Trump raises India tariffs to 50% over Russian oil purchases [Update@post#255]

Trump says India offered to remove tariffs on US goods

US President Donald Trump says India has offered to cut its tariffs "to nothing" even as he called the current trade stalemate with the country "a totally one sided disaster".

US tariffs of 50% on goods from India - which includes 25% penalty for Delhi's refusal to stop buying oil from Russia - took effect last week.

India has not responded to Trump's latest comment but such war of words over Russian oil has caused Delhi-Washington ties to hit an all-time low.

Trump's comment coincides with Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi attending the Shanghai Co-operation Organisation (SCO) summit in Tianjin where he met Chinese President Xi Jinping and Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Washington says Delhi has been indirectly funding Russia's war in Ukraine.

"India buys most of its oil and military products from Russia, very little from the US," Trump wrote, adding Delhi should have cut tariffs "years ago".

Delhi has previously said that oil supply from Russia was vital to meet the energy needs of its vast population.

It has also called the tariffs "unfair, unjustified and unreasonable".

Last week, the country's commerce minister, Piyush Goyal, said India "will neither bow down nor ever appear weak" in its economic relationships with other countries.

He also said the country was ready to a have a free-trade agreement with anyone who wanted it.

On Monday, Trump wrote: "What few people understand is that we do very little business with India, but they do a tremendous amount of business with us. In other words, they sell us massive amounts of goods, their biggest "client," but we sell them very little - Until now a totally one sided relationship, and it has been for many decades."

The US was, until recently, India's largest trading partner and the tariffs have sparked fears that exports and growth in the world's fifth largest economy could suffer.

At the SCO summit, Modi was seen shaking hands with Putin ahead of a meeting hosted by Xi.

The SCO, whose members include China, India, Iran, Pakistan and Russia, is seen as a challenge to Trump and US dominance on a global level.

Putin and Modi later spent 45 minutes inside the Russian leader's car - after which Modi posted a picture of their journey alongside the compliment to Putin.

The Indian PM said he had an "insightful" exchange with Putin.

Trump: Stop buying oil from Russia, or I’ll slap a 25% tariff on you! 🇺🇸

Modi: Sips chai Okay. 🙂 continues shopping carting Russian oil like it’s an Amazon sale

Trump: YOU DIDN’T LISTEN?! Fine, here’s 25% tariff! Next time, it’s 50%! 😡

Modi: Adds extra samosas to plate Pfff...

Trump: Okay, HERE’S YOUR 50% tariff! Now STOP BUYING RUSSIAN OIL! 😤

Pak Posters: “Awww... plij, plij dethrone Modi ji! 🥺

Modi: Ordering oil from Russia in bulk like it’s Black Friday Pfff...

Trump: Red-faced like a tandoori chicken Calls Modi not once... not twice... but FOUR TIMES! 📞📞📞📞

Modi: Silent mode ON Pffff...

Trump: HOW DARE HE IGNORE ME?! 😡

Modi: Takes group selfie with Putin & Xi “Bhai-bhai!” ✌️📸
Caption: “Closer than ever. 💕

Trump: Cries into Diet Coke, disappears for 3 days, comes back... straight to golf course. 🏌️‍♂️

Pak Posters: “Indians are hypocrites! Hindutvas are this... Hindutvas are that...
Arre yeh kya ho gaya, Paijaan? kuch karo!” 😭

1756803255138.png

British Media also now saying Trump's Tariffs backfired spectacularly

I would leave the Pakistanis out of it, they do not hold any value on this chess board where the big boys are playing.

India is the pawn that is being been sacrificed by USA infront of our very eyes, after it realise that India cannot match up to Pakistan let alone China in combat. So they ended Indian Strategic freeloading.

Pitty for you, your previous comments on China are preserved on this forum :LOL::LOL::LOL:

India is the pawn that is being been sacrificed by USA infront of our very eyes, after it realise that India cannot match up to Pakistan let alone China in combat. So they ended Indian Strategic freeloading.

Pitty for you, your previous comments on China are preserved on this forum :LOL::LOL::LOL:

Yes yes, I agree Pakistan is the biggest player, they so big they can't even fit on the chess board 🤡

While India's leaders strive for good economic deals with the big boyz, Pakistan's leaders are busy buying the latest billion dollar military gadgets and the rest of the country can't even buy roti :facepalm:

I get it, the cope is hard these days.... :LOL:

Rather than get salty over Pakistan, maybe have a hard look at yourselves, just by pretending and shouting greatness does not make you great.

