Tandoori Roti vs Naan Bread, in this epic war which is the undisputed heavyweight carb champion?

shaz619

Test Star
I love both but am edging towards the Tandoori Roti :murali

[MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION] [MENTION=137238]Anchorman[/MENTION] [MENTION=7774]Robert[/MENTION] [MENTION=134473]Haroon786[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] [MENTION=95766]leatherface58[/MENTION] [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=45836]Ashraful_Rox[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1842]James[/MENTION] [MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] [MENTION=136193]Adil_94[/MENTION] [MENTION=48620]Cpt. Rishwat[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] [MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] [MENTION=141093]big_gamer007[/MENTION] [MENTION=7898]Gabbar Singh[/MENTION] [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] [MENTION=1842]James[/MENTION] [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] [MENTION=131867]London_Lahori[/MENTION] [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Was a big fan of the naan. But then as i got older i started having stomach problems. 1 naan with water causing my stomach to bloat, so have to go for roti now.

Roti is light and you could have 3.
Though naan taste soo good, roti doesn't taste good

How about putting paratha and sheermal in the mix as well.

Was a big fan of the naan. But then as i got older i started having stomach problems. 1 naan with water causing my stomach to bloat, so have to go for roti now.

Roti is light and you could have 3.
Though naan taste soo good, roti doesn't taste good

Take it easy with the diet brother. And naan tastes amazing but the taste of a tandoori roti is up there for me I love how crispy it is

Sheermal destroys both, but am a big fan of the naan.

naan > roti.

For me naan goes better with nihari and paya and tandoori roti with kebabs and karahi's...

I love both but am edging towards the Tandoori Roti :murali

So I'm in UK atm and let me tell you the food here isn't authentic Indian food.. The tandoori roti and naan are good options but it's still not the same as home.. Comparison wise I had say tandoori roti is better than naan IMO..

Even Indian restaurants give bland foods the masala is not there they add chilly to make it spicy but other ingredients are missing..

So I'm in UK atm and let me tell you the food here isn't authentic Indian food.. The tandoori roti and naan are good options but it's still not the same as home.. Comparison wise I had say tandoori roti is better than naan IMO..

Even Indian restaurants give bland foods the masala is not there they add chilly to make it spicy but other ingredients are missing..

The "desi" food is generally average but it also depends on region, a lot of indian places cater to the taste of white folk. Nothing will compare to the food in the subcontinent or your moms cooking, I was in pak as a kid and honestly even now I still remember how amazing the food was there, in a relatives house in the village they had their own tandoor and made everything with fresh ingredients taste was so distinct and even the road side stalls had amazing karahis

Take it easy with the diet brother. And naan tastes amazing but the taste of a tandoori roti is up there for me I love how crispy it is

i was the guy who could have 3 subway subs and still be flat. Was proud of myself. But then as you get older you start losing that metabolism.

I have a slight bloated stomach

They're both terrible carbs. Just masses of generally useless calories - wholemeal slightly better. Naan the Sami as roti bit with added butter.

Are these two not major sources of obesity in Sub-continent ? Alongside kebab, samosas and pakoras.

Naan by a country stretch of a mile....... Give me Paya/Nihari (early in the morning) with Naan and I'll let go of Biryani for all money.

Also a glass of thick Malaye wali Lassi wouldn't necessarily be too bad with the above combo :yk followed by of course Jalebi / Barfi / Kulfi........

I like Naan as well. Naan goes well with any type of curry based food like Nihari, Qorma, Paye, Karahai gosht etc. Although with Kebab's whether seekh or behari, I prefer Paratha. Tandori rooti goes well with veggies and daal.

Sheermal in my opinion only goes well with Qorma. Its sweetness and thickness balances out the spice and oil of Qorma really well. For some reason, I have only eaten Shermaal at wedding's etc., never at a restaurant. But if I have to eat anything by itself though, it would have to be Paratha.

It can't get any better than having a freshly made sweet Paratha with doodh patti at a local dhaba, sitting outside on a charpai with Noor Jehan or Aisakheelwi playing in the background while you take in the local scenery.

