Stories of Jinn/Bhoot/Ghost - The paranormal experience

So you're both Naqshbandi and Chishti? In any case, considering my grandmother was a disciple of your ancestor, I should start calling you Shah Jee, Saeen Jee or Makhdoom. Take your pick ;)

"Tay-al-Arz" is a known karamat. Pir Mehr Ali Shah spent time in Mecca, and the legend goes that a pilgrim from around Rawalpindi fell sick, and desperately wanted to return home. Pir Sb asked him to take his hand, and he was home. The same karamat is attributed to other sheikhs as well.

Another similar karamat is being present in more than one place. I don't know if there's a reason behind this one always being awarded to cobblers a.k.a mochis, who are frequently very spiritual. My theory is that it isn't just that cobblers are spiritual, its that sheikhs become cobblers, to work with people's shoes, to keep themselves humble. I have myself met one such person. He had a tiny hole-in-the-wall shop a few streets away, and the first time I took my shoes there to be polished, he looked at me in such a gentle way that I immediately left the chair, where I had been sitting, and sat down on the floor with him. As I was leaving, he said to me, "visit me from time to time." There are times when I recall that event, and rue the fact that I only really visited him when I needed my shoes polished. My gut feeling is that was a pivotal moment in my life, and as fate would have it, the spiritual path wasn't for me, and the doors were shut on me because I didn't heed his word, either through my own negligence or by the will of God.

Anyways, I digress. Sufi karamats aren't really Jinn stories.

Yeah that'd be right.

I have heard the same karamat story from my grandfather. About the pilgrim who needed to return home in an emergency. Back when they used to do hajj via road or ship. This is getting crazier and crazier. I knew we had a connection. You may well end up being a relative of mine somehow. Who knows.

Saeen Ji is fine. Thanks.

That's an interesting tale and your interpretation is pretty deep. Although perhaps it's Satan's way of convincing you that you closed the door on that path - it's never too late!

I

This thread should be closed. This is a forum for educated people.

Most responses have been from educated people.

Yeah that'd be right.

I have heard the same karamat story from my grandfather. About the pilgrim who needed to return home in an emergency. Back when they used to do hajj via road or ship. This is getting crazier and crazier. I knew we had a connection. You may well end up being a relative of mine somehow. Who knows.

Saeen Ji is fine. Thanks.

That's an interesting tale and your interpretation is pretty deep. Although perhaps it's Satan's way of convincing you that you closed the door on that path - it's never too late!

I

Saeen Jee it is then!

I guess the doors being closed interpretation has to do with Sufism, not religion outright. I've had a couple of other instances where I came close to taking a tariqa, but one thing led to another and it didn't come about. I have an inkling of why that is: I'm obsessed with the supernatural, as my omnipresence of this thread testifies. My fascination with Sufism too has more to do with karamats than anything else. It is just as well I didn't take the path.

I had a few experiences but my favorite one was in one of our previous house.
I KNEW there was something in the house! But I never talked about it so the kids wont get scared.

A cold winter night, me and my better half are lying in our bed. It's about 11:00 PM, and very quite, Kids are asleep.
All windows are closed, no fan is running, no chance of wind in the room.

We are having a regular chit chat facing towards the ceiling.

And all of a sudden the ceiling fan turns on by itself. It takes one round and stops !! :)) DAMN !!!!!

I had my heart in my throat and was about to go into panic. Looked at my wife thinking that she will unconsciousness but surprisingly enough, she was VERY relaxed and was not ready to accept it as any sign of spooky activity.

I said, what the heck is it???? She calmly said, nothing. Looks like some electricity fault.

I couldn't sleep for a very long time.

First thing next morning I called a tech to look into the fan. Now this a white American guy who has been an electric engineer for 40 odd years. He is now retired but does occasionally work for friends.

He looked into it and said some wire was pulled out from somewhere and hooked up shortly with another wire that caused the electricity to flow, BUT in my 40 years of service and 4 years in the Engineering school, I have NEVER seen anything like that.

Anyway, fan was "fixed". But my believe only got firmed that there was definitely something in that house. And it was not bothersome.

