[VIDEO] The Legend of Maula Jatt (remake)

Been waiting for almost 3 years. They said in 2016 it was almost done. Anyway, dair aaye durust aaye.

LOL I think Bilal initially announced it in 2013 after Waar, either way this is going to set a new benchmark for Pakistani films.

The only Sultan Rahi Punjabi film I absolutely loved. The dialogues were brilliant and Mustafa Quershi delivery would not be beaten. This movie looks epic but I hope it would not restart the Ghundasa violent movies full of bharaks, with not much plot other than revenge.

Another legend of Punjabi movies Ali Ejaz passed away recently. He made many good comedy movies like Salla sahib, Dhee Rani, Sohra they Jawaai and Dubia Chalo. He was poor man's Munawer Zarif. For those who do not know Munawer Zarif- Hewasthe best film comedian to come from sub continent. Most people in India and Pakistan are still copying his style, even though he died in late 70s.

Idk much about this franchise and how legendary it is but Fawad Khan and Hamza Abbasi are the two biggest actors of Pakistan right now so it should be promising.

Another legend of Punjabi movies Ali Ejaz passed away recently. He made many good comedy movies like Salla sahib, Dhee Rani, Sohra they Jawaai and Dubia Chalo. He was poor man's Munawer Zarif. For those who do not know Munawer Zarif- Hewasthe best film comedian to come from sub continent. Most people in India and Pakistan are still copying his style, even though he died in late 70s.

yes heard this just a little while ago very sad news as ejaz was a great artist

i grew up watching the likes of ejaz nanna zarif rangeela nadeem and murad back in pakistan cinemas golden age

hope this film lives upto the promise and continues the revival of the industry which has been going on for the last several years

Memories of Sultan Rahi and Mustafa Qureshi #Legends

Ali Ejaz was a great comedian. Love his movies "Dubai Chalo" and "Sohra Tey Jawai":)):)) Thanks for the many laughs! Good night, RIP.

Okay, this looks PROMISING. The trailer is high quality and smooth compared the usual "forced" rubbish which desi cinema dishes out. I would be really disappointed if the movie doesnt do justice to the trailer.

Is this the return of Gladiators or Maula Jatt. Not sure how these two completely different genres got mixed up and going by the trailer, doesn’t make any sense. Can barely recognize Fawad Khan. This looks completely bogus and crap to me. Sad, as apparently this is the most expensive movie ever made in Pakistan.

From what I've read, this isn't a remake of the original so it's going to have a different story with some influences from the original. I think the gladiator-esque theme appeals to the current generation as most of us wouldn't relate to some old story set in rural Punjab with a bunch of uncles fighting.

Can barely recognize Fawad Khan
Well that's a good thing, a lot of actors in Hollywood and Bollywood undergo big transformations and look unrecognizable in some of their iconic roles.

Should release in Rajasthan, Haryana and Punjab as well. Would be a blockbuster for sure considering the Jat population in these 3 states

From what I've read, this isn't a remake of the original so it's going to have a different story with some influences from the original. I think the gladiator-esque theme appeals to the current generation as most of us wouldn't relate to some old story set in rural Punjab with a bunch of uncles fighting.

Well that's a good thing, a lot of actors in Hollywood and Bollywood undergo big transformations and look unrecognizable in some of their iconic roles.

If the goal was to appeal to fans of Gladiator or GOT then why bring Maula Jatt into it. Doesn't make any sense to me other than seeing it as a lazy marketing stunt. Should have called it something else like "Wehshi Derande" or "Jungjo Sipahi" etc. Fawad Khan is so good looking, why waste his looks by hiding him under a mountain of long hair.

In any case, I wish this movie all the best. Pakistani cinema needs all the help it can get.

If the goal was to appeal to fans of Gladiator or GOT then why bring Maula Jatt into it. Doesn't make any sense to me other than seeing it as a lazy marketing stunt. Should have called it something else like "Wehshi Derande" or "Jungjo Sipahi" etc
Maybe they wanted a cooler Maula Jatt that would appeal to todays audience.

