Shouldn't the Pakistan stars of the '90s be regretful and embarrassed too?

Zaz

With the amount of talent they had they shouldve dominated cricket and india back then just like india are doing now They should have had fantastic stats both individually and as a team but that wasnt the case

All though a fantastic team on their day they were still inconsistent and performances ranged from the brilliant to the bizzare and embarrasing

Against india for the majority of the 90s they were much the better team but have only 26 odi wins to show back then compared to 17 losses

They lost all 3 world cup encounters to them when on paper they were much the better team

Apart from the odd test win they had nothing to show for in Aus Sth Africa or the West Indies
And the less said about the 99 final the better

There were numerous instances of shoddy selections, infighting, fixing and downright unprofessionalism from most of them on and off the pitch

The players are all retired now but im sure watching the indian team of the last few years, their achievements such as series wins in aus and the pummeling they give to pakistan in most games they play them they have a tinge of regret about what went on and how they performed day in day out

Discuss!

They should be regretful for missing out on 96 and 99 WC these two tourneys were winnable keepi in mind the strength in teams we had :aaqib :javed :aamer :wasim :inzi :atta :waqar :saqlain :mushtaq :moin :rashid :anwar :salim

Of course they should be ashamed. Before any Pak fan gets annoyed at me, put your hand on your heart and tell me did I say anything wrong? It’s one thing to be mediocre, another to do what those Pak players did back then.

Not really, if they were playing today's game, they would also suffer from the lack of international cricket played at home and weak domestic structure.

Yes.

If anything the 1980s Pakistan team doesn't get the credit it deserves for being far more consistent and constantly challenging the top team of the era (West Indies) unlike 90s brigade.

Indian team from 2003 world cup onward wipes the floor with the overrated 90s team of the Pakistan.

It was a good team but they almost always lost to Australia and South Africa. Sri Lanka smashed them several times. Failed to win a test series in West Indies. They were humiliated by Zimbabwe of all teams on multiple occasions.

They only bullied the weak Indian, English, and New Zealand teams. Even, then they failed to win a single ODI series in England and lost all of their world cup matches to India.

Not really, if they were playing today's game, they would also suffer from the lack of international cricket played at home and weak domestic structure.

But they werent playing today They were playing back in the 90s when they had the world at their feet Did success get to their heads?

Heck sri lanka and zimbabwe beat them at home in test series

Great Thread. The hypocrisy is undeniable. Let's also point out that many of these ppl have at one time or another been associated with Pakistan Cricket since retirement.

Agreed, these so called greats sold the nation for a pocket full of dollars from Indian book makers.

In fact they are directly responsible for the state of Pakistan cricket today.

Hate seeing them criticise the team now again for money from media channels in a shameless manner.

As far as I am concerned they all can go and fly a kite.

When your captain is fixing with no shame how will you have a team that works as a unit. You’ll see individual instances of brilliance amidst bizarre performances. Then the change of captains every few years. A Sohail was a great captain for sure though, average player though maybe above average at times.

Imran chose the wrong guy to be his successor. Think of whatever you want of Imran the politician, but as a captain of the team he kept the team together and even then there were egotistical individuals.

Its great of rambo wasim akhter and co to put the boot into the pakistan team and lecture them on what they should be doing but hand on heart can they look in the mirror and say they did their best day in day out?

This team doesnt have any world class players, doesnt have home cricket, dont play county cricket like they did

Do you think watching the indians of today they wish they had their time again to do things differently?

They were very talented for sure, but the Aussie side was more talented than them.

Pakistan and India barely played that much cricket in the 90's apart from the odd ODI in Sharjah. I wonder what the records would look like when we played a test series, odi series every year from 1992 to 1999. The W's were at the peak from 1992-1997

Indian team from 2003 world cup onward wipes the floor with the overrated 90s team of the Pakistan.

It was a good team but they almost always lost to Australia and South Africa. Sri Lanka smashed them several times. Failed to win a test series in West Indies. They were humiliated by Zimbabwe of all teams on multiple occasions.

They only bullied the weak Indian, English, and New Zealand teams. Even, then they failed to win a single ODI series in England and lost all of their world cup matches to India.

Then the off-field issues from top of my head:

Match fixing

Malik trying to bribe Australian players

Pakistan players caught on Grenada beach with drugs

Latif and Basit retiring mid-tour

Questionable losses (e.g. Faisalabad test, Bangladesh 1999 WC, etc.)

