The Rishabh Pant thread

Pant is the worst thing ever happened to India. Pant is like a tendu but without scoring tons.

Tendu was a bad luck for India and same goes for Pant.

Pant played that stupid shot in the semis. He was suppose to seal a game for India but instead he laid an egg with Pandya

India wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has already seen fair share of ups and downs in his career so far. The left-handed batsman had a terrific away tour in Australia in 2018, when he went on to hammer a quickfire ton in the 4th Test. Despite series of terrific performances leading up to the World Cup last year, the youngster was not included in the squad for the tournament. But an injury to Shikhar Dhawan and Vijay Shankar led to Pant being called into the squad, though he could not make an impact in the tournament.

The young Delhi batsman also struggled to find runs and often faced criticism for his wicketkeeping skills last year, and at the start of 2020, KL Rahul replaced him as keeper in the team for the limited-overs series against New Zealand.

Despite the career graph, Pant is still regarded as one of the best talents present in the country at the momen, with many suggesting he could be a match-winner for the team one day. In an Instagram live video to Delhi Capitals, Pant revealed the advice given to him by BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, who was the mentor of DC franchise in the 2018 season.

“He told me ‘You need to give yourself some time and then you can do whatever you want to do’,” the 21-year-old said. He always wanted me to do well. He told me a few things and I tried them also. It helped,” he added.

Pant also revealed how DC coach Ricky Ponting shaped his stay at the franchise. Pant said that Ponting has always allowed him to play his natural game. “He gives me a free hand. He says do whatever you want to do,” Pant said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...rav-ganguly/story-a2lsRCCLH15X0cLdGymdTL.html

Yes you can do whatever you want to do in that league but not when you play for India. Playing stupid shots and putting your team in trouble won't be tolerated. :inti

He is the blue eyed boy of indian cricket.
By the time he retires we will get our first TEST ATG wicketkeeper batsman.

As for odis, he will be yuvrajs successor .

It will be really nice to see him serve out some humble pies to these trolls who won't understand what talent is even if it was dancing naked in front of their eyes.

He is the blue eyed boy of indian cricket.
By the time he retires we will get our first TEST ATG wicketkeeper batsman.

As for odis, he will be yuvrajs successor .

It will be really nice to see him serve out some humble pies to these trolls who won't understand what talent is even if it was dancing naked in front of their eyes.

He is Umar Akmal of India and I am only talking about his on field performances. :inti

You trashed kl rahul too but now he is kicking you on your face every match.

Umar Akmal is nearly 30 year old, pants career has just started.
Yuvraj avgd 25 for 80 matches i am sure you would have said the same thing about him but then he turned his career around. The fact that i have to explain this tells a lot about you.

You are in for a big thrashing pandya, pant and rahul will be future superstars.

You trashed kl rahul too but now he is kicking you on your face every match.

Umar Akmal is nearly 30 year old, pants career has just started.
Yuvraj avgd 25 for 80 matches i am sure you would have said the same thing about him but then he turned his career around. The fact that i have to explain this tells a lot about you.

You are in for a big thrashing pandya, pant and rahul will be future superstars.

Lol what a despo. You are more than welcome to read KL Rahul thread. I wanted him out of the indian test team after England tour so that he doesn't lose his place in ODI's too. Nobody listened and he was dropped from ODI team later. I was proved right at that time and his supporters like you were nowhere to be seen. Now that he is scoring some runs and got rid of that useless Pant you are back again chest thumping.

I am pretty happy with KL Rahul's performance. Infact I was also the one who wanted him to take up keeping just like Rahul Dravid so that his batting can improve. Once again you can find that post in one of the KL Rahul thread.

Coming back to Rishabh Pant if he is such a good player he will make a comeback. Why are you so sensitive lol? He is not the first so called talented player who didn't live upto fans expectations. It's ok.

I compared Pant with Umar Akmal who was actually more talented than him. His fans used to give this same 'he is young' argument too.

I would also like if you post when Pant doesn't score as well. You and your bacha party disappear quickly when your favorite players don't perform. At least I don't hide like you guys. Stats of both Pant and Pandya are pretty ordinary.

Your comparisons with Yuvi are also funny. He is not in the same league. Try again please. :inti

Rishabh Pant needs a "Koffee with Karan" for a transformation.

