[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket.. "Yes they are good cooks"

Instead of reading between the lines why don't you guys actually read what I wrote after that in following replies.

I stated then and I'll do it again because some are obviously a little slow. I was referring to Women's Cricket as being rubbish and not they didn't deserve to play and should stay in the kitchen.

That's what triggers the controversy in the first place. :jf

It is not about whether they are good in sport or not [which i agree they are not], but who are men to decide that women should stay in kitchen. That is not up to men to decide.

Its his opinion and he was quite clear he dint want to discuss it further. Lets be honest, he comes from a Pakhtoon background and from what I understand they are not exactly the most progressive bunch.

How has this become a three page thread lol!

Afridi is no world leader and his opinion here is literally irrelevant to anybody anywhere.

Its simple really. The people who don't like Afrdii want to moan about him so they pick up on a video from over half an year ago and start moaning. I might start a threat on spot fixing so i can talk rubbish about amir and co.

Afridi is still a tribal person although he was raised in a city Karachi.
I dont like these comments of his.
Btw I am not a fan of women cricket. I like women curling.
Also I did not know that Afridi did not even pass high school.

Typical Boom Boom :)), its the ultimate insult to the womens sportsman in pakistan but i guess he is entitled to his opinion and must have an extremely strict environment at home it would have been better if he completely dodged the question because he did not explain himself when he was pushed or maybe its just the attiude where i am right and it does not matter what you say nothing will change my viewpoint. I feel women should be free to pursue their dreams though.

I'm chuckling at the level of thinking by some posters. I'll give a couple of example where the arguments are so silly.

"But there are larger problems in life" ---> this is a typical diversion tactic. either discuss the issue or don't discuss the issue.

"He has a right to voice his opinion in a democracy"---> Of course he has a right but if he says something silly, other people have the right to voice their opinion and say they don't agree with him

"People are just against Afridi"---> some people may be against Afridi but this issue is not about a certain person but the opinion voiced by that person. In this case the opinion voice by that famous person is chauvinistic in my opinion as is of many people.

That's his opinion, he maybe wrong or he maybe not.

However, I don't think that he meant that 'their place belongs in the kitchen'. It was just a way of saying that he doesn't support women playing cricket. We can't assume from just this, that he doesn't support women becoming doctors and so on.

This looks like an old clip I just realized, his hairstyle is not like that now, already posted condemning his stupid answer but why did it decide to suddenly appear now?

He had to be dragged into dirt after his 2-match performance in Asia Cup. Of course, "a few" people can't stand him doing good for the team.... even if it is once in a blue moon. Read through the thread.... the "fans" who went into hiding after Asia Cup..... found this thread a perfect opportunity to come out and call him all the pleasant names that they learned very well from who knows .... from who!

Yeah I have the same opinions of that, this looks like it is a few months old. Somebody dug it up right now to take away from his performances. What he said deserves scrutiny because it is highly sexist, but this was something he evidently said a few months back, maybe even longer than that.

Circulating now after what he did is beyond a joke.

Yeah I have the same opinions of that, this looks like it is a few months old. Somebody dug it up right now to take away from his performances. What he said deserves scrutiny because it is highly sexist, but this was something he evidently said a few months back, maybe even longer than that.
But the million $$ question is..... that all those posters crucifying him for these comments are pretending as if they never made any sexist or politically incorrect remark in their life.... and they are nothing but :littleang

Circulating now after what he did is beyond a joke.
...and people accuse me of having "hidden agendas"! :P

A thread that has become real garbage due to some posters. People need to realize that their are different views of what equality and equity is and there are people out there who hold opinions different to their own. If Afridi believes that women should not be playing cricket then that is his view and he is entitled to it.

Having said that, I think it was a poor comment to make on national television.

A thread that has become real garbage due to some posters. People need to realize that their are different views of what equality and equity is and there are people out there who hold opinions different to their own. If Afridi believes that women should not be playing cricket then that is his view and he is entitled to it.

So your attacking posters for having an opinion?

Exactly but unfortunately some users on here thinks it's akin to being a misogynist.