Pakistan is a lost cause, I have said it here for more than a decade.

No coming back from the mess they are in.

Rather than get salty over Pakistan, maybe have a hard look at yourselves, just by pretending and shouting greatness does not make you great.

No coping here, I was just making a glaring observation.

He definitely has his quirks. Or are you saying he is AC-DC. Probably is.
@Bhaijaan is the authority on that topic and he assures me he isn't.

It seems a bit high school teenage girl style though, hey, Trump, you dumped me, so I'll grab another boy's hand and take pics.

Indians declare victory daily. Their media coverage is nauseating. Have you seen some of their ridiculous takes recently? Random pictures of Shabaz Sharif that are over analysed, long detailed love letters about Modi sitting in the Limosine with Putin and gazing into each others eyes. Imagine being fed this stuff 24/7. And then when the narrative changes they have to do u-turns and gymnastics accordingly, boycott oops wait no boycott, Bangladesh good, no Bangladesh failed, China enemy, oh wait China friend.

It's no wonder @Romali_rotti has spent a decade commenting that Pakistan is a failed state. A flipping decade.

Pakistan is the only thing on their mind, despite India being slapped around in the last few months by almost every country they have dealings with.

And they have no remorse for allowing their economy to be built on the remains of dead Ukrainians.

@Bhaijaan is the authority on that topic and he assures me he isn't.

It seems a bit high school teenage girl style though, hey, Trump, you dumped me, so I'll grab another boy's hand and take pics.

I have my suspicions. Come to think of it, both Modi and Rahul Gandhi have been single their entire adult lives.

A prominent indian commentator strongly hinted at it in 2013 but later deleted the tweet, which did make me wonder.

It's no wonder @Romali_rotti has spent a decade commenting that Pakistan is a failed state. A flipping decade.

Rotti only says that because he deeply cares about Pakistan. As the saying goes, 'you only criticise the ones you love :leo

Why else would he be on this forum for twenty years now ?

I have my suspicions. Come to think of it, both Modi and Rahul Gandhi have been single their entire adult lives.

A prominent indian commentator strongly hinted at it in 2013 but later deleted the tweet, which did make me wonder.
A prominent journalist I talked to a couple of years back at a literature festival told me in was common knowledge among the journalistic community about Rahul Gandhi. Most people are sympathetic to his predicament which is why nobody makes a big deal about it.

No idea about Modi

A prominent journalist I talked to a couple of years back at a literature festival told me in was common knowledge among the journalistic community about Rahul Gandhi.

Who's that ? I don't see a problem with revealing it on an anoynmous forum. The commentator I mentioned was Brahma Chellaney, a serious analyst who does TV panels regulary commenting on national security affairs.

I found his deleted tweet from 2013. He made this right after the Delhi High Court decriminalised gay relations and the ensuing poltical outrage -

Hypocritical India has had one bisexual PM; one gay President; and one PM with live-in woman partner. Two of those dreaming to be PM are gay.

Rahul and Modi .. :unsure:

Who's that ? I don't see a problem with revealing it on an anoynmous forum. The commentator I mentioned was Brahma Chellaney, a serious analyst who does TV panels regulary commenting on national security affairs.

I found his deleted tweet from 2013. He made this right after the Delhi High Court decriminalised gay relations and the ensuing poltical outrage -

Hypocritical India has had one bisexual PM; one gay President; and one PM with live-in woman partner. Two of those dreaming to be PM are gay.

Neerja Chowdhury. She'd just published a book about Indian Prime Ministers. I met her at the Jaipur Lit Fest

Indians declare victory daily. Their media coverage is nauseating. Have you seen some of their ridiculous takes recently? Random pictures of Shabaz Sharif that are over analysed, long detailed love letters about Modi sitting in the Limosine with Putin and gazing into each others eyes. Imagine being fed this stuff 24/7. And then when the narrative changes they have to do u-turns and gymnastics accordingly, boycott oops wait no boycott, Bangladesh good, no Bangladesh failed, China enemy, oh wait China friend.

Pakistan is the only thing on their mind, despite India being slapped around in the last few months by almost every country they have dealings with.

And they have no remorse for allowing their economy to be built on the remains of dead Ukrainians.
I mean they are so radicalised that they cannot see wood for the trees.

2025 has truly been annus horribilus for Modi. The strategic freeloading they were afforded for the last 3 decades has been yanked away within a matter of months and they are struggling to come to terms with it. Running from pillar to post with arms out..... some be my frannd!!

