amir, while speaking on a local TV show:

"PSL should not be the criteria for national team selection. The top performers from domestic cricket should be the priority, not PSL."

"The people who said we don’t need spinners or proper openers should now come forward and admit their mistake. We struggled in the opening and middle overs—who is responsible for that?"

"The same faces keep coming back into the system despite being removed multiple times. How can you move forward like this?"

Complete conflation of two separate issues.

I have written extensively here on this forum about the issues of mismanagement which hinders Pakistan cricket.

However, what I'm talking about is the lack of skills that is omnipresent. Bangladesh also has a lot of talented cricketers in their country but the don't have skills to compete. If Bangladesh fans start demanding that their team win ICC tournaments, then they are nothing but deluded.

Same goes for Pakistan fans. When Irfan Niazi was in the team, he was butchered on this forum. Now that he is not in the team, fans are asking why is he not in the team? Goes to show the mental IQ of the fans. Anybody who isn't in the team is a better player who would've done great. That's the fans logic. Abdullah Shafique is being paraded as a great opener now that he isn't in the team. Has everyone forgotten his 3 consecutive ducks in Australia where he was made to look like a clown.

Nobody here is saying that we shouldn't demand accountability. But first learn to assess your team skills, adjust your expectations accordingly and then work behind the scenes to uplift the standards.
You love the sound of your own keyboard don't ya? :LOL: Typing essays to tell fans to lower their standards instead of asking why the team keeps failing, interesting approach.

You're acting like Pakistan cricket is some lost-cause minnow that should be grateful just to participate. That's just nonsense. Pakistan has produced world-class players for decades. The issue isn’t lack of skill—it’s that we don’t develop and refine it properly. Talent without structure is wasted.

Comparing Pakistan to Bangladesh is also ridiculous. Bangladesh has never been a dominant force in world cricket, while Pakistan has won world titles and ICC trophies. Fans have every right to expect better because the potential is there.

And your whole "fans are dumb because they complain about selections" argument? That’s just deflection. Of course, fans will debate who should be in the XI—that happens in every cricketing nation. But the bigger frustration is that selections, coaching, and fitness standards are all objectively poor—and it shows on the field.

Instead of telling fans to “adjust expectations” maybe you should be asking why Pakistan cricket refuses to evolve while other teams have adapted and thrived?

Rashid Latif, during a post-match analysis show, criticized the PCB for prioritizing personal connections over performance in team selection:

“The current team is not on merit. We sit in panels and criticize players. Sometimes it is justified and sometimes it is not. But this team was not upto the mark across departments. We have been talking about one opener and a spinner and this is what happened against India. We added Imam-ul-Haq to the team. Instead of him, if another spinner was paired with Abrar Ahmed, it would have made a difference.”

“Merit will only happen when your chairman is on merit. If he is not on merit, he will do the same thing as the way he was appointed. The people in his team have no connection with cricket. You can make a stadium big if you don’t know anything about cricket. The change should start from the top. You can’t achieve anything by dropping some players. Mohammad Amir was a part of the team that went to the USA (ICC T20 World 2024). The two players were pushing aside, and the same work started."

“I am in this field (cricket expert) for 15 years and I have enjoyed happiness on just two occasions, 2009 (T20 World Cup) and 2017 (Champions Trophy). The rest has been disasters. You haven’t qualified for the second round on two consecutive times,”

Yes, Imam at that point was indeed Pakistan's best opener. Averaging close to 50 with a SR of close to 90 in the last 2-3 years means he was the best opener at that point.

Did he play a horrible innings yesterday? Absolutely. Both of those things can be true at the same time. What's so difficult to understand?

Should Imam be in the team going forward? Maybe not because Saim delivered in the past 2 series in spades and has shown to be an upgrade over Imam. Saim deserves to be the opening partner to Fakhar. That's how cricket works. That's how competition works.

On another note, didn't you say Shaheen is the best fast bowler in Pakistan?

Yes, I did say Shaheen is the best fast bowler because at the time he was. He was Pakistan's best bowler in the 2019 World Cup, 2021 WT20 and 2022 WT20. He regressed after the latter.

