shaz619
Test Star
- Post of the Week
I love both but am edging towards the Tandoori Roti 

How about putting paratha and sheermal in the mix as well.
Was a big fan of the naan. But then as i got older i started having stomach problems. 1 naan with water causing my stomach to bloat, so have to go for roti now.
Roti is light and you could have 3.
Though naan taste soo good, roti doesn't taste good
I love both but am edging towards the Tandoori Roti![]()
So I'm in UK atm and let me tell you the food here isn't authentic Indian food.. The tandoori roti and naan are good options but it's still not the same as home.. Comparison wise I had say tandoori roti is better than naan IMO..
Even Indian restaurants give bland foods the masala is not there they add chilly to make it spicy but other ingredients are missing..
Take it easy with the diet brother. And naan tastes amazing but the taste of a tandoori roti is up there for me I love how crispy it is
Naan by a country stretch of a mile....... Give me Paya/Nihari (early in the morning) with Naan and I'll let go of Biryani for all money.
Also a glass of thick Malaye wali Lassi wouldn't necessarily be too bad with the above combofollowed by of course Jalebi / Barfi / Kulfi........
Bro my worst fear is coming true..... You are turning into a Lahori![]()
Nihari in the morning? Thick lassi? Might as well say Lahore Lahore hai
#Houston we have a problem
#Man down
#Another one bites the dust
#Acha sorry
Do poori or paratha count as a type of roti?![]()
Is nobody going to mention Taftaan? ( The Urdu noobs call it laal roti)
Taftaan with keema is a match made in heaven.
Nothing beats rogni naan.
The "desi" food is generally average but it also depends on region, a lot of indian places cater to the taste of white folk. Nothing will compare to the food in the subcontinent or your moms cooking, I was in pak as a kid and honestly even now I still remember how amazing the food was there, in a relatives house in the village they had their own tandoor and made everything with fresh ingredients taste was so distinct and even the road side stalls had amazing karahis
Yea thats what I miss the most can't wait to go back home..
I prefer Naan Bread. My neighbor had made Naan with butter chicken at one point and it is the most delicious food I have eaten in quite a while even if it was a bit too oily.
Tandoori roti.
I've never heard of sheermal before, is it the same as meethi roti?
It is a saffron bread, very popular in Iran and turkey and also in Subcontinent. I think it is also called 'band' in urdu/punjabi?
Depends on what are the side dishes served, but in general I like Naan with Grills, Kebabs, Motton Do Piaza or Paya. Roti is more common breakfast item, and I like it with mix vegetables & Chicken Bhuna (Or Jhal fry, not sure Bhuna is a known term outside BD).
Do you live in the west mostly or just on holiday here ?
It is a saffron bread, very popular in Iran and turkey and also in Subcontinent. I think it is also called 'band' in urdu/punjabi?
Chicken Kosha Bhuna + Paratha = ultimate breakfast![]()
This war has been more competitive then the one between Mango / Water Melon , [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] it is a bit like our feud over the years; The Tandoori Roti refuses to put over the Naan and vice versa
It's the ultimate rivalry, the naan has been shoved down our throats for years but tandoori roti has its own set of loyal fans who'll never let this feud die![]()
None of them. Paratha is the champion! Paratha zindabad!
Naan and Tandoori roti are both great but whichever mad man invented the Paratha has made my life a misery. I try to contain my carbs but a Paratha on a Sunday morning dripping with ghee alongside spicy egg omelette and cheese is too much to resist.
Oh no not a greasy paratha! You have to look after your cholesterol if you are having that every Sunday! Onlyhas the stomach to digest that!
Only a couple of times a month. If you're going to go unhealthy & tasty, go all the way I say.
Naan and Tandoori roti are both great but whichever mad man invented the Paratha has made my life a misery. I try to contain my carbs but a Paratha on a Sunday morning dripping with ghee alongside spicy egg omelette and cheese is too much to resist.
I barely have paratha a handful of times a year these days, but damn it's good when I do. Dunno about the cheese though, spicy omelette and achaar and you are laughing. Sensational with lamb curry as well as long as there's plenty of shorba.
you love the cheese , am going to get some of AJ when am in London heard it's amazing up there
[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] Akbars has gone down hill, went there after a long time the quality of their mains has dropped; the starters were still good though. Tipu Sultan's is pretty decent when it comes to the mains though, loved their chilli lamb karahi. I only have naan or tandoori roti when am at the restaurants, on rare occasions buy them from the shop to eat with something cooked at home; usually it's the standard chappati
I have to eat cheese everyday! Let me know what it is like up there Shaz.
Cap, do you mean mango achaar from Pakistan? It has to be one of Pakistan's best produce, simply amazing stuff!
I think it depends on the chef at the time, sometimes the same food can be very good but then average.
Have you tried Las Iguanas at resort world, excellent food esp the South American style steaks?
I have to eat cheese everyday! Let me know what it is like up there Shaz.
Cap, do you mean mango achaar from Pakistan? It has to be one of Pakistan's best produce, simply amazing stuff!
Generally every time I have gone there it has been so consistent, this time I didn't enjoy the lamb karahi; it was cooked fine and all but didn't like the style and it was a bit too watery, I tend to prefer it dry.
Not been there, where about is it in Brum?
Resorts World just by the airport. The complex is fairly new with shops, cinema, restaurants etc but I would recommend Las Iguanas.
Thanks mate will be checking it out soon, what would you say was the best thing to buy from that place what did you enjoy most