The Misbah-ul-Haq Captaincy Analysis Thread

Re: The Misbah-ul-Haq Captaincy Analysis Thread [Merged]

How comes we never complain about field positioning anymore?

I remember Pakistani teams having shocking fielding positions

What is Misbah doing?

It's really frustrating seeing Amla and AB getting singles with ease.

Why is Misbah allowing them to do so? Why not change to an attacking field? really frustrating!

HE is helpless when you have the Afridi's bowling and catching with butter fingers....:((

Dont know why Misbah doesnt learn from mistakes.We should always bat first,when it comes to chasing,we are on par or below Bangladesh.

Bringing Ajmal to bowl after 25 overs. Bowling an out of form Afridi and a 'never ball wicket taking ball" Hafeez for about 8 overs before.

By how many runs pakistan will lose today???

Please dont say that this is negative thread,beause Pakistan lost this match the moment Misbah elected to field.....and no comment about the team selection.....

i think South Africa will make 300-320....and then Hafeez,Misbah and Younis will make it look like 450 runs and give the expression that the pitch is unplayable......In the end Afridi will hit couple of sixes and eventually we will lose by 80-90 runs..

Another intresting thing,As our chief selector told that Afridi is playing as specialist leg spinner,and we have 3 specialist fast bowler,Ajmal makes it 5th specialist bowler...And we all know Hafeez is also a specialist spinner in team(becoz he cant make more than 20 runs under pressure,specially chasing)....THAT MEANS WE HAVE 6 SPECIALIST BOWLER...WHICH OTHER TEAM DO SO IN MODERN ERA...
Also not to forget that Malik is also in the team only becoz he can bowl few overs...
WHAT A PATHETIC TEAM SELECTION...
MISBAH IS THE BIGGEST JOKE OF PAKISTAN CRICKET HISTORY....Even a kid have better strategy than him.....

I don't get it, why does he always want to chase? :facepalm:

An aggressive captain would bat first, back his team to put up a good total and kill the opposition with scoreboard pressure.

I don't get it, why does he always want to chase? :facepalm:

An aggressive captain would bat first, back his team to put up a good total and kill the opposition with scoreboard pressure.

Misbah can't bat first. ...

He knows the batting line up is incapable of scoring more than 220....

If they bat first on a batting pitch then they will show their ridiculousness.

If they Bat second he can hope the bowlers do a job. ... And only he has to chase 220 anyway.

If they do end up having to chase 300 (rare case bowlers fail)... He can blame chasing pressure.

Clever man. ... Misbah

Misbah can't bat first. ...

He knows the batting line up is incapable of scoring more than 220....

If they bat first on a batting pitch then they will show their ridiculousness.

If they Bat second he can hope the bowlers do a job. ... And only he has to chase 220 anyway.

If they do end up having to chase 300 (rare case bowlers fail)... He can blame chasing pressure.

Clever man. ... Misbah

Lol, you are just assuming that our batting is too brittle.

It's not that bad, as people are suggesting. Even if Pak scores around 240, we have the bowling attack to put pressure on the opposition, plus the scoreboard pressure would add to that.

I just don't get it - why bowl first every single time...

Lol, you are just assuming that our batting is too brittle.

It's not that bad, as people are suggesting. Even if Pak scores around 240, we have the bowling attack to put pressure on the opposition, plus the scoreboard pressure would add to that.

I just don't get it - why bowl first every single time...

Have you seen our batting averages? Averages already inflated by minnow bashing.

How can they chase high scores?

Their strike rates are similarly embarrassing.

For the life of me I will never understand why you would choose to field first in SA YET AGAIN with the series tied 1-1. This was our chance to put up scoreboard pressure and possibly sneak a win but nop. Misbah sahab continues in the same vein as previous series. Ajmal didn't even bowl till the 25th over after which both Amla and AB were well settled. Another dumb decision which costs us another match. Ab bas kardo bhai !!!

