The Rishabh Pant thread

Fifty under very difficult circumstances in the 5th Test vs England

Pant the Test Cricketer already has more clutch overseas knocks in his small career than most subcontinental greats could manage in their entire career. This man has Sehwag's impact in overseas conditions.

I think at the same stage of their respective test careers - Pant is as good as Gilchrist

Disagree bro. His style of play is to be aggressive, and bowlers have sussed him out, and in every format of the game. He has no temperament. No class, and he’s in the Indian team because of his one hit wonder series down under. His ‘surprise’ factor is over, and has been truly exposed.

Will he be playing in the England test?

Yeah Bruh bowlers have sussed him out in tests that's for sure..

Top knock saved us from crumbling don’t know why he isn’t able to replicate it in LOI..

Waiting for a leg side stumping chance to go missing in England innings for the thread to pick up activity :inti

Top knock saved us from crumbling don’t know why he isn’t able to replicate it in LOI..

Tries to be too adventurous in white ball cricket...same trait Sehwag had. In the very late in his career (during 2011 world cup), Sehwag realized if he just play normal cricket he would score quicker in ODIs than most batsman. Pant need to realize it as well.

Best Test Wicketkeeper batsman currently and best ever coming from Asia 😍😍
Consistently scoring in and against tougher countries.

What I love about him is that he not only saves the sinking ship, but turns the tide completely. Something our former rescuers like Dravid and Pujara could never manage.

Tries to be too adventurous in white ball cricket...same trait Sehwag had. In the very late in his career (during 2011 world cup), Sehwag realized if he just play normal cricket he would score quicker in ODIs than most batsman. Pant need to realize it as well.

Comes too low..Should open or play in top 4.

Yes.. I think it’s time to give him opening slot in LOI. Hopefully Dravid can do that, Rahul has enough gears for 2 down.

England vs India 5th Test: Rishabh Pant Smashes 89-Ball Century To Rescue India From Dire StraitsEngland vs India: Rishabh Pant scored the fastest century by an Indian wicketkeeper in Tests.

Rishabh Pant led India's fightback by smashing his fifth Test century on Day 1 of the ongoing rescheduled fifth Test against England at Edgbaston. Pant scored a counter-attacking century off just 89 balls as India managed to recover from a top-order collapse. The 24-year-old hit 15 boundaries and a six en route the 100-run mark. With India reeling at 98 for five, Pant and Ravindra Jadeja stitched an unbeaten partnership for the sixth wicket and took India past the 200-run mark.

This was the fastest century by an Indian wicketkeeper in Tests.

Pant also crossed the 2,000-run mark in Tests during his swashbuckling knock as he frustrated England bowlers.

This was Rishabh Pant's second Test century in England, and his fourth one away from home.

NDTV

Clutch innings, has to be said. For all his eccentricity, he rarely ever looks like throwing it away. Dangerous bat.

To score the number of test centuries and runs as he has with that heavy feet technique, is a mystery to me..

I think ABDV did the same in T20Is too. That format was new and the approach for him after Smith and Kallis was to start hitting from ball 1 and that was the reason for underachieving there.

Yes.. I think it’s time to give him opening slot in LOI. Hopefully Dravid can do that, Rahul has enough gears for 2 down.

And Rahul actually does well at 4/5 more. In ODIs, he sucks when he bats at top, scores slowly.

What an innings, unlucky to get out on 146, was looking good for a double 100.. Well played.

Did his job and that's what matters.

ONyV6Hh.jpg

o7QRMhD.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Clever bowling brings a fabulous innings to an end.<br><br>Scorecard/Clips: <a href="https://t.co/jKoipF4U01">https://t.co/jKoipF4U01</a><br><br>&#55356;&#57332;&#56128;&#56423;&#56128;&#56418;&#56128;&#56421;&#56128;&#56430;&#56128;&#56423;&#56128;&#56447; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvIND</a> &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819; <a href="https://t.co/ed66SyAUJI">pic.twitter.com/ed66SyAUJI</a></p>— England Cricket (@englandcricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/englandcricket/status/1542923896558563329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 1, 2022</a></blockquote>

Do they still call him 'Rubbish Pants' in England?
[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]

Reminds me of Gilly. Aus used to be in trouble and Gilly used to play counterattacking knocks. Pant has played so many great knocks in his short career so far.