Some other folks who I know moved in the house after we moved out.
And once they asked me, have you experienced any spooky activity in this house? They talked about few weird things happening, banging sounds, sounds of heavy things dropped when there was no one in the room, kids getting nightmares and what not.

But I simply said NO. :)

^^^

Stuff like that happened a lot of times when I used to be high on Mary Jane. I could be hallucinating though the medicinal herb is not known for causing such symptoms. Maybe the ghosts opened up to me when I was in the surreal zone. In any case, never got spooked by such things. Now that I am sober I long for those days.

^^^

Stuff like that happened a lot of times when I used to be high on Mary Jane. I could be hallucinating though the medicinal herb is not known for causing such symptoms. Maybe the ghosts opened up to me when I was in the surreal zone. In any case, never got spooked by such things. Now that I am sober I long for those days.

That was the first thing I checked in my research on Tennessee: possession, even of a little bit, means a jail term. I thought these Southerners would be more laid back. But I guess being in the buckle of the Bible Belt rules some things out.

By the way, I got the on-site interview at Siemens. I'm descending on Knoxville on the 18th! But... if only they were like Colorado in some matters :(

Well, let me know if you join. You will be a fellow Siemener :)

^^^

One person could be high -- but someone who never drank or smoke, another who never drank or some and a third one, backed up by a 40 years of professional work experience ?? All three can't be hallucinating, can they?

This thread is a great read!

I will contribute eventually once I get some of my exams out of the way this upcoming week - for which I should be studying right now, but clearly Jins are triumphing.

This thread is a great read!

I will contribute eventually once I get some of my exams out of the way this upcoming week - for which I should be studying right now, but clearly Jins are triumphing.

Jinns used to triumph over me during the exams too. I've mentioned that in one of the earlier posts. My desk faced a wall, and that uncanny feeling of being watched, at night while I tried to study, was overwhelming. I didn't dare turn around, and couldn't concentrate on the books either. I still remember that crippling, paralyzing fear. I spent eight years in that room, but it never spoke to me. I wonder if that made it all the worse.

Well, let me know if you join. You will be a fellow Siemener :)

I just love the kinky company name ;)

They've asked me to prepare a presentation on... myself. I'm a little stumped. They don't want it to be technical. It is so they "get to know me." Is this standard, or just a quirk of this manager?

Jinns used to triumph over me during the exams too. I've mentioned that in one of the earlier posts. My desk faced a wall, and that uncanny feeling of being watched, at night while I tried to study, was overwhelming. I didn't dare turn around, and couldn't concentrate on the books either. I still remember that crippling, paralyzing fear. I spent eight years in that room, but it never spoke to me. I wonder if that made it all the worse.

I have had my fair share of incidences like that over the years too. Your brain just goes into overdrive when you give a slight thought about fear.

I just love the kinky company name ;)

They've asked me to prepare a presentation on... myself. I'm a little stumped. They don't want it to be technical. It is so they "get to know me." Is this standard, or just a quirk of this manager?

Never heard of it.
But then, there are thousands of managers and 100's of departments. All follow, what we call "global procedures" and then almost all have "company specific procedures".

I don't think I have done this to any of my prospects candidates in the interviews.

What I am assuming here is that, the manager may look to see if you share the same vision of his department, and the company's philosophies ? Can you help solve his business problems?

Can you help the manager reach his own personal goals in climbing up the hierarchy (specially if he is an Indian)?

So obviously, you want to think in terms of how your attitude and experience/achievements towards the business can help the company reach new heights... come up with something that sort of creates a personal connection between you and the manger towards a common goal. .... prepare some questions about certain procedures that are in place to perform the same job you are being hired for ... drink a redbull before entering the building ... I mean, you know the drill. :)

I was speaking to one of my cousins who is now a retired Lt Colonel. He was telling me some of his crazy war time experiences.

He told me that it was common that when team members passed away during fighting or going up and down some treacherous terrain in the glaciers etc - that they would see the spirits of the fallen walking around sometimes to show the rest of the battalion where they died. Especially if it was during avalanches or blizzards where it was tough to retrace footsteps. Was an interesting story and something that would be hard to make up I reckon.