Former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan believes the gap Indian cricket has enjoyed due to the Covid-19 pandemic promises to help Rishabh Pant come out of slump. Pathan feels Pant is one of the many cricketers who will benefit from it since the pandemic-induced break has kept players away from the limelight and he reckons sometimes it is the best thing that can happen to a player struggling for form.

“If you talk of Rishabh Pant, he is a young guy, very talented, there was a lot of focus on him. So the focus getting removed from him, it will do a world of good to Rishabh Pant and many other cricketers,” Pathan said on the Cricket Connected Show on Star Sports.

“Lot of people will benefit from this break. I feel there will be a lot of cricketers whose career was at stake but would get revived now because they would have recovered mentally as well as physically, especially players who are 35-36 years of age their careers might get extended for a couple of years.”

Since MS Dhoni’s absence following the semifinal of last year’s World Cup, the Indian team had invested heavily in Pant, but a string of low scores seemingly shut the door on him. Heavily backed to succeed Dhoni behind the stumps, Pant was seen as the next big thing of Indian cricket until last year when things went awry. From a direct pick in the Indian XI, Pant has lately been warming the bench. He did not play a single ODI or T20I during India’s tour of New Zealand despite being in the squad and his role was confined to carrying drinks on the field, or offering the batsmen a change of bats/gloves.

Pant has come in for criticism in recent times for his shot selection in limited-overs cricket. India coach Ravi Shastri called for a “rap on the knuckles” for him, while batting coach Vikram Rathour stressed the importance of being fearless without being careless. Captain Kohli has also spoken of how youngsters wouldn’t get chance after chance in the highly competitive Indian sides.

“Sometimes you are getting too much backing which Virat Kohli is backing him in the public eye as well, but I think when you get a little bit of kick on your back, that’s when if you have talent you are going to go big,” Pathan said.

“I have no doubt that even though all the pressure is coming on him, he had to miss out some matches in T20 cricket with KL Rahul going out and doing what he did as a wicketkeeper as well and that is going to put pressure, but I think that will do a world of good to Rishabh Pant.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ishabh-pant/story-MZQxKGkSz1jMnOmSXoiutL.html

Veteran India star Suresh Raina, who has been training alongside some of his Indian teammates in Ghaziabad, praised young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant. Pant, who was pegged to be MS Dhoni’s future replacement, saw several ups and downs in 2019, and in 2020, was replaced in the playing XI by KL Rahul. Raina, who has been training with Pant, said that the left-hander is a gun player and can do wonders for the team.

Speaking on the ‘Follow the Blues’ segment of this week’s episode of Star Sports’ chat show Cricket Connected, Raina said: “I have been practising with Rishabh Pant. He was hitting the ball very well. Then I had a net with Shami. All bowlers have been coming here and practising. Piyush Chawla also came, he bowled really well.”

“I have been speaking to a lot of the players, everything has been planned. Deepak Chahar has been playing and MS Dhoni is also training hard at his home. Everyone has to do it because this game requires lot of fitness, lot of commitment,” he added.

Talking about Pant, Raina further said: “I think Rishabh Pant has been amazing. He has scored a lot of runs for the country as well as in the IPL and in domestic cricket. He has got two Test hundreds. He played really well in T20s as well as ODIs.”

“I think he is a gun player, he has a quality future. He needs to be really looked after by his teammates. And then you will see lot of great performances coming from him very soon,” he added.

On being asked about the preparation plans for the upcoming season of IPL in UAE, Raina revealed: “We are going to have a camp. We have lots to do, we are going there I think 18-20 days before. It is good to go early because IPL is coming and we have been under lockdown for 4-5 months. So, it is good to be there before IPL and it is going to be exciting.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...uresh-raina/story-S3HElCxj7bIX8I9GjvcQKN.html

Yuvi had some matchwinning performances in his early phases despite not so good average.
98* vs Sl against Vaas, Murali in 2001, 84 vs Aus debut match against quality attack, Natwest final heroics with Kaif, half century vs Pak in 2003 WC against quality side, 139 vs Aus in Aus 2003 in a losing cause.Only problem was consistency which he sorted out.
Which of the Pant ODI innings till date carry half the significance of above mentioned innings?

Also, Yuvi got out to good balls in first 2-3 years unlike our blue eyed boy who lofts Santer's harmless outside off stump ball to leg. Aise kon khelta hai, unplayable ball pade to theek hai.