Just heard from Harsha that Pant has scored 5 '90s too besides 5 test tons.

Incredible.

It seems many posters were remembering me here. Must have hurt them with my views regarding Pant. :91:

Just watched a glimpse of his inning because I am travelling. Credit where it's due, that was a pretty good inning by Pant. Now hopefully we will win this match. It seems he is only feeling comfortable in tests so he should leave LOIs for Kishan, Samson etc and concentrate on his test career and fitness.

Congratulations to my little brother [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=78894]RamLakhan[/MENTION] and bhaijaan [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]. Rest of the posters are just plastic fans who only stand by Pant when he does well. :inti

It has already been established that [MENTION=149166]
In fact anyone who thinks Pant isn’t an all-time great in the making is a clown.

[MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION].

Pant is already the GOAT Asian test keeper.

List of great knocks from Rishabh Pant in test cricket :-

1. 89* at Gabba, an ATG knock in series decider in Aus vs Cummins, Hazelwood, Starc and Lyon

2. 100* at Centurion vs Rabada, Jansen, Ngidi and Oliver, a 4 man pace attack in a series decider again from 58/4

3. 146 at Edgabaston vs Anderson and Broad in a series decider from 98/5

4. 97 at Sydney vs Lyon, Cummins, Starc and Hazelwood in a match saving cause

5.101 at Ahemdabad vs Anderson, Stokes and Leech from 146/6

*148 vs Australia on flat track in Sydney and 114 in Oval vs England are not counted here

In the commentary, Sehwag himself acknowledged that Rishabh Pant is exactly like him. They both bring simply another level of excitement to test cricket.

Best wicket keeper batsman since Gilchrist. Stepping out from crease and hitting Jimmy for 4 ,treat to watch.

He is a clutch player. He is very dangerous when he applies himself like he does today. A lot of times he gave it away with some silly shots.

Talented but flukey player who is going through an incredible purple patch in Test cricket.

Credit where it’s due, he has played some exceptional innings but his style of throwing the bat around has just worked.

He will inevitably end his career massively under achieving. He will not be in the same league as Gilchrist/ Sangakara/ Dhoni. He will likely end up similar to De Qock. Talented but never quite becoming an ATG.

Talented but flukey player who is going through an incredible purple patch in Test cricket.

Credit where it’s due, he has played some exceptional innings but his style of throwing the bat around has just worked.

He will inevitably end his career massively under achieving. He will not be in the same league as Gilchrist/ Sangakara/ Dhoni. He will likely end up similar to De Qock. Talented but never quite becoming an ATG.

There is no fluke when you do it again and again. He is already a better test batsman than Dhoni.

And Sanga didn't keep in tests for most of his career.

lol yeah :inti

Don't you know? Did you at least buy a ticket to watch Sab Changa Si Bharat or are you miserly even there. Or are you just typing all these from Rajkot after munching on a dabeli. Great snack though. Only discovered it, this last year.

This poster is obsessed with me...lol. Quotes every post of mine to take frustration out even on threads where there is no relevance :))

Anyway, it was a terrific knock by Pant and if he can translate his red ball cricket form into shorter formats, he would serve Indian cricket a lot. One can only hope.

It seems many posters were remembering me here. Must have hurt them with my views regarding Pant. :91:

Just watched a glimpse of his inning because I am travelling. Credit where it's due, that was a pretty good inning by Pant. Now hopefully we will win this match. It seems he is only feeling comfortable in tests so he should leave LOIs for Kishan, Samson etc and concentrate on his test career and fitness.

