Sing Vande Mataram or quit India: BJP workers taunt Muslim corporators

hafeezrocks

Local Club Star
Meerut: In a shocking incident BJP workers have been witnessed demanding Muslim corporators in Meerut to sing Vande Mataram or quit India.

The jingoistic diktat is coming in the backdrop of BJP-led Yogi Adityanath government coming into ower in the state.

While Adityananth promised that his main goal would be development for all, some of the BJP workers in the state seem to have forgotten the chief minister’s message.

The incident took place on March 28, when the Muslim corporators said that they were forced to sing ‘Vande Mataram’. The corporators finally decided to stage a walkout during the meeting.

BJP councilors called upon a meeting to sort out the issue but the conference has been cancelled, and it has also come to light that the ruckus has halted the civic body’s tasks, which involve selection of the Mayor of the corporation.

The Muslim corporators are still raising questions as to why they were forced to sing the national song of India.

This comes as a big blow to the BJP government, which have made history in the India’s most populous state after registering a landslide victory with 312 votes.

It would be interesting to see what steps Adityanath takes to sort out the issue.

The proposal put forth by mayor Harikant Ahluwalia of the BJP made it clear that any members opposing Vande Mataram will not be welcome in the House.

The Muslim members, however, said they will continue to boycott Vande Mataram “as the Sharia law does not allow them to sing it and that they will move court over the issue if necessary”.

“The seven Muslim councillors of the House had walked out on Tuesday when other members started singing the national song. They returned after some time, but I refused to let them in,” Ahluwalia said.

The proposal to terminate their membership was passed at a meeting of the municipal board on Wednesday, the mayor said.

“We will not allow members, who are against the singing of Vande Mataram, to sit in the House, when it assembles next. We will even go to jail, if required, over it,” he said.

Reacting to this, councillor Shaahid Abbasi said, “We are being looked at with suspicion even when we ready to lay down our lives for our country.”

Councillors Diwanji Sharif and Arshad Ulla said, “Our religion... the Sharia law does not accept Vande Mataram. We are ready to tender resignation but would not sing it.”

www.timesnow.tv/india/video/sing-va...ia-bjp-workers-taunt-muslim-corporators/58423

http://m.hindustantimes.com/india-n...-terminated/story-c0m8uAVw0X9omZ9642gDWK.html

It's sad that even after 70 years since independence, Muslim's in India are still seen with suspicion and are required to prove their patriotism by either signing Nationalist Songs or hating Pakistan.

Another example of Shining India and as Zak_Fan put it "beautiful environment for minorities"

These Muslim's need to be told that India is a Secular Country and not the Shariah Sultanate where allegiance to anything Non-Muslim is prohibited.

Ready to lay down lives for the country but can't sing a harmless song in Unity, very Nice.

Don't understand the issue with Vandemataram song.

Its a beautiful song hailing Mother India. Why would Muslims object to it?

BJP goons taking out their anger and taunting Muslim community as they have power now.

If I live in a Muslim country and I have to sing a song which hails the country(though it may have some references to Quran), I would sing it. After all, I am a citizen of that country.

When did the Muslims stop singing Vande Mataram in the first place ? or What issue is against singing Vande Mataram . Correct me if I am wrong but there's a nationalistic pride to it which Muslim soldiers / Athetes participate in anyways .

Religion should be banned in India.

Its like arming monkeys with a dangerous weapon.

You do something, some community or the other will be upset because of it as it hurts their religious/caste/tribe feelings and sentiments. :facepalm:

Don't understand the issue with Vandemataram song.

Its a beautiful song hailing Mother India. Why would Muslims object to it?

BJP goons taking out their anger and taunting Muslim community as they have power now.

If I live in a Muslim country and I have to sing a song which hails the country(though it may have some references to Quran), I would sing it. After all, I am a citizen of that country.

I did a search on this and apparently the objection is because in some part of the anthem the singer has to deify the Hindu goddesses Durga and Lakshmi. This goes against the core tenant of Islam to the extent that even the prophet is not permitted to be worshipped. Hope that helps.

No direct names of Goddess in the song. Though it was written initially as an ode to Goddess Durga, it was later adopted for Mother India or Mother Bengal.

Don't find any reason for Muslims to not sing it. It is in praise of Mother India. The nourisher of 130 crore people.

