[VIDEO] Why Usman Khan would be better off playing for the UAE instead of Pakistan

Was it the right decision for Usman Khan to give up his UAE contract and play for Pakistan?

Usman Khan, during his interaction with the media, highlighted his early cricket struggles and his plans for upcoming assignments:

"I thank Allah for the opportunity to represent Pakistan. There is no pressure; this is an international career, so naturally, there are thoughts in my head. However, we played according to the plans of our coaches, captain, and team."

"Yes, obviously, coming from a small village where there wasn't much cricket, I faced struggles at certain stages. Many people, both from Karachi and Sheikhpura, supported me."

"So far, I've focused more on practicing bouncer, cut, and pull shots. Since we're going to Ireland and England, where the pitches are excellent for batting, and rarely does seam bowling occur, I'll adapt my game accordingly. T20 wickets are mostly batting-friendly."

"Most of the cricket I've played has been in league cricket, which improved my performance. Now, getting the chance to play for Pakistan, I'm giving my best to solidify my position in the team. I'll put in my full effort and perform in the upcoming T20I World Cup, hoping we'll return victorious."

England does indeed produce batting paradises for limited-over cricket, but it's still early in the season, and the pitches might not be as batting-friendly. I believe Usman Khan might struggle in these conditions. Whose idea was it anyway to play in Ireland and England when the tournament is in the Caribbean and the US? The pitches and conditions will be vastly different. It's not wise to play against such a strong team before a World Cup; losing could be detrimental to the team's morale and players' confidence.

Usman Khan, during his interaction with the media, highlighted his early cricket struggles and his plans for upcoming assignments:

"I thank Allah for the opportunity to represent Pakistan. There is no pressure; this is an international career, so naturally, there are thoughts in my head. However, we played according to the plans of our coaches, captain, and team."

"Yes, obviously, coming from a small village where there wasn't much cricket, I faced struggles at certain stages. Many people, both from Karachi and Sheikhpura, supported me."

"So far, I've focused more on practicing bouncer, cut, and pull shots. Since we're going to Ireland and England, where the pitches are excellent for batting, and rarely does seam bowling occur, I'll adapt my game accordingly. T20 wickets are mostly batting-friendly."

"Most of the cricket I've played has been in league cricket, which improved my performance. Now, getting the chance to play for Pakistan, I'm giving my best to solidify my position in the team. I'll put in my full effort and perform in the upcoming T20I World Cup, hoping we'll return victorious."
This lad has the correct mindset.

Inshallah he works on his shirt comings and becomes a superstar for Pakistan.

If we want to improve Pakistan cricket, we must start with the mindset first and then progress onwards.

In the team footage I'm seeing Fakhar and Usman train and practice their shots together. This can be very positive of Usman's mindset development. He's eager to learn.

Better to adopt the elements of a winning mindset from Fakhar than lets say Babar.

I think just give him the Ireland-England series. If he still doesn't perform then please don't add him to the World Cup squad because we would just be wasting a batting resource nothing more than that.

747 runs in 17 PSL matches

59 runs in 5 T20Is for Pakistan

On this day, hard-hitting wicket-keeper batter, Usman Khan was born. Happy birthday to him and wishing him good luck for the Ireland series.

He is yet to prove his mettle at the international stage.

What is going against usman is he is top order batsman and they can't find space for him as saim is confirmed rizwan is back babar is there and even Fakhar used to be opener.
If Azam can do something meaningful in next few games remaining he will likely start over Usman.
Only issue against Azam is his fielding as it will be hard to play him if he is not keeping.

What is going against usman is he is top order batsman and they can't find space for him as saim is confirmed rizwan is back babar is there and even Fakhar used to be opener.
If Azam can do something meaningful in next few games remaining he will likely start over Usman.
Only issue against Azam is his fielding as it will be hard to play him if he is not keeping.
Only issue is fielding?
Wow just wow. Azam Khan should not play for Pak, he is a pathetic player with 0 heart and desire. How on earth you think such a player can represent Pak?

Pakistan will always chose Azam due to his experience so far.
Due to Moin Khan nepotism, the experience thing is an excuse Pakistan has been making for decades.

We saw this with younis Khan getting in over fawad alam in 2015 wc due to YK's extreme temper tantrums.

Pcb as a board needs to learn to take charge, gotta show em who's boss, no wonder these boys cry once on the media and pcb decides to let these guys walk all over them

Next game, drop Rizwan and play Usman. Give him all the available chances so that he can judge himself as a player and where he stands.

Usman should only play in top 3. And he can only play in place of Rizwan. Because Babar and Saim looks undroppable at this point.