There is a huge difference between you and I saying something and a public figure saying it. Come on, you cannot tell me that Afridi saying something is not going to affect the thinking of his fan base. If this was true, so many sponsors wouldn't be lining up at his doors. If Afridi saying something in an advertisement causes people to buy that product, such statements is also going to influence future generations

Now I know celebrities and sports stars are very seldom very good role models so I will not blame Afridi a lot here and maybe he doesn't even realize his influences. However, the statements should be condenmed

But the million $$ question is..... that all those posters crucifying him for these comments are pretending as if they never made any sexist or politically incorrect remark in their life.... and they are nothing but :littleang

...and people accuse me of having "hidden agendas"! :P

Yaar, first of all, if you take my word for it, I confirm that I have never made any sexist remarks myself.

Secondly, when someone like Afridi makes such statements, it ceases being a joke among friends. I don't have a huge fan following nor am I saying such things on national TV. So my words are not going to influence millions of teenagers of the future generations, is it?

As they say, with more power, you need to be more responsible too. Plus those who get more than their share of praises (ex, Afridi doing some charitable event is hyped more than a normal person doing the same) then you will also get more than your share of criticism. That's the ilk of the super star

I know what type of guy you are, religious quotes or quotes from the Qur'an even will have no bearing on you so I'll abstain from replying next time. Peace brother.

But you have not replied to even one of his point about men doing the right thing. While men like you are quick to point out why and when women should follow all laws, there is a deadly silence when we start discussing men following everything correctly. So do you lower your gaze all times when seeing women? Do you avoid shows which are banned? Do you follow every law correctly before pointing at women?

Secondly, why not women decide what is correct interpretation for them? After all, no women comes to a man and says you are not doing so and so correctly so do it?

There is a huge difference between you and I saying something and a public figure saying it. Come on, you cannot tell me that Afridi saying something is not going to affect the thinking of his fan base. If this was true, so many sponsors wouldn't be lining up at his doors. If Afridi saying something in an advertisement causes people to buy that product, such statements is also going to influence future generations

Now I know celebrities and sports stars are very seldom very good role models so I will not blame Afridi a lot here and maybe he doesn't even realize his influences. However, the statements should be condenmed

Although , I am a fan of the player , his views change based on what the public wants to hear . If this statement is condemned , he will either defend , change or pretend he has been misquoted .

Gyas should be discriminated against as that is just everything against Islam! There are enough women in the world and you are meant to have children!

That is really poor thinking. Even if something was completely against your Religion, you still do not need to (or have no rights to) discriminate. At best you can tell them they are wrong and then move on. After all, there is no compulsion in religion right? But isn't discrimination the biggest form of compulsion as you are forcing someone to go against what he wants by discriminating?

As for your second point, so couple who cannot or do not want to have children also should never marry?

I, on the other hand, believe that such views should be condemned immediately. When it comes to discrimination, it ceases being just a view or an opinion and becomes something which actually affects the lives of many people. If we had taken your view slavery, etc would never have been abolished because people did hold different views on it

When it comes to human rights and equality, it ceases to be just an opinion

As I said before, you do not need to condemn Afridi as a person. Also, his views are most probably a result of his environment. However, you should definitely condemn these views to show why they are wrong as many of his fans have done on this thread

The thread title is not capturing the intensity of his sexist remarks and is actually bit toning down its intensity. He is clearly implying :they better stay in kitchen. Probably we are expecting too much "intellect" from the particular person(Afridi) involved.

Pathetic comment :facepalm:

Even more amazed to see people try to defend or belittle its influence :(

A big deal made out of nothing. Clearly he misheard the question and complemented women on their cooking skills. People need to relax a little :yk

"Cricket is not for girls" .. this could have been an acceptable statement and a totally personal view. But this "cooking" reference shows complete backwardness. Poor stuff from Lala.

This whole thread is just... :facepalm:

Yes Afridi has a right to an opinion.

No one is debating that, so don't bring that up.

If you think Afridi made that comment in jest with regards to the quality of womens cricket, then even so, it is an extremely disparaging thing to say, with sexist undertones.

If you take it to mean that Afridi is against women in cricket altogether, and that her place is in the kitchen, its even worse.

