The battle of the keepers, Rishabh Pant versus Mohammad Rizwan

Rizwan actually averages higher than Pant in Test.

I expect India to eventually go with Dhruv Jurel and drop Pant.

Bari mehrbani Rizwan kee sir

What would we be without him? Thank you to Rizwan for keeping us 7th or 8th, otherwise we would have lost our Test status by now

I think Pakistan are #8 in Test is because of bowling decline and other batters not stepping up.

Rizwan has done well in Test format.

It is only in T20 where you can question Rizwan's position.

I think Pakistan are #8 in Test is because of bowling decline and other batters not stepping up.

Rizwan has done well in Test format.

It is only in T20 where you can question Rizwan's position.
I can question Rizwan’s controversial inclusion in Pakistan cricket all the time. I’ve been doing it for a few years now. I believe Pakistan cricket has gone to the dogs because of the preferential treatment Rizwan received.

I won’t allow the narrative to change or be forgotten.

I can question Rizwan’s controversial inclusion in Pakistan cricket all the time. I’ve been doing it for a few years now. I believe Pakistan cricket has gone to the dogs because of the preferential treatment Rizwan received.

I won’t allow the narrative to change or be forgotten.
Pant scored a brilliant century against England in the Ahmedabad test. He produced match winning performance against the same opponent in series decider one dayers in both home and away games. He played destructive knocks despite a mini collapse in both those matches. The same England whitewashed Pakistan in ODIs with their C team with Rizwan in the side and whitewashed them in tests at their home, which led to Rizwan gpetting dropped.

It's also worth noting that before Rizwan became a regular player, Pakistan was the no.1 team in the T20Is. And the only home test series they didn't lose in recent times was played without Rizwan in the lineup.

Rizwan fans need to try to understand the modern day cricket instead of shifting Goalposts to defend him.

Did Pant score anything substantial after that Gabba innings (which happened like 4 years ago)?

Without 178, Pakistan could've lost by an innings in that Test.

Also, Rizwan contributed well during Pakistan's 2-0 win over Sri Lanka.

I am not saying Rizwan is the best but Rizwan is a better option than Pant.
After ATG innings of gabba pant has scored 2 overseas century ,one in South Africa and another in England .

After that pant hasn't played any cricket due to excident .

In test cricket

Rizwan - 32 matches ,1910 runs, 3 century ,44.4 average and 55 strike rate .

Pant - 33 match ,2271 runs, 5 century ,43.6 average and 73 strike rate .

Not sure how is rizwan has better stats than pant . rizwan average is slightly better than pant but pant Strike rate is way ahead than Rizwan.

In test cricket

Rizwan - 32 matches ,1910 runs, 3 century ,44.4 average and 55 strike rate .

Pant - 33 match ,2271 runs, 5 century ,43.6 average and 73 strike rate .

Not sure how is rizwan has better stats than pant . rizwan average is slightly better than pant but pant Strike rate is way ahead than Rizwan.
Apart from Gilchrist , Pant has surpassed all the keepers in Test history in terms of batting impact let alone Rizwan.

Pant has a higher ceiling & more talented but the guy takes his cricket & batting too casually.

Rizwan is a limited batsman but is more hard working.

Rizwan will always be more consistent and will score more runs but seldom those runs will be impactful.

Pant is a maverick, will mostly fail but on his day will single handedly win India the matches in toughest conditions.

The only thing common among both is both of them are equally annoying behind the stumps.

Pant is like a blue chip mutual fund- high risk, high reward, can make you a millionaire or bankrupt.

Rizwan is like a fixed deposit- consistent returns and safe bet. Yes there could be inflation and other unforeseen risks but very steady.

Apples to oranges.

As all format batsmen, Rizwan is better than anyone else let alonre Pant. May be Babar gives a competition to Rizwan. There used to be a long thread on the best all format batsmen. Rizwan and Babar were topping the charts.

Look at the thread for more details. Babar and Rizwan are the two top contenders. Thread was started just 2 years ago. There is saying, class is permanent...

This is a joke of a thread.

Comparing Pant with Riz is like comparing Healy with Gilchrist. Both are classy in their own ways.

Rizwan is more of a Dravid kind batsman, Pant is more of a Sehwag kind(different positions).

In current situation India requires Pant and Pak requires Rizwan.

The joke is actually those who think Rizwan deserves a comparison with Pant

Rana bhai...aisa nehi hai. Rizwan is also a good batter and actually more consistent than Pant. However he lacks big shots and temperament like Pant. Otherwise, this is a good comparison unless you keep the age aside.