You are giving Belawal hope..... :LOL:

Who were the others? Rahul and Modi were dreaming for the coveted seat at that time.

I mean they are so radicalised that they cannot see wood for the trees.

2025 has truly been annus horribilus for Modi. The strategic freeloading they were afforded for the last 3 decades has been yanked away within a matter of months and they are struggling to come to terms with it. Running from pillar to post with arms out..... some be my frannd!!
Dil behlane ke liye yeh khayal acha hai :ROFLMAO:

Horribilus? :srt

1756817105667.png

China's rise was with a massive help from the west as well as their IP. They will not repeat the same mistake with India.

India's "rise" is predicated on exporting people and gaming the system when they get there... i.e hiring only fellow Indians and exclude everyone else on and industrial scale etc..

India's strategic freeloading is over.

The West did not help China out of the goodness of their heart. They did it because they wanted cheap toys, cellphone, TVs etc.

The West also did not transfer 10 million jobs to India because they were being kind and wanted to help India. It happened because Indian coders, call center operators, back office employees were a fraction of the cost in the West.

Neither China nor India freeloaded. Don't fall for Trump/MAGA propaganda. The West got a lot more value in cheap goods, services than either China or India have from the jobs. Now if Trump and his idiotic buddies' motive is to stop the rise of China and India, they'll have to either ask their voters to either

1. Consume a lot less (goods and/or services) OR
2. Pay a lot more for what they consume OR
3. Find a way to magically increase productivity to make this stuff at home

Modi holding Putin's hands to annoy the US is probably the dumbest thing he has done in a while. The last thing you need is to antagonise the US even further and make them impose more tariffs/restrictions. Trump can ruin the Indian IT sector with the stroke of a pen.

The way the Trump administration has disrespected 25 years of diplomatic efforts to bring US & India closer, I must say GOI has shown utmost maturity and sensibility in not engaging in any war of words with them as many would have expected or wanted. In fact the most vocal and ruthless critics of this whole fiasco have been Western-American observers who understand that one man is about to undo years and years of diplomatic efforts with a very important country only for his business family to benefit from shadowy crypto, natural resources dealings with Pakistani dictatorship. They’re the people who understand Trump will be gone in a few years but it might take decades to rebuild the trust and momentum to align India with the Western

Americans cannot dictate whom India chooses as friends, which global summits we attend, or with whom our leaders share a laugh on a pleasant afternoon. India is not a client state. We are a sovereign nation and our diplomacy is guided by what serves the welfare of 1.4 billion Indians, not the insecurities of one man sitting in Washington.

Trump can disrupt global markets or wreck partnerships with the stroke of a pen like you said, he surely can do that and is doing that right now. He has proven that recklessness is his only consistent trait. But the world does not and cannot reshape its natural course around the whims of one impulsive, self-absorbed man.

Our stand has been clear from the beginning, India is proud, independent, and civilizationally rooted. We do what is best for our people, and no narcissist, however loud or reckless, can dictate our economic or foreign policy.

If other nations wish to discard their self-respect and bend the knee before a man like Trump, that is their choice. India, however, does not operate from a place of fear. For thousands of years, our civilization has endured and evolved. Greater powers than the United States once thought they could dominate or reshape India. They came and went. We remain. If our ancient civilization could withstand empires and conquerors, it can certainly withstand a few years of a political aberration in the White House.

At worst, our adversaries and detractors can delay our rise by years, perhaps decades. But they cannot halt the inevitable. The march of India to its rightful place at the top of the mountain is not a question of if, only of when.

The Indian IT sector, our industries, and our people are resilient enough to adapt and thrive.

So JD Vance will be next president. Looks like PawPaw is gone

:uakmal

Can India retaliate against Trump's 50% tariffs?

US President Donald Trump's 50% tariffs on India came into effect on 27 August. So far, rather than retaliating, India has put forth a carefully orchestrated geopolitical response to signal its displeasure to the US.

There's been the much publicised attempt at a rapprochement with China, and striking images of Prime Minister Narendra Modi sharing a limousine ride with Russian President Vladimir Putin splashed across the media from the sidelines of a security forum meeting in Tianjin.

Domestically, Modi has announced some help for struggling exporters and there are tax cuts on the anvil to mitigate the impact on exports.

But Delhi finds itself in an unenviable spot. The tariff impasse with its largest trading partner has continued far longer than anticipated, trade negotiations with Washington have come to a halt and the already damaged ties are fraying further with daily admonishments from US officials.

The repercussions are significant.

Prolonged 50% tariffs could shave off as much as 0.8% of India's GDP, according to some estimates.