Muslim's expect India to be secular, demand equal rights and then bring religion into such petty issues.

It appears as though some Muslims want secularism at their convenience. They yell secularism all day, but want special treatment and laws in others. Most Muslims do not care. Its their leaders who take them for a ride.

time to deal with them. I suggest you force them to prove they are true Indians. perhaps force them to sing the national anthem and then to bow down to a photo of Modi, everyday without fail. Perhaps ban those pesky masjids too that wake you up in the morning? and their women, well they should dress like good secular Indian women and you should dictate their dress codes..perhaps a commitee that will examine what they wear?

on a serious note, I laugh at your so called democracy and the brutal ignorance of your nation.

I expect some Muslims do, some don't. Although I don't profess to be an expert on Muslim citizens of India, perhaps you are right and India's Muslims are indeed a hypocritical bunch collectively.

Lol.. so taunts make a news now? I am sorry, but Muslims taunt us about eating beef all the time, never saw it making headlines like this. :facepalm:

I expect some Muslims do, some don't. Although I don't profess to be an expert on Muslim citizens of India, perhaps you are right and India's Muslims are indeed a hypocritical bunch collectively.

Its their leadership and clergy thats hypocritical. Talk about secularism and then tell their followers to demand special priviledges. Keep the divide.

Most have no objection. All of my friends used to sing this (Hindus/Christians/Muslims/Jains/Sikhs) back when we were in school. Nobody had any objection. Not even their parents. Nobody saw it as a religious song. The song is adopted to refer to Mother India.

But the useless religious preachers and groups had to find something wrong in everything and made it a big issue.

Lol.. so taunts make a news now? I am sorry, but Muslims taunt us about eating beef all the time, never saw it making headlines like this. :facepalm:

Apparently, the membership of 7 Muslim Councillor who refused to sing the National Song has been terminated .

So, it's not only about the taunts.

Most have no objection. All of my friends used to sing this (Hindus/Christians/Muslims/Jains/Sikhs) back when we were in school. Nobody had any objection. Not even their parents. Nobody saw it as a religious song. The song is adopted to refer to Mother India.

But the useless religious preachers and groups had to find something wrong in everything and made it a big issue.

Then what is the fuss about? Why the need for BJP followers to make demands for your minorities to sing or quit India? If they quit, where do the BJP representatives expect them to go? Bangladesh?

BJP goons need a reason to instigate Muslims.

Muslims provide them with enough ammunition to troll and instigate them.

Religion is a dangerous thing in a over populated 3rd world country.

BJP goons need a reason to instigate Muslims.

Muslims provide them with enough ammunition to troll and instigate them.

Religion is a dangerous thing in a over populated 3rd world country.

Then why Indians voted for BJP? To harass the minority population?

No.

People are tired of Congress's corruption and there is no proper alternative to Congress other than BJP.

In UP State elections, BJP seems to be helped by Muslim women who either voted for BJP or abstained from voting. This dented the vote bank of parties like SP/BSP/Congress.

BJP even won in areas where there is more than 50% Muslim population.

Vande mataram means "Oh my motherland/mother i worship/bow down to thee" so no muslim should sing it if he doesnt want to as it clearly goes against muslim belief in monotheism. I have no problem if a muslim wants to sing it but i am completely against forcing someone to sing verses he considers blasphemous.

Now that hindutva forces have completely engulfed Hindustan and deprived it of its so called secular character, these things will be seen every other day.

Mullah ko hai Hind main sajde ki ijazat,
Naadaan samajhta hai Islam hai azaad.

Vande mataram means "Oh my motherland/mother i worship/bow down to thee" so no muslim should sing it if he doesnt want to as it clearly goes against muslim belief in monotheism. I have no problem if a muslim wants to sing it but i am completely against forcing someone to sing verses he considers blasphemous.

Now that hindutva forces have completely engulfed Hindustan and deprived it of its so called secular character, these things will be seen every other day.

Kahi yei bhi mufti sahab ka khwaab tu nhi tha.aik aur khaab ki tameel horahi hai lagta hai:)

Vandana meaning in Sanskrit comes to bow or Namaste like the way Hindus do as far as I know.

I don't think Vande (derived from Vandana) means Worship.

Worship means Prarthana or Pooja.

Vandana meaning in Sanskrit comes to bow or Namaste like the way Hindus do as far as I know.