Imam was never and I repeat never the best white ball batsman in Pakistan for any moment in time. I respect you but I'm sorry to say this is one of the worst takes I've read on PP. It's so disrespectful towards Fakhar Zaman. Imam was never superior to him.

If Imam can’t even get picked in PSL, which is nowhere near as good as IPL, then what hope does he have in white ball international cricket? Before you tell me that I'm mixing formats. ODIs are merely an extension of the shortest format. The fundamentals remain the same.

Imam hasn't played a PSL game since 2021, which tells you everything about his white ball calibre.

Imagine being Inzi's nephew but you still get snubbed by all the PSL franchises :ROFLMAO: 👏 🤡

Yes, I did say Shaheen is the best fast bowler because at the time he was. He was Pakistan's best bowler in the 2019 World Cup, 2021 WT20 and 2022 WT20. He regressed after the latter.

Imam was never and I repeat never the best white ball batsman in Pakistan for any moment in time. I respect you but I'm sorry to say this is one of the worst takes I've read on PP. It's so disrespectful towards Fakhar Zaman. Imam was never superior to him.

If Imam can’t even get picked in PSL, which is nowhere near as good as IPL, then what hope does he have in white ball international cricket? Before you tell me that I'm mixing formats. ODIs are merely an extension of the shortest format. The fundamentals remain the same.

Imam hasn't played a PSL game since 2021, which tells you everything about his white ball calibre.

Imagine being Inzi's nephew but you still get snubbed by all the PSL franchises :ROFLMAO: 👏 🤡
From 2020-2022 (3 years) Imam had an average of 50 and a SR of 88. Fakhar in the same period had an average of 41 and a SR of 89. In Pakistan, Imam had an average of 76 at a SR of 95. Fakhar, in Pakistan, had an average of 24 and a SR of 87. Both playing at the same time and the same matches. So yes, Imam was better than Fakhar at that time. This still is not a slight on Fakhar.

Having said that, nowhere have I ever said, that I will replace Fakhar with Imam. Imam was the best choice as a second opener to Fakhar. Fakhar is by far the only matchwinner we have produced in white-ball cricket in the past 8 years since his debut. That is an undeniable fact.

From 01 Jan 2023 till now, Imam has completely gone off the boil (average 34 and SR 80). With Saim's emergence, it's absolutely the correct decision to have sidelined Imam. Like I had said, this is how competition works.

With regards to Shaheen, you cannot have your cake and eat it too. You cannot bring up Shaheen's stats as best bowler for Pakistan to laud him but then disregard Imam's stats to bring him down. Be consistent. If Shaheen was the best bowler during that time, then fine. Imam was the best opener during the time I mentioned. The street goes both ways. Both of them have crapped.

Also, where have I said that Imam is a great white-ball player? I would have talked about his ODI game and not T20. Averaging 50 with a SR of about 90 is great for ODI. Pakistan did not have Warner's, Salt's, Buttler's sitting in the wings from 2020-2022 for Imam to be replaced. Mohammad Haris couldn't score beyond 20 runs to have any say in the debate. Saim arrived, delivered and rightly replaced Imam. What's so difficult about this?

Ramiz Raja speaking on his YouTube channel:

"I wonder why Pakistan played their first match against New Zealand. They should have played their first match against Bangladesh. Even though Bangladesh is a strong side, it was still comparatively an easy match for them."

"They played against them in the opener and lost. The defeat created pressure on Pakistan. I don't understand why Pakistan didn't play their first match against Bangladesh or India. If that happened, the pressure would be equal."

"Virat's knock had everything. There was calmness and attack. He maintained the pace well. Overall, Virat Kohli was a complete package. He keeps on challenging himself. He played confidently against every bowler and didn't allow anyone to settle."

Sindh Governor Tessori proposes solution to improve Pakistan Cricket Team​

Sindh Governor Kamran Khan Tessori has proposed an extreme measure to improve the performance of Pakistan’s national cricket team, recommending that the entire squad be suspended for a year.

Speaking in London during a press conference, Tessori stated that if the team’s performance does not improve, a one-year suspension should be enforced.

He argued that a successful cricket team is built through thoughtful decisions rather than constant criticism.

Tessori, who is currently on a visit to the UK, also mentioned his aim of encouraging overseas Pakistanis to invest in Pakistan.