Bumped on [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] 's request. Also it's a stormy night here, and I'm working late.

Tell us about the supernatural in the Emerald Isle. I'm dismayed at the Hollywood treatment of leprechauns. Is there an element of menace behind the jolly facade?

What about ancient Celtic Druids and their belief in the supernatural?

Have any Irish writers incorporated elements of the occult/supernatural into their writings? Anyone we should read in particular? (Not Bram Stoker though: his famous tale was set far away)

Look forward to reading some of Donals inputs.

Not sure if I've put this in before, but on a calm summer night, me and my cousins were walking through our ancestral village. We were all there for a Shaadi that was to happen in a couple of weeks.

On the way back, he was like 'you know the stories about jinn living in trees etc, let's see if it is real'

Before I knew what was happening he started throwing bricks and rocks at random trees at night and challenging the jinn to do something. He then proceed to take a leak on the tree.

Nothing happened.

We went back home, watched a couple of movies on a laptop, and slept. Except, my cousin didn't sleep. He couldn't. All night. Every time he nodded away, he would choke or cough randomly and be woken up. Not sure if it was related at all to what he had done earlier and admittedly he didn't have any symptoms of a cold or a cough before or afterwards, but he said from then he will never mess with the supernatural again.

I am reading The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde. As the story illustrates, the proper way to treat a ghost/jinn/bhoot is with disregard. A ghost acquires its pleasure not from the kill, but from the haunting preceding the kill. If it wanted to just plainly kill you, it could easily do it without you even knowing. But no, a ghost is cursed with the need to scare and frighten its victims first. Hence, we can reasonably assume that if we ignore the ghost and show no fear, we will deny it any satisfaction it might get from killing you, which may convince it to find a more timid victim.

Interesting.

So they are just an attention seeking entity?

How is this thread still up? Needs to be locked and deleted ASAP.

Interesting.

There's certainly some truth in this. I've felt that they thrive on fear. It's a chicken and egg situation too, because you're fearful only when you feel a presence, but then are you more receptive to presences if you're fearful?

Some people are able to live happily in known haunted places. How they do it is beyond me.

Look forward to reading some of Donals inputs.

Not sure if I've put this in before, but on a calm summer night, me and my cousins were walking through our ancestral village. We were all there for a Shaadi that was to happen in a couple of weeks.

On the way back, he was like 'you know the stories about jinn living in trees etc, let's see if it is real'

Before I knew what was happening he started throwing bricks and rocks at random trees at night and challenging the jinn to do something. He then proceed to take a leak on the tree.

Nothing happened.

We went back home, watched a couple of movies on a laptop, and slept. Except, my cousin didn't sleep. He couldn't. All night. Every time he nodded away, he would choke or cough randomly and be woken up. Not sure if it was related at all to what he had done earlier and admittedly he didn't have any symptoms of a cold or a cough before or afterwards, but he said from then he will never mess with the supernatural again.

Foolhardy is the word I would use. I think he got away lightly.

There was something I read in a book about exorcisms etc that one should never challenge these beings.

Foolhardy is the word I would use. I think he got away lightly.

There was something I read in a book about exorcisms etc that one should never challenge these beings.

Yeah I felt he got off very lightly. He is one of those guys who believes in the stuff but just wants to test it out. The other day he was trying to convince me to 'chilla kaatna'

Did he mean the Sufi khalwa, i.e. 40 days and nights totally isolated, or something else?

If he's so adventurous perhaps he can try to speak to the hamzaad or the qareen. There are methods described in certain books. If nothing else, it will cure him of his foolhardiness.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Why should it be closed?

This is a forum for educated people. What nonsense is this?

For a long time, I used to be scared of ghosts, jnns etc. I couldn't even sleep alone at night because I would have nightmares, but then I realized that all this is nonsense. Its all in our head.

Yes Jinns exist as per Islamic belief but they have nothing to do with humans. After realizing that its all in our heads, I'm not scared of paranormal stuff at all now, and can probably spend a night in the graveyard on my own if I had to.

Interesting.