Not only low average, this blue eyed boy shows utter irresponsibility while constructing and innings, its not as if he is getting unplayable balls to get out.Average can be sorted out if batsman has strong technique, game awareness and temprament.
Yuvi and Rohit both had many good matchwinning performances in their first 2-3 years. They used to average in 30 range after that they improved game awareness because they already had technique and temprament which is clearly not the case with our blue eyed boy.

Pant has a 159* in a test match vs Australia. He will get better with time.

Yuvi had some matchwinning performances in his early phases despite not so good average.
98* vs Sl against Vaas, Murali in 2001, 84 vs Aus debut match against quality attack, Natwest final heroics with Kaif, half century vs Pak in 2003 WC against quality side, 139 vs Aus in Aus 2003 in a losing cause.Only problem was consistency which he sorted out.
Which of the Pant ODI innings till date carry half the significance of above mentioned innings?

Comparison with Yuvi are funny lol. Yuvi played so many match winning knocks and was involved in many partnerships with Dhoni. Pant on the other hand hasn't showed any promise in LOI's. He doesn't look like someone who can take a team to winning position and then finish it off. Hopefully Raina can teach him how to hit shots in LOI's and stay at the wicket for your team. :inti

Forget about Raina, even guys like Hemang Badani, Robin Singh etc. used to have better temperament and situation awareness than this blue eyed boy. He should never be combined with the word ODI atleast.

In semi final 2019, Pant and Pandya were main culprits. Rohit got beauty, Kohli may clip top of stumps, Dinesh Karthik unbelievable catch.
We would not have blamed Pant/Pandya had they got unplayable delieveries, we would have just said well bowled to the bowler and moved on.
Those 2 Santner deliveries were absolute harmless.Anyone can push them for singles. Even if we had Rayadu/Jadhav, more likely they would have got their regular45(60) or 55(70) and we would have scraped through as collapse would have been halted.

In semi final 2019, Pant and Pandya were main culprits. Rohit got beauty, Kohli may clip top of stumps, Dinesh Karthik unbelievable catch.
We would not have blamed Pant/Pandya had they got unplayable delieveries, we would have just said well bowled to the bowler and moved on.
Those 2 Santner deliveries were absolute harmless.Anyone can push them for singles. Even if we had Rayadu/Jadhav, more likely they would have got their regular45(60) or 55(70) and we would have scraped through as collapse would have been halted.

Everyone blamed Dhoni and Jadeja in semi final to save their golden boys. :inti

Dhoni had to bat like that since we had 3 Courtney Walsh level batsmen @ 9,10 and 11.Also SR of 73 is very reasonable when chasing 240.
Had there been Irfan Pathan, Bhajji, Agarkar in the hut, Dhoni could have played differently.

I would say the reason behind loss was a shocking decision to not send MSD ahead and rather sending him at 7. So, the blame goes to team management and senior cricketers for that decision and for loss.

Not surprised to see ignorant people writing him off.

He is an incredible talent and India will turn him into a monstrous wicket-keeper batsmen.

He is the best WK batsman prospect to emerge out of Asia since Dhoni in 2004-05.

A proper match-winner through and through. He is going to destroy a lot of bowling attacks over the next 15 years.

Pant seems to have not improved even a little bit. Still playing those ugly mows to legside and his head seems to fall off when he hits those ugly hacks.

Pant, Sarfaraz Khan, Prithvi Shaw, Tiwari

Team who ate all the pies

Tubsy wubsy. Don’t see him going far with that kind of fitness. Dhoni is double his age and is still as fit as a panther, whereas Burger Pant keeps getting fatter each year

Big Sharma gets away with fitness because he is the big daddy diesel of batsmen, but the rest of the fat indian blokes lol

Yeh IPL mai indian players look like, phufaas and mosaas...

Lot of them are unfit...

Most of indians actually would have put on a few Kg's during lockdown

After all the appraisals, hype and good fortune I've heard about him, I can't help but think there a bit premature. His fitness is below average, batting is hackful, not a lot of timing and placement, more hack and slash.

But I do see somewhat potential in him, if refocuses and readjusts his style of batting, WK and fitness I'm sure he will live up to his potential.

Just 28 today - lot of hype but needs to justify it.