. Fawad Khan is so good looking, why waste his looks by hiding him under a mountain of long hair.

In any case, I wish this movie all the best. Pakistani cinema needs all the help it can get.

:)) I don't get this lool, good looking actors in hollywood and bollywood have done huge transformations to get into a role including getting uglier to play a character. Fawad Khan isn't playing himself, he's playing Maula Jatt. That's what acting is all about.

Should have cast Sunny Deol. Now that would have been interesting.
Fawad simply doesn't have typical Jatt villager looks.

Maybe they wanted a cooler Maula Jatt that would appeal to todays audience.

:)) I don't get this lool, good looking actors in hollywood and bollywood have done huge transformations to get into a role including getting uglier to play a character. Fawad Khan isn't playing himself, he's playing Maula Jatt. That's what acting is all about.

Yes I realize that Fawad Khan isn't playing himself, lol. The transformation you are talking about usually happen in relatively serious and critically acclaimed movies, not commercial types like this one. Obviously the objective of the movie is to become a blockbuster, right? Then why not play to its strength. Fawad Khan could've played Maula Jatt with shorter hair. The original Maula Jatt was not known for his awesome mane. I guess the look goes along with some rugged warrior out of GOT or something like that, but he doesn't even look good in it. Even the fake long beard on Hamza Abbasi, he looks like a clown. It looks like a complete copy of a bunch of TV shows and movies. Nothing original about it.

A little confused by the period this is set in. It seems like it is set in Punjab under British/Sikh rule. The fight scenes seem to have a more medieval/fantastical look with a little too much 300/GoT influence. Same mistake that Thugs of Hindustan made. Hope it is good but would have preferred if it was set in contemporary Punjab.

Yes I realize that Fawad Khan isn't playing himself, lol. The transformation you are talking about usually happen in relatively serious and critically acclaimed movies, not commercial types like this one. Obviously the objective of the movie is to become a blockbuster, right? Then why not play to its strength. Fawad Khan could've played Maula Jatt with shorter hair. The original Maula Jatt was not known for his awesome mane. I guess the look goes along with some rugged warrior out of GOT or something like that, but he doesn't even look good in it. Even the fake long beard on Hamza Abbasi, he looks like a clown. It looks like a complete copy of a bunch of TV shows and movies. Nothing original about it.

Christian Bale, Tom hardy etc had body transformations for Dark knight series which were commercial.

I think it is too early to judge. The trailer looks good, the actors are all well knowed so i am pretty sure acting would be good.

If the script is good with a decent story line then it will be a watchable movie

Not impressed by the trailer at all. Maybe the movie is any better but from the looks of it, I don't expect anything.

Why can't we make movies that are an authentic representation of our culture and still fun?

People here are judging a Pakistani movie as if they have budgets and technical teams of Hollywood. This is just a tamasha movie just like the 100s of movies Bollywood makes, but as we are decades behind the likes of Bollywood in production quality the movie looks promising. May superhero movies and action movies big film industries make our also nonesence but are only made to make money. I just hope Pak industry would not go Holly or bolly way and churn out unnecessary violent movies and burrow contents from the great dramas of 70s 80s and 90s. Another good movie to watch out for is Sami Khan's Ghum.

Visuals are good. But hamza is looking like clown with that fake beard which could have been avoided. also not sure about fawad as macho action hero.

If small stature bolly khan's can be he men in bolly action movies then so can Fawad, but not sure why Shan was not casted for this role.

A really good trailer.The best news was that there was no Javed Sheikh in this trailer.He is a legend but the guy is literally in every single Pakistani movie.
Star Cast is fabulous too..

Christian Bale, Tom hardy etc had body transformations for Dark knight series which were commercial.

