The Zulqarnain Haider Story

What did he say about asylum and who his lawyers are?

Wondering because, Geo's headline says he IS applying for asylum, but I heard that he might have refused the ICC's lawyer. Plus he hasn't contacted the High Commission either. And he doesn't have money for his own lawyer.

What happened was that he DID apply for asylum. He admitted it himself on a phone interview on Geo in the morning. He said he cant speak in detail about the questions asked because it was confidential and his asylum application is in process. He then announced his retirement from int'l cricket and said he wants to play domestic. But then he spoke to his family on phone later today who seem to have disagreed with the way he has handled the situation. They told him what he did was not right and that he should get back to UAE and his team. They also said they are not going to live in UK and want to live and die in Pakistan. Zoni then changed his statement saying he didn't apply for asylum and wants to play for Pakistan again if PCB takes him back.

Grew up in us, going to uni. Choose to live in pakistan..

Your efforts must be applauded .. NOT

You most likely will go back and live in a posh area and live a superficial life which has nothing to do with real PAkistan , real Pakistanis and the real problems those people face everyday . So what if you " choose " to live in Pakistan and leave the country that made you " qaabil " gave you education , knowledge and a lot of other things your birth country could not

You choosing to move back does not make you a better Pakistan than somebody wanting to desperately get out of Pakistan because they have lived all their life there and faced problems people like us cannot even think of .

it is easy to be all patriotic when we are away from the country but that is only because we have no idea what it is like to be one of those earthquake victims fighting to death for a piece of bread for their whole family .

What happened was that he DID apply for asylum. He admitted it himself on a phone interview on Geo in the morning. He said he cant speak in detail about the questions asked because it was confidential and his asylum application is in process. He then announced his retirement from int'l cricket and said he wants to play domestic. But then he spoke to his family on phone later today who seem to have disagreed with the way he has handled the situation. They told him what he did was not right and that he should get back to UAE and his team. They also said they are not going to live in UK and want to live and die in Pakistan. Zoni then changed his statement saying he didn't apply for asylum and wants to play for Pakistan again if PCB takes him back.

Lol all I can say is what a jackass...hows he backtracking on his original stance...whatever defences I had for him are slowly disappearing...the more and more I hear the more and more ridiculous Zoni's behaviour seems to be...that live and die in Pakistan comment seems especially pathetic after realising your not getting asylum...

Really? I caught a bit of the last Geo interview and I thought they asked him something like what will you do if you don't get asylum (might've worded it differently) and he said he had faith in the loving PEOPLES of the UK, and that they always favoured the ones who did right, etc. etc. What was that about?

That was most probably before his talk with his family. And maybe the revelation that getting asylum might not be as easy as he thought? :zoni

Were they playing a live interview?

I am confident that most people professing their love for their country here are people who can easily be fit into two or three categories:

1. Have never lived outside of Pakistan
2. Are teenagers/students who have not actually started practical life or worked in Pakistan
3. Are not married, have kids and families.
4. Have never been in such a situation where they have to pick between the safety and well being of their family and Pakistan.

If you claim to fit into neither of the categories above and yet maintain Zoni should have simply "done whats good for the country" then I say you arre the biggest hypocrit ever.

Thank you.

Mr. Stewie

1- I am living from the past seven years outside Pakistan
2- I am 36 years old working from the past 13 years.
3- I am married with 1 1/2 year old son.
4- Never been in such a situation

I still say that Zoni over reacted to the situation. His family is also saying the same.
Sorry but you're one of the old crops. The irrational ones, like some of my direct family...but I appreciate the people who KNOW the reality of Pakistan and how much hope of future it holds for a citizen.

The only way you can really LOVE Pakistan is when you serve in a position of power honestly and try to do something about the corruption and lawlessness. Otherwise you're just like everyone else living inside or outside the country.

You know what your country needs, you're not doing that...so how better are you than me in loving Pakistan?
Simply living there doesn't help the country one damn bit, especially when you know your taxes aren't being utilized for the progress of the country.