The amount of criticism Umar Akmal got for becoming fat and overweight...yet Pant and Hatymer have poor international fitness standards

Indeed poor fitness. Umar has attitude problem as well and I feel your media and fans attacks him extra due to that.

Someone on another thread was claiming Pant as a better batsmen then all Pakistan batting legends lol

I still want him to get fit and lean but he is lazy. You are a professional athlete. You can't look like that. seriously.

kids will think oh rohit bhai is a fatty, I should become a fatty like him to perform. They set bad examples.

I don't care if he is an odi ATg or not, he needs to get lean and fit. Being fit and lean won't hinder his batting ability. if anything it will prolong his career and he will actually even better at power hitting, timing etc.

Rishabh Pant grows in stature with every season of Indian Premier League (IPL) with his exploits for Delhi Capitals. He has accumulated 171 runs from five games this season in addition to 488 from 16 in 2019 and 684 from 14 in 2018. Moreover, Pant is the only Indian wicket-keeper batsman to hit Test centuries in England and Australia. Poor form had led to his ouster from India's One-day International team but former India cricketers Ashish Nehra and Sanjay Bangar have thrown their weight behind the 23-year-old, hailing him as the player to “take over the reins from MS Dhoni in the Indian team.”

Speaking on Star Sports Cricket Connected, former India assistant coach Bangar said, “In terms of wicket-keeping, I think it (the replacement for Dhoni) would be Rishabh Pant. I think the way he started this year's IPL (has been good) and I think it is very important to have a left-hander as an option because for Team India when it comes to the middle order it helps to balance out the right-handers.”

Nehra echoed Bangar's thoughts. “It totally depends on which format we are talking about. If we are talking about Test cricket, and if you want to go with the best wicket keeper then you also have to consider the mindset of the captain and coach,” said Nehra. “I am in total agreement with Sanjay Bangar, I think they should go ahead with Rishabh Pant. Pant should be backed. Every player needs to be backed when it comes to international cricket,” he added.

Pant has 814 runs from 13 Tests at 38.76 with two centuries and two fifties. He made his Test debut in 2018 against England in Nottingham. However, the Delhi batsman's returns in limited-overs cricket have been less impressive. He has 374 ODI runs from 16 matches at 26.71 and 410 T20I runs from 28 games at 20.50.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/ris...mp=1&akamai-rum=off&__twitter_impression=true

India's coaching culture is excellent and their players appear to listen to their coaches and work on it as well. Will get better in batting. Saha's is also nearing retirement so he will be a good fit in the test team. Although Saha's keeping to spinners especially is hard to replicate.
ODI's i feel he will blow hot and cold for a few years. Rahul is doing exceptionally well in ODI's.

Players like Pant, Pandya always grow in stature during a gold standard league like IPL. It's actually the bronze standard international cricket where they fail to replicate their IPL performances. :inti

Pant has international test centuries in his first very tours of England and Australia (Australia one being 159 not out). To compare, Dravid has 1 100 in Australia in his entire career, Sehwag has 1 100 in England in his entire career and Laxman has 0 100 in England in his ENTIRE career

If you were truly a test match lover, as you pretend to be, you would be worshiping such a talent. But hey, test cricket only matters when you want to put down IPL, right?

The IPL has proven to be a wonderful platform for youngsters hoping to one day play for their country to make a mark. But at the same time, it is also a stage for players who have already played for the national team but are seeking a resurgence in form. Amid the current crop of Indian players, names of Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant come to mind who are heavily banking on a good IPL to get a shot at the Indian team with back to back T20 World Cups approaching.

Former West Indies captain Brian Lara recognises a special talent when he sees one, and among the current bunch of youngsters, the legendary West Indies batsman has seen Pant as someone who has made massive improvements in his batting. Calling Pant an asset, Lara feels the youngster has worked heavily on his game square off the wicket rather than depending entirely on the leg-side.

“I think he is a major asset for the Delhi Capitals, but today he has also vastly improved his game. I am talking about his batting and the improvements he made in that department. On what is immediately noticeable is his propensity to try and get everything to the leg-side,” Lara said on the Byju’s Cricket Live show on Star Sports.

“Also, look at his run scoring chart and that’s quite a proof of that fascination he has with the on-side. I think he has come to the realisation that this is not working and he went away and worked on improving his off-side play.”