But the problem will be going forward is Pakistan would need a regular WK. Usman is not good enough WK and it will cost Pakistan in WT20

*Usman Khan goes unsold

Pakistan batter Usman Khan is in at US$ 20,000. Unsold in LPL auction 2024.

A very important series lies ahead for Usman Khan, a career-defining series against England for him. After 5 T20Is, he is averaging only 14.75.

it would be a ticket to UAE defining moment for him because I am sure he wont be able to perform in England.

He can’t go back to UAE. He’s already squandered that. It’s back to toiling away in Pakistan domestics.
feeling really bad for this guys

He shouldn't have left the UAE where he was well settled. If he gets dropped now from Pakistan team so I am sure he won't be able to make it in domestic cricket either.

feeling really bad for this guys

He shouldn't have left the UAE where he was well settled. If he gets dropped now from Pakistan team so I am sure he won't be able to make it in domestic cricket either.
I feel bad but at the same time he’s a grown man. He knows himself best, and would surely know if he can crack the Pakistan team. If he can’t cut it then he can’t cut it.

Usman made a bold decision to stay in Pakistan which is not working for him atm. The chances he got should have been the turning point for him but he failed to impress so far. Not sure if he is going to get that many games.

In an interview with a local channel,Ahmed Shehzad has questioned the inclusion of top-order batter Usman Khan in the national cricket team:

"You have included Usman Khan in the team, so why have you included him? To gain sympathy? Run a good story, and sympathy will be gained."

In an interview with a local channel,Ahmed Shehzad has questioned the inclusion of top-order batter Usman Khan in the national cricket team:

"You have included Usman Khan in the team, so why have you included him? To gain sympathy? Run a good story, and sympathy will be gained."
Should we have included you instead Shehzad sahib?

Last I remember your interview with shahid afridi, you were the one asking for sympathy.

This is a big opportunity for Usman Khan, and he needs to capitalize on it. Otherwise, he will likely be discarded after the World Cup.

he is in the squad now lets see at which number he will bat on, anything below number# 4 would be useless in my opinion.

Wish him well but 1 short ball from Jofra Archer & it’s curtains for his international career.

he is in the squad now lets see at which number he will bat on, anything below number# 4 would be useless in my opinion.
Usman khan is a weird one.

He's a top order bat and sadly theirs too much competiton in the top order with fakhar and Abdullah being mainstay in odi.

Imam and Abdullah being mainstay in test, and atm if saim fails either ba/riz go back together or fakhar replaces saim. Will be difficult to establish himself at opening

Usman khan is a weird one.

He's a top order bat and sadly theirs too much competiton in the top order with fakhar and Abdullah being mainstay in odi.

Imam and Abdullah being mainstay in test, and atm if saim fails either ba/riz go back together or fakhar replaces saim. Will be difficult to establish himself at opening
True, I don't see him playing anywhere near the number 4 position because Saim, Babar, Rizwan, and Fakhar will remain firm on their batting positions and usman is not typer of player who can bat way down the order so most likely Usman will be on the bench during the World Cup because i know he can't play outside the powerplay as he is more or less another Rizwan type batter.

Salman Butt speaking about Usman Khan's selection for the T20 World Cup, on his Youtube Channel:

"Usman Khan burned all the bridges, and I believe he was rewarded for it by being included in the World Cup squad."

Salman Butt speaking about Usman Khan's selection for the T20 World Cup, on his Youtube Channel:

"Usman Khan burned all the bridges, and I believe he was rewarded for it by being included in the World Cup squad."
Exactly. This is Pakistani mentality

True, I don't see him playing anywhere near the number 4 position because Saim, Babar, Rizwan, and Fakhar will remain firm on their batting positions and usman is not typer of player who can bat way down the order so most likely Usman will be on the bench during the World Cup because i know he can't play outside the powerplay as he is more or less another Rizwan type batter.
I have doubts that some of the members in management want to replace Saim with Usman.

He will end Jofra
Tbh, I can see azam smacking anyone but Archer and rasheed.

England bowling is toothless, They have 1 world class bowler in archer( Who we've yet to see in action and determine if he's 100% their atm) and Rashid who's okayish, Rashid isn't world class but he's not bad, he's pretty good.

The rest like Sam Curran are terrible. Moeen Ali is garbage and needs spin rank Turner pitches to function. Although his Line and length is still 100x better then shadab, but Ali can't spin.

Tbh, I can see azam smacking anyone but Archer and rasheed.

England bowling is toothless, They have 1 world class bowler in archer( Who we've yet to see in action and determine if he's 100% their atm) and Rashid who's okayish, Rashid isn't world class but he's not bad, he's pretty good.

The rest like Sam Curran are terrible. Moeen Ali is garbage and needs spin rank Turner pitches to function. Although his Line and length is still 100x better then shadab, but Ali can't spin.
Moeen Ali is our bhai. Always comes to rescue when we need him

Azam Khan isn't that bad. I went back and watched cpl highlights.