The Christopher Nolan Batman series was made with a commercial and critical sensibility. Plus packing on muscles to play a superhero doesnt really qualify as “body transformation” in my opinion. Perhaps if Fawad Khan had gotten ripped for this role, maybe then it would justify but he is just wearing a stupid wig, hardly counting as any kind of transformation.

Shahid Kapoor with or without muscles looks diminutive, so Fawad is fine. Also Maula just needs to work magic with Ghundasa.

I don't watch Pakistani movies but it looks like they are stepping up their game, at least visual effect vise. This could be good.

So the legend that is Sultan Rahi, acknowledged by the Guinness Book of world records as the actor who has appeared in more than 700 movies is being honored by this B grade Gladiator knock off?

It would have worked better as a parody, which most of Mr Rahi's films would be categorized as these days.

From what I remember most conflicts usually started due to the stealing of a "behen ka dupatta".

So the legend that is Sultan Rahi, acknowledged by the Guinness Book of world records as the actor who has appeared in more than 700 movies is being honored by this B grade Gladiator knock off?

It would have worked better as a parody, which most of Mr Rahi's films would be categorized as these days.

From what I remember most conflicts usually started due to the stealing of a "behen ka dupatta".

First of all movies are not made to honor people, that is not their purpose, their main purpose is to make money. Second of all, movies that contain gladiator fights are not necessary Gladiator knock off. Gladiator wasn't the first movie to feature gladiator battles. It really is unbelievable that this needs to be said.

Judging by the huge hype on social media, most people are not too concerned with the fact that this is not a faithful remake of the original, 90 percent of the films target audience probably have not even seen the original film.

I am glad that it is not an outright remake either as I do not think it would have worked out anyways. Its obviously highly stylised version like 300.

Pakistani films have been getting much better in the last 5 years and compared to the crap which was being produced 20 years ago this is a MASSIVE step up.

Judging by the huge hype on social media, most people are not too concerned with the fact that this is not a faithful remake of the original, 90 percent of the films target audience probably have not even seen the original film.

I am glad that it is not an outright remake either as I do not think it would have worked out anyways. Its obviously highly stylised version like 300.

Pakistani films have been getting much better in the last 5 years and compared to the crap which was being produced 20 years ago this is a MASSIVE step up.

yeah from what i've read, the original story was absolutely disgusting.

Though I am pretty certain that this movie is going to be a blockbuster for reasons that have little to do with how good this movie is actually going to be, but from the trailer the movie seems to have some inherent problems.

Firstly, if you are going to use name of Maula Just and you have characters named as Maula Jutt and Noori Natt in the movie, you better take permission from original makers for it. From the news I have heard, Bilal and Ammara etc have not done that and both the parties are fighting some sort of court battle presently.

Secondly, the makers as well as actors do not seem to have any semblance of relation to Punjabi culture of today or yesterday. Bilal Lashari is always incluenced by Western ideas anyways, which he has attempted in this movie as well. Actors and sets do not have any Punjabi feel to it; the fight scenes are borrowed and I really really hope the movie is in Urdu because I wouldn't be able to tolerate the kind of Punjabi Hamza and Fawad will speak.

Thirdly, Bilal Lashari's first movie was full of grandiose action sequences, which made movie look pretty in bits and pieces but was in real just a prolonged bore due to lack of story connecting those sequences. While original Maula Jutt did not have much storyline to begin with, yet the makers of this movie have claimed that the story is nothing like the original one. So I hope they have a better writer this time.

Lastly, when will this culture of remixes and remakes end? Our music industry revolves Coke Studio, which does take any risks with any of the artists attempting a fresh piece of music. All present productions of our TV industry are virtually remakes and remakes of the first TV dramas of this genre produced by Hum TV 15 years back. And our movie industry is replete with either movies like this or YJHD kind. Why is this lack of originality everywhere?

First of all movies are not made to honor people, that is not their purpose, their main purpose is to make money. Second of all, movies that contain gladiator fights are not necessary Gladiator knock off. Gladiator wasn't the first movie to feature gladiator battles. It really is unbelievable that this needs to be said.