Pant had a wonderful 2018 season of the IPL, scoring 684 runs at an average of 52.61 and strike-rate of 173. 60, including five fifties and one century. It earned Pant a place in the Test and ODI teams and later a spot at India’s 2019 World Cup squad. But post it, Pant has failed more times than he’s succeeded, a string of low scores resulting in his ouster from India’s limited-overs set-up.

Lara however, feels Pant has improved by leaps and bounds. The wicket-keeper batsman, who recently turned 22 recently, has gotten starts in all five matches played for the Capitals this season with scores of 31, 37*, 28, 38, 37, and Lara reckons it’s due to the major changes he’s brought in his batting.

“Look at the changes he made. Now, he has the ability to score runs in all parts of the ground. His scoring charts are looking impressive, and yes, more worry for the bowlers,” Lara said.

“He is now very well balanced and he is looking to score in key areas that he is not accustomed to scoring – over extra cover, over point, in front of point and his balance and his weight is staying there, he is not falling over to the off-side to create shots on the leg side. That is a vast improvement that he has made, which obviously going to help his all-round batting. I believe, this young lad has a long-long way to go.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...s-youngster/story-miHiGVOLX5R6Y7S5Fm2e5L.html

Pant has age on his side and he has learnt that playing one style of batting will not take him too far. He has been developing the game for himself to construct an inning and then start going for big hits.

Samson, on other hand, doesn't have the game for that although he does looks more balanced in terms of sublime power on both sides.

Pant has international test centuries in his first very tours of England and Australia (Australia one being 159 not out). To compare, Dravid has 1 100 in Australia in his entire career, Sehwag has 1 100 in England in his entire career and Laxman has 0 100 in England in his ENTIRE career

If you were truly a test match lover, as you pretend to be, you would be worshiping such a talent. But hey, test cricket only matters when you want to put down IPL, right?

Pant's performance in all international formats has gone down. You can check his last few test series. And in LOI's he has already been replaced by a part time wicketkeeper like KL Rahul, so much for him playing as a specialist batsman lol.

It's one thing to be a fan of someone but to blindly overhype someone and not let others criticise him is stupid. You are no better than Umar Akmal fans. I am pretty sure you will be using the same argument of his 2 centuries after 5 years as well because you have nothing else to show.

FYI, his test average is 38 now. I don't think he will average more than 32 in test cricket ie if he plays more games. He was replaced by Saha in tests by the team management not by me. :inti

Pant's performance in all international formats has gone down. You can check his last few test series. And in LOI's he has already been replaced by a part time wicketkeeper like KL Rahul, so much for him playing as a specialist batsman lol.

It's one thing to be a fan of someone but to blindly overhype someone and not let others criticise him is stupid. You are no better than Umar Akmal fans. I am pretty sure you will be using the same argument of his 2 centuries after 5 years as well because you have nothing else to show.

FYI, his test average is 38 now. I don't think he will average more than 32 in test cricket ie if he plays more games. He was replaced by Saha in tests by the team management not by me. :inti

Pant is a hack like Awais Zia/Fakhar Zaman in my opinion. Strong bottom hand technique. Always targeting midwicket boundary. Ugly to watch.

Pant is a bottom hand butcher, and a poor WK but a hack like Awais Zia/Fakhar Zaman ..... FGS he has two Test hundreds in Australia & England and a Test average of 39 @ 69 SR

India's coaching culture is excellent and their players appear to listen to their coaches and work on it as well. Will get better in batting. Saha's is also nearing retirement so he will be a good fit in the test team. Although Saha's keeping to spinners especially is hard to replicate.
ODI's i feel he will blow hot and cold for a few years. Rahul is doing exceptionally well in ODI's.

Saha is 36 years old and averages 14 in SENA. :(

Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer confirmed that wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant will be out of action from the ongoing Indian Premier League at least a week due to a hamstring injury that he suffered recently. Pant injured his leg during the match against Rajasthan Royals on Friday.

DC missed Pant on Sunday as they slumped to a five-wicket defeat against defending champions Mumbai Indians and lost the top place in the points table. Australia’s Alex Carey replaced Pant in Delhi’s playing eleven.

Iyer said the team is still in the dark about the India stumper’s return. “We have no idea – on Rishabh’s availability -, the doctor said he has to rest for a week and hope he comes back really strong,” Iyer said at the post-match presentation ceremony.