India's exports to the US could drop by as much as $35bn (£26.1bn) this financial year and put hundreds of thousands of jobs across key industries like textiles, gems and jewellery and leather at risk.

Pushed to the brink, the question some are asking is whether Delhi will retaliate? And if not, what are its least damaging options?

If the past is any precedent, India hasn't shied away from retaliation. It imposed steep tariffs on some 28 US products, including almonds and apples back in 2019, when Washington had refused to exempt the country from higher taxes on steel and aluminium.

But this time, escalating the trade war will not be in India's interests, say experts.

"Retaliation is a very costly and unproductive strategy because at the end of the day India depends more on the United States than is the case in reverse," Ashley Tellis, a professor at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, told The Wire portal in an interview.

At $86bn, India's goods exports to the US are nearly three times higher than the US's goods exports to India.

India's symbolic responses "in support of a multipolar world" including deepening engagement with Japan, China and Russia have been wise moves, Ajay Srivastava of the Delhi-based Global Trade Research Initiative told the BBC, adding that direct retaliation at this stage would be premature.

"India should wait at least six months to assess the full extent of US actions—not just the 50% tariffs but also any additional measures that may follow, given the unpredictability of Trump and his advisers," Srivastava said.

Delhi needn't look further than towards its bigger neighbour north to understand what ***-for-tat trade measures can potentially do. Tariffs on China went up to some 150% when Beijing slapped retaliatory duties.

India should also be wary, some experts say, of the US expanding tariffs to non-goods areas like services, digital trade and outsourcing in the event of an escalation. These make up 6% of India's GDP.

US Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick has already warned of changes to H1B non-immigrant visas, 70% of which are used up by Indians, indicating that the impact of tense geopolitical ties has transcended trade.

So given the risks of retaliating are clearly very high, what are India's next best options?

The best buffer against the risk of US tariffs will be diversifying export markets, say experts.

It is time for India to "cultivate economic and diplomatic ties with countries like Mexico, Canada, and China. This also means strengthening trade and cooperation with other governments concerned about the impact of Trump's tariffs, particularly in Europe and Latin America", Kaushik Basu, former chief economic adviser to the Government of India, wrote in a recent piece for Project Syndicate.

Srivastava agrees. Using diplomatic coalitions, and trade diversification is India's best bet to "build pressure" on Washington, he says, keeping the option of targeted retaliation only as a measure of last resort.

There are some indications already that Delhi has been actively working to expedite other trade pacts.

After signing a comprehensive agreement with the UK in July, Indian Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal said the India-EU free trade deal was in advanced stages of negotiation.

But diversification will not be a quick fix.

"For an individual exporter, it is going to be much harder to find new customers in markets where they have previously not had partnerships, customers, or relationships," Srividya Jandhyala, a Singapore based trade expert, told the BBC.

Another challenge for Indian exporters will be the costs of switching to new markets.

"If new clients or customers need specialised product lines, machinery, equipment, or components, Indian exporters have to decide if it is worth it for them to invest in this when there is a high degree of uncertainty about future tariffs" Jandhyala said.

In the longer run though, there will be no option to find new trading partners given the mercurial nature of Trump's policies, say experts.

Mr Srivastava says the government must accelerate market diversification on a war-footing by doing things like leading sector-specific trade missions to alternative markets and establishing export hubs in countries like the UAE and Mexico to bypass high US tariffs.

And now more than ever, "domestic competitiveness needs urgent strengthening through technology and quality upgradation funds" for exporters, he says.

Otherwise India will further cede exports market share to other Asian peers like Bangladesh and Vietnam, who currently enjoy relatively better terms of trade with the US.

BBC

nope. Anyone with half a brain would not trust any words from Trump's mouth. If you doubt me, look around and see Trump voters avoiding Trump threads.
You Indians were singing his songs some months ag,o and since he has shown you a mirror, you guys have gone full rogue.... PITY

Next stage of punishment for India getting lined up.

You Indians were singing his songs some months ag,o and since he has shown you a mirror, you guys have gone full rogue.... PITY
and I'm mocking laughing both set of clowns, the indians who voted for Trump and the Pakistani nation

Rotti only says that because he deeply cares about Pakistan. As the saying goes, 'you only criticise the ones you love :leo

Why else would he be on this forum for twenty years now ?

Correct my heart breaks for Pakistan.

It is sad to see a country in such a diabolical ungettoutable mess, the mess Pakistanis have created is so bad, that it is a work of art.