Rizzu is our Healy. As a matter of a fact, a better version of Healy.
Healy is one of the most destructive batters in the world? She's literally so destructive that many people who follow women cricket are actually wondering what she's even doing in the women's team and should be playing for men instead?

She has a 148 of 61 balls bhai? She's literally the female version of Gilchrist? Kuda ka khoof karo

Those Akshay Kumar type Canadians

Forget these comparisons, Rizwan isn’t even the best keeper bat in Winnipeg!

Kami’s 06 knock in Karachi is already greater then Rizwan’s entire Test career. When he plays even one knock which remotely compares to this, I will sit down and talk with the covid bacha party.

Forget these comparisons, Rizwan isn’t even the best keeper bat in Winnipeg!

Kami’s 06 knock in Karachi is already greater then Rizwan’s entire Test career. When he plays even one knock which remotely compares to this, I will sit down and talk with the covid bacha party.
@gazza619 tried to pull a fast one me by comparing rizzu to a women's cricketer.

He should have chosen someone more obscure since I don't follow women's cricket that often but haley is one of the most famous female cricketers. She's literally the female gilchrist.

Imagine comparing someone who's revolutionised modern era Female cricket and has encouraged young female cricketers to start playing aggressive like men do to someone like Rizzu who's encouraging the people of Pakistan to play like the 1950's 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

@gazza619 tried to pull a fast one me by comparing rizzu to a women's cricketer.

He should have chosen someone more obscure since I don't follow women's cricket that often but haley is one of the most famous female cricketers. She's literally the female gilchrist.

Imagine comparing someone who's revolutionised modern era Female cricket and has encouraged young female cricketers to start playing aggressive like men do to someone like Rizzu who's encouraging the people of Pakistan to play like the 1950's 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
I think he compared Rizwan to Ian healey

I think he meant Ian Healy.

It’s 2 different era’s and caliber of cricketers. Australia until Sandpaper gate were one of the most ruthless/savage red ball set ups in world cricket. Th type had playing for them only added to the extreme experience of playing against them, and trying to beat them

Imagine saying Rizwan is our Healy?

Or Hassan Ali is our Lillee?

Yaar khuda ka Khauf karo @gazza619 . You are going crazy in this obsession to prove Rizwan is Elite standard. Believe me, if you guys were so much more modest and realistic about Rizwan’s true potential and ability, I wouldn’t be nearly as ruthless as I am in deflating your ambitions.

At what? Making Biryani?
At batting in Tests and T20Is.

And anyone can play the finisher role in ODIs when hiding behind Tendulkar, Sehwag, Kohli, Gambhir, Dhawan, Rohit and Yuvraj.

Dhoni is the biggest scam in subcontinent cricket history. Nothing more than a bang average player with a very strong PR.

Pant’s knocks in Australia alone are bigger than Dhoni’s entire career.

I need something real strong (Halal) after some of the things I have read here today.

Rizwan’s T20 and Test batting is better than Dhoni’s…..hooo bhai

Ofcourse Sweep Shot bro he wins in my book for being part of the Ummah also.

:cobra

I love Rizwan for the sake of Allah. He is a great human being and a great Muslim.

I also think he is a good cricketer overall. But, in T20, Pakistan probably should play Mohammad Haris.

In Test, Rizwan has been good.

He has been trying to niddle me in every thread. LOL.

One of the many salty Indians who I have triggered I guess.
That’s none of my business.

What I can tell you is that Islam teaches us to speak truthfully, and not favour someone just because they are a Muslim over a non-Muslim. I’m not accusing you of having intentional pro Muslim bias for Rizwan over others. But call a spade a spade. If Rizwan is better in any format over Pant…why is India light years ahead of Pakistan in every format?

That’s none of my business.

What I can tell you is that Islam teaches us to speak truthfully, and not favour someone just because they are a Muslim over a non-Muslim. I’m not accusing you of having intentional pro Muslim bias for Rizwan over others. But call a spade a spade. If Rizwan is better in any format over Pant…why is India light years ahead of Pakistan in every format?

Pant plays alongside Bumrah, Shami, Kohli, Rohit etc.

Rizwan plays alongside some inexperienced/out of form players.

That is decisive.

I can assure you…

If Pakistan had players of this caliber who are successful enough to reach that level….Rizwan wouldn’t even be in that squad.

I know Pakistan cricket. I know the level of its players inside the current team and those outside. Rizwan is one of the key factors that are holding Pakistan back.