I hope Kaptaan's fans have comeback to reality from their Pant bhakti, because he certainly has! You cannot get away with mindless hacking, its not the culture.

Yes scoring 159 in Australia and 100 in England in his first test tours is becasue of leg side hacking. Some people will hate a young player so much they will close their eyes to what's actually happening

No one discarded his success in few innings. No one is doubting his strokeplay either however if you don't learn from your mistakes then you ought to be cut, quite simple. Same goes for Kaptaan's other experiments.

He is 22 year old. England etc have given way older attacking players like butler m, Roy, Barstow a million chances and they have shown the reward

What mistakes exactly are you talking about? He has very decent test stats for a keeper, average odi. Which is brilliant for a 22 year old. His domestoc and IPL stars towers over any other young batsmen. Even in this ipl has has mostly played responsible innings which helped his team win and not thrown his wicket away

So what mistakes are you talking about?

He is 22 year old. England etc have given way older attacking players like butler m, Roy, Barstow a million chances and they have shown the reward

What mistakes exactly are you talking about? He has very decent test stats for a keeper, average odi. Which is brilliant for a 22 year old. His domestoc and IPL stars towers over any other young batsmen. Even in this ipl has has mostly played responsible innings which helped his team win and not thrown his wicket away

Mistakes

- Shot selection
- Fitness(Running between wickets)

These two are clearly visible from batting point of view.

Indian Test XI for Australia first test should be:-

Rohit
Mayank
Pujara
Kohli(c)
Gill
Rahul
Pant(wkt)
Ashwin
Saini
Shami
Bumrah

Lol for how long will you hide behind "but he is 22 year old". You are talking as if he is a 16 year old guy. He is a pretty average LOI batsman. In tests too his performances has gone down and was replaced by Saha who himself is average with the bat.

Just because he scored two centuries he can't be criticised? Only f@nboys can celebrate a century in a lost dead rubber match. Lesser known players have scored centuries in Aus and Eng where even superstars couldn't. Ajit Agarkar has scored a century at Lords, Sachin hasn't. The way he plays his shot he looks like a tullaybaaz. He isn't a great wicketkeeper either and is replaced by a part timer like KL Rahul. As far as his IPL performances are concerned nobody will remember those mickey mouse matches anyway but his international performances will be discussed. :inti

Pant Sahib thora tez score karain please! 26 in 30 balls so far....

Pant is a bottom hand butcher, and a poor WK but a hack like Awais Zia/Fakhar Zaman ..... FGS he has two Test hundreds in Australia & England and a Test average of 39 @ 69 SR

Yeah, but he has milked those 100s for long enough and unfortunately for him that batting avg has been coming down.

The way he played in NZ tests it was painful to watch.

Yeah, but he has milked those 100s for long enough and unfortunately for him that batting avg has been coming down.

The way he played in NZ tests it was painful to watch.

You have to understand the context here, my friend - Fakhar Zaman has milked his CT innings longer than Pant and even “passionate” fans these days get uncomfortable to talk about his heroics against Bobbey Mughabe’s ZIM reserves; and to be honest Awais Zia didn’t even ever had a cow to milk.........

My post wasn’t to glorify Pant, who to my surprise actually has one of the best ever IPL records (I noticed few days back that Pant has 36/155 stats in IPL, being a WK!!!); but do you really think that kid being a WK with still having 800+ Test runs (& mostly in UK/AUS) at 38+ Average & couple of stunning hundreds before turning 21, should be compared with Fakhar Zaman, let alone Awais Zia?

Do you realise that why few of us here who loves cricket, understands a little as well and neutral as a fan these days often gets “unpopular” in PP? As a genuine cricket enthusiast, if I were not absolutely disgusted even with the thoughts of it, I probably would have written something in that recent thread of Abdullah Shafique vs Subhman Gill..... and some posters would have been more bitter.

Pant is a hack and not improving. He should be no way near Indian team. He can take his IPL check year after year and be happy. That is his level.

I would say Samson and Ishan Kishan both are ahead of him now.

Rahul is first choice white ball keeper. Gives us immense balance.

People criticising Pant seriously need "counselling". The guy is just 21 years old and already has hundreds in UK/ Australia. Not even Dhoni has a century in SENA. For that matter, who was the last Asian wicket keeper batsman to score more hundreds/ have better average than this fellow in Tests in SENA (other than Sanga)?