Wasim-Waqar feud

Captaincy musical chairs

People love romanticising the mid to late 1990s and early 2000s side but in addition to the scandals we were highly inconsistent. We lost twice to Sri Lanka at home, lost to Zimbabwe and South Africa at home, drew with a poor New Zealand team, lost to England at home and choked in two winnable World Cups in 1996 and 1999.

The golden era was 1976 to 1994 when we were arguably second only to West Indies. We drew twice away to Australia under Mushtaq Mohammed. We were the only team to win a Test in the Caribbean in the 1980s, the only team to avoid defeat in a series in the Caribbean between 1974 and 1995, the only team to win a series in India between 1985 and 2000, beat England away, and did not lose a series outside AUS/NZ between 1982 and 1993 where in that time we only lost 10 out of 80 Tests at home.

In ODIs we won the 1986 and 1990 Australasia Cup, reached SF of 1987 WC, 1989 Champions Trophy, 1989 Nehru mini World Cup, 1991 Wills Trophy and 1992 World Cup.

After the summer of 1992, the idiots took over the asylum and it all went downhill from there.

They never played like a team. Too much politics and drama and huge egos. They should have dominated everybody, too bad. And now they talk like babar shers :yk

[MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION]

It's because Pakistan has always been an average team, they were on top in the 80s but overall they have always been an average team

They needed a leader like IK to lead and guide them, also control the kids' egoes.

I had a tear in my eye watching the embarrasment on sunday How times have changed

This is what the likes of mushy, inzy, wasim waqar, anwar, saqi akhter and co shouldve been doing day in day out back in the 90s. A professional talented outfit sweeping most before them

Instead we had all sorts of shenanigans and an era that shouldve been the golden era tinged with regret and what ifs!

thread is spot on.
Like I said before, home game wins offset all of the thrashing Pakistan received on away games. Since we stopped playing home games, our win/loss ratios have plummeted and our weaknesses exposed.
You would think that playing away games would make the team stronger bu thats simply not the case. We have regressed further into mediocrity.

[MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION]

It's because Pakistan has always been an average team, they were on top in the 80s but overall they have always been an average team

They were never an avge team in the 90s They had more talent and better players than ever

Unfortunately they had huge egos, lacked professionalism, a good team ethic and the desire to do their best day in day out

I had a tear in my eye watching the embarrasment on sunday How times have changed

This is what the likes of mushy, inzy, wasim waqar, anwar, saqi akhter and co shouldve been doing day in day out back in the 90s. A professional talented outfit sweeping most before them

Instead we had all sorts of shenanigans and an era that shouldve been the golden era tinged with regret and what ifs!

Ironically the post-retirement shenanigans of all those highlighted have had a hand in making us what we are today.

They were never an avge team in the 90s They had more talent and better players than ever

Unfortunately they had huge egos, lacked professionalism, a good team ethic and the desire to do their best day in day out

superstars or not, their performances were average at best considering the amount of talent the guys had.

Pakistan Team always build up on players with miraculous talent... We never built players but always waited that some miracle happens and we produce a wasim akram or waqar or shoaib or Miandad, zaheer, IK and so on.. but so far with no cricket in the country we not able to unearth such talent, hence our team looks mediocre. On top of that our selection for the larger part is not based off merit.

We need to have a system to mold players from an average player to a world class player. Once we able to fix that we will start seeing improvements in our team and remember this is not a quick fix may take years...

90's wasn't a Pakistani "Team"

It was basically brilliant individuals or group of players.. if they all played as a "Team" without any exterior motives they would have got much more consistent results.

End of the day we judge a team by their performances and 90's Pakistani team will rank just slightly above average.

India should be proud - They won with the likes of Mohanty, Das, Kuruvilla, etc

Pakistan in the 2010s is basically Indian team of the 90s without the IQ.

People love romanticising the mid to late 1990s and early 2000s side but in addition to the scandals we were highly inconsistent. We lost twice to Sri Lanka at home, lost to Zimbabwe and South Africa at home, drew with a poor New Zealand team, lost to England at home and choked in two winnable World Cups in 1996 and 1999.

The golden era was 1976 to 1994 when we were arguably second only to West Indies. We drew twice away to Australia under Mushtaq Mohammed. We were the only team to win a Test in the Caribbean in the 1980s, the only team to avoid defeat in a series in the Caribbean between 1974 and 1995, the only team to win a series in India between 1985 and 2000, beat England away, and did not lose a series outside AUS/NZ between 1982 and 1993 where in that time we only lost 10 out of 80 Tests at home.