Naan by a country stretch of a mile....... Give me Paya/Nihari (early in the morning) with Naan and I'll let go of Biryani for all money.

Also a glass of thick Malaye wali Lassi wouldn't necessarily be too bad with the above combo :yk followed by of course Jalebi / Barfi / Kulfi........

Bro my worst fear is coming true..... You are turning into a Lahori :danish :danish :danish :danish

Nihari in the morning? Thick lassi? Might as well say Lahore Lahore hai

#Houston we have a problem
#Man down
#Another one bites the dust
#Acha sorry

Is nobody going to mention Taftaan? ( The Urdu noobs call it laal roti)

Taftaan with keema is a match made in heaven.

Bro my worst fear is coming true..... You are turning into a Lahori :danish :danish :danish :danish

Nihari in the morning? Thick lassi? Might as well say Lahore Lahore hai

#Houston we have a problem
#Man down
#Another one bites the dust
#Acha sorry

Do poori or paratha count as a type of roti? :nasir

Is nobody going to mention Taftaan? ( The Urdu noobs call it laal roti)

Taftaan with keema is a match made in heaven.

I am surprised nobody has mentioned Double Roti :)) :)) - It's like the Nokia 1100 (old version)of Roti universe - Get's the freaking job done.........

Depends on what are the side dishes served, but in general I like Naan with Grills, Kebabs, Motton Do Piaza or Paya. Roti is more common breakfast item, and I like it with mix vegetables & Chicken Bhuna (Or Jhal fry, not sure Bhuna is a known term outside BD).

I prefer Naan Bread. My neighbor had made Naan with butter chicken at one point and it is the most delicious food I have eaten in quite a while even if it was a bit too oily.

The "desi" food is generally average but it also depends on region, a lot of indian places cater to the taste of white folk. Nothing will compare to the food in the subcontinent or your moms cooking, I was in pak as a kid and honestly even now I still remember how amazing the food was there, in a relatives house in the village they had their own tandoor and made everything with fresh ingredients taste was so distinct and even the road side stalls had amazing karahis

Yea thats what I miss the most can't wait to go back home..

I prefer Naan Bread. My neighbor had made Naan with butter chicken at one point and it is the most delicious food I have eaten in quite a while even if it was a bit too oily.

PP's favourite monster likes naan :))

Tandoori roti.

I've never heard of sheermal before, is it the same as meethi roti?

Tandoori roti.

I've never heard of sheermal before, is it the same as meethi roti?

It is a saffron bread, very popular in Iran and turkey and also in Subcontinent. I think it is also called 'band' in urdu/punjabi?

I had it before but didn't realise it was a sheermal. What is the correct pronunciation ? sheer as in the lion or sheer as in keeer the desert thingy

Tandoori roti for daal or keema but naan for karahi.

Try to limit it to special occasions though otherwise I join most Asian uncles in the hypertension club.

Depends on what are the side dishes served, but in general I like Naan with Grills, Kebabs, Motton Do Piaza or Paya. Roti is more common breakfast item, and I like it with mix vegetables & Chicken Bhuna (Or Jhal fry, not sure Bhuna is a known term outside BD).

Chicken Kosha Bhuna + Paratha = ultimate breakfast :36:

Tandoori roti definitely, not a big fan of the regular naan. Roghni naan is nice though.

Do you live in the west mostly or just on holiday here ?

On a business trip here for 3 months.. Just 1 month left now.. Mostly have to travel through Europe for a week or so for client stuff but this is first time I have to stay here for this long..

Naan with butter chicken.

Tandoori rotti (which i get here) is too much burnt for my liking..

I absolutely love naan when I'm eating out, but couldn't face it on a regular basis. Tandoori roti is easier to eat on a day to day basis although I only really eat desi food a couple of times a week anyway. Tough choice, I love them both.

naan is way to thick for me, roti is the right size and goes with anything and is easy to break.

This war has been more competitive then the one between Mango / Water Melon , [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] it is a bit like our feud over the years; The Tandoori Roti refuses to put over the Naan and vice versa

Hmm interesting, will look into trying it out soon. Haven't heard of the 'band' name either, the only band I know is those bread types you have to have with tea.