My friend what will your family do if you have no country. Country is also like a family. If you have any doubts just look at the people living in Gaza. No Jobs, no money, no education, no health facilities, no security, no identity, no food so it means no family. Do be so selfish look at the big picture. If you dont care it is up to you, but I do care a lot for my country and I am proud to be PAKISTANI.

Let me ask you then sir, what are you doing to improve the condition of your country? What do you plan to do for the improvement of the condition in your country?

If both of the answers are "nothing", then you do not care for the "country"...it's just a delusional thought when you actually just care for your family.

If you're actually DOING something about it, then I applaud your efforts and hope they will bear the fruit that you hope they will. I had plans too but I scrapped them deciding that this country has people that don't even deserve the services of the amazingly dedicated Pak Army then what good will I be for them.

That was most probably before his talk with his family. And maybe the revelation that getting asylum might not be as easy as he thought? :zoni

Were they playing a live interview?

No, but it was the last interview Geo showed. He was wearing the same shirt as yesterday.

This lifted from another thread...this is an article from the Guardian...sorry if its been posted already but Zoni has apparently suggested he has received threats during domestic cricket too...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/nov/09/zulqarnain-haider-pakistan-betting-scandal

There was one man everybody wanted to talk to today: Zulqarnain Haider. The Pakistan wicketkeeper may be about to blow the whistle on one of the biggest corruption scandals in the history of sport. Haider is keeping what he knows close to his chest for the moment, but he let slip some disturbing hints today and made it clear that there is much more to come.

Haider spent the day in a hotel just outside Heathrow airport, protected by a police cordon and under siege from the assembled media. The only time anyone saw him was at 3pm, when he was whisked from the hotel by the police, bundled into a van and driven to a nearby station for questioning.

Information seeped out – much of it contradictory. What is undisputed is that Haider says he is on the run because death threats were made against him and his family after he refused to co-operate with match-fixers during Pakistan's recent one-day international series against South Africa in Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Yesterday, Haider told the Pakistani television news station Geo TV: "I was approached by one person who asked me to fix the fourth and fifth match and said that there would be problems for me if I did not do it. I was told to co-operate or I would face lot of problems. This person approached me while I had gone out of the hotel for dinner. He told me: 'Co-operate with us and you can make a lot of money.' He said: 'If you don't co-operate you will no longer be part of the team and we can make life very difficult for you.'"

Haider gave several phone interviews to Geo TV over the course of the day. In the morning he claimed he had come to England to seek asylum and that at the age of 24, he was retiring from international cricket. Authorities in England made it clear that he did not have a strong claim for asylum. By the late afternoon he had changed his mind on both counts.

"The border agency has taken my fingerprints and issued me a temporary stay," Haider said. "I had no intentions of applying for political asylum at this stage and if the Pakistan government is ready to give me assurance of security for me and my family, I am ready to return to Pakistan. I have no issues playing for Pakistan again provided the Pakistan Cricket Board wants me to play. I had a promising career to look forward to as a Pakistan player. Now my entire career is at stake. I want my family to be with me here as I also fear for their safety."

Haider's wife and two daughters have been under armed guard since yesterday morning. His wife, Qurutul Ain, has pleaded for her husband to return to Dubai. Haider checked out of the Grand Hyatt hotel yesterday morning and made his way to the airport. As he left he passed several team-mates, who were gathering for their morning prayers. He told them he was going to meet a cousin and would return to the hotel in time to catch the team bus to the ground for the fifth one-day international. He never came back.

His flight caught everyone on the hop. The PCB spent much of today trying to get in touch with him, but struggled to do so because his mobile phone had been confiscated as part of the investigation. Zakir Khan, the PCB's director of cricket operations, said: "We have been trying to get through to him, to get hold of his family but nobody can give us satisfactory information about his whereabouts. It's a complete surprise what he has done at the moment."