That is decisive.
I don't like some Indian posters and have had the displeasure of them attacking me left and right for simply saying the words "I think Sachin is no 1 in odi but top 10 in test, however he isn't a bradman".

To top it off I've had the displeasure of having to explain why classic Australia mops the floor with 2024 India which is playing with a burnt out last leg kphli and rohit.

They could not handle this aspect Or opinion and many of them attacked me and many others in waves. Granted this isn't every Indian poster, just a few handful. So I'm not their biggest fan and we disagree left and right.

However Pant vs Rizwan isnt a question. Ny pitch was a minefield pitch, Pant's 50 was match winning as india knew full well first 6 to 9 overs were key, Anytjing after 10 and the batters were walking wickets.

Playing Indian bowlers like patel was impossible let alone Bumrah. Rizzu and Babar literally open, it was their responsibility to atleast go at rr 6 and they couldn't, infact rizwan's 31 of 44 was costly.

Theirs absolutely no excuse for how they played and Pant single handidely carried.

I can assure you…

If Pakistan had players of this caliber who are successful enough to reach that level….Rizwan wouldn’t even be in that squad.

I know Pakistan cricket. I know the level of its players inside the current team and those outside. Rizwan is one of the key factors that are holding Pakistan back.
Rizzu isn't superior to any keeper on the planet besides the 2 I mentioned in an earlier comment, and those 2 from sa and WI are just temporary placeholders for Pooran and one to figure out who will replace quinton.

Literally besides the 2 I mentioned, Name one keeper who's inferior to Rizwan in world cricket? (Excluding Zimbabwe, Ireland, Canada, USA and those teams)

I don't like some Indian posters and have had the displeasure of them attacking me left and right for simply saying the words "I think Sachin is no 1 in odi but top 10 in test, however he isn't a bradman".

To top it off I've had the displeasure of having to explain why classic Australia mops the floor with 2024 India which is playing with a burnt out last leg kphli and rohit.

They could not handle this aspect Or opinion and many of them attacked me and many others in waves. Granted this isn't every Indian poster, just a few handful. So I'm not their biggest fan and we disagree left and right.

However Pant vs Rizwan isnt a question. Ny pitch was a minefield pitch, Pant's 50 was match winning as india knew full well first 6 to 9 overs were key, Anytjing after 10 and the batters were walking wickets.

Playing Indian bowlers like patel was impossible let alone Bumrah. Rizzu and Babar literally open, it was their responsibility to atleast go at rr 6 and they couldn't, infact rizwan's 31 of 44 was costly.

Theirs absolutely no excuse for how they played and Pant single handidely carried.

Can Pant replicate what he did in that one Gabba Test? I have a feeling his purple patch is over and he may struggle in Australia in the coming series.

If Pant can do that over and over, I can see your point. Pant has been inconsistent in his career so far.

Can Pant replicate what he did in that one Gabba Test? I have a feeling his purple patch is over and he may struggle in Australia in the coming series.

If Pant can do that over and over, I can see your point. Pant has been inconsistent in his career so far.
Theirs 2 problems with your argument.

A) First is speculation, In his 33 test games he has shown himself to be superior to rizwan in every metric, be it average or clutch performance or whatever really. So having a feeling is just pure speculation from your end and is going into what if territory.

B) Secondly it doesn't discredit someone's peak. Misbah is 100x more consistent then 70% of pakistani batters like Ijaz Ahmed, Inzimam ul Haq etc, However no one in their right mind would put Misbah as superior, because Majority of Misbah’s games are soft scores which led to losses such as his 2011 wc semi final game, His final 2012 r20 game,

His odi series exploits against sa, Zimbabwe, Australia, Sri lanka, West Indies and many other tours which resulted in losses anytime he scored 50+, For example his sa game,

On paper he scored > 50, but he shot up the rr and caused pakistan to lose by 28 runs despite wickets in hand, Same qith his England game in 2012, Whereas Ijaz Ahmed India 140 of 87 is single handidely > What Misbah is capable of.

Pant's peak so far has been > Rizzu's peak as not only does he have better innings, many of them have resulted in wins Single handidely from a batting perspective whereas rizzu hasn't, in some cases hes single handidely lost games like his 2022 asia cup final innings.

Sorry i forgot i was arguing with a teenager 😇

I was referring to Ian Healy

Outside of Gaba, Pant has

159* in Sydney
114 in Oval
100* in Cape town
146 in Birmingham

No one can replicate what he did in Gaba over and over.

