Sri Lanka v Pakistan | 3rd ODI | Dambulla | 3 Aug 2009 | Pak Innings

• Thread starter Thread starter AZ
  • Start date Start date

AZ

Hall of Famer
I guess I'll open the match thread then...praying for a Pakistan victory!

I never do that, because i dont think it brings good omen but lets wish for the best today.

never do what? open the match thread or pray for a Pakistan victory?

fawad_wellwisher said:
We should play the same team. No point making any changes.
sai baat hai aiysay he doosroon ko aaliyan parnay say acha hai yahe karain jo bhi karn ahai :P

I would rather open with Nazir and akmal then play nasir because he got the chance, now give an oppertunity to Nazir, and inshallah he will exploit and inshallah pakistan will win the 3rd ODI as well as the series.

Nazir_ Rules said:
I would rather open with Nazir and akmal then play nasir because he got the chance, now give an oppertunity to Nazir, and inshallah he will exploit and inshallah pakistan will win the 3rd ODI as well as the series.

true and the thing is nasir bhi 0 pay he out hua na kamaz kam imran nazir agar chal gaya to 3 overs mein 30 to maar he day ga
so i think its worth the gamble we seriously have nothing to loose !!!

scrap Kami as opener, get Nazir in for Fawad and open with Nasir and Nazir...

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:

you never fail to disappoint me.
Take out Fawad for Nazir?

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:

You serious?

Nazir for Fawad?

Nahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh you are kidding, Right?

Oh Damn I'm disappointed.

I say that because it is being reported that Misbah is coming in to replace Fadi anyway...so I'd rather see Imran Nazir play instead

Team news by Jang:
* Rana IN for Umar Gul
* Misbah IN for Fawad

If Fawad is being replaced then I'd raher have Yousuf instaed of Misbah coming in for him. I'd give Nasir another go. And please send Afridi at #3. He looks at ease picking up singles and 2s at that position when he knows he does not have to hit from the word go.

:yk is seriously losing it if he brings in Misbah ahead of Fawad. Its a decision that will definitely backfire given Misbah's current form and we'll have to carry a passenger in the team today!

Inswinger said:
If Fawad is being replaced then I'd raher have Yousuf instaed of Misbah coming in for him. I'd give Nasir another go. And please send Afridi at #3. He looks at ease picking up singles and 2s at that position when he knows he does not have to hit from the word go.
YK said that Afrdi told him after 1st match that he does not want to play at #3.

teams ?

ajmal and gul should be dropped for rao and rana.

moyo also needs to be back in.

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
I say that because it is being reported that Misbah is coming in to replace Fadi anyway...so I'd rather see Imran Nazir play instead

ok, so you're saying conditionally. that IF misbah is replacing Fawad.
I wouldnt want that, but even if that be the case, i'd rather have Misbah, then have Nasir and Nazir together.

To be honest, I want Nasir out and Nazir in. The shot Nasir played was unexcuzable for his first delivery. This pitch requires excellent temperament, something even Nazir doesnt have. So opener's slot will remain a worry

9.30am And its time for the toss. Kumar Sangakkara flips, Younis Khan calls heads, but its a tail and Sri Lanka will field

From Cricinfo:

"Its a die and do situation," says a beaming Younis. Not sure what he's smiling about. Pakistan are down a game away from losing the series. One change for Pakistan, with Umar Gul rested in place of Naved-ul-Hasan. Its his first ODI since the 2007 World Cup. Remember, Naved only recently quit the ICL.

Two changes for the hosts - Jayasuriya has been dropped, Lasith Malinga has been rested, and in their places come Thilina Kandamby and Dilhara Fernando.

Rana in for Gul The only change.

Salazar said:
ok, so you're saying conditionally. that IF misbah is replacing Fawad.
I wouldnt want that, but even if that be the case, i'd rather have Misbah, then have Nasir and Nazir together.