The Pakistan team manager, Intikhab Alam, said: "No, he didn't inform me or anyone in the management about what was going on. He didn't come to us for help. We had no idea what he was up to or thinking."

The International Cricket Council said it was a matter for the PCB to deal with, though it would offer full support if it was needed. Haider has said that he has spoken to the ICC's Anti-Corruption and Security Unit since he arrived in England. The ICC maintained that given the serious nature of the threats made against the player, it would be compromising his safety if it revealed details of any interaction to the public.

Whatever Haider reveals to the ACSU and the police, it is likely to be explosive. He also said yesterday that he had received threats from match-fixers while playing in Pakistani domestic cricket as captain of the Lahore Eagles, and particular suspicion has fallen on a one-day match against National Bank played in March 2009.

Below is the match...he scored a duck and his side went for 123 off 6 overs with Salman hitting 92 off 25 deliveries...

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakdomestic/engine/current/match/392532.html

Seems hes starting to talk...

His flight caught everyone on the hop. The PCB spent much of today trying to get in touch with him, but struggled to do so because his mobile phone had been confiscated as part of the investigation. Zakir Khan, the PCB's director of cricket operations, said: "We have been trying to get through to him, to get hold of his family but nobody can give us satisfactory information about his whereabouts. It's a complete surprise what he has done at the moment."

The Pakistan team manager, Intikhab Alam, said: "No, he didn't inform me or anyone in the management about what was going on. He didn't come to us for help. We had no idea what he was up to or thinking."

That explains a bit.

Whatever Haider reveals to the ACSU and the police, it is likely to be explosive. He also said yesterday that he had received threats from match-fixers while playing in Pakistani domestic cricket as captain of the Lahore Eagles, and particular suspicion has fallen on a one-day match against National Bank played in March 2009.

Yeah, i just read that too.. apparently he was asked to pick certain players but when he refused to, he was sacked as team captain.

On 24th Feb, a status on a certain ZH FB-page said he wanted to "expose" Lahore Cricket. Surely he wouldn't want to go to London to do that..

Below is the match...he scored a duck and his side went for 123 off 6 overs with Salman hitting 92 off 25 deliveries...

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakdomestic/engine/current/match/392532.html

Seems hes starting to talk...

His own duck doesn't exactly support his argument. But anyway, even if this gets investigated, all that's going to uncover is sifarish in selection. It should be punished still, yes. But it wont help his case in what he has done now, tbh. This is on a totally different scale.

On 24th Feb, a status on a certain ZH FB-page said he wanted to "expose" Lahore Cricket. Surely he wouldn't want to go to London to do that..

Yeah he seems to have some tiffs in domestic cricket. For all we know, they could be his genuine concerns and should be addressed. But as i mentioned, it wont help him much in this present case.

When I joined a cricket site Haider added me on Facebook (only to delete me 2 months ago) and there were plenty of statuses where he was swearing at selectors etc for "sifarish"

Yeah and the PCB's stance would be - "Oh we're doing a crackdown against it all and the ICC is now satisfied with our improvements etc."

So really, how good is beating a dead horse? :20:

When I joined a cricket site Haider added me on Facebook (only to delete me 2 months ago) and there were plenty of statuses where he was swearing at selectors etc for "sifarish"

Why would he delete you?

Moiz bhai, your status as an undercover PP Heathrow reporter isn't "talk of the circles", is it? :ibutt

Yeah. I for one would never support any argument that there is no corruption in our domestic cricket! :))

And sifarishi culture is pretty common in all areas of life in Pakistan. Why would domestic cricket be safe?

Why would he delete you?

Moiz bhai, your status as an undercover PP Heathrow reporter isn't "talk of the circles", is it? :ibutt
well when he got picked for the edgbaston match I congratulated him and I think he realized I wasn't actually somebody he knew lol

Why Is Zulqernain doing this?

I am astonished by what zulqernain has done, but what has got me thinkin is why did he take his passport of the pakistani team management a day before the match saying "he wanted to buy a sim card for this phone", so he got his passport and then the next day flees to uk, so what my question is that did he pre plan what he was going to do?.......

