[VIDEO] Prime Minister Imran Khan was asked by Dev Anand to be in Bollywood film

Islamabad: An old video of Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, that has been making rounds on social media, shows him being interviewed live on an Indian TV show during which he admits that he was asked to work in a Bollywood film by the late Indian actor Dev Anand.

"You won't believe it but I was once asked by a brilliant Indian actor who we all look up to, to act in one of his upcoming film. In fact, he even turned up in England to request me, but I was puzzled," The Express Tribune reported on Thursday citing Khan as saying in the video.

The premier was then asked details about who asked him and why he rejected, to which Khan said: "I won't name him because it'll be embarrassing."

But upon being pressured by the host to reveal the actor's name, Khan confirmed it was Dev Anand.

"For me it's strange, to think that just because I'm a cricketer, doesn't mean I can be an actor as well. It doesn't make sense to me.

https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/pak...anand-to-be-in-bollywood-film-1.1577954258331

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 77.143%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/sbpx0/xbllvh" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I think he would have been quite a hit. He looked like a film star in his youth and is also a good actor.

Dev Anand had become a terrible director by then but I also remember him traveling to Lahore during the friendship phase of 1998.

Dev Anand had no hatred and didn’t play to the gallery , he opposed 1975 eventhough he was close to the ruling party initially.

Guide and Jewel thief are defn among top 10 Hindi films of all time.

I think he would have been quite a hit. He looked like a film star in his youth and is also a good actor.

Lol I thought Mamoon was being complimentary to Imran Khan for once but sure enough there is a shot in there.

Dev Anand had become a terrible director by then but I also remember him traveling to Lahore during the friendship phase of 1998.

Dev Anand had no hatred and didn’t play to the gallery , he opposed 1975 eventhough he was close to the ruling party initially.

I remember this back in late 80s, for anyone interested the film Imran was offered by Dev Anand was called Awwal Number which was based on the theme of cricket and later starred Amir Khan. Even Wikipedia mentions IK was offered the role of the character Ronny:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Awwal_Number

At least they got the title right, Imran was definitely Awwal Number (Number One)

I know this list is subjective, but mine would be in no particular order,

1) Shakti
2) Anand
3) Ganga Jamuna
4) Satyakam
5) Swades
6) GoW - I
7) Black Friday
8) Guide
9) Mughal-E-Azam
10) Pyasa

Honourable mentions to,

1) Shahid
2) Haider
3) Dangal
4) Udaan/Chak De
5) Dil Chahta Hai
6) Ek Doctor Ki Maut/Do Bigha Zameen
7) Salaam Bombay
8) Dev D
9) Mother India/Do Aankhen Barah Haath
10) Kaagaz Ke Phool
11) Satya/Shiva/Company
12) Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron/Golmaal/Chupke Chupke
13) Taare Zameen Pe
14) Masoom/Shor

.......Too many to list

Thankfully it didn't happen. Or else his fans would have been screaming on top of their lungs that he is the greatest Khan to have come out of Bollywood.

He made a movie called Chargesheet..and the review said "This movie is a crime!"..

and remember Awwal number..in that he shows a garlanded photo of Cindi Crawford and tells that it was his dead mother! lol..

But he was great in his initial part of his career

I remember this back in late 80s, for anyone interested the film Imran was offered by Dev Anand was called Awwal Number which was based on the theme of cricket and later starred Amir Khan. Even Wikipedia mentions IK was offered the role of the character Ronny:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Awwal_Number

At least they got the title right, Imran was definitely Awwal Number (Number One)

Actually the role of Ranvir Singh character was that of a famous cricketer who loses fame to Amir and actually tries to bomb blast the pitch and Dev Anand kills him..
Yeah so... er..

He made a movie called Chargesheet..and the review said "This movie is a crime!"..

and remember Awwal number..in that he shows a garlanded photo of Cindi Crawford and tells that it was his dead mother! lol..

But he was great in his initial part of his career

lmao :)) I don’t remember her pic but as a kid I loved the movie only to later to see how stupid it was, although the climax was very similar to Lagaan lol.

I couldn’t believe same man that made Des Pardes and Hare Raam Hare Krishna made the trash of 80s and 90s and further..