All that is left for Pakistan till the end of time is to be an example for other countries on what not to do and on the dangerous consequences that come from horrible leadership....

Still wish this India US rift didn't happen. Seems all Trump wanted was help from India to get a Nobel peace prize, I understand the stance PM Modi took but having to align with China is not ideal.....

India is definitely in tricky waters but they have navigated it safely in the past so I expect them to do the same here.

Correct my heart breaks for Pakistan.

It is sad to see a country in such a diabolical ungettoutable mess, the mess Pakistanis have created is so bad, that it is a work of art.

All that is left for Pakistan till the end of time is to be an example for other countries on what not to do and on the dangerous consequences that come from horrible leadership....

Hmm I've always seen Pakistan as a country that doesn't worry too much about economic development issues because the drug of religion will always sustain them. I could be wrong :unsure:

You are correct, I am of the opinion the Arab religion is the reason for their downfall. I have never felt it was an intellect issue, both Indians and Pakistanis have the same ability imo, but throw in the Arab god, his religion and his prophet and kaboom outcome is what we see Pakistan of today...

Still wish this India US rift didn't happen. Seems all Trump wanted was help from India to get a Nobel peace prize, I understand the stance PM Modi took but having to align with China is not ideal.....

India is definitely in tricky waters but they have navigated it safely in the past so I expect them to do the same here.
The whole situation is weird. A pivot away from the US to China makes no sense.

- Economically, China has no interest in buying anything India makes - goods or services. India actually wants to reduce the amount of stuff it buys from China
- Politically, except for Russia, we have no common ally or interest. In fact, our interests collide almost everywhere
- Militarily, we've recently fought skirmishes, have unresolved border issues and neither they want to see equipment to us nor do we have any interest in buying from them

Obviously the US knows we're bluffing. But do we know they know we're bluffing? And do they know we know they know we're bluffing?

I don't see a lot of competence in India foreign policy recently unfortunately. We seem to have made it subordinate to domestic political needs. If other similar powers like Japan, the EU, UK are willing to play along to Trump's antics, why can't we? Nobody takes these antics seriously anyway...just need to give him some high profile win. Even Putin came running to Alaska when Trump called - indulging him without giving him anything.

What gives me hope is that at least except for these sudden China antics, we've mostly played it sober. All the senior ministers have stayed in line and except for some generic statements about independence and self reliance, we've not responded to Trump's baiting. Hopefully, it'll get resolved soon.

Peter Retardo is again spreading lies ! It is US who has profiteered from Ukraine war by 64 billions in aid to Ukraine and ultimately its MIC. It is America which is funding Ukraine war by buying Russian Uranium, Fertiliser’s & Chemicals.

To buy Russian Oil is India’s Sovereign decision. The who coined fictitious imaginative Ron Vara School of Economics should’t be the one to speak at all.

America is no one to lecture. The one’s who dropped Atomic Bomb killing millions, ravaged wars in Vietnam, Afghanistan, Iraq have galls to call us. Focus on American Empire which is in Twilight

:klopp :kp

Reporter asks Trump- Who do you blame for losing India to China?

Trump: “I don’t think we have lost them. I’m disappointed that India is buying Russian oil and I’ve let them know with very big tariff on India - 50% tariff. But I get along very well with Modi.”

Looks like he drunk tweeted in the morning

Reporter asks Trump- Who do you blame for losing India to China?

Trump: “I don’t think we have lost them. I’m disappointed that India is buying Russian oil and I’ve let them know with very big tariff on India - 50% tariff. But I get along very well with Modi.”

Looks like he drunk tweeted in the morning
Weird as it may seem but Trump doesn't drink alcohol at all.

I think he's letting them know what's coming round the corner if they don't do what he is saying, letting Modi's billionaire overlords to work their magic maybe?

I like the delusion but think you are confusing India with Pakistan/Bangladesh. Amreeka is not able to stop India from buying Russian oil and they force a regime change in India?

@DeadlyVenom bhai was joking and you took it seriously.

Woh Modi hai...Imran Khan nehi :yk
Rather ye India hai not the god foresaken joke of a country Pakistan.. where army chief to appease his overlord hand over a terrorist to gain some moolah

Trump says he and Modi will ‘always be friends’ despite escalating trade war​

Donald Trump and Narendra Modi have insisted their much-vaunted personal relationship still stands strong despite Washington imposing eye-watering 50 per cent tariffs on Indian imports.

The US president has rued Mr Modi's growing proximity with Russian leader Vladimir Putin and Chinese president Xi Jinping following a meeting of the trio at the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in Tianjin last week.