Whether or not he scored the winning runs, he was gonna flee to the uk neway?........it was just a mere coincidence that he happened to score the winning runs, what do u guys think?

Well considering Zoni's poor financial situation right now, he would be wise to take the first flight available from the UK to Pakistan especially since its clear that his family does not support his actions in any way and have refused to come to the UK to join him. I think it will help him mentally, emotionally to be with his family, wife and kids to get over this experience.

But at the same time he can kiss his Pakistani career goodbye. Doubt the PCB or his fellow Pakistani players will receive him warmly after he abandoned and walked out on them just like that without any sort of protocol or basic civil manners.

Heck why should the PCB give a **** about him when he has been giving interviews left right and center, contacting the ICC, Scotland Yard but not getting in touch with the board he is contracted too, employed by and pays his wages.

Uhf. I just read all this now. My internet was gone until today and I missed the game too. This is unbelieveble. I'm curious too as to why Zulqarnain didn't go through the proper channels. Did he not have faith in the ICC/ACSU? Was he scared for his faminly or being labelled a snitch? Considering how the ICC handled the spot-fixing allegations, I can't blame him for not trusting the ICC.

angels and minsiters of grace defend us..

this whole episode is bringing out the worst in paksitanis..now here are the facts:

zoni refuses to fix a match,
gets threatened unless he comes into line,
family gets threatened,
feels he is in danger for refusing to sellout his country
flees to the uk a relatively safe country that has a history of taking in asylum seekers and those under threat
paksitani fans villify him for the above--hain jee??

Except those aren't established as "facts".

after reading many posts. One thing is very clear that whole country need education, team player and lot more communication skills. We have seen from top to down. Infact, it's harsh reality.

Okay - 24 hours ago, I thought Zulqarnain is speaking the truth but after watching his second interview with Geo, I can tell for sure that he's lying and his main purpose was to flee to UK because he knew he was going to get replaced very soon.

No, I'm not predicting stuff - Lets look at the facts we have so far:

- A guy approached Zulqarnain after the second ODI and told him that we'll give you a lot of money if you come with us. All you have to do is lose the match!

- Zulqarnain did not think it's too serious and ignored it

- After the 4th ODI, Zulqarnain got this feeling that his life could be in danger.. Maybe that guy will now try to kill him because he has played a winning knock for the first time in his life

- Zulqarnain does not tell any of the player in the team about this minor incident

- Zulqarnain vanishes from UAE, leaving his team and goes to UK

HOW THE HECK DOES ANY OF THAT MAKE SENSE?!?!

Let me ask you then sir, what are you doing to improve the condition of your country? What do you plan to do for the improvement of the condition in your country?

If both of the answers are "nothing", then you do not care for the "country"...it's just a delusional thought when you actually just care for your family.

If you're actually DOING something about it, then I applaud your efforts and hope they will bear the fruit that you hope they will. I had plans too but I scrapped them deciding that this country has people that don't even deserve the services of the amazingly dedicated Pak Army then what good will I be for them.

I think you are a child. No problem you will understand my stance with passage of time. Right now I have only pity for your views and nothing else.

Okay - 24 hours ago, I thought Zulqarnain is speaking the truth but after watching his second interview with Geo, I can tell for sure that he's lying and his main purpose was to flee to UK because he knew he was going to get replaced very soon.

No, I'm not predicting stuff - Lets look at the facts we have so far:

- A guy approached Zulqarnain after the second ODI and told him that we'll give you a lot of money if you come with us. All you have to do is lose the match!

- Zulqarnain did not think it's too serious and ignored it

- After the 4th ODI, Zulqarnain got this feeling that his life could be in danger.. Maybe that guy will now try to kill him because he has played a winning knock for the first time in his life

- Zulqarnain does not tell any of the player in the team about this minor incident

- Zulqarnain vanishes from UAE, leaving his team and goes to UK

HOW THE HECK DOES ANY OF THAT MAKE SENSE?!?!