In ODIs we won the 1986 and 1990 Australasia Cup, reached SF of 1987 WC, 1989 Champions Trophy, 1989 Nehru mini World Cup, 1991 Wills Trophy and 1992 World Cup.

After the summer of 1992, the idiots took over the asylum and it all went downhill from there.

I was about to post this.

Followers of Pakistan cricket will also remember how strong thte domestic scene was in those days too. Players of real quality like Nasir Valika couldn't even get into the side and completely dominated the first class scene. It is

Absolutely. They sit there giving it the gangster on TV, they all done not much Vs India In world cups.

Usual line "Hey we too didnt win but atlease we lost with honour" :D

I was about to post this.

Followers of Pakistan cricket will also remember how strong thte domestic scene was in those days too. Players of real quality like Nasir Valika couldn't even get into the side and completely dominated the first class scene. It is

I dont think many would do it these days even pakpassion followers but back in that day i remember going with my brother to asghar ali Shah ground just to watch part of a domestic game. Granted it had few Intl team players also playing but still it was a much different era. PIA, HBL were really strong and then in regional karachi blues whites and Lahore blues whites.

I still remember that Sahara Cup ODI series in 1997 I think it was when Pakistan lost 4-1 to India - with Ganguly bowling winning matches with his bowling against Pakistan, almost like he was peak form Malcolm Marshall , that’s how awful the Pakistani batsmen were.

Agree we can’t just glamorise the past , the 90s team was unpredictable and inconsistent too - it’s just that team had so much firepower and match winners that any one of about 7 players could turn it on randomly and win you the match almost single handedly.

But the real difference is that India has moved on in terms of professionalism as has the rest of the cricket world, where as Pakistan still plays like a village team.. except the villagers back in the 90s had a lot more talent and flare.

Its great of rambo wasim akhter and co to put the boot into the pakistan team and lecture them on what they should be doing but hand on heart can they look in the mirror and say they did their best day in day out?

This team doesnt have any world class players, doesnt have home cricket, dont play county cricket like they did

Do you think watching the indians of today they wish they had their time again to do things differently?

Come on man. Don't be harsh on Rambo lol Rambo once trying to take a catch the six by Srikkanth fell over the fence which had sharp edges He lost his breath for a while. Everybody panicked and punched him especially his bro wasim Raja. I think it was during Benson & hedges.

I dont think many would do it these days even pakpassion followers but back in that day i remember going with my brother to asghar ali Shah ground just to watch part of a domestic game. Granted it had few Intl team players also playing but still it was a much different era. PIA, HBL were really strong and then in regional karachi blues whites and Lahore blues whites.

I remember watching the likes of Ghulam Ali and Zahoor Elahi bat in Sahiwal once and I was simply amazed by how quick their feet were. Zahoor Elahi was an excellent player of fast bowling. His wrists were like lightning.

Come on man. Don't be harsh on Rambo lol Rambo once trying to take a catch the six by Srikkanth fell over the fence which had sharp edges He lost his breath for a while. Everybody panicked and punched him especially his bro wasim Raja. I think it was during Benson & hedges.

What so he was gasping for air and people were punching him? That seems kinda counter productive :danish

Let me try to find that video. I don't think it will exist. Everybody was punching him haha like they were beating him up.

The question that arises is, what have they done or are doing to help Pakistan cricket? Some are not sincere in their well-wishes.

It is the same in all countries. I laugh when Manjrekar talks about rotating the strike lol. It might sound hypocritical. But you have to treat them as fans now not as past players. Just like you and me.

Besides in 1992 , India loss did not prevent them from winning the world cup, THey managed to stage a come back. In 1996 they were bossing the game until Amir Sohail threw it away. 1999 they lost to India still reached the final.

Have always said the 90s team are glorified, due to the lack of match-winners in the current team.

We had our fair share of terrible results back then. The frustrating part was that the players underperformed in pretty much every match.

India, New Zealand and England used to be rubbish, which is why our fans were a happy bunch when they beat up on those teams.

The question that arises is, what have they done or are doing to help Pakistan cricket? Some are not sincere in their well-wishes.

Can you blame them? Look at the attacks on Inzi right now. What happened to Moin Khan after the 2015 WC and Waqar Younis in the 2016 T-20 WC? Why will they risk their reputations by being involved in Pakistan Cricket?