This dude is a proper minnow basher and not like fraud chacha. He can hurt and smack you very very badly if you face a poor bowler something no one in our dugout takes advantage of besides babar and Fakhar and that too only if they have played 25 deliveries to get themselves in, azam can do it from the get go.

Problem is Azam is clueless against any bowler who's semi decent, he'll be a walking wicket against Archer and rasheed. Ontop of that his keeping is hilarious. I saw psl. How he managed to get best keeper is beyond me. The dude is just a wall, but can't dive, can't jump, can't throw to prevent quick singles, and can't cause any stump outs or catches if the spinner is on?

Probs the worst keeper I've seen, although he's better then usman khan at keeping suprisngly. But yeah sarfraz, Haris, Rizwan amd even hasebullah as keepers are better then azam.

Azam Khan isn't that bad. I went back and watched cpl highlights.

This dude is a proper minnow basher and not like fraud chacha. He can hurt and smack you very very badly if you face a poor bowler something no one in our dugout takes advantage of besides babar and Fakhar and that too only if they have played 25 deliveries to get themselves in, azam can do it from the get go.

Problem is Azam is clueless against any bowler who's semi decent, he'll be a walking wicket against Archer and rasheed. Ontop of that his keeping is hilarious. I saw psl. How he managed to get best keeper is beyond me. The dude is just a wall, but can't dive, can't jump, can't throw to prevent quick singles, and can't cause any stump outs or catches if the spinner is on?

Probs the worst keeper I've seen, although he's better then usman khan at keeping suprisngly. But yeah sarfraz, Haris, Rizwan amd even hasebullah as keepers are better then azam.
LOL
When you play Int cricket you will face more then just semi decent. I am talking about Aus, NZ, India, Eng and SA. Proper pace bowling will expose him big time.

His keeping is a joke.

LOL
When you play Int cricket you will face more then just semi decent. I am talking about Aus, NZ, India, Eng and SA. Proper pace bowling will expose him big time.

His keeping is a joke.
Ya but let's be 100% honest. This squad is not winning WC. That's a fact. It's too pedestrian to win wc. HOWEVER, considering the way Ireland, USA, Canada have been playing aka getting a win against test nations, with Ireland securing one dub against Pakistan and USA beating Bangladesh in a series,

We're headed for a group stage exit if we don't play azam. Ireland doesn't have any bowler besides mark adair, you kinda need azam to attack their bowling considering his 300 sr recently. Everyone else including Bobby and rizzu are still slow.

As for Aus, SA, NZ, bro forget about those teams. Look at Australia's star allrounder in Glenn Maxwell and Stones and look at pur star allrounders in imad waseem and Shadab? If you want to add chacha to the mix or saim ayub sure, but that doesn't help.

The quality difference is way way too high, by this logic Pakistan doesn't compare to any team.

If you look at Australia Warner, Head, Marsh, Maxwell,stones, Tim David, Inglis etc etc are way way superior to babar, Rizwan, Saim, shadab, imad, Azam, chacha etc.

No one compares, same case with bowling, Even a burnt out stark that we see today is superior to our entire bowling unit including shaheen(Unless shaheen is firing with that inswing early on)

Reports of him being selected for today game.

I think he will play a timid innings to secure his place in the squad.

But the question is will he remain in the squad after this World Cup or will he become another Usman Qadir who regrets his decision now to leave Australa for Pakistan?

Depends on the campaign. If it goes haywire. Usman will automatically become part of a new Pakistan XI. If it goes well then Usman may need to wait out a bit more.

It can go either. Or he may get treated like Mohammad Haris. Who knows.

Depends on the campaign. If it goes haywire. Usman will automatically become part of a new Pakistan XI. If it goes well then Usman may need to wait out a bit more.

It can go either. Or he may get treated like Mohammad Haris. Who knows.
He had a complete series against New Zealand, but he didn't perform. Now it's a big match for him against England If he still doesn't score runs on these flat surfaces he will rightly be dropped from the team.

Highest innings (38) for Pakistan today.
Brilliant temprament..... he kept the S/R alive even when wickets were falling from the other end.

I hope, pray and predict that he goes far for Pakistan in future.

Very good batsmen.

He is always trying to run and rotate the strike. It was embarrassing to watch Azam Khan and Iftikhar turn down quick singles and twos.

He looked nervous out there.

He looks ugly and ungainly with his shots, but he can score and score quickly.

Definitely worth giving more time.
Like I said, the guy can look ugly and all, but he will score and he will score at a good rate as well.

He can get the job done.

Very good batsmen.