Your views are changing faster than Zoni's statements.

Thank you.

Sorry but you're one of the old crops. The irrational ones, like some of my direct family...but I appreciate the people who KNOW the reality of Pakistan and how much hope of future it holds for a citizen.

The only way you can really LOVE Pakistan is when you serve in a position of power honestly and try to do something about the corruption and lawlessness. Otherwise you're just like everyone else living inside or outside the country.

You know what your country needs, you're not doing that...so how better are you than me in loving Pakistan?
Simply living there doesn't help the country one damn bit, especially when you know your taxes aren't being utilized for the progress of the country.

I suppose your parents are also from that irrational crops lad. And which crop are you from? I will tell you the "Y" generation. Now go and search what that means. :inti

Can we please keep the discussion on Zulqarnain?

Can the confused teenage kids living abroad (or at least kids mentally) who seem to be going through some sort of an identity crisis, and the ultra patriotic defend Pakistan at all costs even against a bunch of confused teenagers please please take your discussion to an appropriate forum? maybe the fix your issues one forum post at a time.com website? Thank you.

hurrah

Zulqarnain why you shot yourself in the foot? Zoni's mind will be echoing these words now.

:14:

:)) Well said, and on this saga, Zoni neh doob mari hai, jhoota hai aur ab sazaa b mili gi. Itni drama bazi ki kya zaroorat thi?

if you get muder threats? what would you do?

i don't know you but if someone come to me and said that he is going to kill my familly or me , i will not runaway to england and ask for asylum!!!! 1st i go back to pakistan and put my daughter or son, my wife and my family in safe place and take care of they're security and not save my ass first!!!!!!!!! what type of guy is zulqarnain only think about him not even call his family to tell them what he was doing!!!

Maybe he figured they were safe for now, with 10-12 security gaurds at the door. But in the long term, he figured they wouldn't be. So looking ahead, he decided he wanted to stay in UK.

man c'mon he don't have a brain to think in long term

Yeh, ignore short term security for long term security. And in between that if God forbid he or his family was attacked than no problem because zulqarnain has insured long term security. Way to go zulqarnain.

I suppose your parents are also from that irrational crops lad. And which crop are you from? I will tell you the "Y" generation. Now go and search what that means. :inti

Yup, at least one of them are :D
Not saying it's a bad thing, but it's just irrational to be attached to a piece of land. Lol no i'm not from the "Y" generation, I'm just rational. :) Hey, no offense meant. I love my parents but that doesn't mean I'll say they're rational at most times.

sure, not selling out a match is just wrong ethics...it's not rational to take money to lose a match when you can win it and be more famous :) (see what I did there? :P)

Haider made a big mistake: Razzaq

Karachi: Pakistan all-rounder Abdul Razzaq on Wednesday said that wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider has made a big mistake by deciding to flee the team hotel and go to London.

"I don't think he did the right thing. He made a big mistake. If he had any issues he should have told the senior players or the management," Razzaq told the media on returning from Dubai.

The seasoned player said that Haider was a young and promising player but his absence would not have an impact on the team in the future.

http://cricketnext.in.com/news/haider-made-a-big-mistake-razzaq/51669-13.html

I msgd him on fb just now and invited him to join pakpassion,as it is the largest pakistani fan base on the internet. he said that he knows about pakpassion but he said he would join in 1-2 weeks as he is busy... below i have quoted the exact msg.

Msg from me:-
"by the way bhai, i think you know about pakpassion.net ? the same group who took your interview when you arrived to England for the test matches, can you sign up there, because it is the biggest pakistan fan base online, and everyone is anxious to find out you are ok.. and how things are going. please check it out "

Msg from Zoni :-

"i knw pakistan passion but i cant cuz i have alot of work 2 do maybe in 1 or 2 weeks i iwll "

Yeah I noticed that too :))

Majid Bhatti on Geo does not sound pleased with Zoni. :P

Majid bhatti was making up stories on geo News but immediately was denied by :inti on express News...:)) :inti is cleaver..he has ph. no of express News editor in his pocket.