The thread title is not capturing the intensity of his sexist remarks and is actually bit toning down its intensity. He is clearly implying :they better stay in kitchen. Probably we are expecting too much "intellect" from the particular person(Afridi) involved.

Exactly.

I wasn't talking about Afridi being called a misogynist, but you and I, as well as those that don't like Women's cricket.

Afridi was obviously stupid for saying what he did, but that shouldn't surprise anyone.

:))):))):))):))):))):))):)))
once I was watching women cricket match my wife came and asked me weirdly 'what kind of players these are'? I immediately change the channel & tell him that this is F.C cricket of England.
(match was b/w England & Australia)

[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket....."yes they are good cooks"

This video making to the social media now sounds a bit odd and strange, given that it´s more than 45 days or so old. Or could it be that the video was there but has caught our attention now? God knows best!

Classic case of damn if you do.... and damn if you don't.

What else he would have said....that would have made you (and other advocates of political correctness) happy?

Had he said, he supports U-19 Women Cricket trial in Pakistan (as it was asked - not the Pakistan's cricket's team .... which the title of the thread suggests)....... and girls/women should fully come out in open and play sport and he fully supports that.

Guess what then..... everybody would have jumped on him for being hypocrite..... for keeping the women (his own wife) of his family under Hijab.....while supporting girl's cricket/sports in KPK.

At least give him credit for saying what he practices at home...... wanting the same for other that he wants for the ladies of his own family!!!! Ignoring the fact that he was right, wrong or different!

P.S. Question to the flag bearers of Political Correctness Brigade........ Can anybody swear that he/she has never said anything in their life that is politically incorrect? Just ask yourself.... you don't have to answer here! :)

Bhai, the problem with you is that you are the greatest debater ever in the history of mankind and can manage to defend even that what goes against common sense and is rather quite obvious. I therefore always refrain from debating you because you always win! I happily concede my defeat:).

As for your first paragraph, well, whole life is a case of damned if you do, damned if you don´t: people complain as long as you are alive, then shed tears once you are gone. *Just an analogy even if it makes no sense, since making sense was never a qualification required for this thread;-).*

As for the last bit, you are right. I have even done politically incorrect things. I roughly remember murdering a person. I am so bad:(! Happy now:msd?

I cannot believe you are comparing Shahid Afridi to the taliban based on one comment

What a complete and utter joke

Dear brother, relax. I haven´t compared. Read again without getting worked up:

".... 3. Women should stay in the kitchen. Well, this is a Taliban mentality of the highest order and deserves no debating."

"..... the third from the above is the closest to what he has said, sadly."

".... he seems to be suggesting that women come to this world cook and basically only do the household work. What he might have forgotten is that women can participate in other activities apart from women´s cricket, such as being a lawyer, doctor etc."

Calm down now:)!

"..... I am ready to give the benefit of the doubt to Shahid Afridi and say that he might not have meant what he ended up saying..... "

What posters might or might not have done is irrelevant. He is arguably the biggest icon in Pak cricket at the moment. Him saying something stupid on national tv is not the same as a poster or two here making ignorant remarks.

Afridi did not say anything wrong and he is entitled to this opinion

But i personally feel that it was unprofessional of Afridi to make this comment. Its better to avoid the question than making such an offensive comment.

That's his opinion, he maybe wrong or he maybe not.

However, I don't think that he meant that 'their place belongs in the kitchen'. It was just a way of saying that he doesn't support women playing cricket. We can't assume from just this, that he doesn't support women becoming doctors and so on.

Exactly.

So the International Cricketer and UN Goodwill Ambassador has exposed himself as a sexist .....

I guess his big heart does not extend to Women Cricketers - and he's classed as a role model!!!!!

You see now, that's truly a stupid reply.

Grow up if you can't debate properly. Stupid.

Btw, no-one said they should stop playing cricket.

I can't be bothered reporting that particular post so will leave it to the relevant authorities to do so.

Afridi can have his opinions and everyone have them.
But seriously it's quite ironical a man who has 'sherlock' as pseudo can't deduce/understand that afridi meaning/respond in this video is about the role of women in society and not only about women cricketers.
Maybe you are a pakistani parody of sherlock ,if that is the case please add pakistani before'sherlock'.:ajmal

Moronic statement from Afridi, an international sports star and especially huge celebrity in Pakistan. A very poor response just reinforcing backward views. Even if said as a joke, it would be in poor taste, but it doesn't look like he was joking.