Mr Modi and Mr Putin were seen holding hands and chatting before sharing a car ride to their venue for bilateral talks. Images of the three most powerful Brics leaders coming together triggered outrage from Mr Trump, who claimed the US had "lost India and Russia to the deepest, darkest, China".

However, on Friday, Mr Trump told reporters at the Oval Office that he will "always be friends with (Narendra) Modi".

"He’s a great prime minister. He's great. But I just don't like what he's doing at this particular moment," the US president added.

"But India and the United States have a special relationship. There's nothing to worry about. We just have moments on occasion."

Mr Trump said he was "very disappointed" that India was buying "so much oil" from Russia. "We put a very big tariff on India, 50 per cent tariff, a very high tariff. I get along very well with [Narendra] Modi, he's great. He was here a couple of months ago," he added.

Critics of Mr Trump's policy say New Delhi has been selectively targeted for purchasing Russian oil while the EU continues to import liquefied natural gas from Russia. Despite mounting US pressure, New Delhi and Moscow intend to increase their annual trade by 50 per cent to $100bn (£74bn) over the next five years.

---
---

LMAO :ROFLMAO:

At this time of crisis, tagging the following people:

@DeadlyVenom - looks like no regime change in India
@LordJames - no Gujarat files will be re-opened
@Bhaag Viru Bhaag - Dil Ke armaan aasuo me beh gaye...aa aa aa
@The Bald Eagle - simply tagging because I like you
@Devadwal - :kp

Donald Trump and Narendra Modi have insisted their much-vaunted personal relationship still stands strong despite Washington imposing eye-watering 50 per cent tariffs on Indian imports.

The US president has rued Mr Modi's growing proximity with Russian leader Vladimir Putin and Chinese president Xi Jinping following a meeting of the trio at the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in Tianjin last week.

Mr Modi and Mr Putin were seen holding hands and chatting before sharing a car ride to their venue for bilateral talks. Images of the three most powerful Brics leaders coming together triggered outrage from Mr Trump, who claimed the US had "lost India and Russia to the deepest, darkest, China".

However, on Friday, Mr Trump told reporters at the Oval Office that he will "always be friends with (Narendra) Modi".

"He’s a great prime minister. He's great. But I just don't like what he's doing at this particular moment," the US president added.

"But India and the United States have a special relationship. There's nothing to worry about. We just have moments on occasion."

Mr Trump said he was "very disappointed" that India was buying "so much oil" from Russia. "We put a very big tariff on India, 50 per cent tariff, a very high tariff. I get along very well with [Narendra] Modi, he's great. He was here a couple of months ago," he added.

Critics of Mr Trump's policy say New Delhi has been selectively targeted for purchasing Russian oil while the EU continues to import liquefied natural gas from Russia. Despite mounting US pressure, New Delhi and Moscow intend to increase their annual trade by 50 per cent to $100bn (£74bn) over the next five years.

---
---

Lol damage control stuff

---
---

Lol seriously @DeadlyVenom think that there can be regime change in india ? Hahahahaha

India is too strong to dictated by anyone's other than Indians. Pakistani hai to vha jase hota hai vase sochta hai bro ye.

Rest are Clown poster's whom I don't take seriously.

:klopp :kp

---
---

So your point is...

Trump likes Modi so he has slapped a 50% Tariff on India!

ok, Got it.

---
---

Lmao, I already told you, the moment Trump gets friendly with Modi again, you will flip your tone and start worshipping him like before. You are just proving us right yet again. And the funniest part? You are tagging us thinking you will prove us wrong. Kitna bhola andhbhakt hai re tu, Raju. Waise ab China se dosti rakhni hai ya khatam? :yk :inti

Trump calls on EU to pressure Putin with 100% tariffs on China and India​

US President Donald Trump has called on the European Union to hit China and India with tariffs of up to 100% as part of his efforts to force Russian President Vladimir Putin to end the war in Ukraine, a source familiar with the discussions has told the BBC.

He made the demand, first reported by the Financial Times, during a meeting between US and EU officials on Tuesday discussing options to increase economic pressure on Russia.

The proposal comes as Trump struggles to broker a peace deal between Moscow and Kyiv and as Russia's strikes on Ukraine intensify.

Separately, Trump told reporters on Tuesday that he plans to talk to Putin on a call this week or early next week.

Ukraine's main government building in Kyiv was struck by a Russian missile over the weekend - in an attack that was seen as both symbolic and a major increase of aggression by the Kremlin.