Majid bhati you retard :inti

Imran Khan on Geo Super is not very pleased either.

Says he played cricket for two decades but never was threatened in the way Zoni is claiming. The impressions going out to the world is that if Pakistan players dont do as bookies say, they'll be killed.

He says instead of players playing and bringing such bad name to us, we should perhaps stop playing cricket.

Doesn't sound like Zoni's fan, tbh.

If you take a step back and look at the implications of what Zoni has done, especially given the climate surrounding the Pakistan team at the moment, it's close to one of the worst possible things to happen.

Luckily everyone thinks Zoni is gaga (maybe rightly so) and it's not being played up as much in the media.

Ex-Pakistan captain Imran Khan baffled by defection
Former Pakistan cricket captain Imran Khan said yesterday that he was baffled by the defection of Zulqarnain Haider from the team camp in Dubai.

In an exclusive interview with The National on the sidelines of the Celebration of Entrepreneurship conference in Dubai, Khan said that although he had not yet been in touch with Pakistani cricket officials, he did not believe Haider's story that he has received death threats.

"I have absolutely no idea why this has happened but the whole thing seems deeply suspicious to me. I don't know what is the reason behind this but I cannot believe it's simply some threats from the mafia. It makes no sense to me. In my 21 year cricketing career why did no one ever threaten me?

"Politics is different, there I'm challenging the biggest mafias who stand to lose if I come into power. I'm attacking them and clearly they are threatened by me but in this case I'm quite perplexed by this. It's too suspicious to me. It can't be that some mafia figure has threatened him. It makes no sense. Why would they threaten him?"

http://www.thenational.ae/sport/cricket/ex-pakistan-captain-imran-khan-baffled-by-defection

I msgd him on fb just now and invited him to join pakpassion,as it is the largest pakistani fan base on the internet. he said that he knows about pakpassion but he said he would join in 1-2 weeks as he is busy... below i have quoted the exact msg.

Msg from me:-
"by the way bhai, i think you know about pakpassion.net ? the same group who took your interview when you arrived to England for the test matches, can you sign up there, because it is the biggest pakistan fan base online, and everyone is anxious to find out you are ok.. and how things are going. please check it out "

Msg from Zoni :-

"i knw pakistan passion but i cant cuz i have alot of work 2 do maybe in 1 or 2 weeks i iwll "

he did not reply to my message which I sent yesterday :(

but he did the last time I sent :gul

A friend called me and told me that ARY News is reporting that Zulqarnain Haider took money from the bookie (who was indian, their words) to loose the 4th ODI, but then "he won" us the 4th game. And then he fled of to England with the money, lol. Not sure whether it is true, none of us would beleive it yet...

LOOL, here comes the twist! :butt

LOL!!!:)))

A few hours ago, the same ARY News was reporting that their "sources" have informed them that Zulqarnain Haider took Rs. 3.5 Crore from an Indian bookie in order to leave the team on the morning of the final ODI.

Bookies paid 35 mln to Zulqarnain to flee: ARY News

LAHORE(Zulqarnain): Bookies provided Rs 35 million to Pakistani wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider to flee to England before the fifth one-day international against South Africa in Dubai, sources claimed.

Two Indian bookies paid the amount to Pakistani wicketkeeper and remained in touch with the player during the one day series, the sources informed this correspondent.

Zulqarnain put his international career on stake after payment of the huge amount, they claimed.

Another twist.

LAHORE(Zulqarnain): Bookies provided Rs 35 million to Pakistani wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider to flee to England before the fifth one-day international against South Africa in Dubai, sources claimed.

Two Indian bookies paid the amount to Pakistani wicketkeeper and remained in touch with the player during the one day series, the sources informed this correspondent.

Zulqarnain put his international career on stake after payment of the huge amount, they claimed.

Another twist.