I'm not sure what their reasons for haunting are. Personally, I do not even believe in ghosts, but I am just entertaining a hypothetical based on the typical depictions in film and literature.

I even had a thread on PP 2 years ago where I sought help from PPers over my problem of not being able to sleep alone at night because I fear paranormal activity, so this change has been quite drastic and severe. Now I laugh at these things and hope for some paranormal stuff so that I can experience how it feels to be afraid of these things once again.

I think [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] has been abducted by the leprechauns.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]
[MENTION=138827]jayawardene[/MENTION]

Please don't derail the thread. Stay on-topic or move on.

I wanted this thread bumped so I could read your stories, not add my own :D

I have nothing to add alas, unless some creaky floorboards = demonic activity

Think of me as a jinn in this thread :D

I wanted this thread bumped so I could read your stories, not add my own :D

I have nothing to add alas, unless some creaky floorboards = demonic activity

Think of me as a jinn in this thread :D

But there is an occult culture/set of beliefs in Ireland, right? Tell us all about it. How has Catholicism influenced it? How much of it derives from the ancient Celtic past?

I want minute detail. The sort that makes your fingers ache when you're done writing.

One of the scariest things we tell our children is that, when cats and dogs are making noise at night, it's because they are seeing ghosts.

But there is an occult culture/set of beliefs in Ireland, right? Tell us all about it. How has Catholicism influenced it? How much of it derives from the ancient Celtic past?

I want minute detail. The sort that makes your fingers ache when you're done writing.

Sorry I'm not really learned on this stuff :)) Closest thing I can think of is a banshee, but we all know those.

Great, there goes my plan of reading scary Irish tales tonight.

P.S. Fittay Mun Donnie. I have to throw that in every time.

Did he mean the Sufi khalwa, i.e. 40 days and nights totally isolated, or something else?

If he's so adventurous perhaps he can try to speak to the hamzaad or the qareen. There are methods described in certain books. If nothing else, it will cure him of his foolhardiness.

Nah, something to do with sitting in a grave and repeating verses over and over. He has read the books etc., but thankfully he's not as foolish as he makes himself out to be.

Ah yes, that chilla. One will find many references to spending a night in a grave in literature and popular culture.

I've read about how some Sufi sheikhs in the past had their graves dug ahead of time, and would spend nights in them, to remind themselves of their own mortality. In the more spiritually inclined fiction from the likes of Ashfaq Ahmed and his group, you'll find this mentioned: Bano Qudsia does it in Raja Gidh. Ashfaq himself shows a spiritual lady who lives all alone in the forest in 1997's Hairatkada. She has a grave ready, and says she'll step into it on her own accord when it is time. Shahab talks about reciting "kulu nafsin zaiqa tul maut," which eventually makes the spirit hover over the body.

This may sound terrifying but then let's not forget that plenty of old people get their shrouds sewn in advance too, which is one step away from getting a grave dug.

The practice of course gets corrupted: black magic practitioners do it. And then there's the IJT, the student wing of JI: they make their members do it.

I hope he wasn't planning on reciting verses backwards, because that's black magic.

This Chilla thing can be pretty dangerous. I was very young at that time but I was told that my grandma started doing some Chilla to control a Jin so she can ask him to cure an incurable deadly disease one of my first cousins and her grandson had. She developed some psychological problems after that and eventually her health declined to a point where she became bed ridden and eventually died. Now she was old and maybe it was all a natural progression of old age but some in my family think it was because she was trying some really intense Chilla.

Interesting. I have heard a story where a woman did this regularly, and when she went to do hajj, she couldn't see the Kaabah. Like, literally, could not see it when everybody around her could.

Ah yes, that chilla. One will find many references to spending a night in a grave in literature and popular culture.

I've read about how some Sufi sheikhs in the past had their graves dug ahead of time, and would spend nights in them, to remind themselves of their own mortality. In the more spiritually inclined fiction from the likes of Ashfaq Ahmed and his group, you'll find this mentioned: Bano Qudsia does it in Raja Gidh. Ashfaq himself shows a spiritual lady who lives all alone in the forest in 1997's Hairatkada. She has a grave ready, and says she'll step into it on her own accord when it is time. Shahab talks about reciting "kulu nafsin zaiqa tul maut," which eventually makes the spirit hover over the body.

