Trump raises India tariffs to 50% over Russian oil purchases [Update@post#255]

Trump says India offered to remove tariffs on US goods

US President Donald Trump says India has offered to cut its tariffs "to nothing" even as he called the current trade stalemate with the country "a totally one sided disaster".

US tariffs of 50% on goods from India - which includes 25% penalty for Delhi's refusal to stop buying oil from Russia - took effect last week.

India has not responded to Trump's latest comment but such war of words over Russian oil has caused Delhi-Washington ties to hit an all-time low.

Trump's comment coincides with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi attending the Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO) summit in Tianjin where he met Chinese President Xi Jinping and Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Washington says Delhi has been indirectly funding Russia's war in Ukraine.

"India buys most of its oil and military products from Russia, very little from the US," Trump wrote, adding Delhi should have cut tariffs "years ago".

Delhi has previously said that oil supply from Russia was vital to meet the energy needs of its vast population.

It has also called the tariffs "unfair, unjustified and unreasonable".

Last week, the country's commerce minister, Piyush Goyal, said India "will neither bow down nor ever appear weak" in its economic relationships with other countries.

He also said the country was ready to a have a free-trade agreement with anyone who wanted it.

On Monday, Trump wrote: "What few people understand is that we do very little business with India, but they do a tremendous amount of business with us. In other words, they sell us massive amounts of goods, their biggest "client," but we sell them very little - Until now a totally one sided relationship, and it has been for many decades."

The US was, until recently, India's largest trading partner and the tariffs have sparked fears that exports and growth in the world's fifth largest economy could suffer.

At the SCO summit, Modi was seen shaking hands with Putin ahead of a meeting hosted by Xi.

The SCO, whose members include China, India, Iran, Pakistan and Russia, is seen as a challenge to Trump and US dominance on a global level.

Putin and Modi later spent 45 minutes inside the Russian leader's car - after which Modi posted a picture of their journey alongside the compliment to Putin.

The Indian PM said he had an "insightful" exchange with Putin.

Trump: Stop buying oil from Russia, or I’ll slap a 25% tariff on you! 🇺🇸

Modi: Sips chai Okay. 🙂 continues shopping carting Russian oil like it’s an Amazon sale

Trump: YOU DIDN’T LISTEN?! Fine, here’s 25% tariff! Next time, it’s 50%! 😡

Modi: Adds extra samosas to plate Pfff...

Trump: Okay, HERE’S YOUR 50% tariff! Now STOP BUYING RUSSIAN OIL! 😤

Pak Posters: “Awww... plij, plij dethrone Modi ji! 🥺

Modi: Ordering oil from Russia in bulk like it’s Black Friday Pfff...

Trump: Red-faced like a tandoori chicken Calls Modi not once... not twice... but FOUR TIMES! 📞📞📞📞

Modi: Silent mode ON Pffff...

Trump: HOW DARE HE IGNORE ME?! 😡

Modi: Takes group selfie with Putin & Xi “Bhai-bhai!” ✌️📸
Caption: “Closer than ever. 💕

Trump: Cries into Diet Coke, disappears for 3 days, comes back... straight to golf course. 🏌️‍♂️

Pak Posters: “Indians are hypocrites! Hindutvas are this... Hindutvas are that...
Arre yeh kya ho gaya, Paijaan? kuch karo!” 😭

1756803255138.png

I would leave the Pakistanis out of it, they do not hold any value on this chess board where the big boys are playing.

India is the pawn that is being been sacrificed by USA infront of our very eyes, after it realise that India cannot match up to Pakistan let alone China in combat. So they ended Indian Strategic freeloading.

Pitty for you, your previous comments on China are preserved on this forum :LOL::LOL::LOL:

India is the pawn that is being been sacrificed by USA infront of our very eyes, after it realise that India cannot match up to Pakistan let alone China in combat. So they ended Indian Strategic freeloading.