Our 90's team would lose badly to the current Indian team. Cricket is now a professional sport.

They are, trust me. Some of them are not only embarrassed, but almost scared as well while commenting in India games (with Indian commies). It's their professional commitment and the job pays well - hence they are obliged, but if given options I am sure many of them would have skipped the "tough job" - the gap is embarrassingly wide indeed.

Before pouncing on to me, I'll give just one example - Wasim does know like all of us that you can't "fluke" a tournament, winning 4 consecutive elimination games..... still, that "fluke" statement was his face saver. He can't argue, he can't explain, he can't retaliate ..... when Indian media, counterparts constantly keep him asking - ".....Wasim Bhai, how these classless, almost minnow bunch managed to win that CT....." What is he expected to say "..... Pakistan may talunt bahut hai ..... us din wuo talunt nikal aaya tha aur Hindustan to khar kar diya aapne talunt ke shaan se........"

Those who have seen those PAK players in their playing days, do realize their pain & embarrassment - but they are in different profession now .... need to fake and forget.

They are, trust me. Some of them are not only embarrassed, but almost scared as well while commenting in India games (with Indian commies). It's their professional commitment and the job pays well - hence they are obliged, but if given options I am sure many of them would have skipped the "tough job" - the gap is embarrassingly wide indeed.

Before pouncing on to me, I'll give just one example - Wasim does know like all of us that you can't "fluke" a tournament, winning 4 consecutive elimination games..... still, that "fluke" statement was his face saver. He can't argue, he can't explain, he can't retaliate ..... when Indian media, counterparts constantly keep him asking - ".....Wasim Bhai, how these classless, almost minnow bunch managed to win that CT....." What is he expected to say "..... Pakistan may talunt bahut hai ..... us din wuo talunt nikal aaya tha aur Hindustan to khar kar diya aapne talunt ke shaan se........"

Those who have seen those PAK players in their playing days, do realize their pain & embarrassment - but they are in different profession now .... need to fake and forget.

Yeah Manjraker who has always been decent and neutral in his commentary was quite openly biased and in Pakistan bashing mode whilst sitting next to Wasim Akram. I bet Wasim bhai must have felt like he should have smashed his balls with a good length back in the days when he had the chance too.

Exactly they are not even sharing basic stuff with current players.

I heard today sanjay manjrekar in comm box saying that
Wasim told him when they use to bowl a slow ball the bowler used to tell the keeper with head nodding to make sure the keeper walk up abit closer incase of edges.

Now players bowl alot of slower balls yet the keeper doesnt even know.

Could he not share this thing with Pak player instead of telling indian commie

Yeah Manjraker who has always been decent and neutral in his commentary was quite openly biased and in Pakistan bashing mode whilst sitting next to Wasim Akram. I bet Wasim bhai must have felt like he should have smashed his balls with a good length back in the days when he had the chance too.

Manju is a pest. He is not liked by Indian fans as well. I never like cheerleaders in the commentary box.

If we make a fantasy 20 men squad for 1970s (combined Test & ODI), at least 4, probably 6 PAK players would have made it - Zaheer, Mazid, Imran, Asif, may be Mushtaq, Intekhab as well. If I do the same for 1980s, 3 PAK players will start for both teams - Imran, Javed & Qadir; for squad may be Qasim, Wasim as well. And remember - this is when WIN was super dominant in cricket. If I do the same for 1990s, when cricket was at it's most competitive, still 5-6 PAK players would have made it to the squad - Wasim, WY, Saq, Saeed, Inzi, Latif, arguably Mushi had a great chance as well. Even in 2000s, Inzi, MoYo, YK, Shoaib, ARazzak .... and remember in those 2 decades we had a tremendous AUS & SAF team, a great Indian batting line-up and the zenith of SRL cricket.

Today, there is a valid concern, and it's genuine .... is Babar Azam a certain starter for Indian XI? Can Amir start for IND in every venue? Does PAK have any other player that can make Indian bench? These are ground reality .... and do you think Wasim, Waquar, Rameez are enjoying their stay in commi box?

Exactly they are not even sharing basic stuff with current players.

I heard today sanjay manjrekar in comm box saying that
Wasim told him when they use to bowl a slow ball the bowler used to tell the keeper with head nodding to make sure the keeper walk up abit closer incase of edges.

Now players bowl alot of slower balls yet the keeper doesnt even know.

