Bhaijaan
Hall of Famer
- Post of the Week
IndiaFan's Sachin post absolutely tops it for me
^^^
waisay tau qatray qatray say samandar banta hai
indian team aur tendulkar kay saath, kuch langar hi banta hai
agar hota aik wasim aap kay paas, najanay kia hota, zameen aasman hota
lekin jitne bhi new bowler aye, kuch match kay baad, ban jatay hain aik lota
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3646450&postcount=85
this one from duostyle! explosive! :umarakmal
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3646450&postcount=85
Pretty good response right there. thread ending stuff.
LOL I like the self-advertisement from Slogger there![]()
Thanks mate!
I would actually put your new post about Akhtar, the STD clinics and the catheters above this one...but well done anyway![]()
Just a question..
If several PP'ers claim 'surley potw' etc in a thread - will it be counted if it's posted here by the thread/post starter?
it would help if PPers nominated it officially in this thread, but we do take notice if such compliments are said about a post![]()
him being a better bowler is no reason for him to drop in batting form.
He needs to focus on both, he's playing as a bowling all rounder. If he had nothing to offer with the bat, he would not have been persisted with for so long.
I am happy with his bowling form. He was our star player of the world cup. Me and I expect many other fans were immensely proud of him for that.
My annoyance due to his batting is however different. He has potential, and is able to bat properly. The man has 5 test centuries and a healthy test average. No excuse to play as a tailender. Yes he could stay in the team as a bowler, but the reason's he's stayed so long as he was an all rounder. He needs to repay the fans and selectors faith in him with delivering with the bat too.
I would not be unhappy if he was simply just out of form, for some reason bat was finding ball etc. But that isn't the reason he's failing. He's doing the same thing regardless of situation, going all out and slogging first ball. Even in the last match, no slogging required he did the same. In that last test match he did the same, although he must of known deep down what he was doing was wrong. He needs to show some courage, and will himself to knuckle down and play a hard fought, long innings. He's capable of this.
I for one don't buy this theory that slog from ball one slog fest is all he's capable of. He's played proper innings, plenty of times, knows how to rotate strike, good against fast bowlers and spinners. He showed that in the asia cup against Sri lanka, if he really puts his mind he can churn out a fantastic innings.
I agree. This post was good though (ads101's)The above post by gameovais is one childish post.
I agree. This post was good though (ads101's)
Not really. Blatant name-calling, childish insults, character assassination and one-sided argument. He could easily have made the same point without resorting to that. One of the worst posts in recent memory in fact, and there have been plenty to choose from+1.Fantastic post.
yay I got nominated! Nice surprise that!With all the crap spouted by both sides of the Lalaland border about Shahid Afridi, I thought this post by ads101 (No 268) summarized it. It was healthily critical of Afridi without adopting the moronic in-your-face attitude that so many critics of Afridi take nowadays. A typically classy post, if I may say, from ads101
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=127334&page=4
You can't nominate your own post.
It has to be balanced. I have no doubt the current selected pak batting line up gives us the title of worst batting line up in the world. No-one in the team knows how to make hundreds. We lavish praise on anyone making even a decent 30/40!! With such a poor, poor line up, it takes a good thrashing for our selectors, fans, mediamen to realise "ohh damn....we have an experienced batsman who is perfectly qualified to play, has a 50+ average, oozes class - why the hell have we not picked him??
So the clamour starts, and he'll probably be recalled. Once recalled, if he doesn't make a century in nearly every innings and his average in any series is below 99.94, then the clamour will start..."Ohh he's so old....we need fresh blood....etc etc.
Typical idiotic attitude. I'm not saying back faisal iqbal, shoaib malik or kamran akmal. I'm saying for our own sake, bring back Yousuf!! Yes he may have slipped a bit from his peak but he's 100 times better than the current garbage and can provide invaluable experienced to the others who know nothing more than scoring 30s and 40s! Bring him back, try and get younis in there too and build the rest of the team around them. Just because you have 2 experienced batsmen, doesn't mean you're going backwards. You have to REBUILD smartly.
Rebuilding is based on a good mix of experience and youth. But in our case - the experienced players we select are Hafeez and Misbah (the biggest FTB I've ever seen)!! I mean just for once you idiotic board, selectors, coaches, chaiwaley etc, just use your bloody brains - stop picking tried and tested failures to represent your "experienced players", pick tried and tested successes!!
First two batsmen on the team sheet should be yousuf and younis (yes both of them have their personal issues too, so man-manage, beg them to come back if you want, but do whatever you need to do for the sake of the team) - I don't care if they make a string of ducks, just get them in there! I have no doubt some of the more promising talent such as Shafiq and Azhar Ali will improve tenfold and learn the art of building an innings with that amount of experience in the dressing room.
P.S. I would like to apologise for describing Misbah as a FTB. Moreover I would like to apologise to the real FTBs because it is an insult to them too. Misbah doesn't even bully on a flat track, he just about grinds it out to a painstaking score.
Heres my take on Misbah!
Hes got some talent and has array of big shots which he uses when needed. Can bat for long sessions since hes got such good temperament. The problem with Misbah is that he got his due chance very late in his career. Yes he made debut in 2002 (if i remember correctly) but his real debut was in 2007 when he made a name for himself and became a regular in PAK team but he was 33 then. At such an age, you have entirely different mind set, you are under tremendous pressure because you might think that this could be your last series and you might not be allowed to make a comeback if you fail. SO theres always that extra bit of pressure of age. Had he been a regular some 7-8 years ago, he would have played with much less pressure as we see many youngsters play without fear of failure because they always have time on their side. So unfortunately for Misbah, he started his Int'l career quite late and had played with those fears in his mind.
Secondly, he came into the side when Inzi retired and when Yousuf was dropped and later he joined ICL. So immediately after his success in T20 WC 2007 and a successful India tour, he was being looked as the backbone of our batting along with Younis Khan. Within the span of 6 months (from the time he joined the team for 2007 T20 WC and when he finished the India tour), he became our Mr. Dependable. It also put some additional pressure on him and when he lost his form, all hell broke lose and everybody wanted him to be thrown out and rightly so because he wasn't performing at all (2008-2009 were his worst years)... Then he makes a comeback in 2010-2011 at the age of 36 and performs brilliantly against SA, NZ and also does well in the WC. Misbah has shown time and again that hes got talent and he is mentally tough because its not easy to get into an Intl side at age 33 and then make come back again at 36,37. It shows his mental toughness but the problem with him is that many a times, he gets stuck into his TUK TUK mode and that puts too much pressure on the other batsmen. Mohali was a prime example when he went into his shell and didn't rotate the strike. Thats why many fans hate him because he literally killed the game for Pakistan.
All in all, Misbah is a mixed bag for Pakistan, Kabhi Khusi Kabhi Gum ! AT times he performs so well and carries the weight of batting in his shoulders and at other times he just goes into his shell and puts himself and the team under tremendous pressure. But I think we need him in TEST cricket. Players like Younis Khan, Yousuf and Misbah should play atleast a couple of years for Pakistan in Test cricket only. And meanwhile youngsters should replace them in ODIs and T20s, get experience and finally replace them in 2,3 years time. Thats the way to bring youngsters in Test cricket and not how we do by bringing in 3,4 debutants together.
this excellent post from Gozilla bro:
Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms.
I look up my name to see if i have ever been nominated and i get
jo tumhari haalat uss hisaab se kabhi hona bhi naheen hai
we are not worthy![]()