This may sound terrifying but then let's not forget that plenty of old people get their shrouds sewn in advance too, which is one step away from getting a grave dug.

The practice of course gets corrupted: black magic practitioners do it. And then there's the IJT, the student wing of JI: they make their members do it.

I hope he wasn't planning on reciting verses backwards, because that's black magic.

Yeap, backwards. It was when he said the instructions read that he should defecate on scripture pages that he stopped even thinking about it.

I've also heard of Sahaba did this. One of them had a grave dug in their house, and every morning, he would lie down and remember death. A little morbid, but that's how dedicated some of these people were.

I was home alone and was watching Annabelle around 3.30 am, it was that lift scene I was watching. My bed suddenly started to shake vigorously . I almost had a heart attack, could have died haha. Found out later that it was an Earthquake.

It's 2:30 Am night

I am just reading all these stories on my laptop in the garden all alone, our house is near Margalla Hills so all these mountains you can see and forest, and suddenly I can hear weird noises.

Really scared but thoroughly enjoying this moment with bag of chips and chocolate. Gem of a thread.

The voices are getting louder maybe it's my subconscious, I think I should go to my bed.

It's 2:30 Am night

I am just reading all these stories on my laptop in the garden all alone, our house is near Margalla Hills so all these mountains you can see and forest, and suddenly I can hear weird noises.

Really scared but thoroughly enjoying this moment with bag of chips and chocolate. Gem of a thread.

The Margallas have plenty of skeletons. Long before Islamabad was even a faint idea in Ayub's head, these hills were the haunt of bandits, hence the name Maar Galla. There have been a couple of macabre crimes of passion in the last few decades too.

Daku Sajawal was the Robin Hood of the area, in the early 1900's. His exploits with the ladies were well-known too. He isn't eulogized in song and verse like ***** Bhatti is, but he should be.

Incidentally, my maternal grandfather was named after him. My mother and uncles and aunts were offended when I told them their father was most likely named after a bandit. But there seems no other reason, since it isn't a particularly common name.

Anyhow, I can't think of a better backdrop to this thread than the Margallas. I would skip the chips though. They would spoil the ambience.

Abdullah Bhatti. I guess the nickname can be misinterpreted, so it got censored.

Are the voices saying redrum by any chance??

It must be the click beetle noise, I don't where was that click click voice was coming from, like someone was walking towards me, crickets chirping and Cicada singing. I think it must be a rat in dustbin I heard food being munched inside the steel can and a plastic bag was moving due to air, so that added to the fear. Hills, a small graveyard and Forest are near by house, you are bound to be scared reading these stories in a Garden all alone.

:murali

The Margallas have plenty of skeletons. Long before Islamabad was even a faint idea in Ayub's head, these hills were the haunt of bandits, hence the name Maar Galla. There have been a couple of macabre crimes of passion in the last few decades too.

Daku Sajawal was the Robin Hood of the area, in the early 1900's. His exploits with the ladies were well-known too. He isn't eulogized in song and verse like ***** Bhatti is, but he should be.

Incidentally, my maternal grandfather was named after him. My mother and uncles and aunts were offended when I told them their father was most likely named after a bandit. But there seems no other reason, since it isn't a particularly common name.

Anyhow, I can't think of a better backdrop to this thread than the Margallas. I would skip the chips though. They would spoil the ambience.

Yea I have heard about these skulls in that areas. My friends and I were hiking. We encountered a pig head hanging on the tree, and there was two graves right next to it and something was written with blood on the tree tunk " Idar mat Ana, aur Ayatul Kursi maro" It did scare me ,and we all run as fast as we could. Sweet memories of my childhood

People who believe in ghosts and jinns should get their degrees checked. Believing in gods is one thing but having faith in ghosts, jinns etc is totally stupid and most religious person will also tell you that. At this point religious and atheists come on common ground.

Its all in your brain, god bless the rikshawalla in my child hood who told me that there are no ghosts and since then neither i was scared of ghosts nor i believed in them.

