[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket.. "Yes they are good cooks"

Really disappointed in the Afridi fans defending him.

When something is wrong, it's wrong.

Afridi's response in the news

KARACHI: Pakistan cricket star Shahid Afridi says his comments about women which stirred quite a controversy were quoted out of context.

The big-hitting 34-year-old came under fire this week after TV interview footage circulated of him commenting on women's cooking skills in response to a question about women's cricket.

Afridi insisted his remarks had been taken out of context by people who wanted to bring him down after his recent heroics in the Asia Cup.

Earlier this month Afridi hit last-over sixes to help Pakistan beat arch-rivals India by one wicket and then smashed a 25-ball 59 to help chase down a 327-run target against hosts Bangladesh.

"I am shocked to listen all the stuff and read some on the social media," Afridi told AFP.

"It was a five-month old interview and my half answer was put on the net, which I feel is an attempt to malign my popularity."

Afridi, who hails originally from the deeply conservative tribal areas along the Afghan border, said he had always backed the women's game.

"I have been a big supporter of women's cricket and if you ask our women players they will let you know how I tried to get sponsorship for them," he said.

"There are a few people who are jealous of my popularity and they try to find something controversial against me.

"A big number of my fans are female and I have always respected them and tried to accomodate them whenever they want support."

In the footage, taken from an interview with ARY news channel in October last year, Afridi is asked whether he thinks Pakistani women should play cricket.

"Our women have great taste in their hands and they cook very tasty food," he replied.

Former international women's player Kainat Imtiaz gave the star her backing.

"He (Afridi) has always been a great supporter of women's cricket and whenever we used to cross paths in the national academy in Lahore he helped us and encouraged us," she said.

But once the clips of the interview went viral on social media, there were strong reactions from women's organisations and analysts, condemning Afridi for relegating women to the kitchen.

Activist Mehnaz Rehman said the remarks represented a typical attitude in Pakistan, which remains a patriarchal and at times misogynist country.

"It will take years to change our men. Men display and get their abilities recognised at all levels but when women do this they discourage them," said Rehman, regional director of Aurat (Women) Foundation.

"It will stop women's progress and a celebrity like Afridi should not give such remarks."

Today's Newspaper
Top story National
World Business
Sports Karachi
Lahore Islamabad
Peshawar Editorial
Opinion Newspost

Really sad views, womens sport is very competitive.
Only twentyish years ago countries like sri lanka were not world beaters but now they are.
All teams need to go through these stages.

Its time men learned to cook as well. Although I am big boom boom fan.
You also have to admit he has lot of time to cook as well due to the short amount of time his innings last.

:-)

tumblr_inline_n2f2gzObhy1spfqcd.png

tumblr_inline_n2f2yiXrXa1spfqcd.png

The actual video. The video wasn't the full interview just the minute-and-half of what he said, thus what he means.

He was asked to clarify his statement and he said I just did.

Can't see any editing there.

[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket....."yes they are good cooks"

This thread has refreshed & displayed the mindset of a lot of people here, including Lala.

I have always maintained that mere education, exposure etc. is not enough to nurture/alter a person's character/thought process. This thread has reinforced my belief.

An excellent post! I have been making this point over the last few years now! Here´s somewhat an example.....

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=6214864&postcount=43

Education is important, but not everything!

Lastly, if education had anything or much to do with the issue discussed, my posts should have been of the lowest quality - whereas I admit that mine might not have been the best, but not the worst, definitely!

..... Here are some of the comments in this thread from supposedly "educated" posters.....

Bhai, my "Taliban mentality" comment has already been debated and clarified by myself, which you seem not to have accepted I see, which is probably why it´s on your list.

However, my comment should still be excluded from the list given the point I have made above about education. I am not, and it´s not any joke. I am being serious, and it is well documented on the forum in a thread. But, I doubt that it would make a difference.

"Once I make a commitment, then I don´t even listen to myself" - Salman Khan and W63L35 bhai. :yk

From the content available to us, it didn´t seem to be that his comment has been taken out of context. However, it could well be that he might have said five minutes later on that what he had said five minutes ago wasn´t quite meant:msd.

Anyways, since I can´t peek through his heart, I won´t conclude much against him either, since what matters is that he knows that it is not a nice thing to say about women. Again, this matters, irrespective of whether he is lying now, or was indeed misquoted, mis-reported etc. or whatever on earth. I am ready to move to the action in the ICC World T20:afridi.

[VIDEO] 'Shahid Afridi's opinion on Pak women's cricket....."yes they are good

This thread is not about Afridi or Women's cricket. It's more about the views and opinions of posters... Must say I'm not surprised at all

Pakistani Women's Kabaddi team got great support from their countrymen and everyone was discussing finals of World Cup against India. No one made rude comment regarding their clothing and performing in front of Indian men in India.

Another instance was Pakistani Women's Cricket Team landing in India last year and in-spite of staying in Guest House instead of lavish hotel due to security concerns praising India.

Afridi is an egocentric person, he loves to give lectures on religion/modesty/culture.

If Pakistani women are such good cooks, why does Afridi feel the need to eat cricket balls?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Islam is the first religion to expand women rights in all fields be it education, health or any other field.Allah (SWT) says: “I never fail to reward any worker among you for any work you do,be u male or female – u are equal to one another.” (Qur’an, 3:195)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IWD2021?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IWD2021</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/equalrights?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#equalrights</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1368872304839598081?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

He's just pandering to the masses as he always does. According to him, the role of women in cricket is limited to marrying male cricketers

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Islam is the first religion to expand women rights in all fields be it education, health or any other field.Allah (SWT) says: “I never fail to reward any worker among you for any work you do,be u male or female – u are equal to one another.” (Qur’an, 3:195)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IWD2021?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IWD2021</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/equalrights?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#equalrights</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1368872304839598081?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lala never fails to focus on right thing at right time. A great supporter of women.

