Umar Akmal versus Virat Kohli

^What are you on about?

Outside India his averages are a lot better

Eng - 39
SA - 58
WI - 40
Zim - 42
Bang - 125
SL - 23 (Most of it was during his early days).

all im saying is that he didnt look up for it the way Akmal always does. There is a massive difference in these twos psychological approach.

Each time Kohli will play outside the sub continent, it will always be at the back of his head that his nation's batsmen are just not the same over here the way they are during the ipl.

thats why I feel Akmal is better than Kohli. think about this scenario, if kohli had to play all his games outside India, I am sure he would not have averaged over 20. dont come up with his current away average. i am talking about hypo scenario where he had to play all his game out side india like umar.

Well for all the hype UA has, I'd take a batsmen like Kohli whose stats speak rather than UA who just seems to have the talent but can't yet convert for 1001 reasons said by the fans.

Thats always been the case with your boys, your stats have to be glittery, but the end product has been that they are meaningless. The onematche they need to show up, they dont, hence it doesnt really effect those wonderful stats because it was just that one failure or so, but it defines what indian cricket is.

The other day i read somewhere an indian fan saying that he would much rather take Ajit Agarkar over Akhtar because his career was longer and had taken a few more wickets! seriously guys, stats are never the full story.

Thats always been the case with your boys, your stats have to be glittery, but the end product has been that they are meaningless. The onematche they need to show up, they dont, hence it doesnt really effect those wonderful stats because it was just that one failure or so, but it defines what indian cricket is.

The other day i read somewhere an indian fan saying that he would much rather take Ajit Agarkar over Akhtar because his career was longer and had taken a few more wickets! seriously guys, stats are never the full story.

Your posts just get funny. Kohli has been a match winner, if it wasn't for him along with Gambhir in final, we could've collapsed.

Rather I think for you anyone who fails against Pakistan in 1 game is meaningless player.

Like I said you can have all the talent you want who'll still fail you to win matches (like yesterday) we're better off with Kohli who does win us matches.

There is no comparison between them so far, Kohli wins by wide margin.Akmal does not have temperament of a top class batsmen yet.

Somebody was suggesting the reason why Umar Akmal has less 100s is he bats so low in order, why do you think that is case, he has no clue how to build an innings yet which Kohli has shown he has plenty.

Kohli bats at no3 or no4 even with all the stars present and Akmal bats at no 5 even in a weaker line up.

Talent alone does not do a thing, for example VVS and Dravid were always competing for no3 spot but Dravid won that competition most of the time.Dravid will be first person in world to acknowledge Laxman is more talented stroke player than him.

Laxman has every shot in the book but earlier in his career he always made great 20s and 30s and got out playing loose shot while Dravid scored 100s. result is 17 100s for Laxman and 36 for Dravid.

The same case is with Akmal, he needs to learn to bat long and not idolize boom boom and play his style.You don't score runs sitting in pavilion.

The day Umar has more International Match Winning Hundreds than Virat Kohli and also wins his team a world cup then he can be compared with an already Champion and World Cup Winner like Virat Kohli .

Winning a world cup does not define anything other than that you were in a good team. By your logic Virat is better than every other batsman that has never won a world cup. Umar winning or not winning a world cup has zero bearing on his qualifications as a batsman.

Umar should be judged by his stats. Currently they are average, but he has time. He definitely has all the shots in the book, and is a MAJOR potential talent, he just needs the temperament.

Both of them will be judged at the end of their careers, but unfortunately, every match that Umar does well (or Kohli fails) in Pakistanti posters will post and every match that Kohlidoes well in (or Umar fails in) Indian posters will post.

I believe the general consensus is at this stage of their careers Kohli is better, but this may very well change. Simply put they are both starting, lets see how they are in a few years at least.