I don't think Vande (derived from Vandana) means Worship.

Worship means Prarthana or Pooja.

I had read an article about it once which was written by an IAS officer so that's where i remember it from. Btw bowing down is more or less the same thing.

They do sing national anthem, also Sara jahan se accha song nothing wrong in it. If their religion doesn't allow to sing Vande Mataram then so be it. This BJP and RSS always wants to pull the leg of a MUSLIM just like a Zionist. The no. of Muslims dead during the fight for independence is more than the HINDUS. Didn't it prove their love for the country. If singing Vande Mataram is the parameter to prove their love for the country, lol how stupid is that. HAIL Indian democracy and secularism.

I had read an article about it once which was written by an IAS officer so that's where i remember it from. Btw bowing down is more or less the same thing.

I have watched TV serials like Tipu Sultan, Akbar The Great on DoorDarshan.

There you can see people bow down and walking backwards while doing Adab pose in front of the Emporer Akbar as well as Tipu Sultan. Nobody objected to that.

They do sing national anthem, also Sara jahan se accha song nothing wrong in it. If their religion doesn't allow to sing Vande Mataram then so be it. This BJP and RSS always wants to pull the leg of a MUSLIM just like a Zionist. The no. of Muslims dead during the fight for independence is more than the HINDUS. Didn't it prove their love for the country. If singing Vande Mataram is the parameter to prove their love for the country, lol how stupid is that. HAIL Indian democracy and secularism.

There are 2 things to this issue.

Muslim boards directing Muslims not to Sing Vandemataram. Making Mountain out of mole hill.

BJP goons using this as a bait to instigate and troll Muslims who refused to Sing Vandemataram.

Bottom line both need to get real jobs.

I have watched TV serials like Tipu Sultan, Akbar The Great on DoorDarshan.

There you can see people bow down and walking backwards while doing Adab pose in front of the Emporer Akbar as well as Tipu Sultan. Nobody objected to that.

These are two completely different things. Akbar had even invented a religion of his own called deen-i-ilahi which had a grand total of 5 follwers including himself so i'm not sure muslims scholars even take him seriously.

The bowing down and doing Adab pose was shown for Babar too.

In this case Indian muslims are doing the right thing of not supporting this national anthem as it is hindu religion related. India should change their national anthem to be totally secular and then Indian muslims should support it.

They were emperors fgs. They often liked to big themselves up. Many of them didnt even practice religion in its basic form. You can use the examples of alaudin khilji or aurangzeb as well who never asked people to do any such thing. Long story short, bowing down to worship is kufr(disbelief) in Islam and bowing down to show respect is haraam (prohibited) in Islam. You take any school of Islamic thought, everyone will tell you the same thing. Why is it important to sing such a controversial song to prove that you love your country? Is your country not accommodating enough to let this small issue go?

Bowing down to a King or Emperor or Amir or High Official or Governor was very much prevalent among Muslims of India and likely around the world. The Timurids followed a custom where you have to bow and salute thrice before the emperor. Now they have problem singing bowing before the motherland. This is the hypocrisy that is called out.

The official song consists of only the first para only. The part you talk come in the last para.

वन्दे मातरम् सुजलां सुफलां मलयजशीतलाम्
सस्य श्यामलां मातरम् |
शुभ्र ज्योत्स्ना पुलकित यामिनीम्
फुल्ल कुसुमित द्रुमदलशोभिनीम्,
सुहासिनीं सुमधुर भाषिणीम्
सुखदां वरदां मातरम् ||
Translation
Mother, I salute thee!
Rich with thy hurrying streams,
bright with orchard gleams,
Cool with thy winds of delight,
Green fields waving Mother of might,
Mother thee

This is the official version.

Why not just write a new anthem that's acceptable to all?

This is a secular country and things wont be according to any religious preference.

I have posted above the song and its translation.Which part is an issue?

Bowing down to a King or Emperor or Amir or High Official or Governor was very much prevalent among Muslims of India and likely around the world. The Timurids followed a custom where you have to bow and salute thrice before the emperor. Now they have problem singing bowing before the motherland. This is the hypocrisy that is called out.

What poor logic. Are u saying Indian secular laws are same as old age laws made by emperors to inflate their egos where they would have punished anyone who didnt bow to them? You dont have to look at what Muslims in medieval times did, you have to look at what the religion says and what the current muslims want to do.