Nothing will change. Lets stop complaining

Typical misbah error, not bring ajmal on early enough when the oppistions best players are new to the wicket

For the life of me I will never understand why you would choose to field first in SA YET AGAIN with the series tied 1-1. This was our chance to put up scoreboard pressure and possibly sneak a win but nop. Misbah sahab continues in the same vein as previous series. Ajmal didn't even bowl till the 25th over after which both Amla and AB were well settled. Another dumb decision which costs us another match. Ab bas kardo bhai !!!

Exactly.Why FIELD????
We are extremely poor at chasing.

Have you seen our batting averages? Averages already inflated by minnow bashing.

How can they chase high scores?

Their strike rates are similarly embarrassing.

Exactly! That's what I'm saying we can't chase scores due to the scoreboard pressure. So might as well take that out of the equation by batting first.

At least we won't have the scoreboard pressure then...

Absolutely pathetic captaincy by this captain clueless pensioner. He needs to retire with immediate effect and move to a farm in London.

Exactly! That's what I'm saying we can't chase scores due to the scoreboard pressure. So might as well take that out of the equation by batting first.

At least we won't have the scoreboard pressure then...

Batting first they will look fools.

They will bat at an SR of 67.... And get 200odd and look silly on a flat pitch.

Or they will Bat "positive" but collapse anyway. ... again look silly on a flat track.

Now if he loses the batting weakness he can excuse away.

Misbah: when u chasing score like that its difficult. ... Boys tried hard.

Misbah will always take this approach on a batting track.....

Or a track he doesn't know what the right score is.

Batting first they will look fools.

They will bat at an SR of 67.... And get 200odd and look silly on a flat pitch.

Or they will Bat "positive" but collapse anyway. ... again look silly on a flat track.

Now if he loses the batting weakness he can excuse away.

Misbah: when u chasing score like that its difficult. ... Boys tried hard.

Stop this nonsense yaar

Simply pathetic, the whole post is pile of Garbage

His thought process is very wrong, and don't know why people consider him intelligent.

With a rubbish batting line up. ... Its a justifiable thought process.

Who still supports Misbah's captaincy

Self evident question.

Do any on PP still do it ?

And if you do is that what you think is best for Pak cricket?

plss mods lets have a poll

Re: Who still supports Misbah's captaincy

It must be noted that although he brought stability and a welcoming calm to the test team, the ODI results have not been great since he took over.

But during the past 6 months, there have been some terrible decisions. Our ODI team was taking one step forward, two steps back. Now I feel it's not even taking one step forward.

Re: Who still supports Misbah's captaincy

Nothing will change guys, lets stop ranting and bickering

He n Hafeez both deserve axe......they have employed this yaari dosti selections

Nope I've finally given up. Don't want him in limited overs.

Unless the small chance he could completely be removed from any say of picking the team, but that's not going to happen. Has to go now.

I have never seen a captain pick so little youth and new talent and so many seniors who aren't performing. Never. Just look at the team when Afridi had it and how many new guys were playing compared to now. And Afridi wasn't even that overboard with giving youngsters a chance.

To drop Jamshed is madness. The guy just scored centuries on the last tour for goodness sake.

look at how SA are treating Colin Ingram, despite his failures they are giving consitent chances at the top of the order, and they have been doing this since he debuted. This despite the awsome batsman they have

Well it's not even about giving a run which other captains are :))

Jamshed and umar had the best records in the bloody team. On performance alone they could get in. And they're so young they'd improve.

Now the guy with the best record is Misbah but he's on the decline as a player in LOI anyway.

I would keep Misbah for now, until a more suitable replacement has been found.

I dont see Hafeez doing any beter. What do you expect Misbah to do when the batsmen DONT score runs and bowlers bowl PIES and go round the park.

Misbah to stay for another year alteast.

another example is chandimal

great start but the guy failed so many times afterwards but still got chances at the top

and mods any reason why we are getting a poll here?

I would keep Misbah for now, until a more suitable replacement has been found.