Congratulations to my little brother [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=78894]RamLakhan[/MENTION] and bhaijaan [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]. Rest of the posters are just plastic fans who only stand by Pant when he does well. :inti

Thanks mate. Also, I feel some of your criticism of Pant is valid in white ball format as he needs to translate his form from test cricket in LOIs. I think he is going Sehwag route where he over complicate things in ODIs and plays too many shots. If he can just play his normal game...I think he can be an asset in white ball cricket as well.

Fair play to Pant. I like how he plays the game. Deserves his success

Top innings that. Gave BazBall England a bit of a taste of their own medicine today. One of Bairstow or Stokes need to hit back with a similar one of their own to keep England in this one now.

This poster is obsessed with me...lol. Quotes every post of mine to take frustration out even on threads where there is no relevance :))

Anyway, it was a terrific knock by Pant and if he can translate his red ball cricket form into shorter formats, he would serve Indian cricket a lot. One can only hope.
So you didn't go for the match. Why don't you ask one of your English mates whether Pant is still called that? Can you recommend a good dabeli joint near your place?

Top innings that. Gave BazBall England a bit of a taste of their own medicine today. One of Bairstow or Stokes need to hit back with a similar one of their own to keep England in this one now.
So now there's something called BazBall :)))
And then the English wonder why the world enjoys when they fail.

One swallow doesn't make a summer.

Many players have made a career out of fluke innings.

Agreed. Our rizwan is more technically astute. He is the best right now. Pant is streaky. Yea sure he is good but he is like bairstow. Kill or be killed. Not reliable.

Having come out to bat at 64/3, wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant produced a masterclass to rescue India from a difficult spot and it helped the visitors finish Day 1 of the rescheduled fifth Test against England on 338/7. At one stage, India were 98/5 and then, Pant combined with Ravindra Jadeja to put on 222 runs for the sixth wicket. Pant went on to play a 146-run knock off just 111 balls with the help of 20 fours and 4 sixes.

Pant once again took a special liking to spinner Jack Leach and his innings even included a reverse scoop off the bowling of James Anderson. The left-hander was eventually dismissed by Joe Root, but Jadeja remained unbeaten on 83.

"I like the opposition (England) but I do not think about it much. I just look to give my 100 per cent in every match. My focus is on the cricket I play. From childhood, my coach Tarak sir told me that you can hit the ball, but work on your defence as well. I keep working on my defence, in Test cricket, defence is important. Every ball you cannot hit, so i keep focusing and if i think I need to defend, I defend and if I think I can hit the ball, I hit the ball. Putting the bad ball away is also important, if the bowler is bowling well, then giving him respect is also a good sign. I try to play to the merit of the ball," said Pant during a press conference after the close of play on Day 1.

"Especially in conditions like England, where you know the bowler is bowling well, then it becomes important to disturb his line and length. I keep trying that I do not play in the same manner so that the bowler gets mentally disturbed. As a player, I look to give my 100 percent, I try to play my percentage, if I feel if it's there for me to try a different shot or hit the ball, I tend to back it. I have focused on that and it's helping me, I guess," he added.

When asked what was his discussion with Jadeja, Pant said: "The discussion with Jadeja was to focus on the partnership. If you think about it individually, then the pressure can arise. So, we thought from the team's point of view. I think I was just focusing on the ball, yes, the pressure was there. But if you focus on the pressure, you might not get the result. I try to focus on my process and that might give me results most of the time."

"I don't focus on the bowler; I focus on what he is bowling. It is not pre-planned that I have to after this bowler, If I feel I can hit the ball, I do that. I think if you lose too many wickets, you need to give yourself time. I was trying to build a partnership with Jaddu Bhai and we were thinking let's not lose a wicket till the tea break," he added.

When asked what sort of conversation he had with coach Rahul Dravid before the game, Pant said: "As a player, every hundred you can make in international cricket is a big achievement and you feel happy about it. It is upto you guys to decide which one was better, I just want to give my best. We were practicing well as a team so there was enough time to get ourselves in the mindset of playing a Test. Rahul bhai told me to play according to the ball and focus at one ball at a time, just try to play the situation and not think about what's going to happen."