Pitty for you, your previous comments on China are preserved on this forum :LOL::LOL::LOL:

Yes yes, I agree Pakistan is the biggest player, they so big they can't even fit on the chess board 🤡

While India's leaders strive for good economic deals with the big boyz, Pakistan's leaders are busy buying the latest billion dollar military gadgets and the rest of the country can't even buy roti :facepalm:

I get it, the cope is hard these days.... :LOL:

Rather than get salty over Pakistan, maybe have a hard look at yourselves, just by pretending and shouting greatness does not make you great.

Pakistan is a lost cause, I have said it here for more than a decade.

No coming back from the mess they are in.

Rather than get salty over Pakistan, maybe have a hard look at yourselves, just by pretending and shouting greatness does not make you great.

No coping here, I was just making a glaring observation.

He definitely has his quirks. Or are you saying he is AC-DC. Probably is.
@Bhaijaan is the authority on that topic and he assures me he isn't.

It seems a bit high school teenage girl style though, hey, Trump, you dumped me, so I'll grab another boy's hand and take pics.

Indians declare victory daily. Their media coverage is nauseating. Have you seen some of their ridiculous takes recently? Random pictures of Shabaz Sharif that are over analysed, long detailed love letters about Modi sitting in the Limosine with Putin and gazing into each others eyes. Imagine being fed this stuff 24/7. And then when the narrative changes they have to do u-turns and gymnastics accordingly, boycott oops wait no boycott, Bangladesh good, no Bangladesh failed, China enemy, oh wait China friend.

It's no wonder @Romali_rotti has spent a decade commenting that Pakistan is a failed state. A flipping decade.

Pakistan is the only thing on their mind, despite India being slapped around in the last few months by almost every country they have dealings with.

And they have no remorse for allowing their economy to be built on the remains of dead Ukrainians.

@Bhaijaan is the authority on that topic and he assures me he isn't.

It seems a bit high school teenage girl style though, hey, Trump, you dumped me, so I'll grab another boy's hand and take pics.

I have my suspicions. Come to think of it, both Modi and Rahul Gandhi have been single their entire adult lives.

A prominent indian commentator strongly hinted at it in 2013 but later deleted the tweet, which did make me wonder.

It's no wonder @Romali_rotti has spent a decade commenting that Pakistan is a failed state. A flipping decade.

Rotti only says that because he deeply cares about Pakistan. As the saying goes, 'you only criticise the ones you love :leo

Why else would he be on this forum for twenty years now ?

I have my suspicions. Come to think of it, both Modi and Rahul Gandhi have been single their entire adult lives.

A prominent indian commentator strongly hinted at it in 2013 but later deleted the tweet, which did make me wonder.
A prominent journalist I talked to a couple of years back at a literature festival told me in was common knowledge among the journalistic community about Rahul Gandhi. Most people are sympathetic to his predicament which is why nobody makes a big deal about it.

No idea about Modi

A prominent journalist I talked to a couple of years back at a literature festival told me in was common knowledge among the journalistic community about Rahul Gandhi.

Who's that ? I don't see a problem with revealing it on an anoynmous forum. The commentator I mentioned was Brahma Chellaney, a serious analyst who does TV panels regulary commenting on national security affairs.

I found his deleted tweet from 2013. He made this right after the Delhi High Court decriminalised gay relations and the ensuing poltical outrage -

Hypocritical India has had one bisexual PM; one gay President; and one PM with live-in woman partner. Two of those dreaming to be PM are gay.

Rahul and Modi .. :unsure:

Who's that ? I don't see a problem with revealing it on an anoynmous forum. The commentator I mentioned was Brahma Chellaney, a serious analyst who does TV panels regulary commenting on national security affairs.

I found his deleted tweet from 2013. He made this right after the Delhi High Court decriminalised gay relations and the ensuing poltical outrage -

Hypocritical India has had one bisexual PM; one gay President; and one PM with live-in woman partner. Two of those dreaming to be PM are gay.

Rahul and Modi .. :unsure:
Neerja Chowdhury. She'd just published a book about Indian Prime Ministers. I met her at the Jaipur Lit Fest