I dont see Hafeez doing any beter. What do you expect Misbah to do when the batsmen DONT score runs and bowlers bowl PIES and go round the park.

Misbah to stay for another year alteast.
It's got to the point where captaincy on the field doesn't make much difference. Could have anyone there, if he picks a better side than Misbah he'll end up being a better captain even if he doesn't have a clue to captain.

Although a lot of people disagreed with me, don't think he's that bad a captain on field. And in tests he's a rather good one. He's also generally a good leader of men.

It's got to the point where captaincy on the field doesn't make much difference. Could have anyone there, if he picks a better side than Misbah he'll end up being a better captain even if he doesn't have a clue to captain.

Although a lot of people disagreed with me, don't think he's that bad a captain on field. And in tests he's a rather good one. He's also generally a good leader of men.

Totaly agreed. Batsmen not scoring runs and bowlers not taking wickets is not Misbah's fault. He cannot perform for them, they have to take up responsbility for there own perfomances.

Lets say we change Misbah as captain, but the likes of Hafeez, Akmals, Guls, Maliks will still carry on performing shabbily and then we will blame the other captain at the time.

Pickin his mafia mates malik kami and co..just watch soon as butta gets back he'll pick him too..

^ yeah and who keeps picking those players ?

I asume that message was for me.

I dont think Misbah has complete power to pick his team, the managment, PCB surely play a part in that.

Plus I dont think they are any beter players then the current lot, hence no one is pushing for places.

So the conclusion is, Misbah is not a bad captain, his team is crap, but the reserves are even worse that cant push there way through.

So lets just admit Pakistan is an average side at best in foreign conditions and a decent side in sub continent.

Misbah to continue for now, until someone suitable is found to replace him.

He is ruining PAK cricket by dropping his number 1 ODI batsmen. He doesn't support young cricketers. Which young cricketers have made their debut under Misbah?

Totaly agreed. Batsmen not scoring runs and bowlers not taking wickets is not Misbah's fault. He cannot perform for them, they have to take up responsbility for there own perfomances.

Lets say we change Misbah as captain, but the likes of Hafeez, Akmals, Guls, Maliks will still carry on performing shabbily and then we will blame the other captain at the time.
Give it to a guy who deserves his spot in the side. Without a shadow of a doubt.

Only option is Hafeez, who even though he could do things better, is no.1 all rounder in the rankings and does at least deserve his place there. He is at least picking umar, Jamshed and Shehzad in his T20 team, so I'd hope he would do the same in ODIs.

Kamran, Malik, YK and now even Gul don't deserve their place in the side. Can't be one of them. I'm sure both YK (and even Malik) themselves would pick a team with youngsters in and a better team, but the guys don't deserve a spot in the side, they've been poor for a long while now in this format.

It'd be great if Ajmal knew how to captain and was a bit younger, but realistically don't see that happening.

I do.
He is doing a solid job
And the alternates have been found severely wanting
Most of the dislike from the usual rant about not selecting youngsters which is what fans keep going on about all the time regardless of who is the captain

He is ruining PAK cricket by dropping his number 1 ODI batsmen. He doesn't support young cricketers. Which young cricketers have made their debut under Misbah?

If you took younger players to South Africa, it would have been more embarrasing results mate. South Africa is not a place to blood youngsters. They would have been slaughtered by the likes Steyn, Morkel, AB, Kallis etc etc.

Would have been a total humiliation.

I asume that message was for me.

I dont think Misbah has complete power to pick his team, the managment, PCB surely play a part in that.

Plus I dont think they are any beter players then the current lot, hence no one is pushing for places.

So the conclusion is, Misbah is not a bad captain, his team is crap, but the reserves are even worse that cant push there way through.

So lets just admit Pakistan is an average side at best in foreign conditions and a decent side in sub continent.

Misbah to continue for now, until someone suitable is found to replace him.
If we don't try building a stronger team, we're gonna remain crap. That's what Misbah isn't doing, he's sticking with the seniors. Their performance will continue to drop, they'll retire and then we're left with nothing.