NDTV

Rishabh Pant, with his blitzkrieg knock in the ongoing 5th Test against England at Edgbaston, broke a record by former India captain MS Dhoni that stood for 17 long years. Pant, who reached his fifth century in the longest format in just 89 deliveries, hit the fastest Test ton by an Indian wicketkeeper. MS Dhoni held the record with his 93-ball century against Pakistan in Faisalabad in 2005. Pant went on to score 146 off just 111 deliveries. His knock was studded with 19 boundaries and four sixes.

His 89-ball century was also the fastest in Tests at Edgbaston, beating a record held by Kevin Pietersen.

It was the 24-year-old's second Test century in England and the third overall, with one coming in Ahmedabad.

Pant now has four overseas Test tons.

Rishabh Pant also became the youngest wicketkeeper to cross the 2,000-run mark in Tests.

His swashbuckling innings helped rescue India from 98/5 to 338/7 at Stumps on Day 1 of the rescheduled 5th Test.

Rishabh Pant and Ravindra Jadeja put on a 222-run partnership, India's highest 6th-wicket stand against England in Tests.

Pant dominated the partnership, scoring 133 of the 222 runs.

NDTV

==

And another record:

En route to his impressive ton in Edgbaston, Pant also reached another key milestone. The left-hander became the youngest Indian to smash 100 sixes in international cricket. He smashed his 100th maximum against spinner Jack Leach during the innings on Friday

India great Sachin Tendulkar held the record for being the youngest Indian to reach the feat. While Tendulkar smashed 100 international sixes at the age of 25, Pant achieved the milestone at 24 years, 271 days. Former India and Chennai Super Kings star Suresh Raina holds the third spot, reaching the three-figure mark in 25 years and 7 days.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ndia-vs-england-5th-test-101656698918703.html

Are you becoming a Pantaloon? :)

Experience tells me, and please excuse the play on words, ziyada tareef karro aur baad main failure to pantaloon uttar jattee hai :D

Hope Pant continues to do well and most importantly inspires others to do the same.

Pant is probably the best puller and hooker of the ball I have seen till date... His gymnastics training seems to have made it very easy to play the pull and the hook it seems.

Since when is wc t20 respected ? Australia don't even care about pyjama league.
It's a farce.
Tests overseas wins and odi world cup is the real deal.
Infact overseas test wins are greater than odi WC for most people.

WT20 is a world title.

Pant is already 10x the Test batsman Dhoni ever was.

Rishabh Pant is already the greatest Asian wicketkeeper batsman of all time (Sangakkara was a specialist batsman for 3/4th of his career). One could argue he's already in the top 5, and could very well be the GOAT by the time he retires (looking at you, Gilchrist)

Pant is a bigger prospect than even peak Kohli in tests. India would be nowhere near as dominant in SENA without Pant. The way Pant has handled Rabada, Cummins, Hazlewood and Anderson is simply astonishing. He did more in 4 years in SENA than most ATG have done in their entire career

Rishabh Pant is already the greatest Asian wicketkeeper batsman of all time (Sangakkara was a specialist batsman for 3/4th of his career). One could argue he's already in the top 5, and could very well be the GOAT by the time he retires (looking at you, Gilchrist)

Pant is a bigger prospect than even peak Kohli in tests. India would be nowhere near as dominant in SENA without Pant. The way Pant has handled Rabada, Cummins, Hazlewood and Anderson is simply astonishing. He did more in 4 years in SENA than most ATG have done in their entire career

Screenshot 2022-07-02 093301.jpg

Can any of our batsman play like this against England in England. Apart from Miandad or Zaheer Abbas I don't see anyone.

Ababas was abominable vs pace and bounce. Miandad was a mighty fine player. He would do well.

The overrated and hyped Rishabh Pant

if Bairstow´s pummeling of New Zealand wasn´t enough already to remind us as to how Test cricket is going to be played in this era, Pant has delivered another reminder by pounding England. What an innings! It had never been a matter of doubt to me that Pant has always been streets ahead of Dhoni in Test cricket as batsman. His batting looks just too ugly to me, though, but that´s a matter of taste, I suppose. The way he falls over sometimes and lies flat on the pitch after playing a shot is plain hilarious to watch.