Well clearly they are here.... scrap it and rewrite another. Simples!

Why should we? Things need not be Sharia compliant in India. This is not a Islamic republic.

Now please tell me which part in the above post is objectionable?

What poor logic. Are u saying Indian secular laws are same as old age laws made by emperors to inflate their egos where they would have punished anyone who didnt bow to them? You dont have to look at what Muslims in medieval times did, you have to look at what the religion says and what the current muslims want to do.

Even today Muslims bow before their rulers in places where monarchy is prevalent.

Thing is simple.Muslims didnt have issues bowing to their sultans,Amirs,Royalty , but want special treatment in secular countries. This is hypocrisy and will be called as such.

[MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] @kukkad kamal what's your view on this? Do you guys think singing the national song goes against basic tenets of your religion or is it just another useless controversy in Bharatistan?

I beleive Mallu Muslims are pretty secular. At least the ones I know. They are Malayaless first and then Muslims. I have seen them celebrate Onam with the traditional way of eating in Banana Leaf.

There are 2 things to this issue.

Muslim boards directing Muslims not to Sing Vandemataram.
Making Mountain out of mole hill.

BJP goons using this as a bait to instigate and troll Muslims who refused to Sing Vandemataram.

Bottom line both need to get real jobs.

Well they have a religious reason for directing them not to, which is valid and correct.. Those who are practicing their religion sincerely will follow it for sure...Important to note they didnt ask them not to sing jana gana mana or sara jahan se acha.. if the vande mataram doesnt have anything against the religious belief of the muslims then it will also be allowed to sing to all muslims from the muslim board itself...simple isnt it...

actually only one of them need to get real jobs..

bowing down/kneel down (sujoodh) to other than Allah is a sin and that may even cost his Muslim identity.

I myself don't like vande mataram but I didn't face any problems.

I beleive Mallu Muslims are pretty secular. At least the ones I know. They are Malayaless first and then Muslims. I have seen them celebrate Onam with the traditional way of eating in Banana Leaf.

man!!! eating in a banana leaf is nothing to with Islam and Muslims as long as they eat halal food... Indeed it is good for human health being close to nature..

I'm a Muslim first then malayali then Indian. coz when a newly baby born the first thing they hear is adhan and takbeers.

All these issues like beef and national song are less about the stated reasons, and more about a power struggle between two religions.

I find it hard to believe that Muslims are fine singing all those chichora Bolly songs, but cannot sing a song that asks them to salute the motherland.

Since when did singing vande mataram become a test of national pride ? It's definitely a part of India's history especially the independence movement but I've never thought much of it untill I heard AR Rahman belt out his hit 97 version.

bowing down/kneel down (sujoodh) to other than Allah is a sin and that may even cost his Muslim identity.

I myself don't like vande mataram but I didn't face any problems.

So it wasnt a problem when they bow down to kings/emperors/royalty?

I will never bow down/prostrate infront of anyone except Allah. If this song say's me to do it, i won't sing that part of song.

सस्य श्यामलां मातरम् |
सुखदां वरदां मातरम् ||
Translation
Mother, I salute thee!
Mother thee

Which part is the problem?

So what about muslims who all bowed before their kings and royalty? What happened then?

I am a malayalee muslim. Both are inseperable.

And fyi, Onam is also our harvest festival which we celebrate irrespective of our religion. Proper hindu festival is 'the Vishu'.

सस्य श्यामलां मातरम् |
सुखदां वरदां मातरम् ||
Translation
Mother, I salute thee!
Mother thee

Which part is the problem?

So what about muslims who all bowed before their kings and royalty? What happened then?

We are comparing a democratic government to a monarch kingdom from 15th century ? CLEAN INDIA !!!

15th century? Monarchy existed in India till 1949.Please read history.

There are various muslim majority nations with Monarchs and Amirs and their people bow to them.

I am a malayalee muslim. Both are inseperable.

And fyi, Onam is also our harvest festival which we celebrate irrespective of our religion. Proper hindu festival is 'the Vishu'.

Malayalee?Muslim?Indian?

Which is what in which order?

We are advised to follow our Prophet's path. What's the king and royalty did is the business btw them and Allah...why should i care about it??? I am answerable to Allah for only my actions.