He took the opportunity to clarify that no allegations of corruption had been made against him during his political career.

Earlier, He has announced a reward of Rs10 million for the Pakistan cricket team if they secure victory against India in their upcoming clash.

Governor Tessori expressed his best wishes for the national team, stating that his heart and prayers are with them for the high-stakes encounter.

"I wonder why Pakistan played their first match against New Zealand. They should have played their first match against Bangladesh. Even though Bangladesh is a strong side, it was still comparatively an easy match for them."

"They played against them in the opener and lost. The defeat created pressure on Pakistan. I don't understand why Pakistan didn't play their first match against Bangladesh or India. If that happened, the pressure would be equal."

"Virat's knock had everything. There was calmness and attack. He maintained the pace well. Overall, Virat Kohli was a complete package. He keeps on challenging himself. He played confidently against every bowler and didn't allow anyone to settle."
Rambo we cant fix fixtures like we fix pitches.

What a crappy statement from fake ex-PCB Head! We had two matches with the same opposition prior to playing the Kiwis in the first match of the tournament and in each match, we got worse. We didn't learn from our mistakes, we didn't change anything, we just kept playing the same timid way, hoping that Qudrat Ka Nizam will intervene somehow!!

Former Pakistan women's team captain Sana Mir, while speaking on a show on a local sports channel:

“The 15 that have been selected (in Champions Trophy squad), even if you make MS Dhoni or (former Pakistan skipper) Younis Khan captain, nobody can do anything to the team because it has not been selected on the basis of the playing conditions."

“I was watching the match when I got a message from a friend that India are 100 for 2 ‘I think it’s over’. So, I said the match was over when the squad was announced."

“Half the tournament we had lost when we announced the 15-member squad, and I am saying this from day one."

“They (selectors) knew that Pakistan had to play at least one match in Dubai, so how did you bring two part-time spinners."

“Abrar (Ahmed), who is still new in ODI cricket… in the last five months, they have taken two wickets conceding 165 runs. The selectors removed key players who played in last two series against Australia and South Africa."

“Irfan (Khan) Niazi was a good fielder, showed good power-hitting (in the T20I and ODI series against South Africa)… so, we lost the tournament when we announced the squad."

There is no ‘establishment’ in the country.

It’s a one man ‘establishment’. One guy controls everything. One guy can topple governments, rig elections or make or break things. This one guy needs to be sent back to barracks asap. One man establishment.
I really don't get what you mean.

If you send this "one man" back to barracks, he'll be replaced by another man who will do the same thing.

It's been happening for decades dude.

Former Pakistan women's team captain Sana Mir, while speaking on a show on a local sports channel:

“The 15 that have been selected (in Champions Trophy squad), even if you make MS Dhoni or (former Pakistan skipper) Younis Khan captain, nobody can do anything to the team because it has not been selected on the basis of the playing conditions."

“I was watching the match when I got a message from a friend that India are 100 for 2 ‘I think it’s over’. So, I said the match was over when the squad was announced."

“Half the tournament we had lost when we announced the 15-member squad, and I am saying this from day one."

“They (selectors) knew that Pakistan had to play at least one match in Dubai, so how did you bring two part-time spinners."

“Abrar (Ahmed), who is still new in ODI cricket… in the last five months, they have taken two wickets conceding 165 runs. The selectors removed key players who played in last two series against Australia and South Africa."

“Irfan (Khan) Niazi was a good fielder, showed good power-hitting (in the T20I and ODI series against South Africa)… so, we lost the tournament when we announced the squad."
There is WAY TOO much being made of the squad that was selected. Yes, we were a spinner short. But our batting has let us down. Batting has failed way worse than our bowling.

Waqar Younis, while speaking on a show on a local sports channel:

"In Pakistan, I think even today we are stuck in the 80s theory. It’s 80s thinking to take the game deep. If you need a run rate of 5, stretch it to 8 or 9 and leave it to others to do the job. This doesn’t work anymore."

“As Wasim bhai (buddy) says, there is no consistency at any level—whether it's the chairman, selectors, or coaches.”

"Teams will not let you bounce back. You saw Australia chase 350 against England, and at no point did their required rate increase. That is the way to go. Even when Australia lost early."