+1
Cannot see why people complaining about an action movie made by Pakistanis when 1000s of such movies are made elsewhere. There needs to be some action masala movies to entertain simple minded crowd and make profit. Without profit Pak industry cannot flourish back to heights pre 2000s.
There are also good content movies being made albeit with lower budget as producers cannot recover expenses if they flop.

posts on this thread,
damned if you do and damned if you don't.
atleast someone is contributing in pakistani film industry, be it 1 crore. or 70 crore.

Not a fan of subcontinental cinema but that looks alright and to top it off, production values are starting to really improve. Good on them.

Trailer looks promising.In addition to Fawad,Mahira,Hamza was that Humaima ?My eyesight is deserting me

Fight scenes are too unrealistic as usual. Bodies need to stop flying around like they were punched by some extraterritorial being.

Gladiator knockoff is harsh, that's like saying all shaky cam action movies are Bourne knockoffs or all spy movies are Bond knockoffs :P

Just saw the trailer and it looks amazing, but should had gone for Shaan ..why Fawad?

Wish the background music was more Desi though..this probably will be a Blockbuster..

Also hope they didn't show everything in the trailer itself..

is it in punjabi?

that severely limits the audience

is it in punjabi?

that severely limits the audience

May attract viewership for Indian Punjabi community but I doubt it be allowed to be filmed there. The Maula Jatt type dialogues aka Bharaks sound commanding in Punjabi.

Was he the Pakistani equivalent of Mithun?

Loving the defense of same posters that attack Bollywood lol :))

Violent action movies seem to do well profit wise but these type of films must be kept to limit for good of society and to inspire good scripts and reflect the real issues affecting our population. Alas even Pak dramas have gone to direction shown by Indian TV with glamour and sass bahu storylines. Pak dramas were brilliant previous decades in terms of storylines, dialogues and acting. Only background music was poor and lack of budget meant make up was not always to the mark.

Indian drammas were good too, till 2000 even until then the saas Bahu was taken as a comedy (tu tu main main) it's o ly after daily soaps started catering to the house wives that it became different.
Right now it's another type where religious shows are very popular ..it keeps changing as needed..but there are many good online shows for others.

You cant limit entertainment, look at the amount of Super hero movies ,shows in West right now..

Indian drammas were good too, till 2000 even until then the saas Bahu was taken as a comedy (tu tu main main) it's o ly after daily soaps started catering to the house wives that it became different.
Right now it's another type where religious shows are very popular ..it keeps changing as needed..but there are many good online shows for others.

You cant limit entertainment, look at the amount of Super hero movies ,shows in West right now..

I have not seen many Indian dramas, only ones I came across were sass bahu. Of course there must have been some good ones as well. By limiting I mean I hope Pakistan buck the trend and do not mass produce the violent senseless action movies, as they did with Punjabi movies in 90s and 20s. American super hero movies are so boring very little script or acting just technical excellence.

The first look is good, let's see what the trailer looks like when it's launched.

It's taken a good few years for this movie to see the light of day as I remember the same was with Waar which apart from being a visual experience wasn't much else.

Pakistani movies take longer to make over time but they're improving which is a good thing as there's no real entertainment for people apart from some shoddy tv dramas.

Me and all my Punjabi friends loved it.

Eagerly waiting to watch it. Hope it will get screening in India!

Though telling myself to keep my expectations moderate as the trailer was all music and the best cinematic cuts.

Nonetheless good to see Pakistani cinema bringing some hype!

Why is any one not talking about Mahira ?

She's nothing special. There's better actresses who could've played this role.

Funnily enough her stocks are higher outside of Pakistan than in Pakistan.

& yet she is in a high profile hot movie ???

I mean amongst audiences dude.

There are plenty of Bollywood movies where there are more deserving actresses, same in any movie industry.

You said it yourself, barely anyone is talking about her.

Can't think of even one worthwhile Pakistani actress. Most of them look like malnutritioned llamas.