I'm a Muslim first then malayali then Indian. coz when a newly baby born the first thing they hear is adhan and takbeers.

With all due respect to religion, The air he breathes is of this nation.The land he is born of this nation.

I am a proud Hindu and Bengali. But that doesnt take precedence over my being an Indian. Everytime i step out of this country i am asked my nationality not my religion or region.

We are advised to follow our Prophet's path. What's the king and royalty did is the business btw them and Allah...why should i care about it??? I am answerable to Allah for only my actions.

Again i am asking.I posted the song,which part is the problem?

The thing is Muslims in India didnt have problems bowing to royalty till 1949. But in 1950 they have a problem saying we salute the motherland. I find this issue only when clergy raises it. Studied with many muslim friends in school, none had issues with Vande Matram.

Again i am asking.I posted the song,which part is the problem?

The thing is Muslims in India didnt have problems bowing to royalty till 1949. But in 1950 they have a problem saying we salute the motherland. I find this issue only when clergy raises it. Studied with many muslim friends in school, none had issues with Vande Matram.

From Wiki,

Here is the translation in prose of the above two stanzas rendered by Aurobindo Ghose. This has also been adopted by the Government of India's national portal.[3] The original Vande Mataram consists of six stanzas and the translation in prose for the complete poem by Shri Aurobindo appeared in Karmayogin, 20 November 1909.[23]

Mother, I bow to thee!
Dark fields waving Mother of might,
Mother free.
Glory of moonlight dreams,
Over thy branches and lordly streams,
Clad in thy blossoming trees,
Mother, giver of ease
Laughing low and sweet!
Mother I kiss thy feet,
Speaker sweet and low!
Mother, to thee I bow. [Verse 1]

Who hath said thou art weak in thy lands
When the swords flash out in seventy million hands
And seventy million voices roar
Thy dreadful name from shore to shore?
With many strengths who art mighty and stored,
To thee I call Mother and Lord!
Thou who savest, arise and save!
To her I cry who ever her foeman drove
Back from plain and Sea
And shook herself free. [Verse 2]

Thou art wisdom, thou art law,
Thou art heart, our soul, our breath
Thou art love divine, the awe
In our hearts that conquers death.
Thine the strength that nerves the arm,
Thine the beauty, thine the charm.
Every image made divine
In our temples is but thine. [Verse 3]

Thou art Durga, Lady and Queen,
With her hands that strike and her swords of sheen,
Thou art Lakshmi lotus-throned,
And the Muse a hundred-toned,
Pure and perfect without peer,
Mother lend thine ear,
Bright with thy orchard gleems,
Dark of hue O candid-fair [Verse 4]

In thy soul, with bejeweled hair
And thy glorious smile divine,
Loveliest of all earthly lands,
Showering wealth from well-stored hands!
Mother, mother mine!
Mother sweet, I bow to thee,
Mother great and free! [Verse 5]

Even i have sung this song numerous times ignorant about the meaning related to it. But now when i know it is a shirk, i won't do it again. There are a lot of other songs like Saare jahan se accha etc that we still sing. We never complained about it. Our objection is only with the "bowing" part" of the song.

From Wiki,

Here is the translation in prose of the above two stanzas rendered by Aurobindo Ghose. This has also been adopted by the Government of India's national portal.[3] The original Vande Mataram consists of six stanzas and the translation in prose for the complete poem by Shri Aurobindo appeared in Karmayogin, 20 November 1909.[23]

Mother, I bow to thee!
Dark fields waving Mother of might,
Mother free.
Glory of moonlight dreams,
Over thy branches and lordly streams,
Clad in thy blossoming trees,
Mother, giver of ease
Laughing low and sweet!
Mother I kiss thy feet,
Speaker sweet and low!
Mother, to thee I bow. [Verse 1]

Who hath said thou art weak in thy lands
When the swords flash out in seventy million hands
And seventy million voices roar
Thy dreadful name from shore to shore?
With many strengths who art mighty and stored,
To thee I call Mother and Lord!
Thou who savest, arise and save!
To her I cry who ever her foeman drove
Back from plain and Sea
And shook herself free. [Verse 2]

Thou art wisdom, thou art law,
Thou art heart, our soul, our breath
Thou art love divine, the awe
In our hearts that conquers death.
Thine the strength that nerves the arm,
Thine the beauty, thine the charm.
Every image made divine
In our temples is but thine. [Verse 3]