All the more reason to play umar akmal and Jamshed. At the very least.

He is not a bad captain on the field. Qualms about that I felt were exaggerated, it wasn't costing us wins and losses so much (though perhaps wrong decisions at the toss were).

This is the worst selection in an ODI I've ever seen.

pls the pcb select the squad, misbah selects the team, its pretty self evident

if the PCB selects the team why didnt they force misbah to ever play haris sohail or Anwar ali

I feel to many people here are too apologetic to misbah. Just because he did great things doesnt mean his massive faults should be ignored.

If you took younger players to South Africa, it would have been more embarrasing results mate. South Africa is not a place to blood youngsters. They would have been slaughtered by the likes Steyn, Morkel, AB, Kallis etc etc.

Would have been a total humiliation.
Think they'd have done better than you think. These pitches for limited overs are a bit flatter.

Jamshed showed promise he just didn't kick on. He was not looking useless out there at sea. There was a good chance he would have scored in one of these matches. It was more him gifting his wicket. In fact think these pitches are flatter than the ones in India. Just the bowling attack's a bit better.

And even then it would have been useful to have them in for experience.

I assumed Misbah dropped umar just for the Indian series. Unfair but I sympathised with him as India series was very important and yes a lot of these seniors were good India bashers. But then he did the same in SA. Every game's important, Misbah will keep using this excuse of playing seniors for "important matches", until we play a team like Bangladesh whom we know we'll win against.

pls the pcb select the squad, misbah selects the team, its pretty self evident

if the PCB selects the team why didnt they force misbah to ever play haris sohail or Anwar ali

I feel to many people here are too apologetic to misbah. Just because he did great things doesnt mean his massive faults should be ignored.

So what? Since when is captaincy in cricket only about pleasing fans by selecting youngsters

so your saying that this 11 are the best?

If these players were any good i would not have an issue with them being 45
Agree.

Things are actually easy to pick at least two youngsters, cos they have the best records in the team. And so many seniors have really bad records in the team.

It was a stretch that he'd include Shehzad though think he should be investing in him, or Hammad (I don't agree with that selection though), but don't think anyone was really angry with him for that.

Only in pak cricket does this happen. jamshed dropped. Akmal ignored but yk, malik, farhat loved

it goes like this.

jamsheed dropped.
umer wasted
shehzad forgotten
haris ignored
shafiq not given a chance to prove himself.

I repeat what I said, captaincy is not all about selecting youngsters

Okay so captiancy is about picking your friends and the worst players in the country?

and not building a team for the future

Look at any other ODI team in the world

Okay so captiancy is about picking your friends and the worst players in the country?

and not building a team for the future

Look at any other ODI team in the world

What should I look at? You are all slitting wrists about Nasir being dropped.
I hate Imran Farhat.
But but but Nasir brought this on himself threw away his wicket in each innings he has played.
Fans will burn effigies about non performers like Malik and yk. But what does that have to with opener playing like an idiot in three matches

What should I look at? You are all slitting wrists about Nasir being dropped.
I hate Imran Farhat.
But but but Nasir brought this on himself threw away his wicket in each innings he has played.
Fans will burn effigies about non performers like Malik and yk. But what does that have to with opener playing like an idiot in three matches

the fact that opener hasnt been playing like an idiot for ten years maybe, unlike the 5 odd players who are in the team ?

I repeat what I said, captaincy is not all about selecting youngsters

Selecting right players is the most important things... not too mention bonehead deciisons like winning the toss and letting opposition bat or the opposition is let off at 50 for 6 or he plays two pacers and doesnot play irfan in the first ODI.......

When such TTF are given chances over umer and jamsheed then you know the captain is a bonehead. you can say captain doesnt have a say but you are wrong. in our cricket captain has a big say in who he wants.

Drop Nasir Jamshed after 3 matches failures and play Malik play with WL legendary stats him failing for last 60 innings

Where is the consistency here