"In Pakistan, I think even today we are stuck in the 80s theory. It’s 80s thinking to take the game deep. If you need a run rate of 5, stretch it to 8 or 9 and leave it to others to do the job. This doesn’t work anymore."

“As Wasim bhai (buddy) says, there is no consistency at any level—whether it's the chairman, selectors, or coaches.”

"Teams will not let you bounce back. You saw Australia chase 350 against England, and at no point did their required rate increase. That is the way to go. Even when Australia lost early."

See Waqar on TV makes my blood boil. He is taking Rs 5 million a month from the board, a salary completely unheard off, he is not devoting his 24/7/365 time to his mentorship role and he is taking another paycheck on TV and criticizing the PCB, the players and captain. Someone should have asked him what is he doing as the mentor, which new players has he discovered?

Even Malik, Misbah as mentors are working on TV. This is another example of the conflict of interest and moral bankruptcy in Pakistan Cricket

Cheers Vicky Bhai for the input - if only you had roles in the PCB in the past to root out the 80s mindset

Fakhar (35)
Saim
???
???
Salman
Kamran (not enough chances yet?)
Khushdil (for now ...limited on off side)
???
???
???
Abrar

Imran Khan frustrated over Pakistan's loss to India, lashes out at PCB chairman​

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) founder and former Prime Minister Imran Khan expressed his frustration over the national cricket team's poor performance in the ICC Champions Trophy, Aleema Khan quoted him as saying on Tuesday, as he highlighted that appointing individuals based on recommendations instead of merit would lead to the downfall of cricket in the country.

After a meeting with the PTI founder, his sister, Aleema Khan, spoke to the media, revealing that Imran Khan was particularly upset about the cricket match. "Imran Khan watched the match on PTV and was deeply disappointed by the loss. His anger was directed at cricket today," Aleema Khan said.

She further mentioned that Khan had been visibly upset over the loss, commenting that "cricket would be ruined if recommended individuals are appointed to important positions."

Imran Khan also highlighted the role of Mohsin Naqvi, who was appointed as the Chairman PCB, criticizing his actions and stating that Naqvi's appointments had caused harm to Pakistan.

Aleema Khan added that Imran Khan had also pointed out Naqvi's extensive hold on various key positions, saying, "No one in Pakistan holds as many positions as Mohsin Naqvi does." Khan also remarked that under such poor leadership, a respectable person would have resigned by now, but Naqvi had not done so. "If asked, what experience does Naqvi have in cricket?" he questioned.

Regarding rumors about his health, Imran Khan dismissed them, clarifying that only party officials should speak about his health.

Aleema Khan confirmed that there was no truth to reports claiming Khan had collapsed, adding that her brother was in good health and had spoken to his children on Saturday, reassuring the family that he was fine.

She further clarified that PTI leader Qasim Khan Suri, who is currently abroad, was unaware of the situation. "There is a significant difference between reports from sources and face-to-face meetings," she stated.

See Waqar on TV makes my blood boil. He is taking Rs 5 million a month from the board, a salary completely unheard off, he is not devoting his 24/7/365 time to his mentorship role and he is taking another paycheck on TV and criticizing the PCB, the players and captain. Someone should have asked him what is he doing as the mentor, which new players has he discovered?

Even Malik, Misbah as mentors are working on TV. This is another example of the conflict of interest and moral bankruptcy in Pakistan Cricket
What are they supposed to do? The PCB doesn’t have a year round domestic calendar like the top side do. England have the County system. Year round coaches and players work with each other. The same in Australia with their state system. NZ, SA, and now India have professionalized and have a year round system.

All of the teams with professional domestic systems and set calendars are playing cricket at an elite level and producing high level cricketers.

Those like us who have ad-hoc systems, Bangladesh, SL, Zimbabwe. Look at us. We’re nowhere in the world of cricket.

We don’t have a set calendar. The tournaments move around and are such short duration they produce nothing. Why wasn’t the “Champions FC Cup” from August-December? Where the “mentors” must stay with the players for 4 months and actually train them? Then the T20 in January prior to the PSL draft. Then after the PSL a 2 months 1-day “Champions Cup”? Do that every year in the same time window. Every team has 25 players on 10 month contracts. The “mentors would actually be working with the same players for a long stretch. There might be actual benefit there. Unlike the stop start nature of whatever it is we’re doing now. A player goes from one coach to another depending on the competition.