I think its the disdain with which Pant hits top international bowlers in their own den, is what makes him super special. I don't recall many top batsmen treating bowlers the way he does and the body composure he has in alien conditions against top bowlers.

So now there's something called BazBall :)))
And then the English wonder why the world enjoys when they fail.

Not sure who coined the term. It’s tongue in cheek. Even McCullum finds it weird and funny.

if Bairstow´s pummeling of New Zealand wasn´t enough already to remind us as to how Test cricket is going to be played in this era, Pant has delivered another reminder by pounding England. What an innings! It had never been a matter of doubt to me that Pant has always been streets ahead of Dhoni in Test cricket as batsman. His batting looks just too ugly to me, though, but that´s a matter of taste, I suppose. The way he falls over sometimes and lies flat on the pitch after playing a shot is plain hilarious to watch.

What's hilarious is how he is flat on the wicket and the ball is outside the ground. How he does that, he only knows.

Thank you IPL. First it was Bairstow who turned up straight from IPL to own the test punks. Now it's Pant.

If you've proved yourself in IPL, everything else feels like slo-mo video game.

Of course . Pant was too slow. Rohail Nazir would have scored 180. [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] can vouch for him .

Agreed. Our rizwan is more technically astute. He is the best right now. Pant is streaky. Yea sure he is good but he is like bairstow. Kill or be killed. Not reliable.

that's how wars or sports go.

Rizwan is great in T20 but Pant is clear in two longer formats

Mohammad Asif on Pant's innings:

"It was totally England bowlers' fault as Pant did no wonders; He [Pant] has technical faults. His left-hand doesn't work but still he managed to score a century because English bowlers didn't bowl to him in his weak areas."

"I will not name individuals but England made a lot of mistakes. When Jadeja and Pant were batting, they brought in a left-arm spinner who wasn't an ideal option to bowl at that moment.

"I am not against Pant, but with such decisions by the opposition, you get an edge to score big."

Mohammad Asif on Pant's innings:

"It was totally England bowlers' fault as Pant did no wonders; He [Pant] has technical faults. His left-hand doesn't work but still he managed to score a century because English bowlers didn't bowl to him in his weak areas."

"I will not name individuals but England made a lot of mistakes. When Jadeja and Pant were batting, they brought in a left-arm spinner who wasn't an ideal option to bowl at that moment.

"I am not against Pant, but with such decisions by the opposition, you get an edge to score big."

What looks like a mistake in hindsight could have been a master move. This is the story of all great knocks. There will always be something you can point to as a mistake by the opposition.

On to this mistake. Leach had been brutalized by Pant when they'd met previously. It was a gamble by Stokes - he's that kind of cricketer - hoping Pant would make a mistake while getting carried away seeing Leach come on. Pant waited for an over and once again smashed him.

Much later, Stokes brought Root on, another gamble. A couple of overs later, Pant was gone. Had Root been beaten up, Asif sir would have been including it in his list of mistakes, and might have even suggested something funny was going on :warner

Pant is like KP, very gifted, destructive, an opposing personality and a player of great innings. If he doesn't go down as a great player later on, he will still be a remembered as a player of great innings.

What looks like a mistake in hindsight could have been a master move. This is the story of all great knocks. There will always be something you can point to as a mistake by the opposition.

On to this mistake. Leach had been brutalized by Pant when they'd met previously. It was a gamble by Stokes - he's that kind of cricketer - hoping Pant would make a mistake while getting carried away seeing Leach come on. Pant waited for an over and once again smashed him.

Much later, Stokes brought Root on, another gamble. A couple of overs later, Pant was gone. Had Root been beaten up, Asif sir would have been including it in his list of mistakes, and might have even suggested something funny was going on :warner

Conclusion of Asif's post is that Stokes was poor as a captain and made some mistakes. He is a poor captain.