Could he not share this thing with Pak player instead of telling indian commie

Valid question, but there is another side. I was fortunate to be born in a family where I didn't need to earn a penny till my MBA for my wallet ... and I was damn good student. So, voluntarily, I used to teach 1-2 students every year without any monetary benefit; BUT students of my choice - I'll take interviews from several students among relatives, friends, check their school/college record and pick may be 2 at a time for just about 3 hours/week. Do you know why - because what I'll teach them in 3 hours, was more than a full month of 15 classes .... and my students have to be good enough to absorb that. Otherwise, we are wasting both of our times ....

What even basic staff Wasim or WY will tell to Quaid e Azam products, might fly 3 metres above their head. It's not working bro, it won't work that way ever.

No, I am not taunting here, trust me - apart from Amir, the body language I saw among PAK players that day at Trafford .... something very similar what I saw from our players 20 years back while playing against PAK, IND, SAF or AUS.

Why blame the players? Our sports administration for most of 90s was downright shoddy. Whatever sustained periods of on field success we had, those coincided with stability in administration.

Also, its a little unfair to blame team for 96 and 99. In 96 it wasn't players fault that adminstration buckled under political pressure to put javed mianded in the team at the expense of basit ali. In 99 we did well except in final where we were beaten by a better team.

Ha ha they had a great time

Alcohol, clubbing, gambling and girls were all prevalent in most of our 90's heroes

That's what you get when you have superstar personalities in a squad, and Pak had an awful lot

They didn't even turn up in the final in 1999.....let's not sugarcoat it. They were whipped no fight (but as it wasn't against India it was ok as per the greats of the game commentating now)

Not really. Even that side were mentally weak when it came to big matches. They should be embarrassed for all the clubbing and things like that they more then the Cricket. Playboy wannabe's!

[table=width: 500, class: grid, align: center]
[tr][td]Pos [/td][td]Team [/td][td]Span [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Won [/td][td]Lost [/td][td]Tied [/td][td]Draw [/td][td]W/L [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]1 [/td][td]West Indies [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]82 [/td][td]43 [/td][td]8 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]5.375 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]2 [/td][td]Pakistan [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]80 [/td][td]23 [/td][td]13 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]44 [/td][td]1.769 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]3 [/td][td]New Zealand [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]59 [/td][td]17 [/td][td]15 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]27 [/td][td]1.133 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]4 [/td][td]Australia [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]97 [/td][td]27 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]38 [/td][td]0.87 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]5 [/td][td]India [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]81 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]21 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]48 [/td][td]0.523 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]6 [/td][td]England [/td][td]1980-1989 [/td][td]104 [/td][td]20 [/td][td]39 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]45 [/td][td]0.512 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]7 [/td][td]Sri Lanka [/td][td]1982-1989 [/td][td]29 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]16 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0.125 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]1 [/td][td]South Africa [/td][td]1992-1999 [/td][td]66 [/td][td]29 [/td][td]13 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]24 [/td][td]2.23 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]2 [/td][td]Australia [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]108 [/td][td]54 [/td][td]25 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]29 [/td][td]2.16 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]3 [/td][td]Pakistan [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]76 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]21 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]23 [/td][td]1.523 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]4 [/td][td]West Indies [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]81 [/td][td]30 [/td][td]28 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]23 [/td][td]1.071 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]5 [/td][td]India [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]69 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]20 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]0.9 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]6 [/td][td]Sri Lanka [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]67 [/td][td]14 [/td][td]22 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]0.636 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]7 [/td][td]England [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]107 [/td][td]26 [/td][td]43 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]38 [/td][td]0.604 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]8 [/td][td]New Zealand [/td][td]1990-1999 [/td][td]81 [/td][td]17 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]0.531 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]9 [/td][td]Zimbabwe [/td][td]1992-1999 [/td][td]39 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]19 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]17 [/td][td]0.157 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][td] [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]1 [/td][td]Australia [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]115 [/td][td]79 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]4.388 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]2 [/td][td]South Africa [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]108 [/td][td]53 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]23 [/td][td]1.656 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]3 [/td][td]England [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]129 [/td][td]55 [/td][td]37 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]37 [/td][td]1.486 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]4 [/td][td]India [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]103 [/td][td]40 [/td][td]27 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]36 [/td][td]1.481 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]5 [/td][td]Sri Lanka [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]96 [/td][td]44 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]21 [/td][td]1.419 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]6 [/td][td]Pakistan [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]83 [/td][td]30 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]22 [/td][td]0.967 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]7 [/td][td]New Zealand [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]80 [/td][td]23 [/td][td]32 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]25 [/td][td]0.718 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]8 [/td][td]West Indies [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]108 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]59 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]31 [/td][td]0.305 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]9 [/td][td]Zimbabwe [/td][td]2000-2005 [/td][td]44 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]30 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]0.166 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]10 [/td][td]Bangladesh [/td][td]2000-2009 [/td][td]61 [/td][td]3 [/td][td]52 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]0.057 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]11 [/td][td]ICC World XI [/td][td]2005-2005 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[/table]
90's Pakistan was still among top 3 test sides. Slide started after that.