If it does not convince you, in entire history of cricket only 7, just 7 , batsmen from Asia have more than 5 tons in SENA. He is a keeper batsman and has 4 tons in SENA so far and you are asking can he replicate the Gaba performance over and over?

Rizwan is a quality all format player and a very good keeper. I don't know how good was he before that he got selected late in his career but he has been quality wicket keeper batsman in all formats.

Pant is in a different league in Tests but behind in ODIs and T20Is. Having said that, Rizwan is not much ahead in white ball format either because he is just a consistent accumulator but a good keeper.

Sorry i forgot i was arguing with a teenager 😇

I was referring to Ian Healy
How was I suppose to know THAT YOU WERE TALKING ABOUT A 60 YEAR OLD AUSSIE CRICKETER? Especially when you mentioned gikchrist in the same sentence as her?

Regardless he's a player from the 80's and isn't remembered much, he's more or less a footnote compared to gilchrist and he isn't anything special as a cricketer. But even if you argue he is, he came at a completly different time and a different era.

So what are you trying to say? That rizwan is pur 80's era keeper in 2024 era?

Outside of Gaba, Pant has

159* in Sydney
114 in Oval
100* in Cape town
146 in Birmingham

No one can replicate what he did in Gaba over and over.

If it does not convince you, in entire history of cricket only 7, just 7 , batsmen from Asia have more than 5 tons in SENA. He is a keeper batsman and has 4 tons in SENA so far and you are asking can he replicate the Gaba performance over and over?
97 in Sydney was high class. For the first time, Australia sensed a chance of losing the series.

How was I suppose to know THAT YOU WERE TALKING ABOUT A 60 YEAR OLD AUSSIE CRICKETER? Especially when you mentioned gikchrist in the same sentence as her?

Regardless he's a player from the 80's and isn't remembered much, he's more or less a footnote compared to gilchrist and he isn't anything special as a cricketer. But even if you argue he is, he came at a completly different time and a different era.

So what are you trying to say? That rizwan is pur 80's era keeper in 2024 era?
Rizwan is a proper keeper, and arguably the best skilled wicketkeeper in the world currently. Hence the comparison with the great Healy. Riz’s batting is such a huge bonus. He is Pakistan’s only quality allrounder.

97 in Sydney was high class. For the first time, Australia sensed a chance of losing the series.
Yes, that was a top class knock. He has played many briliant knocks outside Asia given he plays as a keeper.

Rizwan is a proper keeper, and arguably the best skilled wicketkeeper in the world currently. Hence the comparison with the great Healy. Riz’s batting is such a huge bonus. He is Pakistan’s only quality allrounder.
Healy wasn't a batsmen. He was a specialist keeper who was freakishly good at keeping and was otherwise ordinary in odi.

However in test he played multiple upon multiple innings where he punched > his weight and won games for his team. However he wasn't a fraud, He understood his role AS A SPECIALIST KEEPER, and rightfully batted where the team wanted him to and as VC he was a pioneer of leading his team.

He was a product of his time. And you're comparing rizwan to him? Rizzu who rather then leading and doing his job goes on infinite acting sprees, Has imaginary issues with the side screen, Prevents bowlers from running up, Causes drama on press like "Tum jeeto ya haro, hamei tum sei pyaar hai" or "mein no 5 pei khush nahi hoon"

And when he was dropped from NZ series he threw the biggest drama fit I have ever seen in my life, So much so that I was genuinely wondering what is wrong with him.

When has Healy ever acted like a clown? Have you ever seen him fake injuries as if Brock lesnar gave him a suplex?

And anyone can play the finisher role in ODIs when hiding behind Tendulkar, Sehwag, Kohli, Gambhir, Dhawan, Rohit and Yuvraj.

Dhoni is the biggest scam in subcontinent cricket history. Nothing more than a bang average player with a very strong PR.
Dhoni was a genuine match winner and a terrific finisher for India in ODIs till 2013.

He became a burden post that as he became a match finisher for India only, with his slow-esque knocks when the game was on.

Don't forget the ouch ouch that comes after to show the world how tough it was to catch it 👀
Oh I see, so the argument is that he has a better sense of the ball sniffing the bat’s edge than others? And then jumps up and down like a Kabootar as the Indian umpire said?

Rofl at some of the "reasonings", Rizwan plays with inferior players and Pant with GOATS.

An unintended compliment to Indian players, whilst stating Babar, Shaheen etc are "faltu" types.

