Fifty under very difficult circumstances in the 5th Test vs England
Great stats these. Of course, not big enough sample size but he has played some clutch innings.Rishabh Pant averages 75 at strike rate of 90 at no.5 position.![]()
Great stats these. Of course, not big enough sample size but he has played some clutch innings.
Disagree bro. His style of play is to be aggressive, and bowlers have sussed him out, and in every format of the game. He has no temperament. No class, and he’s in the Indian team because of his one hit wonder series down under. His ‘surprise’ factor is over, and has been truly exposed.
Will he be playing in the England test?
I think at the same stage of their respective test careers - Pant is as good as Gilchrist
Top knock saved us from crumbling don’t know why he isn’t able to replicate it in LOI..
Tries to be too adventurous in white ball cricket...same trait Sehwag had. In the very late in his career (during 2011 world cup), Sehwag realized if he just play normal cricket he would score quicker in ODIs than most batsman. Pant need to realize it as well.
Comes too low..Should open or play in top 4.
22 more runs to beat Adam Gilchrist for the highest test score on this ground..
Tries to be too adventurous in white ball cricket...same trait Sehwag had. In the very late in his career (during 2011 world cup), Sehwag realized if he just play normal cricket he would score quicker in ODIs than most batsman. Pant need to realize it as well.
Yes.. I think it’s time to give him opening slot in LOI. Hopefully Dravid can do that, Rahul has enough gears for 2 down.
What an innings, unlucky to get out on 146, was looking good for a double 100.. Well played.
Did his job and that's what matters.
I implied more from his average and strike rate point of view.Has 5 SENA 100’s. Aur kya chahiye bhai
Just heard from Harsha that Pant has scored 5 '90s too besides 5 test tons.
Incredible.
Yeah, that goes without saying.The 89 remains the best though.
It has already been established that [MENTION=149166]
In fact anyone who thinks Pant isn’t an all-time great in the making is a clown.
Talented but flukey player who is going through an incredible purple patch in Test cricket.
Credit where it’s due, he has played some exceptional innings but his style of throwing the bat around has just worked.
He will inevitably end his career massively under achieving. He will not be in the same league as Gilchrist/ Sangakara/ Dhoni. He will likely end up similar to De Qock. Talented but never quite becoming an ATG.
lol yeah
Don't you know? Did you at least buy a ticket to watch Sab Changa Si Bharat or are you miserly even there. Or are you just typing all these from Rajkot after munching on a dabeli. Great snack though. Only discovered it, this last year.
It seems many posters were remembering me here. Must have hurt them with my views regarding Pant.![]()
Just watched a glimpse of his inning because I am travelling. Credit where it's due, that was a pretty good inning by Pant. Now hopefully we will win this match. It seems he is only feeling comfortable in tests so he should leave LOIs for Kishan, Samson etc and concentrate on his test career and fitness.
Congratulations to my little brother [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=78894]RamLakhan[/MENTION] and bhaijaan [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]. Rest of the posters are just plastic fans who only stand by Pant when he does well.![]()
So you didn't go for the match. Why don't you ask one of your English mates whether Pant is still called that? Can you recommend a good dabeli joint near your place?This poster is obsessed with me...lol. Quotes every post of mine to take frustration out even on threads where there is no relevance
Anyway, it was a terrific knock by Pant and if he can translate his red ball cricket form into shorter formats, he would serve Indian cricket a lot. One can only hope.
So now there's something called BazBallTop innings that. Gave BazBall England a bit of a taste of their own medicine today. One of Bairstow or Stokes need to hit back with a similar one of their own to keep England in this one now.
One swallow doesn't make a summer.
Many players have made a career out of fluke innings.
Are you becoming a Pantaloon?![]()
Since when is wc t20 respected ? Australia don't even care about pyjama league.
It's a farce.
Tests overseas wins and odi world cup is the real deal.
Infact overseas test wins are greater than odi WC for most people.
Talented but flukey player who is going through an incredible purple patch in Test cricket.
Credit where it’s due, he has played some exceptional innings but his style of throwing the bat around has just worked.
He will inevitably end his career massively under achieving. He will not be in the same league as Gilchrist/ Sangakara/ Dhoni. He will likely end up similar to De Qock. Talented but never quite becoming an ATG.
Rishabh Pant is already the greatest Asian wicketkeeper batsman of all time (Sangakkara was a specialist batsman for 3/4th of his career). One could argue he's already in the top 5, and could very well be the GOAT by the time he retires (looking at you, Gilchrist)
Pant is a bigger prospect than even peak Kohli in tests. India would be nowhere near as dominant in SENA without Pant. The way Pant has handled Rabada, Cummins, Hazlewood and Anderson is simply astonishing. He did more in 4 years in SENA than most ATG have done in their entire career
Pant is already 10x the Test batsman Dhoni ever was.
WT20 is a world title.
Can any of our batsman play like this against England in England. Apart from Miandad or Zaheer Abbas I don't see anyone.
No way. Dhoni had the ability be be one of the greatest batsmen but he under-estimated his abilities also burden captaincy.
So now there's something called BazBall)
And then the English wonder why the world enjoys when they fail.
if Bairstow´s pummeling of New Zealand wasn´t enough already to remind us as to how Test cricket is going to be played in this era, Pant has delivered another reminder by pounding England. What an innings! It had never been a matter of doubt to me that Pant has always been streets ahead of Dhoni in Test cricket as batsman. His batting looks just too ugly to me, though, but that´s a matter of taste, I suppose. The way he falls over sometimes and lies flat on the pitch after playing a shot is plain hilarious to watch.
Can any of our batsman play like this against England in England. Apart from Miandad or Zaheer Abbas I don't see anyone.
Agreed. Our rizwan is more technically astute. He is the best right now. Pant is streaky. Yea sure he is good but he is like bairstow. Kill or be killed. Not reliable.
Mohammad Asif on Pant's innings:
"It was totally England bowlers' fault as Pant did no wonders; He [Pant] has technical faults. His left-hand doesn't work but still he managed to score a century because English bowlers didn't bowl to him in his weak areas."
"I will not name individuals but England made a lot of mistakes. When Jadeja and Pant were batting, they brought in a left-arm spinner who wasn't an ideal option to bowl at that moment.
"I am not against Pant, but with such decisions by the opposition, you get an edge to score big."
What looks like a mistake in hindsight could have been a master move. This is the story of all great knocks. There will always be something you can point to as a mistake by the opposition.
On to this mistake. Leach had been brutalized by Pant when they'd met previously. It was a gamble by Stokes - he's that kind of cricketer - hoping Pant would make a mistake while getting carried away seeing Leach come on. Pant waited for an over and once again smashed him.
Much later, Stokes brought Root on, another gamble. A couple of overs later, Pant was gone. Had Root been beaten up, Asif sir would have been including it in his list of mistakes, and might have even suggested something funny was going on![]()