Naan. For me. I like middle Eastern/Arab food a lot, regularly go to the restaurants...always have nan, got used to it so much now it's a norm. I don't mind roti.. I'm a big foodie like allsorts (halal ofcause), but some type of food more so than others.

None of them. Paratha is the champion! Paratha zindabad:inzi!

Why can't you all give up carbs? This debate could then be rendered redundant. Carbs are evil, the devil incarnate, among other things.

This war has been more competitive then the one between Mango / Water Melon , [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] it is a bit like our feud over the years; The Tandoori Roti refuses to put over the Naan and vice versa

It's the ultimate rivalry, the naan has been shoved down our throats for years but tandoori roti has its own set of loyal fans who'll never let this feud die :))

:)) The Tandoori Roti has paid its dues day in day out but we have taken it for granted, the part-time naan always hogs the spotlight but not anymore!

giphy.gif

None of them. Paratha is the champion! Paratha zindabad:inzi!

Naan and Tandoori roti are both great but whichever mad man invented the Paratha has made my life a misery. I try to contain my carbs but a Paratha on a Sunday morning dripping with ghee alongside spicy egg omelette and cheese is too much to resist.

Oh no not a greasy paratha! You have to look after your cholesterol if you are having that every Sunday! Only :inzi has the stomach to digest that!

Only a couple of times a month. If you're going to go unhealthy & tasty, go all the way I say.

I barely have paratha a handful of times a year these days, but damn it's good when I do. Dunno about the cheese though, spicy omelette and achaar and you are laughing. Sensational with lamb curry as well as long as there's plenty of shorba.

:)) you love the cheese , am going to get some of AJ when am in London heard it's amazing up there :butt

[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] Akbars has gone down hill, went there after a long time the quality of their mains has dropped; the starters were still good though. Tipu Sultan's is pretty decent when it comes to the mains though, loved their chilli lamb karahi. I only have naan or tandoori roti when am at the restaurants, on rare occasions buy them from the shop to eat with something cooked at home; usually it's the standard chappati

I barely have paratha a handful of times a year these days, but damn it's good when I do. Dunno about the cheese though, spicy omelette and achaar and you are laughing. Sensational with lamb curry as well as long as there's plenty of shorba.

:)) you love the cheese , am going to get some of AJ when am in London heard it's amazing up there :butt

I have to eat cheese everyday! Let me know what it is like up there Shaz.

Cap, do you mean mango achaar from Pakistan? It has to be one of Pakistan's best produce, simply amazing stuff!

[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] Akbars has gone down hill, went there after a long time the quality of their mains has dropped; the starters were still good though. Tipu Sultan's is pretty decent when it comes to the mains though, loved their chilli lamb karahi. I only have naan or tandoori roti when am at the restaurants, on rare occasions buy them from the shop to eat with something cooked at home; usually it's the standard chappati

I think it depends on the chef at the time, sometimes the same food can be very good but then average.

Have you tried Las Iguanas at resort world, excellent food esp the South American style steaks?

Cap, do you mean mango achaar from Pakistan? It has to be one of Pakistan's best produce, simply amazing stuff!

It should be alright, when I get the cheese my plan is to make sure me girl/biwi is not about :yk

I think it depends on the chef at the time, sometimes the same food can be very good but then average.

Have you tried Las Iguanas at resort world, excellent food esp the South American style steaks?

Generally every time I have gone there it has been so consistent, this time I didn't enjoy the lamb karahi; it was cooked fine and all but didn't like the style and it was a bit too watery, I tend to prefer it dry.

Not been there, where about is it in Brum?

Yep, I like Ahmed's brand if we are talking commercial, none of that Patak's rubbish.

Generally every time I have gone there it has been so consistent, this time I didn't enjoy the lamb karahi; it was cooked fine and all but didn't like the style and it was a bit too watery, I tend to prefer it dry.

Not been there, where about is it in Brum?

Resorts World just by the airport. The complex is fairly new with shops, cinema, restaurants etc but I would recommend Las Iguanas.

Thanks mate will be checking it out soon, what would you say was the best thing to buy from that place what did you enjoy most

I guess it depends on what you like eating. I went there for the steaks as South American steaks are great and these were too.