I can’t blame the “mentors” here. The problem is all at the PCB level.

What are they supposed to do? The PCB doesn’t have a year round domestic calendar like the top side do. England have the County system. Year round coaches and players work with each other. The same in Australia with their state system. NZ, SA, and now India have professionalized and have a year round system.

All of the teams with professional domestic systems and set calendars are playing cricket at an elite level and producing high level cricketers.

Those like us who have ad-hoc systems, Bangladesh, SL, Zimbabwe. Look at us. We’re nowhere in the world of cricket.

We don’t have a set calendar. The tournaments move around and are such short duration they produce nothing. Why wasn’t the “Champions FC Cup” from August-December? Where the “mentors” must stay with the players for 4 months and actually train them? Then the T20 in January prior to the PSL draft. Then after the PSL a 2 months 1-day “Champions Cup”? Do that every year in the same time window. Every team has 25 players on 10 month contracts. The “mentors would actually be working with the same players for a long stretch. There might be actual benefit there. Unlike the stop start nature of whatever it is we’re doing now. A player goes from one coach to another depending on the competition.

I can’t blame the “mentors” here. The problem is all at the PCB level.

They are supposed to earn their keep. When they signed the contracts with the PCB, it was agreed that they will take full charge of their regions, set up high performance camps, take responsibility for the U-19, domestic and women's players, they will monitor the coaches, support staff as well.

For that kind of money, PCB has every right to demand exclusivity from them. Cricket is played throughout the year in Pakistan. But instead we are seeing these mentors take time out for their other endeavours like charity tours, commentary assignments and tv analyst gigs while they are being rewarded handsomely by the PCB. This is clearly unethical and a huge conflict of interest. Either they need to work for free for the PCB in exchange for being allowed to earn money from outside gigs like TV, Commentary but they can't have the best of both worlds.

According to news reporters Mohsin Naqvi is not happy about this and he is going to ask these mentors to sign contracting binding them to the PCB and their roles 24/7/365 and no one will be given any more privelleges and if they don't like it, they are welcome to leave.

They are supposed to earn their keep. When they signed the contracts with the PCB, it was agreed that they will take full charge of their regions, set up high performance camps, take responsibility for the U-19, domestic and women's players, they will monitor the coaches, support staff as well.

For that kind of money, PCB has every right to demand exclusivity from them. Cricket is played throughout the year in Pakistan. But instead we are seeing these mentors take time out for their other endeavours like charity tours, commentary assignments and tv analyst gigs while they are being rewarded handsomely by the PCB. This is clearly unethical and a huge conflict of interest. Either they need to work for free for the PCB in exchange for being allowed to earn money from outside gigs like TV, Commentary but they can't have the best of both worlds.

According to news reporters Mohsin Naqvi is not happy about this and he is going to ask these mentors to sign contracting binding them to the PCB and their roles 24/7/365 and no one will be given any more privelleges and if they don't like it, they are welcome to leave.
They didn’t sign up for any “regions”. It’s just made up teams that are regionless in the “Champions” nonsense.

I agree with you that they should do the development work. But that’s where you can’t have people like this. Their egos are too big. You need the smaller name local coaches. These guys don’t have the willpower of someone like Gillespie or Mike Hesson or Andrew McDonald (current Aussie HC) who spent time in the lower ranks and worked with developing talent while building up their coaching skills and then moved up.

Our egotistical maniacs want the glory without the work.

Wasim Akram speaking following Pakistan's six-wicket defeat to India in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025:

"I think it was the first or second drinks break, and there was a plate full of bananas for the players. Itne kele toh bandar bhi nahi khaate (Even monkeys don't eat so many bananas). And it's their food. Had it been our captain Imran Khan, he would have given me a beating over it."

I saw an instagram video where few pak fans have literally cried while saying it.Pak fans near kuldeep have asked him to give few runs away.then kuldeep replied ask ur players not to be timid and they are playing like frightened chickens.