Excellent point by Shahid. I also think he should have mentioned that women are also good at cleaning. But only when they are not busy gossiping away.

Sure.

Question : What do you think of the women cricket team?

Answer : hamari khawateen ke haat me maza bohat ziada hai, to khane bohat achaa banate hai" ( means that he thinks they cook well, rather than comment on their cricket.

Your response : Excellent reply.

Moral of the story : When you love someone to death , even their weird remarks are deemed perfect.

Disappointing to see so called educated people trying to defend the indefensible, trying to divert the issue by comments like "he has a right to voice his opinion". No one is putting a ban on him speaking but some people very rightly did not like what he said.

Anyway, I come to this forum because cricket is an escape from the depressing realities of Pakistan and the level of illogical thinking prevalent in anumber of our countrymen. It was disappointing to see the shallow and defensive comments by some of the posters on this forum.

Afridi can have his opinions and everyone have them.
But seriously it's quite ironic a man who has 'sherlock' as pseudo can't deduce/understand that afridi meaning/respond in this video is about the role of women in society and not only about women cricketers.
Maybe you are a pakistani parody of sherlock ,if that is the case please add pakistani before'sherlock'.:ajmal

Erm, my replies....(sigh) was regarding the OP title which was about Women's cricket, not Afridi's response :facepalm:

My deduction levels tell me you didn't read my other posts and just picked on that one :facepalm:

1. Read carefully

2. Read again to be sure

3. Then posts your drivel

Okay now little fella :))

That's true but seriously people who get influenced like and by that are really dumb.

Its just making us pakistan fans look really bad when we try and defend that rubbish, there are no two ways about it what he said was completely wrong. Its not even an opinion, its just as bad as saying black people do not deserve the same rights as white people. I love afridi and his freakish performances here and there but a filthy thing to say from him, it was best he kept his mouth shup in that scenario then to say something so stupid.

Erm, my replies....(sigh) was regarding the OP title which was about Women's cricket, not Afridi's response :facepalm:

My deduction levels tell me you didn't read my other posts and just picked on that one :facepalm:

1. Read carefully

2. Read again to be sure

3. Then posts your drivel

Okay now little fella :))

'I can see where he's coming from to be honest. I just watched the Womens Ashes series this last month or so and it was of poor to average quality.

Sorry if that offends anyone but it's how I feel.

That is what you said in your first post.
In my previous post i were not blaming you to be a mysogin nor saying you were
not talking about women cricket but about your incapity to understand afridi meaning and the thread is about'shahid afridi opinions about women cricket' so afridi respond.

When you want to respond to a thread read what is about and understand it ,if the thread is about a videos see that videos understand it and after post your respond.
You just have the capacities of reading and watching/seing but not to understand/deduce.

And what i said in my previous post was right ,no need to be upset ,not my fault if you are a limited capacity man.

'I can see where he's coming from to be honest. I just watched the Womens Ashes series this last month or so and it was of poor to average quality.

Sorry if that offends anyone but it's how I feel.

That is what you said in your first post.
In my previous post i were not blaming you to be a mysogin nor saying you were
not talking about women cricket but about your incapity to understand afridi meaning and the thread is about'shahid afridi opinions about women cricket' so afridi respond.

When you want to respond to a thread read what is about and understand it ,if the thread is about a videos see that videos understand it and after post your respond.
You just have the capacities of reading and watching/seing but not to understand/deduce.

And what i said in my previous post was right ,no need to be upset ,not my fault if you are a limited capacity man.

You do realise when I posted the title was different to what it is currently?!

I know what he said but I wasn't agreeing on what he thinks about women but about women's cricket not being good.

Now you talked about reading the thread etc, maybe you should've seen my other posts before writing your idiotic post.

I mean I've explained it several times but if you can't "deduce" or read what I wrote previously then you should not be replying the way you have.

Now if you're going to insult someone at least do so with decent grammar :P

I am not against women cricket and do not 100% agree with what Afridi said but frankly speaking cricket is one of those sports that just does not suit with women (in my opinion).