To be honest, I want Nasir out and Nazir in. The shot Nasir played was unexcuzable for his first delivery. This pitch requires excellent temperament, something even Nazir doesnt have. So opener's slot will remain a worry

temperament ko maaro goli, we need guys who will hit back at the Lankan bowlers...no more playing and missing, I want a guy to step down the track and smash Kulasekara into the Indian Ocean! :pissed: :pissed:

So YK did not go total insane and Misbah is still out of the team.

i think its a good move dropping gul for rana. i dont think rana is all that as a bowler, but its tailor made conditions for him, and gul has been crap.

fingers crossed.

godzilla said:
i think its a good move dropping gul for rana. i dont think rana is all that as a bowler, but its tailor made conditions for him, and gul has been crap.

fingers crossed.
Gul is dropped only because he is injured.

Rana in for Gul might work well, Gul was not firing with the ball at all.

I High;ly doubt that, his form with the ball was nothing but Awefull.

But he's tied with Aamer as our top run scorer :)))

Imran Nazir once again not in the line-up. I hope Nazir refuses to play any match on this tour the way he has been treated so far by YK. I doubt Imran Nazir will even play the T20 matches the way things are going at the moment

Really was hoping to see Yousuf back in for Malik, which completely goes against my morals. But you know, whatever.

Waqar Younis mention his final eleven and there was no place for Mohammad Yousuf and Fawad Alam in it.

9.40am The track, according to Ranil Abeynaike, is about a 225-one. There are a few cracks strewn across it. Looks a rather brown strip. Waqar Younis isn't surprised Sangakkara chose to field.

Honestly, Inti needs a slap on his big fat bald head - what good is Ajmal on these pitches ?

Play an extra pacer or a batsman .. Malik can bowl any extra spin overs needed !

srh said:
Waqar Younis mention his final eleven and there was no place for Mohammad Yousuf and Fawad Alam in it.
Wait, what?! Cricinfo lists Alam in the playing eleven!

Usman Chadda said:
Imran Nazir once again not in the line-up. I hope Nazir refuses to play any match on this tour the way he has been treated so far by YK. I doubt Imran Nazir will even play the T20 matches the way things are going at the moment
YOu want Nasir to be dropped after ONE game? What kind of a message does that send to hiM!?

iZeeshan said:
YOu want Nasir to be dropped after ONE game? What kind of a message does that send to hiM!?
I want Malik to be dropped for Nazir. What message is this treatment sending to Nazir? Might aswell have left him in Pakistan!

Bublu Bhuyan said:
Oh man, you're serious ?

Yeah - with 47 runs a piece they are tied as our top run scorers in the one day series thus far !!

Are Sri Lanka taking the mickey here? No Jayasuriya, no Malinga. It seems Sangakkara thinks his second XI is more than capable of beating Pakistan

Usman Chadda said:
Are Sri Lanka taking the mickey here? No Jayasuriya, no Malinga. It seems Sangakkara thinks his second XI is more than capable of beating Pakistan

And the worst thing is, he might be right :(

ok guyz i am watching the match as well and taking pakistan inning up to 250.. now first target is score a run without losing a wicket :13:

we need to think about taking short short steps rather then a huge step (10 runs)

When your #9 and 10 are the highest scorer you know your batting has been dooped

$10 says Rana Naved will make us lose the match by his widessssss and loose bowling, if our batsmen dont screw it up earlier

Usman Chadda said:
I want Malik to be dropped for Nazir. What message is this treatment sending to Nazir? Might aswell have left him in Pakistan!

totally agree, they just brought him along to embarass him, and make him sit on a plastic seat near the boundary and just watch others play, I think ejaz butt has it in for him remember he said he didn't want batmeez players like Nazir when the RBS tournament was finished. so Maybe he just brought him along to frustrate him even more. disguisting

Salazar said:
$10 says Rana Naved will make us lose the match by his widessssss and loose bowling, if our batsmen dont screw it up earlier

Easy Captain, Easy.

Salazar said:
Talking $10? What else is it saying beside Rana?
What about Nasir?

A sensible decision to avoid a knee jerk reaction in team selection. I hope there is some common sense in the batting order too.

Usman Chadda said:

Can you blame him? To be fair though, Jayasuriya has been poor and keeps failing despite the numerous lives he has got in each game. And I think Fernando is just as good as Malinga. Then again, is it wise to change a winning side?

iafzal said:
Talking $10? What else is it saying beside Rana?
What about Nasir?

$10 says he scores atleast 5 runs :D

Hey come on, that's an accompishment