Imran Khan frustrated over Pakistan's loss to India, lashes out at PCB chairman​

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) founder and former Prime Minister Imran Khan expressed his frustration over the national cricket team's poor performance in the ICC Champions Trophy, Aleema Khan quoted him as saying on Tuesday, as he highlighted that appointing individuals based on recommendations instead of merit would lead to the downfall of cricket in the country.

After a meeting with the PTI founder, his sister, Aleema Khan, spoke to the media, revealing that Imran Khan was particularly upset about the cricket match. "Imran Khan watched the match on PTV and was deeply disappointed by the loss. His anger was directed at cricket today," Aleema Khan said.

She further mentioned that Khan had been visibly upset over the loss, commenting that "cricket would be ruined if recommended individuals are appointed to important positions."

Imran Khan also highlighted the role of Mohsin Naqvi, who was appointed as the Chairman PCB, criticizing his actions and stating that Naqvi's appointments had caused harm to Pakistan.

Aleema Khan added that Imran Khan had also pointed out Naqvi's extensive hold on various key positions, saying, "No one in Pakistan holds as many positions as Mohsin Naqvi does." Khan also remarked that under such poor leadership, a respectable person would have resigned by now, but Naqvi had not done so. "If asked, what experience does Naqvi have in cricket?" he questioned.

Regarding rumors about his health, Imran Khan dismissed them, clarifying that only party officials should speak about his health.

Aleema Khan confirmed that there was no truth to reports claiming Khan had collapsed, adding that her brother was in good health and had spoken to his children on Saturday, reassuring the family that he was fine.

She further clarified that PTI leader Qasim Khan Suri, who is currently abroad, was unaware of the situation. "There is a significant difference between reports from sources and face-to-face meetings," she stated.

Aleema Khan speaking to media outside Adiala Jail Rawalpindi after meeting Imran Khan:

"The PTI (Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf) founder expressed great sadness over losing the match against India."

“Imran said cricket will be eventually destroyed when favourites are put in decision-making positions."

Shahid Afridi, while speaking to a local media outlet:

“We can remove 6-7 players but do we have 6-7 players who will replace them. Do you have players of such standard in your domestic cricket? Have we groomed them in academies? It will be back to the same — we can remove players but who will be bring in?”

“When we bring in them, we will have to train them and then we will say before the World Cup that we are preparing and when the tournament will be over, we will say we need a surgery. We will remain stuck in this.”

“We can remove 6-7 players but do we have 6-7 players who will replace them. Do you have players of such standard in your domestic cricket? Have we groomed them in academies? It will be back to the same — we can remove players but who will be bring in?”

“When we bring in them, we will have to train them and then we will say before the World Cup that we are preparing and when the tournament will be over, we will say we need a surgery. We will remain stuck in this.”
Playing with your dear son in law continuously will yield no results aswell
Best idea is to play without the core 5 (Babar, Riz, Shaheen, Naseem and Rauf) in the next 3-4 bilalterials and if they lose let them lose but if they do well you have suddenly a bigger talent base

From 2020-2022 (3 years) Imam had an average of 50 and a SR of 88. Fakhar in the same period had an average of 41 and a SR of 89. In Pakistan, Imam had an average of 76 at a SR of 95. Fakhar, in Pakistan, had an average of 24 and a SR of 87. Both playing at the same time and the same matches. So yes, Imam was better than Fakhar at that time. This still is not a slight on Fakhar.

Babar and Rizwan also look like world beaters when they are not facing first string bowling attacks and look what happened to them in the CT?

Also, Imam/Rizwan/Babar play a brand of low risk cricket. If you cannot maintain those standards against first string bowling attacks then it doesn't matter what you can do against B/C string bowlers in relatively low pressure meaningless bilateral contests.

Fakhar adopts a higher risk approach because unlike Imam (+ Babar and Rizwan) because he actually plays for the team's best interests.

Also, it is not just about stats. Eye test is important as well. Imam had nothing going for him because he has no shots.

Having said that, nowhere have I ever said, that I will replace Fakhar with Imam. Imam was the best choice as a second opener to Fakhar. Fakhar is by far the only matchwinner we have produced in white-ball cricket in the past 8 years since his debut. That is an undeniable fact.