People who believe in ghosts and jinns should get their degrees checked. Believing in gods is one thing but having faith in ghosts, jinns etc is totally stupid and most religious person will also tell you that. At this point religious and atheists come on common ground.

Its all in your brain, god bless the rikshawalla in my child hood who told me that there are no ghosts and since then neither i was scared of ghosts nor i believed in them.

Why is belief in God acceptable, but belief in ghosts is not?

^^ One is based on faith and other is based on false belief.

Faith needs no proofs or even existance of something. But since ghosts and jinns are not the creators of the world then the proof of their existence is required. Much like Grey aliens, we need proof to believe in greys. There may be alien life somewhere in space but specifically believing in greys asks for their proof.

^^ One is based on faith and other is based on false belief.

Faith needs no proofs or even existance of something. But since ghosts and jinns are not the creators of the world then the proof of their existence is required. Much like Grey aliens, we need proof to believe in greys. There may be alien life somewhere in space but specifically believing in greys asks for their proof.

How do you decide which one is false belief and true belief. We don't need proof for God, but we need proof for Ghosts? Why can't Ghosts be creation of God, just like everything else.

Really hypocritical to accept belief in God but term belief in Ghosts as false belief.

We came to our old house after 10 years because we asked our father to spend summers here and it was cleaned before we came. The Village name is 'Kali taka', the house is on top of the hill. You have to walk a lot, because there are no proper roads for cars. My siblings along with me were discussing haunted stories, the room was next to the balcony. We heard people giggling and whispering, it was loud and clear.

My brother looked out and no one was there, the funny thing is that our house is very far from any other inhabitants living apart us and the servant. Suddenly nothing could be heard, it's just stopped the moment my brother looked out of the window.

The servant and my parents were sleeping, no possibility of them. We are frightened, and asked the servant to stay in our room. I had my father's Desert Eagle, and couldn't sleep the whole night

How do you decide which one is false belief and true belief. We don't need proof for God, but we need proof for Ghosts? Why can't Ghosts be creation of God, just like everything else.

Really hypocritical to accept belief in God but term belief in Ghosts as false belief.

Well this is the first time i have heard people having faith in ghosts and jinns. I thought people believed in god more than ghosts. Never really met too many ghost followers in my life.

Anyways, Gods doesnt need proof because by defination they have created the world and us. So if you have faith in it then you believe in it otherwise god doesnt exist for you. Ghosts on other hand are not gods so they need proof. If they are gods creation then show me one, you need at least one to prove it.

I believe gods can create cellphones naturally but unless i see one growing on trees somewhere i will call it my theory only.

Well this is the first time i have heard people having faith in ghosts and jinns. I thought people believed in god more than ghosts. Never really met too many ghost followers in my life.

Anyways, Gods doesnt need proof because by defination they have created the world and us. So if you have faith in it then you believe in it otherwise god doesnt exist for you. Ghosts on other hand are not gods so they need proof. If they are gods creation then show me one, you need at least one to prove it.

I believe gods can create cellphones naturally but unless i see one growing on trees somewhere i will call it my theory only.

What kind of Logic is this? You dont need proof of God because God created the world, but you need proof for Ghost, when they are mentioned in the scriptures? Holy Spirit, Djinn are part of mainstream religion. It is laughable that you accept God, but don't accept what is mentioned in God's books.

The logic is in the way gods and ghosts are defined by humans. End of the day there are pretty good chances that both are fitment of human imagination.

Its also very much possible that god created the world and humans created religions (actually it is the case if god exist). I for one dont care about existance of gods or ghosts.
But by defination jinns didnt create you, god did. So if you believe god created you then god must exist for you. But what menisfests existance of jinns. Jinns and ghosts supposed to live among humans and interefere with our lives right? So there must be proof of it.

What i am saying is god is matter of faith, you either believe in it or not its up to you, you can never prove it unless god decides to show them to you. But bhoots and jinns are not matter of faith and they need proof, forget about what religions say.

I didnt know that believing in ghosts was pre requisite to believing in gods.