Kohli choked against us in semifinals. he will follow sachin's footstep scoring a lot of ODI useless centuries.

and :umarakmal made a 100. :facepalm:

33.1 86.4 kph, bowled 'im! Bhajji strikes straight away, it wasn't the doosra - more of an arm ball - but Umar played it horribly, neither forward nor back and swishing hopefully through the line of the ball. It nipped past the bat and clattered into the off stump 142/5

thats why I feel Akmal is better than Kohli. think about this scenario, if kohli had to play all his games outside India, I am sure he would not have averaged over 20. dont come up with his current away average. i am talking about hypo scenario where he had to play all his game out side india like umar.

generally people want to base their arguments around actual data, and leave hypotheticals aside but u sir are an exception.....
:butt
hats off to u....

:yk:yk

and :umarakmal made a 100. :facepalm:

33.1 86.4 kph, bowled 'im! Bhajji strikes straight away, it wasn't the doosra - more of an arm ball - but Umar played it horribly, neither forward nor back and swishing hopefully through the line of the ball. It nipped past the bat and clattered into the off stump 142/5

Statsman us semi final pe ek sher arz hai...

Umar Akmal - wah wah wah :umarakmal

Misbah-ul-Haq - tuk tuk tuk :misbah

Umar Akmal - slog slog slog :umarakmal

Misbah-ul-haq - tuk tuk tuk :misbah

Umar Akmal - out out out :umarakmal

Misbah-ul-Haq - tuk... tuk... aur tuk. :misbah

statsman us semi final pe ek sher arz hai...

umar akmal - wah wah wah :umarakmal

misbah-ul-haq - tuk tuk tuk :misbah

umar akmal - slog slog slog :umarakmal

misbah-ul-haq - tuk tuk tuk :misbah

umar akmal - out out out :umarakmal

misbah-ul-haq - tuk... Tuk... Aur tuk. :misbah

rofl :))):))):)))

lol..

Lets just appreciate both players for once.

5-10 years down the line and these 2 could easily be the benchmarks for their countries.

Both players have shown great amount of promise. With stats favoring Kohli heavily, lets resume this debate when both have played 100 matches a piece :)

No comparison at the moment. We will see whn umar akmal has 7 centuries at a rate less than 10 innings per 100. Kohli is superior to all other young batsmen in the world.

Lets just appreciate both players for once.

5-10 years down the line and these 2 could easily be the benchmarks for their countries.

Both players have shown great amount of promise. With stats favoring Kohli heavily, lets resume this debate when both have played 100 matches a piece :)

You guys make too much sense. I much prefer the following:

Umar has this something special in his feet, it makes it seem like he is floating on air when he plays. That is why Umar is my favorite.

vs

Kohli has this twinkle in his eyes, which allows him to see the ball better than anyone else. That is why Kohli is my favorite player.

:yk

Boy, you are so wrong. He averages 129 after his comeback into the side post World Cup.

Rohit Sharma would have been playing the last England ODI series had he not had that finger injury playing the previous series.

Rohit Sharma is one of the few Indians in the younger crop who looks comfortable playing on bouncy wickets.

His record in the recent past has been phenomenal. Averages 44 in the last 1 year.

Toldya!!

Umar Akmal has been totally mishandled by the various coaches we've had since he made his debut.

Haha :)) Waah Waah...Subhaan Allah! :) ... magar ye nadaan scorecard kahaan shayari samajhta hai .. :jm :P

bumping b4 the fanboys :))

well , whenever he faces the spinner i always expect something might happen, afridisque :umarakmal

bumping b4 the fanboys :))

well , whenever he faces the spinner i always expect something might happen, afridisque :umarakmal

i guess if you have the confidence to use your feet often enough eventually you will become an expert at it.

as long as he maintains his form hes very good, its when he comes down the track and hoicks ugly without looking at the ball that he sometimes gets stumped.

Has the potential to match Kohli, but still a few more innings to play before he can be considered to be at that level.

kohli has 3 centuries and 7 50s this year and is number 3 in the list of highest run getters this year. Akmal has a long way to go before he matches kohli's feats.

Nice performance today. Akmal's bright young talent in Pakistan line-up.

well played kohli.. :))

and as usual sehwag's contribution will be forgotten :(

well played kohli.. :))

and as usual sehwag's contribution will be forgotten :(

Sehwag played a reverse sweep straight into the hands of the fielder! Freak shot! He was going so well! Tried to do a :misbah when it wasn't even required!