1) Shakti
2) Anand
3) Ganga Jamuna
4) Satyakam
5) Swades
6) GoW - I
7) Black Friday
8) Guide
9) Mughal-E-Azam
10) Pyasa

Honourable mentions to,

1) Shahid
2) Haider
3) Dangal
4) Udaan/Chak De
5) Dil Chahta Hai
7) Salaam Bombay
8) Dev D
10) Kaagaz Ke Phool
11) Satya/Shiva/Company
13) Taare Zameen Pe
14) Masoom/Shor

.......Too many to list

Yes I see u r a fan if Dilip Kumar but no way is Shakti getting my top spot :P because Mother India was similar

This is the thing with IK - could have made more money and fame but chose not to - his cancer hospital and leading the country, bigger callings.

Imran is a straight forward person, would have been failure as an actor, looks are not the only thing needed to be a successful actor.

It was a terrible film from what I remember. Dev wanted IK to play the role of of a playboy Cricketer that was later performed by small time actor Aditya Pancholi. The movie would have failed like it did then they would have told us Pakistanis "hey, your favourite hero failed in our Bollywood!". Well Indians your favourite hero Amitabh Bachchan failed in politics!!:inzi2

Yes I see u r a fan if Dilip Kumar but no way is Shakti getting my top spot :P because Mother India was similar
Fair enough. I'm a huge fan of Dilip Kumar. Btw I said, in no particular order...

In fact I'm a big fan of Hindi cinema before madness of '80s hit us hard.

1) Shakti
2) Anand
3) Ganga Jamuna
4) Satyakam
5) Swades
6) GoW - I
7) Black Friday
8) Guide
9) Mughal-E-Azam
10) Pyasa

Honourable mentions to,

1) Shahid
2) Haider
3) Dangal
4) Udaan/Chak De
5) Dil Chahta Hai
7) Salaam Bombay
8) Dev D
10) Kaagaz Ke Phool
11) Satya/Shiva/Company
13) Taare Zameen Pe
14) Masoom/Shor

.......Too many to list

Mughal e Azam way down the list. Iconic movie, iconic dialogues.

No Sholay?

No 3 idiots?

Mughal e Azam way down the list. Iconic movie, iconic dialogues.

No Sholay?

No 3 idiots?
As I said, in no particular order....

As for Sholay, completely forgot about it. One of the greatest ever... However as I said, too many great hindi movies to list....

As for 3 Idiots, I simply love this movie. But I also think it's greatness is held back by that ridiculous delivery scene, lol...

Fair enough. I'm a huge fan of Dilip Kumar. Btw I said, in no particular order...

In fact I'm a big fan of Hindi cinema before madness of '80s hit us hard.

80s was amazing bro, we had parallel cinema and commercial at same time, I’m obviously partial to 49-79 but i realize it wasn’t that bad. what 80s movies had issue with is repeat viewing very hard to see them again except for max 10 movies..

I’m myself a fan of Dilip Kumar’s acting my fav performance of his is Amar , Aaan , Dastaan(saw this as a kid and loved it) , Ram aur Shyam and Mashaal.

But in overall movie quality it is Dev Anand’s movies for me, I think the bias is coz my Dad he loved his movies but I really like Guide and Jewel Thief etc etc

Arguably yes.

But the iconic showdown scenes of Dilip Saab v Bacchan are unmatched.

Hmm the showdowns might be better but the story isn’t..

Also the showdowns between Raaj kumar and Dilip Kumar are excellent in Saudaagar much more than Shakti.

Deewar was better than Shakti.

That was partly due to Shashi Kapoor's performance and the lady who played their mother. Thing is that Amitabh always got the credit for all those hit movies, never his co-stars. Rishi Kapoor talks of this bias in his autobiography.

This is the thing with IK - could have made more money and fame but chose not to - his cancer hospital and leading the country, bigger callings.

He receives credit for that. Thing is he has been unable to do what he promised by bringing justice to all the corrupt politicians like the Sharif brothers. This is the most hurtful fact where we don't want reasons as to why. Yesterday Tahir-ul-Qadri also lashed out at our PM for all those broken promises.