He is always trying to run and rotate the strike. It was embarrassing to watch Azam Khan and Iftikhar turn down quick singles and twos.

He's a decent batsman, nothing spectacular, but as I said in the match thread, he hits according to the line, that alone makes him better than 90% of Pakistan batsmen.

Some of his late cut shots were terrifying to watch, feel like I didn’t see him using all of his strength in any of his shots.

Usman Khan should have played both games instead of over-hyped Saim.

---------------------------------

Babar Azam speaking during England vs Pakistan 4th T20 post-game presser:

“Usman Khan has played different and good cricket. If there were a good partnership with Iftikhar Ahmed, it would have been a different game. We will discuss this, that we read the situation wrong. Due to back-to-back wickets, pressure came upon us, so we will discuss what to do in such a situation. Here the par score was 190, so you had to score that. If you have collapsed, then it is your own mistake, I will not blame anyone, it is our mistake, and I accept it. We will discuss it and try to ensure it does not happen in the future.”

Given how unforgiving Pakistan Cricket is when you fail. He indeed has made a big blunder. Someone should have told him that.

I am not sure about others. Usman makes Shahid Afridi looks like Rahul Dravid. Almost all his shots hackish. You could see dumbed down version of Aaron Finch in Usman. Finch had brute power to go with though. Had wider range. He may come off once in a while given the field placement in T20. Hasan Raza is a much better batsman than him.

People don't appreciate what they have until their gone. I remember I use to fight with people in my life on those that use to slander our players, now these boys all want these legends back.

Here are some of the takes.

1) 2019: Sarfraz was the worst captain to represent Pakistan, please make babar azam, an established batter who leads from the front a captain.

2024: Sarfraz We are sorry. 😭😭😭😭😭.

2) 2000-2019: Malik, Hafeez, Afridi and razzaq suck, medicore allrounders that are good for nothing overhyped tulle baz.

2024 after seeing chacha, sheddy, Nawaz etc etc: Baby come back, you can blame it all on me, I was wrong, and I just can't live without you.

Usman will regret turning his back on the UAE. He was good playing for a team where their are no expectations. Now he has been exposed as just another sorry excuse of a batsman playing for Pak where expectations are much higher. I don't see him being around for much longer.

People don't appreciate what they have until their gone. I remember I use to fight with people in my life on those that use to slander our players, now these boys all want these legends back.

1) 2019: Sarfraz was the worst captain to represent Pakistan, please make babar azam, an established batter who leads from the front a captain.

2) 2000-2019: Malik, Hafeez, Afridi and razzaq suck, medicore allrounders that are good for nothing overhyped tulle baz.

2024 after seeing chacha, sheddy, Nawaz etc etc: Baby come back, you can blame it all on me, I was wrong, and I just can't live without you.
Razzaq was downright bad though after 2010

Pakistan to lengthen their batting lineup has loaded the side with unreliable hacks. It seemingly looks like a lengthy batting lineup which may come off from time to time. But they are unlikely to be consistent. Their best chance is to convert the proper batsmen into hitters (Azmatullah etc) as there are not many pedigree batsmen in this lineup. One that Pakistan has is not suitable for T20 for a variety of scenarios. They are suitable for only niche scenarios. Gone are the days when Pakistan could defend small totals. People know what to expect from Pakistan. Ireland comfortably chased against Pakistan in Ireland. NZ C team chased comfortably. Now USA chased with ridiculous ease until they messed it up a bit in the endovers. Maybe Pakistan should change its approach. SRH was a bowling powerhouse for a couple of seasons in IPL on tacky wickets. This season Pat Cummins has changed their side into a batting powerhouse. Pakistan has to start focusing on becoming a batting force. Nobody is worried about Pakistan bowling anymore. The 2022 early-season Australian pitches made their bowling look better. WC 2023 exposed the bowling massively. Shaheen/Rauf conceded 1000 runs between them going at 6.33 runs per over.

Also Pakistan's lack of spin resources to choke the opposition in middle overs is shocking. To be honest their spin option is well behind Canada/USA spin option. This idea of blasting opposition with pace won't work even against associate sides unless there is some help.

Usman Khan is not doing what he is supposed to do. He should be aggressive but not like he was against USA. That was not aggression, that was aa "TULLA with CLOSED EYES".

His performance is pretty ordinary.

If Pak fail to qualify to top8, I am afraid, Usman and Azam Khan will be discarded permanently. Babar always like to keep a couple of Bali ka bakra in team to protect his friends.

Catching Virat in a WC game, probably the highlight of his career so far. He'd be feeling good about his decision now

0zo5rU0.png

That last catch wasn't his to take. Should've left it for Fakhar.

The other chance wasn't easy running backwards but he did make the ground and got hands to it.

Gotta take chances like that against India.