With the amount of talent they had they shouldve dominated cricket and india back then just like india are doing now They should have had fantastic stats both individually and as a team but that wasnt the case

All though a fantastic team on their day they were still inconsistent and performances ranged from the brilliant to the bizzare and embarrasing

Against india for the majority of the 90s they were much the better team but have only 26 odi wins to show back then compared to 17 losses

They lost all 3 world cup encounters to them when on paper they were much the better team

Apart from the odd test win they had nothing to show for in Aus Sth Africa or the West Indies
And the less said about the 99 final the better

There were numerous instances of shoddy selections, infighting, fixing and downright unprofessionalism from most of them on and off the pitch

The players are all retired now but im sure watching the indian team of the last few years, their achievements such as series wins in aus and the pummeling they give to pakistan in most games they play them they have a tinge of regret about what went on and how they performed day in day out

Discuss!

If Pakistanis have reason to be ashamed, then Indians have a lot more reason to be ashamed. The Indian who should have been most ashamed would be Raj Singh Dungarpur. The Indian teams he created were full of sycophants, and not surprisingly would lose on the field. Great players like Mohinder were rejected and dubious players like Azar promoted.

It was Ganguly who made the Indian team professional, and fortunately it has remained so since then.

At least they did not yawn with score on 304..on the ground...shameful as a cricket fan to see players with such attitude

If Pakistanis have reason to be ashamed, then Indians have a lot more reason to be ashamed. The Indian who should have been most ashamed would be Raj Singh Dungarpur. The Indian teams he created were full of sycophants, and not surprisingly would lose on the field. Great players like Mohinder were rejected and dubious players like Azar promoted.

It was Ganguly who made the Indian team professional, and fortunately it has remained so since then.

Dungarpur was the typical govt. babu. Only contribution but significant was introducing sachin at an underage against some opposition from other board members. Other than that salil ankola, Raju kulkarni, venkat pathi Raju etc type bits and pieces players were product of a system that started in late 80s and continued till late 90s. I firmly believe selection policies made the team worst there would have been better players but were never picked or picked after their prime was over like gagan khoda etc.

And the infrastructure and facilities and ecosystem is thanks to dalmiya and the fighting spirit2.0 is due to ganguly after kapil.

I'm going to be controversial here!
Odis are about batting more than bowling!
We always had bowling superstars but not too many batting superstars!

In the 90's pak batting superstars were
Inzi & anwar
Today, pak have fakhar and babar
I don't see a huge difference between these 2 pairs in skill and quality!
Where are the other 4 batters?
This is why we keep losing to india in wc, because we only have 2 batsman!
In 1999 wc final, when anwar and inzi were dismissed cheaply, we were dead!
Sunday's game , once babar and fakhar were out we were dead!
You can't beat the best sides regularly or win wc with only 2 batsman, even if you have peak imran, wasim, waqar, akthar, mushi and saqi in your team!

Op is right.When you having your golden era you should achieve a lot more.Aussies,WI,India all did it with WC wins,Away test wins etc.The current English team in limited overs is also one of the greatest and doing the same.Sadly our these so called legends never could beat that pathetic Indian team of 90's in WC.These legunds can only dream of doing something which this Pak team did with limited talent and resources i.e Beating India in CT final which for me is even greater triumph than 92 WC due to sheer circumstances and things which were against us.Also none of these legunds are trying to help our cricket.So all this downfall must be attributed to them

Unfortunately, That wasn’t a team. But boy, The 11 men on that field we’re excellent in their respective aspects of the game. The problems are too political and I don’t want to get into the details. It’s like South Africa from 2000-2010 though. South Africa had absolutely legendary names, but they couldn’t win any major ICC tournament. Their problem was mentality during crunch situations and handling the pressure which they couldn’t do. So every team has their reasons.