:sa

Interesting. Even if that is the case (and it may well be, Islam was somewhat progressive for the time when it comes to land ownership for women, for example), it doesn't mean it gave women (or men, for that matter) sufficient rights. I hope people don't try to downplay the aurat march by saying 'Islam has given you all the rights you need'.

NAWABSHAH: Former Pakistan cricket captain Shahid Afridi has advised girls to live their lives according to the principles of Islam.

This was said by the swashbuckling all-rounder as he visited the Bakhtawar Girls Cadet College in Nawabshah Wednesday. Afridi was invited to visit the college by its principal Brigadier (Retd) Dr Muhammad Amin, according to a local news agency.

Afridi was accompanied by members of the Tableeghi Jamaat as well during his trip to the college.

During his visit to the college, Afridi lectured the female cadets on women's rights in Islam and urged them to adopt Islamic principles in life. He spoke at length about his life as a cricketer and then how he turned towards preaching religion.

He urged female cadets to study hard but also partake in sports at the same time. "Focus on your studies, social media and mobile phones are time wasting tools," he said.

Speaking about his life as a cricketer, Afridi said at one point during his career, he thought about leaving the sport as certain captains wanted to end his career.

"However, I got a lot of help from Islam and Tableegh," he said.

While sharing his thoughts on the appointment of the new PCB chief, Afridi said he expected Ramiz Raja to lead Pakistan cricket in a positive direction.

GEO

Boy is the next Imran khan in the making . This time they covered all the bases. Karachi raised pathan who is loved by all . He also got a pretty a cunning head on his shoulders. Knows what to say when . Big chance we'll see him as a future PM .

Going by the OP I seriously doubt this. unless this sort of thing makes him popular among the voters

This is what happens when you have an uneducated person - easily brainwashed by the Tableeghi.

Going by the OP I seriously doubt this. unless this sort of thing makes him popular among the voters

I've heard he's being pushed to be PM in the future. It actually might happen.

He's nowhere near Imran Khan in perception or wit. That said we have seen Ronald Reagan, Modi and Boris Johnson make leaders so who knows? Democracy does often just boil down to a popularity contest.

Shahid Afridi may be hoping he's the next Imran but, in reality, I don't see any comparison beyond the fact that they are both ex-cricketers.

Whether you like Imran or not, nobody can (or at least should) deny that the man is intelligent. I mean no disrespect to Afridi, but this is the same guy who tried to hit every ball for 6 regardless of the game situation, who resigned Pakistani captaincy after one test match and midway through the series and who thought making sexist comments against Pakistani women was funny.

Then again, as you say, politics isn't always based on logic.

He will be a disaster!

He should join PTI and work his way up to becoming the next party leader. It’s the only option we have to keep the noony tunes out of power.

Speaking to reporters:

"Taliban have come up in Afghanistan again and this time they have come with a positive frame of mind which is something that we did not see before, and things are moving towards a positive direction with them in charge"

"They are allowing ladies to take up jobs"

Pretty much , He also know when and how to walk back . Only current/ex cricketer who has a clear opinion about kashmir and doesn't shy away from it . A few of our cricketers either don't talk about it or if they do they like to keep it very lovey dovey . ...

Exactly and Boy is popular with the Awam and with the BOYZ. He may not sound as intelligent in English but but is plenty sharp and witty when it comes to Speaking in Urdu . Knows how to handle the media well and has cultivated a macho man persona for himself ( our people love it ) . I agree that he will probably be disaster but man can he play politics or what !

Nothing stopping men from being good cook's too! Get with the times Lala, we live in the world where men can cook and women can drive and play sport. Sometimes one wonders is it Shahid Afridi or stupid Afridi. He is only proving his background is a rather backward one with such ignorant comments.

You can expect such comments from a 16 year old. :afridi :inti

And the award for best female emerging cricketer was given to Fatima Sana of Pakistan.

Just shows that our women athletes that are upcoming are good enough

We even have a female umpire part of the legends league aswell

He also got a pretty a cunning head on his shoulders. Knows what to say when.

Don't think Afridi know what to say when, he has reputation of having motor mouth syndrome or poor choice of words. His Twitter account is handled by marketing professionals. He used to write his own tweets in his style of broken English, he stopped doing that 3-4 years ago after few fiasco's.

In desi world he is 'Kamlaa Chalaak', he comes across as cunning but doesn't have depth in resources (knowledge, education). That's why an educated corrupt person is far more dangerous. Ramiz Raja checks all boxes - cunning, educated, opportunistic.

Don't think Afridi know what to say when, he has reputation of having motor mouth syndrome or poor choice of words. His Twitter account is handled by marketing professionals. He used to write his own tweets in his style of broken English, he stopped doing that 3-4 years ago after few fiasco's.

In desi world he is 'Kamlaa Chalaak', he comes across as cunning but doesn't have depth in resources (knowledge, education). That's why an educated corrupt person is far more dangerous. Ramiz Raja checks all boxes - cunning, educated, opportunistic.

I guess we are both looking at it from a different perspective . I have seen his media interaction and I have seen him talk . He is plenty smart and I see him as future PM material for Pak .

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You are the nourishing power of the Universe, You make it come alive, more colorful & inspirational. Being a father of 5 wonderful girls, I can proudly say women have the strength to move the world; lets celebrate them everyday & support them to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BreakTheBias?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BreakTheBias</a>. Happy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WomensDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WomensDay</a>! <a href="https://t.co/Y2SxC8o1kV">pic.twitter.com/Y2SxC8o1kV</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1501091267589124098?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>