You sound confused because you are contradicting yourself here.

From 01 Jan 2023 till now, Imam has completely gone off the boil (average 34 and SR 80). With Saim's emergence, it's absolutely the correct decision to have sidelined Imam. Like I had said, this is how competition works.

With regards to Shaheen, you cannot have your cake and eat it too. You cannot bring up Shaheen's stats as best bowler for Pakistan to laud him but then disregard Imam's stats to bring him down. Be consistent. If Shaheen was the best bowler during that time, then fine. Imam was the best opener during the time I mentioned. The street goes both ways. Both of them have crapped.

Shaheen was the best bowler for Pakistan in 3 ICC tournaments. This is a fact. Tell me when was Imam Pakistan's best batsman in an ICC tournament?

I think you need to practice what you preach when you say "be consistent" and "you cannot have your cake and eat it too" because you sound like you are talking out of your backside.

Also, where have I said that Imam is a great white-ball player? I would have talked about his ODI game and not T20. Averaging 50 with a SR of about 90 is great for ODI. Pakistan did not have Warner's, Salt's, Buttler's sitting in the wings from 2020-2022 for Imam to be replaced. Mohammad Haris couldn't score beyond 20 runs to have any say in the debate. Saim arrived, delivered and rightly replaced Imam. What's so difficult about this?

If you can't make it in a low standard T20 league like the PSL, you are a trash white ball player. That means trash in ODIs and T20Is. You tell me, why can't you understand this? I guess it is because your white ball cricketing acumen is archaic.

This question is irrelevant, the current core (Babar, Rizwan, Shah, Haris and Naseem) have proven over and over again that they cannot win a tournament, they are not big match players, they cannot take the pressure and frankly they are not very skillful.. they are scared, have no passion or discipline to win, and their fitness levels are appalling...

They don't deserve to represent Pakistan...

It is time to move on... choosing to stick with these cowards fearing we have no one to replace them is a really bad plan. Might I say, this thought process is part of thereon the got us here...

Shahid Afridi should stop defending his arrogant and useless damad...

PCB is not gonna do anything big. they just don't have the guts to do anything out of the box in a positive way. Yes, they will bring back useless players out of nowhere without any need.

Getting rid of Babar, riz etc is not gonna be easy

Mohammad Hafeez, while speaking on a TV show:

"Today, PCB gave some good news—the PSL schedule. They announced it so quickly, as if there was some urgency. After yesterday’s disappointment, they immediately brought a positive announcement about the PSL schedule. But take your time—what’s the rush to release it right now?"

"Anyway, it's their planning. But I believe many things need honest reflection. Winning and losing are just results; we need to follow the process. We have yet to properly identify our process, and I still don’t see it."

"Even in yesterday’s press conference, Aaqib Bhai's statements indicated that they believed they had made no mistakes."

"In the best ODI team, Babar Azam plays at number three. He is out of form, and now you are giving him another challenge. You are telling him, ‘Not only are you out of form, but also leave your comfort zone—where you have been most successful—and start opening.’"

"Were the best openers not available in Pakistan’s system? They were available, but you chose not to pick them."

"If we talk about performance, then on what basis was Faheem Ashraf selected in the team? On what performance was Usman Khan included in the ODI squad? On what grounds was Saud Shakeel recalled to the ODI team?"

"They are still firm on their stance that this was the best possible team. If this was the best team, then did they ever monitor the performances of the past two years, which led to Pakistan’s early exits from tournaments? If this was truly the best team, then how did players like Faheem Ashraf make it? How did this composition come together? You are calling it the best team, but it was not the best team."

Shoaib Malik, while speaking on a TV show:

"You have been knocked out of three ICC events. After every ICC event, the same thing happens—sack this person, change that person, replace the chairman, and change the selection committee. Even after three ICC tournaments, you are still in the same place, saying the same things."

"This is not the time to simply remove people. If there are ten people involved, at least four of them must be doing their job right—whether they are players, members of the selection committee, or other stakeholders. If we continue like this, we will be having the same conversation after the next ICC tournament as well."

"When you make mistakes—whether it's in selecting the 15-member squad, picking the playing XI, or leaving out players who should have been included—all these things need to be discussed."