He gets very upset when he gives away his wicket, shows it too and does not smile like many others do. Respect for that.

lame post even amir was shaking his head after no ball plus sehwag is always happy but he play for team

He puts a price on his wicket and it shows. Aamir was acting and has been caught for the act. So from now on if anyone shows disappointment you'll compare him with Amir's acting after the dodgy no balls? :facepalm: for that logic of yours.

Sehwag does not put a price on his wicket. Everyone knows that. He has other qualities but not this one.

He puts a price on his wicket and it shows. Aamir was acting and has been caught for the act. So from now on if anyone shows disappointment you'll compare him with Amir's acting after the dodgy no balls? :facepalm: for that logic of yours.

Sehwag does not put a price on his wicket. Everyone knows that. He has other qualities but not this one.

so every player is different so why comparing?

Kohli played well today under pressure. Probably saved the game for us. More than Umar Akmal Teny and Dravid should learn from him.

he came in lower middle order , but people here want match winner who can open & finish game. like people expect from tendu

Nahi yaar Statsman; don't tell my favorite Indian batsman irresponsible. Viru takes calculated risks, on percentage shots & situation. He is one of the most cunning & selfless batsman.

I didn't get many reply from Indian's for the following post, but, honestly, every word is from my heart, with fear & respect for the real beast.

http://pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=127215

Akmal vs Kohli?

This is only a 50/50 debate for the blind.

Any third party puts Kohli ahead by a mile.

Akmal needs to convert his talent to results,,only then this thread will matter! No doubt both these batsmen are mighty good!!

[/U]

Nahi yaar Statsman; don't tell my favorite Indian batsman irresponsible. Viru takes calculated risks, on percentage shots & situation. He is one of the most cunning & selfless batsman.

I didn't get many reply from Indian's for the following post, but, honestly, every word is from my heart, with fear & respect for the real beast.

Yeah, just because he takes more risks doesn't mean that he doesn't values his wicket.

I feel that for last few months, Sehwag has changed. He takes more risks. But during most part of his career, Sehwag was never a blind slogger. He played mostly on merit of the ball. Whatever he feels best about a particular delivery he does that only. That's why we see him defending even those deliveries which other batsman just work around for few runs. If he feels that ball is there to be hit, then he would hit it at any cost and if it isn't there to be hit then he doesn't try.

He doesn't play many premeditated shots like other batsman. That's why we don't see him playing sweep shot and other innovative shots a lot. When a spinner is trying to turn the ball away, he tries to play inside out unlike some other hitters who try to play against the turn.

Most of the time you would see him trying to play according to the field, turn and swing and not opposite to it. That's why I don't put him in league of other attacking players.

Virat Kohli as of now, he is a born match winner. Played first world cup and won it. So Kohli is winning.

[/U]

Hehe, he's your favorite Indian batsman, you ought to be a little biased. :D

If you analyse his averages, he likes to play when there is little pressure and during pressure situations when he needs to, he does not really put a price on his wicket. His 3rd and 4th inning average is 30.xx, almost half of his 1st and 2nd innings average, 65+.

He is a brilliant player, not a slogger, an excellent timer of the ball. A 4 hitting machine and along with Gayle, one of the biggest demoralizer for bowlers, only because of his risk taking abilities.

Its hard to be a risk taking player while putting a price on your wicket.

And look at his reactions half times after he gets out. :P

Unreliable but still one of my favourite batsmen.

What a player this lad Kohli is. Not even a comparison im afraid.

Ugly knock today, not the best Kohli I've seen however at least he made use of his start. Well played Kohli, a fine talent however Umar Akmal is still much much better.

Kohli can score runs only on these kind of pancakes. I bet he will be struggling in Australia where they bounce him out easily. this guy is not good against short pitch bowling. I would say Rohit is far better player, infact Rohit is the only younger better than Umar Akmal as far as talent is concerned.

Ugly knock today, not the best Kohli I've seen however at least he made use of his start. Well played Kohli, a fine talent however Umar Akmal is still much much better.

Bro no offence, but seems that some fans will not accept the reality that Kohli is way better than Umar at this stage.

in-cutter so you are saying playing or not playing at home makes no difference ?