Do we know the names of those bookies? Is the last name Akmal, by any chance? :kami:umarakmal

Another twist.

now this is bs, they're trying their best to destroy his character so no matter what he says, people won't believe him. the PCB is worried!

Another twist.
which type of fixing is this ....

we had match fixing
spot fixing
& now travel fixing ....:) ....

Plus he hasn't contacted the High Commission either. And he doesn't have money for his own lawyer.
He doesn't need to contact the High Commission at all - in fact, it would be silly to do so.

And he doesn't need money for a lawyer.

Here is the Sun article from today....

By EMILY NASH

TERRIFIED Pakistan wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider last night told The Sun of his flight to safety in the UK, revealing: "I was running for my life."
The 24-year-old sensationally quit international cricket yesterday after telling how threats from crooked bookies forced him to flee his team's hotel in Dubai and seek refuge in London.

With his family under armed guard in Pakistan and speaking from a secret location, he said: "The threat was so imminent, I had to leave. My life was at stake.

"Had I not flown out in time, you would have the news of my death. They would have killed me. They were chasing me."

Haider had been living in fear since scoring the match-winning 19 not out which led Pakistan to victory against South Africa in the fourth One Day International in Dubai last Friday.

He revealed the threats began before the crucial match.

Haider - who is claiming asylum in the UK - said: "I was approached by a bookie who wanted me to fix the fourth and fifth one-dayers.

"This person approached me while I had gone out of the hotel for dinner. He told me co-operate and I'd make a lot of money - or face the consequences.

"He said if I didn't then I would no longer be part of the team and they would make life very difficult. Until the last day I was not so scared, I did not take it seriously until the end of the fourth match."

As he flew to Britain on Monday, his side lost the final one-dayer. It gave South Africa a 3-2 victory in the series.

Describing his harrowing lone journey to the UK, Haider said: "I was not confident enough to speak to the team management about it because I didn't want to get my other team-mates into trouble.

On the run ... Haider fled after being asked to fix matches "I was running for my life. I was praying to God to save me."

"When I finally got on the plane I felt a little relieved, but then I thought of my family. I am still very concerned about them."

Haider has left behind his parents, older brother Raza and his sister in Pakistan. They were last night being guarded at home in Lahore by a dozen police officers.

The cricketer added: "My only concern now is the security of my family. I am very, very concerned. I want the Pakistan government to act and ensure my family is safe.

"There is no point in making myself secure and losing my family." Haider was yesterday interviewed by Scotland Yard, border control officials and members of the International Cricket Council's Anti-Corruption and Security Unit. He said: "I will reveal the truth when I feel myself secure.

"I have not met any match fixers myself, except for the man who approached me, but I know some players have links with them. I can't name anyone right now but may do so in the future."

He added: "The fixing thing, we need to stop it for the sake of our country and the cricket. The bookmakers are among our ranks."

And Haider said he believed the corruption went right to the top.

He added: "I think influential people are involved. I have heard some influential politicians back the bookies. They run the government, so who can catch them?" Asked if he believed match-fixing had spread throughout the cricket world, the wicketkeeper replied: "Certainly."

The scandal is the latest to hit the Pakistan side after Test captain Salman Butt and bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif were suspended by the ICC for alleged spot-fixing during their August tour of England.

Last night ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said of Haider: "I don't think it was wise of him to have done what he did because it doesn't solve the problems." But he added: "We are serious about rooting out corruption from the game."

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepag...-Haider-seeks-asylum-in-UK.html#ixzz14t2XnXR6

So it only occurred to him when he was the plane...... oh damn what about my family!! What a brave man he is..... NOT!

Expect NOTW story to follow on Sunday...

Intikhab Alam told Geo that some players have also confided in him about Zoni's behavior in the team and he has come to the conclusion that Zulqernain is a bit mentally unstable. :)))

He was right about them being retards. Looks like he is really on to something again this time! :))

^ this is all to take the spotlight off of the corruption in the PCB, just prove that the whistleblower's mental