"In modern-day cricket, you need to analyze the mistakes made during matches and then make decisions moving forward that put Pakistan cricket on the right track. I am not saying that winning and losing are everything—winning and losing are not entirely in your hands. But yes, what you must do is assess, learn from your mistakes, and then put your team back on the right track."

Moin Khan during a media interaction:

“I am listening to the comments of many former players nowadays, but since we are already losing, why not just build a new team? What is the worst that can happen? We will lose, but at least we would have done something different."

“Look, no one is saying they are not good players, but every player, no matter who he is, has to justify his place in the side on consistent performances."

“The thing is, do we even try to properly and justly give exposure to new players, groom them, and encourage them? Our problem is that we have different policies for different players."

“The players let down everyone. So please go for a new team; it will be better for Pakistan cricket."

Former Pakistan captain Asif Iqbal speaking during an interview:

"Nothing is wrong with Pakistan cricket. The other teams are playing better cricket than Pakistan. Whether batting first or chasing, we lost because our opponents played better cricket than us. Why is no one talking about what’s wrong with English cricket? Batting first, they couldn’t defend 351, and batting second, they couldn’t chase down 326. I have a totally different view on this."

“The reason for this hype is the expectation of the supporters of both teams that their team is better than their opponents and not realistic enough to accept that the present Indian team is on the top of rankings and we are at the bottom."

"Look, I want to emphasize here that the expectations of the Indian and Pakistani fans makes an Indo-Pak contest look like the clash of the titans. The fact is that you call it a clash of the titans when, for example, in tennis, No 1 ranked player plays a No 3, or No 4 ranked player, it will be billed as the clash of the titans. However, if a superstar and all-time great like Novak Djokovic plays a 100th-ranked player in the second round, he will be expected to win, and if he loses, it will be termed as a 'shock'. Likewise, if Pakistan beats India, or any other team, in an ICC event, that other team must have a very bad day. And I'm not belittling Pakistan here, but stating the reality. Pakistan has lost to a second-string South Africa and New Zealand at home recently. So, for me, it wasn't a surprise that they lost to India and New Zealand in the 2025 Champions Trophy. Ultimately, these are the players that we have. It's better to give them confidence. TV pe gaali-gloch (criticising them) won't help."

"More importantly India is not playing in Pakistan in an ICC tournament. Really sad."

"Yet again, Virat has shown that form is temporary, but class is permanent. The beauty about Virat is that when the stakes are higher, his concentration levels go up, and his delivery rate goes higher. It's amazing how he manages to keep doing this."

"India are fortunate to have the best bench strength in the cricketing world. If someone is injured or unavailable, they immediately have someone to replace him. It means a lot for the future of their game. Not many teams have this luxury.”

Rumman Raees slams the Pakistan team's management for using lack of experience as an excuse for not performing in the Champions Trophy!

He also uses the 2017 squad as an example of how youngsters can even win tournaments.

71cyW0J.jpg

Shoaib Malik, while speaking on a TV show:

"You have been knocked out of three ICC events. After every ICC event, the same thing happens—sack this person, change that person, replace the chairman, and change the selection committee. Even after three ICC tournaments, you are still in the same place, saying the same things."

"This is not the time to simply remove people. If there are ten people involved, at least four of them must be doing their job right—whether they are players, members of the selection committee, or other stakeholders. If we continue like this, we will be having the same conversation after the next ICC tournament as well."

"When you make mistakes—whether it's in selecting the 15-member squad, picking the playing XI, or leaving out players who should have been included—all these things need to be discussed."

"In modern-day cricket, you need to analyze the mistakes made during matches and then make decisions moving forward that put Pakistan cricket on the right track. I am not saying that winning and losing are everything—winning and losing are not entirely in your hands. But yes, what you must do is assess, learn from your mistakes, and then put your team back on the right track."

It’s funny how the same people are saying the same things after every debacle, and the same things happen in accordance with what they have said.

So when do we change Malik sab?

Pakistan best bowler in 2019 wc was amir.

Junaid Khan talks about the extreme nature of Pakistan's cricket fanbase in a conversation with PakPassion!

Keep an eye on our YouTube channel for the full conversation!

Oa8CsXV.jpg