Yea I have heard about these skulls in that areas. My friends and I were hiking. We encountered a pig head hanging on the tree, and there was two graves right next to it and something was written with blood on the tree tunk " Idar mat Ana, aur Ayatul Kursi maro" It did scare me ,and we all run as fast as we could. Sweet memories of my childhood

Probably a boar's skull. Boars are all over the hills. Once they even encroached on the PM House, which was appropriate in a way.

I can imagine black magic practitioners using boars' skulls.

This discussion of the Margallas reminds me of Murree, which has a number of spots known for paranormal activity.

One of my maternal uncles (khaloo) was on a business trip to Murree. There were rumors about the house the company assigned him. He isn't easily intimidated by anything, so he went anyhow.

He told us that the first night, he was about to step into the bathroom, when three dogs emerged from the unopened bathroom door. They walked past him, and out through the closed bedroom door.

He went to the bathroom, used it, came back into the bedroom and then stepped out in the hall. The three dogs were sitting there in a line, tongues out. As supernatural dogs go, these weren't particularly impressive breeds: not like the Hound of the Baskervilles. Just ordinary mongrel stray dogs. He delivered a little speech, telling them he meant no harm, and whether they liked it or not, he was going to stay the two nights, and then leave. He didn't mind their presence, so they shouldn't mind his.

The dogs left through another unopened door. He didn't see them again for the next two days.

He had a collection of pamphlets describing the chilla rituals and black magic practices we've discussed above. Also he is an avid palm reader, despite the protests of the more religious members of the family. He was very nonchalant about the entire experience. He probably knows something we don't.

Some good additions.

Margalla and Murree aren't far from where we are. May go up for a bit of an experience.

This was narrated to me by my telugu friend one night when we were sharing our experiences. He said once when his uncle was walking through a deserted road at night, he found a stray goat on the way. He picked the goat up and put it on his shoulders. After a while the goat became heavier and he started sweating under the load. He realized that there was no way a goat can be so heavy. Sensing danger he dropped the goat, or whatever it was, and ran for his life without turning to look back at what he had dropped.

All these "jinn bhoot ki khaniyaan" have one thing in common.

They never happen to the actual person narrating the stories, but to someone he or she knew. Makes you question how many of these stories are fact or fiction.

This was narrated to me by my telugu friend one night when we were sharing our experiences. He said once when his uncle was walking through a deserted road at night, he found a stray goat on the way. He picked the goat up and put it on his shoulders. After a while the goat became heavier and he started sweating under the load. He realized that there was no way a goat can be so heavy. Sensing danger he dropped the goat, or whatever it was, and ran for his life without turning to look back at what he had dropped.

Lol. Why would you just pick up a goat and put it on your shoulders? The goat couldn't walk? How did he know where the goat was heading?

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] bhai, a special Ramzan bump for you.

Not sure if I have posted this here before.

But my cousin's paternal grandfather was an illiterate. He could ont read or write. But he was well known through the village for being one of the nicest people around. This was also during a time where everybody was generally much nicer (or so it seems). His only wish was to be able to read the Qur'an, but he couldn't.

Well, the story goes, that during the nights in his old age, he would be woken up during the middle of the night by an entity that would topple his charpai. He would be startled at this, but what follows is even freakier. He was able to read the Qur'an under "possession" of this entity, to such a fluent level, that our family would often find him in the middle of the night standing outside near the river, teaching a class of jinn children the Qur'an.

When he would wake, he had no recollection of it, and was unable to read the Qur'an.

Goes to show, that not all unseen entities are evil or threatening in nature.

Was asked to look after the Overlook Hotel for a winter. Place was totally haunted

Dont remember much of it, something about Johnny and loads of blood.

Now why is there an axe next to me?

Was asked to look after the Overlook Hotel for a winter. Place was totally haunted

Dont remember much of it, something about Johnny and loads of blood.

Now why is there an axe next to me?

Because Im not really an actor but just some weird guy who is typecast to play the same character over and over again in all my movies?

Lol. Why would you just pick up a goat and put it on your shoulders? The goat couldn't walk? How did he know where the goat was heading?

The goat had karahi gosht written all over it, until...