Thou art Durga, Lady and Queen,
With her hands that strike and her swords of sheen,
Thou art Lakshmi lotus-throned,
And the Muse a hundred-toned,
Pure and perfect without peer,
Mother lend thine ear,
Bright with thy orchard gleems,
Dark of hue O candid-fair [Verse 4]

In thy soul, with bejeweled hair
And thy glorious smile divine,
Loveliest of all earthly lands,
Showering wealth from well-stored hands!
Mother, mother mine!
Mother sweet, I bow to thee,
Mother great and free! [Verse 5]

Even i have sung this song numerous times ignorant about the meaning related to it. But now when i know it is a shirk, i won't do it again. There are a lot of other songs like Saare jahan se accha etc that we still sing. We never complained about it. Our objection is only with the "bowing" part" of the song.

Aurobindo Ghose didnt write the song. Bankim Chandra did.Only the stanza i posted is the one that is sung as the national song rest are not.

So bowing part is the problem. Thing is "Vande" doesnt mean bowing it is translated as salute/salutations/Praise and others as well.

Secondly the controversy happened in 1949 when the muslim clergy objected to this,the same clergy used to bow to the nawabs and sultans till 1949.

why not just remove the offensive lines from the national anthem?

Why Muslims reject Vande Mataram?

The controversy over the singing of Vande Mataram has once again threatened to divide the country on communal lines.

The refusal of the Muslims to sing this song seems to have angered the Hindutva ideologues, who, without giving them an opportunity to explain their position, have accused them of being anti-national.

Hence, it becomes imperative to analyse the objections raised by the Muslim community against the recital of Vande Mataram.

The Muslim viewpoint is that Islam, being a monotheist religion, forbids the apotheosis of any deity, animate or inanimate, except God, the supreme creator.

In fact, ascribing divinity to even Prophet Mohammad is considered an act of blasphemy negating the very purpose of Islam, that is, to promote the concept of unity of mankind through the worship of a common creator.

In this context, those opposed to the Muslim point of view should know that Vande Mataram contains verses that are in direct conflict with the beliefs of Islam.

For instance, the fourth stanza of the song addresses motherland India as, "Thou art Durga, Lady and Queen, with her hands that strike and her swords of sheen, Thou art Lakshmi lotus-throned…."

When a Muslim sings these words he is forced to equate his country with the Hindu goddesses Durga and Lakshmi, thereby deifying the land of India. This goes against the concept of tawheed (oneness of God) according to which a Muslim cannot supplicate to anyone except God.

Therefore, just as one cannot force non-Muslims to recite the Quran in their gatherings, it would be most unfair to force the Muslims to violate their scriptural injunctions in the name of patriotism.

The religious predicament of the Muslims was understood in the right spirit by Jawaharlal Nehru. In October 1937, when the Congress Working Committee met in Kolkata under his presidentship, it adopted a resolution which said: The committee recognise the validity of the objection raised by Muslim friends to certain parts of the song.

While the committee has taken note of such objection insofar as it has intrinsic value, the committee wishes to point out that the modern evolution of the use of the song as part of national life is of infinitely greater importance than its setting in a historical novel before the national movement had taken shape.

Taking all things into consideration, therefore, the committee recommended that, wherever Vande Mataram is sung at national gatherings, only the first two stanzas should be sung, with perfect freedom to the organisers to sing any other song of an unobjectionable character, in addition to, or in the place of, the Vande Mataram song." (Quoted by AG Noorani in the Frontline, Jan 2-15, 1999).

Based on this resolution, it is argued that Muslims should sing the first two stanzas because there is nothing wrong in bowing before one's motherland.

But the first two stanzas cannot be seen in isolation by detaching them from the main song, particularly when the "motherland" referred to in those stanzas has been clearly identified as Durga and Lakshmi in the fourth stanza.

In other words, the salutations offered to Mother India by singing the first two stanzas would in fact amount to paying obeisance to Hindu goddesses. This is what the Muslims are objecting to.

It must be understood that Muslims respect the right of the Hindus to worship any deity of their choice but at the same time they should not be forced to deviate from their monotheist beliefs by making them sing the Vande Mataram.

That the author of the Vande Mataram imagined Bharat Mata or Mother India as part of the Hindu pantheon can be clearly seen from the traditional depiction of India as a goddess dressed in a sari holding a red flag.