I mean, u got table tennis, badminton, Gymnastics, Tennis, beach volley ball and a few others but women playing cricket ??? I mean, it just doesn't add up for me.

This video making to the social media now sounds a bit odd and strange, given that it´s more than 45 days or so old. Or could it be that the video was there but has caught our attention now? God knows best!

Bhai, the problem with you is that you are the greatest debater ever in the history of mankind and can manage to defend even that what goes against common sense and is rather quite obvious. I therefore always refrain from debating you because you always win! I happily concede my defeat:).

As for your first paragraph, well, whole life is a case of damned if you do, damned if you don´t: people complain as long as you are alive, then shed tears once you are gone. *Just an analogy even if it makes no sense, since making sense was never a qualification required for this thread;-).*

As for the last bit, you are right. I have even done politically incorrect things. I roughly remember murdering a person. I am so bad:(! Happy now:msd?

Dear brother, relax. I haven´t compared. Read again without getting worked up:

".... 3. Women should stay in the kitchen. Well, this is a Taliban mentality of the highest order and deserves no debating."

"..... the third from the above is the closest to what he has said, sadly."

".... he seems to be suggesting that women come to this world cook and basically only do the household work. What he might have forgotten is that women can participate in other activities apart from women´s cricket, such as being a lawyer, doctor etc."

Calm down now:)!

"..... I am ready to give the benefit of the doubt to Shahid Afridi and say that he might not have meant what he ended up saying..... "

Stop patronising me please, for the love of God

You have just compared Afridi with people that are killing people right , left and centre in pakistan based on one statement he said

Please do not throw about such labels so measely again

You have just compared Afridi with people that are killing people right , left and centre in pakistan based on one statement he said

This sounded so weird to read. Everytime its normally said its 'left, right and centre' :)) Two words switched places and it sounded strange

I know what he said but I wasn't agreeing on what he thinks about women but about women's cricket not being good.

Now you talked about reading the thread etc, maybe you should've seen my other posts before writing your idiotic post.

I mean I've explained it several times but if you can't "deduce" or read what I wrote previously then you should not be replying the way you have.

You 'know' what he said but you don't understand it ,if you had understand so what is the meaning of 'agreeing on what he think about woman cricket' when afridi doesn't even mean/talk about woman cricket but about woman societal role.Like i said in my previous post i read your others posts so i know you are not in favor of afridi opinions (about women societal role) nor i really care if someone think like that(and afridi live in a environment where thinking this is normal so not big deal about him thinking the same).

I am not insulting someone ,what i said is a fact ,you are the one who insult other (like idiot...) and who is arrogant through the thread.I'm in a forum so i don't really care about grammar and my grammar here is not awful.By the way what you want to prove by telling me that, someone who doesn't speak english or doesn't care about grammar as you mean he is less intelligent than you?I speak english really well but not regurlarly,my primary language is french ,do you speak french?and it that's mean something?

And if you want to respond try to use some decent argument and not only use insult or smiley.

It's mysoginy plain and simple.
Afridi is allowed to have an opinion has nothing to do with misogyny.
The fact that people can't condemn it outright means they support it.
Not much to hem and haw about honestly.

[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket....."yes they are good cooks"

Sorry if it gave any wrong impression, but it´s just in my nature to talk with respect and to be well mannered. Being a keyboard warriors doesn´t excite me much.

Read this again and ponder:

But of course, deep down, we both know why you are being so picky only on my posts in this thread, don´t we:msd?

This thread has refreshed & displayed the mindset of a lot of people here, including Lala.

I have always maintained that mere education, exposure etc. is not enough to nurture/alter a person's character/thought process. This thread has reinforced my belief.

You can have as much education as you want, it doesn't mean it changes peoples already made-up mind regarding women.

There's sexism everywhere, in the workplace, at home, politics etc. Education doesn't mean naff all.

This thread is an eye opener :moyo

The amount of people MISSING THE FREAKING POINT and taking tangential angles to make their own irrelevant silly points is really high in this thread.

Sigh.

Afridi can have whatever opinion he has (no one can argue with that) but his comment reeks of a sexist, degrading tone.