Over the weekend, attacks across the country marked the heaviest aerial bombardment on Ukraine since the war began. Ukraine said Russian forces used at least 810 drones and 13 missiles.

On Tuesday, more than 20 civilians were killed by a Russian glide bomb in the eastern Donbas region, as they queued to collect their pensions.

Speaking to reporters after the weekend bombardment, Trump said he was "not happy with the whole situation" and threatened harsher sanctions on the Kremlin.

The US president has previously threatened harsher measures against Russia, but not taken any action despite Putin ignoring his deadlines and threats of sanctions.

A highly anticipated summit between the leaders in Alaska last month ended without a peace deal.

Trump's request to the European Union follows remarks from US Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent, who said Washington was prepared to escalate economic pressure but needed stronger European backing.

Trump also said on Tuesday that the US and India were "continuing negotiations to address the Trade Barriers" between the two countries.

He plans to speak to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the coming weeks and expects a "successful conclusion" to their trade talks, he wrote on his Truth Social platform.

In response to the post, Modi echoed Trump's optimism that the talks would be successful and said the two countries were "close friends and natural partners."

"Our teams are working to conclude these discussions at the earliest. I am also looking forward to speaking with President Trump," he added.

China and India are major buyers of Russian oil, which helps to keep the Russian economy afloat.

Last month, the US imposed a 50% tariff on goods from India, which included a 25% penalty for its transactions with Russia.

Although the EU has said it would end its dependency on Russian energy, around 19% of its natural gas imports still come from Russia.

If the EU does impose the tariffs on China and India it would mark a change to its approach of attempting to isolate Russia with sanctions rather than trade levies.

A masterclass in diplomacy by the greatest ever global leader in the modern era.

Priest King vibes

From Dead Economy To Great Countries!

Wow . this is a good development because neither country can afford it.

India under Modi has stood its ground unlike the EU, Japan, South Korea and others.

Done this without polemics .

Redounds to the prestige of Modi and India internationally.

The visuals of the SCO summit may have caused some rethink in the White House.

However, this sudden change of Trump’s tone carries a lesson. The tone can change again as abruptly.

Trump is not bothered about inconsistency. He thinks this is a form of unpredictability which gives the US strength in negotiations.

He has exposed his henchmen (Bessent, Lutnik, Navarro) to ridicule as they were insulting India and most probably have been caught by surprise by the change in Trump’s approach.

Shows the pitfalls in personalised and not process driven decisions.

Trump may think that resuming negotiations without lifting penalty sanctions would keep the pressure on India to make concessions beyond what has been already negotiated.

We may have to yield some ground but will that be enough for Trump to cry victory!

Hopefully, the rhetoric on the US side will now subside.

Issues had gone beyond trade negotiations to target the Indian community in the US because of this rhetoric.

Fingers crossed!

How is Peter Navarro even allowed to function still, his standard are that of MLA in South Asia. The guy wrote papers books citing someone with a random name which was made up.

Trump has always surrounded himself with such guys. Loyalty - not to any ideology or policy but to him personally is what matters to him. Navarro has always been fiercely loyal to whatever crazy position Trump currently espouses at any point of time.

He is actually the dumbest of the lot, his research on China is as stupid as it gets and he wrote books on it lol.

Tariffs on service sector with destroy margins of all Fortune 500 companies. The proposed HIRE act is a tariff on all service exports.

GCCs support not only US market but across the globe. Even if they take out their Indian exports, they have to shift these to US but not other countries go escape the tariffs. Overhead costs will rise up and inefficiencies will kill the margins. Its almost a similar story with typical IT exports.

This tariffs is a wake-up call for countries to decouple from the US, just like MNCs are decoupling from China.

GCC trend should double down and its more resilient to tariffs. Particularly, our IT sector should diversify more. It should be a wake up call for Tech consulting firms. GCCs will kill the likes of TCS and Infosys slowly, unless they build something unique.

Tariffs on service sector with destroy margins of all Fortune 500 companies. The proposed HIRE act is a tariff on all service exports.

GCCs support not only US market but across the globe. Even if they take out their Indian exports, they have to shift these to US but not other countries go escape the tariffs. Overhead costs will rise up and inefficiencies will kill the margins. Its almost a similar story with typical IT exports.

This tariffs is a wake-up call for countries to decouple from the US, just like MNCs are decoupling from China.