That Pakistan team on paper is better than the current Indian side but I reckon the current Indian team would give the Pakistan team of the 90’s a very good game.

India should be proud - They won with the likes of Mohanty, Das, Kuruvilla, etc

Pakistan in the 2010s is basically Indian team of the 90s without the IQ.

Lol we had some utter tripe. Even batting apart from Sachin was so poor. Azhar and kambli never fulfilled their potential for various reasons and rest were downright mediocre.

India did had the best batsman to have ever played the game so sometimes he did help win us occasional matches. And on Indian dusbowls we had another huge match winner. Other than these 2 rest of them were so mediocre .

If we make a fantasy 20 men squad for 1970s (combined Test & ODI), at least 4, probably 6 PAK players would have made it - Zaheer, Mazid, Imran, Asif, may be Mushtaq, Intekhab as well. If I do the same for 1980s, 3 PAK players will start for both teams - Imran, Javed & Qadir; for squad may be Qasim, Wasim as well. And remember - this is when WIN was super dominant in cricket. If I do the same for 1990s, when cricket was at it's most competitive, still 5-6 PAK players would have made it to the squad - Wasim, WY, Saq, Saeed, Inzi, Latif, arguably Mushi had a great chance as well. Even in 2000s, Inzi, MoYo, YK, Shoaib, ARazzak .... and remember in those 2 decades we had a tremendous AUS & SAF team, a great Indian batting line-up and the zenith of SRL cricket.

Today, there is a valid concern, and it's genuine .... is Babar Azam a certain starter for Indian XI? Can Amir start for IND in every venue? Does PAK have any other player that can make Indian bench? These are ground reality .... and do you think Wasim, Waquar, Rameez are enjoying their stay in commi box?

But, what's the use of all that talent and world class players. The so-called golden generation choked in WCs (96 & 99) and lost multiple test series in home, lost to much inferior India in WCs and when it comes to their off-field activities, well, the less said, the better.

So, in that regard, I feel the current players are not that bad, they may not be as talented as the 90s generation (lack of cricket at home isn't doing any favours & playing in UAE is even worse), but atleast they are much more professional and will improve with time.

They have also managed to win an ICC trophy & that too by beating India in a world final (which the so-called greats have never done).

The greats who are sitting in media should have some shame before overly criticising others and getting personal with players.

I have always found it embarrassing to listen to ex-cricketets criticising current players for doing the exact same thing that they used to do when they were players!
How they can keep a straight face, i don't know!

To be frank like someone already mentioned, Pakistan was group of brilliant players who played as a team only when they felt like it. There were better teams in the 90's. Australia after 1994/95 were a brilliant side with ATG players in their side. South Africa was a good side in the 90's too with an amazing team.

But, what's the use of all that talent and world class players. The so-called golden generation choked in WCs (96 & 99) and lost multiple test series in home, lost to much inferior India in WCs and when it comes to their off-field activities, well, the less said, the better.

So, in that regard, I feel the current players are not that bad, they may not be as talented as the 90s generation (lack of cricket at home isn't doing any favours & playing in UAE is even worse), but atleast they are much more professional and will improve with time.

They have also managed to win an ICC trophy & that too by beating India in a world final (which the so-called greats have never done).

The greats who are sitting in media should have some shame before overly criticising others and getting personal with players.

Why are you measuring success only from winning WCs? And, one CT win doesn’t tell anything - Greece won 2004 Euro, that too beating France & host Portugal on way. That team was always in contention among top three, but it could be that they were beaten just by a better team. PAK was undoubtedly 2nd best team in 1979; made SF in 1983 with Imran playing as batsman- both times lost to that WIN. Was best team in 1987, arguably in 1999 as well - both times had one bad game against Aussies, no shame in that.

The current players are absolute sh!t, sorry for my French - apart from Amir & Babar, there is not a single player I’ll spend time to watch. I said many times that my interest grew on cricket watching PAK players (not necessarily team) - today, PAK is more boring than some associates!!!!

There are two parts in this decline - one is skill, for which I actually don’t criticise players. They are groomed in a system in terms of competitiveness & player development worse than Dhaka League cricket (this time trolls won’t brag I hope), therefore it’s not there fault at all. And, more than players, I actually criticise the PCT management most - starting from the morally corrupt guy selecting them. But there is other part - this is the most selfish, disengaged PAK players (generation), that has no comment to the game, no pride for the cap, no honesty for the cause or the fans, no self respect to compete and above all no remorse for their failure. Most of them are using PCT as a launching pad for their personal glory.