Now don't deny this by talking about mom's food, stay at home mom, personal opinion, religion, "get off your high horse" appeal, etc.

All that is irrelevant to this argument.

Its very obvious from the tone and the choice of words, where Afridi is coming from.

Women's cricket can be grotesque but that can't be used as a justification tool for Afridi's obviously degrading comment.

But go ahead, keep defending him by saying you are NOT defending him.

your post reminds me of the moment when Mushfiqur dropped Afridi and Harsha said "Afridi, even if you are dropped in the middle of the pacific ocean, someone will come to rescue you". He was probably referring to his lucky stars but that can also be associated with his very exclusive fan base who would defend Afridi no matter what. :shafiq

Poor comment from the motor-mouth as usual, but as always you'll find people defending his verbal diarrhea :asif

This thread has refreshed & displayed the mindset of a lot of people here, including Lala.

I have always maintained that mere education, exposure etc. is not enough to nurture/alter a person's character/thought process. This thread has reinforced my belief.

There are lot of quality posts in this thread, but what you have described in few lines, has made as a top post in this thread.

style_guru said:

You got this part of your statement absolutely right. Here are some of the comments in this thread from supposedly "educated" posters;

Stupid reply from Afridi.

That was a poor poor comment. I would have respected him more if he had just said "no comments" instead of making rubbish statements.

I guess we know why MoYo wants him to be captain now

Ignorant and sexist to say the least.

his views are still so narrow minded.

Some sad comments here, and they're sexist and demoralizing to women

In my honest opinion, this was a highly stupid, brainless remark. Extremely stupid man. Couldn't stress on it more than I do now.

Not the first time "Lala" has made a fool of himself on live television

3. Women should stay in the kitchen. Well, this is a Taliban mentality of the highest order and deserves no debating.

Afridi is stupid for saying this

Afridi = great cricketer but also a top class moron!

It's mysoginy plain and simple.
Given Afridi has 4 daughters.

Pretty disgraceful stuff from our biggest sports star.

Poor comment from the motor-mouth as usual, but as always you'll find people defending his verbal diarrhea

Not to mention I also get called "shameless hater" & "pre-teen fan-boy" when I copy and paste some stats from statsguru. Some educated & politically correct people.... aye! :)

its incredible that such a light hearted, irrelevant and obviously joking response has elicited such a swathe of serious responses.

im not sure which party is the closer to being mentalists.

Not surprised at his view, probably reflects the general attitude of a section of males in countries like India and Pakistan.

I remember when my sister got admission in an engineering college, one of our neighbours told her that she was "stealing" the spot of some male candidates for whom this education would be more important. (obviously one of the male candidates who missed out that year was his own son!)

Great to see majority of pp posters are condemning the patriarchal mindset. I honestly thought most people would agree with what afridi said but I am happy to see the change...��

http://www.dawn.com/news/1093121/afridi-big-supporter-of-womens-cricket

KARACHI: Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi on Friday sought to bat away controversy over comments he made about women's cricket, saying he had been quoted out of context.

The big-hitting 34-year-old came under fire this week after TV interview footage circulated of him commenting on women's cooking skills in response to a question about women's cricket.

Also read: Why I won't be cheering for Shahid Afridi anymore | Is Afridi really to blame?

Afridi insisted his remarks had been taken out of context by people who wanted to bring him down after his recent heroics in the Asia Cup.

Earlier this month, Afridi hit last-over sixes to help Pakistan beat arch-rivals India by one wicket and then smashed a 25-ball 59 to help chase down a 327-run target against hosts Bangladesh.

“I am shocked to listen all the stuff and read some on the social media,” Afridi told AFP.

“It was a five-month old interview and my half answer was put on the net, which I feel is an attempt to malign my popularity.”

Afridi said he had always backed the women's game.

“I have been a big supporter of women's cricket and if you ask our women players they will let you know how I tried to get sponsorship for them,” he said.

“There are a few people who are jealous of my popularity and they try to find something controversial against me.

“A big number of my fans are female and I have always respected them and tried to accomodate them whenever they want support.”

In the footage, taken from an interview with ARY news channel in October last year, Afridi is asked whether he thinks Pakistani women should play cricket.