GCC trend should double down and its more resilient to tariffs. Particularly, our IT sector should diversify more. It should be a wake up call for Tech consulting firms. GCCs will kill the likes of TCS and Infosys slowly, unless they build something unique.
I'm guessing you meant to reply to some other post but i agree with points on GCC. Infosys has capable people capable of making a product, TCS doesn't or atleast didn't decade ago but they have the money just not any culture.

The IT consultancies will comeback probably after 5-6 years due to Agentic AI,don't see them making other products as such but they can invest in startups in India that have pedigree for such ambition.

From Dead Economy To Great Countries!

Wow . this is a good development because neither country can afford it.

India under Modi has stood its ground unlike the EU, Japan, South Korea and others.

Done this without polemics .

Redounds to the prestige of Modi and India internationally.

The visuals of the SCO summit may have caused some rethink in the White House.

However, this sudden change of Trump’s tone carries a lesson. The tone can change again as abruptly.

Trump is not bothered about inconsistency. He thinks this is a form of unpredictability which gives the US strength in negotiations.

He has exposed his henchmen (Bessent, Lutnik, Navarro) to ridicule as they were insulting India and most probably have been caught by surprise by the change in Trump’s approach.

Shows the pitfalls in personalised and not process driven decisions.

Trump may think that resuming negotiations without lifting penalty sanctions would keep the pressure on India to make concessions beyond what has been already negotiated.

We may have to yield some ground but will that be enough for Trump to cry victory!

Hopefully, the rhetoric on the US side will now subside.

Issues had gone beyond trade negotiations to target the Indian community in the US because of this rhetoric.

Fingers crossed!

I already shared my views :klopp :kp

Another development - didn't they tighten the US visa rules a few days ago ? It'll be harder for you from India .. for your trips to the US. Seems like those new rules were for targetting Indian appplicants.

Another development - didn't they tighten the US visa rules a few days ago ? It'll be harder for you from India .. for your trips to the US. Seems like those new rules were for targetting Indian appplicants
Yeah I'm curious how it'll go. I usually have to travel once or twice a year to the States. Co-incidentally, I'm leaving this weekend and have to enter in Atlanta this time. It'll be my first trip since the Orange clown has taken power.

Visa's not a real concern. I have 8 years to go before this one expires but I'm wondering if there'll be additional scrutiny at Immigration and whether the mood will be different in general.

I'll report back.

Trump Threatens 50-100% Tariffs On China, Demands NATO Stop Buying Russia Oil​

Trump Threatens 50-100% Tariffs On China, Demands NATO Stop Buying Russia OilChina is the largest buyer of Russian energy, followed by India. In the third place stands Turkey who is a NATO member. Hungary and Slovakia are other members of the 32-state alliance that also purchase oil from Russia.

Trump Threatens 50-100% Tariffs On China, Demands NATO Stop Buying Russia OilTrump said that the Russia-Ukraine war would end if NATO countries stopped buying Russian oil

US President Donald Trump on Saturday said that the Russia-Ukraine war would end if NATO countries stopped buying Russian oil. He also threatened to impose 50-100 per cent tariffs on China for its purchase of petroleum from Russia.

Taking to Truth Social, Trump wrote that the purchase of Russian oil by members of NATO is "shocking". Addressing NATO, he said, "It greatly weakens your negotiating position, and bargaining power, over Russia". He also accused NATO and said that their commitment to win the war "has been far less than 100%".

China is the largest buyer of Russian energy, followed by India. In the third place stands Turkey who is a NATO member. Hungary and Slovakia are other members of the 32-state alliance that also purchase oil from Russia.

This comes amid the backdrop of an escalation as drones entered NATO ally Poland's airspace after being launched from Russia. Poland shot down the drones. The Congress has also been pushing Trump for a bill to strengthen sanctions.

Trump said that a NATO ban on Russian oil plus tariffs on China would "also be of great help in ENDING this deadly, but RIDICULOUS, WAR."

He noted that China has "strong control, and even grip, over Russia" and said that the tariffs he is imposing "will break that grip".

Blaming the onus of the war on Former US President Joe Biden and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, he said, "This is not TRUMP'S WAR (it would never have started if I was President!), it is Biden's and Zelenskyy's WAR." He did not name Russian President Vladimir Putin in the list.

Urging NATO to do "as I say", he wrote, "the WAR will end quickly, and all of those lives will be saved! If not, you are just wasting my time, and the time, energy, and money of the United States."

Last month, the Trump administration levied 25 per cent reciprocal tariffs on India, with another 25 per cent levy stacked on top of it for New Delhi's purchase of oil and weapons from Moscow.

Source: NDTV