I read some people writing here about so called “professionalism” of modern days .... which actually exposes their knowledge of the game & it’s history. The two gentlemen these days taken to the cleaners for not “mentoring” modern prodigies like Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mo Amir and Faheem Ash..... used to work like a cyborg for whole year to keep their game up.... I was a ball boy sometimes in 90s when this corrupt guy Wasim Bhai used to play for Dhaka Abahani ... in a club cricket where he was like Magnus Larsen playing a tournament with amateur chess stars .... in Dhaka heat & humidity, that guy would bowl most overs in nets, would come first in ground & leave last, and he’ll train most because he was a chronic diabetic by that time.... in a situation where he could have easily opted out of training - still he would have been a mixture of Sobers & Imran in that league and still Abahani would have kept him as their highest paid player year after year. Despite all sorts of “entertainment”, he was the guy who’ll spend highest time for his game from gym to nets in 24 hours cycle, when no one was forcing him.

Don’t try to justify this team with one CT win - they have taken every bit of advantage from that.

They were talented, but weren't just confident enough probably, as they couldn't win a WC, couldn't win a Test series in Australia and South Africa (which mattered the most during that decade). I think Imran Khan's generation was better than them (they won a WC, drew Test series with Australia and West Indies [away]), as they were more confident probably. We are yet to see a 'golden generation'. Our 90s players are overrated, barring Saeed Anwar, who was the real deal.

Man most disgusting expert on TV I have seen is Tanvir Ahmad.How can anyone tolerate this guy.He wants Asad Shafiq back in team as he was not given enough chances.
Also don't understand the need for Pakistani anchors to give lofty titles to some of our useless players like K Akmal.

Yes they should be ashamed. They had so much talents back then, even full eleven players of today wouldn't make into that team for sure.

But they had infighting, indiscipline ,laziness, corruption among them which didn't make them a dominating side

Many people will not remember, but Pakistan cricket went into un-noticed decline after 1994.
1994 was the year when they beat India in Australasia cup final. They beat them in group stage as well.

Australasia cup was a good tournament composed of 6 teams including Aussies and Kiwiz. Salim Malik was captain. Few months later they beat Mark Taylor's Australians in tense Test Series 1-0.

No-body will remember it but i do remember because of my photographic memory. 1995 was the beginning of our decline.

1) Lost 1st Home Test series in 15 years. Their last home test series defeat was in 1980 against west indies. But under captaincy of Rameez raja despite winning 1st test, they lost 2nd and 3rd test at Home against Sri lanka and surrendered at home after 15 long years. Also lost ODI series as well. Salim elahi and saqlain mushtaq were making their debuts in that series.

2) Lost Home Test series against South Africa in 1997 and against Zimbabwe 1998 and against Australia 1998. They did win away test series in England 1996. that was the only good thing to show.

3) 1997 lost independence cup tournament in Pakistan, did not even reach final. Klusener made his mark in that tournament. Lost Sahara cup to india 4-1. did win it back in 1996 and 1998. Lost indepedence cup final to india in Dhaka 1998. Dada innings.

4) Did not win Asia cup in 2 attempts, 1995 and 1997. did not even reach final.

5) did not even make into sharjah cup final 1995. sri lanka won it against west indies.

6) their were some sporadic successes e.g benson and hedges cup 1996 in Australia. that was good win.

7) narrow test series loss in Australia 1995. lost 2-1.

8) decent showing in india in 3 tests. drew series 1-1 and won asian test championship test match and cup.

9) very bad showing and knocked out in 1st round of 1998 ICC Champions trophy, Lara smashed them big time.

10) arguably their worst showing was 1996 world cup at home. They were meant to lift the trophy at Gaddafi stadium, instead got embarassed by Venkatesh Prasad and Ajay Jadeja. That 96 world cup shall be regarded as their best choked tournament.

11) there was improvement in 1999, but they did lose to bangladesh, india, south africa before even playing in world cup final and then lost to aussies.

losing home test series against zimbabwe in 1998 has been hided by our analysts from tv and social media but i remember it.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was actually under imran khan they were mostly consistent home and away. yes they would lose some matches but were mostly consistent in test and odi arena, Australasia cup 1986-1990, Nehru cup 1989 and world cup 1992 and 1987 world cup semi final.