“Our women have great taste in their hands and they cook very tasty food,” he replied.

Former international women's player Kainat Imtiaz gave the star her backing.

“He (Afridi) has always been a great supporter of women's cricket and whenever we used to cross paths in the national academy in Lahore he helped us and encouraged us,” she said.

But once the clips of the interview went viral on social media, there were strong reactions from women's organisations and analysts, condemning Afridi for relegating women to the kitchen.

Activist Mahnaz Rehman said the remarks represented a typical attitude in Pakistan, which remains a patriarchal and at times misogynist country.

“It will take years to change our men. Men display and get their abilities recognised at all levels but when women do this they discourage them,” said Rehman, regional director of Aurat Foundation.

“It will stop women's progress and a celebrity like Afridi should not give such remarks.”

Whatever he has said is on the record, no point in denying it now. Should apologize instead saying he was misquoted.

You got this part of your statement absolutely right. Here are some of the comments in this thread from supposedly "educated" posters;

Not to mention I also get called "shameless hater" & "pre-teen fan-boy" when I copy and paste some stats from statsguru. Some educated & politically correct people.... aye! :)

Hey everybody I am not a misogynist, I have 4 daughters. Otherwise, would I have chosen to have 4 daughters?

lol that clarification reminds me of 'I was just smelling the ball' :afridi

What point are you trying to make?

^^^ I think this thread needs to locked up now that everybody has expressed their opinion.

Afridi “big supporter of women's cricket”

KARACHI: Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi on Friday sought to bat away controversy over

comments he made about women's cricket, saying he had been quoted out of context.

The big-hitting 34-year-old came under fire this week after TV interview footage circulated of him commenting on women's cooking skills in response to a question about women's cricket.

Afridi insisted his remarks had been taken out of context by people who wanted to bring him down after his recent heroics in the Asia Cup.

Earlier this month, Afridi hit last-over sixes to help Pakistan beat arch-rivals India by one wicket and then smashed a 25-ball 59 to help chase down a 327-run target against hosts Bangladesh.

“I am shocked to listen all the stuff and read some on the social media,” Afridi told AFP.

“It was a five-month old interview and my half answer was put on the net, which I feel is an attempt to malign my popularity.”

Afridi said he had always backed the women's game.

“I have been a big supporter of women's cricket and if you ask our women players they will let you know how I tried to get sponsorship for them,” he said.

“There are a few people who are jealous of my popularity and they try to find something controversial against me

“A big number of my fans are female and I have always respected them and tried to accomodate them whenever they want support.”

In the footage, taken from an interview with ARY news channel in October last year, Afridi is asked whether he thinks Pakistani women should play cricket.

“Our women have great taste in their hands and they cook very tasty food,” he replied.

Former international women's player Kainat Imtiaz gave the star her backing.

“He (Afridi) has always been a great supporter of women's cricket and whenever we used to cross paths in the national academy in Lahore he helped us and encouraged us,” she said.

But once the clips of the interview went viral on social media, there were strong reactions from women's organisations and analysts, condemning Afridi for relegating women to the kitchen.

Activist Mahnaz Rehman said the remarks represented a typical attitude in Pakistan, which remains a patriarchal and at times misogynist country.

“It will take years to change our men. Men display and get their abilities recognised at all levels but when women do this they discourage them,” said Rehman, regional director of Aurat Foundation.

“It will stop women's progress and a celebrity like Afridi should not give such remarks.”

http://www.dawn.com/news/1093121

Big supporter on the face of it, it seems.

It is pretty amazing how people proceed to say "Been Misquoted" when the whole video is out there for everybody to see and analyze.

Open mouth - say something inappropriate - get backlash - find reverse gear. Seems to be a continual cyclical event.

So have we learnt anything from this thread? I'd have to say NO!. The recurring theme seems to be that,

1. Afridi fans will go to any lengths to defend him and;

2. many ignorant posters here at pp.

How did you "choose" to have daughters? Unless you adopted them..
Just responding to the ludicrous argument from the poster on me calling Afridi a misogynist even though he has 4 daughters.

I do believe Women Cricket is a big joke. Thats my opinion...

No one even bothers to watch there game....