Wonder who's been "niddled' to the extent of being salty towards PCT

Once an e....it always an e.....it :shakib

Rizwan is a quality all format player and a very good keeper. I don't know how good was he before that he got selected late in his career but he has been quality wicket keeper batsman in all formats.

Pant is in a different league in Tests but behind in ODIs and T20Is. Having said that, Rizwan is not much ahead in white ball format either because he is just a consistent accumulator but a good keeper.
Rizwan in terms of mentality plays survival cricket. Somewhat inconsequential in nature from team's perspective. But probably good enough for Pakistan. Pant can be frustrating. Can take the game away in absolutely no time or he can perish when he just needs to stay for a few overs.

Cant agree more. Dhoni was more of a politician than a cricketer. Milked the 2011 world cup finals, the only match he contributed in and basically took the credit for the whole world cup.

Ab yaar iska main kya jawaab doon? What makes you say this?
It's a light hearted comments for a laugh. This all format thing is nonsese when players don't play all format all the time.

Ok thanks for clarifying

Otherwise you would have made the list…

Pant is like a blue chip mutual fund- high risk, high reward, can make you a millionaire or bankrupt.

Rizwan is like a fixed deposit- consistent returns and safe bet. Yes there could be inflation and other unforeseen risks but very steady.

Apples to oranges.
2022 Asia Cup final was a safe bet?

Rofl at some of the "reasonings", Rizwan plays with inferior players and Pant with GOATS.

An unintended compliment to Indian players, whilst stating Babar, Shaheen etc are "faltu" types.

Wonder who's been "niddled' to the extent of being salty towards PCT

Once an e....it always an e.....it :shakib

That’s not totally wrong though. Pant’s alternatives are KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Dhruv Jurel, Sanju Samson, Jitesh Sharma. most of them have some qualities maybe better than Pant or in some cases they are behind Pant.

Rizwan’s alternatives are Sarfaraz, Azam Khan and Haris ( correct me on this one if I am wrong)

Do I need to expand or elaborate?

So let’s get this straight…

If you replace Dhoni with this version of Rizwan for the Indian national team in every capacity (including captain and then vc to Kohli)….India would have achieved much more?

2022 Asia Cup final was a safe bet?
You put any permutation and combination removing Rizwan I don’t think Pak would have gotten more than 147.

Also 147 in Srilankan conditions against Srilankan team with a full strength squad is not a dire situation.

Not calling it a great knock but not even 10% of the problem.

55 runs + 1 catch when the next highest score is 32(31) is not his fault. Cricket has X1 players each team.

So let’s get this straight…

If you replace Dhoni with this version of Rizwan for the Indian national team in every capacity (including captain and then vc to Kohli)….India would have achieved much more?
I would say what he is saying is another extreme emotion directly inverse to the theory Rizwan is a useless hack with no redeeming qualities.

How is an average of 44 considered inconsistent? What are you on about?

Healy wasn't a batsmen. He was a specialist keeper who was freakishly good at keeping and was otherwise ordinary in odi.

However in test he played multiple upon multiple innings where he punched > his weight and won games for his team. However he wasn't a fraud, He understood his role AS A SPECIALIST KEEPER, and rightfully batted where the team wanted him to and as VC he was a pioneer of leading his team.

He was a product of his time. And you're comparing rizwan to him? Rizzu who rather then leading and doing his job goes on infinite acting sprees, Has imaginary issues with the side screen, Prevents bowlers from running up, Causes drama on press like "Tum jeeto ya haro, hamei tum sei pyaar hai" or "mein no 5 pei khush nahi hoon"

And when he was dropped from NZ series he threw the biggest drama fit I have ever seen in my life, So much so that I was genuinely wondering what is wrong with him.

When has Healy ever acted like a clown? Have you ever seen him fake injuries as if Brock lesnar gave him a suplex?
Healy was a member of a great team. Rizzu is a great member of an ordinary team. Hence you feel this way.

Rizwan could have been a part of Misbah’s good team….why didn’t Misbah think he was good enough for him during his own playing days?

He destroys Sarfaraz’s career to make Rizwan work once he retires and comes into coaching…and then what happened? Pakistan cricket? Down the loo?

Pant is the greatest cricketer in the world, I have always said that and will keep on repeating it.

I would be very disappointed if Pant ends up inferior to Gilchrist in tests let alonw Rizwan who is not even in the same galaxy as far as talent and match winning ability is concerned.

Believe me, I am not exaggerating when I say the above.

Checkout this thread if there is any doubt.