Some even describe her as the goddess of fertility. In 1936, a Bharat Mata temple was built in Varanasi by Shiv Prashad Gupt and was inaugurated by none other than Mahatma Gandhi. Then in May 1983, Swami Satyamitranand Giri founded a Bharat Mata temple in Haridwar which has a statue of Bharat Mata holding a milk urn in one hand and grains in the other.

According to the temple guidebook 'the temple serves to promote the devotional attitude towards Bharat Mata, something that historians and mythological story tellers may have missed.'

Also, the largest Hindu website dedicated to the freedom movement, www.freeindia.org, has posted under the subject Bharat bhakti an ancient Sanskrit Hindu verse glorifying Mother India as a goddess.

It reads, "Ratnakaradhautapadam Himalyakirtitinim (I) Brahmarajarsiratnamdhyam vande Bharatamataram (II)". When translated it means: I pay my obeisance to Mother Bharata, whose feet are being a washed by the ocean, who wears the mighty Himalaya as her crown, and who is exuberantly adorned with the gems of traditions set by Brahmarsis and Rajarsis."

Another reason for the Muslims' reluctance to sing the Vande Mataram is fact that the novel Anandamath by Bankimchandra Chaterjee, in which it was first published, glorified the ethnic cleansing of the Muslims.

The following passage may be quoted as an example. "The rural people ran out to kill the Muslims while coming across them. In the night, people were organised in groups to go to the Muslim locality, torch their houses and loot everything.

Many Muslims were killed, many shaved their beards, smeared their bodies with soil and started singing the name of Hari. When asked, they said they were Hindus.

The frightened Muslims rushed towards the town group after group. The Muslims said, "Allah, Allah! Is the Koran Sareef proved entirely wrong after so many days? We pray five times but couldn't finish the sandal-pasted Hindus. All the universe is false." (pages 161-162 of Abbey of Delight, the English translation of Anandamath by Arabinda Das).

In any case, the Vande Mataram is a national song and not the national anthem of India, hence refusal to sing it cannot be construed as showing disrespect to the country. Given the fact that the Muslims have been singing the Jana Gana Mana ever since India attained independence, and the fact that they have laid down their lives for the country during and after the freedom struggle, their nationalist spirit cannot be doubted even for a minute.

It must be understood that India being a secular democracy, every community has the right to profess and practice its faith so long as it did not challenge the unity and integrity of the nation, and therefore, the coercive imposition of the beliefs of one religion over another would only result in communal disharmony.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...nde-mataram/story-rRNDm0d1waQ3FCfew9IhxJ.html

Muslims accepts India but dont expect them to accept idol worshiping.

All three are inseparable. Right?

Don't worry. We Indian Muslims are patriotic enough to defend our country whenever the need arises. It's just that we believe in afterlife and Allah and we try our best to fulfill it without harming others.:19:

I dont believe how this big minority of 20+million muslims can be oppressed ? Prolly someone is letting this happen and its Mr Terrorist Modi, who is giving free hand to extremist.

With all due respect to religion, The air he breathes is of this nation.The land he is born of this nation.

I am a proud Hindu and Bengali. But that doesnt take precedence over my being an Indian. Everytime i step out of this country i am asked my nationality not my religion or region.

Please explain where it indicates that air one breathe is a property of a nation ? People ask your nationality to identify you with your uniqueness. France citizens speak French, German citizens speak German, Koreans speak Korean and etc. India and China aren't unique enough to be solely identified based on a country. I came as an international student and booked my dorm with another Indian. There was just too much difference between my culture and my roomates culture. Everything from language, food, culture and behavior didn't suit well with me. Only thing we had in common was when cricket was on. Identifying yourself with a religion is also way too broad , I'd prefer language/cultre.

Even today Muslims bow before their rulers in places where monarchy is prevalent.

Thing is simple.Muslims didnt have issues bowing to their sultans,Amirs,Royalty , but want special treatment in secular countries. This is hypocrisy and will be called as such.

This is just clutching at straws. Like i said, sultans, amirs etc etc is all medieval stuff and we know people bowed down, if they ever did it, because they feared for their lives and muslims are ordered to protect their lives no matter what. If India will give death penalty for not singing vande mataram, then its okay for muslims to sing it. But As India is sickular, it cant do that.