He is no Gilchrist/ Stewart, but is the best Asian wk batsman (except only Sanga) in the last 20-30 years of my watching cricket.

You have to understand the context here, my friend - Fakhar Zaman has milked his CT innings longer than Pant and even “passionate” fans these days get uncomfortable to talk about his heroics against Bobbey Mughabe’s ZIM reserves; and to be honest Awais Zia didn’t even ever had a cow to milk.........

My post wasn’t to glorify Pant, who to my surprise actually has one of the best ever IPL records (I noticed few days back that Pant has 36/155 stats in IPL, being a WK!!!); but do you really think that kid being a WK with still having 800+ Test runs (& mostly in UK/AUS) at 38+ Average & couple of stunning hundreds before turning 21, should be compared with Fakhar Zaman, let alone Awais Zia?

Do you realise that why few of us here who loves cricket, understands a little as well and neutral as a fan these days often gets “unpopular” in PP? As a genuine cricket enthusiast, if I were not absolutely disgusted even with the thoughts of it, I probably would have written something in that recent thread of Abdullah Shafique vs Subhman Gill..... and some posters would have been more bitter.
MMHS, you don't need to get worked.up by some clueless people who make stupid and ridiculous comparisons to overhype Pakistan players. There are always some clowns and stupid people on any online community, and you can just ignore them instead of wasting your time.on them and responding to them. There are also sensible people here, you can just discuss with them.

I just don't like it when you quote a specific thread and then say it represents everyone on PP :/ Like that shubman gill vs abdullah thread is a ridiculous comparison, but it's the fault of that guy who made the post , not all of us.

MMHS, you don't need to get worked.up by some clueless people who make stupid and ridiculous comparisons to overhype Pakistan players. There are always some clowns and stupid people on any online community, and you can just ignore them instead of wasting your time.on them and responding to them. There are also sensible people here, you can just discuss with them.

I just don't like it when you quote a specific thread and then say it represents everyone on PP :/ Like that shubman gill vs abdullah thread is a ridiculous comparison, but it's the fault of that guy who made the post , not all of us.

Chill young man - I did mention “some” .... never generalised.

Forget about overhyped, he is unfit and overweight. His attitude reminds me of one those talented but thick PK players over the last 20 years.

I actually agree with you and I didn't mean to compare Pant with anyone.

I just made a point regarding Pant's own performances.
He started well but has looked like a tail-ender in recent times (specially in those NZ tests).
His supporters always talk about those 100s in Aus and Eng but there's nothing else to show after that in any format.

So I don't get the hype he gets, there are better players in India for that WK slot.

People criticising Pant seriously need "counselling". The guy is just 21 years old and already has hundreds in UK/ Australia. Not even Dhoni has a century in SENA. For that matter, who was the last Asian wicket keeper batsman to score more hundreds/ have better average than this fellow in Tests in SENA (other than Sanga)?

He is no Gilchrist/ Stewart, but is the best Asian wk batsman (except only Sanga) in the last 20-30 years of my watching cricket.

Not really, on current form Rizwan trumps Pant easily as the best WK batter in Asia.

Btw, Pant is 23 now.

He can do well in Australia, these conditions don't suit his batting. He wants pace on bat, he is losing his shape batting on these slow wickets.

It's high time that you and other die hard Pant fans update your template. It is a 2 years old template because Pant is now 23 years old and hasn't done anything special after those hundreds. He can't keep getting chances in LOI's because of his 2 centuries in SENA. :inti

If he can get the right guidance that Rohit Sharma did then he can turn his career around dramatically.

He can do well in Australia, these conditions don't suit his batting. He wants pace on bat, he is losing his shape batting on these slow wickets.

I thought these wickets were exposing PSL batting for being trash?

I dunno about PSL batting but Pant certainly seems to be a poor batsmen on slow wickets. He does not have a single 50 in this season yet being playing for a top team.

He's been clearly told to curb his attacking game and focus on playing more in the offside. When you ask young players to change the very basic nati, in most cases, the player gets confused and loses his confidence. Pant is going through a similar phase now.

However, his fitness is in his control and there cannot be any excuses for being overweight. He's not coming back to the LOI side anytime sooner with Rahul experiment likely to continue. Still will be our first choice Test keeper unless Kohli-Shastri decide to stick with Saha.