Hindus didnt say anything about cow slaughter during those sultans' , amir's etc times so why do they want govt. to pass laws to ban beef consumption now? This logic is flawed and cannot be used.

By the way Where do muslims bow to their monarchs today, quote some examples please. I want to know.

Please explain where it indicates that air one breathe is a property of a nation ? People ask your nationality to identify you with your uniqueness. France citizens speak French, German citizens speak German, Koreans speak Korean and etc. India and China aren't unique enough to be solely identified based on a country. I came as an international student and booked my dorm with another Indian. There was just too much difference between my culture and my roomates culture. Everything from language, food, culture and behavior didn't suit well with me. Only thing we had in common was when cricket was on. Identifying yourself with a religion is also way too broad , I'd prefer language/cultre.

Soon he will be asked to pay tax for breathing air of the nation.

This is just clutching at straws. Like i said, sultans, amirs etc etc is all medieval stuff and we know people bowed down, if they ever did it, because they feared for their lives and muslims are ordered to protect their lives no matter what. If India will give death penalty for not singing vande mataram, then its okay for muslims to sing it. But As India is sickular, it cant do that.

Hindus didnt say anything about cow slaughter during those sultans' , amir's etc times so why do they want govt. to pass laws to ban beef consumption now? This logic is flawed and cannot be used.

By the way Where do muslims bow to their monarchs today, quote some examples please. I want to know.

Everyone in India does. Christians sing, Sikhs sing, Jains sing, Buddhist sing..

Why do Muslims want to have their way in everything? There should be uniformity in everything. One people, one Nation, one Law should be the motto. If everyone start having exceptions, then it will never end.

Just like Been ban is silly, so is this not singing Vandemataram, not having uniform civil code are.

15th century? Monarchy existed in India till 1949.Please read history.

There are various muslim majority nations with Monarchs and Amirs and their people bow to them.

Please use common sense, we are talking about a Malayalee, I was referring to the establishment of Islamic monarchy kingdom in Kerala. Muslims are not the only ones that put their religion and language before their national identity.

Everyone in India does. Christians sing, Sikhs sing, Jains sing, Buddhist sing..

Why do Muslims want to have their way in everything? There should be uniformity in everything. One people, one Nation, one Law should be the motto. If everyone start having exceptions, then it will never end.

Just like Been ban is silly, so is this not singing Vandemataram, not having uniform civil code are.

India is too big and consists of too many cultures, languages and customs to be uniform. Why can't people in Gujarat, Delhi, Maharastra and UP be less racist and ignorant like rest of India ? Why can't they be civilized like rest of the India ?

Don't worry. We Indian Muslims are patriotic enough to defend our country whenever the need arises. It's just that we believe in afterlife and Allah and we try our best to fulfill it without harming others.:19:

I have never believed otherwise and you know. But what i dont get is how can you separate you being a muslim a malyalee and Indian. You are all three. Thats how it is.

India is too big and consists of too many cultures, languages and customs to be uniform. Why can't people in Gujarat, Delhi, Maharastra and UP be less racist and ignorant like rest of India ? Why can't they be civilized like rest of the India ?

I am not saying people should wear same dress or eat same food. But something like Law, rules should all be uniform.

If every religion starts demanding separate rules, it will become too complicated.

Language and culture is a sub set of a nationality and religion. The land the resources within and nation's borders are its property.

Do you get along with everyone of your own language or culture?Heck we dont get along with everyone in a family.

Please use common sense, we are talking about a Malayalee, I was referring to the establishment of Islamic monarchy kingdom in Kerala. Muslims are not the only ones that put their religion and language before their national identity.

The Kingdom of Travancore existed till 1949 so did the Kingdom of Cochin. They were ruled by kings to whom people of all religion bowed. Thing is this is hypocrisy.I have no issues with anyone not singing Vande Matram, but i have an issue with hypocrisy.

Regarding what Tamilians will do. There are enough tamilians here to answer that question.

Go to some absolute Monarchies you will see them bowing.Its a common phenomenon. 1949 was not medieval. History tells us that till Pakistan attacked Kashmir,Muslims there paid obeisance to a Hindu King and bowed before him.

Hindus didnt say anything?Why did you think soo many were killed. Read history its full of Hindus being killed by Islamic invaders and rulers.